HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy,…
Loading...

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy, Bk 1) (original 2011; edition 2012)

by EL James

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
5,398527805 (2.98)5 / 293
I succumbed (poor word choice, perhaps!) to Fifty Shades of Grey because I was curious about the hype and craved an escape read. The novel scored on both counts. First, the hype: sex, check; more sex, check; romance hookup, check. Second, escape read: a disarmingly gorgeous billionaire with an outrageous sexual appetite, a dysfunctional past, and a penchant for control falls hard for a virginal college student and rescues her from reality in an all-consuming assault of lux-living and sensuality. Check.

Yes, Anastasia Steele has finally fallen for a man. Christian Grey is a “hot, sexy billionaire.” (Ch 6) He is charming, and “His voice is warm and husky like dark melted chocolate fudge caramel … or something.” (Ch 2) He has “beautifully chiseled lips” (Ch 2 ) and he repeatedly reduces Ana to “a quivering mass of raging female hormones." (Ch 2)

In case it is not already painfully obvious, there is no literary merit to Fifty Shades of Grey. That said, I’m planning to read the next in the trilogy, and probably the third. How to rate such a train wreck, then? Well, I can hardly give it less than one star while planning to read more. And “obsessive diversion from report cards” is not really a legitimate criteria. The writing, um, speaks for itself ... ( )
6 vote lit_chick | Jun 9, 2012 |
English (495)  Spanish (13)  German (5)  Catalan (4)  French (4)  Dutch (3)  Italian (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (527)
Showing 1-25 of 495 (next | show all)
1.5 stars. I didn't like but it was better than expected, kind of. For a book about a BDSM, Sub/Dom relationship the sex scenes were very boring and repetitive. Let's be real thats the main appeal to this book and they were just awful and boring. This entire book went back and forth about their relationship and the terms and several times it seems like they figured it out only for it to out of the blue Ana has some new crazy bitch thoughts. The reason why this book was slightly better than I expected is because of the writing, although boring, dull and repetitive you can tell she grabbed a thesaurus and referenced other books, and at first the plot seemed interesting but mid way through they are still conflicted about the same shit as in the beginning it got old. I get Ana is a virgin but does she have to be so innocent, has she never seen porn, had a tingle in her vag before? Then on a the opposite how does someone who in the book has fucked a bunch of girls and has done BDSM for years be shocked when she says things Christian wants to hear over and over again. Their relationship is creepy and not sexy at all. I get he's suppose to be "50 shades of fucked up" but since when is it considered hot to be a stalker boyfriend with hot and cold mood swings. I feel sorry for the women who get off to this shitty book, they must have a very "vanilla" sex life that they are unsatisfied yet I bet none of them would ever consider doing this mild version of BDSM. ( )
  GrlIntrrptdRdng | May 14, 2015 |
Well I was feeling a bit miffed that I had paid good money for this book after reading the reviews, but wouldn't you know it, today a freebie copy popped through my letterbox. I was able to return the one I bought and got my money back, so i guess i won't be feeling so bad about reading this tripe eventually. (I have lots of other better books to spend my time on before I bother with this - he he) ( )
  WWDG | May 6, 2015 |
*sigh* I am ashamed of me...

Ok...everyone with half a brain recognizes the fact that Fifty Shades of Grey is horrible in every sense of the word (rape, ignorant and dangerous (and dangerously ignorant) representation of the BDSM community, poor editing, aesthetically terrible writing, technically terrible writing, etc, etc, etc), so I'm not going to focus on the book itself. I read the audiobook, so I'll be critiquing the reader. The audiobook (at least this particular version) was read by Becca Battoe. I won't say she's the worst reader I've ever listened to (I used to volunteer for Librivox, after all). I will say that it shocks and mildly disgusts me that she actually gets paid for this. Apparently, you need no talent to succeed in some fields. Battoe has a whiny, obnoxious, valley-girl voice with the slightest crack in her throat that makes her sound tired throughout the reading. Her ability to create different "voices" extends to her own horrible voice and deepening her voice like a little kid to pretend to impersonate male vocals - no finesse, no art, no appeal. At less than an hour into the book, I'm ready to slit her (or my) throat to shut her up.

