HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy,…
Loading...

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy, Bk 1) (original 2011; edition 2012)

by EL James

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
5,305524830 (2.99)5 / 285
I succumbed (poor word choice, perhaps!) to Fifty Shades of Grey because I was curious about the hype and craved an escape read. The novel scored on both counts. First, the hype: sex, check; more sex, check; romance hookup, check. Second, escape read: a disarmingly gorgeous billionaire with an outrageous sexual appetite, a dysfunctional past, and a penchant for control falls hard for a virginal college student and rescues her from reality in an all-consuming assault of lux-living and sensuality. Check.

Yes, Anastasia Steele has finally fallen for a man. Christian Grey is a “hot, sexy billionaire.” (Ch 6) He is charming, and “His voice is warm and husky like dark melted chocolate fudge caramel … or something.” (Ch 2) He has “beautifully chiseled lips” (Ch 2 ) and he repeatedly reduces Ana to “a quivering mass of raging female hormones." (Ch 2)

In case it is not already painfully obvious, there is no literary merit to Fifty Shades of Grey. That said, I’m planning to read the next in the trilogy, and probably the third. How to rate such a train wreck, then? Well, I can hardly give it less than one star while planning to read more. And “obsessive diversion from report cards” is not really a legitimate criteria. The writing, um, speaks for itself ... ( )
6 vote lit_chick | Jun 9, 2012 |
English (489)  Spanish (13)  German (5)  Catalan (4)  French (4)  Dutch (3)  Italian (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (521)
Showing 1-25 of 489 (next | show all)
The beginning of a trilogy that centers around Mr. Grey and Anastasia. Mr. Grey is apparently a fantasized person that is all but unattainable in real life. He's a billionaire who is fluent in French, a pilot, athletic-ly gorgeous, a concert level pianist, and apparently the best lover on the planet. His billions come from his self made company where he utilizes its resources to help starving countries. And, he's only 26. What else can he do? Save the world from solar flares, kill the zombie epidemic?

He's just got the one "flaw" where he gets off on beating a girl senseless, which is ok because they sign an agreement (via an included copy of the contract he shares). Anastasia is a moron, I mean graduating college student. She's got unrealized-by-others talent so she can step right over her editor boss and take his job because he sexually harasses her. Ultimately she's a naive, easily manipulated girl, who apparently has an inner goddess. I had to read about her inner goddess perking up so many times, I thought of shooting the book. Every time she'd start to stand up for herself, Mr. Grey would breathe or something else moronic and she'd orgasm right back into his plan.

It could've been so much better if a childish mind hadn't created these two characters and actually worked on developing a plot to add to the sex scenes. This is erotic fiction and pretty bad at that. The only reason so many have read it has to be because of the movie. I am all for people being able to consent to this kind of lifestyle and it doesn't offend me in the least. However, he used her and controlled her beyond what is or should be acceptable. Don't be a doormat, people. ( )
  jessica_reads | Mar 24, 2015 |
I found this book really interesting, recomend people to read it before watching the film.
  CarmenAguilera | Mar 24, 2015 |
So many people recommended me to read this book so after a while I decided to finally read it. I finished this book a couple weeks ago. It might be a little obscene and sexual but I think it has some good elements. It is about a young woman with some close and loving friends and a mismatch family. She goes to interview the handsome man who owns the biggest company in the city, GREY. They somehow start liking eachother and they end up having a BDSM (Bondage and discipline; Dominance and submission; Sadism and masochism) relationship but, for sure, Grey has much more experience than her.
  Alejandrademena | Mar 24, 2015 |
It is a very interesting book, Christian Grey is a very wealthy guy that has very weird likes respect to having sex. Anastasia is the journalist that meets him in an interview and they start to have a very strange sexual attraction, then is when he shows her his likes and makes her do things that she couln'd imagine.
  paolaluelmo | Mar 24, 2015 |
After hearing a couple of young guys share their thoughts about this book, that it wasn't good, that it really is bad, well, I just had to put it on my TBR list. I checked it out from the library a week ago. I didn't really know what to expect. After having a quick flick through, I read a couple of passages to my husband, who I think got a little intrigued himself to read this book, [b:Fifty Shades of Grey|10818853|Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)|E.L. James|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1300842729s/10818853.jpg|15732562]. Sharing small details here and there is one thing, but to actually get your nose into it is another, and totally worthwhile in this case (if you're the first romance type).

