HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,453421794 (3.89)297
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
  pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
English (410)  Spanish (3)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (417)
Showing 1-25 of 410 (next | show all)
Then the shouting begins...










This is one of the best books I've ever read. It had it all: suspens, action, drama, friendships, loss, sadness, a little bit of fun . I couldn't get home fast enough to grab the book and continue reading. I feel so overwhelmed, I think I'll wait untill tomorrow to start the third book.

( )
  Inessova | Mar 28, 2015 |
Loved this one just as much as Divergent! And the ending!!! omg I cannot wait for the final book! ( )
  Verkruissen | Mar 25, 2015 |
The dauntless girl and boy are still at it. Tris and Four will never stop. They will fight of what's right. They will go all the way to the end, to make the world a better place. They want no more factions killing each other. No more of their friends die without a fight.niether one of then die without a fight either. So they have to watch their backs every step of the way.

Insurgent is another one of the Divergent series books. This one still gave me chills. I didn't want this book to end. It got really good at the end. But it was still good in the beginning and middle. But not as good as he end. I almost threw the Book across the room when it ended. Hopefully Alligent it awesome. Alligent has to be an awesome book to end the series. ( )
  trinety.b4 | Mar 20, 2015 |
This isn't a review, except to say this book was disappointing. It's full of holes and jumps and much too much crying.
My question is: Who runs the trains? In the first book they just raced around so the Dauntless could jump on and off. Schedule? Freight? Passenger service? ( )
  GreenieGirl | Mar 15, 2015 |
Excellent plot but I continue to be disappointed with the quality of the writing and the sappiness of the teen romance. I'm looking forward to the second movie! ( )
  aliepa | Mar 14, 2015 |
The second installment in the Divergent series picks up right where the first book left off. Tris and Tobias go to the Amity compound to recover from the simulation attack on the Abnegation. When the Erudite and Dauntless traitors arrive to look for them though, the couple narrowly escapes and returns to the city. However, Jeanine Matthews, the Erudite leader, intends to eliminate all Divergent and control the rest of the population. While Tris and Tobias try to find allies to stop the Erudite, they still struggle with grief over what happened and at the same time wonder who they can trust. Will they be able to thwart Jeanine’s plans? What will be the cost they have to pay if they succeed?

I decided to read Insurgent before the movie goes out, and I was certainly not disappointed. This action-packed sequel to Divergent was an entertaining read. In fact, I had trouble putting it down. Surprising alliances and betrayals made for great suspense. In addition, the main characters are believable in spite of the extreme circumstances they find themselves in, especially Tris, a complex and flawed teenager. I must admit though that the trust issues between Tris and Tobias were getting a bit tiring after a while. However, the ending certainly makes you want to know what happens next, and I can’t wait to read the third book in the series.

To read the full review, please go to my blog (Cecile Sune - Book Obsessed). ( )
  cecile.sune | Mar 13, 2015 |
I loved Divergent. It was everything a book should be: smart, philosophical, funny and sad in all the right places. Although the premise was a bit unlikely, the world building was first-rate, and I was able to willingly suspend my disbelief long enough to enjoy the book.

However, there was something wrong with the ending. While a war between the factions was entirely likely, it just seemed a bit...rushed. Like the author had all of these cool things she wanted to write about and couldn't be bothered to wait until it made sense to introduce them, so she skipped all of the boring build-up and got right down to it. I hoped Insurgent would be better.

For the first half, it was. Roth took us to the other factions' compounds, and we got a glimpse of what their daily life is like. There were moments of raw beauty and power, like when Tris witnesses an Amity religious service, or when Tris and Tobias are interrogated by Candor. There were moments of chilling horror as well, like when a certain faction leader is executed. Those moments were when Roth's writing really shone.

Sadly, I don't think Roth recognized these moments for the gems that they were. As she is her own person, I understand that. Sometimes, readers and writers like different things. The trick is to craft each scene as if it were your favourite, even if you hate it: to polish each scene to perfection. Unfortunately, Roth did not do this. She seemed impatient to get to "the good stuff." While this would be fine if the "good stuff" was as good as she seemed to think it was, it wasn't. The scenes Roth seemed to enjoy writing the most were often the most illogical.

