HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Creep by Jennifer Hillier
Loading...

Creep (edition 2011)

by Jennifer Hillier

Series: Creep (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
11720103,116 (3.72)3
Member:written
Title:Creep
Authors:Jennifer Hillier
Info:Gallery Books (2011), Edition: Original, Hardcover, 368 pages
Collections:Read but unowned
Rating:***1/2
Tags:professor, TA, sex addict, affair, serial killer, book1

Work details

Creep by Jennifer Hillier

Recently added bybrismel, JudithDCollins
None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 3 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 20 (next | show all)
CREEP, a debut novel by Jennifer Hillier, involves a sex addict, an alcoholic, an unbalanced grad student, and his girlfriend, for a suspense drama of secrets, lies, and madness.

Shelia Tao, 39, is a highly regarded professor of social psychology at Seattle’s Puget Sound University. She is engaged to an alcoholic Morris Gardner, a successful Texas investment banker, a man who offers her love and security. After her first marriage ended when she caught her husband sleeping with his male nurse, she experienced a difficult period, as she was seeking validation of herself as an attractive woman.

After going through the recovery process,she began dating Morris and all was going well, until after the death of her father, she relapsed and begins an affair with her handsome young graduate student, Ethan.

Three months into the affair, Shelia decided to end things with Ethan, as she wants to build a life with Morris, as they are making wedding plans. However, manipulative Ethan does not want her to marry Morris and has other things in mind. He begins to blackmail her with a video tape.

Shelia is a former Sex Addict and has been attending Sex Addicts Anonymous for three years and a seeing a therapist, Anna (Morris was unaware of this). Shelia decided to come clean with Morris about her sex addiction. He is shocked since they have not had sex until attempting once and it did not go well. However, Morris at the time did not know who the affair was with or about the tape.

In the meantime Shelia goes missing, and Morris hires a PI, Jerry, since the police is not assisting. Morris is not sure if she has been kidnapped or if she is off with a man, or some crazy adventure. Ethan is unbalanced with a troubled past and has many disguises and masks.

I listened to the audiobook and Talmadge Ragan, narrator, did a good job with a pleasing voice. While CREEP was an engaging read, I would not classify it as a complex psychological thriller until towards the end, as prior to this was a little predictable.

It was not as intense, or as fast-paced as her latest upcoming book, THE BUTCHER; however, was even paced with a twisted surprise at the end, leading into the sequel FREAK (Creep #2), which I plan on reading next, as looking forward to hearing from Shelia, Jerry, and Abby.

Fans of Daniel Palmer, Lisa Gardner, Gregg Hurwitz, Lisa Jackson, and Amanda Kyle Williams will appreciate Jennifer’s style and well-developed characters.

Possibly after just finishing Jennifer’s Hillier’s upcoming book (July 15) THE BUTCHER, most definitely a psychological thriller; a 5 star read; would highly recommend, as was fortunate to have received an ARC!

Of course, CREEP would not be expected to be of the same level as THE BUTCHER, since CREEP was her debut novel. This shows real growth and maturity in the author’s writing on a new level; look forward to reading the one in the middle.

If you loved CREEP, you will devour THE BUTCHER!

http://judithdcollins.booklikes.com/post/918994/creep
( )
  JudithDCollins | Nov 27, 2014 |
This has got to be one of the scariest books I have read recently. An engaged woman, ending an affair, is threatened by her ex lover. Not just physically, but he threatens her job, her fiance, her everything. And oh is he smart. Just terrifying. ( )
  bookwormteri | Oct 17, 2014 |
Jennifer Hillier's debut novel is without a doubt a page-tuner filled with suspense, drama, and twists. When women are being killed around Seattle no one would guess who is the culprit. Inspired by Radiohead's song "Creep", the "psychopath" uses his love for women to assist in his torture of them. When a psychology professor is kidnapped her fiance is the only one who finds her disappearance to be out of character. Will his love for her provide him with the strength to find her? Will she be able to use her wits to stay alive or escape? ( )
  JEB5 | Oct 30, 2013 |
From my blog

You will not be able to put this thriller down once you start. It is dark, sexy and edgy suspense. It was good characterization, I embraced all the characters even when I didn't like them.

I thought Sheila was a strong woman but then went on a roller coaster ride with what I thought of her. A professional, a psychology Professor, how do they mistakes but everyone is human right. She made some very bad choices starting a sexual relationship with her student but she is a sex addict that has fell off the wagon and her choice may kill her.

Some people can not be turned down and Ethan will not be sharing Sheila, how can she reject him now. Ethan should have been an art student with the talent he has and on top of being a brilliant psyche student, scary, very scary.

Morris, the fiancé, totally in love with Sheila had the rug pulled from under his feet, the week before their wedding. I enjoyed his story, everything felt true with his reactions.

I did enjoy the genuine responses the characters had with each other, some of those moments were edge of your seat. It was a great intense book with the right amount of tension to keep you engaged and racing to the end.

The ending was brilliant, true meaning of "If I can't have you, no one can't". A psychopath making safety decisions or is it just power and manipulation gone completely wrong.

This was a great escape thriller. Fans of Chelsea Cain and MJ Rose will enjoy this one. ( )
  marcejewels | Sep 20, 2013 |
The title is very promising. But the promise of a good thriller ends there.

The author does not mess around building any suspense. By the third page you know that the main heroine is a professor. She also is a sex addict who is getting married to a former alcoholic. She just ended a short fling with her student, a young man who appears to be a sadistic maniac. Right from the bat we get a good assembly of dysfunctional characters.

Unfortunately all excitement ends there, right in the beginning. I did not need a sex addict, and an AA and a sadistic maniac in one book. Somehow, it was too much for me. I would happily settle with a sadistic maniac. I probably would be fine with a sex addict dating a sadistic maniac. Sometimes too much is really just too much.

See more at http://cautiousreader.wordpress.com/ ( )
  CautiousReader | Aug 29, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 20 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Dr. Sheila Tao is a professor of psychology. An expert in human behavior. And when she began an affair with sexy, charming graduate student Ethan Wolfe, she knew she was playing with fire. Consumed by lust when they were together, riddled with guilt when they weren't, she knows the three-month fling with her teaching assistant has to end. After all, she finally engaged to a kind and loving investment banker who adores her, and she's taking control of her life. But when she attempts to end the affair, Ethan Wolfe won't let her walk away.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
3 avail.
19 wanted
3 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.72)
0.5 1
1 1
1.5
2 1
2.5 4
3 6
3.5 2
4 14
4.5 4
5 8

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,387,252 books! | Top bar: Always visible