This book has some good elements. Two strong-willed protagonists, one with a shady background, the other a 'normal' young woman with close friends and loving mismatch family. A decent story, it isn't just boy meets girl next door. The author really explores a BDSM relationship, it just so happens that one has a lot more experience. These relationships or agreements between couples are out there. It isn't just in books any more.

I really enjoyed reading the emails between Grey & Steele. They bring a lighter feel to the story. The little talk and lots of sex get's a little intense at times. The distant moments gives Ana time to think about what she is gets herself into, falling for a well-off, professional man.

I don't want to give too much away but the ending was good. This realisation had to happen. Grey & Steele want different things from a relationship. It makes you want to pick up the next book to see if their spark will be enough to carry on. ( )
  sharlenehsmith | Mar 9, 2015 |
I don't understand all the controversy over this book. Yes, it's porn. Big fucking deal. Oh, but it's bondage porn. Again, big fucking deal. Some people are into that shit. So what? If nobody is really hurt, and it's consensual, what's the problem?

This book is about some stupid bitch who falls in love with some rich asshole. He's a sociopath. He doesn't like to be touched. He likes control. And apparently, he hates women. Or at least that's what I get from his character. He has a strong need to control and punish women.

I have to wonder if Ana would have fallen for Christian if he was just a regular guy. Just a super hot hunk of a guy that she met at the gym, or something. Would she have gone so far into the lifestyle? Would she have let him torture her so much? Or was it just because Christian is rich as fuck, and can take her on wonderous adventures?

You know what really drove me crazy about this book? The fact that he kept calling her 'Baby'. And he kept passionately kissing her. Hell, he even ate out her sloppy cunt, and made her cum over and over. This is not what a Dominant does. This is what a lover does. So, I really don't understand his character at all.

His actions say that he loves her. But he still doesn't want her to touch him. And he still wants more than anything, to see her in pain. He wants to see those welts on her ass. And at the same time, he's calling her fucking 'Baby'. What the fuck? It doesn't make any sense at all.

I was happy to see that in the end, she left him. After he really hurt her. She finally realized that hurting her was what he wanted most. He didn't want love. He wanted punishment, and torture.

I don't know where the hell the story can go from here. Is Christian going to learn to love, or is Ana going to finally turn into the slave girl he always wanted? Who knows. Part of me wants Ana to be the filthy slave girl. But another part of me wants to see Ana show up to Christian's house and violently rape him in the ass with a huge black strap-on dildo. Yeah, that'd be sweet. ( )
  gecizzle | Mar 5, 2015 |
4 ½ Stars
I want more!! ( )
  BookaholicCat | Mar 4, 2015 |
Ok it's trash, and if read as such, it was very entertaining. The book made for some great conversations with my close friends and I wouldn't want my husband to read it (haha) but I had fun with all three books. I liked the characters and especially Christian. I am not happy about young girls and guys reading this and thinking that this is a normal sex life. It's twisted and not normal (to me anyway). The violence bothers me. Read it, talk about it and have some laughs! Is it five star worthy? Only if you read it for what it is, trashy sexy entertainment. It is not literature. ( )
  LASMIT | Mar 3, 2015 |
While I cannot recommend this book because of what I classify as amateurish writing, I do have to say that I feel the huge backlash against it is unwarranted. Yes, Grey is a creepy rich man who uses his money and influence in questionable and stalkerish ways... but his attitudes and procedures regarding BDSM contracts and rules is, in my opinion, exemplary.

Though, I hated the way BDSM is portrayed as sick and twisted. No, it is certainly not for everyone, but neither is it cruel.