*The following section contains spoilers.*

Take Erudite's big plan, for instance. Jeanine has infected a third to a half of the Dauntless with a serum that basically allows her to control their minds for a short time. Imagine what a ruthless dictator could do with a weapon like that. This isn't the simulation serum Erudite used to make the Dauntless attack Abnegation, kids; this is something far stronger. We see Jeanine speak through two Dauntless (telling Tris that Jeanine will kill two Dauntless every two days until the Divergent surrender) and then force them to throw themselves off a building. Given that introduction, the opening act is going to be pretty intense, right?

Wrong. That's all Jeanine uses it for. She doesn't force the Dauntless to attack each other, thus thinning the ranks of loyal Dauntless. She doesn't access all of them at once and have them capture Tris and Tobias and bring them to the Erudite compound. Nope. She just has them deliver their message and then kills them. Well, she kills one. Tris catches Hector, an eight-year-old boy who is Lynn’s sister, before he falls. For the rest of the book, she chooses to remember it as the time she "chose not to save Marlene." That doesn't ring true, Roth: a real person would remember it as the time they "couldn't save Marlene," "didn't make it in time," or even "saved Hector but lost Marlene."

It gets worse: After that "attack," Tris catches a train to the Erudite compound. Alone. With the full intention of giving herself up to experimentation--which will only increase Jeanine's power, as she has said to her that her goal is to learn how to control the Divergent--and eventual death. She doesn't even think of telling her friends, who would gladly suit up, arm themselves, and mount a surprise attack on Erudite to avenge the death of one of their own. She doesn't consider the fact that Erudite didn't implant the serum in all Dauntless; those could easily be left back at the compound behind three feet of reinforced steel to keep them from causing any damage, should Jeanine choose to activate said implants. No, Tris decides she's going to "die like the Abnegation" and makes the "selfless" choice to give herself up.

So Jeanine experiments on her. She puts Tris under simulation after simulation, but Tris sees each one for what it is. This sends Jeanine into orbit, who then decides that Tris is going to be executed the next morning. Now, I had heard something about a fantastic twist that no one saw coming, so when I got to this part, I thought Tris was going to die. I actually got excited. How would Roth carry the rest of the series, without Tris to narrate? Would she shift the viewpoint to Tobias, or maybe another Dauntless like Lynn? Unfortunately, Roth didn't even attempt this twist. Peter (yes, Peter, the traitor Dauntless who is now with Erudite, the Peter who stabbed Edward in the eyeball in the last book, and who tried to kill Tris so he could rise to the top) switches the death serum (they call it that) with a paralysation serum (they call it that too) and rigs the heart monitor to flat line right about the time the death serum (seriously, Roth? could you have given it a more stupid name?) will take effect. Wow! I had no idea Erudite faction's equipment was so easily tampered with! How incredibly convenient for our plucky young heroine! How wonderfully coincidental that Peter would have a change of heart just in time to save our narrator's life!

I could go on about the lack of logic involved with Tobias surrendering himself and telling Tris about a rescue operation that's going to take place in two weeks, but I want to skip ahead to the part where Tris and a few others invade the Erudite compound AGAIN, this time so they can help Marcus (yes, that Marcus) steal the information the Priors died for.

First, Tris doesn't stop to think that maybe Marcus is lying to her. He's lied about a lot of stuff so far, but he chooses to tell the truth now, and Tris automatically believes him.

Second, she doesn't tell Tobias or anyone else that they're going to be helping Marcus while everyone else is attacking the compound. She could have just said "Hey, Tobias. Listen, the Erudite have this information. My parents died trying to get it, and it's probably really important for the rest of us, too. So if you could just give us some cover and explain this to the Dauntless authorities when it's all over, I'd really appreciate it." Nope, she just angsts about how what she's doing is treason to Tobias and Dauntless, and when it's over, she angsts about how now she's a traitor. And it all could have been avoided if she told the other Dauntless in the first place.

Third, they sneak in dressed like the Erudite. Including Tris, who had just spent a considerable amount of time at the compound being introduced to doctors and interns waiting to experiment on her, as well as passing countless Erudite who saw her face. And nobody recognizes her, because Erudite clothes are magic or something. So the geniuses of Erudite can’t recognise possibly the single most important girl in existence? And I thought Erudite was loaded with security cameras. Apparently not.

Fourth, Jeanine's office. It's heavily guarded, not by a spray of bullets (which would make the most sense) but by a computer system. Tris tries to enter, but a voice conveniently announces her name, age, faction, and the fact that she is "confirmed Divergent." It then plunges her into a simulation.

