HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9,502862304 (4.39)568
deadgirl's review
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (835)  Spanish (8)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (4)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (861)
Showing 1-25 of 835 (next | show all)
The storyline is beautiful, tragic, romantic, and epic, however, the literature in itself is nothing worth fussing over. ( )
  Tannaii | Dec 19, 2014 |
Tja, dit moest ik natuurlijk wel lezen, zoveel media-aandacht, zoveel reserveringen. Het is een mooi boek, zeker voor jongeren. Intensief, aangrijpend, invoelbaar. Weinig effectbejag. Het verhaal (de verhaallijn) vond ik een beetje dun en af en toe voorspelbaar, maar je kunt niet alles hebben natuurlijk. Mooi herkenbaar stuk over Amsterdam. En hartverscheurend om te lezen. ( )
  elsmvst | Dec 14, 2014 |
Adolescent book
Realistic fiction
Book discusses cancer and falling in love.
Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace are surviving cancer and fall in love in a realistic and honest fashion. They travel to Amesterdam to meet their favorite author.
Augustus dies and Hazel Grace is left to give his funeral oration and the greatest love story.
Very sad, but beautiful.
  mollybeaver | Dec 11, 2014 |
This book is amazing, that is all. ( )
  stargazingx13 | Dec 11, 2014 |
Beautiful, beautiful book. I loved the way it was written, such wonderful language.

Loved the characters and the way they interacted with each other.

Made me cry my eyes out. Wasn't expecting it to deal with Augustus's death. Would like to see the film. ( )
  ClicksClan | Dec 9, 2014 |
Хит по всем американским, а значит и международным​, канонам. Мальчик, девочка, любовь, неизлечимая б​олезнь, много денег (!), без чего была бы невозмож​на значительная часть сюжета. Прочитать на один ра​з и забыть. Забыть, к сожалению, не получится, пот​ому что из книжного хита делают хит голливудский, ​19 июня.
Ваш, BookGeek.ru.href> ( )
  otikhonova | Dec 8, 2014 |
I really enjoyed how the personalities of every character came together. Hazel, Augustus, and especially Isaac, felt alive to me. Reading the book was like watching their lives play out before my eyes. I laughed, and cried, many times within the day it took me to read it. ( )
  AlphaHikar | Dec 7, 2014 |
Hmpf.

To be honest, I don't want to write a review and yet somehow, I feel I need to.

I didn't like it.

To put it in the simplest terms, I like many of the ideas behind the book and I think I see what it was trying to do.

And yet it fell short.

(please be aware, I don't intend this as a personal criticism of the author)

I felt like John Green was aiming too high, as if he was over-reaching his abilities and the result is lacking.

Puffed-up. That's the word that springs to my mind.

Of course, there were also some very good points to it. As a matter of fact, I laughed and cried. To a certain extent, it provoked deep thinking, which is something I always like in a book. And yet... it didn't work.

In balance, it was adequate.

( )
1 vote Gorthalon | Dec 7, 2014 |
So I read this because it seems to be what everyone is reading these days and I thought it was lovely. Well written, beautifully told. My favorite part was Hazel's attitude toward cancer throughout the book. It helps to see the world through the eyes of someone who's living with cancer, because as she says, you don't get "through." My only personal issue was how faith was addressed, but of course I'm aware that not everyone shares my beliefs, especially not every teenager battling cancer. Recommend to anyone who has ever loved and lost. ( )
  Lost-In-Literature | Dec 6, 2014 |
Hazel Grace already has a hard time, she definitely isn't perfect. Hazel has lung cancer and knows she won't live long. So she doesn't go out much,except of course to go to support group. When she meets Augustus Waters her life takes a sudden twist. Before she knows it she's falling in love but even she knows it can't last forever.When it doesn't she doesn't know how to feel.
This was an amazing book! Not the best form of writing but still amazing. I recommend it if you love romances and comedy. *WARNING THIS BOOK IS VERY SAD AND DEPRESSING* If you do not like sad book than do not read this book.
  GabiJ.G1 | Dec 4, 2014 |
Genre: Realistic Fiction
Format: Chapter Book
After listening to the popularity of this book among pre teens and teens I decided to give it a try. I had heard negative comments from adults so I read this as a future teacher. The fault in our stars is a story about Hazel Grace, a sixteen year old girl who has cancer. She isn’t very enthusiastic about life and her parents are making her go to a support group where she can at least meet people since she hasn’t been going to school due to her illness. There she meets Augustus Waters, who also has a case of cancer. The two fall in love in a very unique way, they travel all the way to Amsterdam to meet the author of a book that Hazel Grace loves, and he turns out disappointing her. The story turns out sad but it is about how important and supportive strong friendships and relationships can be through a tough battle like cancer. ( )
  georperez | Dec 3, 2014 |
This isn't really the kind of book I usually read anymore but it was recommended to me so I thought that I'd give it a try. I actually really enjoyed it. -and yes, I cried -. It was such a sweet book with a great storyline that I found much better than the film. I would really recommend it to anyone who enjoys love stories (and those like me who generally don't).The characters are so likeable and relatable and I found that I agreed with some of the philosophical point mentioned. My favourite quote is probably "some infinities are bigger than other infinities". There is the most hilarious bit where in a draft eulogy the not-so-dead person is described as a self-aggrandizing bastard. This whole passage made me physically laugh out loud. So in conclusion an amazing, entertaining and enlightening book.
  kathy_chiff | Dec 3, 2014 |
Sixteen year old Hazel is dying of a rare form of cancer and has all but given up on life, when she meets a fellow cancer survivor in a support group. Augustus inspires her to begin living again, and the two form a bond that is unbreakable, even after Augustus' cancer returns and threatens to separate them. Although cancer and its effects are the main theme, at its core, this book is a beautiful story of first love and loss.
  EmKel753 | Dec 2, 2014 |
This is also another great book. It's about a young girl who knows she is sick but just wants to live a normal life. She meets this boy in her class and they become the best of friends and like each other. Their words that was their saying was "okay" that meant forever to them. The young girl doesn't know the boy is sick and in the end she loosing him. ( )
  emilyann93 | Dec 2, 2014 |
Can't keep this on our library shelves. Very moving and brought me to tears. Unexpected twists in the storyline, that propelled me to keep turning pages. An unexpected ending. I would highly recommended this to teens, but depending on the tastes of the adult reader it may not be a homeroom. ( )
  lolhscybrarian | Dec 2, 2014 |
After reading Looking for Alaska I took a break before diving into John Green's latest, and loudly lauded as best novel yet. I didn't even crack it open until a year after it was published, sitting on the train into the city to see John Green at Carnegie Hall. I read little on the way in, but at one AM, on the way out again, I had to stop myself from flying through it, forcing myself to really slow down and enjoy it.

