HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Girl of Fire…
Loading...

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Girl of Fire and Thorns - Trilogy) (edition 2011)

by Rae Carson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,3561455,677 (3.87)147
This was one of those books that I kept seeing other people recommend. Each time I would think “I probably ought to read that at some point.” But I never did. I am SO glad that this challenge finally prompted me to pick it up. Once I did pick it up, I couldn’t put it down! Elisa is such a wonderful heroine. She feels inadequate, weighed down by other people’s expectations of her as the Chosen one. But as she struggles through pain and adversity, she rises to the challenge, surprising herself and everyone else with her inner strength. I can guarantee that I won’t put off reading the next installment in this trilogy! ( )
  AngelaCinVA | Apr 28, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 145 (next | show all)
I wanted to love this, but this is the second time I've tried to read this and can't get through it. ( )
  uhohxkate | Jan 31, 2016 |
I must congratulate the author on a great debut novel. "The Girl of Fire and Thorns" has a lovely mix of fantasy and adventure, and had me hooked from the first page to the last. Elisa is a refreshing protagonist. When the reader first meets her she is an overweight, insecure young girl who lives in the shadow of her older sister. Gradually, however, Elisa develops into a brave warrior and strong leader. Elisa is supported by a range of interesting secondary characters and the obligatory romance has an intersting twist. Can't wait to read the sequel. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 23, 2016 |
I must congratulate the author on a great debut novel. "The Girl of Fire and Thorns" has a lovely mix of fantasy and adventure, and had me hooked from the first page to the last. Elisa is a refreshing protagonist. When the reader first meets her she is an overweight, insecure young girl who lives in the shadow of her older sister. Gradually, however, Elisa develops into a brave warrior and strong leader. Elisa is supported by a range of interesting secondary characters and the obligatory romance has an intersting twist. Can't wait to read the sequel. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 23, 2016 |
I must congratulate the author on a great debut novel. "The Girl of Fire and Thorns" has a lovely mix of fantasy and adventure, and had me hooked from the first page to the last. Elisa is a refreshing protagonist. When the reader first meets her she is an overweight, insecure young girl who lives in the shadow of her older sister. Gradually, however, Elisa develops into a brave warrior and strong leader. Elisa is supported by a range of interesting secondary characters and the obligatory romance has an intersting twist. Can't wait to read the sequel. ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 23, 2016 |
Though I don't generally enjoy fantasy, this one was very enjoyable. The elements of fantasy were minimal and were used to show a great character change. I loved the overall message portrayed here. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 22, 2016 |
Il fuoco e la rosa di Rae Carson è stato una bella scoperta.
E’ si un romanzo fantastico rivolto ad un pubblico giovane, ma riesce comunque a portare un lettore adulto là dove deve andare, in un mondo alternativo, dalla cultura diversa, con magia e leggende a sostenerlo.
La trama in sè è piuttosto comune: la principessa dal destino segnato fin dalla nascita che deve salvare un regno.
Ma è proprio Elisa, la protagonista, ad essere fuori dagli schemi canonici che tutti si aspetterebbero.
Elisa è intelligente, certamente… come potrebbe non esserlo avendo avuto precettori d’eccellenza fin dalla prima infanzia? Ma è questo il suo problema, Elisa è stata avvolta nella bambagia e non è preparata a quello che la aspetta.
Elisa è indulgente con sè stessa. E’ golosa e mangia dolci (come molti di noi effettivamente) quando qualcosa la turba. Mangia quindi per essere felice e tranquilla.
Elisa è gelosa. Di una sorella maggiore prefetta, atletica, bellissima che non le assomiglia per nulla. Lei è piccola e grassa e brava solo nello studio dei trattati di guerra. Si può dire che sia un pò fissata della sorella. Pensa la disprezzi per ciò che è e rappresenta e per ciò che ha portato la sua nascita: la morte della madre.
Ma questo ormai poco importa, presto se ne andrà nel regno vicino. Lei che stà per sposarne il bellissimo Re e finalmente portà compiere il proprio straordinario destino.