A simulation.

Just after spending the past five chapters learning that you can’t control the Divergent into a simulation.

Anyway, Tris makes it past the simulation. Naturally. If I were Jeanine, I would have set it up so that if an intruder is confirmed Divergent, they would be subjected to a hail of bullets, an RPG, or another reliable instrument of death. But Jeanine was apparently created by someone who was not Erudite, and thus did not fully understand what the term "applying logic to a situation" means.

The ending twist isn't as good as I heard it was. So the city was designed to be a utopia. When the Divergent began appearing, the city was supposed to give the keys to Amity, unlock the gates, and go forth into the big bad world and save it with their awesome utopian powers. Okay...so if this was supposed to be a utopia, why divide people into factions where they embrace the most simplistic lines of thinking? Why would people who can think along multiple lines be so special that they would need to open the city gates? Why would they erase the memories of people who decided to join this utopia? If they had memory-erasing technology, why hasn't Jeanine gotten hold of it and used it to control the city, which is apparently what she's dreamed about ever since she was a little girl?

And with that, the book ends.
But the book wasn’t completely filled with logical fallacies, and I think what really made the book pick itself off the ground was Roth’s way with words. She creates such a strong, vivid image of everything that happens, thus creating an immersive experience. I ended up reading this book twice before making this review reading it the first time round was great! It was only after I had read it a second time that all these logical fallacies were thrown in my face. So unless you are a very perceptive first-time reader, you should enjoy it the first time round.
I would recommend this book to readers aged 12-30 and I would rate this book 3 stars. ( )
  8EN4 | Mar 7, 2015 |
I don't know why I kept reading this stupid fucking series. I mean, it's just so goddamn immature. And I should know. I'm like a 12 year old stuck in a 45 year old body. But, this stupid skank Tris is just such a whiney bitch. I can't stand her, and she's the motherfucking narrator.

So, why the hell am I still reading this shit? I'll tell you why. Because somewhere, deep in the muck, after you get past all the teenage angst, and cry-baby antics, there's an interesting story in there. Sure, it's near impossible to find. It's buried under piles and piles of horseshit. But, if you've got the patience, you may just find it.

This books starts out, pretty much right after the first book left off. Tris and Four are on the run, looking for a safe haven. The peaceful cunt-bag faction, who do most of the farming, because that's what peaceful Amish fucks do... That faction welcomes in all the fleeing factionless assholes.

Then the fun begins. Fingers are pointed. Blame is thrown. Tris is found to be a motherfucking murderer. Oh noes. Lock that bitch up! How dare she actually defend herself against someone who was going to shoot her.

Then, Four is found to maybe be a traitor, or something. Because his daddy beat him. Or his mommy didn't pay enough attention to him. And that's just so sad... Oh, who the fuck cares? I mean, really. Get on with it, goddamnit.

So there's the fight scene. Guess who wins? Yup. Four and Tris take off on a train out past the walls, to live another day in exile. Whooptie-freaking-doo.

Now watch, I'll just dive right into the next goddamn book. Because apparently, I love torturing myself with teenage angst. Somebody please just shoot me. ( )
  gecizzle | Mar 5, 2015 |
The second novel in the Divergent series is a bit of a slow start. It integrates the events of the first book very well, but as consequence it cannot stand alone so make sure to pick up the first novel if you're interested in the series.

Tris has a lot to deal with after the events of the first book, and guilt rightfully weighs her down. However during the slow first half crawl her relationship with Four seems to take on far too much importance. Even considering everything they've been through together it seems like a huge leap. Tris seems a little too reliant on Four, and it feels like a detriment to her character. Their love is incredibly needy and rocky at the same time. Their interactions are almost exclusively making out or arguing when they're alone together and their blind willingness to sacrifice for each other feels a little unnatural. Apart from these two issues I don't really have many complaints.

The story picks up as it continues and reintroduces several characters, all different from when we last saw them. Each is refreshingly complex. Allies and friends have darker sides, and some enemies show themselves in a better light. After slogging through the slow bits you'll be rewarded with a fast paced, action packed storyline full of uncertainty and death. There are quite a few refreshing twists I didn't see coming.

