HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8,798781343 (4.41)551
deadgirl's review
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (754)  Spanish (8)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (4)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (780)
Showing 1-25 of 754 (next | show all)
this being a side effect of dying... ( )
  aeromaxtran | Sep 17, 2014 |
A moving and funny story of young doomed lovers - two kids who have cancer and how they deal with it. As an adult outside of the target age range, I enjoyed the book tremendously but wasn't IN LOVE with it like my teenaged daughter. The dialogue is witty, the plot is compelling, and the feelings/story is honest and true. I much preferred John Green's WILL GRAYSON WILL GRAYSON. ( )
  sylliu | Sep 15, 2014 |
The reason John Green's books are so successful is because he writes teens as they would like to be. Not perfect, precocious, thinking about the profound things in life, in love -but not so in love that you're silly-, etc.

I think that's the main thing that I get from this book. I liked it, but there's no way that any teen thinks and talks like Hazel and Gus. These characters are the teens that teenagers would want to be. Someone who "walks lightly" on the earth and tries not to harm anyone. The unsung hero. Someone who wants to be something or do something that can change the world, but is realistic enough to realize it probably won't happen.

It's a good book. Strong voice, strong characters. A touch pretentious, but that's alright.

The best moment was probably the scene in the gas station where Hazel has to just recite poetry like it was a lifeline.

3.5 stars rounded down. It's not amazing, but it is above average. Still, I am just too old for this book. I feel like I am past the emotions this book is trying to elicit. ( )
  NineLarks | Sep 15, 2014 |
This is the first John Green book I've had the pleasure of reading, and if the rest are ever half as good as this one I'm going to be in heaven. About 5 years ago an ex of mine recommended me Looking for Alaska . I never got around to reading it while we were together and when we split I tried to avoid everything that reminded me of them as much as possible. I wish I hadn't. This book has had me laughing, crying and begging to know what happened next. I had it for a few days on my Kindle and when I was looking for something new to read I thought I would give it a shot, well my Kindle hardly left my hand that day haha.

Warning: May contain spoilers

The book is based on real situation, heartbreaking situations but real. And yet John Green still has the power to put humour in there, young love and adventure. Even though Hazel & Augustus are both riddled with cancer some how they never let it beat them. They don't cut themselves of from the world just waiting to die and expecting people to feel sorry for them, they just in a way get on with it.

This book is wonderful. Just wonderful, and as a first John Green book for me I've got to say, I've caught the bug haha. His ability to attach you to his characters is something I haven't seen in a long time. They are intelligent, inspirational and insightful. Not only are the main characters well written and thought out but any of the characters that pop in and out of the book also , along with Hazel & Gus, will pop in and out of your heart.

In all honesty, I'm not sure what to say about this book that hasn't already been said. There isn't much I can say because everyone will feel something different while reading it. So I'll leave you with something Hazel said instead, in hope that it will show you why myself like so many others find it hard to say anything other than "perfection" about this book :).

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. And then there are books…which you can’t tell people about, books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like a betrayal.” ( )
  Staciesnape | Sep 14, 2014 |
Hazel Grace is sixteen and she has Cancer. She meets Augustus "Gus" Waters at her cancer support group he also has cancer. Soon they become more than just friends. Through Gus Hazel learns the meaning of life, death, sickness and health. She also finds that everyone is legacy in their own way. A very well written story filled with emotions. I loved Hazel she has a lot of spirit, and her own unique charm. I also liked Gus and his philosophies he is a unique individual. I highly recommend for all ages y/a to adult readers. ( )
  Georgiann | Sep 14, 2014 |
Please note the following review will include my thoughts not only on the movie adaptation but also on the book.
Let me start off by mentioning I am one of the laziest bums in the history of lazy bums, but I feel somewhat obliged to review my experience with The Fault In Our Stars (TFIOS for short) - not only the novel, written by John Green (who happened to also write other works I'm quite a fan of such as Looking for Alaska), but also the movie by Josh Boone, mostly known for Stuck in Love.

My thoughts happen to be quite negative, and let me point from the beggining that by no means is my opinion so in order to contradict the hype TFIOS has gotten over the last couple months. Also, please note I read this book over two years ago now and the only reason I am incluiding it in my review is to compare both the movie and the book to one another.

