HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,987391912 (3.92)284
pnh002's review
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
  pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (384)  Spanish (3)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (391)
Showing 1-25 of 384 (next | show all)
Wasn't as thrilled with this one as I was the first. I began to predict some of the characters' decisions and the big twist was obvious...but somewhat well executed. I want to see how the author fixes this. ( )
  LadyLiz | Nov 25, 2014 |
Could have been three stars but the first half of the book is so terribly slow.

This is clearly a "second book," and not a stand-alone in any way. It does little except move the plot forward a bit for what could be a very interesting conclusion to Roth's trilogy.

ALSO: If you haven't read Divergent in a year, I highly recommend you read a quick synopsis of what happened. Insurgent expects to you remember all of the plot points, minor characters, political back story, relationship dynamics, etc, and does a horrible job of reminding you what happened. You can piece it together but it's highly distracting. ( )
  redrabbit | Nov 25, 2014 |
I read Divergent a million years ago it seems (just after it's release) and adored it. I forgot about it until Allegient came out and then the movie so I watched the movie and remembered why I loved Divergent so I had to go read Insurgent right away. It wasn't perfect but it was still pretty good. There were some massive plot holes here and there but the book was okay and did pretty well for a trilogy middle novel. I enjoyed it.

After reading reviews for Allegient I won't be reading it as I did enjoy these first two novels and I don't want to ruin them. I hope the movie franchise can save the series and turn the ending into what it should be. Never thought I would say that. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
I'm so pleased, this book was just as well-written as the first one--great flow, great continuity. I'm really happy with how this one ended, and am anxious to start the last one in the series! ( )
  trayceetee | Nov 15, 2014 |
I enjoyed Book II more than Book I. I felt the author had a better grasp on the world and the characters in Insurgent. Quite a few people have criticized the series because they feel a lack of realism.

The argument being that no parents would allow their children to do half the things the kid characters do in these books—but if you think about it, that’s part of the world itself. It’s part of the world-building that the author sets up. This is a dystopia where teenagers can be considered adults and can act any way they wish (if they are Dauntless).

Some reviewers felt that the series has been unrealistic because of the cruelty dished out by teenagers against others, but teenagers can be just as ruthless and relentless in their bullying, sexual assaults, and violence in general as adults can. If anything, I think that makes this series more realistic.

Read the full review here: www.ravenoak.net ( )
  kaonevar | Nov 12, 2014 |
While I enjoyed the first book in this trilogy more, I must say I loved the ending. The final book should be an exciting read. Veronica Roth is a reader I hope to read more of in the future. ( )
  chellebuck79 | Nov 6, 2014 |
This society has now fallen into insanity, and Tris had everything to do with it. As her story and strong relationship with Tobias go on into the book called Insurgent by Veronica Roth, her thrilling fight for the divergent becomes harder since the massacre of Abnegation. This fiction novel describes an advanced society at an unknown time that has factions splitting up people based on their personalities. The rising action begins as the factions start to split up into different sides, creating a civil war. Tris and Tobias are the main characters who are in the faction that is split between Erudite and the rest of the factions. As Tobias and Tris are both divergent, life becomes more tough as Erudite try to imprison the divergent to do tests and anything they want to. But as Tris, Tobias, Christina and her other dauntless friends Hideout and survive through many intrusions against the antagonist Jeanine who is the Erudite leader. As the story goes on Tris has a hard decision to either let her friends die under Jeanine’s control, or hand herself over to the Erudite and let them test or even kill her. And so, previously living in Abnegation, Tris acted selflessly and went to the Erudite compound that changed her life, and thousands of lives forever.