John Green is an entertainer, and is intelligent in his dealing with what I see as such an often exploited topic. His personal history made this novel a little inevitable, and while I found it missed the bulls-eye by mere millimeters it was an absolutely fantastic book none-the-less. I can only hope that John will try again.

The Fault in Our Stars has everything I wanted in such a book: humor despite all, implied but restrained self-pity, the book is neither a wishful re-imagining of Ester Earl's life nor a shadow of all the great kids who have died and should have lived. There is no happy ending, and yet I was happy I had read it, and will probably read it again. I would like to applaud the novel for exploring the possibility of a Sophie's World type of cancer novel, where it ends mid-sentence because the protagonist dies mid-sentence, or deteriorates or simply moves on, but itself ends with a funeral's eulogy without showing us the funeral or the death. It's clever, but not self-consciously so.

This book is about discovering meaning and loss. John Green has explicitly said it is about loss, but Hazel's quest for the further meaning in her favorite book, a novel about a young girl, Anna, who lives with cancer, predominates the pages. Her quest for things in a world preoccupied with itself, but one that she has been removed from for many years. Her unfulfilled wish, to learn what happens to Sisyphus the hamster, from the lips of the author himself, is a heart-wrenching attempt to play god. We do not know what happens after Anna's death, because Anna is dead and she herself will never know. Augustus's cigarettes--his personal metaphor flaunted in people's faces--has a deeper meaning beyond that given, which irks even the most superficial readers. His attachment to escapist visual media, movies and games, aligns well with his quest to become someone. We have joined Hazel on her quest for the meaning behind things she has been living adjacent to since her diagnosis. And like Hazel when she shares the Eulogy at the novel's close, we won't ever really know. We aren't god, and John Green doesn't pretend he knows anything, he is merely comforting us with a glimpse into Hazel's world, and we sympathize with her, wondering how she will go on.

The book was nothing short of magical, brimming with unexplored but fully developed personalities, a larger world which was alluded to without being purple. John Green is a great craftsman, and watching him weave texting and popular culture into what I venture to call a great american novel, is wonderful. He cares for his characters, and knows you will too. They're not perfect, but neither are we. He believes a lot of what they believe, however, and if you want to fault him for something you can say that he supports the precociousness and audacity of teenagers living in today's world. If Hazel whines, we know that she is like most teenagers and if all book characters were perfect would you really enjoy reading about them? But none of this makes Hazel annoying, it makes her human, dealing with something that too many people have to face. Short of quoting the final paragraphs for you, I can't impart how impactful and true this novel is without you reading it.

To read more about the deeper meaning of things, I recommend Ray Decker III's review of this novel.

