HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
12,0581118214 (4.34)614
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
English (1,070)  Spanish (17)  Dutch (6)  German (5)  French (3)  Danish (2)  Swedish (1)  Catalan (1)  Hungarian (1)  Italian (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (1,108)
Showing 1-25 of 1070 (next | show all)
Hazel a terminally ill cancer patient doesn't want to get close to anyone until she meets Augustus Waters at the cancer support group her mother insists she attends. She and Augustus bond over a book at first and become friends. Their friendship leads them to meet the author of the book they both like. Augustus and Hazel have a unique relationship, and they realize time is limited between them both. Hazel demonstrates strength that she wasn't even aware that she had. ( )
  Kay_Downing | Apr 28, 2016 |
This is the new all-time favourite of my 13yo daughter. "Mom, you've just GOT to read this!" Throughout the evening, she kept glancing sideways at me, looking to see if my tears were leaking yet, especially if I got sniffly. She fist pumped in victory when a few got squeezed out at the end.
This is such a great book for her. It captures the innocence of the early-mid teenage years, and how it crashes into cruel reality, and also how youthful innocence and optimism can still rescue the mess.
Green has created likeable smart characters, who are a bit nerdy and preternaturally verbally gifted. I kept thinking of the movie 'Juno'. They are witty, funny, charming and they love books. My daughter squealed with delight when one of the characters quoted the opening lines of T.S. Eliot's The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock. She recognised it immediately, because I have quoted them to her since she was a toddler, on many many nights when I was ushering her to bed: "Let us go then, you and I, When the evening is spread out against the sky..."
Of course the book is manipulative and a bit sentimental (in a smart-ass kind of way) -- it's impossible not to be, when the story is of kids and cancer. But at least it doesn't take on the more common syrupy tones of oh-look-how-brave-these-poor-kidswithcancer-are, but instead allows the characters to practice teenagery sarcasm as a best defense.
The pacing of the book is remarkably even throughout. It is going to make a hit movie, I think. Love, threat of death, allure of sex, charming funny characters. What's not to like? ( )
  TheBookJunky | Apr 22, 2016 |
So after The Fault in Our Stars sitting on my bookcase for the better part of two years, I finally read it. And I can also say that I understand what all the hype is about. The Fault in Our Stars is such a beautifully poignant story that you can't help but keep reading. Cancer is an extremely heavy subject to read/write about but this was written in such a wonderfully beautiful way which makes it so much easier to read.

The characters are so well-written. The Fault in Our Stars is told from Hazel's point of view and her strength is just beyond belief. I love that her character is honest about her situation. She knows she's going to die, has accepted the fact and at times, when everything gets too much, welcomes it. Her situation is not romanticised at all which makes it all the more perfect. I also love that she has managed to keep hold of her humour, even if it is quite snarky at times. My heart just truly broke for her.

Augustus is just wonderful. Like Hazel, he has been through so much yet still manages to focus on the positive things in life. He is extremely selfless too. You only have to look at how he treats Hazel and Isaac to see it. He wants his friends to be as happy and comfortable as they can be whilst suffering such horrendous illnesses. He also has brilliant banter with them and made me chuckle so much.

However, Isaac is the character I wanted to hug the most. What he goes through is just so incomprehensible. Especially for someone so young. It's no wonder he has so many breakdowns. He must feel so lost all the time. But, I love how he slowly begins to come to terms with his situation and finds ways to deal with it. And, a certain scene with eggs is just brilliant and I'm sure it helped him release so much pent up frustration.

I would say The Fault in Our Stars is pretty predictable. I mean it's a book about terminal cancer, therefore, the chances of it being a happy ending were slim to none. The ending not only rips your heart out but stomps and dances on it too until there's nothing but a shivering mess left. However, although you know you will be a bubbling crying wreck by the end, it's impossible to put down. You just get immersed into it and I zoomed through it in a day.

The Fault in Our Stars is a wonderful, sad realistic story about what it's like to live with cancer. I would definitely recommend it to everyone as everyone has been affected by cancer in one way or another. I can also say I will definitely be reading more by John Green too.

