HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8,951809335 (4.4)553
deadgirl's review
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (774)  Spanish (8)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (4)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (800)
Showing 1-25 of 774 (next | show all)
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberexcel | Sep 30, 2014 |
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberexcel | Sep 30, 2014 |
I completely and utterly fell in love with The Fault in Our Stars. Shockingly so, as I am not one to usually read YA books for their overwhelmingly present drama that comes with youth and most especially high school. However, John Green has a way with his words that just makes it impossible not to fall for his characters.
It was egregiously difficult to put this book down and know that I would no longer be intertwined in the ever so complicated lives of Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters. However, unlike the "great and terrible Van Houten," I do not feel that the fictitious characters cease to exist when the story ends. They will live forever in my mind, not that I will live forever in this world, but in the small infinity of time in which I continue to exist.
I have not laughed nor cried so much within the covers of one novel in a long time. I highly recommend this book to anyone with a beating human heart. It is a rollercoaster that only goes up, my friend. Okay? Okay. ( )
  tielwingsmama | Sep 29, 2014 |
I completely and utterly fell in love with The Fault in Our Stars. Shockingly so, as I am not one to usually read YA books for their overwhelmingly present drama that comes with youth and most especially high school. However, John Green has a way with his words that just makes it impossible not to fall for his characters.
It was egregiously difficult to put this book down and know that I would no longer be intertwined in the ever so complicated lives of Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters. However, unlike the "great and terrible Van Houten," I do not feel that the fictitious characters cease to exist when the story ends. They will live forever in my mind, not that I will live forever in this world, but in the small infinity of time in which I continue to exist.
I have not laughed nor cried so much within the covers of one novel in a long time. I highly recommend this book to anyone with a beating human heart. It is a rollercoaster that only goes up, my friend. Okay? Okay. ( )
  tielwingsmama | Sep 29, 2014 |
I completely and utterly fell in love with The Fault in Our Stars. Shockingly so, as I am not one to usually read YA books for their overwhelmingly present drama that comes with youth and most especially high school. However, John Green has a way with his words that just makes it impossible not to fall for his characters.
It was egregiously difficult to put this book down and know that I would no longer be intertwined in the ever so complicated lives of Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters. However, unlike the "great and terrible Van Houten," I do not feel that the fictitious characters cease to exist when the story ends. They will live forever in my mind, not that I will live forever in this world, but in the small infinity of time in which I continue to exist.
I have not laughed nor cried so much within the covers of one novel in a long time. I highly recommend this book to anyone with a beating human heart. It is a rollercoaster that only goes up, my friend. Okay? Okay. ( )
  tielwingsmama | Sep 29, 2014 |
I will add more later because at the moment I don't fully know how I feel about this. ( )
  lushrain | Sep 29, 2014 |
Top 10 favorite for me! ( )
  kburgett | Sep 27, 2014 |
I was expecting this book not to live up to it's hype ...
But oh how I was wrong ! I've read this book 1 sitting and it was magnificent.
It was funny, heartbreaking and a massive tearjerker ! ( )
  lisa.isselee | Sep 26, 2014 |
Even though I'm only half way through the book right now, I can still say that the book is very enjoyable. I know the book is very sad, but as long as you're ready, you should be fine. Overall I feel like you should definitely read this book, because the story is so good. ( )
  AlexVanHeusden | Sep 25, 2014 |
I never thought I could ever have my heart broken by a novel, but The Fault in Our Stars did that and so much more. I laughed and cried harder than I have since I don't know when. It was brilliant, remarkable, and infinitely quotable - though some infinities are bigger than other infinities. ( )
  strongasanoak | Sep 25, 2014 |
This book made me cry more than I have ever cried about a book. It might be an easy win (teens with cancer) but I still loved the book!! ( )
  BrittanyElsen | Sep 24, 2014 |
The only reason i give it a 4 star and not a 5 star is the ending was so sad i was bawling my eyes out. It is an absolutely AWESOME story about teens and cancer and dealing with dying. (that's not a spoiler?). I was so hoping for a slightly different ending, but according to my daughter is was the perfect way to go.

I 100% recommend this to anyone-adult or YA. ( )
  LoriBom | Sep 23, 2014 |
Would have given it 4 but van houten sucked. Especially the van houten Indy bull. Definitely made me think of love story and walk to remember. Probably going to reread love story immediately and cry like a baby. This didn't make me cry; but I had spoilers. Better than I was expecting and yes folks, apparently I have a heart. ( )
  KatieEmilySmith | Sep 23, 2014 |
The book is written in such an intelligent way. You have the tragic story of a sick teenager, but this one is so refreshing. It is full of light-hearted and funny moments, with Hazel's interactions with her parents and friends. Everything seems so realistic. Hazel's personality is perfect for a teenage girl with what she is going through, her parents and her friends are even spot on. The book does it right, with being funny at the right times and being sad at the right times. It has the perfect balance as you are never emotionally overwhelmed and you are not too distracted to not feel. Really all I can say is this book was excellent. ( )
  renbedell | Sep 23, 2014 |
Read on September 13, 2014

