HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9,075832330 (4.4)560
deadgirl's review
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (804)  Spanish (8)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (4)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (830)
Showing 1-25 of 804 (next | show all)
What can I say that hasn't been said better by others?

This was wonderful. I say that even though that particular superlative has been diluted by overuse. I use it in its original sense. This was full of wonder.

I... can't. ( )
  Violetthedwarf | Oct 23, 2014 |
The fictional book The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, displays a love story between characters Hazel and Augustus. Hazel has cancer and a Gustus is a cancer survivor. Having cancer makes Hazel and Augustus’ relationship hard. In the book, 16 year old Hazel did not want to go to the support group. But she soon realises that it was a good idea. Hazel meets a young boy named Augustus Waters. He is charming and witty. Augustus had osteosarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer, but has recently had the all clear. In the book, Hazel and Augustus travel to Amsterdam in search of Peter Van Houten the author of their favorite book. While on their trip Augustus breaks some heartbreaking news to Hazel and both of their worlds fall apart around them.If you enjoy young adult books, full of witty humour and heartbreaking events, this book is perfect for you. It was well written by the author, John Green. I highly recommend this book. ( )
  KaSl14 | Oct 23, 2014 |
This book is about a 15-year old girl named Rachel Grace. She is suffering of Lung cancer and has depressions, ( )
  FelicityT.B4 | Oct 23, 2014 |
The Fault In Our Stars by John Green was about teenage romance, and how love can happen at any age and at any given time no matter the circumstance. Hazel Grace Lancaster was a 16 year old miracle cancer patient. When she was 13 she was expected to die from lung cancer. She kept on fighting and they placed her on Plaxifom which helps her lungs be lungs. She has been on the miracle drug for 3 years, when the story takes place. Her mother thought she needed to go to a support group. Her and another young boy named Isaac met thy had a few conversations trough looks. Isaac was in the support group because he had a cancer in his eyes that caused him to loose both of them. One day in support group Isaac invited one of his close friends named Augustus Waters. Augustus is 17. Hazel and Augustus immediately had a connection. They hung out a couple times and fell in love. Isaac went through a hilarious break up with his girlfriend, and destroyed many of Augustus basketball trophies, that Augustus won when he had both of his legs. August had cancer in his leg forcing the doctors to amputate his leg, now he had a prosthetic leg. Isaac with the cancer in his eye had also a prosthetic/glass eye. He later then found out he would have to have both removed an became completely blind. Augustus and Hazel were obsessed with this book called An Imperial Afflictions. They bonded over it, they had wrote an email to the authors assistant and they, Peter Van Houten and his assistant, said that if they were to every find themselves in Amsterdam to feel free and stop by. They had made plans to go until Hazel woke up and could not breathe and she was in the ER for a few days because they needed to drain her lungs of the fluid that was restricting her from breathing. After that it took a lot of convincing and planning to get Hazel Grace's parents to agree to let the trip to Amsterdam happen. After they got the confirmation that they were going to Amsterdam the informed Peter Van Houten and his assistant. Augustus, Hazel, and Hazel's mom went on the trip. When they go to Amsterdam they were of course jet leg so the first 1 or 2 days they stayed very close to the hotel. After, they went to go meet Peter. They got to his house and he was flat out drunk and so rude. He turned out to be a complete jerk and Hazel decided just to leave. Peter's assistant also could not stand Peter and basically quit and chased after them. They ended up going to the Anne Frank house, which consisted of lots of stairs. Which was a problem for Hazel, but she fought and made it to the top despite that her lungs sucked at being lungs. They rested the next day and walked around, this s when Augustus gave Hazel some bad news. Augustus's cancer had came back, except this time it was everywhere. When Hazel was in the ER he had felt pain and decided to get it checked out. "It light up like a christmas tree" Augustus said trying to be sort of funny. Hazel was crushed and cried, who wouldn't if that was really happening. They had gone back to the states and Augustus got worse and worse and soon was trapped in a wheel chair. Before Augustus died he had a pre- funeral, where he had Hazel and Isaac read there speeches for the actual funeral. Also they all gathered at Isaacs ex-girlfriends house and threw eggs at the car, before the 'pre-funeral'. Augustus had died a few days later, in the ICU. An the funeral happened, however Isaac could not make it through his speech with out crying, which is understandable. After Augustus died Hazel and Isaac became ever closer as friends.

