HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Loading...

The Fault in Our Stars (original 2012; edition 2012)

by John Green

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8,596768355 (4.41)548
deadgirl's review
Death / cancer has never been so beautiful
  deadgirl | Apr 19, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (741)  Spanish (8)  German (5)  Dutch (5)  French (4)  Swedish (1)  Danish (1)  Portuguese (Brazil) (1)  Catalan (1)  All languages (767)
Showing 1-25 of 741 (next | show all)
Hazel Grace Lancaster is 16 but doesn’t get out much; doesn’t want to. Whenever she goes anywhere, she has to drag along her little portable oxygen tank. Her mother practically pushes her out the door to attend Cancer Kid Support Group which meets at the church located there in Indianapolis, Indiana. She wants Hazel to associate with other teens. At one of these group sessions, she meets Augustus (Gus) Waters. Hazel likes him almost immediately but she knows that her cancer is eventually going to overtake her and is reluctant to hookup. Gus can be very persuasive but never pushy.

Hazel and Gus discuss her favorite book called An Imperial Affliction. It is a story of about Anna, a young girl with cancer. The ending was purposely left open to symbolize all things ended when Anna was either too weak to continue or died. Hazel desperately wants to find out from the author what happened to other people in the book, like Anna’s mother and the man she was seeing and Anna’s hamster. Since Hazel had already used her one ‘wish’ through The Genie Foundation, Gus shared his wish with her and they planned a trip together with her mom to Amsterdam where the author lives. Do they get answers to the questions she’s seeking?

The Fault in Our Stars is told in first person by Hazel. It is a bestseller in the New York Times which shows the age range of 14 and up. I understand that John Green indicated his books were aimed for 15 – 18 year olds. Since the protagonist is 16, I would recommend that as the earliest age to read this novel. Parents should decide if their children should be allowed to read it as there is mature content; concepts; and slang that some pre-teens may not fully comprehend. God and the church were mocked and God’s name is used in vain. There is a make-out scene early in the book of a teen couple just outside of the church. Sixteen year old Hazel and seventeen year old Gus do engage in sexual activity in his room while they are in Amsterdam. While not greatly explicit, it is there. I rated this at 3 out of 5. The story of their struggle with cancer is captivating and the relationship between family and friends is warm and tender.

http://www.fictionzeal.com/fault-stars-john-green/ ( )
  FictionZeal | Aug 31, 2014 |
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

John Green is the author of Looking For Alaska. John Green is an amazing author, one who writes like I would imagine he speaks. He's just very talented!

This book follows Hazel, a teen with cancer. She meets Gus at a cancer support group and, well, the snowball of feelings begins to roll. Gus has been cancer free for a while now, but attended the support group for his buddy who has cancer-who becomes blind because of it. Gus is very philosophical and poses challenging views and when the thoughts collide with Hazel, it is beautiful. This makes the reader think and question their own beliefs about life, love, and reason.

This book is a movie, just out in theaters. There has been a ton of hype around this book on the internet and booktube, so I picked it up. I do have to say that I really did enjoy the story, but I think I would've enjoyed it more if there wasn't so much hype about it-if that makes sense...

I did have a couple minor problems with the book, like why Hazel didn't question Gus's feelings enough for me to truly believe everything, BUT it wasn't something that destroyed the 'enjoyability' for me.