I absolutely loved how real the consequences of the characters actions are made to feel. Deaths are not simply tossed out to advance the plot and then forgotten, a crime many books commit ( -coughs- Hunger Games). Roth's attention to each character's intent, personal goals and losses makes all of them feel believable.

The story does allow for more world building exploring the factions we didn't get a chance to see in the previous books and this is where Roth really shines. Her novel's world is so well thought out and explained that it's easy to get absorbed in. With the popularity of dystopian novels recently it's hard to find series that really stick out, rest assured that the Divergent series is one of them.

Read this if you're a fan of: Hunger Games

Check out my blog http://betterbooks.tumblr.com/ for new reviews every Tuesday! ( )
  Dani.St-Onge | Mar 1, 2015 |
STILL a 5-Star book... so can't wait for Allegiant!!!!! October is TOO far away! ( )
  olongbourn | Mar 1, 2015 |
I had really been looking forward to reading this as soon as I finished Divergent. These books had sat on my Nook for quite a while, and by the time I read them, I could not figure out what had taken me so long to read them. In case you are not already aware, this is considered dystopian fiction, although there are pieces in it for everyone. It has romance, action, adventure, conflict, and all of the things you look for in an awesome novel.

The books in this series are a little longer than what I usually read and review, and I considered not posting a review of this one because it was not a review request but something I read of my own free will. However, I felt it was a testament to how much I enjoyed it that I devoured the book in just a couple days and immediately had to go on to the next installment of the series.

You see a bit of a rift growing between Tris and Four here. Can they recover from it? Is there an end to the conflict that will brew between them? Will they be able to get through and live happily ever after? You will have to read the book to find out.

Ms. Roth's use of imagery and description is amazing and I felt like I was there with them running through the streets, battling their enemies and experiencing every bit of the story with the characters. This is a definite must read.
( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
I had really been looking forward to reading this as soon as I finished Divergent. These books had sat on my Nook for quite a while, and by the time I read them, I could not figure out what had taken me so long to read them. In case you are not already aware, this is considered dystopian fiction, although there are pieces in it for everyone. It has romance, action, adventure, conflict, and all of the things you look for in an awesome novel.

The books in this series are a little longer than what I usually read and review, and I considered not posting a review of this one because it was not a review request but something I read of my own free will. However, I felt it was a testament to how much I enjoyed it that I devoured the book in just a couple days and immediately had to go on to the next installment of the series.

You see a bit of a rift growing between Tris and Four here. Can they recover from it? Is there an end to the conflict that will brew between them? Will they be able to get through and live happily ever after? You will have to read the book to find out.

Ms. Roth's use of imagery and description is amazing and I felt like I was there with them running through the streets, battling their enemies and experiencing every bit of the story with the characters. This is a definite must read.
( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
It is quite nice a second part of trilogy.At some point you really get confused whether Beatrice is acting like a teenager or dauntless. It is gripping book and I really liked it. ( )
  durgaprsd04 | Feb 25, 2015 |
This book picks up where Divergent ends, with Tris on the run, along with a few others that have survived with her. Now they are mainly concerned with staying alive and ending the conflict.

There are surprises in this book, more things about how unsettled things really were come out. I had two problems with this book. One was that I kept thinking Tris and her friends were all much older than 16, I also didn’t like how Tris felt she had to solve everything herself and couldn’t trust anyone else. The first led me to thinking why is she acting like that? Only to remember, she’s only 16. The second was very annoying and old fast.

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the first, but I still recommend it. Nothing gets to crazy, the story still moves quickly and the values of friendship and teamwork, which pretty much have to be hammered into some people’s head prevail.

There is another book coming out in September, I haven’t decided if I will read it. I’m not tired of this series I just have a lot of books to be read. ( )
  BellaFoxx | Feb 14, 2015 |
Definitely not as good as Divergent. The relationship between Trice and Tobias doesn't feel real in this book. It seems like they hate each other and they have no reason to still be attracted to each other. ( )
  KamGeb | Feb 14, 2015 |
I don't know how to rate this book. The end was exciting (and finally explained how this society came about), but most of the book was a muddle. The characters are interchangeable names with no real personalities of their own. Christina, Marlene, Lynn, Shauna... all the same. I couldn't even really keep track of them all. If they died, it meant nothing, except that a name would be used less. This book had no emotional impact at all, and the plot is so complex I'm not really sure who is in the right or even what really instigated the war. Most of Tris's actions made zero sense - she accepts premises with no evidence, and isn't the same character she was in the last book (it's like she turned into Bella from Twilight). Even Tobias (AKA Four) acts like a different character in this book.