After reading this book, I believed Insurgent was excellent and a great outcome from the original book, Divergent. For anyone in middle school or loves a great fictional read I would definitely recommend this book. The beginning is a little bit slow but after that everything seems to speed up. Though my opinion is that there is too much dialogue in the introduction and not enough action, my thoughts completely changed once the story rolled into action towards the middle. As thriller events happened every chapter, Veronica Roth did a great job using foreshadowing and cliffhangers to keep me and any other reader in suspense of the fate of Tris and Tobias. Also Veronica Roth thoroughly describes the struggles Tris has to face, making the reader have sympathy and like This, creating a close connection between the reader and the characters. Overall, Insurgent was a well plotted story and had great characterization that deeply connected the characters to the reader and was packed with untamed action. ( )
  nive14 | Nov 5, 2014 |
Loved this one just as much as Divergent! And the ending!!! omg I cannot wait for the final book! ( )
  Verkruissen | Nov 5, 2014 |
(5.4)
  mshampson | Nov 1, 2014 |
Insurgent is the thrilling second book to the Divergent series . Beatrice is now factionless and is trying to find a fraction that her and the survivors of her faction can stay. Jenine is still alive and is trying to come up with a serum that will allow her to control everybody's mind including the Divergents. To test the serum, she needs divegents. She koncks everybody out to find the Divergents. Eventually Beatrice goes to invade Jenine's compound she finds out the secret that they invaded for.

I think Insurgent should get a 4 star. It had some romance and action. There were a lot of events that happened. I f you don't read carefully you might miss something.There was just enough of everything for me. ( )
  Kaiah.g1 | Oct 20, 2014 |
Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.

Well, I felt like Insurgent was Big Dumb Fun just in exactly the same way that the first book was. I know a lot of people didn't agree, and it might be because I sped through it in a couple of hours, but I was really satisfied with the way this book progressed. Let's face it, this book is escapism in a really ridiculous fashion.

Tris is the main reason I keep reading these books. Tris who is sixteen and young and stupid and brave and athletic and makes ridiculous decisions but whose heart is always in the right place. I like that she is somewhere in the middle – neither perfect nor with cripplingly low self-esteem, neither always right nor always wrong. Her relationship with Four doesn't define her ( her willingness to go behind his back and consort with Marcus pretty much shows that, even though it's probably not the best decision, because it's the one she thinks is right and most beneficial to the most people at the time – possibly a wee bit impulsive, but that's in character too). The Faction system continues to be completely unworkable, but if you can't accept that you probably haven't made it this far anyway.

It isn't as good as Divergent. I think that Tris's angsting about killing Will was a bit much. I'm glad it was included but it goes on for far too long and in a story where so much is happening at once, it didn't really need to be rammed home this much. Plus, I feel like it's a bit out of character. Tris shows herself to ultimately be pretty pragmatic about what happens in this situation and it seemed more likely to me that she would confront her gun fear and move on than keep this going til the end of the book.

I'm going to keep this short as I read it three months ago and I'm worried about spoiling certain things from Allegiant. However, as long as you don't go in expecting everything to suddenly start making perfect sense, this should be an enjoyable enough read for you. I give Insurgent eight out of ten.
  humblewomble | Oct 19, 2014 |
SPOILERS!!! I love this book! Tris in this book is still torn over the deaths of her parents and Will. She's contently putting herself in danger, which usually doesn't involve a gun.

Tobias is awesome! He doesn't like the fact that Tris keeps running into danger. Tris and Tobias fight a lot in this book, which I wasn't so happy about. I didn't want them to fight. It was painful to read. But they both made very good points.

And we can't forget Uriah, Marlene, and Lynn. Uriah was amazing as always. I'm really happy we get to see more of him in this book. I love him! I like that we see more of Marlene and Lynn. I love the part when Uriah and Marlene kiss! I started shipping them but then Veronica Roth threw that ship out the window (so not okay!). When I first read Divergent I did not like Lynn; she did not make a good first impression on me. But by this book I started to like her a little over the course of this book. I like that she started treating Tris like she was Dauntless, she kind of treats her as an equal. Which I liked.

I also really love Zeke and Shauna! I ship them hard. We also got to see a little bit more of Tori in this book.

And Caleb easily became one of my least favorite characters of the series.

