HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Loading...

Ready Player One (original 2011; edition 2011)

by Ernest Cline

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
3,5304041,498 (4.22)3 / 458
brianinbuffalo's review
While creative and even brilliantly inventive in some spots (yes, Saturday Night Live shows are still entertaining audiences a few decades into the future), Cline's book simply is too long for its storyline. Midway through this peek into a bleak futuristic society, it's easy to feel like a computer gamer who realizes that are still 32 grueling levels to conquer before the real payoff occurs. Don't get me wrong. "Ready Player One" is dotted with some eyebrow-raising wow factors, and there are a good number of laugh-out-loud moments. But there are just way too many unnecessary details and diversions from the main story path for my liking. This would have made for a wonderful novella -- or at least a scaled-down novel. I'm usually a fan of dystopian tales (I'm a magnet at parties for folks in search of nuggets of optimism and inspiration), so I was surprised that Cline's yarn wore thin after our gamers started the second leg of their explorations. Still, I think readers with more patience than I have will enjoy this unique journey into a problem-plagued futuristic society. ( )
  brianinbuffalo | Feb 12, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (399)  Spanish (2)  French (1)  German (1)  Finnish (1)  All languages (404)
Showing 1-25 of 399 (next | show all)
One of the most fascinating novels I've read in quite some time. Probably best appreciated by those born between around 1965-1972 who were teenagers in the early 1980s. Innovative and very entertaining. ( )
  psmithkent | Jul 13, 2014 |
80's awesomeness!

I can admit to it. I was out-nerded. Big time.
I was a child of the 80's. I watched the movies, played (some of) the games, listened to the music, but I was unprepared for the depth of knowledge of the era needed to solve the puzzles in this book, and in a way, I am glad. It means that I spent enough time outside.

_Ready Player One_ follows our hero Wade/Parzival through the ultimate gaming quest, to find the "Easter Egg" in the largest immersive online gaming platform ever created, the OASIS. An orphaned kid from a trailer park, competing against the world for the big prize. Who couldn't root for this guy?!

The plot follows the arc of an 80's movie perfectly; absentee adult figures, wiz kid gamer, near-impossible quest, real and virtual world threats, mayhem, death, teamwork/sacrifice, and eventual triumph (complete with girl and substitute father figure grinning beatifically). Man, does Ernest Cline deliver! I even admit to tearing up a little at the final sentence - such a perfect wrap. Roll credits now...

The nostalgia level is high, as is the level of nerdiness needed to catch the bare minimum of references necessary to hang, so I would recommend this book specifically to gamers/SciFi and 80's movie buffs in the 35-45 range. Better know your cartoons, amine, D&D, video games (and systems), music, and 80's teen movies... or have a reliable search engine at your disposal. Also recommended for select teens (you'll know them when you see them), but probably not middle schoolers or below due to language/allusions. Overall, a highly enjoyable read. ( )
  Debra_Armbruster | Jul 12, 2014 |
Una historia maravillosa pero que por momentos se me hacía pesada, y no por las inmensa cantidad de referencias a los 80's -eso realmente me gustó y es parte del encanto-, si no por la también inmensa cantidad de detalladas descripciones, que hacen que el libro parezca más un libreto que otra cosa. Que es por lo mismo que creo que la adaptación cinematográfica va a ser genial y, aunque aun no han anunciado una posible fecha de estreno, la espero con ansias. ( )
  Glire | Jul 7, 2014 |
Alot of fun, read the whole book in 2 sessions. ( )
  Lorune | Jul 6, 2014 |
This book was truly dreadful, the only reason my husband and I finished was because I read it aloud on a long car trip and we took to mocking it with added lines and created a drinking game from its repetition of words and phrases like "classic", "vintage", and "one of Halliday's favorites". Had we actually been drinking rather than miming, we would have been dead within two chapters. The basic plot is cribbed off of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, endless references to 80's pop cultural artifacts are substituted for creativity, and the main character is utterly unlikable. There were a few points where the author might have taken the literary road slightly less traveled, but he plays it straight (and cliched) every time.

I am loathe to skip anything when reading, but after the third straight chapter of near-endless infodump my husband insisted we jump forward to the point where something actually happens. Dialogue reads like a thirteen-year-old boy's IM conversation, and as an MMO player I would certainly know.

I picked this book up because I read to my husband on long trips, and having finished our last series we were looking for something new. This seemed perfect: gamer geekdom, D&D, epic quests, 80's stuff...we love all of those things and are deeply immersed in that culture.

