HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

WIRED (paperback) by Douglas E. Richards
Loading...

WIRED (paperback) (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Douglas E. Richards

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3429332,058 (3.92)7
Debracadabra's review
I love books with strong and intelligent female characters. This book did not seem too interesting for the first few chapters, but I am glad that I kept reading. The scientific and biological discussions are fascinating, and although not always realistic, it was still intriguing.I recommend it to anyone who likes science, drama, and action.
  Debracadabra | May 24, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 1-25 of 93 (next | show all)


Intelligent, thought-provoking thriller. Really enjoyed it. ( )
  flightsafancy | Feb 2, 2014 |
Fabulous adventure...highly recommended! This is a well-crafted, superbly plotted piece of science fiction. The characters are interesting and remain believable. Plenty of action, surprises, twists. No faults to detract from the reading enjoyment. Explanations are easy to follow and woven into the story. Readers will find the ending satisfying and yet have plenty to think about (and will eagerly await the sequel...). ( )
  Carrie.Kilgore | Nov 29, 2013 |
A workman-like thriller that will put you in mind of Robert Heinlein's better adult novels. Maybe one can make that a rule; yesterday's cutting-edge SF is tomorrow's thriller for the general reading public. Not my typical reading choice but my reading group thought it was perfectly respectable as an entertainment. Sorry if it sounds like I'm damning this book with faint praise, but with so many books and so little time I'm very jealous of that which I have. ( )
  Shrike58 | Nov 18, 2013 |
I really liked this book. It had a lot of action, twists and turns u never knew who to trust. ( )
  twokidsnablanket | Nov 2, 2013 |
A non-stop thrill ride, this book will keep you turning the pages right to the end! Intelligently written, reminicient of Michael Crichtons scientific, thought-provoking approach to story-telling, you will not be disappointed. There is something for everyone in this fast-paced thriller, just be sure to clear your schedule, as you won't be able to put it down! I'll sure be looking for the movie version in the future. ( )
  Steelyshan | Jul 17, 2013 |
Wired is a mediocre techno-thriller with an intriguing premise that is explored less than the topic deserves. It could have been much more.

The writing was a bit clunky and almost a parody of the genre. Characters don’t merely say things. They bark, they thunder, they taunt. And when they say things, they say them cheerfully, smugly, matter-of-factly. They also spit hatefully, snap impatiently, reply guiltily or smile mockingly. And these examples are just from a few pages. Unless the author was aiming for high camp (holy-moly, Batman!), I would have expected an editor to clean these up. Instead they clutter the story (annoyingly).

The point of view is vaguely omniscient, though there’s little insight from an omniscient narrator. Instead, the writing has the feel of a distant third person with occasional changes in mid-scene. The result is an opportunity lost. We neither learn more about the science of an enhanced brain nor do we get to delve inside the mind of someone who’s been enhanced.

The story flowed, if not with the breakneck speed of a great thriller, at least with sufficient pace to keep me reading. But some of the plot turns were too sudden, more the product of happenstance. As explanation, we’re told after the fact that when the character’s brain was enhanced, he or she realized the looming situation and planned ahead, resulting in what otherwise seemed like a coincidence.

The premise is tantalizing. What would happen if we could realize the incredible potential of our brains? But it’s explored only in a few chatty scenes filled with exposition or in a philosphical epilogue that is too little, too late. The opportunity to explore a fascinating topic is wasted. As a result, the story falls short.