This book was amazing, but I don't like that a few of my favorite characters died. Really, Veronica Roth? Really?! ( )
  barbiekait | Oct 16, 2014 |
**S*P*O*I*L*E*R**
Do not read further if you don’t want to have parts of this novel revealed. I really enjoy Roth’s writing style, and I have to say that while the plot is not wholly original, she has added some intricate twist and some wonderful details to the idea of taking a society in crisis and then isolating some of the population to try and rediscover the best in people. While the first book leads you to believe that the faction culture is the dystopian society, we realize in this book that while they may be, this society was created to be the salvation for a culture that we can only assume is even more dysfunctional. Roth closes out the book leaving us with many questions: can the Divergent save humanity and restore civilization? Now that the factions have been overthrown, is the new culture and government being created by the factionless any better than the ones they have replaced? And while I believe that Roth has created an innovative and intricately woven plot, it is really her characterizations that make the books. She invites the reader into the lives of her characters and asks us to identify with them, for there is some of each of us in all of her characters. As Tris reflects several times, no one is wholly good or wholly bad. Roth asks us to consider if segregation can ever be good, even with the best of intentions. She asks us to consider the makeup and exercise of power and reflects on the ability of power to corrupt, but also on the ability of power to attract the corruptible. This is a wonderfully crafted book that draws the reader through it with ease and grace so that the final page cannot come quickly enough, but at the same time comes too soon. ( )
  Al-G | Oct 10, 2014 |
Beatrice Prior is a 16 year old girl with a team of the Good Dauntless side. She fights against ( )
  Azoraw91.G1 | Oct 9, 2014 |
Dystopian, Young Adult

Tris Prior is finding that every choice can both transform you and has consequences. Tris is trying to save those she loves and also herself as unrest surges in the factions. She is also grappling with haunting questions dealing with grief, forgiveness, identity and loyalty not to mention politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been a day of celebration and victory with her new faction. Instead she had a day that ended in unspeakable horrors. Now war is looming as the conflict between the factions and their ideologies grow. With war coming sides need to be chosen and secrets are emerging and those choices will become even more irrevocable and more powerful. Tris has been transformed by her decisions and also the haunting grief and guilt she is dealing with. Not to mention the radical new discoveries and shifting relationships she is dealing with. Tris now must fully embrace her Divergence even when she doesn’t know what it will cost her by doing so.

This is proving to be an excellent trilogy that doesn’t let up on the action and suspense. With some romance it makes for a book that is very hard to put down. Readers get to see how the characters have changed from the first story to this one and how they are still the same in many ways. It will also have readers wanting to see just how this is going to turn out in the final book. The story gives a fascinating look of what ifs and a look at a different world while still being in places that readers can identify with. It is easy to see why this one was turned into a movie. This is one trilogy worth trying by readers of all ages. ( )
  lrhubble | Oct 8, 2014 |
In the aftermath of the Erudite’s co-option of the Dauntless and attack on Abnegation, Tris and Four leave the city and try to rally their forces against the Erudite’s brutal campaign. But what can Candor and Amity do against the Erudite’s technology and the Dauntless training? What can the Dauntless do when split against itself and at risk from the Erudite’s mind control?

Forces have to be rallied in the most unlikely of places, all the while dealing with the fallout of so much loss – and the terrible things Tris has had to do. And under it all is a creeping worry of what they will do – is it right to destroy the Erudite? Can society survive without them? Can it survive if the Erudite win? How can they win a war that seems to have no good outcomes?

In some ways this book continues and confirms my opinion of the world building from Divergent. The faction system is broken, it doesn’t make much sense, it’s not workable, not a useful tool for creating peace let alone one for creating a society that works. That’s not bad world building on the part of the author, that’s what we’re supposed to be seeing – this whole book, even more than Divergent is about showing the flaws of the system, the flaws of each faction and it inevitably breaking down.

