HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9,357848317 (4.4)562
deadgirl's review
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (820)  Spanish (8)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (4)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (846)
Showing 1-25 of 820 (next | show all)
This was my first John Green book and, prior to this book, I had no other experience with "cancer kids" in literature. I expected the story to be really sad but...it really wasn't. I generally appreciate snarkiness and Veronica Mars-like intelligence and quick wit in teenagers and I got a lot of that dialogue so that was welcome. I guess what was missing for me was a deeper connection to the characters. Maybe all that snarkiness kept me at arm's length and, although I was moved at some level by the struggles each kid faced, I wasn't emotionally invested so...no tears for me. ( )
  kellifrobinson | Nov 25, 2014 |
A story worth telling and told well. Add to that the fact that it touched the heart and you have a wonderful book. I will occasionally cry over storylines but I haven't cried over one like this in a long time. Well worth the read. ( )
  jkgrage | Nov 24, 2014 |
I avoided this book for a long time. I had heard about it, and, more importantly, what it was about, and despite fantastic reviews it was getting, I didn't want to read it. It sounded like a gimmick that served no purpose other than to make me cry, or something that was trying to be inspirational, and working far too hard. It wasn't until I began reading other John Green books that I trusted him and his writing enough to give this book a try.
Firstly, this book is not gimmicky. It did not try too hard to be inspirational, though I'd be lying if I said that it didn't make me think. It's sole purpose was not to make you feel awful for these kids with cancer, or make you cry. I mean, you do feel bad for the kids, but the book didn't seek to gain your pity. It made the characters real, bigger than the cancer. At the heart of it all, it's a love story, and a good one, which just so happens to be tragic. Yes, there were parts that made me sob uncontrollably. However, there were also parts that had me nearly rolling around on the floor with laughter.
The characters are very realistic. I haven't read a whole lot of caner novels, and I don't have cancer myself, so I can't be sure, but I feel like the characters act and think in accordance to how someone in their situation might act or think. They aren't perfect, but people in real life aren't perfect. Hazel is bitter, but can crack a joke, and she has a likable concern for her friends and family. Augustus is pretentious, but also has an admiral dedication for the people close to him, and, of course, a stellar sense of humor. They grow on you throughout the story, and I didn't realize how much I really cared for them until late into the story. Sometimes they made me sad, sometimes they made me angry, but I loved them all the same.
This book was better than I expected, which might be difficult to believe, since it had such rave reviews. It isn't just a book about cancer, though it does heavily contribute to the plot. It's a book about people, and the challenges that they have to face in their lives. John Green handles everything beautifully, as always, and fails to disappoint.
Four Point Five out of Five Stars
Want more reviews like this one? Look here: http://themessengerreviews.blogspot.com/2014/07/the-fault-in-our-stars.html ( )
  TheMessengerReviews | Nov 23, 2014 |
Thanks to my sister, I finally read THE FAULT IN OUR STARS. She had been encouraging me to read it for, what, a couple years? But I kept resisting. I knew the book was about teenagers, so it didn't interest me. But I gave in.

If you haven't read this book yet because it's about teenagers, do. The teenagers are exceptionally bright, well spoken, and mature. The story (which I won't tell you about because it's a short book, and anything I say is potentially a spoiler) grabbed me from page 1. Don't read reviews of it.

Something irritated me, though: Hazel really does seem stupid when it comes to her favorite book, which is a work of fiction. The end left her with questions about what became of three of the characters. (Yes, I consider a hamster a character.) And, boy, she really needs to know! It takes a drunk to tell her that nothing became of them because they aren't real.