Ma non è pronta.
Elisa inizia il suo cammino accecata: da chi le è stato attorno tutta la vita, dalla sua ignoranza del mondo esterno e di ciò che la aspetta.
E’ ingenua fino all’eccesso e, diciamolo, non poco egoista.
Ma ben presto inizia a vedere. Osserva e ascolta…impara.
Ma ciò che non si aspettava era di venir rapita dal suo stesso letto, nel cuore del palazzo.

Elisa è un personaggio che si evolve drasticamente e velocemente nel corso del romanzo.
Le fatiche e la consapevolezza che finalmente la raggiungono, dopo anni di completa ignoranza, la trasformeranno in ciò che era necessario a coloro che da sempre proteggevano i confini di un regno che li ha dimenticati.

Elisa diventerà un’eroina. Una stratega che li farà sperare…e forse, li porterà alla vittoria. Forse.
Perchè questo è solo l’inizio.

http://azurestrawberry.altervista.org/r-il-fuoco-e-la-rosa-di-rae-carson-fire-th... ( )
  AzureStrawberry | Jan 12, 2016 |
Wonderful characters faced with hard choices. The book was really well done. The magic system and bellybutton gem were the only things that were hard to swallow. ( )
  LaPhenix | Dec 19, 2015 |
I liked this because the plots kept going where I didn't expect- it was a refreshing feeling! The continuious plotting and travelling by the characters kept the story moving along. However, the ending not exactly fizzled, but rather... plateaued? Over all though really quite enjoyable! ( )
  Meg_121 | Dec 12, 2015 |
I don't know. This book isn't poorly written, but that doesn't change the fact that I just didn't enjoy it that much, unfortunately.

I found that I didn't really believe the romance; Humberto is just deeply interested in Elisa immediately, and compliments her about things he frankly wouldn't really know about from having just met her. Thus, I was surprised and sad when he died--and also when Alejandro, who, if not painted in a constantly flattering light like Humberto, was still shown to be kind, died--but there wasn't any particularly resounding emotional impact. If anything, I felt sadder about Aneaxi's death in the beginning. Now, I generally like not being sad (go figure), so I'm glad in a way, but it also really means that I wasn't particularly engaged in the story. I think part of the reason I couldn't engage with the story, and even with character deaths, was because the characters were not very believably developed, and also, Elisa gets shuttled from place to place to place. I wasn't particularly interested.

Also, as with [b:Innocence Lost For Queen and Country|21953834|Innocence Lost For Queen And Country|Patty Jansen|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1399933502s/21953834.jpg|41260590], I found that the inclusion of a pseudo-Christian (but made-up) religion was really distracting. I kept being jarred by the many differences and then the occasional weird similarity. In addition, the violence in this book was definitely too graphic for me. Lots of images in my head that I wish hadn't been described in such detail!

I do think Elisa develops as a character throughout, and I enjoy her journey. In the beginning, though, I really had to push myself to keep reading; I just felt that she was so whiny, and I'm not one that normally comments on something like that when characters are in situations that warrant some level of discontent. Maybe I was just grumpy?

I also really liked the descriptions of food, and Rosario. But other than that... I don't know. It just wasn't that satisfying. ( )
  elephantine | Nov 27, 2015 |
This review covers both the 1st and 2nd books (sort of) but mostly the first, and does contain some spoilers.
