Like we see the Amity faction which looks so peaceful and beautiful – and then realise it achieves this by constantly drugging everyone (which is actually an ongoing habit of the whole world – these ridiculous factions are held together with regular doping to avoid any common sense) and, of course, the flaw of Amity being so conflict averse is that their response to evil abuse is to put their hands over their ears and pretend it’s not happening. We see Candor’s honesty is truly merciless with no accounting for people’s pain or experiences – it’s also deeply and utterly impractical in any meaningful away. We see the factionless in their great numbers – there simply because of the deeply unjust system they operate on; not just the choosing. We’ve seen the Dauntless cruelty, but now see their ableism in discarding anyone who doesn’t fit their physical ideals – and the Erudite in their treatment of anyone who doesn’t match up to their intellectual standards

The factions only last because of constant drugging and a developed knee jerk hatred about every other faction so they constantly support their own without question for fear of being seen as disloyal or “unpatriotic.” Any attempt at thinking clearly and sensibly is clearly Erudite sympathies, any attempt to seek peace is cowardly Amity-ness etc etc. This system designed for peace only lasts because of the created conflict within each faction. Yet this conflict will inevitably lead to the war.

This is the underpinning feature of this series – this society is broken and that’s not bad writing, it’s the world itself.

I also appreciate that an effort was made to reverse the overwhelming condemnation of the Erudite and a final acknowledgement that their society would collapse without them – that without the technology the Erudite provide then no-one else would be able to live.

There are elements I do consider terrible world building – like Candor and Dauntless being pretty much useless society. Candor doesn’t seem to provide any valued service to the other factions (and if they do they needed to emphasise that more – especially since Divergent suggested they were the legal class) and Dauntless exists to protect them without actually any indication of what they’re protecting them from. Instead they’re a lot of weapon toting adrenaline junkies who could pull off a coup at any time because they’re the only faction who can fight.

I also have problems with the ending which I’m going to try and not spoil. But I can see why the Divergent, with their mental flexibility, adaptability and even empathy are a way forward for peace. I cannot see how the people-who-made-this-plan-who-will-remain-nameless expected the thing-they-created to be a good vehicle for achieving anything. It’s a little like someone saying “we need Divergent for peace! So we will throw cottage cheese at cats.” I can see the first part, I’m not quite sure what the second part has to do with anything. This doesn’t help that the ending is just plain awful anyway – this is the big secret? This is the secret worth starting a war over? This is what people were willing to die to defend?

There’s also some decent character development I liked (and some I didn’t). While Tris did spend a lot of this book moping, it was a pretty acceptable mope. She’d just lost most of her family (albeit she doesn’t actually spend that much time grieving for them) and she’s just been forced to kill someone who was a friend. I’m glad this had a lasting effect on her – I’m glad we do see trauma and this isn’t seen as weakness, it’s seen as a natural result of being traumatised

There’s also the conflict of being Divergent which I think is fairly well done. After all, Tris has aptitudes for 3 different factions – in a world where any deviation is regarded with suspicion at best and the prime way to show loyalty to your faction is to show contempt for the others and their traits. How can she embrace her natural curiosity when she loathes the Erudite so much? Is finding courage through selflessness a betrayal of her Dauntless faction ideals?

There’s a fair amount of good there. And then there’s the bad – Four. Not that Four is inherently a bad character per se, but Four and Tris’s romance is annoying, contrived, takes up a vast amount of space and is completely and utterly unnecessary to this book. We have a story here. We have a story in an interesting world with lots of epic battling against a broken society with lots of character growth and personal conflict. And all of it takes a back seat because of Four and Tris’s romance which we seem to spend a vast amount of really pointless time on – and it adds nothing to the story. Worse, it has a bad case of “second book romance” – you know when the first book is all “will they won’t they” (or, more likely, “when will they?”) and then it ends with them together? Well then you have a second book and you need to continue this story so – RANDOM CONFLICT HAPPENS. I see this in so many books with a heavy romance plot, they get together in the first book and then contrived reasons drive them apart in the second book so there can still be some convoluted conflict in the story.

