Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6,135462668 (3.88)316
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
1 vote pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
English (449)  Spanish (3)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Italian (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (456)
Showing 1-25 of 449 (next | show all)
I read Divergent a million years ago it seems (just after it's release) and adored it. I forgot about it until Allegient came out and then the movie so I watched the movie and remembered why I loved Divergent so I had to go read Insurgent right away. It wasn't perfect but it was still pretty good. There were some massive plot holes here and there but the book was okay and did pretty well for a trilogy middle novel. I enjoyed it.

After reading reviews for Allegient I won't be reading it as I did enjoy these first two novels and I don't want to ruin them. I hope the movie franchise can save the series and turn the ending into what it should be. Never thought I would say that. ( )
1 vote mojo09226 | Nov 12, 2015 |
POV: 1st Person
Genre: Fantasy/Dystopian
Insurgent starts off where Divergent leaves and it is a roller coaster of action and emotions. Tris' decisions oftentimes border on bravery/idiocy, but you can always see why she chooses to do what she does even if you don't necessarily agree. At times she is capable of acting wise above her years and others you are reminded that she is only 16. There are twists in Insurgent that I did not see coming and it was refreshing to be taken by surprise. I again (as with Divergent) felt the emotional impact of this book and had a hard time putting it down. Roth is able to pull you completely into the story and make you temporarily forget that you are not really within the walls of that city. ( )
1 vote Kristymk18 | Nov 12, 2015 |
I love "on the edge of my seat" endings . . especially when they revolve around finishing the second book of a terrific trilogy! Veronica Roth's third,and final, book of the Divergent Trilogy, Allegiant, is inching toward me on my beloved library's HOLD list. Thankfully, for me, anticipation is something I embrace with open arms. ( )
1 vote idajo2 | Nov 3, 2015 |
Até 50% deste danado era 5 estrelas. A diabinha enjoada cresceu lindamente, mas o rapaz ficou besta. Equilibrio saudade.Depois da enrolaçãozinha que fez perder uma estrela a história foi ficando interessante de novo e fechou bem simpática. Estou até surpresa. Daria 4,5 se fosse possível. ( )
1 vote MarthaNunes | Nov 2, 2015 |
I didn’t read this straight after ‘Divergent’, the first of the trilogy, and so felt at a bit of a loss at the beginning of ‘Insurgent’. I could have done with a brief recap, a couple of paragraphs would have sufficed. So this made me irritated for the first few pages.
Book two is very action-led and the pace fairly trips along. I’m still trying to get a handle on Tris’s character, she is a complex mixture of two factions: her upbringing in Abnegation [considerate, selfless] and her adopted faction Dauntless [brave, daring, reckless]. It’s a dangerous mixture which gets her into trouble, and that drives the story along. She is confrontational, brave, but often makes questionable decisions. She distrusts Four’s father and believes he is misleading them: “…sometimes, if you want the truth, you have to demand it.” Demand, not ask: this tells me more about Tris than about Four’s father Marcus.
We do see more of Tris’s inner world in book two compared with book one, perhaps because she is maturing into her Divergent personality. “I drift off to sleep, carried by the sound of distant conversations. These days it’s easier for me to fall asleep when there is noise around me. I can focus on the sound instead of whatever thoughts would crawl into my head in silence. Noise and activity are the refuges of the bereaved and guilty.” And she is both.
A major difficulty for me with this book was keeping track of the huge list of characters. I don’t like books with a cast list at the front, but that’s what I needed with ‘Insurgent’. Coupled to this is the lack of clarity about the main enemy: who is it? There’s lots of infighting to keep track of too, petty squabbles some of which have carried forward from the first book and which I had forgotten. There is no one single enemy, no Voldemort or President Snow.
Perhaps there should be fewer factions. No wonder Tris is confused: “Sometimes I feel like I am collecting the lessons each faction has to teach me, and storing them in my mind like a guidebook for moving through the world. There is always something to learn, always something that’s important to understand.” She seems to think that there is a cut-off date by which she will have learned everything. But adults carry on learning until they die.
Read more of my book reviews at http://www.sandradanby.com/book-reviews-a-z/ ( )
1 vote Sandradan1 | Oct 30, 2015 |
Sometimes I feel bad for Tris and sometimes I feel confused by her. I understand that she makes so many of her choices because she is trying to protect those she loves but I feel like she doesn't trust those she is trying to save. She wants to help Marcus yet she is almost hesitant to tell Christina until she has no other option. In this universe of hers it is hard for her to trust anyone but it is necessary. And the fact that she feels she can't trust Tobias? How can they have such a strong relationship with out it. They both keep so much from each other it seems like they keep they keep their relationship because it is something good from before not because they can rely on each other.

