HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
10,175925282 (4.37)591
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
English (898)  Spanish (6)  Dutch (5)  German (5)  French (4)  Danish (1)  Swedish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Italian (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (923)
Showing 1-25 of 898 (next | show all)
3.5/5 Stars

A lovely story about two sick people who are in love with each other. I'm not ashamed to admit that when I first read this I cried. It's simple and snarky and makes you want to re-evaluate your own life and appreciate the little things.

On the downside, I feel like Augustus and Hazel are the same person. They talk and think in the same way and if you took away their names, I wouldn't be able to tell who is who.

Full review: http://brittanysbookrambles.blogspot.com/2013/07/the-fault-in-our-stars-by-john-... ( )
  bpress | Apr 20, 2015 |
Somehow I was of an opinion that this book will make me bawl my eyes out. NOT. THE. CASE. This is not a sad book, not by a long shot. It is full of harsh realities, black humour remarks, irony and sarcasm that might have been anger at some earlier point, becoming acceptance now. Hazel and Gus are well-read, intelligent and strong. What they are NOT is broken. And their star-crossed love story is inspiring. It is a pleasure to have known them. ( )
  v_allery | Apr 19, 2015 |
Wonderful sad story of teens dying from cancer that are still trying to live like teens.
curricular connection; empathy, social skills, health ( )
  jolenaryan | Apr 17, 2015 |
I really liked this book and did not want it to end. As I was reading I knew what was going to happen, but I still kept hoping for a miracle. I liked how Hazel and Augustus were wise beyond their years. How they had so much in common, yet they were so different. The reader can easily visualize when Hazel justifies her decision to keep Augustus from getting closer because she is like a grenade and wants to minimize the casualties of her death. Although this book might be controversial, if used in class, this book can be used in the secondary levels to discuss life lessons because they will be facing their own life changing decisions of graduation, leaving home, and creating their own path. There could also be discussions that include critical thinking and philosophy.
  MSara | Apr 16, 2015 |
I knew this book was going to be a tear-jerked and I wasn't disappointed on that end. However, I also wasn't as infatuated as I thought it would be. The story was extremely well written and I found myself wanting to read the fictitious novel that the main characters were obsessed with, but I have to admit that the main characters tended to bother me. I've not known many teenagers who were suffering from life-threatening diseases, but even those I did know didn't tend to speak with such diction and like senior-citizens trapped in teenage bodies. All in all, it was a sweet and sad book, but it didn't manage to reach my list of favorites. ( )
  bleached | Apr 15, 2015 |
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberexcel | Apr 13, 2015 |
John Green perfectly captured the process of cancer and how it impacts someone, without having experienced it himself. Emotionally engaging. ( )
  Moakey | Apr 10, 2015 |
Tear jerker. Great and eloquent writing. A must read! ( )
  Swissmama | Apr 8, 2015 |
Beautiful, yet soul crushing. A must read. ( )
  Nessa24Flutist | Apr 6, 2015 |
I actually started watching the movie and ended up shutting it off 1/2 way through in order to read the book to find out how it ends (I've never done this with any other book-turned-movie). I finished the book in 2 days, immediately after I finished I turned the movie on to see how the movie would end. It left me in tears, my heartbroke for the characters, and thank god I wasn't reading it in public. I absolutely LOVED Augustus Waters character and the relationship with Hazel was so sweet. I can't wait to read this one again. ( )
  TheKnittedSheep | Apr 3, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
A heartbreaking story that will definitely have you reaching for a tissue.

This review is going to be somewhat different to the usual reviews I write, due to the fact that almost everyone has heard something about this book, whether it be the book itself or the movie adaptation, I don’t see there being too much point in writing a synopsis. If somehow you are not aware of the plot of The Fault in Our Stars, you can read a very detailed one on Goodreads.

John Green is an author who so many people love. Many of my friends have read everything he has ever written, whereas I have, apart from The Fault in Our Stars, only read Looking for Alaska (and Zombicorns). So going into reading this I had very little knowledge about the way John Green writes. I managed to read this before I saw the movie, thankfully because although I enjoyed the movie a lot, the book is even more wonderful in comparison.

This book is very raw, heartbreaking and emotional. It is written in a very honest and frank way, and I so far have not met anyone who managed to keep a dry eye when reading it. Hazel and Gus are beautiful characters, they’re so real and lifelike and their story just leaps off the page. I rooted for them both, I so wanted them to find happiness.

