HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

At First I Hope for Rescue: Stories by…
Loading...

At First I Hope for Rescue: Stories

by Holley Rubinsky

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
15None948,352 (3.25)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0312180438, Hardcover)

The American debut of a dazzling storyteller in the tradition of Carol Shields and Alice Munro.

Five linked stories, set in Canada and the American west, perfectly capture the drama of everyday life. Here we meet Bet Harker and Nan Carmichael, two friends whose lives are ripped apart by the discovery of incest in one of their families. Rozzy Wanaker is a teenage bulimic from Santa Barbara, making her way to Canada to visit her Aunt Nan. Matthew Fauler inherits a ramshackle lake resort, and there finds acceptance and love in Jannette, a woman struggling to keep custody of her child.

Through their extraordinary voices these characters make lasting, moving impressions. It is Holley Rubinsky's acuity and humanity, more than her Canadian roots, that will remind readers of Alice Munro and Carol Shields, and leave them waiting to see what this remarkable writer will do next.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:25:20 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

Five stories featuring women protagonists. The story, Road's End, examines the proposition that women wish to be abused, while in The Other Room, a woman fantasizes she is the survivor of a World War II death camp.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.25)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,856,855 books! | Top bar: Always visible