HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9,885890287 ()585
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
English (865)  Spanish (7)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (3)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Catalan (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (889)
Showing 1-25 of 865 (next | show all)
The pain need to be felt and that is what it feels like.Death is a phenomenon , a thing that you can never prevent and think of how it affects others ,those who love you.We all want to be remembered . You can't help it, but here is girl who want to leave as if there existed none like that.
Universe likes those who study it and it unravels its beauty for those who are willing to observe, it cares less for any individual lives. ( )
  durgaprsd04 | Feb 25, 2015 |
Turned out to be a pretty good read despite the underlying depressing theme. The story of love between two people in dire straits seemed fake to me, but the idea had a fairy-tale quality to it.

I wouldn't read it again, but it was a decent one-read book. ( )
  hazysaffron | Feb 17, 2015 |
I enjoyed this read. I picked it up to read in conjunction with my two nieces (we read together sometimes) and we all agreed that the sarcasm and angst made it great fun in spite of the heavy content. Even talked my husband into watching the movie (against his better judgment) and he really enjoyed it. ( )
  KarenKimsey | Feb 16, 2015 |
THE FAULT IN OUR STARS Review THE FAULT IN OUR STARS dismantled me. The power of its writing is nearly unmatched in my eyes. John Green expertly toyed with my emotions, offering levity in the midst of tragedy, joy where despondence grew thick. He handled cancer in a way I'd never seen before: highlighting the soul-crushing reality of imminent death with a deft prose, and stating, quite honestly, that not everyone passes from the world with their dignity. These characters laid themselves bare to me, and I openly wept at the extremity of their destruction.
 
There are two twists in this story: the first one concerning Augustus (which I saw coming), and the final one, wherein a certain someone shows up at a funeral (which I did not see coming). The book is flawlessly constructed. As I mentioned before, Green drifts from comedy to heartbreaking drama and back again in a fluid state of grace. I've read many tragedies before, but none had the impact of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. Either an author can manage tears, or laughter. Rarely both. Nor can they offer either consistently. I know it's a cliche thing to say, but if I wasn't laughing, I was crying. Either way, Green engaged and enthralled me. 
 
This is my first taste of young adult literary fiction. I've read plenty of coming-of-age stories, but never have I read something this achingly real. Let me add this one caveat: The teenagers in this book are all rather precocious, and do not speak as one expects adolescents these days to speak. Do kids this age talk in such a way? I believe they exist, but are few and far between. To have so many well-spoken kids in one novel was, at times, hard to swallow, but the book is so hard to put down that this one minor complaint did not detract from my overall enjoyment. To clarify, I do not believe this generation of teens is stupid, but Hazel, Gus, Isaac, and even Kaitlyn (what little she's in the book) talk with the experience and intelligence of college professors. Green seemed to realize this, and decided to through in near-constant "likes" and "whatevers" to make them sound more youthful.
 
At first, Green's novel reminded me quite a bit of the Mandy Moore/Shane West movie A WALK TO REMEMBER. Had Hazel and Gus gotten married, I think it would have been borderline plagiarism, but then Green threw in the twist with Gus, and I threw all comparisons to that film out of the window.
 
Peter Van Houten was probably one of my favorite characters, as was Hazel's trip to Amsterdam, in my opinion, one of the best parts of the book. I was there, in that aged city, walking those streets, dining with Gus and Hazel, sipping bubbly, screaming at my Kindle during their encounter with the reclusive author, clapping while they kissed inside the Anne Frank Museum... I could rave on and on about those chapters, but I'd be spoiling a great deal. Just telling you when and where they kiss is a pretty big spoiler, so my apologies. I'm still not editing it out of my review, so... there!
 
Since I am new to YA, I had no idea I'd happen upon sex and cussing, but this book features both, albeit the sex was off-camera and handled respectfully. As for as language, there were more than a handful of variations of "shit" with one f-bomb toward the end, as is allowed in most PG-13 movies. Still, it was unexpected, but more than fitting. 
 