Read for Fun (Library)
Overall Rating: 3.75
Story Rating: 3.75
Character Rating: 3.75

Read It File It (short review): I believe that The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is one that I should have read before seeing the movie. I think knowing what happened changed my "reading" experience. That said, I would recommend it to people (young, old, and everyone in between). The story is one that I think can spur important conversations among young people and that is truly the best mark any book can have on the world. ( )
  thehistorychic | Sep 22, 2014 |
This was an excellent audiobook and story. It took John Green 11 years to put this book together, and it was well worth the time and effort spent. ( )
  recipe_addict | Sep 21, 2014 |
I had a lot of reasons to read this book. I love the Green brothers on youtube. This book is soon to be a movie. I wanted to have an opinion in the debate on whether John Green is really the most brilliant YA author of our time or if he is just benefitting from a lot of unearned privilege being a white male in a genre predominantly written by women.

Plus, it amused me to put a hold on a library book and be the 78th in line.

It will surprise no one to know that I cried and cried and cried. And while I'm generally very suspicious of Emotional Manipulation and I'm really still very angry about Steinbeck's Of Mice and Men, I didn't feel like this book was manipulative for its own sake. I didn't feel like it was the profoundest book that explained Life, The Universe, and Everything, either. I feel fairly middle of the road about it, though reading 2 and 3 star reviews to see if anyone else has been able to explain my ambivalence, I mostly felt irritated at the criticisms and got more and more defensive of the book.

It's about cancer, okay? And it's about kids who have cancer. Kids who have been staring down a death sentence for years. So of course it's about what life is and what death is and mostly avoids easy answers, even as it alternatively mocks and empathizes with those who cling to aphorisms and Positive Truths. There is some meta-playfulness as the two main characters obsess over a book with a character who also has cancer, and even meet the author. There are good moments and a lot of shitty moments. There is black gallows humor. And somehow, after Green blows the entire world apart, he sets it together again.

That alone, I'd call a worthy accomplishment. ( )
  greeniezona | Sep 20, 2014 |
So I'm lying here on my bed on a damp pillow, puffy eyes and used tissues next to me. I barely slept, spent all night and all morning trying to finish it. And every minute was really damned worth it.

( )
  ku. | Sep 20, 2014 |
So I'm lying here on my bed on a damp pillow, puffy eyes and used tissues next to me. I barely slept, spent all night and all morning trying to finish it. And every minute was really damned worth it.

( )
  ku. | Sep 20, 2014 |
Note I sent to Abigail after finishing: Finished The Fault in Our Stars half an hour ago. Read the acknowledgements, the author's bio, and then turned back to chapter 1 and started reading it again. Won't be able to finish again because it's already overdue at the library. Bummer.
  FKarr | Sep 19, 2014 |
Really…what am I going to say about this book that hasn’t been said already? This was my first John Green book. Thus far, its been the only John Green book. I may be in the minority here, but I wasn’t totally swept up in the book. I can give you one reason. Peter Van Houten. I was totally into the story, into the characters, very much involved with the story until they went to Amsterdam and met him. Everything fell apart at that point.

Read more at: http://thenovelworld.com/2014/09/09/book-review-the-fault-in-our-stars-by-john-g... ( )
  TheNovelWorld | Sep 19, 2014 |
Page turning & tear jerking YA that just manages to avoid being cloying. I imagine middle grade & ya readers (who it is aimed at) will be more engaged, but this stuffy middle aged guy enjoyed it too. it really is feeling-porn but not necessarily in a bad way. ( )
  nnschiller | Sep 18, 2014 |
this being a side effect of dying... ( )
  aeromaxtran | Sep 17, 2014 |
A moving and funny story of young doomed lovers - two kids who have cancer and how they deal with it. As an adult outside of the target age range, I enjoyed the book tremendously but wasn't IN LOVE with it like my teenaged daughter. The dialogue is witty, the plot is compelling, and the feelings/story is honest and true. I much preferred John Green's WILL GRAYSON WILL GRAYSON. ( )
  sylliu | Sep 15, 2014 |
The reason John Green's books are so successful is because he writes teens as they would like to be. Not perfect, precocious, thinking about the profound things in life, in love -but not so in love that you're silly-, etc.

I think that's the main thing that I get from this book. I liked it, but there's no way that any teen thinks and talks like Hazel and Gus. These characters are the teens that teenagers would want to be. Someone who "walks lightly" on the earth and tries not to harm anyone. The unsung hero. Someone who wants to be something or do something that can change the world, but is realistic enough to realize it probably won't happen.

It's a good book. Strong voice, strong characters. A touch pretentious, but that's alright.

The best moment was probably the scene in the gas station where Hazel has to just recite poetry like it was a lifeline.

3.5 stars rounded down. It's not amazing, but it is above average. Still, I am just too old for this book. I feel like I am past the emotions this book is trying to elicit. ( )
  NineLarks | Sep 15, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 774 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay28 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.4)
0.5 1
1 18
1.5 4
2 60
2.5 18
3 240
3.5 99
4 819
4.5 248
5 1648

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,965,309 books! | Top bar: Always visible