This review and many more can be found at My Expanding Bookshelf. ( )
  MyExpandingBookshelf | Apr 21, 2016 |
I don't think there's much I can say about this book that hasn't already been said. Green's characters are so real and his writing feels fresh. I loved every minute. ( )
  ajsteadman | Apr 20, 2016 |
This book is extremely readable, and I can see why it has such a massive (particularly teenage girl)following. But I didn't love it like I was expecting to - so many people had raved about it to me (adults)I don't know if I had high expectations but I really struggled to like Augustus - he never rang true for me as a teenage boy. Instead he seems like the idea an adult looking back at teen years would have liked to be - insightful and idealistic and selfless. While I grant you that facing your mortality as a child or teenager is likely to change the way you think you are still going to be a teenager. Hazel on the other hand was a very real character - one with whom I empathised. As we only see Gus through Hazel maybe this is why we only see this 'ideal' version? That's how I feel about it at any rate. I fully admit I never got the teenage obsession with drama even when I was a teenager.
The story itself has good pace and the PG relationship of the protagonists would make most parents happy with their teenagers reading it. The reality of dealing with cancer at any age is painted in realistic and unglamorous colours. ( )
  SashaM | Apr 20, 2016 |
Most stories like this have a predictable ending but this one caught me completely by surprise. The Fault in Our Stars will make you laugh and bring you to tears as you watch the love story between Hazel Grace and Augustus flourish throughout the story. This book puts you through a whirl wind of emotions. It is a truly amazing story. ( )
  HBalicki | Apr 14, 2016 |
A girl with cancer, meets a boy who she loves dearly. They take many adventures together before they run out of time. The couple get married then shortly after the marriage the boy confesses that he had cancer and will die soon because of his sickness. ( )
  lindy_brooke | Apr 12, 2016 |
Tissues, please!!
What an incredible story!
Augustus is an admirable young man, that I am still at a loss over. I feel deeply crushed, and can only imagine how Hazel feels.
Cancer.
It hits every family, somehow. Sad to think, but even sadder when they don't get to live a long full life like the rest of us. As a parent, the idea of a child dying before them is crushing. But it happens. Not just in story.
This story felt so real. I have to wonder if the author was greatly affected by something like this. It was just so raw at times.
I can't wait to watch the movie. I know how much I bawled through the book so I will definitely be prepared... still, I'm anxious to see if the film lives up to the book, which I liked a lot.
A great start to reading John Green's books. I don't plan on stopping here. ( )
  fredamans | Apr 10, 2016 |
I absolutely love this book because it defies the stereotypes we rely on to understand young people with terminal illness, if, in fact, we have no real life experiences to go on. I love this book because it can make you laugh out loud ,but it will also make you cry. Hazel and Gus run through the gamut of emotions of the illness, but the book lets us walk through the experience with them without being sentimental. Because they are funny, witty, and quote lots of literature, it is fun to read. Last, I enjoyed the story within the story element, and the wanting to know what happens to the other characters in her favorite book being a metaphor for wanting to know what will happen to the people in her life when she dies. Cool and smart.

