HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Key by Felicia Rogers
Loading...

The Key (edition 2011)

by Felicia Rogers

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
118820,536 (4.38)None
Grace_Elliot's review
This YA fantasy romance opens as Maddie Clevenger, having recently lost both parents, struggles to fit into a new High School. This is not helped by the unwanted attention of darkly threatening Dougal, whose interest in her teeters on stalking. When handsome fellow newbie Chase Donovan elects himself Maddie’s protector, she finds herself strangely drawn to him.
But Maddie and Chase’s story is an echo of a centuries old love triangle… with a sinister twist. Chase is battling with a secret transformation that he fears will repel Maddie if she knew the truth. Meanwhile Maddie is haunted by recurring nightmares where she is the key to good and evil, and back in real life, when dark forces threaten to rise once more will Maddie’s love for Chase be her undoing?

In ‘The Key’ the author has created engrossing characters that I came to truly care about. The tender love between Maddie and Chase is beautifully revealed and very touching. Ms Rogers has the ability to evoke deep emotions on the page without resorting to unnecessarily lascivious descriptions. This burgeoning love story is just that where looks, touches and feelings are handled in an enthralling and sensitive way.
Added to the author’s obvious sympathy with her teenage lovers this is also a gripping fantasy read about past wrongs, peril and the self sacrifice of love. On either level ‘The Key’ is a page turner and no mistake. I loved ‘The Key’ and it’s now on my keeper stash! Ms Rogers is definitely a fantasy/ romance author worth watching and I look forward to reading her future work. ( )
  Grace_Elliot | Aug 18, 2011 |
All member reviews
Showing 8 of 8
The Key by Felicia Rogers

Felicia Rogers has created this book around a different type of paranormal creatures; there are no vampires or even werewolves in her story she introduces us readers to the world of the Gryphons.

This is a paranormal mystery/romance book and it’s a nice change to read a story about a different type of paranormal creature.

So we are introduced to Maddie a senior attending a new high school, with no friends not even a locker to store her books in. She rides her bike home every day with her books weighing her down just like her life. Her story is a sad one her parents died in a house fire, she has moved in with her great grandmother and she having horrible nightmares reliving the fire that took her parents life. She also starts to have strange dreams she has no idea why and what is going on in them. Maddie can barely have a full night of sleep due to her nightmares.

Just a typical day at school in walks two new boys Dougal who for some reason seems to just stare at her giving her chills down her back. The other new student is Chase Donovan who has the complete opposite effect on her, when they touch she feels electrical currents running up her arm.

The author tells us this story giving us different points of views and it works well, not to confusing the story flows right to the end of the book. We the readers get to see what Chase is seeing and feeling as well as what Dorian is up to.

Of course we fall for handsome Chase Donavon, who doesn’t love a handsome hero type figure and he is perfect for Maddie.

What can I say about this book without giving away too much besides read the book and hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I definitely recommend this book for reading.

Also want to thank Felicia Rogers for giving our group Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy Fanatics copies of her book to review. And thanks to Kay for arranging this for all of us readers.

. ( )
  TanaT | Aug 7, 2013 |
The last several months of Maddie’s life has been terrible. She has lost her parents and has moved in with her great grandmother Draoi and starts the middle of her senior year in a new high school. She is not popular and has become a loner. Then she discovers a new guy sitting in her seat. Dougal is in every class with her, always ends up in her seat, then stares at her through the class. She also meets another new student, Chase. She is drawn to him with is electric touch and he can’t seem to get her out of his mind.

Chase then learns that he can shift into a griffin and has the desire to do so whenever he is around Maddie. Chase’s family are from a line of grey griffins that are to protect the key, a person that can open the tower that the evil black griffins. Maddie is the key, although she doesn’t realize it. There is going to be a battle between the griffins that want to keep the tower locked and those that want it opened. Maddie and Chase are going to be caught in the middle.