It really was a muddle of a book. 500 pages of nothing happening except for Tris being depressed and unable to really function, then 20 pages of action. The villain was killed too quickly without ever really being developed beyond the "cobra commander" level of evil. While the five faction conceit worked in the first novel (despite being ridiculous on the face of it), this book simply shows that there is no way this could work - and, seriously, this was just a badly written and badly plotted book wherein the main character cannot make a justifiable decision at any point. I had to force myself to finish the book - it was boring.

Also, why wouldn't Marcus tell Tris the big reveal? There was no real justification, except that the author wanted a big reveal at the end to shock all the characters. Writing tip: Characters shouldn't be aware of the author's agenda - they should have realistic motivations of their own to achieve the author's goals. Marcus did not have any reason to hold this information from Tris.

Also, Four (Tobias) was a moody jerk in this one... and he lacked realistic motivations for his choices. Basically no one in this novel made justifiable choices for their actions. ( )
  VincentDarlage | Jan 30, 2015 |
I can't really say if I like this one more than the first one or not. I probably feel about the same about both of them. They were entertaining to read at the time, but after some thought, don't hold up well. While this book works to explain the events that happened in the last book, I don't find it overly convincing or believable. Now before anybody gets on my case about complaining about the believability of a dystopian novel, let me explain my idea of what makes a good one.

The major thing, for me anyway, that makes dystopian novels great is the fact that some part of them is based on current issues. While crazy things happen that are destructive and horrifying, there is some inkling of the world that is imagined/how the world got to be that way that is similar to how our world works today. Like Orwell's Big Brother concept and how cameras and social media can track our every move as you read this. We can find a connection between our current events and the events of the dystopian world that makes the novel disturbing. To me, the dystopian novel should make us wonder to ourselves, "Is this where we are headed?". I didn't get that from this series.

There were also some glaring holes that would actually distract me from the story. Such as, why Tris and Four spend most of the book sneaking around and sometimes just walking straight into places that are supposedly on high alert for them. Did nobody send out a memo? Did nobody make a sketch of them and tell the guards that if they see someone that looks like that to arrest them? And this didn't just happen once or twice. This happened throughout the entire book! They never even disguised themselves! This was highly annoying and caused my eyes to roll.

Another thing that has been bothering me while reading this series is that I increasingly dislike Roth's writing. Her use of commas sometimes makes very little sense and often confuses the meaning to the sentence. (This can also be due to bad editing. Why did nobody catch these?) She also uses the word "breaths" instead of "breath" which often didn't flow well. While I don't believe it is technically wrong, it is jarring to read.

Overall, this was an okay book. It's a good fast read, but if you want something with more substance to it I would go with something else. There really isn't much to this one, and while there was some potential, I don't believe that this book is a good example of what dystopian novels can really achieve when done well. ( )
1 vote kell1732 | Jan 25, 2015 |
I wasn't crazy about this. It's holding on to its three stars by its toenails, because I did finish wanting to continue on to the last book--but, well, almost not. What first intrigued me about this series from the first book were the factions, which so reminded me of the Houses in Harry Potter and the implied critique of "sorting" people into groups with a few or one overriding value, and how those values can become corrupted. I also liked our action heroine/narrator Tris quite a bit, even if she at times didn't strike me as a very plausible teenager, nor is she as distinctive and appealing a character as say Rowling's Hermione or Collin's Katniss.

Overall, I wasn't thrilled with how Roth continued to develop the factions in this book, even if I did appreciate how she showed the dark side of most of them. But if I didn't particularly care for how Gryffindor-centric the Harry Potter books were--well, I'm out and out repelled by the Abnegation faction, Roth's answer to "What Would Jesus Do?" That may be the reason right there, since I'm no fan of Christianity even though I was raised in it--I'd never choose to live their way, and I'd resist being ruled under them. Although Roth does have some ambiguous and ruthless characters coming from Abnegation, I'm still left feeling we're supposed to embrace their ideals of selflessness. Moreover, about half-way through the book Tris acts in a way that embodies those ideals, in a way so stupid I almost slammed down the book and gave up. There was also another plot point in the book where supposedly brilliant people acted in a way stupid beyond belief. The series got a pass on that one only because a comment of one character implied not all was as it seemed, so I'm holding out hope it's explained in the last book.