But you probably already read this. ( )
  techeditor | Nov 21, 2014 |
Stupid, inane. disappointing. ( )
  gpaisley | Nov 17, 2014 |
An incredible book that will make you smile, laugh and curl up in a little ball of tears. ( )
  ellsie98 | Nov 16, 2014 |
I enjoyed it ( )
  becky80 | Nov 15, 2014 |
The Faults in Our Stars
Bryan O'Keeffe

I was a little skeptical about reading this book because I knew of all the hype it was getting and that it seemed like a book for tween girls. However I was really wrong. This was probably one of the best books that I have ever read. It also happened to be the first John Green book that I read. I had been reading the Game of Thrones books simultaneously while I read this book so the transition between them was a little weird. The first thing I really liked about this book was how cancer was not romanticized or even glossed over. The very serious issue of cancer, let alone kids with cancer, is a very serious topic. All of the characters were believable, Hazel Grace was almost as if I had known her in real life, that's how believable she was. I was able to honestly see her in my mind and have a clear picture of what was going on in the book in my mind. Augustus Waters at first seemed almost a little too good to be true, but it was still really believable because that was a front he put on in order to cope with not having half of his leg. The book was a super easy read, the writing flowed really well and was super descriptive. The book really made you feel, that was most apparent when Hazel and Gus both are back in the hospital because of complications they are having with their bodies. I really enjoyed how well every thing was put together for this book. The message for this book was pretty clear, don't let anything get in the way of love. ( )
  bokeef2 | Nov 10, 2014 |
Great book, never a slow moment, couldn't put it down. ( )
  rolyat | Nov 9, 2014 |
Bawled my eyes out! The most beautiful but sad story I have ever read. I felt the characters like I was in the story! John Green knows how to perfectly weave a story and make you feel peronally part of that story! It has been a long time since I read a whole book in one sitting. ( )
  chellebuck79 | Nov 6, 2014 |
Oh my gosh! This book was agony, beautiful agony. It was wonderful and painful and touching and lovely. This is definitely my favorite John Green book. Prepare for a few tears! ( )
  elizabeth.b.bevins | Nov 4, 2014 |
I liked this book very much, maybe not as much as others, but yes I enjoyed it. Many readers say they loved Augustus but I found him somewhat bothersome. I liked him very much but there were a few things about him that rubbed me the wrong way. For instance, all he cared about was being remembered by everyone and wanting people to think he was important and in the end he was always whining about how that wasn't going to happen. The main character, Hazel, touched upon this by calling him out on it, which I was grateful for. Overall it was a spectacular book. Hazel looked upon life in a different light and didn't seem to be scared of dying, she was just worried about the people she would leave behind; she's a hard character not to love. In some ways the ending was predictable is, others it was a complete surprise. You could've guessed someone was going to die, it's a book with a lot of caner patients, but you'd never guess how it actually ended. Another part of the story I enjoyed was Green's use of the made up book "An Imperial Affliction" that Hazel relates to throughout the story. I've never read anything like "The Fault in Our Stars". ( )
  Rosaschuchert | Nov 3, 2014 |
I very much enjoyed this book. It wasn't a typical, predictable, sad story about cancer. I'm not trying to be insensitive or anything, it's just that I've read those kind of books before, and even though they make me cry every time, they get boring to read after a while. I mean, who wants to read a book that you already know the ending to?

Anyway, I loved the outlook that the main character, Hazel Grace, had on life. Cancer was a main theme of the book, but the plot wasn't always centered around it. I liked that about the book. Hazel and Augustus had the strength to not let cancer get in the way and live their lives like any other teenagers. Even though the story had its downs, it wasn't depressing all the time. It had many up moments that made you feel hopeful again. TFIOS was one of those books that could make you laugh half the time and cry the other. It was also very unpredictable, which I loved. Going into reading this, I thought I knew how the story was going to play out. Boy, was I wrong. This is the first time I've read a John Green book, and he is an amazing author. The story is so well written and the message was so well conveyed. The little details in this book that Green takes the time to put in are amazing touches. For example, when Hazel calls Augustus "Gus" instead of "Augustus" and he replies with "You used to call me Augustus," it shows how Augustus has changed from the beginning of the book. He went from confident and heroic to frail and weak, and changing his name only furthered this point (Not to mention his reply was one of the saddest lines of the book).