I would use this book to broaden students' horizons and help them empathize with teens that are having, in some respects, very non-teen experiences. Also, this book would be great for teaching allusion and allowing students to branch out and do some other research on various things that come up in the book: Shakespeare, Amsterdam, cancer, so much more..
  kristiewray | Apr 9, 2016 |
This book is a true standout. Need to formulate my thoughts on it, but I just LOVED it! ( )
  sydsavvy | Apr 8, 2016 |
This book was fantastic, and horrible, and wonderful, and tragic. There are almost no words to describe the amount of emotions the reader goes through while reading this book. First of all, you're pulled immediately into the story and you do not want to put the book down. The more you read the better it gets, and isn't that what we all really want when we pick up a book? I also loved that while it's a book about people with cancer, it wasn't totally 100% sadness all the time. There were moments of pure hilarity and I found that endearing. I fell in love with Hazel, and Augustus, and even Isaac. I feel this is one of those stories that will stay with me a lifetime. One I might actually be tempted to re-read...and I don't say that about many books for the plain and simple fact that there are too many great books in the world to read. I don't know what audience I'd suggest this too, other than basically anyone who enjoys reading. ( )
  MynTop | Apr 8, 2016 |
This book was ... Beautiful. Tragic. Wonderful and endearing. This book will break your heart, but not by wearing it down, but by making it grow and grow until bursts. Five stars, Mr. Green ... Plus I expect a box of new tissues from you. ( )
  danaaa_99 | Apr 6, 2016 |
Hazel is not the typical young adult heroine, as she is struggling with thyroid cancer that has spread to her lungs. She meets Augustus at a support group, and the two instantly click. They read each other’s favorite novels, and Augustus is frustrated that Hazel’s choice, An Imperial Affliction, has no real ending due to the Dutch author’s retreat from the literary world. Augustus tracks down the author’s assistant, and he says he can only answer their questions in person. Augusts surprises Hazel with tickets to Amsterdam. Although the author turns out to be an angry drunkard, the two confess their love for each other during their trip. Augustus’s health deteriorates upon their return and after having a private “pre-funeral” with Hazel and their friend, Augustus dies. Hazel discovers that Augusts was writing a sequel to An Imperial Affliction and takes comfort in the final message he left for her.
There are no illustrations.
Death and illness are the obvious major themes, but additional themes are romance, sexuality, philosophy, and humor. ( )
  cherieem | Apr 4, 2016 |
Though this book is constantly targeted as a "go-with-the-flow-book" (considering the fact that so many people have read it) The Fault In Our Stars is on of the best stories ever told. I extremely respected this book as it didn't follow the typical happy ending that most books tend to succumb to, but rather John Green delivered a devastating event in the end of the novel. I think that this is one of the only books that was really nailed in the movie and captured the true essence of this book. Though it's definitely the saddest book i've ever read, It is by far the most interesting and captivating one. ( )
  pdenatale17 | Mar 31, 2016 |
I enjoyed reading this book, but I didn't really understand all the hype about this book. But of course I did cry like a baby whilst reading and watching The Fault In Our Stars! John green is one of my favorite authors and I've read most of his books but this one was not one of my favorites. ( )
  averyplata | Mar 29, 2016 |
I really liked this book.
Has it become my most favorite book ever? no.
Do I believe that it deserves to be someone's most favorite book ever? yes.
It is, most simply put in my own opinion, "a book worth reading and a book to make time for". ( )
  mashiaraqcs | Mar 29, 2016 |
It was so easy to get attached to the characters of this book, only one chapter in and I was already hooked. I was probably hooked even before that actually. I cried, and I smiled, and I laughed, and I felt so many feelings while reading it. I can't really explain everything I felt, but it's a new favorite for sure. Ah, I can't believe it's over. ( )
  zombiehero | Mar 25, 2016 |
Summary:
This book is about Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters falling in love, but it is not just another love story. This story is about two teenagers who have cancer. Gus likes to take adventures and live life to the fullest where as Hazel is more chill and doesn't want to be around people because she doesn't want people to feel bad for her because she carries an oxygen tank with her. Gus convinces Hazel to take chances and to go on adventures. They use Gus's wish to the genies to take a trip to visit their favorite author. While there Hazel is faced with bad news that Gus is relapsing. Gus later dies and leaves Hazel a letter saying he has never met anyone like her and that he loves her.
Personal Reaction:
At first, I thought the book was super sad because she lost the love of her life while battling cancer. I couldn't imagine the pain she was feeling.
Classroom Extension Ideas:
1. It would be interesting to see what the students would come up with about a project of sight seeing in Germany. They would make a presentation about Gus and Hazel's adventures in Germany.
  Chelsey_Fodder | Mar 24, 2016 |
This is a story about a girl named Hazel who has a terminal illness. With the illness she goes to a support group of kids that deal with the same or similar medical conditions. She then goes and meets Augustus who turns her world around. They spend a lot of time together where they end up falling in love. What I love is that he teaches her about living life despite what life has thrown at them.

This story was and is one that I fall in love with each time I read it. The book does a great job at giving real life situation of that of teenagers. I love that it capture there emotions in words. It is a story that many people will love. John Green does a really great job of setting the tone in the book this is one way he captures readers in his story.
  Katie-Langston | Mar 23, 2016 |
I would not assign this book to anyone under the 6th grade. It is a very sad book that I cried over even at the age of 19. I am not saying that kids do not need to be introduced to something like this, because they do, and things are happening like this all around them, but it is intended for an older audience and the words and metaphors are too complex for any grade under 6th. Cancer is a majorly important topic in today's world. Almost every person knows someone who has cancer or has died of cancer. Cancer plagues this world and people need to be introduced to it to learn how to cope with grief. I would assign this book to an 8th grade classroom, and have them read it to themselves. Students go through a lot of things, especially in middle school, they are put through things that they might now know how to react. I think that this book is good for middle schoolers to read because it shows them real life grief and how to overcome it and live with it. This is realistic fiction because this same story of dying cancer kids is happening all around us.
  AnnaTaylor | Mar 21, 2016 |
**May Contain Spoilers**

Hazel Grace is a fighter, she has been living with cancer for over 3 years. She keeps fighting the battle with the help of her mom and dad at her side. She doesn't let anyone in until she is forced to go to a Support Group with other kids who are sick just like her, that's where she meets Augustus Waters, a survivor of bone cancer with only one leg, and only 17.

Augustus and Hazel start hanging out almost immediately and their relationship is filled with up's and down's thanks to her sickness. However, the couple finally solidify when Augustus uses his wish on Hazel, taking her to meet the author that wrote her favorite book. It's on this trip that new things are found out and that they are in the end fighting together.

