Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
10,929979259 (4.36)606
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
English (946)  Spanish (13)  Dutch (6)  German (5)  French (3)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Italian (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (978)
Showing 1-25 of 946 (next | show all)
At the beginning Hazel goes into a cancer support group at the church. At the same session she then meets Augustus. Hazel is diangiosed with stage four of caner because her lungs aren't very good at their job. Augustus only has one leg and his other is fake. Hazel has read An Imperial Affliction by Peter Van Houten tons of times. They both then become together with the book that they are both obsessed with. Later they reach out to Peter Van Houten the author, which ended the book in the middle of a sentence and gets to fly to Amsterdam. When they meet Peter Van Houten who is always drunk and rude. Hazel and Augustus fall in love with each other. Isacc Augustus's friend is entirely blind and his girlfrind broke up wit him; which thenall three of them throw eggs on her car. At the end Augustus dies and Hazel is okay.

I enjoyed this book very much at every moment. John Green never misses any detail or words when writing. This book is touching and emotional. I gave The Fault in our stars a 5 star because it shows you what people with their conditions can go through and the person's parents. I thought it was amazing that even though Augustus died Hazel had gone through the process perfectly. I could not stop put this book down when reading John Greens writing. I highly recommend this book to anyone. ( )
1 vote madisonb.b4 | Sep 26, 2015 |
I know it says it is a young readers book and it is about kids with cancer which does not appeal, but loved the book. So sweet and funny and sad and complicated. The main voice of a young girl rang true to me and her parents were presented really sympathetically ( )
1 vote lindaspangler | Sep 24, 2015 |
Every time I read a novel by John Green, I think, ""this is my favorite."" It's always true until the next one comes out. 'The Fault In Our Stars' is my absolute favorite. I love the story. I love the characters. I can't put this eloquently; it's just really good. ( )
1 vote rawrrbot | Sep 15, 2015 |

The strings were showing.
( )
1 vote StigE | Sep 15, 2015 |
wow. ( )
1 vote smiley0905 | Sep 3, 2015 |
Two stars as in "it was okay".

On one hand, the book was engaging and easy to read.

On the other hand, I couldn't find anything to like about it. It didn't leave much behind for me or move me in any special way, despite all the dramatic events. I would say that in trying to be smart it failed to feel honest.

- Male author writing in first person about a girl's affection, including too many phrases about "muscles" and "hotness" somehow breaks the immersion for me. I don't know, he might have even got it right, but the question keeps hanging there, so no way to win for the author on this. There would have been enough in the heroine's deeds to express her feelings without those weird details.

- I often felt or suspected intellectual posing. I mean, did he really have to draw the Maslow's hierarchy of needs diagram in there? And there are way too many references to literary works, theories, fables, obscure words and sayings for it to feel natural. For me it feels like "educate your reader" taken too far for a novel about teenagers. Also too many deliberate "quotable quotes", often repeated to make sure they are properly imprinted.

- Some plot twists were too much "in your face", like a super-good person turning out super-bad, or a super-planned-out event going totally unplanned at the moment which had to be prepared first of all, or some super-important writing being mailed to the least responsible person with no notice to others.

