HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Friendship Bread: A Novel by Darien Gee
Loading...

Friendship Bread: A Novel (edition 2012)

by Darien Gee

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3078236,351 (3.98)26
Member:Carolee888
Title:Friendship Bread: A Novel
Authors:Darien Gee
Info:Ballantine Books (2012), Edition: Reprint, Paperback, 432 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:****
Tags:Amish Frendship Bread, contempory, small town, Illinois, Chicago

Work details

Friendship Bread by Darien Gee

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 26 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 82 (next | show all)
Why is it that so many novels about women, (chick lit, arguably) hinge on the premise of one or more central characters being devastated with heartbreak at the start of the novel.
Show me books where the central plot arcs aren't grieving some giant loss, or catching a romance... with a strong female character at the center.

This book got good after a lugubrious and sad start- once the baking started proliferating, and eccentric other characters showed up to make the focus feel less sharpened on Julia, it worked for me. Longer review to come on my blog. ( )
  ewillse | Mar 23, 2014 |
Why is it that so many novels about women, (chick lit, arguably) hinge on the premise of one or more central characters being devastated with heartbreak at the start of the novel.
Show me books where the central plot arcs aren't grieving some giant loss, or catching a romance... with a strong female character at the center.

This book got good after a lugubrious and sad start- once the baking started proliferating, and eccentric other characters showed up to make the focus feel less sharpened on Julia, it worked for me. Longer review to come on my blog. ( )
  PatienceFortitude | Mar 6, 2014 |
Why is it that so many novels about women, (chick lit, arguably) hinge on the premise of one or more central characters being devastated with heartbreak at the start of the novel.
Show me books where the central plot arcs aren't grieving some giant loss, or catching a romance... with a strong female character at the center.

This book got good after a lugubrious and sad start- once the baking started proliferating, and eccentric other characters showed up to make the focus feel less sharpened on Julia, it worked for me. Longer review to come on my blog. ( )
  PatienceFortitude | Mar 6, 2014 |
Why is it that so many novels about women, (chick lit, arguably) hinge on the premise of one or more central characters being devastated with heartbreak at the start of the novel.
Show me books where the central plot arcs aren't grieving some giant loss, or catching a romance... with a strong female character at the center.

This book got good after a lugubrious and sad start- once the baking started proliferating, and eccentric other characters showed up to make the focus feel less sharpened on Julia, it worked for me. Longer review to come on my blog. ( )
  PatienceFortitude | Mar 6, 2014 |
This book is not as awesome as the ads on Goodreads would have you believe, but it was entertaining... I will be reading the next book set in Avalon.

Julia is a giant bitch and I was mostly pissed at her character througout the entire book.

( )
  TeenieLee | Apr 3, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 82 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Friendship is precious, not only in the shade, but in the sunshine of life. - Thomas Jefferson
Dedication
Dedicated to the Mothers
First words
Prologue:
Leon adjusts the 25mm Plossl eyepiece and swings his scope toward the heavens.
Chapter 1:
I hope you enjoy it.
Quotations
It took some time but Madeline was able to eventually move forward with her life, and when she did, she simply took the sadness with her. You can never recover from losing a person you love, but you can find a way to let it be a part of your life rather than letting it take over every part of you.
Some well-meaning person gave her an article about bereaved parents and she made the mistake of reading it. It talked about how, when a child dies, a branch on the family tree is broken. New branches can grow, but they'll never replace the branch that has broken. For Julia, it's not just the branch that has broken. She feels as if the whole tree has been uprooted.
..Madeline never craved youth the way some women did. … She doesn't mind the gray or the wrinkles, not even her failing eyesight. But it's the energy that she misses, the seemingly boundless well that young people take for granted. By the time you come to appreciate it, your time has passed and you're sitting at the kitchen table watching somebody less than half your age do all the work.
...this moment, this perfect moment where she can witness 109 people of different ages, backgrounds, and ethnicities, each with their own stories and tragedies and moments of joy, play together in perfect harmony.
Mark knows how important the Amish Friendship Bread is to her. It's become a ritual for their family, the squeezing, the baking, the discussion of what to make next. If it were up to him, he'd tell couples to forgo marriage counseling and try friendship bread instead.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
It’s more than just a recipe—it’s a way of life.

For fans of Kristin Hannah and Kate Jacobs, Darien Gee’s deeply felt and utterly charming novel follows two estranged sisters, three newfound friends, and—ultimately—a whole town brought together by a simple loaf of Amish Friendship Bread.

In Avalon, Illinois, a woman and her young daughter return home to find a plate of Amish Friendship Bread along with a bag of starter on their doorstep. There’s no note, just a yellow sticky with the words, “I hope you enjoy it.” The instructions tell them to feed the starter over a ten-day period, then bake two loaves and share the remaining starter with three other people.

At the insistence of her five-year old daughter, Julia Evarts reluctantly follows the instructions. Soon, the bread and its starter are making their way through the town of Avalon, touching the lives of its residents in ways both comical and unexpected. Julia befriends Madeline Davis, 74, owner and proprietor of Madeline’s Tea Salon and Antiques who harbors a secret of her own, and Hannah de Brisay, 28, a concert cellist who relocates to Avalon after the premature end of her career and marriage.

Julia’s sister, Livvy, is struggling with her own loneliness as she and her husband, Tom, try for a child of their own. Julia’s husband, Mark, is tired of the sadness that seems to have taken over their lives for the past five years. As the town of Avalon becomes overrun with the Amish Friendship Bread starter, a kernel of a story presents itself and activist and reporter Edie is quick to jump on it, even if it means pointing a finger at Julia as the instigator and dividing the small community that they live in.

When a neighboring town is devastated by high floods, Julia and her friends supply loaves of the bread to the residents and volunteers. As word spreads, so does help. Soon the entire town of Avalon is doing their part to aid their neighbors in need as they put their differences aside. Friendship Bread is a captivating, engaging novel about life and loss, friendship and community, and what endures even when the unthinkable happens.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Still reeling from a personal tragedy that left her estranged from the sister who was once her best friend, Julia Evarts remains at a loss as to how to move on with her life until she receives an anonymous gift of Amish Friendship Bread with instructions on how to make the bread herself, and a request to share it with others.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
299 wanted1 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.98)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 3
2.5 2
3 23
3.5 11
4 55
4.5 5
5 35

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Friendship Bread by Darien Gee was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,321,722 books! | Top bar: Always visible