HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,073395885 (3.91)286
pnh002's review
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
  pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (388)  Spanish (3)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (395)
Showing 1-25 of 388 (next | show all)
If you haven't read Divergent, definitely check it out & read it before reading Insurgent, otherwise you will be completely confused. That said, the action in Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. I enjoyed this installment in the trilogy as much as the first. It's difficult to say much without spoiling something. Suffice it to say Insurgent is action packed with deeper character development. Veronica Roth's writing style is a pleasure to read, and I can't wait for the final installment! ( )
1 vote Kelly_Mills | Dec 12, 2014 |
Do yourself a favor: stop after after the first book. The second and third offer nothing interesting. Any questions you might have that get answered in the second and third books have FAR less interesting resolutions than anything you might imagine on your own. ( )
  benuathanasia | Dec 11, 2014 |
INSURGENT – I decided to read on through to the next book Insurgent, by the mid to end I was no longer enthused. I found the ups and downs of Tris became monotonous and hard to follow as did her on off love relationship with Tobias. The faction of Erudite overcomes the Dauntless (through simulation) and they go on to annihilate Abnegation the survivors head towards Amity for refuge. The Factionless rise up and in all of this turmoil Tris is apparently searching for the truth (whatever that is and we still don’t find out the end apart from someone named Edith Prior who reappears via a video) is she Tris’ grandparent????? As they share the same surname. Unfortunately it was too science fiction for me to get my head around and I became bored with it. Also Tris’ appears to nearly die over and over and over again, she can barely lift her arm and yet she can overcome any obstacle in her way?????
Will I read the last book of the series Allegiant?? Most probably I will however I will skim it as I know what expect –
A dark dystopian world with ongoing fighting, between factions, for survival!
Tris will continue to fight (although half dead) against all odds to discover the truth, whatever that may be. ( )
  rata | Dec 8, 2014 |
I thought the first one was better. Just not as interesting. ( )
  Kathryn_Brown | Dec 1, 2014 |
Wasn't as thrilled with this one as I was the first. I began to predict some of the characters' decisions and the big twist was obvious...but somewhat well executed. I want to see how the author fixes this. ( )
  LadyLiz | Nov 25, 2014 |
Could have been three stars but the first half of the book is so terribly slow.

This is clearly a "second book," and not a stand-alone in any way. It does little except move the plot forward a bit for what could be a very interesting conclusion to Roth's trilogy.

ALSO: If you haven't read Divergent in a year, I highly recommend you read a quick synopsis of what happened. Insurgent expects to you remember all of the plot points, minor characters, political back story, relationship dynamics, etc, and does a horrible job of reminding you what happened. You can piece it together but it's highly distracting. ( )
  redrabbit | Nov 25, 2014 |
I read Divergent a million years ago it seems (just after it's release) and adored it. I forgot about it until Allegient came out and then the movie so I watched the movie and remembered why I loved Divergent so I had to go read Insurgent right away. It wasn't perfect but it was still pretty good. There were some massive plot holes here and there but the book was okay and did pretty well for a trilogy middle novel. I enjoyed it.

After reading reviews for Allegient I won't be reading it as I did enjoy these first two novels and I don't want to ruin them. I hope the movie franchise can save the series and turn the ending into what it should be. Never thought I would say that. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
I'm so pleased, this book was just as well-written as the first one--great flow, great continuity. I'm really happy with how this one ended, and am anxious to start the last one in the series! ( )
  trayceetee | Nov 15, 2014 |
I enjoyed Book II more than Book I. I felt the author had a better grasp on the world and the characters in Insurgent. Quite a few people have criticized the series because they feel a lack of realism.

The argument being that no parents would allow their children to do half the things the kid characters do in these books—but if you think about it, that’s part of the world itself. It’s part of the world-building that the author sets up. This is a dystopia where teenagers can be considered adults and can act any way they wish (if they are Dauntless).

Some reviewers felt that the series has been unrealistic because of the cruelty dished out by teenagers against others, but teenagers can be just as ruthless and relentless in their bullying, sexual assaults, and violence in general as adults can. If anything, I think that makes this series more realistic.

