HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9,714887298 (4.38)584
deadgirl's review
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (857)  Spanish (7)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (3)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Catalan (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (881)
Showing 1-25 of 857 (next | show all)
Ugh.

I'm sorry, I'm so sorry, but I was terribly, disastrously disappointed. Incredibly, irrevocably disappointed.

I started this book off with the knowledge that I would probably cry. But you know what? I didn't cry.

Not. Once.

Sure, I felt a terrible sadness at the sad points of this book, but I didn't shed a tear. Not like I did when I read [b:Before I Die|1314332|Before I Die|Jenny Downham|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1348002855s/1314332.jpg|3128767] and not like I did when I read [b:My Sister's Keeper|10917|My Sister's Keeper|Jodi Picoult|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1369504683s/10917.jpg|1639903]. THOSE are books worth crying about. Books that MAKE you cry and you don't even realise it.

So anyway, I didn't cry at all. All I felt was annoyance, sadness and anger. Annoyance at the fact that Augustus Waters (stupid, stupid name) and Hazel spoke like super sophisticated, drink-tea-in-china-cups-only super old pensioners. Take this quote for example:

" I'm in love with you, and I'm not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasures of saying true things. I'm in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we're all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we'll ever have, and I am in love with you."

Okay, yeah, it's beautiful. But NO sixteen/seventeen year old speaks like that. NO ONE. Not even the Royal Children speak like that, and they would have an excuse to. So although it's a lovely quote, I just laughed a bit. Because if Augustus had turned around and said, "I've loved you since the first time I laid eyes on you" it would have been a much nice, more believeable way of saying it.

Sadness at the fact that this books is about cancer, because cancer will always be a sad, sad subject. I don't think anyone has accomplished writing a happy book about cancer.

And anger. Anger at the characters that didn't have much depth at all, an adventure that seemed slightly wrought-out and boring and an ending that disappointed greatly.

Hazel, I kind of like. She's more realistic about everything. She doesn't hide the fact that she is going to die and she tries to get people to accept it which, by the way, is fair play to her.

But even she speaks like a sort-of-probable moron. In fact, here's a funny thing:

AUGUSTUS AND HAZEL SOUND EXACTLY THE SAME

In fact, when Augustus got introduced in the novel, my immediate thought was, "Oh, so he's, like, the man version of Hazel? That's not cool." And to be honest, it got very, very tedious.

To be even MORE honest, the only character I actually really, really liked was Van Houten.

And you know why?

He actually seemed real. He acted like a horrid person, who lost his daughter at the age of 8 to leukaemia, and although he spoke even funnier than Augustus and Hazel put together, it actually made sense for him to. It made sense for him to drink himself into oblivion, act like a total arse and generally be a recluse and hate humanity. I get him. I totally do and I love him for it.

And you want another reason why?

Because that's how I imagine John Green is. I imagine he DOES love himself, and the way he writes, and his books, and I 100% believe that he based Van Houten's character on himself.

I'm even willing to go as far as saying that he probably never responds to fan mail, never reads emails that aren't exclusively about work, and I'm even surer that, although he's an okay writer, he probably thinks he's a modernised version of Shakespeare.

So yeah, the book was okay. I'm disappointed. I'll probably end up reading it again and to be honest, I'm slightly disappointed that Augustus died and not Hazel, considering from the outset, Green made it clear she was going to die and honestly, I think he got too attached and decided to kill off Augustus to buy Hazel some time, but only succeeded in making the book more crappy.

Sorry, Green. I might be one of the few people who actually didn't enjoy this book. ( )
  Aly_Locatelli | Jan 26, 2015 |
This was a great book. The story is a simple one of a girl going through cancer and a boy she meets at support group and falls in love with. The things they discuss are thought provoking and touching.