I was disappointed because the book had such high ratings and glowing reviews. I think it's way overrated.
( )
  valdanylchuk | Aug 26, 2015 |
A well written book. I enjoyed the ease of reading it. John Green writing as teenage Hazel is impressive and I felt her annoyance, her pain, her happiness and sadness. I enjoyed reading the 'cancer kids' exchanges and how blunt they were with their prognosis. I liked the relationship that Hazel formed with Gus, that was lovely.
There's a tragic ending of course however, you can see it coming and there's no real surprise.
Well worth reading. ( )
1 vote Nataliec7 | Aug 22, 2015 |
Believe the hype. I hardly ever read so called young adult fiction, but I picked this up on a whim and was very glad that I did. It is beautiful, heart wrenching and told with real nuanced skill. Green is a very talented writer and tells this story of love with true pathos. Read it. You may even cry a bit. ( )
1 vote daemon6 | Aug 21, 2015 |
Well. I was really looking forward to reading this book because the author is a favourite with my daughter. And I enjoyed the clever writing and the idea that teenagers, whether sick or well, can be smart and deep and affected and affecting. I did have a couple issues with it, though, which prevented it from being a five star read. First, I picked up the twist, or the conceit, right away, which never happens to me, so I felt like it must have been unnecessarily obvious. Next, although I sincerely hope there really are teens out there who can quote "Waiting for Godot" one minute and spew forth texting jargon the next, I kind of doubt it. Also, the narrative preoccupation with a certain literary ending set me up nicely for this novel's ending, which was a bit annoyingly predictable. That said, I weep at the drop of a hat, and although I knew I was in for a three hankie experience with this novel, I did weep at a few scenes. There is great sadness here, and I risk the wrath of Hazel by saying great bravery too. I can see why kids like this book, and adults too. I will read more by this author. ( )
1 vote karenchase | Aug 20, 2015 |
This funny and heart-breaking account of Hazel, a teenager with cancer, is a smartly-told love story. You’ll need tissues. 7th grade and up.
( )
1 vote KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
This funny and heart-breaking account of Hazel, a teenager with cancer, is a smartly-told love story. You’ll need tissues. 7th grade and up.
( )
1 vote KristinAkerHowell | Aug 15, 2015 |
Need a good cry? If yes, then this is the book to read. It's a beautiful sad love story. This is a must read. ( )
1 vote PiperUp | Aug 14, 2015 |
I thought this was a well-written and thoughtful book. It seems to me that it portrays these teens very well. Their personalities,individuality and humanity shines far through their conditions, which I think is a bit of the point of the work. I did enjoy it. ( )
1 vote Industrialstr | Aug 12, 2015 |
I feel somewhat heartless giving this book only two stars, especially after reading other reviews of the book. It is about two teenagers dying of cancer and the relationship they form with each other as they face their disease. There is a lot of philosophizing about life, death, love, how to live life to the fullest, etc. Honestly, I just didn't like the characters that much, especially Augustus Waters, the male lead. He was a bit too much for me. I felt very little empathy for any of the characters. That being said, the book is written for teenagers, and I think I would have really liked Augustus Waters and the whole book as a teenager/younger adult. I'm somewhat surprised it has one of the highest ratings I have seen on Goodreads. ( )
  klburnside | Aug 11, 2015 |
Cancer has been such a huge part of teenage Hazel’s day-to-day experience, that she’s not sure if she knows how to enjoy life- until she meets Augustus Waters. Now Hazel has the chance to live life for the first time in a long time, but how long will it last? John Green's touching story inspired by his friendship with the real "Hazel Grace" helps young adult readers to understand that cancer does not define you, but instead only gives you the limitations that you allow it to... most of the time. ( )
1 vote MzzColby | Aug 8, 2015 |
I've had this book on my 'to be read' shelf for ages, but I kept procrastinating. In my cynicism, I've come to expect that every highly lauded book and film will inevitably prove to be over-hyped and therefore bitterly disappointing. I guess since this has been my experience on several occasions, I've become jaded.
I therefore preferred to look forward to the experience of reading this with hope, rather than to actually read it and risk feeling let down.
Then my daughter came home the other day with a copy of the DVD.
I knew I'd want to watch it, but I hate watching the movie before reading the book. So I decided it was time to bite the bullet. I figured, if it wasn't great, at least it was another crossed off my TBR. So I approached it with ambivalence.
At first, I was afraid my reservations would prove right. I was enjoying the story, but it lacked the wow factor I’d been led to expect. It didn’t make me cry in places I felt it ought to. But that may have been because I was snatching odd pages at the bus stop and in my tea break; hardly an immersive experience. When I realized that my day off would be the only chance I got to watch the DVD for ages, I put aside a couple of hours to finish the book first. I wept unashamedly, and while I was still crying, I found myself laughing out loud a couple of pages later.
I guessed the ‘twist’ early on – totally saw it coming – but it didn’t spoil the story for me at all.
A very powerful, moving experience.
The movie was too, though inevitably it lacked something of the original.
I may even read it again sometime, and anyone who knows me knows that is rare.
( )
1 vote Helen_Earl | Aug 6, 2015 |
Here I present the first book that ever made me cry.
Here I show you the first book I ever reread.
Here I confess for this book was the first I ever got two copies of (voluntarily).
This book made me believe in infinites and their different sizes, and how some are inside of others, and how unperfect things, unperfect people, can make something perfect. ( )
1 vote jayelaglez | Aug 2, 2015 |
Wow. This book grabbed me from the start. Funny, poignant, heartbreaking. In the face of cancer, these characters are desperately alive. John Green keeps the story buoyant, even as it tackles difficult, painful subjects. I am a fan. ( )
1 vote louis.arata | Jul 31, 2015 |
"You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you."