So, if you like romancy, teen, cry a river stories, read this book! If you're looking for a fresh author with many talents, read this book! If you're not into, or are triggered by cancer, emotional breakdowns, or medical treatment, this book MAY not be for you.
  joaslo | Aug 28, 2014 |
I listened to this book over a number of weeks which was probably the wrong way to listen to it. I should have focused my mind on it and listened to it whenever I could. A lovely book exploring all sorts of stuff most Young Adults would enjoy reading about as they explore their world and their place in it. Family, Love, Friendship, Reading, communicating, Truth, Justice (and the American Way - no just kidding). The author definitely hooked me into liking the three young people, all of whom suffer from some sort of debilitating, and potentially fatal, disease. Despite this gloomy prognosis for the kids they carry on just like teenagers and you gotta love them. And better yet, he makes them carry on like wise teenagers. I appreciated the author's use of humor and pseudo-philosophy just as kids would do. I was touched with the affection and love all the characters some how find ways to express. ( )
  maggie1944 | Aug 27, 2014 |
The fault in our star is really good even though i have not finish the book yet it is really good so far.The fault in our stars is about a girl named Hazel Grace who has cancer and goes to a support group and meets a boy named Augutus.I cant tell you the rest because i have not read the book yet and watch the movie yet but I do not want to hear what happen so if you watch the movie please do not tell me what happen.Th ebook is amazing it just makes love the book and wants you to read it over and over again. ( )
  Domoniquet.g1 | Aug 27, 2014 |
While I did expect a sadder story, this book has been, so far, the best one I read this year, so I'm either reading not very good books or this one is pretty good. The story is catchy, cute, it flows really nice, it takes a slightly different turn than most romances and... well, it ends almost as abruptly as An Imperial Affliction. To sum it up, it is a good book, but feels somewhat inconclusive. ( )
  aryadeschain | Aug 26, 2014 |
RGG: The voices of the two main characters are mesmerizing, so while the premise and plot may seem a bit thin, the novel is intensely engaging and the messages ring true. A few sexual scenes. Reading Level: YA+.
  rgruberexcel | Aug 26, 2014 |
I have no words -- for once. OK? OK. ( )
  ElizabethFlygare | Aug 25, 2014 |
The story of Hazel and Augustus and how cancer affects their life. Thought provoking, but I felt it was a book written more for teens and young adults.
  Judy.Welker.Frick | Aug 25, 2014 |
I am a hardened reader. I have been through the wars. I read Never Let Me Go (a 5-star book) and wouldn't touch another Ishiguro for three years. I don't know if I'll ever be able to see the movie. I read Bastard Out of Carolina - incredible book - but sometimes I wish I hadn't. Ditto, We Need, to Talk About Kevin. Zeitoun made me weep and even sob. THE LAST HARRY POTTER!!!! So, I was like, Bring it on, you little tearjerker, I am inured to the likes of YOU!

Of course, it got me. I started weeping about 100 pages from the end, and kept on for another hour after I finished. John Green, you bastard! I only read the book so I could see the movie, and now I am not at all confident that I am emotionally equipped to watch Hazel and Augustus as living breathing beings. Oh, no, no, no, no...I'm crying again.

Beautiful book, by the way. ( )
  citygirl | Aug 24, 2014 |
If I didn't have children to, you know, keep alive, I would have just read this book from start to end without stopping. I don't really want to recount the plot, except that it is about a young girl who has terminal cancer who falls in love with the vivacious and smart Augustus, a cancer survivor. I loved that the author hit the spot with the fact that the kids were pretty much socially isolated in that they felt their friends didn't really understand them anymore. They existed in a bubble whereby their friends were alive and well one day, and then hit with a medical blow the next. It is a love story (I am a sucker for a YA romance) but it wasn't mushy. I loved the characters, their wisdom and their limitations. It was funny and sad and it made me almost cry (but not quite). I think what made it a 5 star for me was that I haven't stopped thinking about it since I put it down. It is rare that I find these kinds of books and I think this one is my favourite for the year. ( )
  Erin.Patel | Aug 22, 2014 |
If I didn't have children to, you know, keep alive, I would have just read this book from start to end without stopping. I don't really want to recount the plot, except that it is about a young girl who has terminal cancer who falls in love with the vivacious and smart Augustus, a cancer survivor. I loved that the author hit the spot with the fact that the kids were pretty much socially isolated in that they felt their friends didn't really understand them anymore. They existed in a bubble whereby their friends were alive and well one day, and then hit with a medical blow the next. It is a love story (I am a sucker for a YA romance) but it wasn't mushy. I loved the characters, their wisdom and their limitations. It was funny and sad and it made me almost cry (but not quite). I think what made it a 5 star for me was that I haven't stopped thinking about it since I put it down. It is rare that I find these kinds of books and I think this one is my favourite for the year. ( )
  Erin.Patel | Aug 22, 2014 |
This is a book that friends kept recommending and one I have seen in the best-selling lists many times.

This is a beautiful book on so many levels. You don’t need another review from me to add to the tens of thousands, needless-to-say, if you haven’t read it, what the hell are you waiting for.

