HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,6033671,040 (3.94)273
pnh002's review
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
  pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (359)  Spanish (4)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (367)
Showing 1-25 of 359 (next | show all)
Tris wakes up on the train leaning onto Tobais. She just saw her mother die trying to save her from the guards that were chasing after them. They are heading to the Amity compound as a safe spot for the night. But while Tris is sleeping she has a bad dream with Will in it she sees him fall to the ground dead. The next morning the Amity decide whether or not to let them stay. The Amity decide that they can stay if they can follow the rules and they will have to work if they want to stay. They get chased out of the Amity compound by the Erudite and most of the Abnegation that where safe got killed while running away.
What I liked about this book is that it is very breathtaking and it keeps me up all night. Needing to read it the next day when I wake up in the morning. It is so detailed I can imagine it in my head while I read it. And it is my favorite book of the year. I can't wait for the movie so I can compare it to the book. And I am so excited to read Allegiant. I bet it will be a good book. ( )
  AbigailUB4 | Sep 1, 2014 |
I originally bought Divergent and Insurgent on a buy one get one half price deal from a local Waterstones bookshop, and if I hadn't got the two of them at once, I most likely would never have picked up Insurgent after being less than thrilled with Divergent.

As it turned out, I did actually like Insurgent a little better. I think it was because there was more world building, and you got to see more of how the other Factions functioned, and the plot was more developed than just Faction training.

I didn't actually like Triss much at all in this book, considering how bad ass she was at the end of the first one, I found her very wooden in this book. And I still don't buy the romance with her and Tobias at all. Its a little weird, even though I wasn't all that blown away with the main character, I thought it was a much better plot than the first book.

And I was never going to bother with the final book, but now I have to know how the whole thing ends. ( )
  sunset_x_cocktail | Aug 20, 2014 |
I liked this book better than Divergent. The writing just seemed smoother, and things made more sense. It still seemed to me that Roth was struggling to get some of her points across, and it seemed rather repetitive in places, but there's some interesting stuff here and it's an easy read. ( )
  sammii507 | Aug 19, 2014 |
Had a really hard time getting into this one. ( )
  Mirandalg14 | Aug 18, 2014 |
*No spoilers.

Immediate reaction after reading the last word:

Holy shit. My heart nearly thumped right outta my chest at the end.

After some reflection:

This book was okay, but it didn’t have the same shine as Divergent. Again, I thought I had things figured out, but Roth kept throwing me for a loop. This and the first book were definitely action-packed and fast-paced. There was no time to get bored, because just as you’d be getting comfortable, the rug would be pulled out from under you and off the story would go.

Tris. Oy. I was on the fence about her in Divergent, although I thought she was mostly likeable. In this book, she really kinda fell apart. She was an emotional wreck. I get it. Your world is in shambles and it’s not easy to keep it together, but the contrast between Divergent’s Can-Do-No-Wrong Tris and Insurgent’s Can’t-Do-Shit Tris was too great. It occurred to me that maybe the author did this purposefully (I know that sounds stupid, but ya know what I mean) and she just went a little overboard. There were many times that I just wanted to shake the shit outta Tris and yell at her to get it together, bitch! She acted out of character often and that threw me off. A lot.

Tobias (ugh, that name is horrid) was a conundrum to me. Half of the time, I thought he was so awesome and I knew where he was coming from, but then he’d screw our love, I mean, their love up and turn my world upside down. I just wanted them to get it together. Too much turmoil for my cold, little heart.

I still liked this book. It wasn’t as good as Divergent and by no means is it a masterpiece, but I had so much fun reading it. I’ve had an inkling of where the story was heading and at the very end, my notion was confirmed, but there was a twist and that has left me ridiculously excited for book 3. Which is eons away. Fucking sniffle.
( )
  JennyJen | Aug 14, 2014 |
I loved this one too! Can't wait to read the next one!! ( )
  Tiffy83 | Aug 11, 2014 |
WOOOW!!!

I am still in love with this series.