Let's star off with the plot. Hazel Grace Lancaster suffers from lung cancer and her life has revolved all around it since she was diagnosed. She doesn't go to school, and at home has a lovely mother who'd give up anything for her daughter's well being. On the other hand we have Augustus Waters, who walks around with unlit cigarettes between his teeth which he claims to be ''a metaphor'' - you put the killing thing between your teeth but you don't give it the power to do its killing. Augustus, ''Gus'' for short, is a former basketball star who had to give up his sport because of his bone cancer. Their paths are crossed on the literal heart of Jesus, while attending a support group. Isaac, Gus' best friend is into the support group aswell. He is partily blind and will be completely afterwards.

Not much goes on with Hazel other than The Imperial Affliction and... having cancer. I probably sound very much like a douchebag. Fortunatelly, I haven't ever felt the pain of cancer, neither in me neither on the ones around me. But I believe there's more to life than dwelling on misery. And Hazel realises that too, after meeting Gus. Augustus is much more interesting than Hazel. Because he kept on hatting basketball and kept on watching Natalie Portman's movies and felt Max Mayhem's adventures deeply. On the book, Gus had a previous girlfriend, called Caroline Mathers who died. And he had Isaac. And he hadn't lost hope yet, he wasn't waiting on for the day when the last trip to the hospital would come.

Don't think of me as a weirdo for this one but in my head, Gus would look like Dominik from Suicide Room, which would be impossible since, come on, he's polish. Hazel like the beautiful Thora Bitch in the movie American Beauty and Isaac like that baby (who has now obviously grown up) who was in the Nirvana album Nevermind. The thing about adaptations is that they can't please everyone. However, I do have some issues with the actors chosen. I'm not a Shailene Woodley fan, but her acting was okay, despite some of the flat lines she gave out. Gus on the other hand was fenomenal in comparison. One thing that totally freaked me out was the fact they play brother and sister on the Divergent movie. Ouch.

What put me off the most was the dialogue. THE FREAKING DIALOGUE. I was okay with it on the book, despite it being totally unnatural, I got over it and kept on with my reading. But teenagers don't talk like that. Not even teenagers with cancer. Now when you get this put into film, shit goes down. You have Gus confessing his undying love to Hazel at Orangee in the so beautiful city of Amsterdam, with a straight face saying "I'm in love with you ... and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we're all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we'll ever have, and I am in love with you.” Jfc that sounds terrible spoken out loud... It is a work of fiction, indeed. But it was put into a cinema screen. The best soundtrack choice made was M83's ''Wait'' playing at some of the most intense moments. The directing was efficient and the editing kept simple.

Let me describe my theather scenario earlier today for you - almost full house; an entire class from 8th grade students who happen to attend the same high school I do; a girl putting on a show leaving at Gus' death because oh-my-god-it-was-so-emotional-i-couldn't-even-handle-the-feels; teenage girls with their mothers; some kids. There's absolutely nothing wrong with a movie targeted mostly for teenage girls. But there's something very wrong with not enjoying a movie because coming of age kiddos are sitting there giggling every time a guy appears on screen. I wanted to stranggle them.

Back when I read this for the first time I remember embracing it with lots of love, but looking back on it, as I've grown up, my insight has changed. I appreciate this as a whole but I can't keep my feelings for when I was younger. It's too dull. The story is very beautiful, indeed, you have a story about life, death, sickness, love. The mythical 21st chapter was painful at that time but not anymore.

It is overall just another tragic story, undoubtedly heart warming, but not enough. The adaptation kept itself very loyal to the book. I respect John Green's writings very much, but I must admit that, personally, TFIOS doesn't deserve half the buzz it got. It's not that it isn't good, only that it's...not that good.
  sarafwilliams | Sep 13, 2014 |
Please note the following review will include my thoughts not only on the movie adaptation but also on the book.
Let me start off by mentioning I am one of the laziest bums in the history of lazy bums, but I feel somewhat obliged to review my experience with The Fault In Our Stars (TFIOS for short) - not only the novel, written by John Green (who happened to also write other works I'm quite a fan of such as Looking for Alaska), but also the movie by Josh Boone, mostly known for Stuck in Love.

My thoughts happen to be quite negative, and let me point from the beggining that by no means is my opinion so in order to contradict the hype TFIOS has gotten over the last couple months. Also, please note I read this book over two years ago now and the only reason I am incluiding it in my review is to compare both the movie and the book to one another.