Hazel's parents were responsible for most of the tears I shed while reading. I can't even imagine how I would respond to one of my children being diagnosed with a terminal illness, but I believe it would be akin to Hazel's father's response: Crying. Lots and lots of man-bawling. That brings me to another reason I felt so much for these characters: I'm a father. My kids are my greatest accomplishment, my dearest creation. I saw my daughter in Hazel, and my son in Gus. That, in and of itself, tore me to pieces. 
 
In summation, I will not soon forget THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. Startlingly vibrant, flesh and blood people inhabit these pages. John Green manages to write about cancer victims without making them heroic, which was ballsy, to say the least. He does this by exposing their weaknesses, by allowing us to witness the ugliest parts of incurable disease. I applaud Green for tackling such horrors in a tender fashion. Especially the section where Hazel finds Gus in his car at the gas station. That took guts to write, and is a scene that will resound in my mind for years to come.
 
My highest possible recommendation.
 
WARNING: Buy a Sam's Club-size crate of Kleenex before attempting to read THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. 
 
(Also, if there are errors in this review, my apologies. I stayed up all night reading this book, and will edit with a fresh pair of eyes when I'm more... wakeful.) ( )
  Edward.Lorn | Feb 13, 2015 |
This is a great, easy read that only took me a day. I enjoyed it eventhough I found some parts a bit predictable. ( )
  DeborahCThomas | Feb 12, 2015 |
This book should seriously come with a "warning label" attached to it. You will laugh, you will smile, you will get angry but most of all you will cry. I'm talking, red eyes, nose running, don't look at me, what the hell are you looking at crying.

Two teenagers fall in love, take a trip despite their health and are let down immensely. But through it all, they have the support of their friends, their family and most importantly each other. The story does take a twist mid way and you just want to yell and say no no no no. Unfortunately no is yes and despite the outcome, things turn out to be, you know, OKAY! ( )
  salirce | Feb 11, 2015 |
I enjoyed it. Not something I'd usually read, given the subject matter, but the endless supply of snark really helped me through. ( )
  ohkamikaze | Feb 11, 2015 |
like they all said I would, I wept. ( )
  littlebirdreads | Feb 10, 2015 |
I read this as the summer reading for our school. I went into it hesitantly as I had read Finding Alaska and though I liked that book it was still hard to swallow and left me thinking about it long after the book was done. It seems that John Green has the talent to do that. Thought provoking, real, heart breaking and heart lifting. ( )
  whybehave2002 | Feb 4, 2015 |
I bought this book as a gift for my grand daughter who is almost 15. She was thrilled with the book. I decided to read it also she finished. I'm glad I did. A very touching story. We also saw the movie. What a tear jerker. ( )
  lauren.nagel | Jan 31, 2015 |
Ugh.

I'm sorry, I'm so sorry, but I was terribly, disastrously disappointed. Incredibly, irrevocably disappointed.

I started this book off with the knowledge that I would probably cry. But you know what? I didn't cry.

Not. Once.

Sure, I felt a terrible sadness at the sad points of this book, but I didn't shed a tear. Not like I did when I read [b:Before I Die|1314332|Before I Die|Jenny Downham|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1348002855s/1314332.jpg|3128767] and not like I did when I read [b:My Sister's Keeper|10917|My Sister's Keeper|Jodi Picoult|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1369504683s/10917.jpg|1639903]. THOSE are books worth crying about. Books that MAKE you cry and you don't even realise it.

So anyway, I didn't cry at all. All I felt was annoyance, sadness and anger. Annoyance at the fact that Augustus Waters (stupid, stupid name) and Hazel spoke like super sophisticated, drink-tea-in-china-cups-only super old pensioners. Take this quote for example:

" I'm in love with you, and I'm not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasures of saying true things. I'm in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we're all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we'll ever have, and I am in love with you."

Okay, yeah, it's beautiful. But NO sixteen/seventeen year old speaks like that. NO ONE. Not even the Royal Children speak like that, and they would have an excuse to. So although it's a lovely quote, I just laughed a bit. Because if Augustus had turned around and said, "I've loved you since the first time I laid eyes on you" it would have been a much nice, more believeable way of saying it.

Sadness at the fact that this books is about cancer, because cancer will always be a sad, sad subject. I don't think anyone has accomplished writing a happy book about cancer.