These are pretty amazing books. Elisa, the heroine of the books, makes an incredible transformation from the beginning of the first book, where she is a chunky, still growing, still learning and not very self-confident girl, to one who can deal with whatever gets tossed at her, mostly because she’s stubborn, doesn’t want to get teased, and wants to prove she can do what everyone else can. So, while she bewails her fate at having to leave her father’s home where there are no challenges and life is easy, leaving is the best thing that could have happened to her. She is very close to her nurse, Ximena, who is truly her best advisor. Elisa faces bloody violence, the subterfuges of court, a husband who doesn’t love her and who keeps a mistress openly, kidnapping, and a whole host of problems she doesn’t know how to deal with, surrounded by people she doesn’t know and unsure of who to trust. An interesting issue that I only remember being brought up in one other book that I am trying to remember is the fact that part of Elisa’s transformation is brought about by tramping through the desert after being kidnapped. As she comes more to terms with who she is and what she can do, she loses the weight, it serves almost as literal emotional baggage. Even though she’s “acceptably thin” at the end (a little annoying) it’s because she’s gone through a transformation. Princess Ben—that’s the other one, a sort of fairy tale, that deals with the princesses’ weight issue, especially when her parents die and she has to learn how to run the kingdom—for her, food serves much the same purpose as it does Elisa—comfort. Small deviation there, just remembered that. CoE concentrates more on what it’s like for Elisa to rule, and how she continues to grow and learn through her experience. I think I forgot to mention she has a godstone in her belly button, which makes some villainous type people want her for the sole reason she does. They want the godstone, not her necessarily attached to it. They are both very good reads, the middle book doesn’t suffer the “middle child” syndrome, and the third, I think, is coming out the end of this year (The Bitter Kingdom?). ( )
  waclements7 | Oct 27, 2015 |
I enjoy the occasional detour from urban fantasy into the realm of what I think goes by the term "high fantasy," but the main distinction is that the story is set in an imaginary world rather than the world we currently live in.

So from that perspective, I enjoyed this story, as it gave me a tour of a new place and introduced me to new kinds of characters. The idea of a "Godstone" was interesting, as was the gradually unfolding mystery about what these stones really mean.

I also always enjoy reading stories told from the POV of strong women, and Elisa certainly has her strengths (which include her conflicting desires and wavering faith, as well as her political insights). At first I was hoping that Elisa might turn out to be a "plus sized" woman who can still kick ass, but alas, it was not to be, and everyone's reaction to the slimmer Elisa were boringly predictable.

Now that it's been a few days since I finished listening, I'd also say that the story dragged on too long in places, which is making me somewhat hesitant to start the next book in the series. But the popularity of this series will likely draw me in.
( )
  PerpetualRevision | Oct 25, 2015 |
This is a book that’s been hovering at the edge of my radar for a while now and I was pretty pleased to stumble upon it at the library. Andnowihavetobuyitbecauseitwassogood I mean, wat.
I loved this book. I fell in love with Elisa within the first four pages. A far cry from the normal high fantasy heroine, Elisa is the under appreciated younger daughter who has a destiny too big for her to fully comprehend. As God’s Chosen, she has a stone, a Godstone, in her belly that marks her with some grand destiny. That is, if she can somehow complete her destiny. Most chosen don’t.
Now, I admit, when a high fantasy novel has a heavy monotheistic religion in it, it sometimes doesn’t sit right with me. (Having nothing much to read but Christian fantasy books as a kid basically turned me off of having a ‘real world’ religion take place in a fantasy setting), this book pulled it off perfectly though by crafting a completely unique religion (religious world building is my faaaaavourite thing) in a really well built world (all those names. Wonderful names that I can’t remember how to spell for the life of me :3)
Elisa was an amazing heroine. Unsure of herself, not the most confident of folk in the beginning, her skin is darker than her sisters and food is her only solace. I just love her a lot and her progression and growth from secret wife, hidden away and kept in the dark, to God’s Chosen One through the story was beautiful. She really stands out amidst the “normal girls” of YA (… you know what I mean).
I was really excited with how the romance was handled in this story. (Two love interests (kinda sorta maybe) but no love triangle? *success*) It was resolved even better, it was resolved perfectly, oh, I am pleased with how tastefully light the romance was.
I’m just really happy with everything in this book and how it was handled. The magic wasn’t overbearing and fit perfectly as a foil to the religious aspect, the group of rebellious Hill folk were probably my favourites (Cosmé was easily one of my favourite characters), I adored the Eastern elements to the world building (as much as I love the European elements typical to fantasy, I really love when authors choose to move their setting to a more Eastern base. I love palaces in the deserts what can I say). The narration was rich and handled well in the first person (with a character that in the wrong hands could have come across as overly whiny to be honest, but she never did). Everything just reminded me why YA fantasy is my favourite genre and why I choose to write it myself. ( )
  glitzandshadows | Oct 12, 2015 |
i had to stop reading this book. it could not keep my interest. maybe after i tackle my huge reading list i will go back and revisit. but i made it half way through and was not impresses ( )
  sassybrunette | Oct 8, 2015 |
This book really surprised me. On my second read. I first read The Girl of Fire and Thorns a couple of years ago and only mildly enjoyed it. It just didn't make that much of an impression on me. Though reading it again, I honestly cannot see why.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns is an engaging Young Adult novel centering around themes of war, love, and overcoming self-doubt. What I loved most about it was the journey. Elisa's journey to fulfilling her destiny. The journey across miles of harsh desert. The journey we are taken on as readers. This book is all about journey, adventure, and self-discovery.