What could have been a better than typical thriller is little more than a decent beach read with an interesting premise. ( )
  dlitwack | May 24, 2013 |
One would need one of the pills mentioned in this book to even find this plausible. Richards tries to convince th reader that breakthrough has been made in artifcial intelligence. What he succeeds in doing is providing an arena in which he can lecture on the inherent dangers in scientific advancement. Boring with characters too perfect. Glad it was a Kindle Daily Deal....sorry I bought AMPED. ( )
  creighley | Jan 27, 2013 |
I really enjoyed this book up until the end. The story was well written with action that kept you reading...science and science fiction in just the right combination. However, the end (and I'm speaking of the portion before the epilogue) became so implausible that for me it was ruined. If you can look beyond those few chapters, it was an enjoyable book. More detail would be a spoiler. For me, no matter how good the rest of the book is, the ending is what makes or breaks it and this one broke an otherwise excellent story. ( )
  dsdmd | Jan 19, 2013 |
I have learned to stop requesting or accepting techno or spy thrillers because it's just not a genre I can get into. I tried reading this about a million times and--despite the fast-pacing and obvious intrigue--I just couldn't get into it. The first chapter is violent and misogynist and I usually gave up after reading it. A couple of times I did make it further into the book, but it's just not the type of book that appeals to me. Sorry this isn't a more helpful review, because I know that fans of the genre would have a very different reaction than I did. ( )
  CozyBookJournal | Nov 4, 2012 |
Loved it! Would offer it to my husband if I could find it in French!
Am now reading Amped... ( )
  valcas | Oct 26, 2012 |
I really enjoyed reading this book, and I am eagerly looking forward to reading the sequel. It is a fast-paced science fiction/thriller which explores very interesting concepts including immortality, integrity. evolution,genetic enhancement, faith, and much more. The characters are likable and the plot holds the interest enough to suspend disbelief and draw the reader into the world that is created by the author. There are many twists to the plot to keep a reader engaged, and the scientific aspects of the book are fascinating, complicated, but yet written well-enough to help the reader follow the logic of the scientific theory. It is a great read, and I couldn't put the book down, wanting to know what happened next. I am looking forward to reading the author's other books. ( )
  calicocat901 | Oct 2, 2012 |
First I really enjoyed this book by Mr. Richards and would love more. This was an exciting story of very unique people, our brains and what it’s really capable of if pushed in the right or wrong direction. The question of are we supposed to be playing God and is there a God? We’re introduced to Kira a super brilliant mind and scientist who has developed a magic pill that will enhance your brain to unbelievable levels. Then there’s Desh a war hero who’s been asked by the military to track down Kira and bring her in. I thoroughly enjoyed the story. The ending was abit soft as the story was so exciting I was looking for more at the end. The story does keep you wanting more and it’s really hard to put down.
  Elliot1822 | Sep 18, 2012 |
This is one of the best books I have ever read. The action is non-stop and extremely well delivered. This book will keep your interest through all of the twists and curves as it progresses to the end. The end will completely blow your mind. If you like action packed stories, this is a book you will very much enjoy. ( )
  roadway2000 | Aug 13, 2012 |
Fast paced with lots of plot twists & turns and a few somewhat unexpected reveals as things progress. Occasionally preachy but on the whole interesting concepts and well played out. While some suspension of disbelief is required (thus my tagging it as science fiction), it's still an enjoyable read. ( )
  Falcon124 | Aug 1, 2012 |
LT Giveaway e-book. Great, fast-paced Thriller. Kira Miller is a genius-level genetic engineer and is hiding from the US government who believe she is abusing her breakthrough findings on extending IQ and more. Various teams are working to find her and a recently civilian ex-army David Desh is also brought in to track her down. It's a great read with all you'd expect to find. ( )
  C4RO | Jul 26, 2012 |
My full review: http://coffeecookiesandchilipeppers.blogspot.com/2012/07/wired-by-douglas-e-rich...

I have a scientific background and I like a good Thriller, so I was pleased to receive my free copy of this book. I thought the premise of an intelligence-enhancing serum sounded fascinating and gave a lot of scope for exploring this next step in man’s evolution and we certainly do see that addressed in the book when the enhanced characters become unfeeling and dismissive of other humans. However, this exploration consisted of either long discussions or internal monologues that were very drawn out and therefore counterproductive as it became difficult to maintain interest in them whilst trying to find out what happened next. The author spent far too much time telling us about the effects of the serum rather than showing it to us, which would have been much more interesting.

The plot itself was confused with lots of unnecessary action and ‘twists’ that were so obvious as to be laughable. Rather than keeping us guessing about Kira and her allegiance, we are very quickly shown that she is actually an innocent who is being set up by an unknown evil. This was disappointing because it meant that all the further hints at her being a bad guy were pointless and just made me feel like the author did not really know how to handle his plot. There were also far too many improbable escapes and happy coincidences for my liking and a bad guy who seemed to be omniscient.

This was an OK thriller, but the premise promised so much more. The plot has more twists than seems sensible and, unfortunately, most of them are so obvious that they are very predictable. The characterization was weak, with the most interesting character being one of the supporting cast. The dialogue was uninteresting and there was far too much exposition. The science was not very well thought through and explained to the point of utter boredom. The ending was preposterous and I have no intention of moving on to the second book in the series. ( )
  SueCCCP | Jul 12, 2012 |
Wired by Douglas Richards was an excellent book I found it hard to put down. I liked the story and the twists and turns in it did not see a couple of them coming. I would recommend it to others to read. I only found a couple of typo proof reading errors that were missed. ( )
  Rottie | Jul 5, 2012 |
Wired by Douglas Richards was an excellent book I found it hard to put down. I liked the story and the twists and turns in it did not see a couple of them coming. I would recommend it to others to read. I only found a couple of typo proof reading errors that were missed. ( )
  Rottie | Jul 5, 2012 |
Great thriller, fast-paced, characters are well-developed for the most part, nice plot.

There are a number of reviews up already, so I will bring in my biggest problem with the book: I figured out the end after about two thirds of the book. That did not detract from my enjoying the book at all, and I wanted to both verify that is what the author had in mind (I had enough of a doubt), and how he pulled it all together. Looking over the reviews that are already up, I seem to be in the minority.

If you enjoy fast-paced thrillers, go for it. It was well-written and a fun read.