Read More ( )
  FangsfortheFantasy | Oct 3, 2014 |
Enjoyed this a lot. I love when dystopian youth fiction has teenagers that at the core, act like teens. Sure they may have to maim a little but they still have the teen emotions bubbling inside. This and Divergent are two great books that make me curious and excited for the third. ( )
  lushrain | Sep 29, 2014 |
Insurgent is much more polished than Divergent. Its a lot tighter and we don't have to deal with 300 pages of redundant character development. The story moves right along and there are some interesting twists and reveals.
I'd be hesitant to suggest this to my kids when they become young teens. They'd have to be pretty mature. Tris has an unhealthy relationship with Tobias and lets her emotions lead her rather than letting what is right and true determine her actions.
I enjoyed this one a lot and look forward to reading Allegiant. ( )
  iamjonlarson | Sep 29, 2014 |
The scenario of having to shoot Will plays through Tris’ mind over and over again. Unable to forgive herself for his death, she sinks into a world of apathy, depression and fear. Read the rest of my review on my blog: http://shouldireaditornot.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/insurgent-veronica-roth/ ( )
  ShouldIReadIt | Sep 26, 2014 |
My mother is the only reason I managed to finish this book. She loved [b:Divergent|8306857|Divergent (Divergent, #1)|Veronica Roth|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1327873996s/8306857.jpg|13155899] and has just finished re-reading it but for some reason she wanted me to read this one first so I had to force myself to finish.

This time around I had no connection to the characters. They seemed drastically different. More juvenile with lots of sulking and ruminating on problems. Everything is seen through the lens of Tris and Four's relationship which acted as a means of constant personal conflict. I had no patience for the angst that came out of that conflict, or for Tris's new-found suicidal nature. I was here for the dystopia, for the tragedies, hard choices and sacrifices to be made. One of the few good scenes is when the Erudite deliver a message to the Divergent (which are more numerous than first thought), to Tris, via a kind of suicide note, and Tris is forced to make a split-second decision of who to save and who to sacrifice. That was startling and gruesome, and exactly what I was looking for.

As for Marcus the robot, Marcus the mouthpiece -I found his character difficult to comprehend. He's an empty character the reader is supposed to hate but it's hard to do so when he doesn't show emotion or react to anything despite being publicly beaten by his own son. He has no comeback. He says nothing. Why did he submit Four to repeated physical abuse? There's no answer because he doesn't acknowledge he did it or the accusations. Other than a hate figure, he's a mouthpiece for plot progression. Without him we wouldn't find out the secret to this dystopian dynamic.

Peter is an odd one. I guess you could say he's a frenemy -an enemy who can also be an ally under the right circumstances. I wonder how close he is to his family. Does he love them? Love seems an alien thing to him and now that he's been reunited with them, will he fight for them? Will he change?

As I grew closer to the last page and freedom, I swore if Roth introduced zombies outside "the fence" the book would meet the wall at lightning speed. It didn't happen but it was close.

The ending is drawn out and predictable, concluding with a revelation, plus cliffhanger. By now I just wanted this book to be over. I'm only mildly curious:

- As to what the revelation means in terms of the Factionless new world order.

- What the relationship is between Tris and this Edith Prior.

- About the significance of being divergent in light of this new information. How can that help whatever's left outside the fence?

Insurgent feels very padded. Not a lot happens for a long time. It needed to be tighter, punchier, be a more faithful continuation of [b:Divergent|8306857|Divergent (Divergent, #1)|Veronica Roth|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1327873996s/8306857.jpg|13155899]'s story and characters, and less about romantic entanglements. ( )
  Cynical_Ames | Sep 23, 2014 |
I DNF'd this with about a hundred pages left... I count it as read. I deserve to after wading through what I did. ( )
  autumnturner76 | Sep 22, 2014 |
Tris Prior has escaped out of the dire situation at the end of the first book Divergent with Four straight into another time of action-packed scenes where truth is not as it seems and enemies seem to change with every page. She goes forward dauntlessly to figure out the truth, to find some sort of absolution for her deeds in the last book, and to understand her society.

I almost feel guilty for giving this book 1 star because it's not a horrible book. But honestly, I just didn't like it. I probably never should have picked up this second book because I didn't really like the first book (which I read a while back) as well - but I was convinced by a friend who loved it and then I didn't want to drop the book halfway in.