**And I have to say, the movie did not even compare to the book. Really important parts that impacted me so much were left out of the movie. I was slightly disappointed, but that is usually the case with books made into movies. ( )
  michaellakufner | Nov 2, 2014 |
So I read this book called The Fault in Our Stars. I think it might be a thing some day. It was a tad predictable and light in places, perhaps a bit manipulative, but overall, I liked it. In fact, I’ve got to say that out of all the YA (Young Adult peoples) books I’ve read (which in truth is not many), it’s my favorite. It actually had some semblance of intelligence and a logical story and character development and those things that I think a story should have an inkling of. Yeah, it’s a sad story, and I got teary eyed a few times, but I never got weepy with this one (and I’m a weepy kind of guy). I think it’s just a bit too formulaic to get my tear ducts going, but it certainly tried. I’m glad this book exists because if those young peoples we hear so much about these days are going to read something, I figure this is ten times better than a lot of stuff. Unfortunately, I doubt young people will read this book. It doesn’t seem like their kind of thing. Too many literary references and not enough vampires. Yeah, and it could probably use a romantic subplot or something... so cold. ( )
  chrisblocker | Oct 31, 2014 |
This is an amazing book! its very emotional and you start to feel the characters feelings. ( )
  beiannah | Oct 30, 2014 |
My wife recommended this one to me back when it debuted two years ago, and now that the movie is playing in theaters and it's is all over the news again I thought it was time to finally check it out. I was afraid the hype would be too much though. Thankfully, not. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is an elegant love story of joy, heartbreak, and what we do with the time we're given.

There are so many points where the narrative could have gone south—turning melodramatic, cliché, or just plain schmaltzy. But it doesn't. Green's characters feel like real teens just trying to live life to the fullest despite also battling cancer. Hazel especially is as authentic as any living person could be given her extreme circumstances. ( )
  Daniel.Estes | Oct 29, 2014 |
Summary of Book
The story begins with a 15 years girl named Hazel. Hazel who has cancer, goes to cancer support group. In the support group he meets a 17-year-old boy named Augustus. Hazel has a hard time admitting her feeling for Augustus because she is scared of hurting him when she dies. They bond through their love of literature. At the end it is Augustus that dies.

Personal Reaction
I had a feeling this novel was going to be a tearjerker and it was for me. This book reminded of a regular life. This book used cancer and the wall that block from letting people in. However, this happens all the time. It’s not cancer or could be insecurities and other personal issues that people use to keep others at arms length.

Extension Idea
Discuss the character actions and their feelings for such action. Ask students to reflect and write from their experience, a time where they left their emotions take over. Ask students to share their essay, only is they are comfortable with doing so.
  readcindyread | Oct 24, 2014 |
What can I say that hasn't been said better by others?

This was wonderful. I say that even though that particular superlative has been diluted by overuse. I use it in its original sense. This was full of wonder.

