HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy,…
Loading...

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy, Bk 1) (original 2011; edition 2012)

by EL James

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
4,4154511,107 (2.97)5 / 251
lit_chick's review
I succumbed (poor word choice, perhaps!) to Fifty Shades of Grey because I was curious about the hype and craved an escape read. The novel scored on both counts. First, the hype: sex, check; more sex, check; romance hookup, check. Second, escape read: a disarmingly gorgeous billionaire with an outrageous sexual appetite, a dysfunctional past, and a penchant for control falls hard for a virginal college student and rescues her from reality in an all-consuming assault of lux-living and sensuality. Check.

Yes, Anastasia Steele has finally fallen for a man. Christian Grey is a “hot, sexy billionaire.” (Ch 6) He is charming, and “His voice is warm and husky like dark melted chocolate fudge caramel … or something.” (Ch 2) He has “beautifully chiseled lips” (Ch 2 ) and he repeatedly reduces Ana to “a quivering mass of raging female hormones." (Ch 2)

In case it is not already painfully obvious, there is no literary merit to Fifty Shades of Grey. That said, I’m planning to read the next in the trilogy, and probably the third. How to rate such a train wreck, then? Well, I can hardly give it less than one star while planning to read more. And “obsessive diversion from report cards” is not really a legitimate criteria. The writing, um, speaks for itself ... ( )
6 vote lit_chick | Jun 9, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (420)  Spanish (12)  German (5)  Catalan (4)  French (4)  Dutch (3)  Italian (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (451)
Showing 1-25 of 420 (next | show all)
Perfect guilty-pleasure reading. So much fun, so silly. Love it! ( )
  thereaderscommute | Apr 13, 2014 |
Perfect guilty-pleasure reading. So much fun, so silly. Love it! ( )
  thereaderscommute | Apr 13, 2014 |
I know. I was shocked too...

I don't think I can give a proper review until I finish the next book in the series. But I definitely recommend this book; however, you MUST proceed with caution. It is certainly not your run of the mill romance, and it is not for the faint of heart (that goes for the sexual content as well as the past mental/emotional/physical trauma).

I will add more later :) ( )
  Kanic | Apr 9, 2014 |
After all the hype I was expecting something... more. Even the sexy parts were not all that great. I skipped over most of them. ( )
  anitahavel | Apr 1, 2014 |
As with Twilight, as much as people majorly detest this book, it opened the door for a lot of other books.

In some respects, because it was so popular, it made it socially acceptable to read erotic fiction (etcetera) and therefore people openly admitted their passion for these sorts of books.

OK, it wasn't well written, but, in my opinion, it wasn't too tortuous to read. That is if you don't count frequent eye-rolling as tortuous... ( )
  LaurenKathryn | Mar 31, 2014 |
Cuando la estudiante de literatura Anastasia Steele recibe el encargo de entrevistar al exitoso y joven empresario Christian Grey, queda impresionada al encontrarse ante un hombre atractivo, seductor y también muy intimidante. La inexperta e inocente Ana intenta olvidarlo, pero pronto comprende cuánto le desea. Cuando la pareja por fin inicia una apasionada relación, las peculiares prácticas eróticas de Grey desconciertan a Ana al tiempo que ella descubre los límites de sus propios y más oscuros deseos… ( )
  sofi2911 | Mar 30, 2014 |
Loved it. ( )
  lisameddins | Mar 28, 2014 |
no no no no no no no no no
NO
no
no
N
O
no NO no no
noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo




no. ( )
  Dnaej | Mar 14, 2014 |
no no no no no no no no no
NO
no
no
N
O
no NO no no
noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo




no. ( )
  Dnaej | Mar 14, 2014 |
utter crap. seriously
I woudnt normally review but this book got so much hype I had to add my two cents...
poorly written, idiotic, shallow characters, not even interesting bdsm. pure drivel. ( )
  shevener | Mar 5, 2014 |
Pas le courage de finir tellement c'est insipide ( )
  veilleperso | Feb 7, 2014 |
Wow.

It's been a long time since a book has crawled under my skin and invaded my thoughts the way this one has. I dreamt about the characters and they were my first thought upon waking for three days in a row. The way the author takes the reader from a place of "No way" to "Okay, I'll try" is masterful.

Still, I can't give it 5 stars because it needed a competent editor to go through and tighten it up. James overuses phrases like Holy cow, Holy crap (etc) to the extreme. In one place she said "I'm breathless" twice within three sentences. Her constant references to Christian's expressions and the color of his eyes needed to be toned down, not to mention the number of times we go through "Don't bite your lip." A good editor would have made the book flow more smoothly. As it was, these types of writing ticks grated like sandpaper on my skin, interfering with my enjoyment of the book as I read.

And last but not least, what the heck kind of ending was that???????????????????

The answer: a completely unacceptable and profitable one as I went out and promptly bought the other two books. LOL ( )
  CyndiTefft | Feb 7, 2014 |
I wrote some fanfiction as a teenager, so I was curious about the “it-started-as-a-Twilight-fanfic” buzz behind this book. I was disappointed. I think fanfiction is a great starting point as practice for aspiring authors, however, this story was not far enough removed from its fanfiction days to be enjoyable for me.