One question though...So...um...where's all the kinky? It was very much mostly alluded, and didn't really happen other than some light spanking and tying up. I mean, I'm a huge prude in real life, but even I've written kinkier fanfiction than this. ( )
  benuathanasia | May 5, 2015 |
Unlike the rest of the world, I really did not care much for this book. It is entertaining, but I do not feel like it is really written that well. I definitely would never read this with a group of students, at any level, because it serves no purpose or educational message or theme. ( )
  Hhaddad1 | Apr 30, 2015 |
wow finally I was able to finish it, this was definitely one of the hardest books ever: awful writing, absurd story, so predictable.... Doesn't deserve even the star that I'm scoring, goodreads seriously need negative scores for shit like this.
( )
  zkazy | Apr 24, 2015 |
Sexy and very amusing read, which I devoured in a heartbeat. That said, the plot was intriguing enough at the beginning, but pretty much went downhill from there. I was done with the book before I realized that nothing actually happened. The story did not go anywhere, and it was obvious from the start how it was going to end. That, however, did not subtract from the enjoyment of the book and the process of reading, because the language is simple enough, contemporary, and probably every woman/man could relate to Ana/Christian at one time or the other. I get that the book is supposed to be all hot and steamy, but to be honest, I felt more prone to moments where Ana and Christian's relationship was completely ordinary. Another thing I really like is that it is never said that Christian loves Ana, but his words and actions make it (painfully) obvious. ( )
  v_allery | Apr 19, 2015 |
Hmmmm..... I'm not sure if I can adequately express my thoughts about this book in a clear and concise way but here is a try.

The first half of this book was borderline AWFUL. Ana's dreadful over thinking and excessive repetitiveness had me ready to put the book down, run away and never look back. Christian did not help at all with his blah control freak personality. It took me a week to sludge through it and it was a personal battle and triumph to make it through.

However things did take a turn and thank goodness for Mac laptops cause without the introduction of email into C and A's relationship I'd have never made it to the end. Even now as I think back to their emails I get a little smile on my face. Christian proves to be flirty and fun and Ana can just talk (well type) with out all the stuttering, stumbling, heart racing and whatever else ALWAYS happens when talking to Christian.

I won't rehash all the Twilight comparisons I saw (I've killed those in text messages to my sister). I will agree that the writing style was very juvenile and certainly this story could have benefited from and editor (really the repetitiveness was dreary). I am thankful I was reading this on my Kindle as I had to look up quite a few words, this author likes her vocabulary. This also ended with a cliff hanger so I suppose I'll be reading part 2 however it won't be soon. I need to come down off all the angst.

For those who are leery I'd recommend skimming until you see emails then sit back and enjoy. 3 Stars


This still came off as rambling so I'll likely revise when I can put my words in a semblance of order. ( )
  bookjunkie57 | Apr 17, 2015 |
Horrible. The book does have a very interesting detail: Mr. Grey's past, and it was what keeps me to read this book to the final end. However I must say, this is one of the worst book I've ever read. It sounds exactly like teen girls' sexual fantasy, maybe even worst. A Mary Sue heroine and a 27 years old billionaire. Not millionaire, billionaire, in case you didn't quite catch that. They literally do nothing but have sex, email each other, and more sex. At first it seemed fine, but as I went on, I was extremely annoyed by the fact the Ana orgasms like, 7 times/page. Also, if I had a penny every time she blushes / flushes / bites her lip / Christian's long index finger / "Jeez" / "Holy ----" - I'd be very rich.