I... can't. ( )
  Violetthedwarf | Oct 23, 2014 |
The fictional book The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, displays a love story between characters Hazel and Augustus. Hazel has cancer and a Gustus is a cancer survivor. Having cancer makes Hazel and Augustus’ relationship hard. In the book, 16 year old Hazel did not want to go to the support group. But she soon realises that it was a good idea. Hazel meets a young boy named Augustus Waters. He is charming and witty. Augustus had osteosarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer, but has recently had the all clear. In the book, Hazel and Augustus travel to Amsterdam in search of Peter Van Houten the author of their favorite book. While on their trip Augustus breaks some heartbreaking news to Hazel and both of their worlds fall apart around them.If you enjoy young adult books, full of witty humour and heartbreaking events, this book is perfect for you. It was well written by the author, John Green. I highly recommend this book. ( )
  KaSl14 | Oct 23, 2014 |
This book is about a 15-year old girl named Rachel Grace. She is suffering of Lung cancer and has depressions, ( )
  FelicityT.B4 | Oct 23, 2014 |
The Fault In Our Stars by John Green was about teenage romance, and how love can happen at any age and at any given time no matter the circumstance. Hazel Grace Lancaster was a 16 year old miracle cancer patient. When she was 13 she was expected to die from lung cancer. She kept on fighting and they placed her on Plaxifom which helps her lungs be lungs. She has been on the miracle drug for 3 years, when the story takes place. Her mother thought she needed to go to a support group. Her and another young boy named Isaac met thy had a few conversations trough looks. Isaac was in the support group because he had a cancer in his eyes that caused him to loose both of them. One day in support group Isaac invited one of his close friends named Augustus Waters. Augustus is 17. Hazel and Augustus immediately had a connection. They hung out a couple times and fell in love. Isaac went through a hilarious break up with his girlfriend, and destroyed many of Augustus basketball trophies, that Augustus won when he had both of his legs. August had cancer in his leg forcing the doctors to amputate his leg, now he had a prosthetic leg. Isaac with the cancer in his eye had also a prosthetic/glass eye. He later then found out he would have to have both removed an became completely blind. Augustus and Hazel were obsessed with this book called An Imperial Afflictions. They bonded over it, they had wrote an email to the authors assistant and they, Peter Van Houten and his assistant, said that if they were to every find themselves in Amsterdam to feel free and stop by. They had made plans to go until Hazel woke up and could not breathe and she was in the ER for a few days because they needed to drain her lungs of the fluid that was restricting her from breathing. After that it took a lot of convincing and planning to get Hazel Grace's parents to agree to let the trip to Amsterdam happen. After they got the confirmation that they were going to Amsterdam the informed Peter Van Houten and his assistant. Augustus, Hazel, and Hazel's mom went on the trip. When they go to Amsterdam they were of course jet leg so the first 1 or 2 days they stayed very close to the hotel. After, they went to go meet Peter. They got to his house and he was flat out drunk and so rude. He turned out to be a complete jerk and Hazel decided just to leave. Peter's assistant also could not stand Peter and basically quit and chased after them. They ended up going to the Anne Frank house, which consisted of lots of stairs. Which was a problem for Hazel, but she fought and made it to the top despite that her lungs sucked at being lungs. They rested the next day and walked around, this s when Augustus gave Hazel some bad news. Augustus's cancer had came back, except this time it was everywhere. When Hazel was in the ER he had felt pain and decided to get it checked out. "It light up like a christmas tree" Augustus said trying to be sort of funny. Hazel was crushed and cried, who wouldn't if that was really happening. They had gone back to the states and Augustus got worse and worse and soon was trapped in a wheel chair. Before Augustus died he had a pre- funeral, where he had Hazel and Isaac read there speeches for the actual funeral. Also they all gathered at Isaacs ex-girlfriends house and threw eggs at the car, before the 'pre-funeral'. Augustus had died a few days later, in the ICU. An the funeral happened, however Isaac could not make it through his speech with out crying, which is understandable. After Augustus died Hazel and Isaac became ever closer as friends.