Sadly, it turned out to be an overhyped litany of loosely-related 80's creative properties linked by a threadbare plot and the occasional political/environmentalist diatribe. Spend a little time in the real world Cline, and less time patting yourself on the back for being smarter/more informed than everyone else. ( )
  ArmchairAuthor | Jul 3, 2014 |
I have mixed feelings about this book. On the surface, it’s clever, moving, and a lot of fun, and I enjoyed the loads of geeky references, even the ones I didn’t necessarily understand. However, dig a little deeper and it’s full of old tropes and tired stereotypes that really weaken the overall impact of the story. For example, for the majority of the book, there is one female character, and although she’s a good character in her own right, it’s clear that she exists to be the love interest. She’s also the other “prize” that the main character “wins” at the end of the story (which is technically a spoiler, I guess, but seriously, tell me it wasn’t obvious from the very beginning). There had to be a better way to work that subplot. ( )
  bluesalamanders | Jun 26, 2014 |
g ( )
  tmiddleton | Jun 26, 2014 |
Summary: Wade Watts is a high-school kid who spends all his time on the internet… or more accurately, in the internet. By 2044, the dwindling supply of natural resources means that everyday life for most people is pretty crappy, and so almost everyone takes refuge inside the OASIS, a virtual reality open-source platform that allows users to interact via avatars, attend school, play games, or visit recreations of their favorite worlds. The OASIS was originally designed by James Halliday, a brilliant but reclusive tech genius who, upon his death, announced he had hidden a series of secret "Easter eggs" somewhere within the OASIS, and that the first person to find all of them would win Halliday's fortune and control of his company. When Wade heard about the contest, he immediately devoted himself to solving Halliday's puzzles, becoming a dedicated "gunter" (egg-hunter). Halliday had a passion for all things 1980s, so Wade has been obsessively playing early arcade games, watching 80s movies, listening to 80s music, etc., for the past five years. In all that time, the scoreboard has remained blank - no one has been able figure out Halliday's first clue, not even the "sixers", minions of a corporation that's trying to seize control of the OASIS by any means necessary. But when Wade stumbles upon the first egg, he achieves immediate fame… and places himself in more danger than he realized, both in the virtual world and in the real one.

Review: After some initial misgivings, I wound up really, really enjoying this book. It is maybe a little too on the nose to call a book that is all about losing yourself in a virtual reality world "immersive", but this book was incredibly immersive; so much so that even weeks later I'm still thinking about the world of the OASIS and bits of the story.

I didn't get into this book immediately. I actually put it down for a week or so after listening only to the first chapter, since the depiction of the post-energy-crisis world was simultaneously too depressing and too plausible to make for the kind of listening experience that I wanted at the time. And even when I picked the book back up, it was pretty slow going for a while; there's a lot of infodumping up front about how the OASIS works and what its rules are and who Halliday was and his whole biography and what the rules of the game are and the history of the gunters and the clans and the sixers and all of the worldbuilding all the time. Stuff doesn't really start to happen (i.e. Wade doesn't start to figure out the clues) until about Chapter 7 or so, so that's a huge initial investment of time and mental space before you start getting any payoff.

But the good news is that once all the worldbuilding is done and the plot starts moving, it keeps moving, and it's a really engrossing story. I was a little worried that I wasn't going to get a lot of the references, since I have never played any MMORPGs or World of WarCraft or SecondLife or anything like that, nor am I particularly into video games in general… nor do I have much personal experience with early 80s pop culture. But it turned out that either I knew enough about those things to follow along, or Cline does a really good job of explaining them, because even though I hadn't seen a lot of the movies he references, or played a lot of the games (I did love me some PacMan, though), I still got really into Wade's search for the egg through the virtual versions of the 1980s. There are a few things where I think my lack of knowledge tripped me up a little - for example, if the OASIS is open-source, why does it cost money to build/buy things inside of it? - but in the grand scheme of things, they were pretty minor.