And Caleb. Oh Caleb. I just can't figure him out yet. Does he have a secret motive that drives him? Is he really just Erudite through and through? Does he really not understand what he is doing? Or does he understand things better than anyone? I can't wait to figure him out (hopefully) in the last book. ( )
  simple_kind | Oct 29, 2015 |
Starting today, August, 18th 2012. This being the 2nd book in the series I expect it to be good.
Finished it late at night (1:50 am, August 20th 2012).
My only regret is, that now I have to wait for the third book to be released...
( )
1 vote Ingo.Lembcke | Oct 27, 2015 |
As compelling as the first book, with a fast moving plot and interesting characters and situations, plus a few surprising plot twists! ( )
1 vote PerpetualRevision | Oct 25, 2015 |
Well I found this book interesting but not interesting enough to keep me glued to the pages. I felt I could put it down for a few days and come back and not be in a rush to read it.

Insurgent starts right after the first simulation. Tris is dealing with having shot friends that were not themselves. I found myself getting annoyed with her at times. She couldn't shot anymore because of someone she killed.

Now the ending has me wanting to pick up the next book just to see what happens. So I went out today and bought the next book. ( )
1 vote crazy4reading | Oct 24, 2015 |
The ending.... oh my what an ending!
This just jumps into the story and just keeps going like a marathon runner being chased by a dinosaur which is then being chased by a stampede.

There isn't a restless moment. Roth just keeps you going. I didn't want to stop reading.

The ending.
I don't know how I'm going to survive waiting for the sequel.
I have never wanted to a sequel more than this.
Keep it up Veronica. ( )
1 vote ebethiepaige | Oct 20, 2015 |
The ending.... oh my what an ending!
This just jumps into the story and just keeps going like a marathon runner being chased by a dinosaur which is then being chased by a stampede.

There isn't a restless moment. Roth just keeps you going. I didn't want to stop reading.