Read the full review here: www.ravenoak.net ( )
  kaonevar | Nov 12, 2014 |
While I enjoyed the first book in this trilogy more, I must say I loved the ending. The final book should be an exciting read. Veronica Roth is a reader I hope to read more of in the future. ( )
  chellebuck79 | Nov 6, 2014 |
This society has now fallen into insanity, and Tris had everything to do with it. As her story and strong relationship with Tobias go on into the book called Insurgent by Veronica Roth, her thrilling fight for the divergent becomes harder since the massacre of Abnegation. This fiction novel describes an advanced society at an unknown time that has factions splitting up people based on their personalities. The rising action begins as the factions start to split up into different sides, creating a civil war. Tris and Tobias are the main characters who are in the faction that is split between Erudite and the rest of the factions. As Tobias and Tris are both divergent, life becomes more tough as Erudite try to imprison the divergent to do tests and anything they want to. But as Tris, Tobias, Christina and her other dauntless friends Hideout and survive through many intrusions against the antagonist Jeanine who is the Erudite leader. As the story goes on Tris has a hard decision to either let her friends die under Jeanine’s control, or hand herself over to the Erudite and let them test or even kill her. And so, previously living in Abnegation, Tris acted selflessly and went to the Erudite compound that changed her life, and thousands of lives forever.

After reading this book, I believed Insurgent was excellent and a great outcome from the original book, Divergent. For anyone in middle school or loves a great fictional read I would definitely recommend this book. The beginning is a little bit slow but after that everything seems to speed up. Though my opinion is that there is too much dialogue in the introduction and not enough action, my thoughts completely changed once the story rolled into action towards the middle. As thriller events happened every chapter, Veronica Roth did a great job using foreshadowing and cliffhangers to keep me and any other reader in suspense of the fate of Tris and Tobias. Also Veronica Roth thoroughly describes the struggles Tris has to face, making the reader have sympathy and like This, creating a close connection between the reader and the characters. Overall, Insurgent was a well plotted story and had great characterization that deeply connected the characters to the reader and was packed with untamed action. ( )
  nive14 | Nov 5, 2014 |
Loved this one just as much as Divergent! And the ending!!! omg I cannot wait for the final book! ( )
  Verkruissen | Nov 5, 2014 |
(5.4)
  mshampson | Nov 1, 2014 |
Insurgent is the thrilling second book to the Divergent series . Beatrice is now factionless and is trying to find a fraction that her and the survivors of her faction can stay. Jenine is still alive and is trying to come up with a serum that will allow her to control everybody's mind including the Divergents. To test the serum, she needs divegents. She koncks everybody out to find the Divergents. Eventually Beatrice goes to invade Jenine's compound she finds out the secret that they invaded for.

I think Insurgent should get a 4 star. It had some romance and action. There were a lot of events that happened. I f you don't read carefully you might miss something.There was just enough of everything for me. ( )
  Kaiah.g1 | Oct 20, 2014 |
Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.

Well, I felt like Insurgent was Big Dumb Fun just in exactly the same way that the first book was. I know a lot of people didn't agree, and it might be because I sped through it in a couple of hours, but I was really satisfied with the way this book progressed. Let's face it, this book is escapism in a really ridiculous fashion.

Tris is the main reason I keep reading these books. Tris who is sixteen and young and stupid and brave and athletic and makes ridiculous decisions but whose heart is always in the right place. I like that she is somewhere in the middle – neither perfect nor with cripplingly low self-esteem, neither always right nor always wrong. Her relationship with Four doesn't define her ( her willingness to go behind his back and consort with Marcus pretty much shows that, even though it's probably not the best decision, because it's the one she thinks is right and most beneficial to the most people at the time – possibly a wee bit impulsive, but that's in character too). The Faction system continues to be completely unworkable, but if you can't accept that you probably haven't made it this far anyway.

It isn't as good as Divergent. I think that Tris's angsting about killing Will was a bit much. I'm glad it was included but it goes on for far too long and in a story where so much is happening at once, it didn't really need to be rammed home this much. Plus, I feel like it's a bit out of character. Tris shows herself to ultimately be pretty pragmatic about what happens in this situation and it seemed more likely to me that she would confront her gun fear and move on than keep this going til the end of the book.

I'm going to keep this short as I read it three months ago and I'm worried about spoiling certain things from Allegiant. However, as long as you don't go in expecting everything to suddenly start making perfect sense, this should be an enjoyable enough read for you. I give Insurgent eight out of ten.
  humblewomble | Oct 19, 2014 |
SPOILERS!!! I love this book! Tris in this book is still torn over the deaths of her parents and Will. She's contently putting herself in danger, which usually doesn't involve a gun.