The audiobook production is really good as well. Wil Wheaton is a good narrator, well-matched to Wade's voice, and since he (and Cory Doctorow) are referenced in the book as being watchdogs of the future internet, that gave me a bit of a kick to hear him, as Wade, talk about himself. Overall, this book is fun, incredibly imaginative, and has some interesting (if not arrestingly novel) things to say about what happens to culture as it moves more and more into the digital virtual sphere. 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Recommendation: Definitely highly recommended for gamers and other varieties of nerds, particularly those in their 30s & 40s who grew up in the 1980s… or others who have a fondness for arcades, classic D&D, and nerd culture. ( )
  fyrefly98 | Jun 11, 2014 |
LOVED this book. Highly recommend if you like: videogaming, retro computers, virtual reality, 1980s pop culture. ( )
  Jaynee | Jun 9, 2014 |
Ready Player One takes place in 2044 - the world is suffering from an energy crisis, a food shortage, and an economic decline, all creating a dystopia for all but the wealthy. But for anyone who has access, the virtual world of OASIS can be just that - an escape from reality - where you can create an avatar and be anyone you want, hunt for treasure, and even attend school. When the founder and creator of OASIS dies, he sets up a Willy Wonka-esque challenge - the first player to find his easter egg wins complete control of his company and fortune. Wade Watts wants nothing more than to escape his real life by winning the prize, but the contest is more dangerous than he ever imagined.

What I liked:
First off, this book is full of 80's pop culture references and detailed descriptions of old video games (as far back as the text-based ones that were available on early computers) and it gave me a serious sense of nostalgia! I didn't recognize every reference, but I was familiar with more content than I thought I would be. My hat is off to Cline for all the research (and nerdy fandom) that went into this book! I was often reminded of old shows I used to watch, or games I used to play and it was fun to see some of these references recreated in the world of OASIS for Wade to interact with. Wade was a wonderful protagonist and I enjoyed his manner of speech and personality; a nice mix of snarky, confident, self-deprecation and hopeless romantic. The rest of the characters were also well fleshed out and had surprising elements that I enjoyed (I don't want to give anything away!) Cline also did a wonderful job of creating the immensely detailed virtual world of OASIS as well as the harsh reality that Wade spends his time trying to avoid. He describes Wade's living environment, "the stacks", as numerous mobile homes and shipping bins stacked atop each other, sometimes 15-20 high, held together with "a reinforced modular scaffold, a haphazard metal latticework that had been constructed piecemeal over the years." These towers are unsafe, overcrowded and dangerous - not just the structures themselves, but the people living in them.

This book also had me thinking that a future similar to this could someday become a reality (hopefully not in my lifetime) - where the "real world" is so terrible that people depend on an escape provided by a fully immersive virtual world. In Cline's book, OASIS is accessed via a visor and haptic gloves that allow the used to see and sometimes feel the 3-d online world that was created. Users can explore thousands of different worlds and even create their own, if they have the money. Even OASIS isn't a perfect escape, as it's still profit driven and oftentimes Wade struggled with being poor both in his real life and his OASIS life. Yet he still craved that constant connection with OASIS - his only friends were the ones he met in this world, all people who spent countless hours connected into this virtual world, living the lives they've only dreamed of.

Later in the book Wade describes the expensive machines he's purchased so that he can better access OASIS, to the point where he doesn't have any body hair so that his immersive suit will fit him better. He becomes a total hermit - never leaving his apartment, even having his food delivered, so that he can spend most of his waking hours inside OASIS. He even says "The hour or so after I woke up was my least favorite part of each day, because I spent it in the real world." This line of thought was incredibly depressing, but very realistic. I realize that even today there are some people who prefer their "life" online and the anonymity and freedom that it can sometimes give.

Bonus: I also learned a new word while reading this book! Impecunious - having little or no money; penniless; poor.

What I didn't like:
At times Wade's extensive knowledge of all things 80's seemed far-fetched. He had multiple movies memorized almost completely - not just dialog, but movement as well - and he seemed to be a whiz at every video game he decided to play. I understand that he didn't have much to do in life other than memorize thousands of shows, movies, facts and game strategies, but at times I wondered if the human brain could really hold that much information. But really, this was a pretty minor issue.

I had this book on my radar since I read in article back in 2011, right before it released. I'm so glad I finally made a point to read it! I think even if you're not very familiar with 80's pop culture, this is still a fun read - it's a technology based dystopia with likeable characters and plenty of food for thought. There's also plenty of action. Give it a shot! ( )
  MillieHennessy | Jun 8, 2014 |
Disclaimer: I'm a product of the 80's and a (former) gamer. Therefore...