Elisa is one of the most relatable protagonists you'll find in YA literature. She's not perfect. She has doubts. She doesn't always know how to act. She's not thin, and she has problems with her self-image. She doesn't always feel courageous. But she always rises up to the occasion. She is by far my favorite character--though I love the supporting characters and how Rae Carson has portrayed them!

This book is so utterly unique. In it, the author presents a world of her own making, characters that defy the norm, and plot devices that many authors would be scared to use! Though this book categorized as secular, she didn't balk at including prayer and God in her novel. And sometimes things took a turn for the unexpected.

So, yes, this book surprised me. I don't know what possessed me to only give it three stars after my first read. As of today, I declare this a five star read, and officially a favorite of mine.

Content: There's kissing. That's it! Clean!

Originally posted @ The Scribbling Sprite ( )
  ScribblingSprite | Aug 10, 2015 |
.....good things happen to those who aren't fat....apparently....

I had a very hard time connecting with this book. It took me three days of attempts to tackle it, and i honestly got nowhere. The writing is more then decent but the plot simply pings off my thoughts like there is a massive force-field between my imagination and the words in this novel that were desperate to claw their way in.

Somehow i found myself not really caring (I lie, i didn't care from the start) about some girl stuffing her face and only being considered as a decent human being after shedding some weight. No, it's not the morale of the story, it's just that i can't connect to a character like that.

It seemed like a backward way of dealing with misery trough food, and finding happiness once you change every single thing about yourself. The concept was a bit hypocritical i mean - here is a prophesy, give it to the chubbster, but don't worry it won't come true till she gets that bikini body.

So in a way the author gave us a heroine that is outside the norm, just to trim (pun intended) her down to the perfect cookie cutter size.... There were some honest struggles described that some girls face, and you don't have to be big for that, just have big boobs. Those were destroyed as a mental image thanks to a certain music video...



ah well, you get the gist. ( )
  IvieHill | Aug 6, 2015 |
I wanted to read The Girl of Fire and Thorns because I had read so many good reviews about it. I avoided it at first because it sounded like the fantasy might be rooted pretty firmly in the political aspect and that is something that is often over my head in high fantasy. But I read several who are like me and still adored it, so decided to give it a go.

I liked Elisa immediately. The story starts on her 16th birthday and she is about to marry a king who she has never met. She tries to convince herself that he will be ugly, both to calm her nerves and to make herself dread it just a little bit less. That is a sense of her voice and narration, and it suited me well. I also liked that she was close with her ladies/servants. They mean more to her than just advice, or help getting ready, they are like another part of her family, ones that she trusts and confides in, who both try to make her see just how special she is.

The king Alejandro isn't bad, but I did balk at him keeping the marriage a secret once he gets back home. Given, they are attacked while traveling back to his kingdom. But still. I did appreciate that he didn't force intimacy and that he levels with her when she asks what he wants from her and he says a friend.

Elisa gets stronger, and realizes more about herself as the book progresses. She works with the religious leader to learn about the origins of her Godstone and prophecies. She is getting mixed in the politics, and trying to represent her home country and brings her expertise from studying war and religion texts in depth.

There was a set of characters that really surprised me. They were set up as the bad guys for a while, but the more time she spent with them, she learned about their beliefs and their motivations, and couldn't help but sympathize. Trust and respect was built between her and them, and really set some things in motion for the ending and into the next book. One of them died though, and it really threw me because I wasn't expecting it, and thought that it might have set up as more of a love triangle.

I def will be continuing with this series and am glad I gave it a try.

