HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Death Without Company by Craig Johnson
Loading...

Death Without Company (2006)

by Craig Johnson

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: Walt Longmire (2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
7174713,134 (4.02)141
Recently added byalaskayo, GanneC, private library, gaylebones, GRVC, dmaness, jpeterson2gz, SandyEll, Claire13

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 141 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 47 (next | show all)
I really love the characters that Johnson writes about, and they have some great dialogue, however, I don't really find the stories themselves to be that interesting. Having read the first two books in the Longmire series, I feel that this applies to both books. There's some great chemistry and dialogue between Walt & Vic, and also between Walt & Henry, but that alone does not make a fantastic story. These definitely aren't page-turners. Also, sometimes it's not entirely clear exactly who it is that is speaking when reading a scene in which there are several characters in the room - which "he" is being referred to? ( )
  Adam_Z | Mar 19, 2018 |
Still enjoyable, getting new characters in dribs & drabs.... the whodunit got me - I had a suspect, but picked the wrong one (thank heaven!) ( )
  kmajort | Feb 9, 2018 |
Johnson and Guidall, perfection. ( )
  blueraven57 | Nov 25, 2017 |
“A life without friends means death without company.” A Basque proverb.
This is book 2 in the Longmire mystery series. Learned more about regular characters and some new regulars added. Sheriff continues his sad attempts at romance and sexual tension with Vic builds. Mystery got a little complicated but wrinkles iron on in the end. A little confused by the title (see quote). The importance of friends surfaces many times and I assume that is the link. Sheriff is saved by friends more than once. This is an excellent package and I am drawn to the next book. ( )
  LJCain | Aug 7, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 47 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Craig Johnsonprimary authorall editionscalculated
Aslanides, SophieTraductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
guidall, georgeNarratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Porras Sánchez, MaríaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Welch, DarrenCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Adiskidegabeko bizita, auzogabeko heriotza.

(A life without friends means death without company.)

- Basque proverb
Dedication
For Dorothy Caldwell Kisling (1930-2005)
for whom I still look when I laugh
First words
"They used fire, back in the day."
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (2)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0143038389, Paperback)

Walt investigates a death by poison in this gripping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and As the Crow Flies, the second in the Walt Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series
 
Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, who garnered both praise and an enthusiastic readership with his acclaimed debut novel featuring Sheriff Walt Longmire, The Cold Dish, the first in the Walt Longmire mystery series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit A&E original drama series. Now Johnson takes us back to the rugged landscape of Absaroka County, Wyoming, for Death Without Company. When Mari Baroja is found poisoned at the Durant Home for Assisted Living, Sheriff Longmire is drawn into an investigation that reaches fifty years into the mysterious woman’s dramatic Basque past. Aided by his friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and newcomer Santiago Saizarbitoria, Sheriff Longmire must connect the specter of the past to the present to find the killer among them.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 17:58:42 -0400)

(see all 3 descriptions)

"When Mari Baroja is found poisoned at the Durant Home for Assisted Living, Sheriff Longmire is drawn into an investigation of her death that proves to be as dramatic as her life. Her connections to the Basque community, the lucrative coal-bed methane industry, and the personal life of the previous sheriff, Lucian Connally, lead to a complex web of half-truths and assumed allegiances. As the specter of Mari's abusive husband arises, Sheriff Longmire, aided by his friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and newcomer Santiago Saizarbitoria, must connect the past to the present to find the killer among them."--BOOK JACKET.… (more)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.02)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 3
2.5
3 39
3.5 33
4 117
4.5 18
5 65

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 125,307,817 books! | Top bar: Always visible