I really liked this book. I can’t believe that I waited so long to read it. I was sucked in and couldn’t wait to find out what happens next. I felt for poor Maddie being all alone after losing her parents and being the social outcast in school. I’m very excited to read more of Felicia’s stories. If you enjoy YA paranormal stories, this is one that you should not miss. ( )
  jbronderblogs | Apr 6, 2012 |
I experience something very unusual while read this novel. There are many times that I find a book that will begin slowly, but turn out to be an extraordinary story diamonds in the ruff. I hate having to give any type of negative reviews, but this story was exactly the opposit for me. Starting out I was feeling the characters, and engrossed with the direction of this story. As the story continued it almost seemed to lose some of it momentum, and I became distant from the story. As the details mounted and the characters became more complex it felt as the though they were not longer so clear cut for my understanding. As I struggled with the remainder of the story; I desperately hope to see more from this author that will carry the same aggression that I experienced in the beginning of this story. ( )
  BookWhisperer | Feb 24, 2012 |
This book is a sweet story of love and loss, betrayal and redemption, and hopes and dreams.

This book is about Maddie, a teenage girl who is relatively new at school, having moved in with her great-grandmother after the death of her parents a few months before. Maddie is very lonely, having trouble making friends at her new school and grieving for her parents, and she keeps to herself. Then one day, not one but two new guys show up at school and show Maddie attention, maybe too much attention. Chase is the "good boy," and a very likable character. Chase feels very protective of Maddie from their first meeting, although he has no idea why, and Maddie quickly falls for him, too. Dougal is the "bad boy." He is very secretive and won't stop staring at Maddie. He makes her and Chase both quite uncomfortable with all of his attention to her. Chase and Dougal are both jealous of each other and are vying for Maddie's attention, but for very different reasons.

I liked that this story was told from three different points of view, Maddie's, Chase's and Dougal's. We always knew what was going on even though the characters didn't. I also liked that the author took a different take on shifters instead of going with the usual werewolves or some other animal. I really liked the whole concept of The Key, which I won't go into because it will give too much away!

There wasn't much I didn't like about this book, but I would have loved to see the ending drawn out a bit more. Everything seemed to be resolved very quickly, and I think there could have been more put into the ending scenes. Another thing that bothered me was the formal writing style during dialog. Conversations seemed to be forced. Nobody talks the formal way these characters did, especially teenagers. I did find a couple of inconsistencies in the writing that confused me for a second or two, but overall this was a good story and I really enjoyed it. ( )
  srfeike | Nov 16, 2011 |
With witches, werewolves and vampires roaming around in almost every novel, Felicia takes a risk and writes about something completely out of the blue...Gryphons! I guess that was the icing on the cake. Never had i imagined a person transforming into one, but when i read about it, lets just say it was awesome!I really enjoyed this read. Once I got started I couldn't seem to put it down. But i'll also be very honest, the descriptions seemed kind of rushed and if you're not reading the book with all your attention, then you might never know what Chase transforms into (spoiler!). I completely adored Chase. It took a while for him to grow on me because I was convinced he couldn't be as wonderful as he seemed in the beginning but Maddie is definitely a lucky lady. Chase was literally my perfect YA hero; protective without being a caveman, caring, chivalrous, handsome, funny etc. I'm so glad the book split the POVs in half between Maddie and him with a few guests thrown in. I loved having a chance at getting into his head.I bet you haven't read anything similar. The book gets wonderful really quickly and you'll come to appreciate the introduction of some great characters. Its YA so i recommend it to all who love paranormal/supernatural YA! I received this book to review. ( )
  novellavialli | Sep 7, 2011 |
This YA fantasy romance opens as Maddie Clevenger, having recently lost both parents, struggles to fit into a new High School. This is not helped by the unwanted attention of darkly threatening Dougal, whose interest in her teeters on stalking. When handsome fellow newbie Chase Donovan elects himself Maddie’s protector, she finds herself strangely drawn to him.
But Maddie and Chase’s story is an echo of a centuries old love triangle… with a sinister twist. Chase is battling with a secret transformation that he fears will repel Maddie if she knew the truth. Meanwhile Maddie is haunted by recurring nightmares where she is the key to good and evil, and back in real life, when dark forces threaten to rise once more will Maddie’s love for Chase be her undoing?

