HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy,…
Loading...

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy, Bk 1) (original 2011; edition 2012)

by EL James

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
6,021610692 (2.98)5 / 318
I succumbed (poor word choice, perhaps!) to Fifty Shades of Grey because I was curious about the hype and craved an escape read. The novel scored on both counts. First, the hype: sex, check; more sex, check; romance hookup, check. Second, escape read: a disarmingly gorgeous billionaire with an outrageous sexual appetite, a dysfunctional past, and a penchant for control falls hard for a virginal college student and rescues her from reality in an all-consuming assault of lux-living and sensuality. Check.

Yes, Anastasia Steele has finally fallen for a man. Christian Grey is a “hot, sexy billionaire.” (Ch 6) He is charming, and “His voice is warm and husky like dark melted chocolate fudge caramel … or something.” (Ch 2) He has “beautifully chiseled lips” (Ch 2 ) and he repeatedly reduces Ana to “a quivering mass of raging female hormones." (Ch 2)

In case it is not already painfully obvious, there is no literary merit to Fifty Shades of Grey. That said, I’m planning to read the next in the trilogy, and probably the third. How to rate such a train wreck, then? Well, I can hardly give it less than one star while planning to read more. And “obsessive diversion from report cards” is not really a legitimate criteria. The writing, um, speaks for itself ... ( )
6 vote lit_chick | Jun 9, 2012 |
English (571)  Spanish (13)  German (5)  French (4)  Catalan (4)  Dutch (4)  Italian (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  All languages (604)
Showing 1-25 of 571 (next | show all)
I suggest you should read this book!!!!!! ( )
  Supremo_DN | Apr 29, 2016 |
This was the most painful-to-read, poorly written book I've ever read. From simply a grammar and syntax viewpoint, my daughter's fifth grade students write better than this. I found the book embarrassing, but not from the unusual sexual content. In fact, that was the only part that I felt the author did reasonably well.

The publisher of Fifty Shades should be ashamed to have allowed such a poorly edited - if it was edited at all - piece go out with their name on it. Needless to say, I won't be reading the rest of the series. ( )
  Frances.S.Brown | Apr 26, 2016 |
Horrifying use of the English language, making this a difficult read. ( )
1 vote petrificius | Apr 12, 2016 |
Moja podsvest se mahnito hladi, a unutrasnja boginja se njise i uvija u putenom ritmu...:) ( )
  ceca78 | Apr 10, 2016 |
So, I did hear that this was a "hot" book, but I didn't realize all that entailed until I read it. Overall, I liked it, although I'm still surprised to say that I did. I didn't think it would be my style. It does read a lot like the Twilight story in the first few chapters, but starts to differ after that. The extremes in this book are sometimes hard to digest, but the most trouble I had with it was the "inner goddess" comments all the time. I could have easily dealt without those. I will say this book is definitely NOT for everyone, so people who aren't readers of overtly sexual books should steer clear of this one.

Upon my 2nd reading of this book, I couldn't get over how angry Christian made me. In fact, there were times I wanted to put the book down. The thing that stopped me was knowing that he gets better in subsequent books.

*First Read: 6/28/12*
*Second Read: 2/5/15* ( )
  MynTop | Apr 8, 2016 |
GAHHHHHH! HAVE TO START THE SECOND! NOW! ( )
  danaaa_99 | Apr 6, 2016 |
Check out my blog for an in-depth review of this book. http://opinionsofabookaholic.blogspot.com/2015/12/5fifty-shades-of-grey-e-l-jame... ( )
  M_Sawtelle | Apr 6, 2016 |
Not erotic. Not true to the scene. I spent most of my time trying to figure out if it was supposed to be a comedy because it wasn't really funny either just really, really bad. It is proof positive marketing wins out over talent more often than we like to think. ( )
  FrancineZane | Apr 3, 2016 |
I love the story line, but the love scenes are boring! Could have come up with something a little better than this. ( )
  angela.k.winters | Apr 1, 2016 |
just plan fantistic ( )
  kerbytejas | Mar 25, 2016 |
Christopher Aruffo & Christina Moore
  jmail | Mar 21, 2016 |
I love the story line to this book, the relationship development of these two characters and my romantic side is dying for them to work out this relationship. It took me 47 1/2 hours to read this book between work and friends. I couldn't put it down. That being said I felt there were quite a few words overused in the writing of this book. "Inner Goddess" being the biggest one. So the story line I would of rated at 5 but the writing itself held it at a 4 score. Great read! I highly recommend to the open-minded reader. ( )
  brandymuss | Mar 15, 2016 |
Shades of Grey - wer kennt es nicht. Auch ich habe es nun gelesen und ich kann es nicht bei mir behalten: ich liebe dieses Buch und für mich ist es ein Highlight 2012. Einige werden nun sicher so vor dem Monitor sitzen: "o.O" "Wtf?", mehr dazu jedoch in der nun folgenden Rezension. Meine innere Göttin sagt: "Warum nur, warum dauert es noch bis zum 3. September, wenn endlich der zweite Teil erscheint? Liebe Mini, sei doch nicht so faul und lese den zweiten Teil auf Englisch. Du musst doch wissen, wie es weitergehen wird!"

