HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
10,359940278 (4.37)591
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
English (909)  Spanish (10)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (4)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Catalan (1)  Italian (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  All languages (938)
Showing 1-25 of 909 (next | show all)
The fault in our stars is about a girl named Hazel Grace who struggles with cancer. She believes, that the amount of people that she loves, and that love her, need to say as small as possible, because she doesn't want her death to affect anybody it doesn't have to. One day however, at a support group, she meets a boy named Augustus Waters, who also suffered from cancer. The two begin to develop a friendship, and throughout the book they fall in love. When Augustus discovers that Hazel's favorite author live in Amsterdam, he takes her with him to meet the man. The two have an overall amazing time, until Hazel discovers that Augustus has had a cancer relapse. Throughout the end of the book, his sickness grows worse, and all Hazel Grace can do, is hope.

John Green is my absolute favorite writer, and is absolutely marvelous. Which is probably why I found this book to be extremely interesting to read. The relationship the two develop, truly is incredible. The author is able to make you feel for the characters, and whats happening in the story. This book was so good, I could barely set it down. I gave it five stars, because the way that it represented human emotions and feelings, is something I've never seen in a book before, and i really adored that aspect of it. I would completely recommend this book, because I thought it was just truly wonderful. ( )
  Sydneyp.b1 | May 29, 2015 |
A beautifully written and captivating novel, The Fault in Our Stars is the type of book you will simultaneously want to rush toward the conclusion yet will also want to savor. The story compels you toward the end, while the language asks you to resist the urge to rush through, but instead take the time to enjoy each moment with the characters, good and bad. 17-year-old Hazel doesn’t get to live like a normal teenager. In fact, she doesn’t know how long she has to live period. Pulled out of school after her diagnosis with terminal cancer, Hazel spends most of her days battling illness and attending support group. Until Augustus Waters joins a support session and gives her an additional something to fight for. As they fall in love with each other, so does the reader fall in love with them both. A reminder that all in this world is temporary, the beauty of the story is also a reminder to live life as wholly and as honestly as you can until the very end. ( )
  MCHBurke | May 28, 2015 |
Fault in our Stars book review

By: Emily Pratt

Hazel Grace Lancaster is a 16 year old cancer patient who is doing everything in her power to be like a normal teenager. Her mom convinces her to go to a cancer support group so she can get out more and make new friends. In the support group, she meets and falls in love with Augustus Waters (aka gus). Hazel gets Gus hooked on this book An Imperial Affliction By: Peter Van Houten. Gus uses his free wish from make a wish foundation to take Hazel to Europe to meet Peter Van Houten and things go bad. While they are in Europe, Gus tells Hazel some tragic news that will bring them closer together but yet change their lives forever.

John Michael Green is an American author of young adult fiction, YouTube video blogger, historian and creator of online educational videos. John Green wrote best sellers Fault in Our Stars, Paper Town, Looking for Alaska, an Abundance of Katherines, and Will Grayson,Will Grayson.

There's a lot of things that I like and dislike about this book. What I like is all the emotions, The suspense and the irony in the book. For example, when Hazel and Gus go to meet Peter Van Houten and he is totally rude to them and all the mixed emotions they have when all the chaos is going on.

Another thing what I like about the book is Hazel and Gus’s relationship. They are so in love and they care about each other so much it’s breath taking. Hazel and Gus are so cute that I honestly wish I had a relationship like they have with somebody else.

Even though this book is so good, there are also some things that I dislike that the author added to the book. What I disliked about this book was how fast the the climax raised. I feel like the author could have slowed it down and added more personal hang outs between Gus and Hazel. Another thing I disliked was how they had to remove their friend Isaac's eyes. I feel like that went really off topic.

Fault in our stars was a really good book. I honestly wish their was a sequel to the book so I could see what happened to the characters after the traumatic ending.
  emilypratt1235 | May 23, 2015 |
Very realistic story of two young cancer patients, Hazel and Agustus who meet in a support/therapy group and fall in love. They travel to Amsterdam to meet one of their most admired book writers, Peter Van Houton, who turns out to be a drunken disapointment to them. The characters and plot are well developed and the story takes surprising turns and twists alsong the way. I loved it, and fell in love with the characters and grieved at their losses ( )
  berthacummins | May 17, 2015 |
Would have given it 4 but van houten sucked. Especially the van houten Indy bull. Definitely made me think of love story and walk to remember. Probably going to reread love story immediately and cry like a baby. This didn't make me cry; but I had spoilers. Better than I was expecting and yes folks, apparently I have a heart. ( )
  katherineemilysmith | May 4, 2015 |
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberexcel | Apr 30, 2015 |
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberexcel | Apr 30, 2015 |
This beautiful novel takes you on the journey of Hazel, a young girl battling thyroid cancer. Her parents insists she join a support group where she meets Augustus, who soon becomes her closest friend and love of her life. The two bond over their experiences with cancer. Although they do not get the chance to have much time together in life, because Augustus loses his battle to cancer, Hazel says that she would not trade their short life together for anything in the world. This is the story of bravery, true love and friendship.. a must read for everyone! ( )
  Hhaddad1 | Apr 30, 2015 |
the book is awesome ( )
  cressionnie_fwesstu | Apr 29, 2015 |
John Green does not disappoint. The fault in our stars has it all - love, death, laughter, tears, books, cancer and Amsterdam. ( )
  mlake | Apr 28, 2015 |
I would actually like to give this 4.5 stars. I loved it and would so highly recommend it. It's emotional, it's real, it's not at all what you would expect from a book about a teenager with cancer. I was amazed at how well the author, a male, wrote from a 17-year-old girl's point of view. My only complaint was that things weren't tied up as nicely as I like at the end. I think it metaphorically represented that we don't have all the answers. And I guess in that way it was handled artistically, but still felt a little without hope to me. ( )
  KR_Patterson | Apr 28, 2015 |
This was my first book by John Green, I had heard various reviews but absolutely loved this book. It is an easy read but this does not detract from the book at all. I couldn't put this down and cannot wait to read more from Green. I found the characters very relatable and loved how it was focused on their relationships rather than their illnesses despite these always being in the background. Green's style enables you to connect with the book straight away, it is flawless. ( )
  emma_whitaker | Apr 28, 2015 |
I thought John Green's "The Fault In Our Stars" was okay. It's a pretty light, readable book (despite the heavy topic matter) with a decent emotional core.

