HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy,…
Loading...

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades Trilogy, Bk 1) (original 2011; edition 2012)

by EL James

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations / Mentions
5,509540790 (2.98)5 / 300
I succumbed (poor word choice, perhaps!) to Fifty Shades of Grey because I was curious about the hype and craved an escape read. The novel scored on both counts. First, the hype: sex, check; more sex, check; romance hookup, check. Second, escape read: a disarmingly gorgeous billionaire with an outrageous sexual appetite, a dysfunctional past, and a penchant for control falls hard for a virginal college student and rescues her from reality in an all-consuming assault of lux-living and sensuality. Check.

Yes, Anastasia Steele has finally fallen for a man. Christian Grey is a “hot, sexy billionaire.” (Ch 6) He is charming, and “His voice is warm and husky like dark melted chocolate fudge caramel … or something.” (Ch 2) He has “beautifully chiseled lips” (Ch 2 ) and he repeatedly reduces Ana to “a quivering mass of raging female hormones." (Ch 2)

In case it is not already painfully obvious, there is no literary merit to Fifty Shades of Grey. That said, I’m planning to read the next in the trilogy, and probably the third. How to rate such a train wreck, then? Well, I can hardly give it less than one star while planning to read more. And “obsessive diversion from report cards” is not really a legitimate criteria. The writing, um, speaks for itself ... ( )
6 vote lit_chick | Jun 9, 2012 |
English (507)  Spanish (13)  German (5)  French (4)  Catalan (4)  Dutch (4)  Italian (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Portuguese (Portugal) (1)  All languages (540)
Showing 1-25 of 507 (next | show all)
Just.

No.


Just. Please.

I can't. ( )
  aliceoddcabinet | Jul 25, 2015 |
LOVED IT, LOVED IT. Make sure you have book 2 to start reading immediately after! ( )
  GwendolynGrace | Jul 15, 2015 |
Sweet, young and virginal college student Anastasia Steele is doing her sick friend a favour when she goes to interview multi-billionaire Christian Grey. As soon as she walks into his office the attraction is palpable. He is kind enough to warn her that he is “not the man for her” but this does not deter him from pursuing her to the point of stalking. You see, Christian has a secret. Instinct clouded by sheer physical attraction Ana agrees to see Christian and agrees to sign a non-disclosure agreement (what girlfriend wouldn’t?) and he quickly introduces her to his “red room of pain” explaining he likes to engage in BDSM. Ignoring her better judgement Ana listens to her “inner goddess” and decides to experiment with Christian.

This book has been getting quite a bit of hype and I understand there is a movie in the works. Personally, I don’t get it. I have no objection to erotic literature, and there is some that is very well done, but this book falls flat. In fact, as I was reading I couldn’t help but think if the author left out the “kinky” stuff it could well pass as YA. Ana is beyond annoying (she is involved with a “dominant” and keeps repeating “he is sooooo controlling” … dah!) and Christian, rather than being the erotic teacher, falls half a step short of creepy stalker dude (no amount of money and good looks could make up for his actions, even outside his red room!).

And now I am about to say something very sad. Despite the fact that this is not the best writing I have read I have an idea in my head as to where the story is going to go … I NEED to find out if I am right … so sadly am going to venture on to the second book in the series. That’s the price of my frustrated writer/inquiring minds personality.
( )
  ChristineEllei | Jul 14, 2015 |
Why aren't there negative stars to rate a book? WHY?? WHYYYY???

People can have sex whatever kinky way they want, from bondage to alien submission fantasies. Whatever turns them on, whatever makes them ecstatic. The problem isn't there. The problem is in the plot and write-up of this book. Frankly after the first 20% of the really dull and stupid story, it keeps repeating the same incidents over and over until the very last when finally (spoiler) the girl leaves.

It seemed more like the next version of the Twilight series to me, while Twilight was aimed for a somewhat younger age range, this is for the older ones. Where sex comes in the last book of Twilight, it starts from the first on this.

It's the same clumsy, bookish, inexperienced, introvert girl, and that same expert of everything, Goddish good looking and filthy rich dominating guy. The girl is overwhelmed that this weirdo chose her and the male dominates both physically and mentally. Yeyyy!