Although I struggle to believe any real life teenagers are *quite* this existentially oriented, speaking with a college level vocabulary, I found the characters to be relatable and likable. The story was well paced, and the emotions John Green evokes through his writing definitely make this worth reading. ( )
  AlbinoRhino | Jan 25, 2015 |
Thoroughly readable and engaging though sappy. Love Story in 2014. ( )
  amaraki | Jan 25, 2015 |
This was one of those books that makes me feel like a bad person for not liking it. I keep seeing all of these five star ratings and I just don't get it. I felt that this book was extremely over-hyped when really, this book was mediocre at best. The only thing I can really say is that I didn't hate it, which is a start, but I was also no were close to loving it. It was merely okay.

The first problem I had was that I didn't buy into the characters. I didn't find them realistic at all. I thought that the relationship between Gus and Hazel was over done. An odd way to describe it but that's the phrasing that comes to mind. I remember rolling my eyes during their dinner in Amsterdam because it was too perfect. That was not the dinner of teenagers but the dinner of a couple on their honeymoon. Even then, I would have rolled my eyes. It was like eating a candy that was too sweet, and despite how much you want to eat it, you just can't make yourself swallow it. That was that scene.

I also thought that their teenage banter sounded more like a desperate attempt for John Green to be witty. Teens don't talk like this. It almost got to the point when I would want to skip long sections of dialogue just because it annoyed me how unrealistic their banter was. I also don't know if John Green knows this or not, but sarcastically talking about your terminal cancer is not something knew in the cancer writing world. Also, he did it too often. Some meaningful thoughts and emotions would have been nice rather than touching on sometime profound and then ending it with a one-liner. This happened all the time.

The "plot twist" really wasn't a twist. Maybe if it weren't written in first person from Hazel's point of view it might have been, but since she was narrating it was pretty obvious what was going to happen. That is my problem with books written in first person. Especially books that have life threatening situations, the narrator obviously lives through it all. It takes out that element of suspense that make books so much fun to read. Of course, there is the possibility that the author didn't actually mean for this to be a plot twist, but I have heard it referred to as such so many times that that is how I think of it. A highly predictable plot twist.

There are more issues that I have with the book, but since I would be risking giving away spoilers I am not going to go further into it. Overall, I was disappointed in this book. I was expecting to laugh and to cry like everyone told me I would, but I did neither. I was left not wanting to read anything written in the last four years since everything I have read so far that is currently popular has been disappointing. (Except for Game of Thrones. That series is freaking awesome.) Maybe The Night Circus will treat me better. I'm trying to go in with an open mind.

I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. It just wasn't worth the time it took to read it (which wasn't long, granted, but still) and I didn't take anything out of it other than, "Eh, it was alright." If you're just searching for a quick read, this is an option, but I know there are better quick reads out there than this. Don't fall for the hype, because this book falls way short. ( )
  kell1732 | Jan 25, 2015 |
The Fault in our Stars by John Green definitely caught me way off guard in the way that I did not think I was going to love it as much as I did. This book is an emotional love story that completely captivates the reader into the adorable yet incredibly sad plot. When I read this book, I never wanted to put it down because from the first few minutes when I started it I was hooked. I started and finished this book in just a few days. I have read a few other John Green books such as Looking for Alaska which I also thought was amazing, but I definitely have to say this John Green book was my favorite. Another thing I loved about this book was that it wasn't a typical love story that ended in a happily ever after where the guy gets the girl and they fall in love. This book was more mature and sophisticated because both characters suffer through different types of life threatening illnesses. This book wasn't predictable, and unless one saw the movie or was told prior to reading how the book ends, I doubt that they would have guessed. The Fault in our Stars had that aww factor at moments; For example, when Augustus and Hazel went to Amsterdam together. When Augustus first saw Hazel all dressed up before he took her to dinner, it was really adorable how sweet they were being to each other. But just how fast it got cute; It got very upsetting. Overall, this book was touching and heartbreaking but an amazing read. ( )
  kristinjaspers | Jan 22, 2015 |
Ok ok I am not going to go into to much details about This amazing book because I think everybody knows what this book is about. But I will tell you all the truth TFIOS caught me why off guard I really did't think I was going to love this book so much as I do now. Let me start from the beginning I was really procrastinating to read TFIOS for some time when I got it out of the library, because I read Looking For Alaska first by John Green and I think that was a big mistake to start that book first. I am not say Looking For Alaska was not a good book it really was a good book but it was not my favorite book by John Green. I really did enjoy the plot and the story of Looking of Alaska I just didn't care for the main characters of it which kind of bummed me out just a little bit but I really did enjoy the book over all. So that's why I was really procrastinating and took some time to when I finally read TFIOS and Ohh boy when I finally read it I was hooked line and sinker. The hype for TFIOS is so true this book was a really beautiful heartbroken story that I could not put this book down at all that I finished it in two days. I just loved everything in TFIOS especially the characters. My heart just hurt for everything they were going through, and I totally understand there personality and they way there were acting towards there friends and family member just heart wrenching. All in all I say TFIOS is one of my favorite books by John Green that I will never forget. Now I most definitely going to try John Green other books out as well. Well Until Next Time My Friends. ( )
  Katiria_Rodriguez | Jan 21, 2015 |
I didn't want to love this book, because Green's teenagers are always just a little too twee for me. I don't mind YA characters being aspirational--I'm guessing most teenagers love to imagine themselves as quick-witted and sophisticate as the ones Green creates--but his cross the line into unbelievability. Quoting from philosophers and obscure literary texts at age 16? Really, now, John Green? Really?

