Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
11,1081016252 (4.36)609
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
English (978)  Spanish (16)  Dutch (6)  German (5)  French (3)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Italian (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (1,013)
Showing 1-25 of 978 (next | show all)
I am by no means outraged or surprised at the hype surrounding this book, now that I've finally read it. I did enjoy it, but I don't think it impacted me quite as much as it has others.

Let me start off by saying that I am aware that contemporary is not quite my genre--because I think this is about as good as contemporary gets, and I admire how well Green pulled it off. I personally didn't enjoy the usage of "like" and occasional capital letters, but I didn't find it overdone. Green has an amazing sense for capturing the teenage voice: amplifying its beauty, but leaving intact its flaws.

I loved the characterization and the romance for the most part. I found the philosophizing occasionally pretentious, but--let's be real, I enjoyed it, though I disagreed with much of it. It reminded me of the way that many of my NESCAC peers talk. Also, whereas normally I'm somewhat wary of cancer being treated in books--sometimes it comes out of left field and seems like a great tool of emotional manipulation--Green treats the subject well, I thought. Even though the twist still surprised me, and I generally shy away from tragedy, Green's humorous, honest tone made the story not only palatable, but genuinely enjoyable and sweet. I'm personally not as big a fan of the irreverent tone, though.

Some of the writing was just gorgeous. The line that I'd heard about even before I picked up the book, but which I loved reading all over again, was: "As he read, I fell in the love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once."

Overall, I liked it, and I'm glad I read it. ( )
  elephantine | Nov 27, 2015 |
Simply Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!

Once in a while you find a book which fulfills all the promises it made on its back cover. This is that kind of a book.

It promises to make you laugh, to make you cry, to make you feel raw and touched. And it lives up to that promise. It has been correctly identified as Insightful, Bold, Irreverent and Raw.

Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters live in your memory long after you have finished the book.You want to cry for Augustus and Hazel.You wonder what happened to Hazel Grace after the book ends. It antagonizes you whenever you look at the book lying on your shelf. You hope that a cure has been found for her. You hope they have invented robot eyes for Issac. And more than that it diminishes your own problems to such a tiny level that you feel ashamed that you have been crying over these problems.

( )
  meetpraj | Nov 25, 2015 |
By far the best book I have ever read! Just the suspense leaves want to read more. I have never read a book as fast as I read this one! WILL ALWAYS LOVE THIS BOOK! ( )
  22clisst | Nov 24, 2015 |
"My thoughts are like stars I can't fathom into constellations."

I think I probably would have to give it two stars if not for this line, a scant few pages from the end (which according to Kindle I alone highlighted?)

I sobbed my eyes out in the movie but I hardly sniffed in the book. This isn't because I knew what was going to happen (I knew going in both times) or because I had a firm grasp on my emotions, it's because it worked better as a movie for me. The characters of the book felt like grandiose stage decorations and cartoons on reality, their love felt like a prop. I wanted more to make me love them, more to see why they loved each other, but it didn't happen. I could forgive this lack in the movie because there are really only so many minutes in a movie and a grand tour of the highlights felt apt! but in the book it felt cheap. Hazel irked me in print and Their relationship felt like a castle built on sand. I'm probably very much alone in this sentiment but it's my take! ( )
1 vote Jackie_Sassa | Nov 20, 2015 |
I read this book in a "book club" with 3 of the girls I met in my 6th grade class where I observe. They were all so into the story!! They would come into class and tell me that they cried, that they were in love with the boy, or that they couldn't imagine what Hazel Grace was going through. I loved watching them fall so deeply in love with this sweet story!
1 vote emilyauer | Nov 18, 2015 |
This book was very sad an emotional. I enjoyed it a lot but I could not stop feeling the emotions that were going through Hazel and Augustus minds. It is an emotional roller coaster of all sorts of different kinds and would recommend this to anyone beginning at the middle school age.
1 vote ninaberger | Nov 13, 2015 |
POV: 1st Person
Genre: Fiction/YA/Contemporary
This book was ok. I liked it, however, I didn't feel the emotional connection that so many others talk about. Maybe this type of book is not for me, as I never became fully immersed in the story and oftentimes felt my mind wandering while reading it. The subject matter has the possibility of being overly heavy but the author does a good job at breaking that up with humor. ( )
  Kristymk18 | Nov 12, 2015 |
See full review @ The Indigo Quill

I have been waiting for MONTHS for this movie to come out so I could finally review it! I can honestly say that it was worth the wait, because I believe the movie shaped a little more of my view on the book, but we'll get to that.