What worries me about the huge popularity of this cliche storyline is that women, good, educated, so called sensible women find these okay and praise and recommend these to others when there is so much violence against women even in this 21st century. I wonder if its been woven in women genetics to crave male domination or is it the million year male domination around the world that altered the synapses of the female brains to accept and think its alright to be submissive and promote such crap?!


P.S: Re-reading my review of this cr** after more than a year, I realize my own literary skills are much much greater than this woman who is supposedly a bestseller writer! In fact you can find better examples of literary skills in simple erotic stories by random strangers with a Google search than what this piece of cr** has to offer, if that's the reason one would pick up the book. Please don't, save yourself the time, this cr** is so poor in the category of erotica even, it won't be satisfactory enough! :v ( )
  PsYcHe_Sufi | Jul 12, 2015 |
So, I've been hearing about **how amazing omg** this book is for years, and I finally decided to see what all the fuss was about - and, to be honest, I am still not sure.

I went into this book knowing that it was originally Twilight fan fiction, and even though the author has changed a few things (Jacob is now José, for example), you can definitely still see its roots. I'm not a huge fan of Twilight by any stretch of the imagination; it's not like I can say that I enjoy reading Twilight, because that's just not the word I would use, but I find them to be in the "so bad they're hilarious" range. Fifty Shades of Grey, on the other hand, is just horrible.

I disliked the character of Anastasia instantly and thoroughly. She's annoying as hell and keeps repeating the same phrases over and over again ("oh my," which I always hear in George Takai's voice; "he's out of my league" or some variant of; "wow" over and over again; etc). And that girl chews on her lip so much that it should be ragged. And she's always smirking.

Christian Grey is just as bad. He's always enigmatic, although he smirks quite a bit as well (not much as Ana). I just find him boring as all get out, to be honest. There is no mystery there for me, no draw. I felt absolutely no chemistry between Christian and Ana. Truthfully, I just wanted them to get to the sex scenes, because I've been told they were hot, hot, hot.

Except they weren't! Like the rest of the book, the sex scenes were written just as badly. I've read my fair share of erotica, and let me tell you, these are some of the least sexy sex scenes I have EVER read in my life. Ana continually refers to her vagina as "down there" or the "deepest, darkest part of me" and I was like...what the fuck. Seriously? I mean, eventually she does say "vagina," but still. And how many "oh my" and "wow"s can there possibly be? Ugh!

The book is not sexy. It's not so bad it's funny. It is just plain awful. I absolutely cannot see how this book became so popular! It makes no sense to me! There is so many better books out there - read those! ( )
  schatzi | Jun 25, 2015 |
This was an extremely interesting book. I picked it up because of all the hype. Everyone was calling it 'momma porn'. It does have a lot of sexual acts in it, but it doesn't go into too much detail.

I really like the story line, however unbelievable it is. Ana and Christian are great characters and they were written quite well.

I do have one big issue with the book. When describing sex scenes Ana will say ...now he's touching my sex... I have to assume that when she says sex she means vagina, but I'm thoroughly confused about that. Maybe different cultures/countries refer to the vagina as sex. But I've never heard that.

On an emotional/relationship level I think that these two are just like any couple, just trying to work through the hard stuff to have the good.