Let's star off with the plot. Hazel Grace Lancaster suffers from lung cancer and her life has revolved all around it since she was diagnosed. She doesn't go to school, and at home has a lovely mother who'd give up anything for her daughter's well being. On the other hand we have Augustus Waters, who walks around with unlit cigarettes between his teeth which he claims to be ''a metaphor'' - you put the killing thing between your teeth but you don't give it the power to do its killing. Augustus, ''Gus'' for short, is a former basketball star who had to give up his sport because of his bone cancer. Their paths are crossed on the literal heart of Jesus, while attending a support group. Isaac, Gus' best friend is into the support group aswell. He is partily blind and will be completely afterwards.

Not much goes on with Hazel other than The Imperial Affliction and... having cancer. I probably sound very much like a douchebag. Fortunatelly, I haven't ever felt the pain of cancer, neither in me neither on the ones around me. But I believe there's more to life than dwelling on misery. And Hazel realises that too, after meeting Gus. Augustus is much more interesting than Hazel. Because he kept on hatting basketball and kept on watching Natalie Portman's movies and felt Max Mayhem's adventures deeply. On the book, Gus had a previous girlfriend, called Caroline Mathers who died. And he had Isaac. And he hadn't lost hope yet, he wasn't waiting on for the day when the last trip to the hospital would come.

Don't think of me as a weirdo for this one but in my head, Gus would look like Dominik from Suicide Room, which would be impossible since, come on, he's polish. Hazel like the beautiful Thora Bitch in the movie American Beauty and Isaac like that baby (who has now obviously grown up) who was in the Nirvana album Nevermind. The thing about adaptations is that they can't please everyone. However, I do have some issues with the actors chosen. I'm not a Shailene Woodley fan, but her acting was okay, despite some of the flat lines she gave out. Gus on the other hand was fenomenal in comparison. One thing that totally freaked me out was the fact they play brother and sister on the Divergent movie. Ouch.

What put me off the most was the dialogue. THE FREAKING DIALOGUE. I was okay with it on the book, despite it being totally unnatural, I got over it and kept on with my reading. But teenagers don't talk like that. Not even teenagers with cancer. Now when you get this put into film, shit goes down. You have Gus confessing his undying love to Hazel at Orangee in the so beautiful city of Amsterdam, with a straight face saying "I'm in love with you ... and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we're all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we'll ever have, and I am in love with you.” Jfc that sounds terrible spoken out loud... It is a work of fiction, indeed. But it was put into a cinema screen. The best soundtrack choice made was M83's ''Wait'' playing at some of the most intense moments. The directing was efficient and the editing kept simple.

Let me describe my theather scenario earlier today for you - almost full house; an entire class from 8th grade students who happen to attend the same high school I do; a girl putting on a show leaving at Gus' death because oh-my-god-it-was-so-emotional-i-couldn't-even-handle-the-feels; teenage girls with their mothers; some kids. There's absolutely nothing wrong with a movie targeted mostly for teenage girls. But there's something very wrong with not enjoying a movie because coming of age kiddos are sitting there giggling every time a guy appears on screen. I wanted to stranggle them.

Back when I read this for the first time I remember embracing it with lots of love, but looking back on it, as I've grown up, my insight has changed. I appreciate this as a whole but I can't keep my feelings for when I was younger. It's too dull. The story is very beautiful, indeed, you have a story about life, death, sickness, love. The mythical 21st chapter was painful at that time but not anymore.

It is overall just another tragic story, undoubtedly heart warming, but not enough. The adaptation kept itself very loyal to the book. I respect John Green's writings very much, but I must admit that, personally, TFIOS doesn't deserve half the buzz it got. It's not that it isn't good, only that it's...not that good.
  sarafwilliams | Sep 13, 2014 |
What can I say about this book that hasn't already been said?? Not much. ( )
  bookqueenshelby | Sep 9, 2014 |
I never thought I could ever have my heart broken by a novel, but The Fault in Our Stars did that and so much more. I laughed and cried harder than I have since I don't know when. It was brilliant, remarkable, and infinitely quotable - though some infinities are bigger than other infinities. ( )
  strongasanoak | Sep 8, 2014 |
I never thought I could ever have my heart broken by a novel, but The Fault in Our Stars did that and so much more. I laughed and cried harder than I have since I don't know when. It was brilliant, remarkable, and infinitely quotable - though some infinities are bigger than other infinities. ( )
  strongasanoak | Sep 8, 2014 |
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS A SPOILER

I read this book like you watch a surgery documentary. All at once and hoping the end comes soon.