First off, unless you enjoyed Twilight, don't even bother with this book. Minus the sex scenes, it reads like a bad cliché teenage romance. I'm talking a thousand times below the quality of Twilight. Ana is a senior in college, but it would be really easy to confuse her with a senior in high school (or even middle school in the 16 and pregnant world we live in) because she's never been kissed, never had a boyfriend, never even been attracted to the opposite sex at all. Boys are just friends to her. That is until she meets Christian, and he can't take his eyes off her, and oh my gosh, she might be attracted to a guy for the first time! The story goes from one extreme, no interest in guys at all, to doing everything under the sun with a guy she just met.

Secondly, I think Stephanie Meyer would have a really good case to sue the author of this book. The main characters of “Fifty Shades of Grey” (again, minus the sex scenes) still have too similar personalities, characteristics, and backstories to the main Twilight characters. Ana bites her lip a lot, she drives a junk car, she likes classic literature, she works at a hardware store...not far removed from Bella's sporting good store (both unusual places for your average, inexperienced chick to work), a relative of the store owner really wanted to date her...just like Bella's Mike?, she has a best guy friend named Jose...Jacob, anyone?, she has an unusual family situation cause she lived with her step-dad...huh, guess the author didn't think we'd catch on if she made it more complicated than Bella living with her dad, and she obviously doesn't have a typical daughter mom relationship because her mom doesn't come to her graduation. And Christian plays piano, loves classical music, is a stalker, warns her that he's dangerous, is overprotective, is adopted, has adopted siblings, and his mom is a doctor...wow Edward's dad is a doctor, too.

So, in conclusion, I feel like the story might have been okay if the author had went through a few more drafts and created original material. But I guess they just wanted to be lazy and ride the “Twilight-fanfiction buzz wave” until it gives out. If your interested in erotic romance, please go buy something original by an author who has worked hard with her own ideas, instead of this. I forced myself to finish “Fifty Shades of Grey”, got rid of my copy, and I do not plan to read the next books in the series. I'm going to pretend it ended with Ana leaving Christian forever and living happily without him. ( )
  vonze | Feb 6, 2014 |
If only i could give this zero stars. Terrible in every sense. Sniffing paint would have lost me less brain cells. ( )
  aiturnizzle | Feb 4, 2014 |
a very enjoyable work of fiction, a great escape from everyday life. ( )
  karenbrown | Jan 30, 2014 |
Personally, I am not into this whole controlling business. This book, for me, was rather...dissapointing because, of course, I expected some love story out of it and the fact that this book is based of all control and this man is so messed up psychologically that I could never stand to be in this sort of a relationship let alone being technically bribed and paid for sex. This book breaks all norms and I find it to be, ironically, saddist. Virgins and those with minimal experience be warned, this is not the book for you. ( )
1 vote LexyKayy | Jan 27, 2014 |
To much sex.
1 vote DaleVanWyhe | Jan 25, 2014 |
(This is my one review for the entire trilogy)

Well I've finally read it. My first attempt was not successful, I will admit I didn't give it fair chance. I pegged Christian as unnecessarily arrogant and couldn't continue reading it at time; but I was told on a few occasions to give it another shot and that I wouldn't be disappointed. That advice was very true, I didn't expect to completely be drawn in by not only Christian's and Ana's characters but the story itself.

These were very fleshed out characters with personality, flaws and tangible intensity. I was completely drawn in to Christian's and Ana's story and found myself rooting for their HEA.

I read the entire trilogy straight-through and thoroughly enjoyed the books. They were very compelling and it goes without saying very erotic. ( )
  chicreader | Jan 21, 2014 |
(This is my one review for the entire trilogy)

Well I've finally read it. My first attempt was not successful, I will admit I didn't give it fair chance. I pegged Christian as unnecessarily arrogant and couldn't continue reading it at time; but I was told on a few occasions to give it another shot and that I wouldn't be disappointed. That advice was very true, I didn't expect to completely be drawn in by not only Christian's and Ana's characters but the story itself.

These were very fleshed out characters with personality, flaws and tangible intensity. I was completely drawn in to Christian's and Ana's story and found myself rooting for their HEA.

I read the entire trilogy straight-through and thoroughly enjoyed the books. They were very compelling and it goes without saying very erotic. ( )
  chicreader | Jan 21, 2014 |


Honestly, woman!
I have read some pretty graphic stuff before, so that didn't bother me, but for goodness sake, there is no plot in this book!
Sure, you can write down your wet dreams; but don't publish it as a novel. At least try to get a plot in there, because this was just boring to read. ( )
1 vote Dravite | Jan 16, 2014 |
What was supposed to be a brief rant about this book ran a little longer than I expected, so it's now located at my blog.

http://notmytypee.blogspot.com/2012/06/fifty-shades-of-how-did-this-get.html ( )
  Athenable | Jan 10, 2014 |
I WANT MY BRAIN CELLS BACK.
This book . . . I can't even . . . it's SHEER MINDFUCK. Like, when I read:
“Okay, and what do I get out of this?”
He shrugs and looks almost apologetic.
“Me,” he says simply."