Ana is innocent and naive, and I have to say that she is the wrong character to use to explore an introduction to BDSM. ( )
  HippieLunatic | Feb 20, 2015 |
DISCLAIMER: This is a review of an audiobook.

WHAT IS IT ABOUT?

“Fifty Shades of Grey” by E.L. James is the first book in a romantic/erotic trilogy Fifty Shades. The story centers around a rather strange yet enthralling relationship between a recent college graduate Anastasia Steele and a young, handsome and insanely rich entrepreneur Christian Grey. Anastasia is beautiful and smart but, despite a handful of admirers, she has never been interested in a man. That is, before she met Christian. But Christian is, in his own words, “fifty shades of fucked up.” He is an intimidating control freak with a dark past and singular erotic tastes. Yet he cannot stay away from Ana either.

THUMBS UP:

1) Intoxicating love story.
Yes, there are a lot of graphic sex scenes in this book, but, buried beneath all that pornography, there is also an intoxicating, heart-fluttering love story, which I absolutely loved. Yes, it is a “Twilight”-type love story, but hey, I loved Twilight too.

2) Realistic and relatable characters.
It might be a by-product of love story intoxication, but I actually cared about the characters and found them flawed but realistic and relatable. Yes, Christian sometimes can be rather creepy but, given his upbringing, he could have turned out much worse. Besides, he is so protective, attentive and respectful towards his family and Ana (*siiiigh*). And Ana… yes, she might seem a little bit immature, but give the girl a break - she is in love!

3) Convincing (almost).
I agree that it is rather unrealistic that a smart, good-looking and apparently highly desirable 21-year-old American girl has never been interested in a boy, let alone kissed one; but other than that, I found the plot of “Fifty Shades of Grey” to be quite convincing. The events didn’t seem forced or rushed, the reactions, emotions, thoughts, expectations and doubts seemed natural and reasonable, and you could really see the characters gradually falling in love with each other.

4) Beautifully narrated and captivating.
Becca Battoe’s passionate narration and colorful intonations suited the story perfectly. I especially loved her imitation of a husky male voice. Now, I have seen tons of criticism towards James’ writing, but, even though I wouldn’t call it exceptional, I genuinely don’t think it’s horrible. It might be due to the fact that I was listening to the book rather than actually READING it, but I found the story captivating and didn’t notice any major problems concerning author’s writing.

COULD BE BETTER:

1) Sex overload.
Although I loved the main story, there was way too much sex for my taste. However, it has nothing to do with the fact that “Fifty Shades of Grey” propagates kinky sex (all that BDSM business); I am just not a fan of explicit sex scenes in general. Call me childish but I found the sex scenes rather repetitive, and soon enough they became the boring part of the story. What can I say, I guess erotic novels are not my cup of tea.

VERDICT: 3.5 out of 5

Although “Fifty Shades of Grey” has way too much sex for my taste (it’s an erotic novel after all), I was absolutely enthralled by a heart-fluttering “Twilight”-type love story and thus temporarily lost my critical thinking abilities. I know, I know… Don’t judge me, I’m a hopeless romantic. ( )
2 vote AgneJakubauskaite | Feb 17, 2015 |
I've had this book on my ereader for a while now, and only decided to read it as it suddenly was on the bestsellers list so I was expecting it to be good.

As other reviewers have noted, it is poorly written and has loads of annoying turns of phrase. The story isn't very realistic so if you are looking for a realistic read, this book is not for you.

I can understand why it is a bestseller as the description of Christian Grey's mannerisms and persona is very similar to Edward Cullen, and that seems to appeal to and make most of the female population weak at the knees. The sex scenes however are dull and can be somewhat bizarre! (I refer to the tampon bit in this).

It was however very easy to read, but seemed really drawn out. Nothing really happens. I have a sneaking feeling that the author could have written all three books as one quite easily.