I had a great time reading this book.* For what it was—a tribute to 80's nostalgia and the modern gaming society—it was simply perfect. And if that's all you're looking for, or need, in a book, you've certainly come to the right place. This has it all. (1) 80's references aplenty (more in fact that I could even keep up with). I'd like to read it again just to find the hidden "easter eggs" that I missed the first time around. And (2) gaming technology and designs that would make even the most cutting edge gamer of today drool with catatonic envy. Will the world be on the brink of social, political and financial ruin in 30 years because of the energy crisis? I'd bet many of the gamers today wouldn't care if they could get their hands on a fully immersive virtual reality environment like OASIS where they could "live" instead.

On the other hand, it wasn't especially great writing. Lots of telling, instead of showing. Stock characters that didn't have much depth (beyond what the plot called for). Dramatic turns that really only served to propel forward the "gunter" storyline (gunter = egg hunter, i.e., those who were trying to solve the mystery in the game in the book). I think I can sum up the writing this way: it seemed as if Cline was simply describing a movie he could see in his head about this story which he had already worked out.

Okay, fine. To that end, I think it would make an awesome movie. And back to my first paragraph above, those of us looking for a great tribute to the 80's and gaming aren't simultaneously looking for John Steinbeck's flowing prose. Just saying I couldn't give it 5/5 stars, but it was still very entertaining.

* Actually I listened to it, and if you have a chance to do the same, you won't regret it. Will Wheaton's narration was excellent and the in-book reference to himself in the third person as an old "geezer" is priceless. ( )
1 vote invisiblelizard | Jun 1, 2014 |
It's a fairly typical dystopic future, 2044, where the world is just
really crappy and most people spend their time in the virtual reality
called OASIS. The inventor of OASIS, James Halliday, was a nerdy
recluse so when he died, he didn't have anyone to leave his incredibly
vast fortune to. What he did was make a game out of it. Anyone who
found and completed his puzzles in OASIS would inherit everything,
including control of OASIS. (It's in all caps every time it's
mentioned in the book. Slightly annoying.) However, he made it very,
very difficult--years go by and nobody finds anything. So anybody
who's serious about finding it obsessively studies everything Halliday
was obsessed with--so the book is absolutely full of 1980s music,
book, movie and especially video game references. ( )
  GrytaJME | May 27, 2014 |
A fun read, filled with 80s nostalgia. ( )
1 vote Michael.McGuire | May 22, 2014 |
Junto a Asimov, de lo mejor en Ciencia Ficción que he leído, te atrapa de principio a fin, muy recomendable. ( )
  Zeroth | May 19, 2014 |
Wade Watts lives a pretty crummy life, with an abusive aunt in dangerous shanty town of the future. Not that thing are much better for everyone else, after global economic disaster most of the population struggles every day to make ends meet. The world has an escape, however, and that is OASIS. It's a virtual reality simulation of an entire universe, full of endless possibilities. Though it was originally designed by a video game designer to function like an online role-playing game, even non-gamers began to visit the simulation to escape from the harsh realities of their personal lives.

When the developer of OASIS dies, he leaves behind a message. Somewhere in the infinite expanse of the simulation there is a hidden egg, and the one who finds it will inherit his fortune, an inconceivable amount of money that could alter the lives of million. Immediately much of the human population begins to seek it, Wade Watts included.

As a gamer, I adored this book! While I don't necessarily think understanding the world of games an MMORPGs is necessary to enjoy the book, it unquestionably heightened my enjoyment of it considerably. I find myself desperately wishing the OASIS was real, even though I know I would probably lose my life to it. Having played an online role-playing game in the past, I know how they can consume every ounce of free time you have, and devour your soul in the process. I don't care, I want it to be real!

There is really nothing that I didn't absolutely love about Ready Player One. I was even able to tolerate all the terrible 80's pop culture, which is both alarming and really quite impressive. My only disappointment is that it's over now, and I can never experience it for the first time again. ( )
1 vote Ape | May 7, 2014 |
What a wonderful audiobook! Wil Wheaton does an amazing job narrating this. I love the creative story & being a child of the 80's myself, I really enjoyed the plethora of pop culture references. Indeed the whole premise of the book is based on it. I read another reviewer call this nostalgia porn, & if that's the case bring me more!!

( )
1 vote CMBlaker | May 6, 2014 |
Ready Player One is straight up a tribute to all things 80s. If there were one book that a gamer should read it would have to be this one! Not only would gamers love it but any child of the 80s because there are so many movies, games and music references strung throughout the entire book that it was like one big ride of nostalgia for me. I remember fondly every science fiction and fantasy movie or game I played as a child and to have them mentioned in the book and frankly pretty much turned into a guide of all things awesome just blew my mind away.

