HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Bond Girl by Erin Duffy
Loading...

Bond Girl (edition 2012)

by Erin Duffy

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1611974,103 (3.67)7
Member:ennie
Title:Bond Girl
Authors:Erin Duffy
Info:William Morrow (2012), Edition: Reprint, Hardcover, 304 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***1/2
Tags:read, kindle

Work details

Bond Girl by Erin Duffy

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 7 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 19 (next | show all)
Narrated by Robin Gwyne. This was a great listen for the work commute. Gwyne very effectively voiced Alex as a college graduate embarking on an exciting career on Wall Street. It was like listening to a girlfriend dishing and bitching about her daily dramas. Alex not only is learning the ropes and keeping up the quick pace of her job, but as one of the few women in the workplace, she's also bearing the brunt of masculine attitudes and sexual harassment (her boss calls her "Girlie" and a creepy client is frighteningly inappropriate towards her). The author worked on Wall Street for many years, so if this is the reality, it's quite horrifying. But it makes for intriguing glad-that's-not-me entertainment and Alex can be very humorous even at the end of her rope. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
Eh. Boring ( )
  ellenuw | Jan 27, 2016 |
3 1/2 Stars. The author has a very engaging voice, and the trip through the workplace from hell to the financial meltdown was interesting.

What I found missing was the personal. Alex chooses to work on Wall Street because her father does, and she has wanted to do with since she was a little girl. But when she does, actually, get a job on Wall Street, we don't see her communicating with or even thinking about her father very much.

When she strikes up a workplace romance, I wasn't even sure that she had. She's out for drinks and flirting with a co-worker (something that could cost her her job). Next she's waking up in his bed - did she pass out, or did they have sex? As you continue reading, yes, apparently she and said co-worker are "hooking up" and she is becoming emotionally involved, but there is no THERE there. We don't see them kissing, having sex, or her daydreaming about him very much, just some innocuous emails.

Since we already know about the financial meltdown, that wasn't a surprise, and since I wasn't emotionally invested in Alex's romance, the ending to that doesn't really pay off, either. I would certainly read another book by this author, but hope she'll include some closer looks inside her character's heart. ( )
  writerbeverly | May 1, 2014 |
This novel follows a young woman in her job in the boys club world of Wall Street bond trading. I'm not clear of the mechanics of her job, but that was less important than the people and relationships, from browbeating bosses to lecherous clients to the occasional good guy. Called Girlie, she was at first given a folding chair with no desk, and sent on crazy errands to get massive coffee orders and pizza from the Bronx. The few other women in the firm were not always supportive (one is known as Cruella), and it did not sound like the best atmosphere. ( )
  ennie | Apr 14, 2014 |
Very light, fun book. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and The Devil Wears Prada ( )
  susan.h.schofield | Apr 4, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 19 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0062065890, Hardcover)

When other little girls were dreaming about becoming doctors or lawyers, Alex Garrett set her sights on conquering the high-powered world of Wall Street. And though she's prepared to fight her way into an elitist boys' club, or duck the occasional errant football, she quickly realizes she's in over her head when she's relegated to a kiddie-size folding chair with her new moniker—Girlie—inscribed in Wite-Out across the back.

No matter. She's determined to make it in bond sales at Cromwell Pierce, one of the Street's most esteemed brokerage firms. Keeping her eyes on the prize, the low Girlie on the totem pole will endure whatever comes her way—whether trekking to the Bronx for a $1,000 wheel of Parmesan cheese; discovering a secretary's secret Friday night slumber/dance party in the conference room; fielding a constant barrage of "friendly" practical jokes; learning the ropes from Chick, her unpredictable, slightly scary, loyalty-demanding boss; babysitting a colleague while he consumes the contents of a vending machine on a $28,000 bet; or eluding the advances of a corporate stalker who's also one of the firm's biggest clients.

Ignoring her friends' pleas to quit, Alex excels (while learning how to roll with the punches and laugh at herself) and soon advances from lowly analyst to slightly-less-lowly associate. Suddenly, she's addressed by her real name, and the impenetrable boys' club has transformed into forty older brothers and one possible boyfriend. Then the apocalypse hits, and Alex is forced to choose between sticking with Cromwell Pierce as it teeters on the brink of disaster or kicking off her Jimmy Choos and running for higher ground.

Fast-paced, funny, and thoroughly addictive, Bond Girl will leave you cheering for Alex: a feisty, ambitious woman with the spirit to stand up to the best (and worst) of the boys on the Street—and ultimately rise above them all.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:15:19 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

Alex Garrett, a recent college graduate who began her Wall Street career in 2006, dreams of fast-talking days on the trading floor while living a life tied to a government bond desk and performing other peculiar tasks.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
30 wanted
3 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.67)
0.5
1 3
1.5
2 5
2.5
3 9
3.5 4
4 21
4.5 5
5 9

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 107,556,058 books! | Top bar: Always visible