Thank you, Mr. Green, for giving the world such an amazingly interesting character like Hazel and then almost immediately erasing any bit of her identity for some terrible boy that is inherently unlikeable. Thank you for tricking us into thinking we might get a wonderful story about a girl who sees life for how it is but in the end only getting to see her through this awful boy's eyes. Thank you most especially for killing him so that the girl can never think about anything else again for the rest of her very short life. Wonderful, really. You've done the world a great service by erasing another possibly fantastic female character from the world and smothering her voice completely. ( )
  sixteendays | Sep 6, 2014 |
All of John Green's book are worth reading. Start with this one...and then read Paper Towns and Looking for Alaska. Very well-written. The story moves you. ( )
  pennylane78 | Sep 6, 2014 |
If I was younger, I would relate better to this book.it is an important read for teenagers . ( )
  Smits | Sep 5, 2014 |
Hazel Grace Lancaster is 16 but doesn’t get out much; doesn’t want to. Whenever she goes anywhere, she has to drag along her little portable oxygen tank. Her mother practically pushes her out the door to attend Cancer Kid Support Group which meets at the church located there in Indianapolis, Indiana. She wants Hazel to associate with other teens. At one of these group sessions, she meets Augustus (Gus) Waters. Hazel likes him almost immediately but she knows that her cancer is eventually going to overtake her and is reluctant to hookup. Gus can be very persuasive but never pushy.

Hazel and Gus discuss her favorite book called An Imperial Affliction. It is a story of about Anna, a young girl with cancer. The ending was purposely left open to symbolize all things ended when Anna was either too weak to continue or died. Hazel desperately wants to find out from the author what happened to other people in the book, like Anna’s mother and the man she was seeing and Anna’s hamster. Since Hazel had already used her one ‘wish’ through The Genie Foundation, Gus shared his wish with her and they planned a trip together with her mom to Amsterdam where the author lives. Do they get answers to the questions she’s seeking?

The Fault in Our Stars is told in first person by Hazel. It is a bestseller in the New York Times which shows the age range of 14 and up. I understand that John Green indicated his books were aimed for 15 – 18 year olds. Since the protagonist is 16, I would recommend that as the earliest age to read this novel. Parents should decide if their children should be allowed to read it as there is mature content; concepts; and slang that some pre-teens may not fully comprehend. God and the church were mocked and God’s name is used in vain. There is a make-out scene early in the book of a teen couple just outside of the church. Sixteen year old Hazel and seventeen year old Gus do engage in sexual activity in his room while they are in Amsterdam. While not greatly explicit, it is there. I rated this at 3 out of 5. The story of their struggle with cancer is captivating and the relationship between family and friends is warm and tender.

http://www.fictionzeal.com/fault-stars-john-green/ ( )
  FictionZeal | Aug 31, 2014 |
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

John Green is the author of Looking For Alaska. John Green is an amazing author, one who writes like I would imagine he speaks. He's just very talented!

This book follows Hazel, a teen with cancer. She meets Gus at a cancer support group and, well, the snowball of feelings begins to roll. Gus has been cancer free for a while now, but attended the support group for his buddy who has cancer-who becomes blind because of it. Gus is very philosophical and poses challenging views and when the thoughts collide with Hazel, it is beautiful. This makes the reader think and question their own beliefs about life, love, and reason.

This book is a movie, just out in theaters. There has been a ton of hype around this book on the internet and booktube, so I picked it up. I do have to say that I really did enjoy the story, but I think I would've enjoyed it more if there wasn't so much hype about it-if that makes sense...

I did have a couple minor problems with the book, like why Hazel didn't question Gus's feelings enough for me to truly believe everything, BUT it wasn't something that destroyed the 'enjoyability' for me.