If you couldn't guess already I thought Ready Player One was fantastic! Beyond fantastic really because not only is this a great book for teens (the main characters being teenagers) but this is an excellent book for adults - especially those adults like me that are still big kids at heart. That's right I'm looking at you folks who still like to RPG, Game, Cosplay and do anything at all SFF related. This book was written for us! It didn't just speak to me as a fan and lover of all things SFF this spoke to my soul. Am I getting sappy there? - Yes, I can't help it, I'm a big geek and I love what I love. Each one of those teens I could see reflected back at me anytime I talk to one of my genre loving friends.

I know this might have been hyped up all over the place, even while reading it, my friends who had already read it were all 'Oh I loved that," "Oh I couldn't put it down"...yadda yadda yadda. So it was really hyped up and I admit I was very hesitant to read it because I have been let down in the past by hyped up books and I was scared to be let down again. So I let it flounder on my shelf for 2 years! Don't let that be you LOL because man, this is already one I'll be reading again asap. I'll give you a moment to go click the buy button...done? Ok good.

So maybe you don't want to listen to the hype? Good don't! Don't listen to the hype, don't anticipate anything - just go along for the ride and enjoy. Approach and handle with caution because your head might explode in radtastic proportions...ok there I go hyping it up again.

All I have to say is this is more than just a coming of age story. While I think Ready Player One is reaching out to a specific generation, I also think it really could be for everyone. It is simply that entertaining. The comedy, the action, the pain, and pangs of love, there is so much to enjoy. I don't even want to go into the contents of the book one iota because the description tells you everything you need to know to reel you in - and I guarantee within the first chapter Ernest Cline will have you hook, line and sinker. You don't stand a chance. ( )
  Pabkins | May 2, 2014 |
Dude, this book was AWESOME! I received this book as a Goodreads Giveaway and was excited to win a copy of Ready Player One. As a teenager of the 80's I loved all the bits of trivia and pop culture embedded in this story. Not only did I love the story in which Wade Watts, the main character, hunts for an egg hidden deep within a multi level virtual reality called the OASIS but I loved all the main characters as well. Ready Player One has it all action, adventure, humor and a dash of romance. The story made me laugh and cry. If you love the 80's or technology I highly recommend this book. You will not be disappointed!
  68papyrus | Apr 8, 2014 |
John Hughes movies are all the rage. Kids everywhere are firing up Atari games. Billy Idol and Cyndi Lauper songs are blasting in dance clubs. To the average person in the 1980s, this may appear par for the course but in Ernest Cline’s sci-fi novel Ready Player One, we’re no longer in the 1980s, we’re in the year 2044 and the most obnoxious decade of the 20th century is back in a big way!

The whole world is up shit creek without a paddle. People are living in crude skyscrapers constructed from stacked mobile homes, crime is at an all time high and the economy is in the toilet. The only escape from this dreary existence is a massive online RPG network dubbed the OASIS. Players strap on a visor giving them full 360 degree vision of a computer generated world in which they design their own avatar and live out a much more pleasant existence.

The game’s creator, James Halliday, passed away a few years prior and before doing so, hid a prize deep inside the game. Halliday decided that whoever could claim the elusive prize would gain controlling interest in his company and inherit his unbelievable $240 billion fortune. Knowing that everyone on earth would be gunning for it, Halliday did his damndest to make uncovering his “easter egg” as challenging as possible. One would have to both know his life story inside out and be a true scholar of the 1980s. Well, unless you’re a giant soulless corporation like IOI (Innovative Online Industries) with its sights set on complete market domination.

For years IOI have been sending out their army of hunters, desperate to uncover the location of the egg. Fortunately for the OASIS community, IOI haven’t made headway in their search. It isn’t until a young player named Wade Watts from the stacks in Oklahoma City uncovers the Copper Key – the first step in the search for the egg – that things really begin to heat up. Can Wade complete the quest before IOI claim the prize or will another ambitious player step up to the plate and nab the billion dollar crown?

Despite being born in 1984, I’m not quite a student of the 80s. I was six years old when the calendar turned over to 1990 and the following ten years really crafted my sense of humor and fascination with pop culture. Put on an old episode of the CG TV show ReBoot or Pixar’s first Toy Story to really get the nostalgia drug following through my veins. While I was worried that the majority of the references within Cline’s Ready Player One would sail over my head, thankfully I had enough crap jammed into that “useless-knowledge” part of my brain reserved for Saturday morning cartoon shows, WWF wrestling, Ghostbusters and Top 40 radio to get me by.