The ending.
I don't know how I'm going to survive waiting for the sequel.
I have never wanted to a sequel more than this.
Keep it up Veronica. ( )
1 vote ebethiepaige | Oct 20, 2015 |
I still was impressed with the author. However the it sounds like 1984 set in a different time/place. Sometimes I can't get past that. Again the author did a good job of making it her own. It will be interesting to see where she takes the series in the next books. ( )
1 vote msphotogirl | Oct 19, 2015 |
Picking up where Book 1 ended, we continue the story of Tris, the Divergent. The storyline in the first part of Book 2 begins to be incoherent and confusing as to the objective of the faction coalition. This is followed by non-stop action and an inordinate amount of shooting, stabbing, abuse and torture which continues at an exhausting pace until the end. The final twist was unexpected. Less character development in this story, romantic leads still at odds with each other and a rather shallow protagonist. ( )
1 vote Zumbanista | Oct 13, 2015 |
Well, friends, here we are. I've finished the second book and, well, I've finished the second book. Well, I've finished the second book.
Guys, I'm so sorry I just can't see what everyone sees in these good god .
At the very beginning of this book I was notably impressed! The writing has improved! Things aren't so stiff and formal and uncomfortable! Tris is still... well... dull, but hey, you know, there's some improvement!
It all went so wrong so fast, I'm still spinning from how badly it took a nosedive.
One of my problems with this series is the pacing. The pacing in this series is atrocious again, like the last book, nothing happens for aaaaaaages, then something big happens really quickly, then noooooothing again.
Another issue, oh man, ok, every one of these characters are flat. They are so flat, that I had no idea who she was talking about 89% of the time when she was talking about other characters aside from the main four or five (note that I finished Divergent and the next day began reading Insurgent. There was no time gap. Yet, I still couldn't remember). The only side characters I recall and like are Uriah and Zeke. The rest? ehhhh.
By putting characters in the boxes that are factions, and making their "defining traits" the traits of said faction, she limits every single one of these characters. While that is intentional, it's boring . I literally do not care when any of the characters are killed off or something bad happens to them. Because I don't know them, I don't care about them. She tries for shock moments with characters dying in battles and I just yawn because, well, that character wasn't really doing much to begin with so...
Tris is the same. I have such a huge problem with Tris' flat personality. I have an even bigger problem with the fact that Roth literally tried to write away her flat personality with a plot device . This one actually makes me angry. There is a scene in which Tris is told she has a "flexible personality" and that's why she has an aptitude for all these factions and why she makes decisions the way she does. So, a "flexible personality" is why none of her actions make any sense? Why none of her intention are reasonable? God. never do this in writing . Never use a plot device in an attempt to write away a character flaw. Tris' actions don't make sense because Tris as a character isn't developed well enough.
And let me tell you, this was the book of Tris making decisions that made literally no sense at all.
I also couldn't understand why everyone went to Tris with their problems, expecting her to fix them. Why is Tris so important? Why does everyone think she can fix their problems? Why does Marcus an adult and one of the leaders of Abnegation, want her help so much? A girl with PTSD who's only sixteen? See, if you want your character to be important and a decision maker, then... it kind of has to make sense for them to be in a position for making decisions? Tris... really isn't...
There are parts of Tris that I like, and I think her PTSD was handled pretty well in this book (though... it seems to just kind of evaporate midway through the book). Overall, though, she still struggles from the same issues she had in the last book. Her character progression is awkward and choppy and doesn't wholly make a good deal of sense.

Four started out so well. I liked Four at the beginning. But oh my god he took a nosedive into Edward Cullen protectiveness territory. The best part (worst) is when he tells her (which may be a spoiler so i'll tag it as such):

"You die, I die too." Tobias looks over his shoulder at me. "I asked you not to do this. You made your decision. These are the repercussions."

... My reaction to this line was putting my e-reader back in my bag and screaming. This isn't romantic. This is terrifyingly manipulative and gross . This is... this is just stupid. And Four never really went back to how he was in Divergent. He remains obnoxiously overprotective and melodramatic for the rest of the book. Tris makes stupid decisions, Four makes stupid decisions and gets mad at Tris for making stupid decisions and she gets mad at him for making stupid decisions and they fight a lot. That's about what they're relationship seems to boil down to (except when they're making out. Which they do a lot. Which I didn't mind in the first book but seems more and more out of place as the series progresses).

Nothing in the plot was particularly shocking or unexpected, but it was interesting at least. the plot twist at the end was... lame. It's lame. I wasn't even remotely surprised and really I just kind of shrugged, like, oh, of course. I can't see how she intends to wrap all this up in one more book. She seems to have places herself in the same position as Suzanne Collins, in that there is way too much plot introduced in the second book to actually wrap up in only one more book.

I just don't see what's in this series to be obsessed about. I mean, again, it was a fast read and I wasn't actively hating it as I was reading - they're moderately enjoyable. Ultimately, though, they're forgettable. I finished this book last night and I'm already forgetting what happened in it...

