Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and…

The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns) (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Rae Carson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4855221,184 (4.25)54
Title:The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns)
Authors:Rae Carson
Info:Greenwillow Books (2012), Edition: 1, Hardcover, 416 pages
Collections:Your library
Tags:Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Adventure

Work details

The Crown of Embers by Rae Carson (2012)



Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 54 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 52 (next | show all)
The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning The Girl of Fire and Thorns fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. Tamora Pierce called the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "A unique and engrossing read!" A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

In The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting—against assassination attempts and more—and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with. A breathtaking, romantic, and dangerous second volume to Rae Carson's ambitious trilogy. Cinda Williams Chima proclaimed about the first book, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, "I LOVED this book!" and Veronica Roth agreed, saying, "Definitely recommended."
  lkmuir | Nov 30, 2015 |
Elisa is a hero, she has survived war but can she survive politics and fulfil the goals of her god as he tries to direct her through the jewel in her navel. She finds that the political reality of her role as queen isn't sitting well with her heart.

The journey is complicated and you can see how the author thought through some of the realities of the situation. The hints of being taken from a previous dying world and taken by gods hand to this new world makes me wonder about SF roots and potentials. ( )
  wyvernfriend | Apr 22, 2015 |
Just the tiniest bit too pat at the end. Still, enjoyable.
  2wonderY | Apr 1, 2015 |
Even better than the first!
  devafagan | Jan 2, 2015 |
The Crown of Embers is the second book in a series and picks up where [The Girl of Fire and Thorns] ends. At seventeen years old, Elisa is a hero and a queen with enemies at every side, a war scarred kingdom to rebuild, an army to raise, and the truth about her godstone and destiny to figure out — not to mention choosing a prince consort to marry and ensure her countries stability.

Though this is clearly a middle book, strung between the beginning and the end, it was better than the first book. The story opens just a few months after a battle and things seem almost cheery and hopeful, but the ease is quickly ripped away when an assassin comes for Elisa during her birthday procession, causing a rippling effect of panic and riots throughout her kingdom. This is immediately followed by a succession of bloody near-death incidents, court intrigues, and difficult decision making that leaves me never wanting to be the ruler of any country EVER. Elisa grew a lot in the first book and here we see her grow even more as she tries to figure out just what it means to be a queen and rule.

Like the first book, there is also a love story and this, too, was a more interesting story to me, more grown up and more complicated. Her reasons behind holding back are understandable; she's a queen, she must show propriety in all her actions, and she must choose a partner who will help consolidate her power. Love has little to do with marriage in her world.

Altogether a solid story and I can't wait to read the final book. ( )
  andreablythe | Dec 17, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 52 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
For Charlie, my first reader and best friend
First words
My entourage of guards struggles to keep pace as I fly down the corridors of my palace.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English


Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

"Hero. Foreigner. Queen. Elisa, at the age of seventeen, is all three. And all three draw enemies. Faced with assassins, court politics, and the threat of civil war, Elisa despairs of being the ruler her people need. Her only hope is the Godstone. She must master its power once and for all. She finds clues hidden in a long forgotten--and forbidden--scripture. Accompanied by a one-eyed warrior, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with, Elisa takes a leap of faith and crosses an ocean in search of the ultimate source of the Godstone's power. But her faith has always had a price, and doing the right thing might mean giving up the power she desperately needs. And it might mean giving up the man she desperately loves. Rae Carson continues the epic story begun in The Girl of Fire and Thorns with a novel that is remarkable, adventurous, and even more romantic than the first"--… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
143 wanted2 pay1 pay

Popular covers


Average: (4.25)
2 3
2.5 3
3 12
3.5 11
4 67
4.5 17
5 63

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,959,937 books! | Top bar: Always visible