And anger. Anger at the characters that didn't have much depth at all, an adventure that seemed slightly wrought-out and boring and an ending that disappointed greatly.

Hazel, I kind of like. She's more realistic about everything. She doesn't hide the fact that she is going to die and she tries to get people to accept it which, by the way, is fair play to her.

But even she speaks like a sort-of-probable moron. In fact, here's a funny thing:

AUGUSTUS AND HAZEL SOUND EXACTLY THE SAME

In fact, when Augustus got introduced in the novel, my immediate thought was, "Oh, so he's, like, the man version of Hazel? That's not cool." And to be honest, it got very, very tedious.

To be even MORE honest, the only character I actually really, really liked was Van Houten.

And you know why?

He actually seemed real. He acted like a horrid person, who lost his daughter at the age of 8 to leukaemia, and although he spoke even funnier than Augustus and Hazel put together, it actually made sense for him to. It made sense for him to drink himself into oblivion, act like a total arse and generally be a recluse and hate humanity. I get him. I totally do and I love him for it.

And you want another reason why?

Because that's how I imagine John Green is. I imagine he DOES love himself, and the way he writes, and his books, and I 100% believe that he based Van Houten's character on himself.

I'm even willing to go as far as saying that he probably never responds to fan mail, never reads emails that aren't exclusively about work, and I'm even surer that, although he's an okay writer, he probably thinks he's a modernised version of Shakespeare.

So yeah, the book was okay. I'm disappointed. I'll probably end up reading it again and to be honest, I'm slightly disappointed that Augustus died and not Hazel, considering from the outset, Green made it clear she was going to die and honestly, I think he got too attached and decided to kill off Augustus to buy Hazel some time, but only succeeded in making the book more crappy.

Sorry, Green. I might be one of the few people who actually didn't enjoy this book. ( )
  Aly_Locatelli | Jan 26, 2015 |
This was a great book. The story is a simple one of a girl going through cancer and a boy she meets at support group and falls in love with. The things they discuss are thought provoking and touching.

Although I struggle to believe any real life teenagers are *quite* this existentially oriented, speaking with a college level vocabulary, I found the characters to be relatable and likable. The story was well paced, and the emotions John Green evokes through his writing definitely make this worth reading. ( )
  AlbinoRhino | Jan 25, 2015 |
Thoroughly readable and engaging though sappy. Love Story in 2014. Enjoyed the humor. A few sublime passages and phrases like the one framing their love within the infinite numbers between 0 and 1 (end of chapter 20) or at the end "Hazel is different...She walks lightly upon the earth." ( )
  amaraki | Jan 25, 2015 |
This was one of those books that makes me feel like a bad person for not liking it. I keep seeing all of these five star ratings and I just don't get it. I felt that this book was extremely over-hyped when really, this book was mediocre at best. The only thing I can really say is that I didn't hate it, which is a start, but I was also no were close to loving it. It was merely okay.

The first problem I had was that I didn't buy into the characters. I didn't find them realistic at all. I thought that the relationship between Gus and Hazel was over done. An odd way to describe it but that's the phrasing that comes to mind. I remember rolling my eyes during their dinner in Amsterdam because it was too perfect. That was not the dinner of teenagers but the dinner of a couple on their honeymoon. Even then, I would have rolled my eyes. It was like eating a candy that was too sweet, and despite how much you want to eat it, you just can't make yourself swallow it. That was that scene.

I also thought that their teenage banter sounded more like a desperate attempt for John Green to be witty. Teens don't talk like this. It almost got to the point when I would want to skip long sections of dialogue just because it annoyed me how unrealistic their banter was. I also don't know if John Green knows this or not, but sarcastically talking about your terminal cancer is not something knew in the cancer writing world. Also, he did it too often. Some meaningful thoughts and emotions would have been nice rather than touching on sometime profound and then ending it with a one-liner. This happened all the time.

The "plot twist" really wasn't a twist. Maybe if it weren't written in first person from Hazel's point of view it might have been, but since she was narrating it was pretty obvious what was going to happen. That is my problem with books written in first person. Especially books that have life threatening situations, the narrator obviously lives through it all. It takes out that element of suspense that make books so much fun to read. Of course, there is the possibility that the author didn't actually mean for this to be a plot twist, but I have heard it referred to as such so many times that that is how I think of it. A highly predictable plot twist.