I've been thinking about why I dislike this book and I think it stems primarily from my disbelief of the dystopian world and the characters within this world. It just doesn't ring true to me. I say this because of the inconsistencies in character. For example, the five different groups represent five different personality traits. These factions become stereotypes of whatever they portray and seem to have no other personality traits beyond that. It's like the Dauntless can't think logically unless they're divergent. It's as if all Erudite members must be extreme nerds. It's as if someone from Amity will never argue. It infuriates me because that is such a contradiction after you get to know the more crucial characters for the book who all have different personalities and quirks like good characters do. So then why are the rest of the people in factions so darn stereotypical? It's as if these people are normal (as seen from characters we get to know like Tris or Tobias or Christina), but then not normal (as seen from supporting characters like Uriah, Caleb, and many more).

So my conclusion is that Roth doesn't go far enough into this dystopian world. The characters are just too similar to people who wouldn't live in a dystopian world until she wants to make a point that the world is different. Then all of a sudden they turn a 180 and say a line that says something to the effect of "oh I can't think logically, I'm not an Erudite" or "only the Dauntless are gutsy, you're not so you're weak". It's not consistent!!! And that infuriates me.

Another thing that just kept bothering me was the amount of times Roth had to make the obvious and overt statements that indicate Tris is divergent in terms of Erudite. I honestly don't see how she is divergent at all besides asking a lot of questions. It seems the difference between someone who's divergent and who's not is just that they aren't affected by simulations rather than personality characteristics. Which kinda blows the whole premise out of the water.

The action was as fast paced as the last book. Unfortunately that was more of a negative than a plus for me because I felt most of the action had zero to no transition, jumping from love-scene to an argument with the brother, to discovering a new twist, to running out of Candor into Amity, to shooting someone, to etc etc etc. As much as I love action, it feels like there was no thought placed into Tris's actions, like the character was falling into plot points rather than directing the story through her actions.

Okay, those are my opinions of the book - but that doesn't mean Roth is a bad writer. On the contrary, I can definitely see why many love this book. It has a strong heroine, a bad-ass love interest, many plot twists, good hate-able villains, action and adventure, and mystery. Her grammar and sentence structure has no problems. Her scenes are cohesive. It's not a bad book. I just didn't like it.

So yes, I didn't like the book, so therefore one star.
Recommended for people who read the first book Divergent (if you liked it). I just personally wouldn't recommend it to anyone. ( )
  NineLarks | Sep 15, 2014 |
Tris Prior has escaped out of the dire situation at the end of the first book Divergent with Four straight into another time of action-packed scenes where truth is not as it seems and enemies seem to change with every page. She goes forward dauntlessly to figure out the truth, to find some sort of absolution for her deeds in the last book, and to understand her society.

I almost feel guilty for giving this book 1 star because it's not a horrible book. But honestly, I just didn't like it. I probably never should have picked up this second book because I didn't really like the first book (which I read a while back) as well - but I was convinced by a friend who loved it and then I didn't want to drop the book halfway in.

I've been thinking about why I dislike this book and I think it stems primarily from my disbelief of the dystopian world and the characters within this world. It just doesn't ring true to me. I say this because of the inconsistencies in character. For example, the five different groups represent five different personality traits. These factions become stereotypes of whatever they portray and seem to have no other personality traits beyond that. It's like the Dauntless can't think logically unless they're divergent. It's as if all Erudite members must be extreme nerds. It's as if someone from Amity will never argue. It infuriates me because that is such a contradiction after you get to know the more crucial characters for the book who all have different personalities and quirks like good characters do. So then why are the rest of the people in factions so darn stereotypical? It's as if these people are normal (as seen from characters we get to know like Tris or Tobias or Christina), but then not normal (as seen from supporting characters like Uriah, Caleb, and many more).