But I did love this book, tweeness or not, predictable plot turns or not. It's simply wonderfully written and compulsively readable. ( )
  CherieDooryard | Jan 20, 2015 |
The Fault in Our Stars is and "epic" love story, where two teenagers fall in love. But this is no ordinary love story, where the boy gets the girl and they live happily ever after.The Fault in Our Stars is much more complex. John Green's use of grammar gives the mood a little more of sophistication as opposed to your average love story where the twitter-pated couple confess their love for each other and do crazy teenage things together. Hazel Lancaster, a 16 year old girl whom has cancer, is a college student. She is much more sophisticated than other girls her age. She doesn't really have many friends because she is not in school. however, she does meet Augustus Waters at a support group for cancer patients. Augustus and Hazel begin to talk and share their favorite books with each other. They become good and close friends. It becomes apparent that they are hiding their feelings, and Hazel states why she believes that they should be nothing more than just friends. She says that she is a grenade, and that she is going to "obliterate" everything in her path, and that she just wants to minimize the causalities. She pretty much is afraid to hurt anyone because of her sickness . Which breaks Augusts' heart, because he once before dated a girl whom had cancer and had died.

Later on, Augustus and Hazel go to Amsterdam together to meet the author to An Imperial Affliction(the book which Hazel had loaned to Augustus), named Peter Van Houten. Hazel and Augustus end up confessing their love for each other while in Amsterdam, and they somewhat make their relationship "official". However, Augustus has some bad news for Hazel. He found out just before they left to Amsterdam that he has cancer. All over his in body. He tells Hazel, and they accept the fact that "this world, is not a wish granting factory."

A few weeks after their visit to Amsterdam, Hazel receives a phone call in the middle of the night from Augustus. He had a problem with his tubes, and he was sent into the hospital. A few weeks after that, Hazel's Mother received a phone call in the middle of the night. It was Augustus' mother. She had called to tell their family that Augustus Waters had passed away.

The Fault in Our stars is a real tear jerking love story. ( )
  ailaina | Jan 20, 2015 |
An absolutely stunning book which I couldn't stop crying at! John Green knows how to write where it's sad but then happy and yet, the writing is flawless! Would certainly recommend it... ( )
  KatherineB729 | Jan 16, 2015 |
Oddly, at the end I didn't feel teary-eyed at all. I just felt vaguely bored.

I blame [b:Wonder|11387515|Wonder|R.J. Palacio|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1366213431s/11387515.jpg|16319487]. ( )
  IsaboeOfLumatere | Jan 14, 2015 |
Had to read the book before I saw the movie, and wasn't disappointed. Sweet and salty story of two cancer-stricken teens, their friendship and love. ( )
  marcal | Jan 13, 2015 |
This was a very good book, but why are so many people sucking this guy's dick over it? Maybe I'm a heartless bastard (a good argument could be made for this), but I didn't even cry while reading it or when I finished it. Why are there so many weepy people out there?

