HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Heat Wave: A Novel by Nancy Thayer
Loading...

Heat Wave: A Novel (original 2011; edition 2012)

by Nancy Thayer

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1922861,408 (3.35)8
Member:carolyn610petersen
Title:Heat Wave: A Novel
Authors:Nancy Thayer
Info:Ballantine Books (2012), Edition: Reprint, Paperback, 336 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:widows, romance, families, bed and breakfasts, death, mourning, chick-lit

Work details

Heat Wave by Nancy Thayer (2011)

Recently added bytanya.k1mber, sunsparks1018, marymmartin, rena70, private library, winteralli
None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 8 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 28 (next | show all)
Heat Wave by Nancy Thayer
Carly, a new widow is on Nantucket Island with two children to raise.
Book starts when Carly had met Gus and they got married due to her upcoming pregnancy. Gus ia s lawyer on the island and live there year round.
She was only there for summer work and had done many other jobs over the years.
She was finding out she had no money in her husbands accounts as he had invested unwisely but she had the big old family house.
She has friends and they brainstorm cuz she doesn't want to have to go live with her in-laws and have them pay all the bills.
She starts up a Bed and Breakfast, she knows how to do the job allready.
She gets a lot of help from her husbands partner, Wyatt, who's a divorcee. The B&B is a lot of work and with raising the kids it's enough.
Carly gets caught up with her friends love life as it splits up another friends family. Lot of interesting twists occur in this novel. ( )
  jbarr5 | Jul 25, 2013 |
Eh.... Light weight, soap opera. You always have to wonder when the way to fix messed up relationships is to let people die. ( )
  TerriBooks | Aug 9, 2012 |
Predictable, but still a very good read! ( )
  yukon92 | Jun 13, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Enjoy the author and liked this book. It was an easy summer read.
  shazjhb | Nov 22, 2011 |
This is a nice easy story about relationships. It’s predictable, full of warm characters and has a layered but simple plot making it the perfect beach or vacation read. The rich detailed description of charming Nantucket also leaves you craving a visit. The central theme revolves around Carley Winsted, a young woman in her thirties who finds herself widowed and financially unstable, with two young daughters to raise. This novel examines the process Carley goes through to pick up the pieces and become a positive role model for her daughters. Also central to the plot are her two best friends. Thayer does an excellent job of creating intimacy between the women and pulling the reader emotionally into their lives. Don’t be surprised if you find yourself grabbing for a Kleenex or two, it has some very poignant moments. Recommend for those who enjoy stories about female bonding, the inner workings of marriage and the drama of betrayal. This book will also appeal to fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Maeve Binchy.

Review previously posted at: www.princetonbookreview.com
Find us on Face book http://www.facebook.com/#%21/pages/Princeton-Book-Review/73532562757 ( )
  Princetonbookreview | Nov 5, 2011 |
Showing 1-5 of 28 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

After her husband's sudden death from a heart attack and to keep her family in their beloved Nantucket home, Carley Winsted transforms her expensive, expansive house into a bed-and-breakfast. But complications arise: Carley's mother-in-law disapproves; a friend forces Carley to keep a secret that, if revealed, will undo families and friendships; and, her late husband's former law partner keeps showing up at the most unexpected times.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
7 avail.
147 wanted
1 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.35)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 4
2.5 3
3 20
3.5 12
4 20
4.5 1
5 1

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Heat Wave by Nancy Thayer was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,280,590 books! | Top bar: Always visible