The Writing IMP ( )
  IanMPindar | Aug 21, 2014 |
The scene I like most in this, frankly, scene fraught book is one never seen. Of Augustus waking from his own bed, his death prophesized if not foretold, and watching Hazel struggling with her own self. Of the seedlessness of, for just one second, not bothering with himself. Alone with the world he sees only his love with her. Of the time when she could not stand, when they watched other children play. These children for whow they were the side effects they did not hold against them. They add part of humanity were with o of their sacrifice regardless of their own struggles. These tumultuous people who themselves would never leave a legacy, there may of the world like all others is fleeting survive, not focusing on oblivion. In their own metaphorical snowglobe do not see the other snowflakes melting around then, they miss the beauty gone and going ( )
  Lorem | Aug 19, 2014 |
Amazed at how much humor there was in a book about kids with cancer. Very well done. My only complaint was that these high school age students had better vocabularies than any high school, and most adults that I know. I get that they have had a lot of "down time" which has led them to do a lot of reading which I'm sure has helped but seemed out of place. ( )
  she_climber | Aug 19, 2014 |
This is not a book I would ever have chosen to read had it not been a book group choice. I approached it knowing very little about the story and liked it more than I thought I would. The story of Hazel and Augustus, teenagers living with cancer or the spectre of cancer hanging over them, they become close and share some of their precious time with each other.

It didn't make me cry, probably because it's all told in a very matter of fact sort of way by Hazel, but I did the story sad and parts of it made me think about life and how short it all is. A nice, easy to read story, with quirky and (what seemed to me) over-intelligent main characters. ( )
  nicx27 | Aug 18, 2014 |
Although this is not the kind of novel that I would usually choose to read for pleasure, I was very pleasantly surprised by it. The story with eloquent, intelligent and managed to be funny and sad in equal measure. It tackled the difficult topic of terminally ill teenagers honestly and without sugar coating, using it as a way to explore some interesting philosophical debates such as the meaning of our existence and existence of an afterlife.

Although I found the characters to be likable, my one gripe was that I never felt as though they were teenagers. Both Hazel and Augustus talk like forty year old scholars, quoting Samuel Beckett and Emily Dickinson more than they do modern pop culture. Although I still found the story to be sad, the strange intellectual way that the characters spoke distanced myself from them somewhat as it felt like it formed a barrier between me and them.

However, this gripe aside, I still very much enjoyed the story and would recommend it. I'm looking forward to reading more by this author in the future. ( )
  ArkhamReviews | Aug 17, 2014 |
What an amazing book! I laughed, I cried and I wanted to read more! The premise was about a young girl diagnosed with terminal cancer and just lived everyday to live. On one exceptional day during her support group meeting, she meets Augustus who was in remission and what happens then makes her wake up and live.

For the rest of the review, visit my blog at: http://angelofmine1974.livejournal.com/76775.html ( )
  booklover3258 | Aug 16, 2014 |
Posted first to Blog Critics as Book Review:'The Fault in our Stars' by John Green.

Cancer is such a dreadful disease, indiscriminate in its choice of victim, choosing with aplomb regardless of age, gender or status. There are a myriad of stories behind the tragedy and many of them remain untold.

In The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, he builds a story out of darkness and despair. He takes the tragedy of cancer and immerses us in the lives of characters that could very well be real. Many know of the heartaches in dealing with those who fight the fight, and many of those scars last a lifetime. He brings his story in the form of a teen girl, Hazel Lancaster. Stricken with cancer from a young age, she believes she has come to terms with what her life has become. Then she meets a young man, Augustus Waters, a survivor of cancer. He is drawn to her in a way that is initially uncomfortable, and as she tries to push him away in her sarcastic vein, he finds her to be exactly the type of girl he has been looking for. Throughout the story there is a beauty and humor, a ‘candle in the wind’ for each of those whose lives have been touched by such an uncaring disease. For cancer touches not just the victim but all those who love and are in anyway touched by them.

Be prepared for a story of romance and anger, excitement and humor, and friendship and bravery for that is the direction we are led as Green develops the personality of a group of teens that have the courage to bring both laughter and tears. The story’s that encircle each individual gives you a glimpse of the character and daring as well as the abiding hope. Hidden within that strength they also hide the depression and hopelessness as they try hard to protect their family and friends by showing only the smiles and strength whenever possible.

Written so beautifully your heart and emotions melt, you come to be a part of this group as well as their families, their triumphs and their losses. The friendships as well as the depths the families go through preparing for the worst while holding out hope is like a beacon of light.