Many who have read The Fault in Our Stars are probably thinking, "How can you give the book only THREE stars? Did we read the same book?? It was AMAZING gfghkjhhkhklll." Well, yes. Yes we did. I had heard so much hype for this book and even Amazon was suggesting it to me every time I logged on. I had an Amazon GC, so I decided to take the plunge and purchase this book.

First let me say that I did like this book a lot. There was this looming foreboding throughout the entire book that made you want to keep reading, even though you knew the ending was probably going to be depressing. It reminded me a lot of My Sister's Keeper with a touch of A Walk to Remember. And although this was a story about cancer which is generally a very courageous topic to write on, I felt like there were strong points and very weak points:

Strong Points:
-The overall theme of the book is a topic that hits a lot of people in the gut. Cancer sucks. And I think there were many ways that John Green portrayed the thought processes and reactions that teenagers may experience. I'm not saying they were spot-on, but we have Hazel, who has a more cynical POV, and then Augustus, whose glass is half full.
-John Green made the effort to add unique elements to the story, such as Augustus' 'metaphor' or the whole concept of An Imperial Affliction. They were interesting and fresh and are a lot of what made the story.
-At surface, the characters are unique. It's comforting to imagine that a kid with cancer is easily positive and wants to make the best of everything, but Hazel was more of a realist. She gave us a glimpse into the reality of a life with cancer when you are meant to be at the very beginning of your journey.
-If you're looking for a tragic teen romance, then you'll love this book.
-There were several poetic elements and quote-worthy lines interposed into the dialogue.

Weak Points:
-Not many teenagers talk like that. Some do, but not many have such a wide vocabulary and can spout off soliloquies of several stanzas at a time. It just isn't realistic.
-The characters were very static. I didn't feel like there was much depth to the characters or the story, and I felt like we could've been taken so many more places than we were.
-There was extreme overuse of "or whatever." Especially in the beginning of the book, it felt like it ended almost every single sentence to the point of exhaustion.
-I was totally expecting the book to end similar to An Imperial Affliction, and was almost disappointed when it didn't.

The movie I give 5 stars. ( )
1 vote TheIndigoQuill | Nov 7, 2015 |
This was, unanimously, the class favourite when I took a Youth Lit class a few years ago. I had not heard of John Green at the time, and started reading this to see what the fuss was about. It didn't take long for me to agree with everyone's assessment of this book (and I also cried, like many of my classmates). I love how it is unsentimental but still made me really emotional; I love how funny it is, I love the smart-talking Hazel and Gus. ( )
1 vote Haklh | Nov 5, 2015 |
This was, unanimously, the class favourite when I took a Youth Lit class a few years ago. I had not heard of John Green at the time, and started reading this to see what the fuss was about. It didn't take long for me to agree with everyone's assessment of this book (and I also cried, like many of my classmates). I love how it is unsentimental but still made me really emotional; I love how funny it is, I love the smart-talking Hazel and Gus. ( )
1 vote Haklh | Nov 5, 2015 |
This was, unanimously, the class favourite when I took a Youth Lit class a few years ago. I had not heard of John Green at the time, and started reading this to see what the fuss was about. It didn't take long for me to agree with everyone's assessment of this book (and I also cried, like many of my classmates). I love how it is unsentimental but still made me really emotional; I love how funny it is, I love the smart-talking Hazel and Gus. ( )
1 vote Haklh | Nov 5, 2015 |
From the first page of this book you instantly fall in love the characters. His accurate representation of modern day teenagers and the way he portrays life and death overall is what makes this story so great. I have never read another book before that had me laugh while in tears; Green balanced the heartbreak with humor, adding another level to the story. Warning: be prepared to cry. ( )
1 vote teddysiegel | Nov 5, 2015 |
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is a very sad story that brings many emotions because it centers around grief around the world, cancer. I quickly became very engaged in this novel and thought the author did a great job of making the reader feel connected to the characters.. This book has two main characters Hazel and Augustus and they bring who fall deeply in love with each other and they show how valuable life is. This book made me realize that should do as much as you can with the time you have. It also shows the importance of love and how having someone you love next to you while you are in a sad part of your life can make it easier on you and your loved ones. All in all, even though this novel has a very sad plot, John Green does a phenomenal job and this novel truly made me appreciate life and the time I have. ( )
1 vote Hayfastutman | Nov 5, 2015 |
My first John Green book, though I'd heard a lot about him. I was a little wary, because often such popular authors/books/movies don't live up to the hype. In this case, he exceeded my expectations. After two pages I was hooked, staying up all night to finish the book. There were so many things I thought might happen, but I didn't want to wait and let my imagination run wild - I had to know what was going to happen. The characters are so realistic I knew them, I was in their world. The book is well-written and easy to read quickly, but it's worth savoring. Never have I read a book that can make me cry (without being overly sentimental) and then make me laugh hysterically through my tears just a sentence later. Highly recommended. ( )
1 vote howifeelaboutbooks | Nov 4, 2015 |
I can almost guarantee that anyone who reads this book will feel intrigued by the major plot twist at the end. This is a beautiful story that Green writes magnificently by really captivating the reader in his words. Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters are perfect for each other and are living such a happy life until everything turns around on them and does not turn out how they expected or hoped. I think Green does this to really grab a hold of his readers through appeal to emotion. He does this very well which is why It is a world wide known book today. ( )
1 vote Kkaye | Nov 3, 2015 |
As I am wont to do, I read John Green's The Fault in Our Stars and, concurrently, listened to the spectacular audio version read by Kate Rudd (her performance is beyond amazing!). I owe a tremendous debt of gratitude to Jamie Ford, a Facebook friend, a Goodreads author and the brilliant writer who penned (another of my favorite books of all time) Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet for strongly recommending that I drop everything and make reading John Green's *The Fault in Our Stars" a priority. I took Jamie's sage advice and, as a result, find my self sitting in the reflective eye of a maelstrom of emotion . . denial, joy, sorrow, awe, rage, helplessness and hope. I am totally wrung out! Please, if you haven't read it . . I hope you will. ( )
1 vote idajo2 | Nov 3, 2015 |
I loved this book. I am not a big fan of YA Fiction but this
book was the exception for me.
Much has been said about this story so I wont bother you with
too many details. Give it a change, it's a story about young love,the human spirit and our desire to be relevant and leave a mark
during the short time we have here... ( )
1 vote irisper012106 | Nov 1, 2015 |
Great book for High School students and gives an outlook on the heartbreak of cancer. Even with the heartbreak the author capture a beautiful love of two sick kids Hazel and Augustus. Augustus shows Hazel that even though she is dying she can't let it take her life from her while she is still alive.