318 pp. Dutton. Paper.
  knotbox | Dec 1, 2014 |
This was my first John Green book and, prior to this book, I had no other experience with "cancer kids" in literature. I expected the story to be really sad but...it really wasn't. I generally appreciate snarkiness and Veronica Mars-like intelligence and quick wit in teenagers and I got a lot of that dialogue so that was welcome. I guess what was missing for me was a deeper connection to the characters. Maybe all that snarkiness kept me at arm's length and, although I was moved at some level by the struggles each kid faced, I wasn't emotionally invested so...no tears for me. ( )
  kellifrobinson | Nov 25, 2014 |
I avoided this book for a long time. I had heard about it, and, more importantly, what it was about, and despite fantastic reviews it was getting, I didn't want to read it. It sounded like a gimmick that served no purpose other than to make me cry, or something that was trying to be inspirational, and working far too hard. It wasn't until I began reading other John Green books that I trusted him and his writing enough to give this book a try.
Firstly, this book is not gimmicky. It did not try too hard to be inspirational, though I'd be lying if I said that it didn't make me think. It's sole purpose was not to make you feel awful for these kids with cancer, or make you cry. I mean, you do feel bad for the kids, but the book didn't seek to gain your pity. It made the characters real, bigger than the cancer. At the heart of it all, it's a love story, and a good one, which just so happens to be tragic. Yes, there were parts that made me sob uncontrollably. However, there were also parts that had me nearly rolling around on the floor with laughter.
The characters are very realistic. I haven't read a whole lot of caner novels, and I don't have cancer myself, so I can't be sure, but I feel like the characters act and think in accordance to how someone in their situation might act or think. They aren't perfect, but people in real life aren't perfect. Hazel is bitter, but can crack a joke, and she has a likable concern for her friends and family. Augustus is pretentious, but also has an admiral dedication for the people close to him, and, of course, a stellar sense of humor. They grow on you throughout the story, and I didn't realize how much I really cared for them until late into the story. Sometimes they made me sad, sometimes they made me angry, but I loved them all the same.
This book was better than I expected, which might be difficult to believe, since it had such rave reviews. It isn't just a book about cancer, though it does heavily contribute to the plot. It's a book about people, and the challenges that they have to face in their lives. John Green handles everything beautifully, as always, and fails to disappoint.
Four Point Five out of Five Stars
Want more reviews like this one? Look here: http://themessengerreviews.blogspot.com/2014/07/the-fault-in-our-stars.html ( )
  TheMessengerReviews | Nov 23, 2014 |
Thanks to my sister, I finally read THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. She had been encouraging me to read it for, what, a couple years? But I kept resisting. I knew the book was about teenagers, so it didn't interest me. But I gave in.

If you haven't read this book yet because it's about teenagers, do. The teenagers are exceptionally bright, well spoken, and mature. The story (which I won't tell you about because it's a short book, and anything I say is potentially a spoiler) grabbed me from page 1. Don't read reviews of it.

Something irritated me, though: Hazel really does seem stupid when it comes to her favorite book, which is a work of fiction. The end left her with questions about what became of three of the characters. (Yes, I consider a hamster a character.) And, boy, she really needs to know! It takes a drunk to tell her that nothing became of them because they aren't real.

But you probably already read this. ( )
  techeditor | Nov 21, 2014 |
Stupid, inane. disappointing. ( )
1 vote gpaisley | Nov 17, 2014 |
An incredible book that will make you smile, laugh and curl up in a little ball of tears. ( )
  ellsie98 | Nov 16, 2014 |
I enjoyed it ( )
  becky80 | Nov 15, 2014 |
The Faults in Our Stars
Bryan O'Keeffe

I was a little skeptical about reading this book because I knew of all the hype it was getting and that it seemed like a book for tween girls. However I was really wrong. This was probably one of the best books that I have ever read. It also happened to be the first John Green book that I read. I had been reading the Game of Thrones books simultaneously while I read this book so the transition between them was a little weird. The first thing I really liked about this book was how cancer was not romanticized or even glossed over. The very serious issue of cancer, let alone kids with cancer, is a very serious topic. All of the characters were believable, Hazel Grace was almost as if I had known her in real life, that's how believable she was. I was able to honestly see her in my mind and have a clear picture of what was going on in the book in my mind. Augustus Waters at first seemed almost a little too good to be true, but it was still really believable because that was a front he put on in order to cope with not having half of his leg. The book was a super easy read, the writing flowed really well and was super descriptive. The book really made you feel, that was most apparent when Hazel and Gus both are back in the hospital because of complications they are having with their bodies. I really enjoyed how well every thing was put together for this book. The message for this book was pretty clear, don't let anything get in the way of love. ( )
  bokeef2 | Nov 10, 2014 |
Great book, never a slow moment, couldn't put it down. ( )
  rolyat | Nov 9, 2014 |
Bawled my eyes out! The most beautiful but sad story I have ever read. I felt the characters like I was in the story! John Green knows how to perfectly weave a story and make you feel peronally part of that story! It has been a long time since I read a whole book in one sitting. ( )
  chellebuck79 | Nov 6, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 835 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay28 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.39)
0.5 1
1 19
1.5 5
2 68
2.5 19
3 267
3.5 105
4 887
4.5 259
5 1742

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,392,587 books! | Top bar: Always visible