( )
  momma182 | Jun 23, 2015 |
The first half i was kinda confused by how i felt about it. I have read harlequin romance novels, and lots of fan fiction. but i wasnt sure what this book was about...I didnt want it to just be a story without depth and feelings...but i just finished the very long book...that is filled with ridiculous amounts of sex scenes...which no normal people could possibly keep up with...at least i dont think ..but maybe on their honeymoon. but ultimately im intrigued by the hero, christian, who for some reason is cam gigandet in my head. anyways...i want to know how this plays out...but i think it could have been severly condensed...its very drawn out...and ultimately that may bore some readers who tire of sex scene after sex scene...i skim them now to get to the talking emotional parts...but maybe their is other women out there doing the opposite. it gives you something to think about...and i dont think it hurts anyones marriage...it would only help it..as ive heard people say. ;) i would like to see this in movie form. just toned done...into r rated...not x. its not as amazing as twilight or hunger games...and its uncomfortable and formal ? sometimes because the relationship is so unnatural at times but maybe thats what the author is shooting for right now..but its also intriguing and steamy and heartfelt at other times. wonen who love to rescue emotionally screwed guys just to be the one girl who fixes him, this book is for you. its one of my fav themes. ( )
  Alwaysmidnight | Jun 16, 2015 |
The first half i was kinda confused by how i felt about it. I have read harlequin romance novels, and lots of fan fiction. but i wasnt sure what this book was about...I didnt want it to just be a story without depth and feelings...but i just finished the very long book...that is filled with ridiculous amounts of sex scenes...which no normal people could possibly keep up with...at least i dont think ..but maybe on their honeymoon. but ultimately im intrigued by the hero, christian, who for some reason is cam gigandet in my head. anyways...i want to know how this plays out...but i think it could have been severly condensed...its very drawn out...and ultimately that may bore some readers who tire of sex scene after sex scene...i skim them now to get to the talking emotional parts...but maybe their is other women out there doing the opposite. it gives you something to think about...and i dont think it hurts anyones marriage...it would only help it..as ive heard people say. ;) i would like to see this in movie form. just toned done...into r rated...not x. its not as amazing as twilight or hunger games...and its uncomfortable and formal ? sometimes because the relationship is so unnatural at times but maybe thats what the author is shooting for right now..but its also intriguing and steamy and heartfelt at other times. wonen who love to rescue emotionally screwed guys just to be the one girl who fixes him, this book is for you. its one of my fav themes. ( )
  Alwaysmidnight | Jun 16, 2015 |
The first half i was kinda confused by how i felt about it. I have read harlequin romance novels, and lots of fan fiction. but i wasnt sure what this book was about...I didnt want it to just be a story without depth and feelings...but i just finished the very long book...that is filled with ridiculous amounts of sex scenes...which no normal people could possibly keep up with...at least i dont think ..but maybe on their honeymoon. but ultimately im intrigued by the hero, christian, who for some reason is cam gigandet in my head. anyways...i want to know how this plays out...but i think it could have been severly condensed...its very drawn out...and ultimately that may bore some readers who tire of sex scene after sex scene...i skim them now to get to the talking emotional parts...but maybe their is other women out there doing the opposite. it gives you something to think about...and i dont think it hurts anyones marriage...it would only help it..as ive heard people say. ;) i would like to see this in movie form. just toned done...into r rated...not x. its not as amazing as twilight or hunger games...and its uncomfortable and formal ? sometimes because the relationship is so unnatural at times but maybe thats what the author is shooting for right now..but its also intriguing and steamy and heartfelt at other times. wonen who love to rescue emotionally screwed guys just to be the one girl who fixes him, this book is for you. its one of my fav themes. ( )
  Alwaysmidnight | Jun 16, 2015 |
I finally read this book after all of the hype. Usually before a review, I may give a small snippet of what its about. Not required here as this book is known to everyone. It seems a bit like marmite, you love it or hate it and I thought this book was OK, well actually I enjoyed it. I read it as a work of fiction, I didn't think too much into it. I liked the characters and the story line and over all it kept me interested.
I will proceed to read the second book. ( )
  Nataliec7 | Jun 11, 2015 |
This is a book that I could not put down, and I read it in about 5 days. This is a love story and I couldn't wait to get book two and start. ( )
1 vote missiboo | Jun 11, 2015 |
edit , febrero 2014

Me acuerdo que lei a Christian Grey en el 2011 , cuando estaba embarazada . Me acuerdo tambien , que me gusto . Era la primera vez que leia erotica y la primera vez que leia en ingles un libro entero ; era un descanso , un respiro de tantos clasicos , manuales de la facultad , y poesias en castellano antiguo (mi corta carrera en Literatura : 2 años y medio ) .

Lo lei y me gusto . No lo analice . no analizaba nada en esa epoca ; ya digo , estaba embarazadisima y queria entretenimiento superficial . CIncuenta SOmbras me sirvio .

