HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
10,770974260 (4.36)604
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
English (943)  Spanish (11)  Dutch (6)  German (5)  French (3)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Italian (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (973)
Showing 1-25 of 943 (next | show all)
This is not a story I would have chosen if I'd known what it was really about, but I was lured in by the endless 5-star reviews and the fact that my library had it on Playaway. I picked it up on a whim. And from the first few minutes, I couldn't turn it off. Listened to all seven hours in one day. Kate Rudd didn't just read this book. She performed the entire beautiful thing like a one-woman play and I believed every single voice and knew who was speaking without being told and the life she breathed into the dialogue was better than I could have done in my head, which never happens in audiobooks. She was, in short, unforgettably amazing and as far as audiobooks go, I would consider this a "must listen."

This is the only book that has ever made me laugh out loud in earnest, to the point where people asked me what was so damn funny, while simultaneously crying. Towards the end, I couldn't even bear to listen with anyone else in the room, because it was too personal, so I hid in my room and let the tears roll.

I don't know why I've been avoiding John Green. Maybe because he was a man writing YA fiction? I'm clearly judgmental because I didn't believe a man could capture the real heart of a story like this, told from a female teenage narrator's perspective. And I was wrooooooooooong. Hazel Grace was not a character, she was a real person, and I met her and I loved her and I loved Augustus Waters and I loved their parents who were the first parents in any YA book I have ever freaking read who were real parents. Parents with feelings who loved their kids and were there without being overbearing or smothery or cliche. And guess what? There was opportunity for Augustus and Hazel to be together without either of their parents having a job that kept them out of the house 24 hours a day. It was miraculous.

This story is not a feel-good. It made me do the ugly cry, which I typically avoid because life is too short to go out of your way to feel heartbroken for imaginary people, but as Augustus' mom said on that plaque, "Without pain we would never know joy" There are so many bright spots of laughter and joy in this story, and they are worth the ugly cry. This isn't just a favorite from 2013, it's going on my all-time favorite shelf.
But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn't trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I'm grateful. ( )
  KirSio | Aug 31, 2015 |
Two stars as in "it was okay".

On one hand, the book was engaging and easy to read.

On the other hand, I couldn't find anything to like about it. It didn't leave much behind for me or move me in any special way, despite all the dramatic events. I would say that in trying to be smart it failed to feel honest.

- Male author writing in first person about a girl's affection, including too many phrases about "muscles" and "hotness" somehow breaks the immersion for me. I don't know, he might have even got it right, but the question keeps hanging there, so no way to win for the author on this. There would have been enough in the heroine's deeds to express her feelings without those weird details.

- I often felt or suspected intellectual posing. I mean, did he really have to draw the Maslow's hierarchy of needs diagram in there? And there are way too many references to literary works, theories, fables, obscure words and sayings for it to feel natural. For me it feels like "educate your reader" taken too far for a novel about teenagers. Also too many deliberate "quotable quotes", often repeated to make sure they are properly imprinted.

- Some plot twists were too much "in your face", like a super-good person turning out super-bad, or a super-planned-out event going totally unplanned at the moment which had to be prepared first of all, or some super-important writing being mailed to the least responsible person with no notice to others.