I thought The Fault In Stars was a 5 star rating novel. It had the right amount of comedy, romance, and friendship. I loved the quotes the book contained about life. Like "Im on a roller coaster that only goes up my friend." It talked about how all the side affects of cancer were just side affects of dying, which I believe to be true. Cancer is a side affect of dying and they were not denying it. They were also young and had so much to live for but their cancer was holding them back. Hazel had thyroid cancer, that spread to her lungs. Which causes her to have trouble breathing and its sad for a girl her age. Overall there was just a lot of tragedy in this book. However I do not think this novel was something to cry about. It was sad and devastating but it was fiction the characters are fiction, but this does happen. It is life cancer is just another side affect of dying. An I do not mean to sound insensitive. ( )
  BriannaM.B1 | Oct 23, 2014 |
Hazel Lancaster and Augustus Waters first meet at a cancer support group. Augustus is a cancer survivor and Hazel is living with thyroid cancer that has spread to her lungs. Even though Augustus, or “Gus” as Hazel calls him, survived cancer, his leg was amputated to control the cancer.From the moment Gus and Hazel’s eyes meet he falls for her. On same day they meet, Hazel goes to Gus’s house and watches a movie. Gus gets in touch with the author of one of his and Hazel’s favorite author. To get to Amsterdam, Gus uses his wish from the Make A Wish foundation. When they meet the author of An Imperial Affliction, they find out to their surprise, he is a delusional drunk. After they share a romantic evening, Gus tells Hazel his PET scan results showed that cancer was found all over his body.. Before Gus has his two guest pre-funeral, he asks Hazel to prepare a eulogy for him. Soon after his death, Hazel finds that Gus started writing a story for her just as he had promised.
I thought this book was outstanding because all the happiness, sadness, and the rest of the emotions in the book were felt. John Green wrote with so much detail I saw a movie in my head. The book had an impact on my life and the way I look at the world. He showed what really happens when you fall for someone. I think he did an extraordinary job with this book. I thought it had all the right elements. I loved the way I thought the book was going to end,but it kept on going. I would give this book 5 stars. ( )
  kateh.g1 | Oct 22, 2014 |
Hazel Grace Lancaster was diagnosed with Thyroid cancer at the age of thirteen and that spread to her lungs a couple years later. She has managed to get by with an experimental drug called Phalanxifor( which does not exist outside the book). Augustus had osteosarcoma or a rare bone cancer, but he has had the all clear. Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace meet in a support group for cancer patients. After they meet in support group, Gus invites Hazel into his house to watch a movie. Augustus or “Gus” which Hazel calls him decided to read each others favorite book. Gus gives Hazel his favorite book “ The King Of Dawn” a video game book, and Hazel gives Gus her favorite book “ An Imperial Affliction”. When Gus gets to the end of the book he is surprised that the book ends in mid-sentence. When Hazel Grace and Gus talk on the phone, okay will be their always, instead of Isaac and Monica who always say always to each other. He messages the author “Peter Van Houten” of the book and asks if he can meet him in Amsterdam to discuss if something else was going to happen and if there was going to be another book. Peter jokingly says “Come see me if you are ever in Amsterdam”. Gus shares his wish with Hazel Grace to go see the author of An Imperial Affliction. When they get to Amsterdam, Gus and Hazel Grace go to dinner. The next day they went to go see the Peter in his house and talk about the book. Peter was extremely rude and was also a drunk atic. They had realized that Peter had mistakenly invited them into his home. As they were walking back to their hotel Lidewij Vliegenthart who lives with Peter and takes care of all of the emails asks if they want to go to the Anne Frank house. They say yes. Hazel had a rough time getting up the stairs with her oxygen tank but had soon made it. The next day before they go back, Gus shares some heartbreaking news about his PET lit up like a christmas tree with cancer when Hazel Grace was in the ICU and was unconscious. After they get back Gus asks Hazel Grace and his friend Isaac(who became blind because of his type of cancer)to read their speeches before he Gus dies. A few days later at Augustus’s funeral Peter Van Houten shows up to his funeral and hands Hazel Grace an email that Gus had wrote to Peter about the book. Hazel did not open it until she got home and Isaac had told her that Gus had wrote it. Two things she read or Gus wrote was “The real heroes are not the people doing things; the real heroes are the people NOTICING things, or paying attention”, also “You don't get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man(Peter), but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope Hazel likes hers”. Once she was done reading the entire thing she said to herself “I do, Augustus. I do”.
I thought John Green did a wonderful job writing this novel. He wrote this book with so much emotion. He made it come alive in some ways that you would never believe, and also made it feel engaging. There were some very humorous parts that made me laugh and feel happy. But when Gus dies it made me sad and want to cry. Overall I think The Fault In Our Stars is a wonderful and award winning book to read and also watch. This is the BEST most fantastic book that I have ever read before. ( )
  AbigailR.B1 | Oct 22, 2014 |
Although it is categorized as young adult reading, it has more insight and honesty than many adult books. It has parts with great humor, and parts that are gut retching and raw. Everyone has their own personal point of reference and this book won't be the same/mean the same for everyone, but it seems to have touched something familiar for most people. I don't own this yet, but plan to buy it because it just had too many good quotes/deep thoughts I want to ponder further, at my leisure. ( )
  Terin | Oct 21, 2014 |
I love this book and the movie!!!! I have read this book so many times because it is such a good book.
  amro14 | Oct 20, 2014 |
the more i think about it, the more attached to this book i get. the real review i was going to write for this (i'm not sure whether i will now) had a lot to say about loss, in particular the bereavement i suffered almost exactly a year ago. there's a lot i could say, but the more i think about this book, the more i think i don't have to say it, because someone else already has. which is pretty neat, all in.