HOy ya no me gusta ; no porque este mal escrito (el 70% de la literatura popular esta pesimamente escrito y es algo a lo que uno se acostumbra) ; no por el BDSM ni por las escenas de sexo insipidas ni los dialogos que se repiten una y otra vez (quien siga a Maya Banks o Shayla Black sabra que hay ciertas novelas en donde todas las escenas de sexo y conversaciones son iguales)

Creo que lo peor que tiene Cincuenta SOmbras es ser un fanfic de Crepusculo . Hoy en dia no podria leerlo sin pensar que Christian es cullen y ANastasia es BElla . No podria sin acordarme de la basura mormona y machista que hay detras de esa otra novela para adolescentes y que , en consecuencia , hace que esta en cuestion sea exactamente igual .

Tmpoco me gusta porque hoy , a los 24 años , me provocan una reccion de aversion instantanea y casi fisica las cursilerias baratas y las protagonistas pusilanimes (a pesar de que el final mesigue pareciendo apropiado ) , asi como tambien los libros donde se idealiza a las relaciones ultra dependientes , y las tramas donde se usan los embarazos inesperados como una excusa de final feliz (como si tooooodas las historias de amortuviesen que terminar en hijos ...ughhh) .

EN fin , muchas cosas que ya han enumerado toooooodas las reseñas negativas .

SIguiendo ...

Me acorde de Christian Grey porque hace unas semanas de lo preste a mi mejor amiga . CUando lo termino , tuvimos esta conversacion de Whatsapp .

mala : QUe te parecio?
amiga de mala : como q no le encuentro xq tanto quilombo . se la pasaban garchando jaja . y la mina ... el tipo le explico desde un principio como era y q no iba a cambiar y todo lo q le iba a hacer ... y ella se asusta por unos chirlos ! jaja
mala pero te gusto?
amiga de mala : si , cansaba igual . cuando la conocio estaba bueno pero cualkiera el final asi q maso . hubiera estado bueno que el se enamorara y cambiara pero al final siguio todo iguaL
mala : en el segundo sigue la historia
amiga ahh sigue la misma historia? Igual , bastante tranqui el libro a comparacion de otros que se re lastiman . viste que las cosas que no le hizo eran re jodidas .. pero re monga la piba si le encanta . el tipo le regala todo , me vas a decir queno se aguanta un par de chirlos jaj

A mi mejor amiga le gusto , a mi me gusto la primera vez que lo lei ... Y no porque fuese el primer libro que leimos en nuestras pobres vidas . Que tengas cierto historial literario no quita que puedas disfrutar de las cosas mas ridiculas . INcluso hoy , despues de muchisimos años leyendo de todo ( y digo de todo , en serio) puedo enamorarme de un romance por mas patetico que sea . No me lo voy a tomar en serio , no voy a hacer mi vida segun lo que lea ; que te guste Cincuenta SOmbras no quiere decir que seas una estupida ; que alguien lo odie , que le parezca la mayor basura jamas escrita no le da un derecho instantaneo a insultar a los lectores que lo amaron ni lo hace el mayor genio del mundo.
POrque mi amiga , mi vieja y quien sea lo haya disfrutado , yo no me les voy a plantar en la cara a decirles : que imbeciles que son , seguro es lo primero que leyeron en su vida , les gusta porque no saben un carajo de nada . Eso es falso . (y si este es su ingreso a la literatura , bravo por ellos , sigan el camino hacia la luz , cada uno empieza como se le da la gana) A cada uno le gusta lo que le gusta y humillarlos por eso es lo peor que hay . Sobre gustos no hay nada escrito , decia mi abuela y se comia los mocos ...

Escribo esto porque noto cierta pedanteria alrededor de esta novela . Creo que hay mucha gente que le da mas importancia de la que en realidad tiene . No nos gusto , bien por nosotros , tenemos ciertos gustos y los expresamos ... pero de ahi a insultar con tan poca gracia a las personas que lo disfrutaron ... me parece que esta demas . Es un bullying innecesario .

--------------------------------------------------​


A pesar de que le tengo cierto cariño (y nostalgia , porque no ) , no puedo negar que si , es una novela muy mala



Para la gente que no lo entiende :

Una cosa es una mujer maltratada verbal y físicamente todos los santos días de su vida sin escape posible o pensando que nunca nadie va a ayudarla . Una cosa es la violencia de género que sufren millones de mujeres (que probablemente nos ha pasado alguna vez en la vida , yo me incluyo ... abuso verbal , físico , me pasó a los doce e infinitas veces más en el paso de los años cuando era muy débil para defenderme o para saber como hacerlo) . Una cosa es eso . ESO SI ES SERIO . ESO SI ES TRISTE .