**Definitely Contains Spoilers**

I have to say that this book was good although a bit predictable in parts. The first thing that I thought was overly predictable was how they talked about Van Hauten's book ending so abruptly. I could tell that this one was going to end the same way. It was foreshadowed enough in the book to make it aware. I also predicted that Gus' cancer was going to come back. It's unfortunate that it happened but they knew that they were both going to die and had a beautiful relationship together.

**End Spoilers**

Overall, I would say that this book is acceptable to all ages, young and old. I really enjoyed this book and actually want to read more by Green as this was my first book by him. I have Looking for Alaska on the Kindle so that might get moved up in the ranks. ( )
  welkeral | Mar 20, 2016 |
Summary:
A couple of teens are living with cancer and through a support group two in particular, Hazel and Augustus become close. They end up traveling to Amsterdam to meet an author when Gus tells Hazel his cancer has returned, and when they get home he passes away. The author from Amsterdam attends the funeral and Hazel finds out that he had a daughter who also died of cancer.

Personal Reaction:
I am not a huge fan of super emotional stories like these. I find them useful for kids, or teens to read and be able to relate to, but I just do not enjoy all the emotion that I get while reading them. I have to REALLY be in the mood for it, and that could be why it took me a couple days to get through the book.

Classroom Extension Ideas:
1. Have the students write a note to their favorite author. They can either send them for real, or write it as a journal entry for the class. ( )
  StephiC | Mar 17, 2016 |
What can I say? This book got popular and incredibly well-known for a reason. This book gives you a sense of reality in love with young adults, and how truly painful it can really be. This book will make you think a little more about those who have suffer, are suffering, and will be suffering from disease, love, and life. It also makes you believe that there is still so much more... so stay strong and keep believing. ( )
  ShayLRoss | Mar 16, 2016 |
the more i think about it, the more attached to this book i get. the real review i was going to write for this (i'm not sure whether i will now) had a lot to say about loss, in particular the bereavement i suffered almost exactly a year ago. there's a lot i could say, but the more i think about this book, the more i think i don't have to say it, because someone else already has. which is pretty neat, all in.

also:

“There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.”

and:

“The book was turned to the page with Anne Frank's name, but what got me about it was the fact that right beneath her name there were four Aron Franks. FOUR. Four Aron Franks without museums, without historical markers, without anyone to mourn them. I silently resolved to remember and pray for the four Aron Franks as long as I was around.”

and:

“I thought of my dad telling me that the universe wants to be noticed but what we want is to be noticed by the universe, to have the universe give a shit what happens to us - not the collective idea of sentient life but each of us as individuals.”

good god, hazel, you are a girl after my own heart. ( )
  thebookmagpie | Mar 13, 2016 |
[‎Monday, ‎April ‎01, ‎2013] While browsing through Goodreads, I found this cool quote about stars and I clicked on it to view the book, it read “The Faults in Our Stars” I thought to myself: “What a beautiful title!” So I read the synopsis and my fire was fast put down. Cancer is not my type of book for a happy light read. I know you might think me silly but I love happy endings, or some positive ending in the end. A blue cover isn't very helpful, blue in art and books is for illness, death, sadness.

But then I went to a local bookstore called Readers and I saw it there, I asked a dude working there about it and he praised it, said he read it in two days and he plans to reread it again, he told me the characters were beautiful and I won’t feel depressed reading it. So my interest was renowned.

I bought, started and was hooked. Hazel Grace is a very interesting, cynical and fragile character. I loved her and I loved her voice in the book, I really liked Augustus “Gus” Waters, and I adored how he jumped his chance meeting a girl he liked, shy boys who don’t know how to make a move are not interesting to me, I love bold guys.

If it were for me, I would have finished reading it the same day I bought it, but with work and my tired mind and body there isn't much time to read and wonder.

I got 80 pages left, and I am sure both of them are dying… I just hope this author Mr. Green will be kinder and finish the book giving us a closure not leave us hanging, but I have a hunch that Gus is going to be the first to die because Hazel won’t be ready for that and it will give a cruel twist to the book.

[Tuesday, ‎April ‎02, ‎2013] I finished the book last night, late... and I cried, I knew Gus would die first and it still made me cry, but what made me cry more is how he and Hazel lived everyday with death always looming, and it broke my heart that at the end we know that Hazel died as well. ( )
  mrsdanaalbasha | Mar 12, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 1070 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.34)
0.5 3
1 27
1.5 5
2 108
2.5 24
3 395
3.5 128
4 1179
4.5 285
5 2139

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,249,235 books! | Top bar: Always visible