And this turns women on.



MY INNOCENCE. I'm only...I'm sixteen. I shouldn't have read this. No, sir. Just . . . no. My faith in Erotica has been destroyed forever.



Oh, Christian Fifty Shades of I Don't Have A Bad Enough Word For You Grey. You know what? It doesn't matter if you're sexy and enigmatic enough to have slept with 20 willing women. It doesn't matter if you're so filthy rich your (apparently prodigious) dick is made of pure gold. YOU DON'T MAKE ME HOT, YOU SICK FUCK.



As you can see, these two piss me off. Christian and Anastasia are Edward and Bella all over again. You know, the "He's a prick but she doesn't deserve even him" thing S. Meyer had going. Copied to perfection.

P.S Someone just told me this is a fan fiction of Twilight. So that's why. I should have known.

I kept screaming at her to WAKE THE FUCK UP. The relief I felt when she finally ran was . . . it was beyond words.

I don't have a problem with the sex. I'm not going to run away screaming just because it has S&M. But this was supposed to be erotic. Only, the thing is, it's not. It was just raw sex. Not arousing. I'm a feminist, but I can admit that the idea of giving in makes me hotter than the idea of being a dominatrix all decked out in leather. So I can relate to Ana there, although I don't really want the Fifty Shades of Grey submission fantasy some of you go for.



But the rest?



"Oh, My." "Inner goddess."

"You could still run for the hills. Come, I want to show you my playroom.”

"He reaches between my legs and pulls on the blue string...what! And...gently pulls my tampon out and tosses it into the nearby toilet."

"Never trust a man who can dance. "

And lastly, (sorry if I missed any), but why is there such parody galore of this travesty of a book?
[b:Fifty Shades of Gay|13578663|Fifty Shades of Gay|Lola Swain|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1333590356s/13578663.jpg|19162324]
[b:Fifty Shades of Gravy|13644951|Fifty Shades of Gravy|Jenny Ric|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1337016128s/13644951.jpg|19261557]
[b:Fifty Shades of Beige|13643699|Fifty Shades of Beige (Book One of the Fifty Shades Parody)|Reid Mockery|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1336668997s/13643699.jpg|19259352]
[b:Fifty Shames of Earl Grey|14060248|Fifty Shames of Earl Grey|Fanny Merkin|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1337500200s/14060248.jpg|19697036]
[b:Fifty-one Shades: A Parody|13548945|Fifty-one Shades A Parody (First Three Chapters)|Andrew Shaffer|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1331909924s/13548945.jpg|19114585]
[b:Fifty Shades of Marker|15705643|Fifty Shades of Marker (Book Two of the Fifty Shades Parody)|Reid Mockery|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1339694237s/15705643.jpg|21368589]
[b:Fifty Shades of Silver Hair and Socks|13647865|Fifty Shades of Silver Hair and Socks|Phil Torcivia|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1336933815s/13647865.jpg|19266437]
[b:Fifty Shades of Garbage|14624297|Fifty Shades of Garbage (A Parody)|Allie Beck|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1365724440s/14624297.jpg|20268242]
[b:Fifty Shades of Gary the Vampire: Anais's Sin|14742214|Fifty Shades of Gary the Vampire Anais's Sin (Book 1)|Sabrina Swan|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1338447518s/14742214.jpg|20389653]
[b:Fifty Shades of Twilight|15715472|Fifty Shades of Twilight (A Very Naughty PARODY)|Secret Anonymous|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1340276622s/15715472.jpg|21384897]
[b:Fifty Shades of Black and Blue|14287981|Fifty Shades of Black and Blue|I.B. Naughtie|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1337705164s/14287981.jpg|19927145]
[b:Fifty Shades of Pink: A Parody|14741753|Fifty Shades of Pink A Parody|Faythe America|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1338421652s/14741753.jpg|20388888]
[b:Fifty Shades of Grey and Zombies|15722328|Fifty Shades of Grey and Zombies|Grey West|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1340658695s/15722328.jpg|21396318]
It's enough to justify Ana saying, "Oh, my."

This is what I wanted to do to the book:
( )
  potterhead9.75 | Jan 5, 2014 |
I found this book interesting, but never thrilling. Grey especially felt old to me, and something about the story felt "canned," if you will. ( )
  LaPhenix | Dec 30, 2013 |
Ok, let's see what this book is all about. Made the cover of Entertainment weekly which is usually reserved for blockbuster movies. ( )
  AKLibGirl | Dec 21, 2013 |
This book was f*cking awful.
I wish you could give books zero star ratings. This is an embarrassment to fanfiction. ( )
  newskepticx | Dec 18, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 420 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.97)
0.5 69
1 269
1.5 35
2 252
2.5 83
3 347
3.5 86
4 320
4.5 28
5 302

The Writer's Coffee Shop

Two editions of this book were published by The Writer's Coffee Shop.

Editions: 1612130283, 1612130291

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,566,302 books! | Top bar: Always visible