It is official this is my favorite book. It is very well written. Achingly beautiful. It's the kind of book that wants you to celebrate life and seize every moment of it while it is there.

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten.

They met each other in Cancer Support Group and the only silver lining in their situations is falling in love with each other.
Their story isn’t simple, isn’t nice and isn’t all sunshine and flowers, but it’s beautiful. It's one of the most amazing love stories I’ve read. And I’ve read a lot of them.

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once”

This story is so ama to read itzing that I feel privileged to have read it. At first I didnt want because I knew by chapter three I was going to be a crying mess but I am glad I finished it because it is a story about love,loss, and healing.

This book stole my heart and captured my mind. It also broke my heart. It is, by far, one of the most phenomenal books I have ever read.

Recommended to Everyone,
Follow my reviews on: www.facebook.com/mj.bookblog
Blog website: mjbookblogg.blogspot.com ( )
1 vote MadihaJ | Jul 27, 2015 |
I read this book about 6 months ago and I really loved it. Such a sad tale but told from the teen aspect so well. I think I've read all of John Green's novels and this is the most touching. ( )
1 vote joeydag | Jul 23, 2015 |
Good but sad book
Hazel is a teenager with cancer who falls in love with Gus they meet at a support group.
All goes well they even go to Amsterdam to meet a famous writer who is very rude to them.
Then when they get back home to America tragedy strikes. ( )
  Daftboy1 | Jul 16, 2015 |
How many tears can a person cry in their lifetime?
Some persons says that there is no limit, others says that it depends on how many times a person blinks in a minute.
This book makes you cry, with no blinking.My tears reservoir feels empty.
It feels like, if there is a limit, I may have used all my tears...

This book captured suffering, darkness and love
and at the same time reminded readers that perhaps our heroes are not all we have idealized them to be. ( )
  Haidji | Jul 16, 2015 |
Truly one of the nicest books I have read in a long time ( )
1 vote Phyllis.Mann | Jul 13, 2015 |
I only read the first 2 chapters and got put off by the male character.

A kid who picks up chicks at a cancer support group and drives "wildly" with a prostethic leg? He's failed his driving test 3 times and is still driving. I hate the stereo-typical macho, everything is perfect-in-his-life male characters. He's got muscles and "yeah", "yeah", "uh", "huh", "so whats your story?" type light character. I felt that the character is quite superficial and just didn't feel like reading the story anymore. He doesn't seem to have any pain/challenges/struggles in life even though he's been suffering from cancer and has a prosthetic leg. He's got killer looks and from what I've read he can get any girl he wants.

Maybe I hated him so much because he feels like one of those guys whom you see walking on the streets who seems to have everything in life - financial security, bunch of friends who take him to places, a support system, confidence, charisma, leadership etc etc and you see them and envy them always wanting to know more. Maybe if you knew him more you might acquire some of his abilities and have better luck with chicks. But nopes. His life always remains superficial. No matter how much you speak to him you can never get to know him. Whatever you know about him always remains at a very outside level.

Anyway, coming back to the book. Love at first sight was the next thing. That's another big turn-off for me. It feels more like a goody-goody fairy-tale concept to me. I would like to read a story where characters are struggling with their lives and yet have a romance going on which requires leapes of faith, uncertainity, clashes and making-up and the characters are well-developed enough to go through all this... (iff I want to read a romantic story).. ( )
  MugenHere | Jul 12, 2015 |
If I were not busy, I would have read this book in one sitting. My fingers were glued to my ebook reader. This book is that good. A love journey through sickness and sarcasm. I was riding a roller-coaster of emotions fluctuating between happy and sad moments. ( )
1 vote Mohamed80 | Jul 11, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 946 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Popular covers


Average: (4.36)
0.5 3
1 22
1.5 5
2 88
2.5 23
3 329
3.5 118
4 1043
4.5 274
5 1947


2 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,717,420 books! | Top bar: Always visible