HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

In the Province of Saints: A Novel by Thomas…
Loading...

In the Province of Saints: A Novel

by Thomas O'Malley

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
403285,656 (3.36)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
A haunting tale of a boy growing up in Ireland. ( )
  sejent | Jan 10, 2010 |
Couldn't finished. Too etherial. Felt like I was in someones dream. May try again. ( )
  coolmama | Dec 3, 2007 |
When you’re in the province of saints, you’re in a land where winter comes in spring; a land of stone and granite; an ancient land where history is myth and myth is history; a land of ghosts and martyrs. When you’re in the province of saints, you’re seeing the land through the eyes of Michael McDonagh, a boy growing up too fast, his heart a jumble of hot-headed love and hope and prayers and revenge and fear. When you’ve opened the pages of Thomas O’Malley’s stunning, lyrical debut novel, you’re in the province of saints in a country called Ireland from 1976 to 1981. ( )
  deckla | Feb 19, 2007 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0316110396, Hardcover)

- O'Malley sets a haunting local mystery against the tense backdrop of a country tormented by bloodshed and deep schisms.- In the tradition of Seamus Deane and John McGahern, a stirring, beautifully written, but unsentimental portrait of an Irish boyhood.- Thomas O'Malley's work has appeared in literary journals such as "Ploughshares, Glimmer Train, Shenandoah, Gulf Stream, and "Blue Mesa Review.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:16:11 -0400)

Growing up in a feud-torn Irish countryside community, shy Michael is unable to ignore rumors that tie his father to the death of a neighbor woman, a situation that causes him to discover unexpected truths about his family.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.36)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 1
3.5 2
4 1
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,413,442 books! | Top bar: Always visible