The courage and humor, the energy and despair all keep you on a roller coaster of emotion. Green takes you on a journey both terrible and beautiful.

While a difficult book to categorize I found it to be one of the most important finds of the last few years. Green shines a light on cancer in a way that sends a tremor of intent awareness, an incandescent monument to those that have both won and lost the fight, as well as the damage done to those closest. The story blasts away the veil of secrecy and hooks you from the very beginning. ( )
  wrighton-time | Aug 11, 2014 |
I loved this book but hated that it left me a blubbering mess ( )
  Tiffy83 | Aug 11, 2014 |
This book is one you can really get into and feel a part of. It's very sad and really captivating, I couldn't put it down! 4Q5P The cover art is "okay?" "okay" (ha) and I'd recommend this to middle school and high school students as well as adults. I chose to read this book because I have read many John Green books and I really like his writing. WrenA
  edspicer | Aug 10, 2014 |
Read my full review here.

At first, I questioned the relationship between Hazel and Gus. Then I decided the relationship was deep and moving and so realistic. Their banter is fun and their love for one another is beautiful. And what they do for each other is amazing That was enough for me to get over the early reservations I had.

Did my eyes water at times? Of course. How could they not? The novel revealed much more to readers as Hazel and Augustus became more outwardly vulnerable. Green accomplished making me angry when Hazel was angry, and hurt when Hazel and Gus were both hurt. So, it succeeded in making me feel with the characters which any good novel should do.

The narrative reads more like a diary or inner monologue than anything else. Sometimes, I liked how accurate the jargon is for the characters’ ages, but other times not so much. I found that as the novel goes on, the narrative becomes much more descriptive which helped me become more immersed in the story. Another inconsistency I noticed is the way in which Hazel spoke. These conflicting speech patterns were so jarring at times. As well, sometimes each character’s voices were so similar there was barely any distinction.

Sometimes the ending of a book can be a let-down, but I have no issues with the way this novel ended. In fact, I think it was one of the most unexpectedly poignant endings.

Overall, The Fault in Our Stars is a good book. I didn’t get into the story right away, but when I did get into it, I was really into it. Did it blow me away? No. Did I like it? Yes. ( )
  CaitlinAC | Aug 10, 2014 |
I honestly hesitated to read this book, for fear it would be like Looking for Alaska, which (for me) was not a good read. However, anything I may have thought about John Green as an author was dispelled in this one. I have had cancer four times. This says just about everything I was thinking and made all the inappropriate comments I thought about making. It was sad and funny, and a lot of the comments the living made about the dead were things that people said to me WHILE I WAS ALIVE. As if I were dead. I lived that life through this book. And I cried. I don't cry. ( )
  mreed61 | Aug 10, 2014 |
I cried. Oh God. I think I have an Augustus Waters fetish myself.

I fell in love with Augustus. With "OKAY" that is bursting with sensuality. With tulips. With An Imperial Affliction. With the talking about oblivion. With all the good quotes. With every single freaking detail. I fell in love with the book.

Oh my God. My life would never be the same. Thank you John Green for this. I love you forever. ( )
  margaraawr | Aug 8, 2014 |
I cried. Oh God. I think I have an Augustus Waters fetish myself.

I fell in love with Augustus. With "OKAY" that is bursting with sensuality. With tulips. With An Imperial Affliction. With the talking about oblivion. With all the good quotes. With every single freaking detail. I fell in love with the book.

Oh my God. My life would never be the same. Thank you John Green for this. I love you forever. ( )
  margaraawr | Aug 8, 2014 |
This book is sad and lovely in equal measure. It's a 'terminal cancer' story, which these days is familiar to many families, but this story has a twist. Hazel has been living with cancer for a while and is pushed into going to a support group by her mum, who is worried that she will otherwise suffer with depression. At the support group she meets Augustus, who is a cancer susvivor and is supporting his friend Isaac. The story is about support, life, romance and death and will make you laugh one minute and cry the next. Definitely recommended! ( )
  Elainedav | Aug 8, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 741 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

John Green is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1512 wanted
8 pay26 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.41)
0.5 1
1 16
1.5 3
2 57
2.5 16
3 225
3.5 92
4 787
4.5 240
5 1592

Audible.com

Two editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,344,333 books! | Top bar: Always visible