Tobias is awesome! He doesn't like the fact that Tris keeps running into danger. Tris and Tobias fight a lot in this book, which I wasn't so happy about. I didn't want them to fight. It was painful to read. But they both made very good points.

And we can't forget Uriah, Marlene, and Lynn. Uriah was amazing as always. I'm really happy we get to see more of him in this book. I love him! I like that we see more of Marlene and Lynn. I love the part when Uriah and Marlene kiss! I started shipping them but then Veronica Roth threw that ship out the window (so not okay!). When I first read Divergent I did not like Lynn; she did not make a good first impression on me. But by this book I started to like her a little over the course of this book. I like that she started treating Tris like she was Dauntless, she kind of treats her as an equal. Which I liked.

I also really love Zeke and Shauna! I ship them hard. We also got to see a little bit more of Tori in this book.

And Caleb easily became one of my least favorite characters of the series.

This book was amazing, but I don't like that a few of my favorite characters died. Really, Veronica Roth? Really?! ( )
  barbiekait | Oct 16, 2014 |
**S*P*O*I*L*E*R**
Do not read further if you don’t want to have parts of this novel revealed. I really enjoy Roth’s writing style, and I have to say that while the plot is not wholly original, she has added some intricate twist and some wonderful details to the idea of taking a society in crisis and then isolating some of the population to try and rediscover the best in people. While the first book leads you to believe that the faction culture is the dystopian society, we realize in this book that while they may be, this society was created to be the salvation for a culture that we can only assume is even more dysfunctional. Roth closes out the book leaving us with many questions: can the Divergent save humanity and restore civilization? Now that the factions have been overthrown, is the new culture and government being created by the factionless any better than the ones they have replaced? And while I believe that Roth has created an innovative and intricately woven plot, it is really her characterizations that make the books. She invites the reader into the lives of her characters and asks us to identify with them, for there is some of each of us in all of her characters. As Tris reflects several times, no one is wholly good or wholly bad. Roth asks us to consider if segregation can ever be good, even with the best of intentions. She asks us to consider the makeup and exercise of power and reflects on the ability of power to corrupt, but also on the ability of power to attract the corruptible. This is a wonderfully crafted book that draws the reader through it with ease and grace so that the final page cannot come quickly enough, but at the same time comes too soon. ( )
  Al-G | Oct 10, 2014 |
Beatrice Prior is a 16 year old girl with a team of the Good Dauntless side. She fights against ( )
  Azoraw91.G1 | Oct 9, 2014 |
Dystopian, Young Adult

Tris Prior is finding that every choice can both transform you and has consequences. Tris is trying to save those she loves and also herself as unrest surges in the factions. She is also grappling with haunting questions dealing with grief, forgiveness, identity and loyalty not to mention politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been a day of celebration and victory with her new faction. Instead she had a day that ended in unspeakable horrors. Now war is looming as the conflict between the factions and their ideologies grow. With war coming sides need to be chosen and secrets are emerging and those choices will become even more irrevocable and more powerful. Tris has been transformed by her decisions and also the haunting grief and guilt she is dealing with. Not to mention the radical new discoveries and shifting relationships she is dealing with. Tris now must fully embrace her Divergence even when she doesn’t know what it will cost her by doing so.

This is proving to be an excellent trilogy that doesn’t let up on the action and suspense. With some romance it makes for a book that is very hard to put down. Readers get to see how the characters have changed from the first story to this one and how they are still the same in many ways. It will also have readers wanting to see just how this is going to turn out in the final book. The story gives a fascinating look of what ifs and a look at a different world while still being in places that readers can identify with. It is easy to see why this one was turned into a movie. This is one trilogy worth trying by readers of all ages. ( )
  lrhubble | Oct 8, 2014 |
In the aftermath of the Erudite’s co-option of the Dauntless and attack on Abnegation, Tris and Four leave the city and try to rally their forces against the Erudite’s brutal campaign. But what can Candor and Amity do against the Erudite’s technology and the Dauntless training? What can the Dauntless do when split against itself and at risk from the Erudite’s mind control?

