HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Resisters #1: The Resisters by Eric…
Loading...

The Resisters #1: The Resisters

by Eric Nylund

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: The Resisters (book 1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
393292,072 (3.71)None
None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

English (2)  Creek (1)  All languages (3)
Showing 2 of 2
Genre: Science Fiction
Review: The author stays true to the genre of science fiction because the story takes place in the future with technological advances in things like mechanical athletic body suits and huge fly insects that people can get inside and fly.
Point of View: The story is told from the omniscient 3rd person point of view. The main character is Ethan Blackwood. An example is, “It took Ethan a split second to react.” Another example is when the author is referring to a character named Madison, “She stopped and swallowed and looked sad for a moment.”
Media: No artwork in book ( )
  adaniel11 | Feb 24, 2012 |
This was a very fun book! The Resisters is the story of Ethan Blackwood. A sports and science standout at his school, Ethan's future is looking very bright. Then he meets two strangers who tell him that his world is not as it seems. His life is quickly turned upside down, and he begins a new adventure.

The action goes at a quick pace. It's exciting, but still age appropriate. It reads a bit like a video game, with lots of action punctuated by some story thrown in there. I think it's a great summer read for kids, especially ones who enjoy video games. It should keep their interest, but also brings up good points about thinking for yourself. The book goes by very quickly, and it leaves you wanting more.

I think this is a great kid's book. It will get them involved in the story quickly, and the characters are easy to relate too. I think it can serve as a gateway book for kids to show them that they can be just as exciting and fun as other forms of entertainment. Any book that can get kids reading is awesome to me.

Won in online contest ( )
  l_manning | May 22, 2011 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Eric Nylundprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Chan, JasonCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0375868569, Hardcover)

In the tradition of Robert Heinlein and Ray Bradbury, million-copy bestselling Halo author and game developer Eric Nylund brings action-packed science fiction to a young audience with this riveting children's debut. Twelve-year-old Ethan Blackwood has always known exactly what he wanted—to win the state soccer championship, get into the best high school, and become an astronaut. Then he meets Madison and Felix, who tell him something . . . insane. They claim that 50 years ago, aliens took over the earth, and everyone past puberty is under their mind control. Ethan doesn't believe it. But then he sees for himself the aliens' monster bug robots and the incredible way that Madison and Felix have learned to fight them. So Ethan Blackwood has a choice: he can go back to his normal, suburban, protected lie of a life—or he can become a Resister. This is science fiction on the lines of Scott Westerfield and Cory Doctorow for middle graders.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:20:15 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

When twelve-year-olds Madison and Felix kidnap him, Ethan learns that the Earth has been taken over by aliens and that all the adults in the world are under mind control.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted2 pay6 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.71)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3
3.5 2
4 3
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,538,522 books! | Top bar: Always visible