Otra cosa totalmente distinta es el BDSM . El que presenta esta novela erótica (ya no le digo porno porque entendí que hablar así es una falta de respeto total al género del romance erótico ) es BDSM bastante light comparado con otras cosas que andan dando vueltas y , realmente , no pasa de eso . No pasa de ser BONDAGE-Dominación-Sadismo-Masoquismo , un juego erótico de intercambio de roles .... o como sea que quieran llamarlo .

Después , con respecto a la escritura , que clase de mujer es Anna , que clase de hombre es Cristian , si ,seguro tienen razón en las críticas . La escritura es pésima (parecida a la de un autor de Young Adult mediocre ) , los personajes son irreales y las situaciones ridículas . Pero , bueno , por eso es una ficción romántica de entretenimiento para adultos mayores de 21 años y no una guía para la vida sobre como deben portarse las mujeres ante los hombres ni tampoco una biblia que siguen millones de personas en el mundo en donde se dicen cosas como estas :

CORINTIOS 11: 3, 7, 8 & 9

Pero quiero que sepáis que Cristo es cabeza de todo varón, y el varón es cabeza de la mujer… Porque el varón no debe cubrirse la cabeza, porque él es imagen y gloria de Dios; pero la mujer es gloria del varón. Porque el varón no procede de la mujer, sino la mujer del varón, y tampoco el varón fue creado por causa de la mujer, sino la mujer por causa del varón.

ISAÍAS 3: 16-17

Asimismo dice Jehová: Por cuanto las hijas de Sion se ensoberbecen, y andan con cuello erguido y con ojos desvergonzados; cuando andan van danzando, y haciendo son con los pies; por tanto, el Señor raerá la cabeza de las hijas de Sion, y Jehová descubrirá sus vergüenzas.

LEVÍTICO 12: 1, 2 & 5

Hablo Jehová a Moisés, diciendo: Habla a los hijos de Israel y diles: La mujer cuando conciba y dé luz a un varón, será inmunda 7 días.... Y si diera luz a una niña, será inmunda dos semanas...


(LO QUE ME ASQUEA escribir LO ANTERIOR EN UNA RESEÑA MÍA NO LO PUEDO DESCRIBIR ... TODO SEA PARA HACERME ENTENDER .)

Y la gente sigue esas creencias al pie de la letra .

Yo me estaría preocupando más por eso que por mujeres mayores de edad que devoran la trilogía porque les gusta o no tienen nada más que leer . ¿Hay que insultarlas por eso? ¿Se insulta a los hombres acaso por mirar pornografía?

Definitivamente , hay mucho más sentimiento y trama en Fifty Shades que en una película pornográfica donde dos mujeres se pelean por chuparle la poronga a un tipo mediocre que gime sentado en un sillón , mientras otro el triple de mediocre se hace la paja mirando la escena en la pantalla . Eso SI es pornografía y ahí hay MUCHISIMA Más falta de respeto a la mujer que en este fanfic de E.L. JAMES .

En fin , creo que va a tener que pasar mucho tiempo para que el BDSM deje de ser tan controversial y malinterpretado . Hasta entonces , habrá muchos hombres y mujeres que hablarán sin conocer e insultarán a quienes conozcan sólo por el gusto de hacerlo .


