HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Tina's Mouth: An Existential Comic…
Loading...

Tina's Mouth: An Existential Comic Diary

by Keshni Kashyap

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
969125,712 (3.61)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
Really liked it, even though I swear the plot has to have been done ten million times already. The existential examination and Indian protagonist are a great focus, but really: Inseparable best friends become teenagers, one dumps the other to hang out with cooler people. Dumped friend finds new, previously unnoticed friend. Friend who dumped her realizes that her new friends aren't real friends, comes back and ends up forming trio with dumped friend's new friend. Optionally, at some point one of them finds the guy they liked hooking up at a party with a girl they'd thought was their new friend, which is probably what triggers the original friends' reunion. I feel like I've seen so many movies with that plot, and while I can't think of any yet, I definitely know it's the premise of a Babysitters Club book. Probably also Sweet Valley.
  mirikayla | Feb 8, 2016 |
Just right for all those thinking teens in honors classes, trying to discover "who am I" while hormones rage and the social ladder shifts without warning. Tina is likable, sometimes annoying and thinks too much, but there's a grounded quality to her that doesn't let her get too carried away by her own intellect. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
Very similar feel and tone to Reina Telgemier's Smile but it's a little bit older. Tina is in a private school but has finally reached high school aged. Her best friend is changing, got a boyfriend and ditches her for another group. Through her existentialism project she challenges herself to try new things and make new friends. The reader also gets an inside look at being an American with Indian parents. I thought it was an interesting read and the existentialist look at life Tina tried was definitely interesting. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
Very similar feel and tone to Reina Telgemier's Smile but it's a little bit older. Tina is in a private school but has finally reached high school aged. Her best friend is changing, got a boyfriend and ditches her for another group. Through her existentialism project she challenges herself to try new things and make new friends. The reader also gets an inside look at being an American with Indian parents. I thought it was an interesting read and the existentialist look at life Tina tried was definitely interesting. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
Very similar feel and tone to Reina Telgemier's Smile but it's a little bit older. Tina is in a private school but has finally reached high school aged. Her best friend is changing, got a boyfriend and ditches her for another group. Through her existentialism project she challenges herself to try new things and make new friends. The reader also gets an inside look at being an American with Indian parents. I thought it was an interesting read and the existentialist look at life Tina tried was definitely interesting. ( )
  Rosa.Mill | Nov 21, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0618945199, Hardcover)

In the tradition of Persepolis and American Born Chinese, a wise and funny high school heroine comes of age.

Tina M., sophomore, is a wry observer of the cliques and mores of Yarborough Academy, and of the foibles of her Southern California intellectual Indian family. She's on a first-name basis with Jean-Paul Sartre, the result of an English honors class assignment to keep an “existential diary.”

Keshni Kashyap’s compulsively readable graphic novel packs in existential high school drama—from Tina getting dumped by her smart-girl ally to a kiss on the mouth (Tina’s mouth, but not technically her first kiss) from a cute skateboarder, Neil Strumminger. And it memorably answers the pressing question: Can an English honors assignment be one fifteen-year-old girl’s path to enlightenment?

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:14:16 -0400)

Tina Malhotra, a sophomore at the Yarborough Academy in Southern California, creates an existential diary for an honors English assignment in which she tries to determine who she is and where she fits in.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
5 wanted
1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.61)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5 2
3 11
3.5 1
4 13
4.5 2
5 4

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 108,440,061 books! | Top bar: Always visible