1. Have the students tell me what they think of the book.
2. Tell me how they wished the book had ended.
3. Watch the movie that is based off the book.
  Amandacj | Oct 29, 2015 |
The fault in our stars is an enchanting love story written by the author John Green. The main character, Hazel Grace Lancaster struggles through thyroid cancer. Hazel was diagnosed when she was thirteen and is now sixteen. When Hazel turned seventeen, her mother thought that she was starting to be depressed. She believed that she was going to die. She hated her life. In her church support group, she meets a seventeen year old boy named Augustus Waters.
Augustus has osteosarcoma cancer that caused him to loose his leg. After they met, they couldn't separate. Hazel's life was actually starting to improve. They were deeply in love with each other. Then, everyone thought that Hazel was about to die. Augustus told Hazel about his recent scanning. The doctor told him that his entire body was filled with cancer. In the end, Augustus ended up dying. ( )
1 vote jnewell1234 | Oct 28, 2015 |
Hazel and Augustus live a complicated life that most people can not and may not ever understand. They both are teens who suffer from cancer and are a part of a support group with their peers. Everyone is in differing degrees of sickness and learning to cope. Once Hazel and Augustus "Gus" find each other their lives begin. They have an epic adventure and learn that they do not have to limit themselves just because they are sick. (I won't give any more way if you do not know the story)

My Thoughts:

There are many people who love this book and even call it their favorite book. I did enjoy reading Fault but it is not my favorite. John Green did a great job of of getting me and keeping me engaged. Once I was about halfway though the book, I was wondering if someone was going to die from their illness or if everyone was going to die. Hundreds (just a guess) of people retorted how much this book made them cry so I assumed their would be more sorrow earlier in the story.

I was touched. You instantly have sympathy for Hazel and Gus (as he exclaimed several times) is a wonderful person who you have to like. If you read this, you will like them. They are fun, honest and living in a different "head space" than most people. How often do you contemplate death? We all know it is an eventuality but they know theirs is likely to come sooner-- much sooner. They have different values and different relationships because of this.

This book helped me understand people suffering from terminal illnesses. I can see why some people grow depressed and others throw caution to the wind and do what they please. They are jolly or cranky, moody or serene. They live life with a countdown on their foreheads.

John Green captured the loss, the loneliness, the joy and the pain of being terminally ill so very young.

