HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Words In The Dust by Trent Reedy
Loading...

Words In The Dust (edition 2011)

by Trent Reedy

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2532245,261 (4.16)10
Member:b.s.
Title:Words In The Dust
Authors:Trent Reedy
Info:Arthur A. Levine Books (2011), Edition: 1, Hardcover, 272 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Words in the Dust by Trent Reedy

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 10 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 22 (next | show all)
This book opened my eyes to several things. Much of it is based on actual people and occurrences. The story is told from the point of view of an Afghani girl with a cleft palate and a desire to attend school. Some parts are interesting looks into a culture different from mine. Other parts are heart breaking. It definitely made me appreciate being born in my country. Words in the Dust should be on your reading list. ( )
  ToniFGMAMTC | Jan 19, 2017 |
This book opened my eyes to several things. Much of it is based on actual people and occurrences. The story is told from the point of view of an Afghani girl with a cleft palate and a desire to attend school. Some parts are interesting looks into a culture different from mine. Other parts are heart breaking. It definitely made me appreciate being born in my country. Words in the Dust should be on your reading list. ( )
  ToniFGMAMTC | Jan 19, 2017 |
You might expect a novel written by a male American soldier about an Afgan girl with cleft lip to be a problem novel about backwards middle easterners, but Words in the Dust cannot be described that way. Zulaikha, our main character, the other characters we meet, and the world around them is multifaceted. Realistically, Reedy does not show any group as black and white. For example, it might be easy for the intended audience to assume every Afgan supported the Taliban but Reedy is clear in showing this was not so. Alternatively, he does not sugar coat the role of women after the Taliban is gone. Best of all Zulaikha's transformation from a girl that cowers to a girl who sees a bigger picture than the local bullies is well crafted and presented in the way it should be, even in children's literature, in that we are shown the change not told about it point blank. The complexity and art of this book make great children's literature. There is some violence and a few allusions to sex that Zulaikha and young readers may or may not understand that make it more appropriate to mature young readers or teens. Regardless, this is a great novel highly recommended, even necessary perhaps, for school and public libraries. ( )
  MissyAnn | Jul 27, 2016 |
This in an extremely education chapter book that shares moments of freedom determination a young girl faces during the war in Afghanistan. As the Americans come to her village she is promised new opportunities for her future. This little girl is inspiring to all readers as she hopes for the best, even in the darkest of times. This book widens the perspectives in students living in America as they learn what life is like in a country where woman have little to no freedom, especially woman who have any type of disability. There is also an overall message that anyone can fight for what they want in life, regardless how much power they may have in their society. This girl is very determined to prove that just because she is a minority in her country, she still deserves the same opportunities that are given to anyone else. ( )
  Jcomfo1 | May 9, 2016 |
A rich, vivid story that transports readers to Afghanistan and its culture. Zulaikha's life is not easy especially with her cleft palate that makes her the subject of scorn and pity. But there's a dignity to her spirit as she copes with daily challenges such as her father's demanding second wife Mahlekah, beloved sister Zeynab's pending wedding, and a desire to learn to read and write like her late mother. Librarian note: A scene refers to Zeynab's blood-stained wedding cloth without elaboration other than "It is finished. Your sister is married." ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 22 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.
Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to the village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0545261252, Hardcover)

In the tradition of SHABANU, DAUGHTER OF THE WIND and THE BREADWINNER, a beautiful debut about a daughter of Afghanistan discovering new friends and opportunities after the defeat of the Taliban.

Zulaikha hopes. She hopes for peace, now that the Taliban have been driven from Afghanistan; a good relationship with her hard stepmother; and one day even to go to school, or to have her cleft palate fixed. Zulaikha knows all will be provided for her--"Inshallah," God willing.

Then she meets Meena, who offers to teach her the Afghan poetry she taught her late mother. And the Americans come to her village, promising not just new opportunities and dangers, but surgery to fix her face. These changes could mean a whole new life for Zulaikha--but can she dare to hope they'll come true?

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:15:26 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

Zulaikha, a thirteen-year-old girl in Afghanistan, faces a series of frightening but exhilirating changes in her life as she defies her father and secretly meets with an old woman who teaches her to read, her older sister gets married, and American troops offer her surgery to fix her disfiguring cleft lip.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
5 wanted2 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.16)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3 5
3.5 4
4 26
4.5 8
5 14

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 113,281,983 books! | Top bar: Always visible