It does make me want to check out some of Mr. Green's other books, though.

And that concludes my weak-ass review. ( )
  zenslave | Jan 13, 2015 |
The Fault in our Stars is an epic love story about two teenagers Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace, with cancer.Hazel and Augustus meet in a cancer support group and start to become friends. As time goes by Hazel and Augustus grow closer and closer as friends, and then become boyfriend and girlfriend.One day Hazel got super sick and had to go back to the hospital followed and everything changed from then on. Hazel and Augustus wrote fan mail to her favorite author only to discover that that author does not care.The author does not tell them how that book ends and kicks them out. Later Augustus dies and Hazel goes to his funeral and talks about him.Then she finds a paper that Augutus wrote, and that's it.

The Fault in our Stars for me is a five out of five! It was a book filed with events that make you want to cry , laugh or have tears of joy. It was so sweet and sad at the same time. It was romantic and it had everything, but action.For me it was a book that I think that deserves to be a classic later in times. It is so realistic and I love it because of that. It does deserve five stars. ( )
  Kaiah.g1 | Jan 12, 2015 |
This book made me bawl; not just cry, but bawl. It was truly sad, in a way that I couldn't even get through the short, light (in terms of language, not subject matter) book in one sitting. I just had to take breaks from it because it was that upsetting. I'm all for sad stories and non-happy endings, but this one just felt like it's only purpose was to make the reader cry. There wasn't enough happiness in the story (in my opinion, of course) for me to get past the sadness. Even the happy moments were sad. I ultimately enjoyed this book but don't know that I would necessarily recommend it. Unless you just want a reason to cry. ( )
  carebear10712 | Jan 8, 2015 |
The Good: The book is well written. It plays on your emotions, getting you attached to the characters while they experience a rather depressing scenario. This is not a happy story. It is a story you will read with tears streaming down your face. It will transform even the hardest of hearts (like myself) into a blubbering mess of feelings by the end of the book.

The Bad: Certain parts of the book kill the vibe of the entire thing and kind of take you out of the reading. Most obviously are the parts where Hazel obsesses about an author. I get that it worked into the story as a whole, but it seemed weirdly out of place. ( )
  TequilaReader | Jan 5, 2015 |
Read all my reviews on http://urlphantomhive.booklikes.com

I'm not going to write an extremely touching story or a very deep analysis of TFIOS. I think those can already be found all over the internet. I just want to describe my thoughts on this book.

I started reading this book in September, just before the university started again, mostly because I knew I had friends who would definitely ask me if I'd read the book already. (They had been doing so for the last month of the last college year as well). As I'd read a lot of books this summer, I figured I couldn't really come up with a reason not to have read it, even though watching the movie made me realise that it wasn't going to be a book for me.

This was around the same time that The Netherlands were stalked with big posters of John Green's head and the text 'Damn Near Genius' , which I thought to be at best 'Not a really good way to promote the books' as only very small pictures of the covers were included.

It took me to the first of November to finish it. Partly this was of course because I was a bit behind on my review books and they get to go first, but I also just wasn't enjoying myself while reading it. And that's not because I don't like books that are sad or deal with a serious matter. It was mostly because I couldn't stand both Hazel, Gus and their forced tear-jerking starcrossed romance.

They never for once talked like normal people. It's okay to like to talk about existential questions, but don't act like you're so much better than everyone else. It's not cool to put a cigarette into your mouth even if you decide not to light it. It's ridiculous to talk about basketball in terms of round objects moving trough conical ones.

Their weird obsession with An Imperial Affliction is another thing. It's just a book, and from what I've heard about it, not even such a good one. I know all about books ending unsatisfactory but I don't go obsessing about it in this way (I don't just read a single book on constant repeat either, and if I did, I certainly wouldn't give my one special copy of it to a random Guy I just met. I would have protected it with my life, so to speak). Hazel and Gus call it a pretentious book, but that's coming from perhaps the most pretentious book I've ever read.