In ‘The Key’ the author has created engrossing characters that I came to truly care about. The tender love between Maddie and Chase is beautifully revealed and very touching. Ms Rogers has the ability to evoke deep emotions on the page without resorting to unnecessarily lascivious descriptions. This burgeoning love story is just that where looks, touches and feelings are handled in an enthralling and sensitive way.
Added to the author’s obvious sympathy with her teenage lovers this is also a gripping fantasy read about past wrongs, peril and the self sacrifice of love. On either level ‘The Key’ is a page turner and no mistake. I loved ‘The Key’ and it’s now on my keeper stash! Ms Rogers is definitely a fantasy/ romance author worth watching and I look forward to reading her future work. ( )
  Grace_Elliot | Aug 18, 2011 |
Maddie needs a hero. Her hero comes in the form of Chase Donovan; the love story begins from here. Chase makes for a great hero, he's charismatic, handsome, protective, loving, etc... and the author doesn't overdo these qualities-he still seems human. The novel switches the point of view from Maddie to Chase, giving the reader the opportunity to view both of their thoughts and decisions. Maddie has a few rough edges, but this just adds to the appeal. The plot is very unique for a fantasy YA novel. The novel contains humor, romance, action, drama, and mystery ( )
  Icecream18 | Jul 13, 2011 |
Maddie is struggling from day to day as an outcast after moving in with her grandmother due to a haunting family tragedy. Her world gets tipped upside down again when two new students make an appearance on the same day, both of whom can't seem to leave her alone. Chase takes on a role as her knight in shining armor while Dougal gives her the creeps. I don't want to give anything more away because a lot of my enjoyment in reading this book was finding out all of its secrets, but I do want to say that this is a paranormal like none I've read before. You won't be getting vampires, werewolves, or witches in this book. In fact, fantasy romance might be a more appropriate category.

I really enjoyed this read. Once I got started I couldn't seem to put it down. The story and characters' uniqueness is what really sucked me in. If you're a jaded paranormal reader and are tired of reading the same plot line with new characters, give this book a try. I bet you haven't read anything similar.

I think the book was written perfectly for teen enjoyment. I'm a little older than the target audience but I never found this detracting from my own enjoyment. There were no eye-roll moments or frustrating (as an older reader) scenes which are most often my problem with YA books. I found all of the situations and emotions relatable and believable despite the fantasy elements.

I completely adored Chase. It took a while for him to grow on me because I was convinced he couldn't be as wonderful as he seemed in the beginning but Maddie is definitely a lucky lady. Chase was literally my perfect YA hero; protective without being a caveman, caring, chivalrous, handsome, funny etc. I'm so glad the book split the POVs in half between Maddie and him with a few guests thrown in. I loved having a chance at getting into his head.

I only had one issue while reading The Key. The very beginning, first two or three chapters (there are nearly fifty so it's not very much of the book), was rough going for me. I think it's because I was confused and there was a POV change, which was a little too soon for me, or maybe it was because I was simply acclimating to the characters and story and couldn't appreciate the book yet. Either way, I reread that section after finishing the book and found I loved it just as much as the rest. I wanted to mention that though for any future readers who might have the same experience. Stick with it, it's not a very long patch. The book gets wonderful really quickly and you'll come to appreciate the introduction of some great characters.

See my blog for quotes and my thoughts as I read: http://bitten-books.blogspot.com/2011/04/review-key-by-felicia-rogers.html ( )
  asterravos | Apr 26, 2011 |
Showing 8 of 8

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.38)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 1
3.5
4 3
4.5
5 4

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,304,457 books! | Top bar: Always visible