Having lost family members to cancer, it is a truly fascinating book about the way the disease can affect so many lives. It is beautifully written and completely takes your breath away. Although is is ultimately an emotional story, I think something that is a little overlooked is the funny moments in the story. There were chapters when I genuinely laughed out loud. Gus and Hazel are so witty and sarcastic and just perfect, perfect characters.

I can imagine that if you haven’t already read or seen The Fault in our Stars, then you know the story. But that doesn't mean it isn't worth reading. It is a beautiful piece of writing that will make you laugh and make you cry. It is easy to see why the book has won so many awards, it is truly an astounding novel. ( )
  ColeReadsBooks | Apr 2, 2015 |
This book should come with a warning to read with a big box of Kleenex. ( )
  Marie113 | Mar 31, 2015 |
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberhighschool | Mar 28, 2015 |
I had no intention of staying up all night reading The Fault in Our Stars when I borrowed it up from my library’s digital book collection last Saturday, but somehow I did. I also had no intention of speed-reading through it, sobbing my eyes out and emptying a whole box of tissues in doing so, but I found myself staring at a pile of soggy tissues and wondering WTF I was thinking picking up such as sad book. (THIS IS WHY I HATE READING SAD BOOKS) Regardless of my hatred of a sad ending, I still found it in my heart to fall in love with The Fault in Our Stars.

Maybe it’s because one of the biggest themes of the story (not letting chronic illness rule our lives) hit home on my own chronic illness journey. This book was so relate-able in a way that anybody affected by chronic illness could draw comparisons to in their own lives. I respond well to characters I can relate to and I know that other people do as well. The Fault in Our Stars is one of the rare books where I didn’t hate any of the characters. It was fascinating how Green depicted these characters, it was really interesting to see how John imagined people would respond to facing their own mortality.

Hazel has spent her terminal diagnosis worried about how her death will affect her surviving family. She rarely cries or complains (unless someone says something stupid in trying to show sympathy – this happens to me often as well, so I mostly applauded her), only worries about her mom and dad putting their lives on hold to watch their only child die. Even though Hazel hates to admit it, I found her to be an incredibly inspiring and selfless main character. She is definitely one of the best young adult fictional role models out there, in my humble opinion. Reading about her struggle has taught me I need to stop and think who is listening before I complain about my aches and pains. The only problem I had with hazel is that she hated V for Vendetta!! How is that even possible??

Augustus was no slouch in terms of main characters, either. He feels a lot of loyalty and love for his friends – even when others may consider said friends to be bigger pains in the butt than they are worth. Gus is also pretty swell at reading people, and it was fun to watch him maneuver Hazel into finally living.

To sum up, Hazel and Gus were stellar main characters. They found a way to live life to the fullest for as long as they were given in a way that healthy people might never understand, but I do. People who scoff at learning life lessons in fiction, should read The Fault in Our Stars. Hell, everybody should read this book – even if you are like me and hate shedding tears or sad endings. Hazel and Gus are so worth the price of swollen eyes and a runny nose. You’ll need an inconvenient amount of tissues, but you’ll come out of the love story of Gus and Hazel glad you finally read it. I sure was! ( )
  One_Curvy_Blogger | Mar 28, 2015 |
I wish I could give this book 100 stars. ( )
  katiejo2324 | Mar 28, 2015 |
I wish I could give this book 100 stars. ( )
  katiejo2324 | Mar 28, 2015 |
The book is a well written story. The author's work was amazing at discovering the funny, tragic, emotional trials of terminal illness and of being young and in love. The book kept my interest and was gut-wrenching to read, especially with the turns in the story. The story was very realistic and believable in nature. This book is definitely for older middle readers with a heavy topic of terminal cancer.
  stacey.abrahamson | Mar 26, 2015 |
I had a hard time choosing a rating for this book. The writing and plot are very good. However, it is ultimately a teenage romance, which is not my cup of tea (I picked it up mainly because it was on the Kindle Book Club list for December).

After thinking about it for a couple of days, it occurred to me that the fact I though of it as a teenage romance was the best reason to give it a higher rating. I didn't think of it as a tragic story (although it is), or as a "teenagers with cancer romance". By weaving the issues of dealing with cancer into the very fabric of his characters, the author made it seem like just another problem. It was as if cancer for these kids was like a case of bad acne. They accepted their illness and, ultimately, would not allow it to define who they were.

( )
  grandpahobo | Mar 23, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 898 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay30 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.37)
0.5 1
1 22
1.5 5
2 75
2.5 21
3 304
3.5 117
4 965
4.5 268
5 1844

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,602,103 books! | Top bar: Always visible