While the book took a little too long to get going for my taste, once Wade (or Parzival) grabbed that Copper Key, Cline pushed down on the pedal and took this Delorean of a novel to 88mph. In looking around at several other reviews, it’s hard to believe people haven’t praised the dialogue nearly as much as I feel it’s deserved. While Cline isn’t doing anything special per se, it should be noted that everything just feels so natural. I’m going to really miss these characters.

Bottom line, this is a really fun book. I welcome the person who takes a crack at recreating the ultimate 90s nostalgia trip where all the characters wear flannel shirts, watch Boy Meets World and obsess over Kevin Smith movies. ( )
1 vote branimal | Apr 1, 2014 |
Amazing may not be the right word, but this book is one of the most fun books that I've ever read in my life. If you've ever loved a bit of 80's pop culture, played a video game, or known a gamer, I think you'll agree. ( )
  lmm161 | Mar 30, 2014 |
This is a paean to the 1980s, told through the lens of a teenager searching an immersive virtual works (the OASIS) to find a hidden "egg" that will grant him a massive fortune and a control over the virtual world. The designer of the quest was a genius agoraphobic programmer who used classic video game and 1980s pop culture references as the basis of his riddles and challenges in the quest. This means that the main characters are studying 1980s pop culture to solve the riddles. The book maintains a good pace, has plenty of action, and the intrigue of the quest kept my attention. The 1980s nostalgia was a bit much for me; your milage may vary. ( )
  JLHeim | Mar 29, 2014 |
Okay enough acronyms - the book really takes off when Wade deciphers what the opening limerick of Halliday's contest challenge really means - connecting the words to an old Dungeons and Dragons module, transporting himself to that particular cave (Tomb of Horrors) and successfully going through all the fights and gaming challenges to earn the Copper Key, and open the first "gate", the first person in five years to do so. Wade's avatar, Parzival, is now posted on the Scoreboard, and is known the world over. How he and his OASIS friends manage to continue solving the clues and opening the subsequent gates, all with the evil IOI 'sixers" hot on their heels takes up the rest of the book. While all the background digressions into Halliday's past and the dystopian details of life in 2045 may bore some teen readers, Cline clearly knows the gamer world and builds the suspense through chapter after chapter, including a galactic size battle outside the last "gate" to the ultimate prize. Beyond the action, we also live through Wade's experiences and desires - to win, to maintain his honor, to keep his friends beside him, to somehow connect with Art3mis. As a totally NON-gamer, I still enjoyed this book and the expert weaving together of this oddly menacing future with so many video game details, all given to us through the twisting and turning quest of Parzival! ( )
  BDartnall | Mar 29, 2014 |
Such a good book, it was really well written, fast paced, incredibly nerdy and had a great plot. It wasn't quite a 5/5 for me but it was pretty close.
I really liked the writing style, and the world building.
It was a great read. I loved all the 80's pop culture references through this book, and just how random some of the challenges were.
I really liked the characters as well, all of them were written really well.

For a longer more detailed review, please check out my blog at http://www.thebooktower.webs.com ( )
  bookish92 | Mar 20, 2014 |
I was really looking forward to this one. I kept hearing all these tales about how it's made for my generation and persona type, the geek who grew up in the 1980's. It is not a grand epic book with grand themes. It is meant for a specific audience and never deviates from that. But if you are in that audience, you will love this book.

Unfortunately for me, I found out I am juuuuust a bit outside that audience because I was born in 1981, and most of the nostalgia is too early for me. Video games are Atari and arcade cabinets, not Nintendo and Sega. Movies are WarGames and Ladyhawke, not Batman or Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Music is from Rush and Van Halen, not... well, I have no idea. I didn't really listen to pop music growing up.

Nonetheless, this is my favorite book I've read these two months (as I knew it would be), and I hope the sequel moves the date up juuuuust a little bit. ( )
  theWallflower | Mar 17, 2014 |
This is a great book I could not put it down. ( )
  Coyoteofthenine | Mar 14, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 399 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 avail.
1478 wanted
4 pay5 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.22)
0.5
1 11
1.5 3
2 34
2.5 13
3 168
3.5 80
4 502
4.5 153
5 612

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,545,086 books! | Top bar: Always visible