The story follows Hazel, who is diagnosed with cancer. She falls for a member of her support group much to her reluctance.

I had two issues with the book-- I've gotten kind of tired of teen books where the kids don't talk like kids. (I get maybe having one talk in the way these characters do.... but not all of them.) I also had a really difficult time with Hazel's voice... the character felt male to me... I didn't think Green did a great job reflecting the inner voice of a teen girl. I really would have liked the book more if the narrator was male instead. ( )
  amerynth | Apr 23, 2015 |
3.5/5 Stars

A lovely story about two sick people who are in love with each other. I'm not ashamed to admit that when I first read this I cried. It's simple and snarky and makes you want to re-evaluate your own life and appreciate the little things.

On the downside, I feel like Augustus and Hazel are the same person. They talk and think in the same way and if you took away their names, I wouldn't be able to tell who is who.

Full review: http://brittanysbookrambles.blogspot.com/2013/07/the-fault-in-our-stars-by-john-... ( )
  bpress | Apr 20, 2015 |
Somehow I was of an opinion that this book will make me bawl my eyes out. NOT. THE. CASE. This is not a sad book, not by a long shot. It is full of harsh realities, black humour remarks, irony and sarcasm that might have been anger at some earlier point, becoming acceptance now. Hazel and Gus are well-read, intelligent and strong. What they are NOT is broken. And their star-crossed love story is inspiring. It is a pleasure to have known them. ( )
  v_allery | Apr 19, 2015 |
Wonderful sad story of teens dying from cancer that are still trying to live like teens.
curricular connection; empathy, social skills, health ( )
  jolenaryan | Apr 17, 2015 |
I really liked this book and did not want it to end. As I was reading I knew what was going to happen, but I still kept hoping for a miracle. I liked how Hazel and Augustus were wise beyond their years. How they had so much in common, yet they were so different. The reader can easily visualize when Hazel justifies her decision to keep Augustus from getting closer because she is like a grenade and wants to minimize the casualties of her death. Although this book might be controversial, if used in class, this book can be used in the secondary levels to discuss life lessons because they will be facing their own life changing decisions of graduation, leaving home, and creating their own path. There could also be discussions that include critical thinking and philosophy.
  MSara | Apr 16, 2015 |
I knew this book was going to be a tear-jerked and I wasn't disappointed on that end. However, I also wasn't as infatuated as I thought it would be. The story was extremely well written and I found myself wanting to read the fictitious novel that the main characters were obsessed with, but I have to admit that the main characters tended to bother me. I've not known many teenagers who were suffering from life-threatening diseases, but even those I did know didn't tend to speak with such diction and like senior-citizens trapped in teenage bodies. All in all, it was a sweet and sad book, but it didn't manage to reach my list of favorites. ( )
  bleached | Apr 15, 2015 |
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberexcel | Apr 13, 2015 |
John Green perfectly captured the process of cancer and how it impacts someone, without having experienced it himself. Emotionally engaging. ( )
  Moakey | Apr 10, 2015 |
Tear jerker. Great and eloquent writing. A must read! ( )
  Swissmama | Apr 8, 2015 |
Beautiful, yet soul crushing. A must read. ( )
  Nessa24Flutist | Apr 6, 2015 |
I actually started watching the movie and ended up shutting it off 1/2 way through in order to read the book to find out how it ends (I've never done this with any other book-turned-movie). I finished the book in 2 days, immediately after I finished I turned the movie on to see how the movie would end. It left me in tears, my heartbroke for the characters, and thank god I wasn't reading it in public. I absolutely LOVED Augustus Waters character and the relationship with Hazel was so sweet. I can't wait to read this one again. ( )
  TheKnittedSheep | Apr 3, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
Wow, along with Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, it's the best book I've read this year, so far. I'm still processing it as I just finished it and my tears are close to the surface. This author can write (although he used a lot of words I didn't even know, lol)! As a cancer survivor myself, I guess it really hit home. I highly recommend this book and it would be a great book club read. ( )
  sandra.k.heinzman | Apr 2, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 909 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay30 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.37)
0.5 2
1 22
1.5 5
2 75
2.5 22
3 311
3.5 117
4 980
4.5 270
5 1866

Audible.com

2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 97,288,897 books! | Top bar: Always visible