The Fault in our Stars is a must read.
( )
1 vote Natalie_Walker | Oct 27, 2015 |
tl;dr-version of the review: Life sucks and then you die!
Christmas 2014 and I thought I could read something more significant as usual, like something deep.
This has been made into the movie and the Blu-ray is waiting to be seen in my cupboard, which I plan to do before the end of this year after reading the book.
Due to a good deal and because I wanted to try it, I bought the book both in the ebook-Kindle-version and in audio-version, hoping Whispersync will work good.
First surprise, Whispersync does not work between iTunes and Kindle. Ok, not totally unexpected.
Actually while the books could certainly be described as deep, it is also kind of uplifting and funny, despite the gloom matter.
Did not make it, took a break from reading the book and so did not see the film (added January 03d, 2015).
Five books, then I pulled myself together and finished it.
Actually the surprise was, everyone dies (no, this is no spoiler, you knew that right from the beginning, life it is, not the book).
A few twists and a book-story within the book.
So, funny little book, which might make some people cry, due to the subject matter, but actually: so what? That's life for you, only for some the time period till dying is shorter and more painful.
If you like this, I suggest reading [b:Fight Club|5759|Fight Club|Chuck Palahniuk|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1357128997s/5759.jpg|68729], these books are very similar, especially when you consider the underlying themes and not the obvious surface.
Solid 5star, I hope the Movie is as good. Highly recommended.
( )
1 vote Ingo.Lembcke | Oct 27, 2015 |
This quarter I read a book called The Fault In Our Stars. This book is about a girl that has lung cancer. In the reading, her mom makes her go to group of people who also have cancer, to decrease her depression. In the group she meats a boy named Augustus. She really likes Augustus and he likes her back. So they fly to Amsterdam to meet her favorite author. It turns out that the author is actually a horrible person. They fly back to the United States and here Augustus starts coughing and gets attacked by his heart. Augustus unfortunately, dies.
This book was very exciting. I was very interested in the book. The characters were very good at describing pain brought on by their illness. This book even made people cry! I found this book hard to put down and even got my mother to read it. I have suggested it to many of my friends and they also found it very intriguing. In the end this book was sad and exciting at the same time. ( )
1 vote Hunterd.B1 | Oct 25, 2015 |
I so enjoyed this book that I flew through it in a matter of days. It was refreshing reading such a well-written work. I loved the interactions between Hazel and her parents as well as between Augustus and his; I feel they are ideal without being unrealistic. I aspire to one day have this sort of relationship with my own child.

Green created characters I could care about and respect. He didn't simply tell us that Hazel is smart or Augustus is a good kid. He showed us. This is key as some authors fall into the habit of simply *saying* how good or smart or kind a character is without accurately depicting it through character choices and actions. I genuinely felt that these were cool kids which inevitably made the reality of their fate hurt that much more.

As someone who does not like overdone romance, I also appreciated the subtlety Green employed when developing his teen romance. There were no gag-inducing sappy scenes.

Green really made me think which is so exciting to see in a YA book. I wholeheartedly recommend that others pick up a copy of The Fault In Our Stars. ( )
1 vote krbauman | Oct 23, 2015 |
I like this book. Listened to it on audio. Simple, quick read while still getting to your heart. ( )
1 vote Jodeneg | Oct 23, 2015 |
In this story it is about a girl named hazel grace Lancaster. When she was 13 she was diagnosed with thyroid cancer. Her parents though she was not going to make it , but that was then and this is now. One day when hazel was going to her support group for other cancer surviver she goes and sits with her friend Isaac and a new boy is there. His name is Auguestes Waters. He goes to support group with Isaac to see what it was like because he had had cancer too. Him and hazel talked after support group and they went to his house and they got to know each other more and more.
He and hazel began dating. Hazel and he shared books with each other and the book haze gave him he loved and he wanted to know more about it because it left you with a cliff hanger. So Gus decided to email the authors ass. and see if he and hazel could viset them in Amersterdam. She says yes and he tells hazel that he will use his wish to get them there , but things go wrong when her doctors say she cant but her mother says yes so they fight and the doctors end up saying yes. So while there the author was rue to them and he was drunk too . When they got back tragidy happend. Augustus Waters had died . Hazel was sad for the rest of her life . Gus left a letter for the author but hazel got it and she read it and she was happy. The end.
  alexs.b4 | Oct 23, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 978 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
35 avail.
555 wanted
8 pay34 pay

Popular covers


Average: (4.36)
0.5 3
1 22
1.5 5
2 95
2.5 23
3 342
3.5 124
4 1061
4.5 278
5 1976


2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,859,706 books! | Top bar: Always visible