( )
  LaMala | Jun 7, 2015 |
It was a really good book overall and I have to say that after reading the book, many people need to reevaluate the term "abusive" and "BDSM". It doesn't take a genius to know that they are completely different and this book has nothing abusive in it. If you don't get it, oh well. ( )
  smilezforbooks | Jun 6, 2015 |
1.5 stars. I didn't like but it was better than expected, kind of. For a book about a BDSM, Sub/Dom relationship the sex scenes were very boring and repetitive. Let's be real thats the main appeal to this book and they were just awful and boring. This entire book went back and forth about their relationship and the terms and several times it seems like they figured it out only for it to out of the blue Ana has some new crazy bitch thoughts. The reason why this book was slightly better than I expected is because of the writing, although boring, dull and repetitive you can tell she grabbed a thesaurus and referenced other books, and at first the plot seemed interesting but mid way through they are still conflicted about the same shit as in the beginning it got old. I get Ana is a virgin but does she have to be so innocent, has she never seen porn, had a tingle in her vag before? Then on a the opposite how does someone who in the book has fucked a bunch of girls and has done BDSM for years be shocked when she says things Christian wants to hear over and over again. Their relationship is creepy and not sexy at all. I get he's suppose to be "50 shades of fucked up" but since when is it considered hot to be a stalker boyfriend with hot and cold mood swings. I feel sorry for the women who get off to this shitty book, they must have a very "vanilla" sex life that they are unsatisfied yet I bet none of them would ever consider doing this mild version of BDSM. ( )
  GrlIntrrptdRdng | May 14, 2015 |
Well I was feeling a bit miffed that I had paid good money for this book after reading the reviews, but wouldn't you know it, today a freebie copy popped through my letterbox. I was able to return the one I bought and got my money back, so i guess i won't be feeling so bad about reading this tripe eventually. (I have lots of other better books to spend my time on before I bother with this - he he) ( )
  WWDG | May 6, 2015 |
*sigh* I am ashamed of me...

Ok...everyone with half a brain recognizes the fact that Fifty Shades of Grey is horrible in every sense of the word (rape, ignorant and dangerous (and dangerously ignorant) representation of the BDSM community, poor editing, aesthetically terrible writing, technically terrible writing, etc, etc, etc), so I'm not going to focus on the book itself. I read the audiobook, so I'll be critiquing the reader. The audiobook (at least this particular version) was read by Becca Battoe. I won't say she's the worst reader I've ever listened to (I used to volunteer for Librivox, after all). I will say that it shocks and mildly disgusts me that she actually gets paid for this. Apparently, you need no talent to succeed in some fields. Battoe has a whiny, obnoxious, valley-girl voice with the slightest crack in her throat that makes her sound tired throughout the reading. Her ability to create different "voices" extends to her own horrible voice and deepening her voice like a little kid to pretend to impersonate male vocals - no finesse, no art, no appeal. By less than an hour into the book, I was ready to slit her (or my) throat to shut her up.

One question though...So...um...where's all the kinky? It was very much mostly alluded, and didn't really happen other than some light spanking and tying up. I mean, I'm a huge prude in real life, but even I've written kinkier fanfiction than this. ( )
  benuathanasia | May 5, 2015 |
Unlike the rest of the world, I really did not care much for this book. It is entertaining, but I do not feel like it is really written that well. I definitely would never read this with a group of students, at any level, because it serves no purpose or educational message or theme. ( )
  Hhaddad1 | Apr 30, 2015 |
wow finally I was able to finish it, this was definitely one of the hardest books ever: awful writing, absurd story, so predictable.... Doesn't deserve even the star that I'm scoring, goodreads seriously need negative scores for shit like this.
( )
  zkazy | Apr 24, 2015 |
Sexy and very amusing read, which I devoured in a heartbeat. That said, the plot was intriguing enough at the beginning, but pretty much went downhill from there. I was done with the book before I realized that nothing actually happened. The story did not go anywhere, and it was obvious from the start how it was going to end. That, however, did not subtract from the enjoyment of the book and the process of reading, because the language is simple enough, contemporary, and probably every woman/man could relate to Ana/Christian at one time or the other. I get that the book is supposed to be all hot and steamy, but to be honest, I felt more prone to moments where Ana and Christian's relationship was completely ordinary. Another thing I really like is that it is never said that Christian loves Ana, but his words and actions make it (painfully) obvious. ( )
  v_allery | Apr 19, 2015 |
Hmmmm..... I'm not sure if I can adequately express my thoughts about this book in a clear and concise way but here is a try.

The first half of this book was borderline AWFUL. Ana's dreadful over thinking and excessive repetitiveness had me ready to put the book down, run away and never look back. Christian did not help at all with his blah control freak personality. It took me a week to sludge through it and it was a personal battle and triumph to make it through.

However things did take a turn and thank goodness for Mac laptops cause without the introduction of email into C and A's relationship I'd have never made it to the end. Even now as I think back to their emails I get a little smile on my face. Christian proves to be flirty and fun and Ana can just talk (well type) with out all the stuttering, stumbling, heart racing and whatever else ALWAYS happens when talking to Christian.