Bottom Line: Unlikely heroine and great cast of secondary characters. ( )
  brandileigh2003 | Jul 27, 2015 |
I LOVED this book! It is such a compelling story, with a great protagonist that you can really get behind and yes, she makes some mistakes, but perfect protagonists are always really boring. I was looking for a strong female lead character, and while it takes Elisa a bit to get there, once she does, she's a great lead. Highly recommended. ( )
  izzycubs932 | Jul 24, 2015 |
Boricuan Bookworms, Young Adult Reviewer

Today is the day of my wedding. It is also my sixteenth birthday.
-The Girl of Fire and Thorns

That quote right there captivated me right from the beginning. This book is the story of Elisa, the sixteen-year-old girl who is chosen by God to fulfill a great destiny. From the first pages, we realize that Elisa has this huge internal conflict with herself. She’s questioning herself as to why God would choose her the fat, dark, princess. I took a liking to Elisa right away, because of the fact that she was so… wounded. I wanted to pick her up and hug her right away. I also realize how amazing her character growth was. Elisa grows from fragile child to beautiful and mature woman right before our eyes.

Other than Elisa, there were wonderful characters that you couldn’t help but like. I especially loved Rosario, Hector and Cosmé.

I enjoyed the overall plot of this book. I liked how there wasn’t only one villain or only one good guy. It was nice seeing that not everything was black and white in this book. I also enjoyed the pacing. At first it seemed to drag on, but after a while I could see how it was building up to something more.

Also, I loved the romance!

It was so endearing, and never got in the way of the actual story. There were no stupid make-out scenes while the world was crumbling all around them, and there was no stupid fixation on the other person, to the point of forgetting what this book was all about.

I enjoyed the love interest most of all, because he was just so adorable towards Elisa. He always tried to protect her, and he stood up for her, but always letting her be herself. He loved her regardless of who she was and what she looked like.

“You [Elisa] are the bravest person I know. And smart. And…” He shifts his feet. “And beautiful.”
-The Girl of Fire and Thorns

An element of this book that may be controversial for many people could be the underlying religious theme. And I will be honest, I don’t usually like religion in the books I read, but this book was so different from the typical “preach instead of teach” book. It doesn’t conform to one religion; hell, it even doesn’t say that much about religion. What it does talk about it one’s general purpose in life, and the faith that you must have in yourself to achieve it. The book states that everyone is chosen for a reason, and our purpose is much more than it seems. This book teaches us to find the power deep within ourselves.
I didn’t need faith in God so much as I needed faith in myself.
-The Girl of Fire and Thorns

Overall, I recommend this book if you’re looking for a book with great character development, swoony romance, and a read along the likes of Graceling and Fire. You won’t be disappointed.

Rating: 4.5 Stars
( )
  mariannelee_0902 | Jul 1, 2015 |
I haven't been able to put my finger on it yet to determine what made this book such a good read. It kept me intrigued for several days, and that has become a rare occurance. The plot is nothing new. The religious world is just too close to our world as to be in slightly bad taste. The protagonist is kinda icky to begin, and yet, Carson managed to make me care about her right away. There is sympathy even for the characters that do not behave well.

The theme I found surprisingly pertinent was the interpretation of God's will. Elisa is the only character who feels in the dark about what that might be. Everyone else has a firm conviction that might not agree with other interpretations. This is her strength in the end, that she keeps asking and praying about it. ( )
  2wonderY | Mar 2, 2015 |
If it hadn't been for the overly preachy atmosphere, I might have enjoyed it more. As it stands, I didn't see much fantasy but a lot of "bible bashing", so to speak. Fantasy played a minor role in the story, and that took away much of the excitement for me. It didn't mention anywhere in the blurb that it concentrated so much on God, his chosen one and God's will, and I feel it should considering it is the main plot and point of the book -- and so people are aware, before they pick it up.


However, putting those aside, I absolutely adored Elisa as the main character and all the character development, and how well fleshed out the side characters were. The plot was slightly predictable, but I found myself enjoying the last half immensely.