Inhalt:

"Sie ist 21, Literaturstudentin und in der Liebe nicht allzu erfahren. Doch dann lernt Ana Steele den reichen und ebenso unverschämt selbstbewussten wie attraktiven Unternehmer Christian Grey bei einem Interview für ihre Uni-Zeitung kennen. Und möchte ihn eigentlich schnellstmöglich wieder vergessen, denn die Begegnung mit ihm hat sie zutiefst verwirrt. So sehr sie sich aber darum bemüht: Sie kommt von ihm nicht los. Christian führt Ana ein in eine dunkle, gefährliche Welt der Liebe – in eine Welt, vor der sie zurückschreckt und die sie doch mit unwiderstehlicher Kraft anzieht …" (via Amazon.de)

Zitat:

"Und was Mrs. Pädo dir rät, befolgst du?", blaffe ich ihn an. Offenbar habe ich mein Temperament weniger gut im Griff, als ich dachte."

Meine Meinung:

Ich hatte ja schon ein wenig Angst vor diesem Buch. Ich kann gar nicht beschreiben, warum es mir überhaupt in den Sinn kam, dieses Buch zu lesen. Der Hype war es, welcher um dieses Buch gemacht wurde und der Vergleich mit Feuchtgebiete oder gar Sex and the City. Ich bin kein Fan von beidem und wollte einfach mal gucken, ob das hier auch wieder der Fall sein wird.

Weit gefehlt! Schnell habe ich mich an Wörter wie postkoital oder unprätentiös gewöhnt, baute eine positive Verbindung zu Anastasia (kurz: Ana) und ihrer inneren Göttin auf und fieberte dem Geschehen hinterher.

E. L. James hat dieses Buch aus der Sicht von Ana geschrieben. Da ich Ana mag und ich Bücher aus der Sicht eines Protagonisten eh klasse finde, war das perfekt für mich. Die Wortwahl ist einfach und bis auf die von mir erwähnten 'Fremdwörter' hält sich das hier, gelinde gesagt, in Grenzen. Wäre ich böse würde ich nun sagen: es versteckt sich unter dem Teppich. Das war sogar ganz angenehm - halt ein typischer Pageturner der mal eben Zwischendurch gelesen werden kann.

Für mich hatte dieses Buch einen ganz, ganz hohen Suchtfaktor und ich konnte es gar nicht mehr aus der Hand legen. Ich war und bin begeistert von den Dingen, welche zwischen den allseits bekannten, sexuellen Handlungen der zwei, waren. Wie Ana es schafft, den unnahbaren Christian Grey etwas zu entlocken, von dem er nicht mal wusste, das er es kann. Wie Ana dafür kämpft, ihr Ansichten von einer Beziehung durchzusetzen und wie sich ihr Leben verändert, nachdem sie Christian kennengelernt hat. Für mich war Christian, zumindest was den zwischenmenschlichen, nicht 'abgefuckten' Teil von ihm angeht, ein Märchenprinz wie er im Buche steht - Plötzlich Prinzessin reloaded.

Ein besonderes Highlight waren die E-Mails, welche sich Ana und Christian schreiben. Ich musste oft wirklich lachen, bei anderen Mails habe ich mit Ana mitgefühlt und auf eine 'positive' Antwort von Christian gewartet.