Also, I have yet to fall in love with any of the characters, even though I'm sure Roth is only slightly less in love with her Tobias than Stephenie Meyer is with her Edward. At least neither Tobias nor his relationship with Tris is anywhere near as nauseating and dysfunctional as that central to the Twilight series and if Tris is no Hermione or Katniss, at least she's no Bella--for which, much thanks. (And Roth is a better writer than Meyer, even if not imo as striking and imaginative as Rowling or Collins.)

It is at least an easy fast read--and I was left just curious enough about the outside world about to be revealed to us I am now speeding through Allegiant. The friend who first brought this series to my attention says the series gets better, and Tris' arc is strong. We'll see if I find that true in the last book. ( )
  LisaMariaC | Jan 15, 2015 |
I have to admit that this one took me a little longer to get completely swept away. This does not mean that this book was in any way inferior to the first. Actually, I think the problem was that I had an idea of where I thought the characters were going and it didn't quite jibe with Veronica Roth. :-P That being said, by the midpoint in the book I was hooked again. This book was darker than the first (believe it or not) because the fight is not just about factions but about secrets. Those in the highest level of government know a secret and Abnegation was prepared to tell the entire population...until Erudite decided that it was too dangerous. That's what prompted the fighting (and Jeanine Matthews wanting to wield control over everyone). The Divergent, in particular, are impacted by this information but we won't know exactly to what extent until the next book in the series. Here we go again! ( )
  AliceaP | Jan 10, 2015 |
Why can't sequels be as good as the first book? Insurgent continues to have me on the edge of my seat. I love the characters and the twists/turns are very good. However, many parts of this sequel to Divergent, seem forced and I can't help but feel that Ms. Roth rushed things at the end. I'm still not sure how she got to the conclusion she did - I must have missed something. ( )
  sunnydrk | Jan 8, 2015 |
From deepening the plot line to developing the characters more...I must admit I am enjoying this series and very glad I did not stop reading after Divergent. Problems are constantly stirring up and getting to know more about the characters just drags one deeper into the world...cannot wait to see what the next book has in store.
  PhilipTroy | Jan 8, 2015 |
Incredible sequel to Divergent. Worth the read. Can't wait for the next one ( )
  dom76 | Jan 7, 2015 |
One choice can change everything. That's what happened to Tris Prior on her choosing day and every choice has consequences. As unrest surges around her, Tris must force herself to continue trying to save those she loves while grappling with grief and forgiveness, loyalty and betrayal, politics and family. With war looming among the factions, sides must be chosen and secrets revealed, making the consequences of choice even higher. To embrace what it means to be Divergent - what will that do to those around her?

Insurgent picks up right where Divergent leaves off. The balance of power in the city has shifted. The factions are shattering. Alliances have formed between unlikely partners. Action is packed into almost every chapter and the story moves right along.

Power and control seems to be a common theme throughout the book. Control over whole groups of people. Control over ones self. The power of information. The struggle to keep power once obtained.

The most annoying part of the book for me was the constant up and down in Tris and Tobias's relationship. The tension felt forced and unnecessary considering there was plenty of conflict in the story already.

The book ends on a bit of a bombshell. I admit I was hoping that we'd learn more along these lines while reading Divergent so I was not disappointed. It also means I must read book 3 immediately! ( )
  Narilka | Jan 3, 2015 |
The first book remains my favorite but I did enjoy this one -- intriguing to see more of the world, and I am very very curious to see how things will be resolved in the third book now...
  devafagan | Jan 2, 2015 |
This second book of the DIVERGENT trilogy is the best one so far. Where I wasn't quite sure I cared enough while nearing the end of book one, this book captured me from the start. The plot is faster. The action, far more thrilling. And the development of both main and supporting characters is much deeper. I came to love both Tris and Tobias, including their utterly realistic romance, while also finding empathy for so-called villains. INSURGENT is excellent, from start to finish, and made me want to immediately continue to the trilogy's conclusion. ( )
  phrenetic.mind | Dec 30, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 410 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1268 wanted
10 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.89)
0.5 2
1 31
1.5 2
2 105
2.5 36
3 376
3.5 124
4 673
4.5 86
5 548

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,192,231 books! | Top bar: Always visible