Book received as part of the Member Giveaway in exchange for a review. ( )
  KelliSFlor | Jun 24, 2012 |
Integrity is not a thing of the past though not all the characters in this book possess it. When ex-special forces David Desh accepts a mission to find a locate mad scientist Kira Miller he soon finds that first impressions are not always correct. The book has plenty of action, twists and turns and great descriptive characters. Looking forward to the sequel. ( )
  quilty_girl | Jun 22, 2012 |
I was going to give up on this book after the first chapter as it just didn't seem to grab me, but I did turn the next page and the next and the next. Wired turned into a fast-paced action/thriller with techo sci-fi mixed in that grabs you and you must keep turning those pages to the wee hours of the morning.
The characters in Wired are well developed and beliveable with the reader becoming in meshed as one with them. The plot gives the reader several twists and turns, keeping you wondering till the very end. ( )
  chowchow | Jun 20, 2012 |
I won Wired from LibraryThing for review.

David Desh an ex Special Forces in the military. Desh was stationed in Iran when his whole squad was attacked. Desh and only one other person came out alive. He has had some hang ups about making it out alive when his team did not. Desh is very good at what he was trained to do. He is very good with a weapon, hand to hand combat ect... He is one of the best.

Desh is hired to find Kira Miller a scientist who has found a way to make humans more intelligent than they already are. Desh is told that she is Sociopathic killer. That she is out to destroy the world with her invention of a little pill that will make any one who takes it smarter. Kira takes Desh hostage to try to prove to him that she is innocent. But unfortunately they are interrupted before she can convince him that she is innocent.

Kira learns to trust Desh something she has not done in a long time is trust anyone. She has been on the run all by herself. But she decides that she needs help if she is to ever get her life back to any kind of normalcy. So she tells Desh all about her gene study of making humans smarter. She also tells him about all the crimes that they say she committed. Desh has to figure out for himself if she is innocent or not.

Wired is a book that is filled with a lot of twist and turns. One minute you think you have it all figured out and then another twist is thrown into the mix and you don't know any more than you did before. It keeps you guessing as to what is going to happen next. Wired will keep you on the edge of your seat right up until the end. ( )
  The-Avid-Reader | Jun 18, 2012 |
Received this book through LT Member Giveaway

Hard to add to what is already said about this book. Great read, slow start but with a completelly unexpected end. Maybe this unexpected end is a bit of a downside, if the author had somehow managed to get across that there was more going on (without revealing the details) than the end would have been just as unexpected in terms of the plot but not in terms of the storyline. Now new ideas pop up from out of nowhere near the end.

Could also be my compulsive trying to find something to imporove on with this book... ( )
  hydrografie | Jun 9, 2012 |
Douglas E. Richards, author with a master’s in molecular biology, has given us the thrill of a lifetime in his book, Wired. This thriller brings scientific entanglements for the characters that keep the reader on the edge of his (or at least, my!) seat. Richards’ talent with twisting plots and keeping his science to a level that anyone can follow (without seeming to talk to us non-scientific types as idiots) left me in awe at the never-ending possibilities of his scenes.
Kira Miller is a brilliant genetic engineer that discovers a temporary solution to tapping the unknown regions of our brains. There are folks out there who want that tapped for their own ends, putting her in danger. In comes David Desh, former special forces operative, to save the day. His job is to corral this woman who seemingly has psychotic tendencies because people around her have been dying her whole life. But wait! There’s more!
It’s not as easy as you’d think to capture this super brain woman, Desh has to use every possible method and source at his disposal, which is considerable. When they do meet . . . well, I’ll let you figure that out when you read the book.
I will say, I’m normally able to figure out who did it about halfway through the book. This time, however, it took me until almost the end, which is saying something indeed! About 1/3 of the way through, I thought I had it, then BOING! I got a twist to the plot. I figured it out again, or so I thought, about ½ way through. Well, the author obviously likes to play with my mind because BOING! Another twist! Let’s say he knows how to hold his reader’s attention throughout.
Warning: Don’t read this book at night if you have to get up the next morning, or you’ll miss the alarm clock because you stayed up too late reading.
And just to keep us in his evil plot to make us want to know more, what did he do next? He wrote a sequel! Oh man! Now I have another book to read!
I give this a resounding 5 of 5 wows!

DISCLAIMER: I received this book from LibraryThing Member Giveaway in return for an honest review. ( )
  sara.edens | Jun 8, 2012 |
Slowish start but this novel becomes more gripping as it progresses. Interesting ethical issues explored abut how far the urge for self improvement can be taken in the digital age. Overall a good read. ( )
  seraph56 | Jun 7, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 93 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

Douglas E. Richards is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
5 wanted2 pay4 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.92)
0.5
1 4
1.5
2 7
2.5 3
3 25
3.5 7
4 45
4.5 17
5 39

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,600,955 books! | Top bar: Always visible