also:

“There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.”

and:

“The book was turned to the page with Anne Frank's name, but what got me about it was the fact that right beneath her name there were four Aron Franks. FOUR. Four Aron Franks without museums, without historical markers, without anyone to mourn them. I silently resolved to remember and pray for the four Aron Franks as long as I was around.”

and:

“I thought of my dad telling me that the universe wants to be noticed but what we want is to be noticed by the universe, to have the universe give a shit what happens to us - not the collective idea of sentient life but each of us as individuals.”

good god, hazel, you are a girl after my own heart. ( )
  humblewomble | Oct 19, 2014 |
It was a great read about how adolescent overcame the unique challenges that they faced. ( )
  timlimster | Oct 17, 2014 |
started reading the fault in our stars, and fell in love with it. it's an amazing amazing book. ( )
  Ewasha | Oct 16, 2014 |
The story of Hazel, a sixteen-year-old with lung cancer who meets Augustus at a cancer support group. Together, Augustus and Hazel experience the joy of falling in love for the first time and the devastating highs and lows of living life knowing that it will end too soon. Augustus, who has recovered from osteosarcoma, uses his wish from a charity for terminally-ill children to take Hazel and her mother to meet the author of Hazel’s favorite book in Amsterdam and learn what happened after the book’s unsatisfying conclusion. Although Hazel and Augustus never learn how that story ended, they are able to ensure that their own young lives will end with greater meaning. A thrilling, beautiful, and poignant story of love and loss that shows how deeply impactful young love can be. The characters’ individuality and courage as they cope with tragedy will touch and inspire readers of all ages. Sure to be a classic for many years to come because of its relevancy and universal themes. Highly recommended. Ages 13 & up. ( )
  alovett | Oct 16, 2014 |
This is a must read. Teenagers and adults alike. The movie is wonderful as well but it doesn't compare to the book. This will be a favorite for me for all times I'm sure. A modern day Romeo and Juliet. ( )
  SarahWinter | Oct 13, 2014 |
Wonderfully written. You can feel what the characters are going through and it is not sugar coated. ( )
  cansmith313 | Oct 13, 2014 |
Two teenagers, Hazel and Augustus.
Both had cancers. They met in a
support group and apparently the
two fell in love with each other.
I thought it was a happy ending
story. But you know. There has to
be a plot twist.
Honestly, I cried when Gus died. I
think everyone did.
This is such a good book. ( )
  Perco | Oct 11, 2014 |
I don't have much of a review, but whatever this ends up being, will be spoiler free. I was already spoiled on how the book will end, and I thought that by knowing it would lose its effect. I've never been so wrong. The last few chapters just hit me out of no where, and I was in shambles. Both Hazel and Gus are just so very real that it's hard not to feel something for either of them. Even if it is a fictional book. ( )
  darkartsy | Oct 10, 2014 |
Despite the morose subject of kids having cancer, there is just enough random and irreverent humor to make it an enjoyable read. A box of tissues may come in handy for some. ( )
  poetreegirl | Oct 9, 2014 |
A book that will forever be a favorite......one that made me laugh and cry. ( )
  avidbookcollector | Oct 8, 2014 |
For those of you living in a cave without access to internet or television, The Fault in Our Stars is about 2 teenagers living with and dying of cancer. It's sad. Not sad enough to make me cry, shockingly, because I love to cry at sad books and movies. Out of Africa makes me sob hard enough to throw myself on the couch wailing. But I digress.

If you don't know the story, I refuse to spoil it for you. Just read it. It's pretty good. And I have read the criticisms that Hazel and Augustus don't talk or act like typical teenagers. It's because they aren't. They are dying, they are a little bit hipster, and they have been forced to look their own mortality in the eye and deal with it. I can't imagine what that would feel like at 16, and I would bet neither can you. Their witty banter and interesting conversations are what kept me from the eye rolling, honestly. The part that bugged me most was her father. Please stop crying about everything around your daughter. Man up, dude. She's the one dying. It struck me as incredibly selfish.