So my conclusion is that Roth doesn't go far enough into this dystopian world. The characters are just too similar to people who wouldn't live in a dystopian world until she wants to make a point that the world is different. Then all of a sudden they turn a 180 and say a line that says something to the effect of "oh I can't think logically, I'm not an Erudite" or "only the Dauntless are gutsy, you're not so you're weak". It's not consistent!!! And that infuriates me.

Another thing that just kept bothering me was the amount of times Roth had to make the obvious and overt statements that indicate Tris is divergent in terms of Erudite. I honestly don't see how she is divergent at all besides asking a lot of questions. It seems the difference between someone who's divergent and who's not is just that they aren't affected by simulations rather than personality characteristics. Which kinda blows the whole premise out of the water.

The action was as fast paced as the last book. Unfortunately that was more of a negative than a plus for me because I felt most of the action had zero to no transition, jumping from love-scene to an argument with the brother, to discovering a new twist, to running out of Candor into Amity, to shooting someone, to etc etc etc. As much as I love action, it feels like there was no thought placed into Tris's actions, like the character was falling into plot points rather than directing the story through her actions.

Okay, those are my opinions of the book - but that doesn't mean Roth is a bad writer. On the contrary, I can definitely see why many love this book. It has a strong heroine, a bad-ass love interest, many plot twists, good hate-able villains, action and adventure, and mystery. Her grammar and sentence structure has no problems. Her scenes are cohesive. It's not a bad book. I just didn't like it.

So yes, I didn't like the book, so therefore one star.
Recommended for people who read the first book Divergent (if you liked it). I just personally wouldn't recommend it to anyone. ( )
  NineLarks | Sep 15, 2014 |
***This review will have spoilers for the first book, Divergent but not for this book.***

This book finds Tris dealing with the emotional aftermath of mortally shooting her good friend. It weighs on her conscience so heavily that she can’t even pick up a gun. She’s also processing the grief of losing her parents. The plot picks up right where Divergent left off. Tris, Tobias and what’s left of Dauntless that is still good seek refuge among the different factions while they formulate a plan to find and kill Jeanine Matthews, leader of the traitor Dauntless.

This book was definitely not as good as the first. The story was confusing at times. Tris and her group moved around so much, I kept having to refer back to see where they were. Also, she and Tobias had their mitts on each other all.the.time. Every other page they were hugging, kissing, holding hands. It was too much and too mushy. I know that they are young and in love but they are also on the run for their lives! I kept thinking about what my college psychology professor taught me. No one thinks about sex when his/her life is in danger. My final criticism is why did Tris and Tobias have to lie to each other so much? I know that the purpose was to insert some conflict into their relationship since there is no love triangle. But the reasons they were lying didn’t seem justified.

This book did have some twists and turns that I didn’t see coming and kept the story exciting. In between Tris and Tobias making out it was action packed. And the secret that is revealed in the end is definitely enough to make me read the third and final book in the trilogy, Allegiant. ( )
  mcelhra | Sep 10, 2014 |
Insurgent...Insurgent. What can I say about Insurgent. I guess the first thing I can say is that this review will contain spoilers for Divergent and probably some spoilers about Insurgent.

I could also say that I thought the plot was pretty interesting and liked that we got to see more of the world. I got bored of all the training in Divergent, so I was happy we got none of that here. I also liked that the book started right where the first book ended. After the cliff-hanger, doing anything else would have been annoying, so I liked that it just went straight into things. I also liked that we got to see more from Tobias. Yes, he's a bit of a jerk here, but considering his upbringing I thought his harshness made sense. The best part was being able to see all of the factions. Overall, I liked it a lot better than Divergent.

The story is about Tris and her gang trying to take down Erudite. A bunch of things happen, sometimes serving no purpose at all, but things happen. In the end, we're introduced to a cliff-hanger and finally answer one of the questions I had back in Divergent.

Sadly, this book and series still doesn't make sense. I'm trying, I really am, but if you thought the world and the faction didn't make sense before, be prepared for it to not make any more sense here. I mean, at all. Amity likes to strum banjos and eat toast that makes you high happy, they also grow all the food, so they still serve their purpose. Candor, I don't understand the point of them other than being jerks. What's the point of having all of your secrets laid out in the open? What do they do? Lawyers? Why would you need one in this world? What is the point of them? What's the point in any of them?