There are more issues that I have with the book, but since I would be risking giving away spoilers I am not going to go further into it. Overall, I was disappointed in this book. I was expecting to laugh and to cry like everyone told me I would, but I did neither. I was left not wanting to read anything written in the last four years since everything I have read so far that is currently popular has been disappointing. (Except for Game of Thrones. That series is freaking awesome.) Maybe The Night Circus will treat me better. I'm trying to go in with an open mind.

I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone. It just wasn't worth the time it took to read it (which wasn't long, granted, but still) and I didn't take anything out of it other than, "Eh, it was alright." If you're just searching for a quick read, this is an option, but I know there are better quick reads out there than this. Don't fall for the hype, because this book falls way short. ( )
  kell1732 | Jan 25, 2015 |
The Fault in our Stars by John Green definitely caught me way off guard in the way that I did not think I was going to love it as much as I did. This book is an emotional love story that completely captivates the reader into the adorable yet incredibly sad plot. When I read this book, I never wanted to put it down because from the first few minutes when I started it I was hooked. I started and finished this book in just a few days. I have read a few other John Green books such as Looking for Alaska which I also thought was amazing, but I definitely have to say this John Green book was my favorite. Another thing I loved about this book was that it wasn't a typical love story that ended in a happily ever after where the guy gets the girl and they fall in love. This book was more mature and sophisticated because both characters suffer through different types of life threatening illnesses. This book wasn't predictable, and unless one saw the movie or was told prior to reading how the book ends, I doubt that they would have guessed. The Fault in our Stars had that aww factor at moments; For example, when Augustus and Hazel went to Amsterdam together. When Augustus first saw Hazel all dressed up before he took her to dinner, it was really adorable how sweet they were being to each other. But just how fast it got cute; It got very upsetting. Overall, this book was touching and heartbreaking but an amazing read. ( )
  kristinjaspers | Jan 22, 2015 |
Ok ok I am not going to go into to much details about This amazing book because I think everybody knows what this book is about. But I will tell you all the truth TFIOS caught me why off guard I really did't think I was going to love this book so much as I do now. Let me start from the beginning I was really procrastinating to read TFIOS for some time when I got it out of the library, because I read Looking For Alaska first by John Green and I think that was a big mistake to start that book first. I am not say Looking For Alaska was not a good book it really was a good book but it was not my favorite book by John Green. I really did enjoy the plot and the story of Looking of Alaska I just didn't care for the main characters of it which kind of bummed me out just a little bit but I really did enjoy the book over all. So that's why I was really procrastinating and took some time to when I finally read TFIOS and Ohh boy when I finally read it I was hooked line and sinker. The hype for TFIOS is so true this book was a really beautiful heartbroken story that I could not put this book down at all that I finished it in two days. I just loved everything in TFIOS especially the characters. My heart just hurt for everything they were going through, and I totally understand there personality and they way there were acting towards there friends and family member just heart wrenching. All in all I say TFIOS is one of my favorite books by John Green that I will never forget. Now I most definitely going to try John Green other books out as well. Well Until Next Time My Friends. ( )
  Katiria_Rodriguez | Jan 21, 2015 |
I didn't want to love this book, because Green's teenagers are always just a little too twee for me. I don't mind YA characters being aspirational--I'm guessing most teenagers love to imagine themselves as quick-witted and sophisticate as the ones Green creates--but his cross the line into unbelievability. Quoting from philosophers and obscure literary texts at age 16? Really, now, John Green? Really?

But I did love this book, tweeness or not, predictable plot turns or not. It's simply wonderfully written and compulsively readable. ( )
  CherieDooryard | Jan 20, 2015 |
The Fault in Our Stars is and "epic" love story, where two teenagers fall in love. But this is no ordinary love story, where the boy gets the girl and they live happily ever after.The Fault in Our Stars is much more complex. John Green's use of grammar gives the mood a little more of sophistication as opposed to your average love story where the twitter-pated couple confess their love for each other and do crazy teenage things together. Hazel Lancaster, a 16 year old girl whom has cancer, is a college student. She is much more sophisticated than other girls her age. She doesn't really have many friends because she is not in school. however, she does meet Augustus Waters at a support group for cancer patients. Augustus and Hazel begin to talk and share their favorite books with each other. They become good and close friends. It becomes apparent that they are hiding their feelings, and Hazel states why she believes that they should be nothing more than just friends. She says that she is a grenade, and that she is going to "obliterate" everything in her path, and that she just wants to minimize the causalities. She pretty much is afraid to hurt anyone because of her sickness . Which breaks Augusts' heart, because he once before dated a girl whom had cancer and had died.