Needless to say, I won't be reading the series any further... ( )
  KittyBimble | Feb 12, 2015 |
The hype took me over and I cracked... I just finished Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James on Friday. I've let it settle in my brain, and I don't know how I feel about it. I am torn between despising and adoring Christian Grey. I am torn between admiring and loathing Anastasia Steele.

First of all, it took me over 200 and some odd pages to even enjoy the book. I didn't like it from the get-go, and I felt like I was just waiting for the magical "ooooh I love it!" moment. That moment did not come for me. However, by time the last 50 pages came- I was hooked. I needed to turn the page and I needed to know what was going to happen next. But then it ended. And I was left wanting more.

See why I am so torn?? I didn't even really care for the book, yet here I am thinking about going out to B&N tonight to pick up the next two books, just so I can see what happens next.
I hope that after reading all three books, I may be able to form a review and a more concrete feeling about it all. It is a phenomenon after all.
Maybe by time next week rolls around, I will have a totally different opinion on the matter.... so for now, I will leave it at this: torn. (but craving more) ( )
1 vote littlebirdreads | Feb 10, 2015 |
While my initial instinct is to dis this book, I won't. Is it misogynistic, cliched and largely a Mills and Boons, but with porn? Yes. But I believe it serves an interesting function. The story line is broadly 'Beauty and the Beast' meets 'Cinderella'.In that it does nothing more terrible than a hundred million other pop and pulp fiction books do. But it expresses sexual desire and control from the point of view of a woman. It may not be Delta of Venus. But I thought it was racy and entertaining in a trashy way. As for the fact that it captures a very misogynistic idea of desire, I seriously thought about it and then wondered if I was being narrow-minded. This version of desire also exists. It is someone's reality. Is it so terrible if they want to write about it? In short, it's not a great book, but approximately in the same way as Pretty Woman isn't great cinema. ( )
  swati.ravi | Feb 9, 2015 |
Okay... where to start?

I think all of the other 1 star reviews have pretty much nailed the issues with this book so I'm not going to retread.

My only tuppence worth is that it's not about BDSM... it has nothing to do with BDSM and anyone who says different really should seek help. Christian Grey is an abuser, Ana is a complete idiot and her only redeeming feature comes at the end of the book when she tries to leave (damn shame she goes back)
I'm also shocked at how a book with such godawful writing hit the bestseller list. It also manages to make porn boring.

I'm also annoyed that Ana is a 21 year virgin who knows absolutely NOTHING about sex.. Christ, I was a virgin at 21 but by all the Gods I certainly knew about sex. Hell by the age of 21 I know about BDSM (I watched the Boorman documentary on Pandoras). Ana wasn't brought up in a cult without access to a TV or books, so why is she so clueless. (answers on a postcode please)

I can't say anymore about this book without getting ranty... It's awful, let's just leave it at that.

( )
  Claire.Warner | Feb 8, 2015 |
Okay... where to start?

I think all of the other 1 star reviews have pretty much nailed the issues with this book so I'm not going to retread.

My only tuppence worth is that it's not about BDSM... it has nothing to do with BDSM and anyone who says different really should seek help. Christian Grey is an abuser, Ana is a complete idiot and her only redeeming feature comes at the end of the book when she tries to leave (damn shame she goes back)
I'm also shocked at how a book with such godawful writing hit the bestseller list. It also manages to make porn boring.

I'm also annoyed that Ana is a 21 year virgin who knows absolutely NOTHING about sex.. Christ, I was a virgin at 21 but by all the Gods I certainly knew about sex. Hell by the age of 21 I know about BDSM (I watched the Boorman documentary on Pandoras). Ana wasn't brought up in a cult without access to a TV or books, so why is she so clueless. (answers on a postcode please)

I can't say anymore about this book without getting ranty... It's awful, let's just leave it at that.

( )
  Claire.Warner | Feb 8, 2015 |
I love the potential for this story. I even grew to appreciate Christian and Anastasia. But GREAT ZEUS - the writing is just shit-awful.

