HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and…
Loading...

The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns) (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Rae Carson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5305519,020 (4.25)54
Member:ErisofDiscord
Title:The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns)
Authors:Rae Carson
Info:Greenwillow Books (2012), Edition: 1, Hardcover, 416 pages
Collections:Library Books
Rating:*****
Tags:YA, Fantasy

Work details

The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson (2012)

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 54 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 55 (next | show all)
I liked this one even better than the first one. The character development is great and the plot is believable. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 23, 2016 |
I liked this one even better than the first one. The character development is great and the plot is believable. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 23, 2016 |
I enjoyed this as much as the first book in the series. If possible it has more action and certainly more romance. However, it finished on such a cliff-hanger that I can't wait for the next instalment to see how it all ends. When does book 3 come out? ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 23, 2016 |
The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. Tamora Pierce called the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "A unique and engrossing read!" A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

In The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting—against assassination attempts and more—and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume to Rae Carson's ambitious trilogy. Cinda Williams Chima proclaimed about the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "I LOVED this book!" and Veronica Roth agreed, saying, "Definitely recommended."
  lkmuir | Nov 30, 2015 |
Elisa is a hero, she has survived war but can she survive politics and fulfil the goals of her god as he tries to direct her through the jewel in her navel. She finds that the political reality of her role as queen isn't sitting well with her heart.

The journey is complicated and you can see how the author thought through some of the realities of the situation. The hints of being taken from a previous dying world and taken by gods hand to this new world makes me wonder about SF roots and potentials. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Apr 22, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 55 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Charlie, my first reader and best friend
First words
My entourage of guards struggles to keep pace as I fly down the corridors of my palace.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

"Hero. Foreigner. Queen. Elisa, at the age of seventeen, is all three. And all three draw enemies. Faced with assassins, court politics, and the threat of civil war, Elisa despairs of being the ruler her people need. Her only hope is the Godstone. She must master its power once and for all. She finds clues hidden in a long forgotten--and forbidden--scripture. Accompanied by a one-eyed warrior, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with, Elisa takes a leap of faith and crosses an ocean in search of the ultimate source of the Godstone's power. But her faith has always had a price, and doing the right thing might mean giving up the power she desperately needs. And it might mean giving up the man she desperately loves. Rae Carson continues the epic story begun in The Girl of Fire and Thorns with a novel that is remarkable, adventurous, and even more romantic than the first"--… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
143 wanted3 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.25)
0.5
1
1.5
2 3
2.5 3
3 14
3.5 12
4 72
4.5 17
5 69

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,255,326 books! | Top bar: Always visible