Full review to come on 100% Rock! ( )
  Aly_Locatelli | Jan 26, 2015 |
This book has been on my to-read list for a while and I just had to start it. Unfortunately, it sounded better than it turned out to be. I felt like at the beginning the only thing that mattered was her weight. It seemed like on every page it was brought up one way or another. And to be honest that really bugged me because in the end it didn't entirely matter. Sure, health wise, she changed for the better, but it didn't seem to have a significant role in the sense of the overall story. I'm not saying she shouldn't have been fat to start out with, I'm just saying that it didn't need to be so prominent if it didn't play more of a major role in the story. The story did pick up again in part 2 and I thought it was finally gonna pick up a bit. It did, but then it would simmer back down again. The end did redeem the book a bit, but I felt it did end rather abruptly. The whole book, or at least the last half, we were expecting war and then the war seemed to end so quickly. Perhaps I just wasn't ready to read this book yet to fully appreciate it because I know many people speak highly of this book. Maybe if I continue on with the series I will enjoy it more. ( )
  JosP | Jan 15, 2015 |
Very good! Will definitely seek out the next in the series!
  devafagan | Jan 2, 2015 |
I found this one interesting but found the weight transformation a little problematic, sudden weight loss can have issues, at least there were some consequences and it was interesting to read. it was also good to see that she didn't trust the effect the transformation had on some of the people around her.

Elisa was blessed, or cursed, with a gem in her navel shortly after birth and she now has been married to another king, sent to another kingdom. When she's kidnapped she has to find depths in herself and strengths she never knew she had.

It was an interesting read and I look forward to the sequels. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Dec 18, 2014 |
It is nearly impossible for me to say anything about this book without drawing comparisons to Robin McKinley's [b:The Blue Sword|407813|The Blue Sword (Damar, #1)|Robin McKinley|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1286927812s/407813.jpg|2321296]. Both feature reluctant heroines who are blessed with some sort of special-ness that they don't know how to handle, they both grow significantly throughout the book, and both stories have significant portions that take place in a desert! (Okay, maybe it was the desert that did it for me.)

I really did enjoy The Girl of Fire and Thorns. I liked the characters, and I felt the pacing was well done- just when I may have begun to get bored, something exciting happened that drew me in farther.

Enjoyable read, altogether. Not amazing, but likable and exciting nonetheless.
( )
  kateminasian | Nov 22, 2014 |
Elisa bears the Godstone, a diamond-like jewel in her belly that marks her as destined to perform some great act of service in the future — if she can survive in the turbulent times ahead with war on the horizon. When she is secretly married on her sixteenth birthday to a king in a neighboring country, she finds herself thrust directly into that turmoil.

I enjoyed seeing Elisa's personal transition. Her story, as much as it is about war, adventure, love, and magic, is also very much about growing up and meeting the challenges life puts in front of you, something especially difficult when you're young. In the beginning, she's struggling. She feels useless and like and outcast, believing her sister hates her and that her family is happy to be rid of her through marriage. She eats to sooth her emotions. She's a large girl and because she compares herself with her slender, graceful sister, she indulges in further self-loathing. Some readers might find her whiny, but I could sympathize with Elisa. Being a teenager can really suck. I know, I've been there. I've spend a fair share of my teenage days hating my body and feeling like an horrible, ugly unwanted outcast. Maybe that's a part of the reason why it was so cool seeing her grow as a person as she faced each new challenge, becoming stronger in confidence, body, and soul.

Something I also really liked was the world-building and setting. The towns and people's names are inspired by the Spanish language and the people are generally dark skinned. The setting is jungles and the deserts and hills, so not the typical British Isles-style feudal fantasy.

While the religion described in the book seemed a little too simple and too widespread with no competing belief systems, I appreciated that there were variations in how characters approached their belief. In fact, it's the variations in interpretation that causes much of the overall problems throughout the book.

While far from a perfect read, The Girl of Fire and Thorns was enjoyable. I'll be picking up the sequel soon. ( )
2 vote andreablythe | Oct 30, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 145 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
384 wanted3 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.87)
0.5
1 8
1.5 1
2 22
2.5 5
3 84
3.5 29
4 171
4.5 27
5 105

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,253,094 books! | Top bar: Always visible