So, if you like romancy, teen, cry a river stories, read this book! If you're looking for a fresh author with many talents, read this book! If you're not into, or are triggered by cancer, emotional breakdowns, or medical treatment, this book MAY not be for you.
  joaslo | Aug 28, 2014 |
I listened to this book over a number of weeks which was probably the wrong way to listen to it. I should have focused my mind on it and listened to it whenever I could. A lovely book exploring all sorts of stuff most Young Adults would enjoy reading about as they explore their world and their place in it. Family, Love, Friendship, Reading, communicating, Truth, Justice (and the American Way - no just kidding). The author definitely hooked me into liking the three young people, all of whom suffer from some sort of debilitating, and potentially fatal, disease. Despite this gloomy prognosis for the kids they carry on just like teenagers and you gotta love them. And better yet, he makes them carry on like wise teenagers. I appreciated the author's use of humor and pseudo-philosophy just as kids would do. I was touched with the affection and love all the characters some how find ways to express. ( )
  maggie1944 | Aug 27, 2014 |
The fault in our star is really good even though i have not finish the book yet it is really good so far.The fault in our stars is about a girl named Hazel Grace who has cancer and goes to a support group and meets a boy named Augutus.I cant tell you the rest because i have not read the book yet and watch the movie yet but I do not want to hear what happen so if you watch the movie please do not tell me what happen.Th ebook is amazing it just makes love the book and wants you to read it over and over again. ( )
  Domoniquet.g1 | Aug 27, 2014 |
While I did expect a sadder story, this book has been, so far, the best one I read this year, so I'm either reading not very good books or this one is pretty good. The story is catchy, cute, it flows really nice, it takes a slightly different turn than most romances and... well, it ends almost as abruptly as An Imperial Affliction. To sum it up, it is a good book, but feels somewhat inconclusive. ( )
  aryadeschain | Aug 26, 2014 |
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberexcel | Aug 26, 2014 |
I have no words -- for once. OK? OK. ( )
  ElizabethFlygare | Aug 25, 2014 |
The story of Hazel and Augustus and how cancer affects their life. Thought provoking, but I felt it was a book written more for teens and young adults.
  Judy.Welker.Frick | Aug 25, 2014 |
I am a hardened reader. I have been through the wars. I read Never Let Me Go (a 5-star book) and wouldn't touch another Ishiguro for three years. I don't know if I'll ever be able to see the movie. I read Bastard Out of Carolina - incredible book - but sometimes I wish I hadn't. Ditto, We Need, to Talk About Kevin. Zeitoun made me weep and even sob. THE LAST HARRY POTTER!!!! So, I was like, Bring it on, you little tearjerker, I am inured to the likes of YOU!

Of course, it got me. I started weeping about 100 pages from the end, and kept on for another hour after I finished. John Green, you bastard! I only read the book so I could see the movie, and now I am not at all confident that I am emotionally equipped to watch Hazel and Augustus as living breathing beings. Oh, no, no, no, no...I'm crying again.

Beautiful book, by the way. ( )
  citygirl | Aug 24, 2014 |
If I didn't have children to, you know, keep alive, I would have just read this book from start to end without stopping. I don't really want to recount the plot, except that it is about a young girl who has terminal cancer who falls in love with the vivacious and smart Augustus, a cancer survivor. I loved that the author hit the spot with the fact that the kids were pretty much socially isolated in that they felt their friends didn't really understand them anymore. They existed in a bubble whereby their friends were alive and well one day, and then hit with a medical blow the next. It is a love story (I am a sucker for a YA romance) but it wasn't mushy. I loved the characters, their wisdom and their limitations. It was funny and sad and it made me almost cry (but not quite). I think what made it a 5 star for me was that I haven't stopped thinking about it since I put it down. It is rare that I find these kinds of books and I think this one is my favourite for the year. ( )
  Erin.Patel | Aug 22, 2014 |
If I didn't have children to, you know, keep alive, I would have just read this book from start to end without stopping. I don't really want to recount the plot, except that it is about a young girl who has terminal cancer who falls in love with the vivacious and smart Augustus, a cancer survivor. I loved that the author hit the spot with the fact that the kids were pretty much socially isolated in that they felt their friends didn't really understand them anymore. They existed in a bubble whereby their friends were alive and well one day, and then hit with a medical blow the next. It is a love story (I am a sucker for a YA romance) but it wasn't mushy. I loved the characters, their wisdom and their limitations. It was funny and sad and it made me almost cry (but not quite). I think what made it a 5 star for me was that I haven't stopped thinking about it since I put it down. It is rare that I find these kinds of books and I think this one is my favourite for the year. ( )
  Erin.Patel | Aug 22, 2014 |
This is a book that friends kept recommending and one I have seen in the best-selling lists many times.

This is a beautiful book on so many levels. You don’t need another review from me to add to the tens of thousands, needless-to-say, if you haven’t read it, what the hell are you waiting for.

The Writing IMP ( )
  IanMPindar | Aug 21, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 754 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay26 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.41)
0.5 1
1 18
1.5 3
2 59
2.5 17
3 230
3.5 94
4 800
4.5 246
5 1628

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,709,366 books! | Top bar: Always visible