Zwei ganz kleine Minuspunkte: Der wirklich schlimme Cliffhanger am Ende des Buches. Aber wenn man sich den Inhalt vom zweiten Buch ansieht, ist der Schmerz schon fast verschwunden. Außerdem frage ich mich, warum man das 50 beim deutschen Titel weggelassen hat. Es passt einfach perfekt und spiegelt Christians Persönlichkeit wieder, so wie er ist. Das Gleiche gilt für das Cover - die Krawatte auf dem Original hat schließlich eine Bedeutung.

Fazit:

Ich kann es gar nicht erwarten, bis der nächste Teil erscheint. Ich will endlich wissen, wie es weitergehen wird. Ich kann das Buch nur empfehlen - und wenn es auch nur eine kleine Abwechslung für Zwischendurch ist. Wer hier allerdings hohe, erotische Literatur erwartet, ist hier falsch. Von mir gibt es 5 Sterne! ( )
  Wandapanda | Mar 13, 2016 |
Help. I am 70 pages in and so far I am not liking the writing and the gushing over this guy. Should I keep reading? Thanks in advance for any help.



Update: Yes I read a little more but I could not do it. The writing is so awful! it seems that more and more authors are being published, who think writing is to use as many !!! exclamation points and to constantly use words like she/he gasped,sighed,bites,frowns,whispers,pants a hundred times in 1 chapter.

I did read when they first had sex, cause I thought maybe that is why people love this book. Maybe she is good in writing about sex? Well, that first sex encounter was so unrealistic, it did not rock my boat at all.
So I still wonder why is this book on number 1!!!! And even more How can there be 3 books??????????

Am I a good writer now since I am using so many exclamation points? ;P

OMG, I gasped, while biting my bottom lip, Please, anyone,I gasped again, tell me why this book is so popular. thanks!

Update 3: I just read some reviews. Many 1 star reviews but also 5 star ones. One of them claimed this was the best romance book ever.
I gasp and decide I do not want to know any more why people love this book. Never mind. To each its own.


( )
  Marlene-NL | Mar 12, 2016 |
[JUNE 30, 2012] I was one of the first people to announce in our Shelfari group that I wouldn't read this book… But because I’m such a Bookaholic I couldn't help myself! I just HAD to buy it and read it. I started yesterday but I was way too sleepy, I only got to the part where Ana enters his office and discovers a young handsome man. I will have to finish it and give my honest opinion (^_~)

[‎Saturday, ‎October ‎20, ‎2012] I really loved the story, and it's not really S&M, it's a love story about a damaged guy and an innocent girl... I can't wait to read the rest of the books. I think it's one of the best love stories I read this year. All the sexual scenes were very graphic and filled with passion. I think it's a great book. ( )
  mrsdanaalbasha | Mar 12, 2016 |
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)

This is not my usual Genre, but I heard so much "hype" about the book I decided to give it a chance. It is the story of Anastasia Steele (Ana) and Christian Grey. I will say the book was well written, I did feel what Ana was feeling, but I did not like Ana at all.

She was portrayed as naive and innocent, I found her to be unbelievably foolish and stupid. Christian, I did not like him at all. He was portrayed as arrogant and controlling, I found him to be a twisted sick freak. I did like Anas' best friend and roommate Kate, she was the only one who had any common sense. I don't do spoilers so I won't say much more (Although there is a LOT I could say)

I really ,really wanted to like this book, but it is just not for me. Those who like Erotica may enjoy this book. Those looking for a cozy warm Romance, won't find it here. I am sure there are some people who will like this, I did not. ( )
  SheriAWilkinson | Mar 11, 2016 |
I picked this up from the library after the movie was released, convinced that it was time I got with the program and read the book for myself. For the last few months I've heard "Christian Grey" or "Fifty Shades" in conversations around me, listened to heated debates on the radio or seen discussion threads pop up on Goodreads. Now that I've finished the book, I just don't get what all the hype is about. There's good and bad here, but I don't see how this became so popular. The writing was filled with cliches and the repetitive phrasing became tiresome. If it wasn't for the emails between the couple, I'd call the whole thing mediocre.