Later on, Augustus and Hazel go to Amsterdam together to meet the author to An Imperial Affliction(the book which Hazel had loaned to Augustus), named Peter Van Houten. Hazel and Augustus end up confessing their love for each other while in Amsterdam, and they somewhat make their relationship "official". However, Augustus has some bad news for Hazel. He found out just before they left to Amsterdam that he has cancer. All over his in body. He tells Hazel, and they accept the fact that "this world, is not a wish granting factory."

A few weeks after their visit to Amsterdam, Hazel receives a phone call in the middle of the night from Augustus. He had a problem with his tubes, and he was sent into the hospital. A few weeks after that, Hazel's Mother received a phone call in the middle of the night. It was Augustus' mother. She had called to tell their family that Augustus Waters had passed away.

The Fault in Our stars is a real tear jerking love story. ( )
  ailaina | Jan 20, 2015 |
An absolutely stunning book which I couldn't stop crying at! John Green knows how to write where it's sad but then happy and yet, the writing is flawless! Would certainly recommend it... ( )
  KatherineB729 | Jan 16, 2015 |
Oddly, at the end I didn't feel teary-eyed at all. I just felt vaguely bored.

I blame [b:Wonder|11387515|Wonder|R.J. Palacio|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1366213431s/11387515.jpg|16319487]. ( )
  IsaboeOfLumatere | Jan 14, 2015 |
Had to read the book before I saw the movie, and wasn't disappointed. Sweet and salty story of two cancer-stricken teens, their friendship and love. ( )
  marcal | Jan 13, 2015 |
This was a very good book, but why are so many people sucking this guy's dick over it? Maybe I'm a heartless bastard (a good argument could be made for this), but I didn't even cry while reading it or when I finished it. Why are there so many weepy people out there?

It does make me want to check out some of Mr. Green's other books, though.

And that concludes my weak-ass review. ( )
  zenslave | Jan 13, 2015 |
The Fault in our Stars is an epic love story about two teenagers Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace, with cancer.Hazel and Augustus meet in a cancer support group and start to become friends. As time goes by Hazel and Augustus grow closer and closer as friends, and then become boyfriend and girlfriend.One day Hazel got super sick and had to go back to the hospital followed and everything changed from then on. Hazel and Augustus wrote fan mail to her favorite author only to discover that that author does not care.The author does not tell them how that book ends and kicks them out. Later Augustus dies and Hazel goes to his funeral and talks about him.Then she finds a paper that Augutus wrote, and that's it.

The Fault in our Stars for me is a five out of five! It was a book filed with events that make you want to cry , laugh or have tears of joy. It was so sweet and sad at the same time. It was romantic and it had everything, but action.For me it was a book that I think that deserves to be a classic later in times. It is so realistic and I love it because of that. It does deserve five stars. ( )
  Kaiah.g1 | Jan 12, 2015 |
This book made me bawl; not just cry, but bawl. It was truly sad, in a way that I couldn't even get through the short, light (in terms of language, not subject matter) book in one sitting. I just had to take breaks from it because it was that upsetting. I'm all for sad stories and non-happy endings, but this one just felt like it's only purpose was to make the reader cry. There wasn't enough happiness in the story (in my opinion, of course) for me to get past the sadness. Even the happy moments were sad. I ultimately enjoyed this book but don't know that I would necessarily recommend it. Unless you just want a reason to cry. ( )
  carebear10712 | Jan 8, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 865 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay29 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.38)
0.5 1
1 21
1.5 5
2 75
2.5 19
3 290
3.5 115
4 941
4.5 265
5 1797

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 95,675,287 books! | Top bar: Always visible