I realise I'm probably not the intended audience for this book. I don't like romance, over emotional books or books that try to force me into certain emotions (like crying; I want to be able to decide for myself whether or not to cheer for the characters). I just wanted to see if the book really was as good as I was reading (and everyone was telling me) that I forgot that I probably wouldn't enjoy it anyway. The only thing I really can't understand is why people are loving the pretentiousness so much. It annoyed the hell out of me.

I thought the book was over long too. After the big thing happens, the story drags on for at least another 50 pages, trying to force me into crying (but definitely not succeeding; I don't know what this says about me). Perhaps TFIOPS (The Fault In Our Pretentious Stars) should have ended just like An Imperial Affliction, with Hazel realising she can't / doesn't want to continue writing and just stopping mid-sentence. And all I would be wondering about is what did eventually become of the hamster... ( )
  Floratina | Jan 4, 2015 |
Lovely book - witty, cynical and simply lovely to read. ( )
  lincolnpan | Dec 31, 2014 |
This book is a great way to learn about how some people have to go through their daily lives. I'd definitely recommend this. 5Q5P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this book to middle and high school students as well as adults. AlexissS
  edspicer | Dec 30, 2014 |
This book is AMAZING, great characters and a trully wonderfull Author
it made me laugh and cry at the same time. ( )
  Leila.Khouane | Dec 30, 2014 |
This book is AMAZING, great characters and a trully wonderfull Author
it made me laugh and cry at the same time. ( )
  Leila.Khouane | Dec 30, 2014 |
I knew I had to read The Fault in Our Stars when every single book blogger I follow mentioned it again and again. I felt like an outsider who wasn't quite in on the joke, and in this case the peer pressure was well worth giving in. Fault is an engaging, unsentimental, and often hilarious tale of two teens falling in love while fighting terminal illness. The characterizations are exquisite, and though a bit schmaltzy at times, the author never once took himself (or his characters) too seriously. And the ending – the conclusion – was satisfyingly beautiful. I devoured the book in two evenings, and I look forward to reading more from author John Green. ( )
  phrenetic.mind | Dec 30, 2014 |
The Fault in our Stars has been very popular with both teens and adults. The plot is well-known: two teens, Hazel and Augustus ("Gus"), fall in love while battling life-threatening forms of cancer. The uncertainty of their prognoses, and their sense that time is running out, lend poignancy to the story.

It is hard to separate the experience of reading The Fault in Our Stars from all the hype surrounding the book. Hazel, the narrator, is a sympathetic character for the most part, but at times she is insufferably precocious. The best parts of the book are her descriptions of living with ever-declining health, especially the difficulties of breathing with her "crap lungs". The romantic aspect of the novel (which other readers loved) didn't impress me as much. Gus doesn't interest me at all. According to Hazel, he's sarcastic, gorgeous, and his friends love him, but a day after finishing the book I can't remember much else about him. This is worthy of comment because Gus's primarily concern is if people will remember him when he's gone.

On one level, the book reminded me of Titanic, the movie with Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet that was phenomenally popular, especially with teenage girls, in the late 1990s. It’s the same kind of instant “love” story. The lovers barely know each other but share a whirlwind of memorable experiences that bind them to each other forever. One character dies an untimely death, but the other will cherish the memories for a lifetime. Cue “My Heart Will Go On”.

On the plus side, is a quick, engaging read. It may not live up to all the hype, but it is worth reading. ( )
  akblanchard | Dec 29, 2014 |
This book was quoted at during an Original Oratory at a high school speech contest. I figured it was a non-fiction book based on the reference. It's actually about trying to come of age when cancer both limits the process and yet accelerate teens' sense of perspective. The theme that drew me to it originally was that our lives get meaning not from the great things we do, but by the things we do with those around us. ( )
  jpsnow | Dec 25, 2014 |
The storyline is beautiful, tragic, romantic, and epic, however, the literature in itself is nothing worth fussing over. ( )
  Tannaii | Dec 19, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 857 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay28 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.38)
0.5 1
1 19
1.5 5
2 72
2.5 19
3 281
3.5 114
4 915
4.5 259
5 1778

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 95,073,853 books! | Top bar: Always visible