Please do not waste your money on this. ( )
  yamayukkikun | Apr 16, 2015 |
Finally caved and read this book and I LOVED IT!! It seems like a lot of people who rated this book gave 1 star just because of the writing style. Once you really get into the whole story line you don't pay attention to the style of writing at all (or at least I didn't). I'm a huge fan fiction reader so that could be another reason as to why I enjoyed Fifty Shades of Grey. Can't wait to see if Ana can help Christian through his fifty shades of fucked up!! ( )
  Kimmykay0302 | Apr 13, 2015 |
Finally caved and read this book and I LOVED IT!! It seems like a lot of people who rated this book gave 1 star just because of the writing style. Once you really get into the whole story line you don't pay attention to the style of writing at all (or at least I didn't). I'm a huge fan fiction reader so that could be another reason as to why I enjoyed Fifty Shades of Grey. Can't wait to see if Ana can help Christian through his fifty shades of fucked up!! ( )
  Kimmykay0302 | Apr 13, 2015 |
I'm not sure I can actually verbalise just how much the fact this ever got published disturbs me and that has nothing to do with the sex or the ridiculousness of the two leading characters or the abusive nature of their relationship.
It's the way it's written, the sentence construction, the use of grammar, the overuse of a Thesaurus to look up "clever" words and phrases which don't, in context, actually make any sense. The idea that a book editor has gone through it page by page and sentence by sentence and yet this is what's actually been produced just makes me want to weep - speaking as a newspaper journalist and sub-editor for more than 15 years that is.
I can't bare badly edited books, that this appears almost word for word in the same form as it did when it was a Twilight inspired fanfic makes me despair of the publishing industry. Someone clearly saw the chance for a fast buck and went for it wholesale. ( )
  Cadiva | Apr 1, 2015 |
I'm not sure I can actually verbalise just how much the fact this ever got published disturbs me and that has nothing to do with the sex or the ridiculousness of the two leading characters or the abusive nature of their relationship.
It's the way it's written, the sentence construction, the use of grammar, the overuse of a Thesaurus to look up "clever" words and phrases which don't, in context, actually make any sense. The idea that a book editor has gone through it page by page and sentence by sentence and yet this is what's actually been produced just makes me want to weep - speaking as a newspaper journalist and sub-editor for more than 15 years that is.
I can't bare badly edited books, that this appears almost word for word in the same form as it did when it was a Twilight inspired fanfic makes me despair of the publishing industry. Someone clearly saw the chance for a fast buck and went for it wholesale. ( )
  Cadiva | Apr 1, 2015 |
The beginning of a trilogy that centers around Mr. Grey and Anastasia. Mr. Grey is apparently a fantasized person that is all but unattainable in real life. He's a billionaire who is fluent in French, a pilot, athletic-ly gorgeous, a concert level pianist, and apparently the best lover on the planet. His billions come from his self made company where he utilizes its resources to help starving countries. And, he's only 26. What else can he do? Save the world from solar flares, kill the zombie epidemic?

He's just got the one "flaw" where he gets off on beating a girl senseless, which is ok because they sign an agreement (via an included copy of the contract he shares). Anastasia is a moron, I mean graduating college student. She's got unrealized-by-others talent so she can step right over her editor boss and take his job because he sexually harasses her. Ultimately she's a naive, easily manipulated girl, who apparently has an inner goddess. I had to read about her inner goddess perking up so many times, I thought of shooting the book. Every time she'd start to stand up for herself, Mr. Grey would breathe or something else moronic and she'd orgasm right back into his plan.

It could've been so much better if a childish mind hadn't created these two characters and actually worked on developing a plot to add to the sex scenes. This is erotic fiction and pretty bad at that. The only reason so many have read it has to be because of the movie. I am all for people being able to consent to this kind of lifestyle and it doesn't offend me in the least. However, he used her and controlled her beyond what is or should be acceptable. Don't be a doormat, people. ( )
  jessica_reads | Mar 24, 2015 |
I found this book really interesting, recomend people to read it before watching the film.
  CarmenAguilera | Mar 24, 2015 |
So many people recommended me to read this book so after a while I decided to finally read it. I finished this book a couple weeks ago. It might be a little obscene and sexual but I think it has some good elements. It is about a young woman with some close and loving friends and a mismatch family. She goes to interview the handsome man who owns the biggest company in the city, GREY. They somehow start liking eachother and they end up having a BDSM (Bondage and discipline; Dominance and submission; Sadism and masochism) relationship but, for sure, Grey has much more experience than her.
  Alejandrademena | Mar 24, 2015 |
It is a very interesting book, Christian Grey is a very wealthy guy that has very weird likes respect to having sex. Anastasia is the journalist that meets him in an interview and they start to have a very strange sexual attraction, then is when he shows her his likes and makes her do things that she couln'd imagine.
  paolaluelmo | Mar 24, 2015 |
After hearing a couple of young guys share their thoughts about this book, that it wasn't good, that it really is bad, well, I just had to put it on my TBR list. I checked it out from the library a week ago. I didn't really know what to expect. After having a quick flick through, I read a couple of passages to my husband, who I think got a little intrigued himself to read this book, [b:Fifty Shades of Grey|10818853|Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)|E.L. James|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1300842729s/10818853.jpg|15732562]. Sharing small details here and there is one thing, but to actually get your nose into it is another, and totally worthwhile in this case (if you're the first romance type).

This book has some good elements. Two strong-willed protagonists, one with a shady background, the other a 'normal' young woman with close friends and loving mismatch family. A decent story, it isn't just boy meets girl next door. The author really explores a BDSM relationship, it just so happens that one has a lot more experience. These relationships or agreements between couples are out there. It isn't just in books any more.

I really enjoyed reading the emails between Grey & Steele. They bring a lighter feel to the story. The little talk and lots of sex get's a little intense at times. The distant moments gives Ana time to think about what she is gets herself into, falling for a well-off, professional man.