A lot of questions where answer in my opinion. The end was definitely something i was not expecting but it cleared quiet a few stuff. IT DOES tell you what is behind the gates (more or less), IT DOES tell you what they are doing inside the gates. A little bit of it is predictable but i am still interested in what is going to happen between Tris and Tobias, like I am really hoping they can spend their life together like Katniss and Petaa did.
I am beginning to like Peter a little bit more, like this book was FULL of suprises, like OMG CALEB!! i just can not wait to finish the seires and put it all together. ( )
  angie.arciba | Aug 9, 2014 |
ASDGFGHJKL! That ending is @##@*&%%%^$. This is me possessed.

This book made my heart beat faster than I could ever imagine. It's more incredible than Divergent.

I cried a lot of times and I just feel so sad to have finished it already. I'm left wanting for more. :(

“People, I have discovered, are layers and layers of secrets. You believe you know them, that you understand them, but their motives are always hidden from you, buried in their own hearts. You will never know them, but sometimes you decide to trust them.” ( )
  margaraawr | Aug 8, 2014 |
ASDGFGHJKL! That ending is @##@*&%%%^$. This is me possessed.

This book made my heart beat faster than I could ever imagine. It's more incredible than Divergent.

I cried a lot of times and I just feel so sad to have finished it already. I'm left wanting for more. :(

“People, I have discovered, are layers and layers of secrets. You believe you know them, that you understand them, but their motives are always hidden from you, buried in their own hearts. You will never know them, but sometimes you decide to trust them.” ( )
  margaraawr | Aug 8, 2014 |
I have really been enjoying this series. I worried that having read The Hunger Games this would feel to similar, but I feel these books stand on their own. I love the fact that these are set in and around Chicago, too. I particularly like how Veronica Roth draws us into her world fairly slowly - by this second book you only just start to get the bigger picture of who these people are and why their lives are structured by factions. It's an interesting concept to organize the world this way to maintain order, although people being what they are - well, you know it won't go as planned. ( )
  PaulaKrapf | Aug 2, 2014 |
It was a little slow going for the first half and Tris was really irritating me with the constant contradictions (ie I am strong, I am not strong. I can do this, but I can't do this). It was a whole lot of nothing. Maybe I'm not very compassionate and/or maybe it was supposed to show her confusion and numbness, but I really just found it ineffective and annoying. The second half was so much better. I liked the conversations with Jeanine. And I thought the ending was great too. If nothing else, I would at least say that this book stands alone and does not succumb to the "middle book syndrome." Looking forward to reading "Detergent" when it comes out in a little over a year. :] ( )
  lyssa73 | Aug 2, 2014 |
This book was a great second instalment to the divergent series

This book was perfect build up for the last book (which is still have to read)

Tris and Four love is tested over and over again. You feel it is a real relationship with fighting and making up.

You just sometimes want to go up to tris and slap her against her head and say girl wake up.

The twist at the end of the book made my mouth fell upon wide. ( )
  anke.vanzweel | Aug 1, 2014 |
This book is really good and full of adventure. It also had lots of twists and turns and you never really know what's coming or when. 5Q5P The cover art is okay and I'd recommend this to middle school and high school students as well as adults. I chose to read this book because the series was recommended to me on many occasions. KylahL
  edspicer | Jul 26, 2014 |
Most sequels suck, it's just a fact. But this book was the exact opposite of that stereotype. If anything it was better and more action-packed than the first book. 5Q5P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this to middle school and high school students as well as adults. I chose to read this book because I had already read the previous book. SarahP
  edspicer | Jul 26, 2014 |
Painful to read. The writing is worse than the first book, which is really quite bad, and the plot involves moving from place to place looking for 'the information.' Terrible. I usually finish a trilogy when I start it, but I think I'll make an exception. ( )
1 vote Tilda.Tilds | Jul 23, 2014 |
This book is very exciting in some parts and has the perfect amount of romance between Tris and Four. There's also a lot of action, especially when the Dauntless and Factionless invade the Erudite compound. 5Q5P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this book to middle school and high school students. I chose to read this book because I read the previous one in the trilogy and it was really good, so I couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. AbigaleO
  edspicer | Jul 23, 2014 |
This book is not good. The first person narration gets so tedious (I lost count of how many times a sentence started or ended with "He said."). Additionally, the story is so slow and boring. There is entirely too much time spent on feelings of guilt for actions that happened in the first book. As others have said, this book is enough to convince me not to finish the trilogy. ( )
  levasssp | Jul 22, 2014 |
This book has a lot of action. It twists and turns a lot and I couldn't put it down. Words really cannot describe how good this was. 5Q5P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this for middle school and high school students as well as adults. I chose to read this book because the cover looked very interesting and the first book was probably the best thing I've ever read. VictoriaE
  edspicer | Jul 17, 2014 |
I was severely disappointed with this book. I almost considered putting this book down(which I am prone to do) but I forced myself to continue. True it had been a year since I read the previous book, but I still felt it was a difficult read. They were too many characters to keep track of, due to their plain names and different factions. The main character, Beatrice, is told in first-person and her thought-process is quite annoying. She very stubborn and her acts of "self-lessness" are merely obstinate choices she makes to be a "sacrifice". I only continued to read for the romance of the male protagonist, Four, but Beatrice kept distancing herself from him. I was not impressed. Try harder for the conclusion, please. ( )
1 vote aliterarylion | Jul 14, 2014 |
4
  aweinel | Jul 14, 2014 |
A decent continuation of the Divergent plot but not as compelling as the first novel.