But, again, read what you want, friends. I'm gonna read Allegiant just because I've come so far. I've come too far to back out now.
( )
  glitzandshadows | Oct 12, 2015 |
(Warning: I am NOT good at writing reviews, but here goes...)
This book was great. The beginning was a bit hard for me to understand because I read Divergent about a year ago, but after the first few pages, the rest went by smoothly, and it was awesome! I now know what people mean when they say it was a page turner, because this book actually did keep me flipping the pages. Once I started to read this book, it was so hard to stop, and I couldn't focus on anything else besides this book. I finished this 500 paged book faster than I've finished some 200 paged books. I also can't wait to watch the movie now...I'm so excited!
What I liked: I felt that this book was really fast-paced, which was great, and there were four specific parts that actually made me laugh out loud (it's on pages 388, 391, 402, and 409, in case you're wondering)
What I disliked: this whole book was fantastic, but the one thing that I didn't quite enjoy was Tris and Tobias' relationship. Every time, I read about them together, I felt there was some kind of tension between them, but the ending definitely made up for it.
Now that I've finished Insurgent, I can't wait to read Allegiant, hopefully, it won't take me as long as it took for me to get my hands on this book. ( )
  elizabeth1929 | Oct 6, 2015 |
Man this book is awkward. Suffers from middle-book-syndrome in a big way, the middle itself is wayyy too pudgy, and the continually shifting truths of the second half are more annoying that interesting. I have so little to say about this so I'll just point you to the rest of my review at RB of the whole trilogy (http://wp.me/pGVzJ-Qq) in the hopes that my ramblings make more sense in the context of all three books.... ( )
1 vote drewsof | Sep 30, 2015 |
@insurgent +divergent ( )
  Lorem | Sep 28, 2015 |
Actual Rating: 4.5/5

Veronica Roth DOES IT AGAIN! This book was awesomeeee.. (then Ashley, why aren't you giving it a 5/5 rating??) well, brain, as much as I LOVED this book, it did have quite a few slow moments throughout it. I felt like this wasn't a book that necessarily started out slow and then got better as it progressed, but more so a book the would be slow and then PEAK and then die down and then PEAK and then die down, etc. Picture a healthy heart monitor. That's Insurgent for ya. But me personally, I did not mind the slow parts at all. I enjoyed the details of Tris' relationships be that with Four or Christina or Uriah. I am so into this book, these characters, these settings, that all of those details are like little happy kisses to my heart. I just ordered 'Allegiant', the third and final book in the Divergent series (*sob*) as well as the companion 'Four' (*eeee*) and I CAN NOT WAIT TO GET MY HANDS ON THESE!

As far as the movie/book adaptation: The movie "Insurgent" was absolutely fantastic. It was so action packed, it had you on the edge of your seat the entire time, it was emotional.. I adore it. But I don't think it followed along with the story as well as Divergent did, BUT THAT'S OKAY!! They did a great job transforming these words into a film that people who have not read the books will understand and enjoy time and time again! As with any book-to-screen, there were things I enjoyed better via film and things I enjoyed better via book. Example: The relationship with Tris and Four (Tobias) is completely different on film than it is in the book. I think I enjoyed the film's rendition better only because of the timeline of their relationship (puppy love). But I might also like the book's version better depending on where it goes in Allegiant.. only time will tell. For the sake of the review, I'm not going to go over every part, but overall, both are great. Anyone reading the series needs to see the movies as well. So far both are moving to my 'favorites' lists :] ( )
  kay_reads | Sep 22, 2015 |
Great book. It really opened up the story a lot, and answered a lot of questions that had been asked in the first book. It keeps you guessing, and the cliff-hanger at the end makes me wish that I had the last book to read right now! ( )
1 vote allyofthedawn | Sep 12, 2015 |
Insurgent picks up on the train right where we left Tris and Four/Tobias in Divergent. This was great as it made it so easy to return to the story after a small break.

Like Divergent, Insurgent is told from the perspective of Tris. This means that like Tris, we don't know who can be trusted, especially when it appears like a few characters switch sides constantly. Therefore, this makes Insurgent a very suspenseful book and I could barely put it down. Not knowing who to trust also meant the story was pretty damn unpredictable and I never had a clue what would happen next. There was just so many plot twists!