Forces have to be rallied in the most unlikely of places, all the while dealing with the fallout of so much loss – and the terrible things Tris has had to do. And under it all is a creeping worry of what they will do – is it right to destroy the Erudite? Can society survive without them? Can it survive if the Erudite win? How can they win a war that seems to have no good outcomes?

In some ways this book continues and confirms my opinion of the world building from Divergent. The faction system is broken, it doesn’t make much sense, it’s not workable, not a useful tool for creating peace let alone one for creating a society that works. That’s not bad world building on the part of the author, that’s what we’re supposed to be seeing – this whole book, even more than Divergent is about showing the flaws of the system, the flaws of each faction and it inevitably breaking down.

Like we see the Amity faction which looks so peaceful and beautiful – and then realise it achieves this by constantly drugging everyone (which is actually an ongoing habit of the whole world – these ridiculous factions are held together with regular doping to avoid any common sense) and, of course, the flaw of Amity being so conflict averse is that their response to evil abuse is to put their hands over their ears and pretend it’s not happening. We see Candor’s honesty is truly merciless with no accounting for people’s pain or experiences – it’s also deeply and utterly impractical in any meaningful away. We see the factionless in their great numbers – there simply because of the deeply unjust system they operate on; not just the choosing. We’ve seen the Dauntless cruelty, but now see their ableism in discarding anyone who doesn’t fit their physical ideals – and the Erudite in their treatment of anyone who doesn’t match up to their intellectual standards

The factions only last because of constant drugging and a developed knee jerk hatred about every other faction so they constantly support their own without question for fear of being seen as disloyal or “unpatriotic.” Any attempt at thinking clearly and sensibly is clearly Erudite sympathies, any attempt to seek peace is cowardly Amity-ness etc etc. This system designed for peace only lasts because of the created conflict within each faction. Yet this conflict will inevitably lead to the war.

This is the underpinning feature of this series – this society is broken and that’s not bad writing, it’s the world itself.

I also appreciate that an effort was made to reverse the overwhelming condemnation of the Erudite and a final acknowledgement that their society would collapse without them – that without the technology the Erudite provide then no-one else would be able to live.

There are elements I do consider terrible world building – like Candor and Dauntless being pretty much useless society. Candor doesn’t seem to provide any valued service to the other factions (and if they do they needed to emphasise that more – especially since Divergent suggested they were the legal class) and Dauntless exists to protect them without actually any indication of what they’re protecting them from. Instead they’re a lot of weapon toting adrenaline junkies who could pull off a coup at any time because they’re the only faction who can fight.

I also have problems with the ending which I’m going to try and not spoil. But I can see why the Divergent, with their mental flexibility, adaptability and even empathy are a way forward for peace. I cannot see how the people-who-made-this-plan-who-will-remain-nameless expected the thing-they-created to be a good vehicle for achieving anything. It’s a little like someone saying “we need Divergent for peace! So we will throw cottage cheese at cats.” I can see the first part, I’m not quite sure what the second part has to do with anything. This doesn’t help that the ending is just plain awful anyway – this is the big secret? This is the secret worth starting a war over? This is what people were willing to die to defend?

There’s also some decent character development I liked (and some I didn’t). While Tris did spend a lot of this book moping, it was a pretty acceptable mope. She’d just lost most of her family (albeit she doesn’t actually spend that much time grieving for them) and she’s just been forced to kill someone who was a friend. I’m glad this had a lasting effect on her – I’m glad we do see trauma and this isn’t seen as weakness, it’s seen as a natural result of being traumatised

There’s also the conflict of being Divergent which I think is fairly well done. After all, Tris has aptitudes for 3 different factions – in a world where any deviation is regarded with suspicion at best and the prime way to show loyalty to your faction is to show contempt for the others and their traits. How can she embrace her natural curiosity when she loathes the Erudite so much? Is finding courage through selflessness a betrayal of her Dauntless faction ideals?

There’s a fair amount of good there. And then there’s the bad – Four. Not that Four is inherently a bad character per se, but Four and Tris’s romance is annoying, contrived, takes up a vast amount of space and is completely and utterly unnecessary to this book. We have a story here. We have a story in an interesting world with lots of epic battling against a broken society with lots of character growth and personal conflict. And all of it takes a back seat because of Four and Tris’s romance which we seem to spend a vast amount of really pointless time on – and it adds nothing to the story. Worse, it has a bad case of “second book romance” – you know when the first book is all “will they won’t they” (or, more likely, “when will they?”) and then it ends with them together? Well then you have a second book and you need to continue this story so – RANDOM CONFLICT HAPPENS. I see this in so many books with a heavy romance plot, they get together in the first book and then contrived reasons drive them apart in the second book so there can still be some convoluted conflict in the story.