I was disappointed because the book had such high ratings and glowing reviews. I think it's way overrated.
( )
  valdanylchuk | Aug 26, 2015 |
A well written book. I enjoyed the ease of reading it. John Green writing as teenage Hazel is impressive and I felt her annoyance, her pain, her happiness and sadness. I enjoyed reading the 'cancer kids' exchanges and how blunt they were with their prognosis. I liked the relationship that Hazel formed with Gus, that was lovely.
There's a tragic ending of course however, you can see it coming and there's no real surprise.
Well worth reading. ( )
  Nataliec7 | Aug 22, 2015 |
Believe the hype. I hardly ever read so called young adult fiction, but I picked this up on a whim and was very glad that I did. It is beautiful, heart wrenching and told with real nuanced skill. Green is a very talented writer and tells this story of love with true pathos. Read it. You may even cry a bit. ( )
  daemon6 | Aug 21, 2015 |
Well. I was really looking forward to reading this book because the author is a favourite with my daughter. And I enjoyed the clever writing and the idea that teenagers, whether sick or well, can be smart and deep and affected and affecting. I did have a couple issues with it, though, which prevented it from being a five star read. First, I picked up the twist, or the conceit, right away, which never happens to me, so I felt like it must have been unnecessarily obvious. Next, although I sincerely hope there really are teens out there who can quote "Waiting for Godot" one minute and spew forth texting jargon the next, I kind of doubt it. Also, the narrative preoccupation with a certain literary ending set me up nicely for this novel's ending, which was a bit annoyingly predictable. That said, I weep at the drop of a hat, and although I knew I was in for a three hankie experience with this novel, I did weep at a few scenes. There is great sadness here, and I risk the wrath of Hazel by saying great bravery too. I can see why kids like this book, and adults too. I will read more by this author. ( )
  karenchase | Aug 20, 2015 |
This funny and heart-breaking account of Hazel, a teenager with cancer, is a smartly-told love story. You’ll need tissues. 7th grade and up.
( )
  KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
This funny and heart-breaking account of Hazel, a teenager with cancer, is a smartly-told love story. You’ll need tissues. 7th grade and up.
( )
  KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
Need a good cry? If yes, then this is the book to read. It's a beautiful sad love story. This is a must read. ( )
  PiperUp | Aug 14, 2015 |
I thought this was a well-written and thoughtful book. It seems to me that it portrays these teens very well. Their personalities,individuality and humanity shines far through their conditions, which I think is a bit of the point of the work. I did enjoy it. ( )
  Industrialstr | Aug 12, 2015 |
I feel somewhat heartless giving this book only two stars, especially after reading other reviews of the book. It is about two teenagers dying of cancer and the relationship they form with each other as they face their disease. There is a lot of philosophizing about life, death, love, how to live life to the fullest, etc. Honestly, I just didn't like the characters that much, especially Augustus Waters, the male lead. He was a bit too much for me. I felt very little empathy for any of the characters. That being said, the book is written for teenagers, and I think I would have really liked Augustus Waters and the whole book as a teenager/younger adult. I'm somewhat surprised it has one of the highest ratings I have seen on Goodreads. ( )
  klburnside | Aug 11, 2015 |
Cancer has been such a huge part of teenage Hazel’s day-to-day experience, that she’s not sure if she knows how to enjoy life- until she meets Augustus Waters. Now Hazel has the chance to live life for the first time in a long time, but how long will it last? John Green's touching story inspired by his friendship with the real "Hazel Grace" helps young adult readers to understand that cancer does not define you, but instead only gives you the limitations that you allow it to... most of the time. ( )
  MzzColby | Aug 8, 2015 |
I've had this book on my 'to be read' shelf for ages, but I kept procrastinating. In my cynicism, I've come to expect that every highly lauded book and film will inevitably prove to be over-hyped and therefore bitterly disappointing. I guess since this has been my experience on several occasions, I've become jaded.
I therefore preferred to look forward to the experience of reading this with hope, rather than to actually read it and risk feeling let down.
Then my daughter came home the other day with a copy of the DVD.
I knew I'd want to watch it, but I hate watching the movie before reading the book. So I decided it was time to bite the bullet. I figured, if it wasn't great, at least it was another crossed off my TBR. So I approached it with ambivalence.
At first, I was afraid my reservations would prove right. I was enjoying the story, but it lacked the wow factor I’d been led to expect. It didn’t make me cry in places I felt it ought to. But that may have been because I was snatching odd pages at the bus stop and in my tea break; hardly an immersive experience. When I realized that my day off would be the only chance I got to watch the DVD for ages, I put aside a couple of hours to finish the book first. I wept unashamedly, and while I was still crying, I found myself laughing out loud a couple of pages later.
I guessed the ‘twist’ early on – totally saw it coming – but it didn’t spoil the story for me at all.
A very powerful, moving experience.
The movie was too, though inevitably it lacked something of the original.
I may even read it again sometime, and anyone who knows me knows that is rare.
( )
  Helen_Earl | Aug 6, 2015 |
Here I present the first book that ever made me cry.
Here I show you the first book I ever reread.
Here I confess for this book was the first I ever got two copies of (voluntarily).
This book made me believe in infinites and their different sizes, and how some are inside of others, and how unperfect things, unperfect people, can make something perfect. ( )
  jayelaglez | Aug 2, 2015 |
Wow. This book grabbed me from the start. Funny, poignant, heartbreaking. In the face of cancer, these characters are desperately alive. John Green keeps the story buoyant, even as it tackles difficult, painful subjects. I am a fan. ( )
  louis.arata | Jul 31, 2015 |
"You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you."

It is official this is my favorite book. It is very well written. Achingly beautiful. It's the kind of book that wants you to celebrate life and seize every moment of it while it is there.

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.

They met each other in Cancer Support Group and the only silver lining in their situations is falling in love with each other.
Their story isn’t simple, isn’t nice and isn’t all sunshine and flowers, but it’s beautiful. It's one of the most amazing love stories I’ve read. And I’ve read a lot of them.

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once”

This story is so ama to read itzing that I feel privileged to have read it. At first I didnt want because I knew by chapter three I was going to be a crying mess but I am glad I finished it because it is a story about love,loss, and healing.

This book stole my heart and captured my mind. It also broke my heart. It is, by far, one of the most phenomenal books I have ever read.