I don't want to give too much away but the ending was good. This realisation had to happen. Grey & Steele want different things from a relationship. It makes you want to pick up the next book to see if their spark will be enough to carry on. ( )
  sharlenehsmith | Mar 9, 2015 |
I don't understand all the controversy over this book. Yes, it's porn. Big fucking deal. Oh, but it's bondage porn. Again, big fucking deal. Some people are into that shit. So what? If nobody is really hurt, and it's consensual, what's the problem?

This book is about some stupid bitch who falls in love with some rich asshole. He's a sociopath. He doesn't like to be touched. He likes control. And apparently, he hates women. Or at least that's what I get from his character. He has a strong need to control and punish women.

I have to wonder if Ana would have fallen for Christian if he was just a regular guy. Just a super hot hunk of a guy that she met at the gym, or something. Would she have gone so far into the lifestyle? Would she have let him torture her so much? Or was it just because Christian is rich as fuck, and can take her on wonderous adventures?

You know what really drove me crazy about this book? The fact that he kept calling her 'Baby'. And he kept passionately kissing her. Hell, he even ate out her sloppy cunt, and made her cum over and over. This is not what a Dominant does. This is what a lover does. So, I really don't understand his character at all.

His actions say that he loves her. But he still doesn't want her to touch him. And he still wants more than anything, to see her in pain. He wants to see those welts on her ass. And at the same time, he's calling her fucking 'Baby'. What the fuck? It doesn't make any sense at all.

I was happy to see that in the end, she left him. After he really hurt her. She finally realized that hurting her was what he wanted most. He didn't want love. He wanted punishment, and torture.

I don't know where the hell the story can go from here. Is Christian going to learn to love, or is Ana going to finally turn into the slave girl he always wanted? Who knows. Part of me wants Ana to be the filthy slave girl. But another part of me wants to see Ana show up to Christian's house and violently rape him in the ass with a huge black strap-on dildo. Yeah, that'd be sweet. ( )
  gecizzle | Mar 5, 2015 |
4 ½ Stars
I want more!! ( )
  BookaholicCat | Mar 4, 2015 |
Ok it's trash, and if read as such, it was very entertaining. The book made for some great conversations with my close friends and I wouldn't want my husband to read it (haha) but I had fun with all three books. I liked the characters and especially Christian. I am not happy about young girls and guys reading this and thinking that this is a normal sex life. It's twisted and not normal (to me anyway). The violence bothers me. Read it, talk about it and have some laughs! Is it five star worthy? Only if you read it for what it is, trashy sexy entertainment. It is not literature. ( )
  LASMIT | Mar 3, 2015 |
While I cannot recommend this book because of what I classify as amateurish writing, I do have to say that I feel the huge backlash against it is unwarranted. Yes, Grey is a creepy rich man who uses his money and influence in questionable and stalkerish ways... but his attitudes and procedures regarding BDSM contracts and rules is, in my opinion, exemplary.

Though, I hated the way BDSM is portrayed as sick and twisted. No, it is certainly not for everyone, but neither is it cruel.

Ana is innocent and naive, and I have to say that she is the wrong character to use to explore an introduction to BDSM. ( )
  HippieLunatic | Feb 20, 2015 |
DISCLAIMER: This is a review of an audiobook.

WHAT IS IT ABOUT?

“Fifty Shades of Grey” by E.L. James is the first book in a romantic/erotic trilogy Fifty Shades. The story centers around a rather strange yet enthralling relationship between a recent college graduate Anastasia Steele and a young, handsome and insanely rich entrepreneur Christian Grey. Anastasia is beautiful and smart but, despite a handful of admirers, she has never been interested in a man. That is, before she met Christian. But Christian is, in his own words, “fifty shades of fucked up.” He is an intimidating control freak with a dark past and singular erotic tastes. Yet he cannot stay away from Ana either.

THUMBS UP:

1) Intoxicating love story.
Yes, there are a lot of graphic sex scenes in this book, but, buried beneath all that pornography, there is also an intoxicating, heart-fluttering love story, which I absolutely loved. Yes, it is a “Twilight”-type love story, but hey, I loved Twilight too.

2) Realistic and relatable characters.
It might be a by-product of love story intoxication, but I actually cared about the characters and found them flawed but realistic and relatable. Yes, Christian sometimes can be rather creepy but, given his upbringing, he could have turned out much worse. Besides, he is so protective, attentive and respectful towards his family and Ana (*siiiigh*). And Ana… yes, she might seem a little bit immature, but give the girl a break - she is in love!