If this is your first foray into the wonderful world of erotica, please PLEASE don't judge based on this nonsense. So many great authors out there! ( )
  aznstarlette | Feb 4, 2015 |
Dismal. The other 1/2 star reviews pretty much say it all.
Sincerest sympathies to writers of quality erotica who are probably burning their typewriters round about now. Actually, sympathies to any writer who has something more original to say than "Oh my" and "Down there". ( )
1 vote paulinewiles | Jan 26, 2015 |

Oh my God. This book was, without a doubt, fucking hilarious.

First of all, lets get one thing straight: I'd rather shit on my hands and clap before reading this again. The fact that I decided to read it in the first place is demeaning enough. After seeing the hype about it on Facebook, I thought, "Might as well" considering EVERYONE said it was AMAZING.

AMAZING is not the word for it. STUPID, SHIT, RIDICULOUS AND HILARIOUS are the words for it!

So say hi to Anastasia Steele, the 'innocent', 'independent', 'free spirit' main character. She meets the 'enigmatic' Christian Grey when she interviews him for her University paper. Christian Grey is 'handsome', 'beguiling' and 'totally unreachable'. He decided he wants to screw Ana and, ooh-la-la that's what they do!

Literally. Take away the sex scenes from the book and the story line is as wide as my pinkie nail. There is NO DEPTH to the characters at all, there is NO STORYLINE and I SWEAR E.L. James pretty much went with whatever was going through her head at that given moment.

How is it HOT or even OKAY to think that Grey likes whipping and hurting girls during sex because they RESEMBLE HIS MOTHER?! It's fucked up and sick! Seriously, that's what he says! " Anastasia, I like whipping brown haired girls like you because you all resemble my mother " THAT'S HOT?!

Anastasia is meant to be this innocent girl who waits for the right person to give her virginity to, and then she just falls into bed with Grey because she can't resist him. IT'S EASY TO RESIST HIM. HE HAS A RED ROOM OF PAIN. WHY THE FUCK WOULD YOU WANT TO GO IN THERE?! Ana is probably the whiniest, most annoying and STUPIDEST character I have ever read about.

She's first introduced as clumsy and pure and whatever other shit, and then literally ALL OF A SUDDEN she's sex mad (she gets turned on by using his TOOTHBRUSH. WHAT.) and SOPHISTICATED. How is that even possible?

AND OF COURSE all of a sudden EVERYONE WANTS A PIECE OF HER. She suddenly has a mile long line of guys knocking at her door, and even more OF COURSE Grey can't stand her going out without security or her even MEETING HER FRIENDS WITHOUT HIM THERE. This book is the epitome of abusive relationships. I mean, no one can TOUCH him but he can whip and beat girls during sex and THAT'S OKAY?

The writing is so repetitive as well. She CONSTANTLY looks at her hands, CONSTANTLY blushes and CONSTANTLY says, "because I love him so." WE GET IT. YOU'RE A FUCKING TOOL.

Grey is meant to be this amazing, alluring man that no one can keep their hands off. HE HAD SEX WITH HIS MOTHER'S FRIEND BECAUSE HE COULDN'T STOP BRAWLING WHEN HE WAS 15! AND SHE INTRODUCED HIM TO THE BDSM LIFESTYLE.

AT FIFTEEN IS THAT MEANT TO BE OKAY?!

He makes girls sign ridiculous contracts before he fucks them. He makes them COOK on weekends. THEY HAVE NO FREE WILL. HOW IS THIS OKAY?! HOW IS THIS HOT?

I can't even put into words how angry this book makes me. I had a bit of respect for Ana at the end but then as quick as she gained that respect, she lost it too. She leaves him at the end of book one cos he whips her with a belt. BUT OF COURSE SHE GOES BACK TO HIM IN BOOK 2. 8 PAGES IN AND THEY'RE SCREWING AGAIN. And get this: THEY GET MARRIED. They've been together a month and THEY GET MARRIED.

How on earth this got published, I have no idea. And how on Earth people find it hot and romantic, I have even LESS of an idea.