TL:DR. Cancer sucks, and this book is sad. ( )
  GovMarley | Oct 7, 2014 |
I saw The Fault in Our Stars in the movie theatre this summer and fell in love, instantly wanting to read the book. I'm not much of a reader and so wasn't sure if i would read it, but i decided to anyway.

This book is so amazing for many reasons, it gives you a real life situation that could happen to anyone and plays with your feelings constantly throughout the book making you fall in love with Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace Lancaster. This book will make you smile, laugh, cry, and so much more. When Hazel and Gus are in Amsterdam and at dinner and Gus professes his love for Hazel, makes me smile, or when Gus gets sick (sorry if you haven't read the book) it makes my cry.

This book does a great job explaining how Hazel feels that once she is dead she wants her family and friends to still have a life and "not just stare at walls." She didn't want people to be hurt because of her, "im a grenade Gus, and soon im going to explode and when i do, im going to take everyone down with me, and i feel its my job to minimize the pain." she feels it is her job to keep everybody happy. ( )
  sarahfladeland | Oct 3, 2014 |
The fault in our stars was an amazing romantic book that forced you to fall in love with every character. You feel the pain of each character and while you read it you feel like yours in the book watching two people falling in love. Every character had there own fears but they learn to overcome them for love. The scenes were very detailed and every word fills you with emotion.

I can't relate to the story but i believe some readers out there maybe. Some people may have fallen in love, but for those who have not , its nice to watch someone truly fall in love. even when they aren't in the right condition.

I would recommend this book to everyone because it is taps in to boys and girls emotions and show what true love is. If men were to cry while reading this book, you would not be able to judge them because it truly is tragic yet an amazing book.
  46878 | Oct 3, 2014 |
the fault in our stars shows you a love connection so strong you feel the connection between each character as if you are in a world of your own. where there are you times you feel a tear streaming down your face, there are also times where you are cracking up, blushing, and smiling.

the book showed the feelings of hazel graze by saying things like. "no i cant i dont want to hurt you" by comparing herself to a grenade and saying eventually she is going to explode and take down everyone in her wake. when there is a plot twist and the unexpected happens i can feel her weaps of pain, and she is completeley open to you about how she feels about her friends.

while the entire time i thought hazel was going to lie down and "fall asleep" they catch you off guard and completely change your thoughts and feelings. Although the feeling of depression and sadness is thrown at you, you can completely feel a light inside you that makes you happy.

Overall this book is amazing. i reccomend it to anyone who hasnt read it. Youll be able to feel the characters love, be given goose bumps in the chill of cancer, and feel a warm blanket wrapped around you with the love and great friends hazel is given
  savonnah_payne | Oct 3, 2014 |
The Fault in Our Stars was a wonderful well rounded book.

It pulled out lots of very different emotions such as laughter, happiness, nervousness, and sadness. The most evident emotion is depression but while you are reading there is still rays of sunshine through their small infinite of love.

The words of John Green used really pulled you in to Hazel and Augustus's world through all of the walks on the park, nerve-racking doctors appointments, and blissful dates in Amsterdam. But, she even compared herself as a grenade because she doesn't want to hurt anyone in her wake. The book created pictures in your mind like no other, how it'd inscribed Hazels hair, her, outfits, and personality from Augustus's point of view. It also can show there love for each other even though they both know they are ticking time bomb.

I very much recommend this book to everyone looking for a sad love story.
  gsevern | Oct 3, 2014 |
This book is a great!! It really gets you emotionally attached each time you get into the book! Once you get in you can't get out. I felt many emotions but the one that stood out to me the most was sadness, depression but even if it was sad ,the book made me happy, excited, nervous, anxious you always want to know more. there wasn't a time I thought this book was boring.

John green put a lot of imagery, similes, and much more figurative language such as the saying "there will come a time all us are dead". He made me feel like I was actually in the book, the movie was always running through my head. He was a great author who had great passion, he showed the characters feelings in a way that I have never seen before.

Overall this was a great book and I really recommend you read it! ( )
  xokenzs | Oct 3, 2014 |
Amazing book, there are so many emotions you will cry, smile, and laugh.

The author John Greene was very relateable you can compare yourself to the characters and they actually become your friends.

John Greene shaped the book perfectly it is not about cancer which most people think that it is about, it is really about two teenagers falling in love with each other. The book is a modern love story that will have you hooked on it by the first sentence.

I absolutely recommend this book to teenager and adults it will have you on your toes the whole time. I ❤️ TFIOS
  39108 | Oct 3, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 804 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay28 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.4)
0.5 1
1 19
1.5 4
2 60
2.5 18
3 248
3.5 105
4 844
4.5 254
5 1684

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,387,710 books! | Top bar: Always visible