I thought The Fault In Stars was a 5 star rating novel. It had the right amount of comedy, romance, and friendship. I loved the quotes the book contained about life. Like "Im on a roller coaster that only goes up my friend." It talked about how all the side affects of cancer were just side affects of dying, which I believe to be true. Cancer is a side affect of dying and they were not denying it. They were also young and had so much to live for but their cancer was holding them back. Hazel had thyroid cancer, that spread to her lungs. Which causes her to have trouble breathing and its sad for a girl her age. Overall there was just a lot of tragedy in this book. However I do not think this novel was something to cry about. It was sad and devastating but it was fiction the characters are fiction, but this does happen. It is life cancer is just another side affect of dying. An I do not mean to sound insensitive. ( )
  BriannaM.B1 | Oct 23, 2014 |
Hazel Lancaster and Augustus Waters first meet at a cancer support group. Augustus is a cancer survivor and Hazel is living with thyroid cancer that has spread to her lungs. Even though Augustus, or “Gus” as Hazel calls him, survived cancer, his leg was amputated to control the cancer.From the moment Gus and Hazel’s eyes meet he falls for her. On same day they meet, Hazel goes to Gus’s house and watches a movie. Gus gets in touch with the author of one of his and Hazel’s favorite author. To get to Amsterdam, Gus uses his wish from the Make A Wish foundation. When they meet the author of An Imperial Affliction, they find out to their surprise, he is a delusional drunk. After they share a romantic evening, Gus tells Hazel his PET scan results showed that cancer was found all over his body.. Before Gus has his two guest pre-funeral, he asks Hazel to prepare a eulogy for him. Soon after his death, Hazel finds that Gus started writing a story for her just as he had promised.
I thought this book was outstanding because all the happiness, sadness, and the rest of the emotions in the book were felt. John Green wrote with so much detail I saw a movie in my head. The book had an impact on my life and the way I look at the world. He showed what really happens when you fall for someone. I think he did an extraordinary job with this book. I thought it had all the right elements. I loved the way I thought the book was going to end,but it kept on going. I would give this book 5 stars. ( )
  kateh.g1 | Oct 22, 2014 |
Hazel Grace Lancaster was diagnosed with Thyroid cancer at the age of thirteen and that spread to her lungs a couple years later. She has managed to get by with an experimental drug called Phalanxifor( which does not exist outside the book). Augustus had osteosarcoma or a rare bone cancer, but he has had the all clear. Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace meet in a support group for cancer patients. After they meet in support group, Gus invites Hazel into his house to watch a movie. Augustus or “Gus” which Hazel calls him decided to read each others favorite book. Gus gives Hazel his favorite book “ The King Of Dawn” a video game book, and Hazel gives Gus her favorite book “ An Imperial Affliction”. When Gus gets to the end of the book he is surprised that the book ends in mid-sentence. When Hazel Grace and Gus talk on the phone, okay will be their always, instead of Isaac and Monica who always say always to each other. He messages the author “Peter Van Houten” of the book and asks if he can meet him in Amsterdam to discuss if something else was going to happen and if there was going to be another book. Peter jokingly says “Come see me if you are ever in Amsterdam”. Gus shares his wish with Hazel Grace to go see the author of An Imperial Affliction. When they get to Amsterdam, Gus and Hazel Grace go to dinner. The next day they went to go see the Peter in his house and talk about the book. Peter was extremely rude and was also a drunk atic. They had realized that Peter had mistakenly invited them into his home. As they were walking back to their hotel Lidewij Vliegenthart who lives with Peter and takes care of all of the emails asks if they want to go to the Anne Frank house. They say yes. Hazel had a rough time getting up the stairs with her oxygen tank but had soon made it. The next day before they go back, Gus shares some heartbreaking news about his PET lit up like a christmas tree with cancer when Hazel Grace was in the ICU and was unconscious. After they get back Gus asks Hazel Grace and his friend Isaac(who became blind because of his type of cancer)to read their speeches before he Gus dies. A few days later at Augustus’s funeral Peter Van Houten shows up to his funeral and hands Hazel Grace an email that Gus had wrote to Peter about the book. Hazel did not open it until she got home and Isaac had told her that Gus had wrote it. Two things she read or Gus wrote was “The real heroes are not the people doing things; the real heroes are the people NOTICING things, or paying attention”, also “You don't get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man(Peter), but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope Hazel likes hers”. Once she was done reading the entire thing she said to herself “I do, Augustus. I do”.
I thought John Green did a wonderful job writing this novel. He wrote this book with so much emotion. He made it come alive in some ways that you would never believe, and also made it feel engaging. There were some very humorous parts that made me laugh and feel happy. But when Gus dies it made me sad and want to cry. Overall I think The Fault In Our Stars is a wonderful and award winning book to read and also watch. This is the BEST most fantastic book that I have ever read before. ( )
  AbigailR.B1 | Oct 22, 2014 |
Although it is categorized as young adult reading, it has more insight and honesty than many adult books. It has parts with great humor, and parts that are gut retching and raw. Everyone has their own personal point of reference and this book won't be the same/mean the same for everyone, but it seems to have touched something familiar for most people. I don't own this yet, but plan to buy it because it just had too many good quotes/deep thoughts I want to ponder further, at my leisure. ( )
  Terin | Oct 21, 2014 |
I love this book and the movie!!!! I have read this book so many times because it is such a good book.
  amro14 | Oct 20, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 820 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay28 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.4)
0.5 1
1 19
1.5 4
2 62
2.5 18
3 261
3.5 105
4 873
4.5 258
5 1728

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,054,184 books! | Top bar: Always visible