Read More ( )
  FangsfortheFantasy | Oct 3, 2014 |
Enjoyed this a lot. I love when dystopian youth fiction has teenagers that at the core, act like teens. Sure they may have to maim a little but they still have the teen emotions bubbling inside. This and Divergent are two great books that make me curious and excited for the third. ( )
  lushrain | Sep 29, 2014 |
Insurgent is much more polished than Divergent. Its a lot tighter and we don't have to deal with 300 pages of redundant character development. The story moves right along and there are some interesting twists and reveals.
I'd be hesitant to suggest this to my kids when they become young teens. They'd have to be pretty mature. Tris has an unhealthy relationship with Tobias and lets her emotions lead her rather than letting what is right and true determine her actions.
I enjoyed this one a lot and look forward to reading Allegiant. ( )
  iamjonlarson | Sep 29, 2014 |
The scenario of having to shoot Will plays through Tris’ mind over and over again. Unable to forgive herself for his death, she sinks into a world of apathy, depression and fear. Read the rest of my review on my blog: http://shouldireaditornot.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/insurgent-veronica-roth/ ( )
  ShouldIReadIt | Sep 26, 2014 |
My mother is the only reason I managed to finish this book. She loved [b:Divergent|8306857|Divergent (Divergent, #1)|Veronica Roth|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1327873996s/8306857.jpg|13155899] and has just finished re-reading it but for some reason she wanted me to read this one first so I had to force myself to finish.

This time around I had no connection to the characters. They seemed drastically different. More juvenile with lots of sulking and ruminating on problems. Everything is seen through the lens of Tris and Four's relationship which acted as a means of constant personal conflict. I had no patience for the angst that came out of that conflict, or for Tris's new-found suicidal nature. I was here for the dystopia, for the tragedies, hard choices and sacrifices to be made. One of the few good scenes is when the Erudite deliver a message to the Divergent (which are more numerous than first thought), to Tris, via a kind of suicide note, and Tris is forced to make a split-second decision of who to save and who to sacrifice. That was startling and gruesome, and exactly what I was looking for.

As for Marcus the robot, Marcus the mouthpiece -I found his character difficult to comprehend. He's an empty character the reader is supposed to hate but it's hard to do so when he doesn't show emotion or react to anything despite being publicly beaten by his own son. He has no comeback. He says nothing. Why did he submit Four to repeated physical abuse? There's no answer because he doesn't acknowledge he did it or the accusations. Other than a hate figure, he's a mouthpiece for plot progression. Without him we wouldn't find out the secret to this dystopian dynamic.

Peter is an odd one. I guess you could say he's a frenemy -an enemy who can also be an ally under the right circumstances. I wonder how close he is to his family. Does he love them? Love seems an alien thing to him and now that he's been reunited with them, will he fight for them? Will he change?

As I grew closer to the last page and freedom, I swore if Roth introduced zombies outside "the fence" the book would meet the wall at lightning speed. It didn't happen but it was close.

The ending is drawn out and predictable, concluding with a revelation, plus cliffhanger. By now I just wanted this book to be over. I'm only mildly curious:

- As to what the revelation means in terms of the Factionless new world order.

- What the relationship is between Tris and this Edith Prior.

- About the significance of being divergent in light of this new information. How can that help whatever's left outside the fence?

Insurgent feels very padded. Not a lot happens for a long time. It needed to be tighter, punchier, be a more faithful continuation of [b:Divergent|8306857|Divergent (Divergent, #1)|Veronica Roth|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1327873996s/8306857.jpg|13155899]'s story and characters, and less about romantic entanglements. ( )
  Cynical_Ames | Sep 23, 2014 |
I DNF'd this with about a hundred pages left... I count it as read. I deserve to after wading through what I did. ( )
  autumnturner76 | Sep 22, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 388 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1268 wanted
10 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.91)
0.5 2
1 28
1.5 2
2 95
2.5 34
3 338
3.5 117
4 614
4.5 84
5 530

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,342,441 books! | Top bar: Always visible