HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Traveling Restaurant: Jasper's…
Loading...

The Traveling Restaurant: Jasper's Voyage in Three Parts (edition 2012)

by Barbara Else

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
31None354,208 (4.29)6
Member:prkcs
Title:The Traveling Restaurant: Jasper's Voyage in Three Parts
Authors:Barbara Else
Info:Gecko Press (2012), Hardcover, 304 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:adventure, ships, ship, family, families, baby sister, magic, royality, kings, queens, abilities, fairy tale, food, estranged family, bird, birds, kd

Work details

The Travelling Restaurant by Barbara Else

None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 6 mentions

Showing 4 of 4
Fans of Lemony Snicket and The Mysterious Benedict Society would enjoy this middle grade book. ( )
  bksgoddess | Apr 3, 2013 |
Jasper Ludlow is a relatable young boy, even as he's being pursued across seas, river and land by a corrupt ruler, pirates, seagulls and a reporter with questionable allegiance. The Traveling Restaurant itself is a boat that just might have a bit of magic onboard, even if it just helps them choose the right menu at each port of call. But in a world where "magic" is a forbidden word, it's enough to place its crew in danger -- and when the fugitive Jasper comes onboard, they're in for a wild ride.
While much of this adventure was exciting and unique, it started to get a bit repetitive toward the end and some of the writing was awkward and terse, especially as I was reading it aloud. Still, Z and I had some fun with this book.

http://webereading.com/2012/10/kidlit-trio-traveling-restaurant.html ( )
  klpm | Oct 29, 2012 |
When Jasper turns 12 everything changes. His little sister gets sick, his uncle turns up and his parents insist they must all leave. But Jasper gets left behind and ends up in a boat that is a travelling restaurant, frantically trying to find his little sister who has been kidnapped by Lady Gall, the provisional monarch.
This book is a great mix of adventure and mystery with a good dollop of fantasy and humour. It would suit readers aged 10 and up ( )
  RefPenny | Jul 28, 2011 |
The fabulous cover of this book was what first caught my attention. I knew that anything with a cover that great must be wonderful and my expectations were fulfilled. Frequently hilarious, this enchanting tale is told in three parts: ‘Breakfast on the Travelling Restaurant’; ‘Lunch with the Secret Prince’ and ‘Barbecue with the True Crown’. Twelve-year-old Jasper, a seemingly ordinary boy, lives in the kingdom of Fontania with his mother, Lady Helen, and his father, Dr Ludlow, a scientist. Since the mysterious circumstances of ‘The Great Accident’ when a scientific experiment went terribly wrong and destroyed the Eastern Lake and the magic maintaining an ideal kingdom, the tyrannical ruler or ‘Provisional Monarch’ Lady Gall, has been in charge. Jasper's father has to work in a laboratory all day making something called 'beauteen', a kind of botox that is injected into Lady Gall to keep her looking young and beautiful.

After Jasper’s Uncle Trump turns up, his parents suddenly flee the city, leaving him behind. Later he finds that they are imprisoned and his sister Sybillia kidnapped. Jasper seeks sanctuary on a ship called ‘The Travelling Restaurant’ crewed by feisty Polly and old Dr Rocket. The restaurant provides food delights which during their travels Jasper often uses as bribery against Lady Gall’s cabbage and bean fed guards. Rocket and Polly assist Jasper in his quest to find Sybilla and overthrow Lady Gall, the usurper who secretly plans to become Queen. Encountering fierce storms, hungry pirates, whirlpools, and troublesome monkeys they sail around the coast and islands of Fontania.

Cover artist Sam Broad has designed wonderful fold-out maps for inside the front and back of this book. A most wonderful and fantastical voyage, very enjoyable. ( )
  boppisces | Jul 10, 2011 |
Showing 4 of 4
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

When twelve-year-old Jasper Ludlow's parents flee the city, he gets left behind and finds refuge on The Travelling Restaurant, a sailing ship captained by old Dr Rocket and crewed by feisty Polly. Jasper faces challenges, adventures, storms and hungry pirates. Should he go in search of his parents, or his lost baby sister? Who should he trust? And why is Lady Gall, Provisional Monarch of Fontania, hunting him?… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.29)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5 1
4 3
4.5 4
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,422,035 books! | Top bar: Always visible