HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Guardians of the West by David Eddings
Loading...

Guardians of the West (original 1987; edition 1987)

by David Eddings

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3,874211,329 (3.74)22
Member:alcottacre
Title:Guardians of the West
Authors:David Eddings
Info:Del Rey (1987), Edition: Book Club Edition, Hardcover
Collections:Your library
Rating:***1/2
Tags:Fantasy

Work details

Guardians of the West by David Eddings (1987)

Recently added byprivate library, Lunapilot, unwittingagent, mguernsey, ConalO, holsa, Dragonkitty, kpevjen
None
  1. 30
    Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings (Sundry)
    Sundry: First book of the Belgariad, a related five book series that precedes the Malloreon.
  2. 20
    Polgara the Sorceress by David Eddings (Sundry)
  3. 20
    Belgarath the Sorcerer by David Eddings (Sundry)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 22 mentions

English (16)  French (3)  Finnish (1)  All languages (20)
Showing 1-5 of 16 (next | show all)
i've never before realised just how boring this book is, also how ridiculous. after spending the entire belgariad convincing us that belgarath and polgara et al have been working for thousands of years to get everything in place according to the prophecies for one event, starting a whole new series predicated on completely new! and unsuspected! prophecies that were apparently in the mrin codex all along is pretty ludicrous.

i will, however, persevere for the 2010 reread. and then i might just get rid of these books altogether, since they're taking up valuable shelf space i could be using for something else more worthwhile. ( )
  lumpish | Apr 25, 2013 |
The Mallorean series starts where the Belgariad series left off. On a surprising note, this series starts with a few mysteries that need to be solved along with the misdirection that every good mystery has.

In this first book, we spend a lot of time exploring the character and mystery that is Errand. And although nothing is every fully revealed, we are getting tidbits of information that lead us to want to know more.

Of course with the mysteries comes some court intrigue that end up with a few kingdom wars. Overall a more satisfying start to a series than I found in the first novel of the Belgariad. ( )
  mpritchett | Dec 21, 2011 |
MALLOREON
  rustyoldboat | May 28, 2011 |
All of your favorite characters from the Belgariad are back in Eddings follow-on series the Malloreon. Once again, Belgarion is pitted against two prophecies regarding the Child of Light and the Child of Dark and this time he must act to save humanity and his newborn son.

Eddings brings back and expands upon the characters first introduced in the Belgariad. The most interesting transformation of character is that of Errand. The somewhat intriguing boy from the previous series is found to have sorcerer-like powers allowing him to see into the minds of others across great distances. Magic of this nature is unknown to the likes of Polgara and Belgarath and is sure to be an essential element to future books in the series.

For fans of The Belgariad, Guardians of the West is a must read. ( )
  JechtShot | Apr 16, 2011 |
I remember reading this series, but I don't remember how good it was. So, I give it three stars. ( )
  Anagarika-Sean | Sep 25, 2010 |
Showing 1-5 of 16 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (8 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
David Eddingsprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Gatti, GraziaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Haarala, TarmoTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Herder, EdwinCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Shapiro, ShellyCartographersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Spångberg, YlvaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Taylor, GeoffCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Tenny, HalNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Judy-Lynn: A rose blooms and then fades, but the beauty and the fragrance are remembered always.
First words
Being an Account of those Events whereby Belgarion came to the Throne of Riva and how he slew the Accursed God Torak.
- from the Introduction, Legends of Aloria

After the seven Gods created the world, it is said that they and those races of men they had chosen dwelt together in peace and harmony.
It was late spring.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0345352661, Mass Market Paperback)

A sequel to THE BELGARIAD, Garion has slain the evil God Torak, and fulfilled the prophecy. But suddenly another prophecy is foretold. Again a great evil is brewing in the East. And again Garion finds himself caught between two ancient Prophecies, with the fate of the world resting on him....

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:59:46 -0400)

(see all 5 descriptions)

Garion, the King of Riva, finds himself caught between the Dark Prophecy and the Prophecy of Light when he searches a previously obscure part of the Mrin Codex to identify someone or something called Zandramas.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
203 avail.
16 wanted
1 pay6 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.74)
0.5 2
1 10
1.5 4
2 55
2.5 9
3 208
3.5 39
4 263
4.5 25
5 179

Audible.com

Three editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,336,445 books! | Top bar: Always visible