Anyways. That isn't my biggest problem. My biggest problem in Insurgent is still the biggest problem I had in Divergent. Tris. She's a horrible human being, you guys. Just horrible! She's a Divergent, which apparently isn't all that special, but she's more special compared to all the other Divergents. This means that her mind isn't easy to control and instead of falling under one faction, she actually falls under more than one. She falls under Abnegation, her original faction, Erudite, and Dauntless.

This should make her selfless, smart, and brave. Only, she's selfish, stupid, and reckless. I never got the sense that she belonged with anyone other than Dauntless. So why is she a Divergent? She doesn't think and is on some mission to sacrifice herself so she can join her parents. I get that's she's hurt, I do, but she does this so many times without talking to anyone, but expects everyone to tell her the truth and plans. She's irrational. The sad thing is that everyone looks to her for advice, because apparently you can't think properly unless you're an Erudite. The factions...why must they make no sense? Why!

...*deep breaths deep breaths*...

I really disliked how she lashed out at others, even when she's in the wrong. There is a scene where Christina and Cara are talking about her, because she killed Will, and they're not happy about her. Instead of understanding their grief, she makes it all about her and how she's a victim. She's not. She killed Will and went straight for a head shot even though she let Eric and Peter live. Why didn't she shoot his hand or leg? You want to know why. It's a curse, it's the

Remove every couple, so Tris and Tobias look normal curse

In Book One, Will and Christina hook up and it's cute and loveable and you root for them. Then Tris kills Will, leaving Christina alone. Tris also watches both her parents die, even though both were incredibly interesting characters that I would have liked to seen more of, they die because they're protecting Tris. And when I say protecting, I mean getting out of the way so we don't see a healthy relationship.

In Book Two, Edward becomes a psycho making Myra leave him, even though both seemed so in love with each other. Uriah and Maureen hook up and in pretty much the next chapter she dies. Lynn loves Maureen, so she has to die as well. Even when it seems like Christina might have someone else, he dies after saying she's cute. Shauna and Zeke are the exception to this rule, instead of dying; Shauna becomes paralyzed and has to be on a wheelchair. I suppose Caleb and Susan might be an exception too, but we don't see enough of them for this couple curse to happen. Thank God for that, because I actually like those two together.

Thus, every couple that seems to become normal and cute must have someone die so that Tris and Tobias are last couple standing.

I expect more couples dying on each other in the next book. Caleb will probably die then, so Tris can be the only person in her family alive and allowing another couple to 'break' up.

Even though I enjoyed this book a lot better than Divergent, it still has a lot of the same problems. The world doesn't make sense, the need for factions in order to find peace seems okay at first until you find out what the factions do and then you wonder what is wrong with these people. Tris is still annoying and not a strong female character. When she betrays Tobias and goes with Marcus to Erudite headquarters, she lets Marcus hit Caleb and instead of getting angry at that she gets angry that Marcus did the same thing to Tobias. With the Caleb hitting, it's justified because he's a traitor, even though Tris is technically considered a traitor at this point too......



Why is it okay for her to betray everyone and not tell anyone the reason why, but it's wrong when Caleb does it? Caleb could have a great reason to do so, why don't you...hmm, I dunno. Talk to him instead of getting angry? That would be the logical and selfless thing to do, right? Right?


I just can't with Tris.

Anywho, the ending is interesting so I'll be reading the next book the series to see what happens next. I'm hoping the next book answers my questions and makes me understand this world. I also hope that no couple is harmed by the curse.

So I guess I should end the review here. Insurgent is better than Divergent, but it's still so so flawed. ( )
  pdbkwm | Sep 8, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 384 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1268 wanted
10 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.92)
0.5 2
1 26
1.5 2
2 91
2.5 31
3 329
3.5 117
4 605
4.5 84
5 526

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,009,110 books! | Top bar: Always visible