My main complaint about this novel is that Tris is a passive observer thorough large chunks of the story. I wanted her to take charge more often and have it be her story, not just the story of future, dystopian Chicago. The back-and-forth trust issues and insecurities in her relationship with Tobias grew tiresome too. ( )
  StephanieNicole | Jul 10, 2014 |
I did not know if I would like this book or not given that it was so popular with the younger readers. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This Utopian style world in which they are living in is truly thought provoking with very interesting sects and behaviors. An excellent story that involves the battle of good and evil rolled into a love story makes it intriguing enough to keep you both on your seat and guessing the entire way. I could not wait to get to the next book. ( )
  ShadowRhelm | Jul 9, 2014 |
Insurgent seems to continue from exactly where Divergent left off, so for those of us who read Divergent a long time ago and don't really remember... not so good. There is no recap of any kind, so I spent the first ¼ of the book being really confused. I finally sort of figured out what was going on in this one, but it still bothers/ed me that there was no recap to remind me of what happened in Divergent. This is why I am not doing a synopsis with this review. Well, maybe I'll attempt this: everyone seems to be double-crossing everyone else, including some of the factionless.

All the double-crossing made for lots going on in the book, and so I am rating it 3.5 (good), but I was still somewhat confused through a portion of the book. I bought the first two books, but won't be buying the third. This one ended on a cliffhanger, so I might still read the 3rd one, but it'll come from the library. I hope the author gives a bit of a recap in that one, as a reminder. ( )
  LibraryCin | Jul 8, 2014 |
Like other reviews, I have to echo that this seemed like a different Tris. Not as much happened and she spent a lot of time in her head. There were a few plot twists that were kind if fun, though, so on to Book 3! ( )
  reginacorley | Jul 8, 2014 |
I wanted to like this book. I tried to like this book. I did not even like Four in this book and Tris just worked my reading nerve. Here is the thing, I will most likely read the last book in the series because I want to see how the author resolves the series. Why do heroines have to be non-logical? Why does this girl never think? Why is it I wanted Four to walk away from her? Why did I rejoice that I did not have to purchase this book because it is popular so I knew I could borrow it from the library. Don't even get me started with my feelings regarding the train or the flaws I have with the factions. I think the series reached a closure point with this one but I will find out when I complete the third installment. None of these characters are like-able not even the ones you previously thought were a possibility. Is there some law that states young adult dystopian novels have to cause a gag reflect in the reader. Yeah I know some people love this series and that is there right but me not so much. My flaw is I am a junkie who wants to know the ending. ( )
  vtlucania | Jul 5, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 359 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1268 wanted
10 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.94)
0.5 2
1 23
1.5 2
2 79
2.5 28
3 291
3.5 105
4 558
4.5 81
5 484

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,347,552 books! | Top bar: Always visible