It's about abuse, and sex and abuse and even more sex and that's all they do! There isn't a scene where you think, "they won't fuck here" and they do. EVERYWHERE. They have sex at his parents house the first time she meets them (nice impression there, girl), and on a boat, on a plane, in an elevator WITH PEOPLE THERE. AND THE FUCK WHEN SHE'S ON HER PERIOD. WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK.

Honestly. If I could gather all the books and bury them, I would. If I could give E.L. James a wake up slap and scream, "WHAT THE FUCK DO YOU THINK YOU'RE DOING?!" I would. It's ridiculous. It's shallow. There is literally NO SENSE TO THE BOOK. Ana hates the fact that he spends money on her, but then asks him for a SPORTS CAR FOR HER BIRTHDAY. Obviously don't hate his wealth that much then!

ARGH. I actually want to hurt someone because of this book.

HOW ARE THEY GOING TO MAKE A FILM ABOUT IT? IT'LL BE PORN, WHERE A MAN WHIPS HIS GIRLFRIEND TO SHIT AND LIKES IT.

Anyone who reads this and likes it obviously has something wrong with them. And I mean, seriously wrong. It's about an abusive relationship. That's all. An abusive relationship that Ana likes referring to as 'kinky fuckery'. WHAT.

She NEVER sees her friends. The entire book is revolved around Grey. THEY NEVER LEAVE EACH OTHER IN PEACE. Either they're at his apartment, or eating out, or in a car, or at her JOB but I think in total she spends a WEEKEND WITH HER FRIENDS WITH HIM THERE. I swear, if my boyfriend did that, I would dump him on the spot. How is it all right not to see your friends because your boyfriend doesn't want you to? ABUSE.

Ugh. I could go on for hours.

GOODBYE, PIECE OF SHIT OF A BOOK. Ugh.

( )
1 vote Aly_Locatelli | Jan 26, 2015 |
Modern fairytale. Innocent girl meets handsome and wealthy prince but instead of marrying, having children and living happily ever after, they have wild sex and lots of fun. ( )
  HendrikSteyaert | Jan 24, 2015 |
Not really a good book. I personally think this book is just overated that's pretty much it. I could not even finish it, yeah it is very explicit which is great but the romance in general is just boring, has nothing special nor anything that makes it different from all the other stereotypical romance stories. The only thing that makes this book stand out i believe is just the usage of erotism but besides that, there is nothing special about this book. Without the erotism this book has nothing. Unfortunately it made lots of sells due to the huge propaganda it had.
I regret so bad buying the series!
Save yourself time and money. ( )
  karlapre | Jan 7, 2015 |
A 10 year old could write a better plot (minus the sex of course...oh wait, that was the plot). Read it to see what all the hype was about. Finished the book just to see if it got better, it didn't. Book 2 and 3, never. There are just too many good reads out there to waste my time. ( )
1 vote NHNick | Jan 5, 2015 |
I am not ashamed I read this. Not well written but good entertainment value. Lousy ending. ( )
  lincolnpan | Dec 31, 2014 |
Once you read past the physical passions there is an amazing story. I read the entire series. ( )
1 vote GospelChick | Dec 30, 2014 |
Juvenile drivel. Can't believe a middle-aged woman wrote this. Cinderella with BDSM. How many times does Ana blush and look at him from underneath her lashes? If millions of women loved this book, we men are in trouble. Utter crap, but E.L. James and her publishers are laughing all the way to the bank. But she makes a point - if you're going to write garbage, put it in first person present tense narrative. ( )
2 vote BBcummings | Dec 24, 2014 |
It's twilight fic, so it was never going to be great. I'm not really sure how to even rate this, as the writer is a novice and it's badly in need of editing and someone to write real dialog.
  echoindarkness | Dec 17, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 489 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.99)
0.5 72
1 337
1.5 38
2 307
2.5 88
3 411
3.5 88
4 387
4.5 30
5 378

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

The Writer's Coffee Shop

2 editions of this book were published by The Writer's Coffee Shop.

Editions: 1612130283, 1612130291

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,191,093 books! | Top bar: Always visible