Recommended to Everyone,
Follow my reviews on: www.facebook.com/mj.bookblog
Blog website: mjbookblogg.blogspot.com ( )
  MadihaJ | Jul 27, 2015 |
I read this book about 6 months ago and I really loved it. Such a sad tale but told from the teen aspect so well. I think I've read all of John Green's novels and this is the most touching. ( )
  joeydag | Jul 23, 2015 |
Good but sad book
Hazel is a teenager with cancer who falls in love with Gus they meet at a support group.
All goes well they even go to Amsterdam to meet a famous writer who is very rude to them.
Then when they get back home to America tragedy strikes. ( )
  Daftboy1 | Jul 16, 2015 |
How many tears can a person cry in their lifetime?
Some persons says that there is no limit, others says that it depends on how many times a person blinks in a minute.
This book makes you cry, with no blinking.My tears reservoir feels empty.
It feels like, if there is a limit, I may have used all my tears...

This book captured suffering, darkness and love
and at the same time reminded readers that perhaps our heroes are not all we have idealized them to be. ( )
  Haidji | Jul 16, 2015 |
Truly one of the nicest books I have read in a long time ( )
1 vote Phyllis.Mann | Jul 13, 2015 |
I only read the first 2 chapters and got put off by the male character.

A kid who picks up chicks at a cancer support group and drives "wildly" with a prostethic leg? He's failed his driving test 3 times and is still driving. I hate the stereo-typical macho, everything is perfect-in-his-life male characters. He's got muscles and "yeah", "yeah", "uh", "huh", "so whats your story?" type light character. I felt that the character is quite superficial and just didn't feel like reading the story anymore. He doesn't seem to have any pain/challenges/struggles in life even though he's been suffering from cancer and has a prosthetic leg. He's got killer looks and from what I've read he can get any girl he wants.

Maybe I hated him so much because he feels like one of those guys whom you see walking on the streets who seems to have everything in life - financial security, bunch of friends who take him to places, a support system, confidence, charisma, leadership etc etc and you see them and envy them always wanting to know more. Maybe if you knew him more you might acquire some of his abilities and have better luck with chicks. But nopes. His life always remains superficial. No matter how much you speak to him you can never get to know him. Whatever you know about him always remains at a very outside level.

Anyway, coming back to the book. Love at first sight was the next thing. That's another big turn-off for me. It feels more like a goody-goody fairy-tale concept to me. I would like to read a story where characters are struggling with their lives and yet have a romance going on which requires leapes of faith, uncertainity, clashes and making-up and the characters are well-developed enough to go through all this... (iff I want to read a romantic story).. ( )
  MugenHere | Jul 12, 2015 |
If I were not busy, I would have read this book in one sitting. My fingers were glued to my ebook reader. This book is that good. A love journey through sickness and sarcasm. I was riding a roller-coaster of emotions fluctuating between happy and sad moments. ( )
1 vote Mohamed80 | Jul 11, 2015 |
Hazel, a 16 year old, has received a 2 year reprieve from cancer that will eventually kill her. Her mom forces her to go to a Cancer Kid Support Group and it is there her world is turned upside down. Hazel meets teen Augustus Waters who sweeps her off her feet. Hazel and Augustus fall in love, travel to Amsterdam to fulfill dreams and has her hear broken.

Along they way they save their friend Isaac who is also suffering from cancer. Isaac has his heart broken and and looses his eyesight.

This is a must read for any young adult or adult. ( )
1 vote StephanieFeist | Jul 9, 2015 |
This was such wonderful Novel, it is very sad and touching and i cried a lot while am reading it.
i enjoyed reading the interaction between Augustus and Hazel it was truly beautiful. ( )
1 vote hadeer | Jul 9, 2015 |
I know, I know, it's a kids' book (or is that young adult?), but I had heard such good things about it that I just had to. Hazel has terminal cancer, but a temporary stay of execution thanks to a miracle drug that has, for now, stopped the growth of her tumors. At a support group for teenage cancer sufferers and survivors she meets Augustus, now NEC (No Evidence of Cancer), and they fall in love. Through their obsession with "An Imperial Affliction" a (presumably) made up book about a teen with cancer, they lament the typical "inspirational kid with cancer" book genre. The author's experience as a chaplain in a children's hospital certainly lends authenticity to the characters and their philosophising. However, I couldn't help but conclude that, at it's heart, that's kind of what this book is: a story about "leaving your mark", "triumph through adversity", "discovering what's really important", and all the other stereotypes. A bit of a disappointment really. ( )
1 vote eclecticdodo | Jul 5, 2015 |
i haven't fallen this hard for a book in a long, long time. This reading experience was what I hope for every time I open a new book. I'm going to buy it. And I'm going to read it over and over again. ( )
1 vote annadanz | Jul 5, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 943 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.36)
0.5 3
1 22
1.5 5
2 86
2.5 23
3 329
3.5 118
4 1031
4.5 275
5 1932

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,080,379 books! | Top bar: Always visible