3) Convincing (almost).
I agree that it is rather unrealistic that a smart, good-looking and apparently highly desirable 21-year-old American girl has never been interested in a boy, let alone kissed one; but other than that, I found the plot of “Fifty Shades of Grey” to be quite convincing. The events didn’t seem forced or rushed, the reactions, emotions, thoughts, expectations and doubts seemed natural and reasonable, and you could really see the characters gradually falling in love with each other.

4) Beautifully narrated and captivating.
Becca Battoe’s passionate narration and colorful intonations suited the story perfectly. I especially loved her imitation of a husky male voice. Now, I have seen tons of criticism towards James’ writing, but, even though I wouldn’t call it exceptional, I genuinely don’t think it’s horrible. It might be due to the fact that I was listening to the book rather than actually READING it, but I found the story captivating and didn’t notice any major problems concerning author’s writing.

COULD BE BETTER:

1) Sex overload.
Although I loved the main story, there was way too much sex for my taste. However, it has nothing to do with the fact that “Fifty Shades of Grey” propagates kinky sex (all that BDSM business); I am just not a fan of explicit sex scenes in general. Call me childish but I found the sex scenes rather repetitive, and soon enough they became the boring part of the story. What can I say, I guess erotic novels are not my cup of tea.

VERDICT: 3.5 out of 5

Although “Fifty Shades of Grey” has way too much sex for my taste (it’s an erotic novel after all), I was absolutely enthralled by a heart-fluttering “Twilight”-type love story and thus temporarily lost my critical thinking abilities. I know, I know… Don’t judge me, I’m a hopeless romantic. ( )
2 vote AgneJakubauskaite | Feb 17, 2015 |
I've had this book on my ereader for a while now, and only decided to read it as it suddenly was on the bestsellers list so I was expecting it to be good.

As other reviewers have noted, it is poorly written and has loads of annoying turns of phrase. The story isn't very realistic so if you are looking for a realistic read, this book is not for you.

I can understand why it is a bestseller as the description of Christian Grey's mannerisms and persona is very similar to Edward Cullen, and that seems to appeal to and make most of the female population weak at the knees. The sex scenes however are dull and can be somewhat bizarre! (I refer to the tampon bit in this).

It was however very easy to read, but seemed really drawn out. Nothing really happens. I have a sneaking feeling that the author could have written all three books as one quite easily.

Needless to say, I won't be reading the series any further... ( )
  KittyBimble | Feb 12, 2015 |
The hype took me over and I cracked... I just finished Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James on Friday. I've let it settle in my brain, and I don't know how I feel about it. I am torn between despising and adoring Christian Grey. I am torn between admiring and loathing Anastasia Steele.

First of all, it took me over 200 and some odd pages to even enjoy the book. I didn't like it from the get-go, and I felt like I was just waiting for the magical "ooooh I love it!" moment. That moment did not come for me. However, by time the last 50 pages came- I was hooked. I needed to turn the page and I needed to know what was going to happen next. But then it ended. And I was left wanting more.

See why I am so torn?? I didn't even really care for the book, yet here I am thinking about going out to B&N tonight to pick up the next two books, just so I can see what happens next.
I hope that after reading all three books, I may be able to form a review and a more concrete feeling about it all. It is a phenomenon after all.
Maybe by time next week rolls around, I will have a totally different opinion on the matter.... so for now, I will leave it at this: torn. (but craving more) ( )
1 vote littlebirdreads | Feb 10, 2015 |
While my initial instinct is to dis this book, I won't. Is it misogynistic, cliched and largely a Mills and Boons, but with porn? Yes. But I believe it serves an interesting function. The story line is broadly 'Beauty and the Beast' meets 'Cinderella'.In that it does nothing more terrible than a hundred million other pop and pulp fiction books do. But it expresses sexual desire and control from the point of view of a woman. It may not be Delta of Venus. But I thought it was racy and entertaining in a trashy way. As for the fact that it captures a very misogynistic idea of desire, I seriously thought about it and then wondered if I was being narrow-minded. This version of desire also exists. It is someone's reality. Is it so terrible if they want to write about it? In short, it's not a great book, but approximately in the same way as Pretty Woman isn't great cinema. ( )
  swati.ravi | Feb 9, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 495 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.98)
0.5 72
1 348
1.5 39
2 311
2.5 89
3 423
3.5 87
4 390
4.5 31
5 386

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

The Writer's Coffee Shop

2 editions of this book were published by The Writer's Coffee Shop.

Editions: 1612130283, 1612130291

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 97,313,862 books! | Top bar: Always visible