I couldn't actually believe how much was revealed in Insurgent. But for every question that was answered, more questions popped out of the woodwork. And I loved it! Not all the questions were answered, but this just makes me more excited to start Allegiant.

Insurgent is also an extremely fast-paced book with so much happening. I was honestly surprised by how much had actually happened in the first third of the novel alone. This was another reason why I couldn't put Insurgent down. I was on the edge of my seat through the majority of the story. It really is flying by the seat of your pants. It also didn't feel as long as what it actually is either - I mean over 500 pages is a pretty big book in my opinion.

Once again, I really enjoyed reading Tris. I liked how we saw a weaker side of her. She is haunted by the events of Divergent and is most definitely suffering through PTSD. I really did feel for her (and even had tears streaming down my face at one point). Tris really is put through the wringer and this causes her to unravel. She loses so much trust in everyone and is so suspicious of their actions. Insurgent Tris is definitely completely different from Divergent Tris and I was fine with that. It seemed like a logical part of her character development to me. But I really would love to see Divergent Tris return in Allegiant.

In a way, I liked how the change in Tris affects her relationship with Tobias. It puts stress on the new relationship without adding anyone into the equation. And this was, like the original slow build of the relationship in Divergent, really refreshing. Tris and Tobias just need to learn to communicate with each other and share their feelings - something they really struggle with due to their Abnegation upbringing. I do wish we saw more of happy Tris and Tobias though.

I still adore Tobias. He just wants to help Tris through her grief. He doesn't always do this in the right way, but he is a male. I also really wish he opened up to Tris more, but it's still a new relationship and they will need to work up to some discussions. I also quite liked seeing how Tobias reacts to being around his father again.

I think everyone should read Insurgent (but read Divergent first of course!). Especially if you like fast-paced dystopias with a hint of romance. I cannot wait to read Allegiant! ( )
1 vote MyExpandingBookshelf | Sep 3, 2015 |
Insurgent, the second installment of Veronica Roth's dystopian Divergent series, takes us out of the faction city into the world beyond, and what a world it is! Most dystopic novels tend to encompass the world entire, or at least the country entire. Divergent introduced us to the factions, and set the stage for revolution. Insurgent delivers this promise, and more, giving us a dystopia nested within another. I have to say, I wasn't at all expecting that.

Characters continue to be developed and fleshed out. We get to dig into the personal lives, true faces, and motives of characters who were only seen in passing in the first book. Just goes to show that sometimes you don't really know people.

I absolutely love dystopias, but I do think the use of romantic triangles in modern YA dystopias (or paranormal stories) has become rather trite and cliché. Thankfully, this has not been the case with the Divergent series, thus far, at least. ( )
1 vote PardaMustang | Aug 13, 2015 |
The audiobook really didn't inspire I must admit. The narration was fine, but I think that it kept me from liking Tris all that much. I get the feeling that reading these books will be better for most people since everyone else seems to love them ;-). That ending got me interested in Allegiant though, since until that moment I was kind of meh about finishing the trilogy. Now I'm curious! Overall though, I think that this series has been overcome by the hype-monster :-/ ( )
1 vote anyaejo | Aug 12, 2015 |
This is a great sequel. The action just keeps on going. The characters keep maturing ( which is amazing seeing that the life expectancy is about 20). I am enjoying it. ( )
1 vote Joanne53 | Aug 12, 2015 |
At times I hated this novel and wanted to quit (Tris gets on my nerves much of the time!), but as it neared the end, I couldn't finish fast enough. And the ending....wow. Now I'll be rushing to the library for the final installment. ( )
1 vote engpunk77 | Aug 10, 2015 |
As fast paced and intriguing as its predecessor. ( )
1 vote Helen_Earl | Aug 6, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 449 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
10 avail.
314 wanted
10 pay3 pay

Popular covers


Average: (3.88)
0.5 3
1 35
1.5 2
2 116
2.5 42
3 428
3.5 132
4 766
4.5 86
5 605


An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,833,948 books! | Top bar: Always visible