This is a tough book for me to review. Other than the teasing banter in the emails, there just wasn't much here that jumped out and grabbed me in a good way. Most people love it or hate it, but I'm somewhere in the middle.

While I didn't care for the BDSM, things weren't nearly as bad as I anticipated. In fact most of the problems that bothered me surrounded the emotional connection between the couple, or the lack thereof. The author made the relationship all about sex, at least in the beginning. It was hard to connect to the characters until I was well into the book. Even then it was a bit precarious. From my perspective as a reader, the Red Room of Pain only added to this problem, removing even more intimacy from the relationship. It was obvious that Christian was emotionally damaged, a result of a painful childhood, and that his control issues stemmed from a need to protect his heart. He could be an awesome lover to Ana one minute and a barbaric arse the next. Of course Ana falls in love with him anyway. She desperately wants to help him and allows him to do things that make her uncomfortable, thinking that her love might be enough to heal him. It was dysfunctional on both sides.

I don't have enough knowledge of BDSM to determine what is "normal" and what isn't, but my biggest issue with the book was the abuse. I did not like it when Christian hit Ana. It's NOT okay. His past is NOT an excuse. Whether it was physical blows or humiliating behavior, Christian tried to make his selfish, abusive treatment toward Ana into a civilized act. In doing so he fed his needs at Ana's expense. Making your partner cry, knowing they love and trust you, or causing them physical and/or emotional pain, is wrong. It was something I just couldn't get past.

Despite the obvious dysfunction, there were tender moments where I had hope for the couple. The glider ride was a good example, as well as the conversation in the tub towards the end of the book. Ana knew what she wanted and I thought Christian was starting to "get" it. Gotta say that I hated the ending. Major cliffhangers tick me off. Now Ana has a broken heart, but she did the right thing by leaving the relationship. I personally think Christian sabotaged the relationship out of fear.

There's a lot more I could mention, but others have already addressed most of the issues from a gazillion different angles. I was going to give it three stars for the funny emails until I got to the abrupt cliffhanger ending. I try to give series at least the first two books before I give up, so I'll move on to the next installment, but I'm not in any hurry. This just wasn't for me. ( )
  Becky_McKenna | Mar 10, 2016 |
So with this first one I have cons and pros. Some parts of this book were very entertaining, even witty. I liked the characters for the most part and found the story line decent. There was a bit too much sex for me or maybe the scenes were too long. But really the biggest issue was the quality of the writing. It wasn't written very well. BUT that aside it had me intrigued unlike some other erotic novels and the love story that I knew what developing was so cute. Seriously. Ana and Christian are cute when they aren't naked every two seconds. The first time i read this I actually LOVED it. And it is funny because I didn't think I would. I was against anything FSOG. so perhaps it was the difference in this book versus others i was used to reading that made me love it so much. But reflecting back now I see it differently. I still like this book but it isn't the best because of plenty flaws. So overall this is the worst book in the trilogy but it had me enough to make me read more. I recommend it honestly because the second and third books are pretty good . (: ( )
  ChelseaClaudett | Mar 8, 2016 |
While this book may not be for everyone, I enjoyed it and will be reading the next one to find out what happens between Ana and Mr Grey story ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
While this book may not be for everyone, I enjoyed it and will be reading the next one to find out what happens between Ana and Mr Grey story ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
While this book may not be for everyone, I enjoyed it and will be reading the next one to find out what happens between Ana and Mr Grey story ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
While this book may not be for everyone, I enjoyed it and will be reading the next one to find out what happens between Ana and Mr Grey story ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
While this book may not be for everyone, I enjoyed it and will be reading the next one to find out what happens between Ana and Mr Grey story ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
While this book may not be for everyone, I enjoyed it and will be reading the next one to find out what happens between Ana and Mr Grey story ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
While this book may not be for everyone, I enjoyed it and will be reading the next one to find out what happens between Ana and Mr Grey story ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 571 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.98)
0.5 76
1 399
1.5 41
2 350
2.5 89
3 479
3.5 91
4 435
4.5 33
5 435

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

The Writer's Coffee Shop

2 editions of this book were published by The Writer's Coffee Shop.

Editions: 1612130283, 1612130291

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,256,556 books! | Top bar: Always visible