I won't rehash all the Twilight comparisons I saw (I've killed those in text messages to my sister). I will agree that the writing style was very juvenile and certainly this story could have benefited from and editor (really the repetitiveness was dreary). I am thankful I was reading this on my Kindle as I had to look up quite a few words, this author likes her vocabulary. This also ended with a cliff hanger so I suppose I'll be reading part 2 however it won't be soon. I need to come down off all the angst.

For those who are leery I'd recommend skimming until you see emails then sit back and enjoy. 3 Stars


This still came off as rambling so I'll likely revise when I can put my words in a semblance of order. ( )
  bookjunkie57 | Apr 17, 2015 |
Horrible. The book does have a very interesting detail: Mr. Grey's past, and it was what keeps me to read this book to the final end. However I must say, this is one of the worst book I've ever read. It sounds exactly like teen girls' sexual fantasy, maybe even worst. A Mary Sue heroine and a 27 years old billionaire. Not millionaire, billionaire, in case you didn't quite catch that. They literally do nothing but have sex, email each other, and more sex. At first it seemed fine, but as I went on, I was extremely annoyed by the fact the Ana orgasms like, 7 times/page. Also, if I had a penny every time she blushes / flushes / bites her lip / Christian's long index finger / "Jeez" / "Holy ----" - I'd be very rich.

Please do not waste your money on this. ( )
  yamayukkikun | Apr 16, 2015 |
Finally caved and read this book and I LOVED IT!! It seems like a lot of people who rated this book gave 1 star just because of the writing style. Once you really get into the whole story line you don't pay attention to the style of writing at all (or at least I didn't). I'm a huge fan fiction reader so that could be another reason as to why I enjoyed Fifty Shades of Grey. Can't wait to see if Ana can help Christian through his fifty shades of fucked up!! ( )
  Kimmykay0302 | Apr 13, 2015 |
Finally caved and read this book and I LOVED IT!! It seems like a lot of people who rated this book gave 1 star just because of the writing style. Once you really get into the whole story line you don't pay attention to the style of writing at all (or at least I didn't). I'm a huge fan fiction reader so that could be another reason as to why I enjoyed Fifty Shades of Grey. Can't wait to see if Ana can help Christian through his fifty shades of fucked up!! ( )
  Kimmykay0302 | Apr 13, 2015 |
I'm not sure I can actually verbalise just how much the fact this ever got published disturbs me and that has nothing to do with the sex or the ridiculousness of the two leading characters or the abusive nature of their relationship.
It's the way it's written, the sentence construction, the use of grammar, the overuse of a Thesaurus to look up "clever" words and phrases which don't, in context, actually make any sense. The idea that a book editor has gone through it page by page and sentence by sentence and yet this is what's actually been produced just makes me want to weep - speaking as a newspaper journalist and sub-editor for more than 15 years that is.
I can't bare badly edited books, that this appears almost word for word in the same form as it did when it was a Twilight inspired fanfic makes me despair of the publishing industry. Someone clearly saw the chance for a fast buck and went for it wholesale. ( )
  Cadiva | Apr 1, 2015 |
I'm not sure I can actually verbalise just how much the fact this ever got published disturbs me and that has nothing to do with the sex or the ridiculousness of the two leading characters or the abusive nature of their relationship.
It's the way it's written, the sentence construction, the use of grammar, the overuse of a Thesaurus to look up "clever" words and phrases which don't, in context, actually make any sense. The idea that a book editor has gone through it page by page and sentence by sentence and yet this is what's actually been produced just makes me want to weep - speaking as a newspaper journalist and sub-editor for more than 15 years that is.
I can't bare badly edited books, that this appears almost word for word in the same form as it did when it was a Twilight inspired fanfic makes me despair of the publishing industry. Someone clearly saw the chance for a fast buck and went for it wholesale. ( )
  Cadiva | Apr 1, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 507 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.98)
0.5 72
1 358
1.5 39
2 318
2.5 87
3 429
3.5 89
4 398
4.5 32
5 394

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

The Writer's Coffee Shop

2 editions of this book were published by The Writer's Coffee Shop.

Editions: 1612130283, 1612130291

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 98,381,956 books! | Top bar: Always visible