HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6,823495539 (3.88)326
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
1 vote pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
English (483)  Spanish (4)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Italian (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (491)
Showing 1-25 of 483 (next | show all)
Review Originally Posted At: FictionForesight

Insurgent is the next book in the Divergent Series, but in my opinion, not as good as the first.

Set immediately after the events of Divergent, Insurgent was a whole new breed, primarily because I had a much more difficult time relating to the main character Tris. Even though Tris faced many difficult decisions that I agreed with in Divergent, this was not the case in the second book. Her judgment calls seemed counterproductive and hard to agree with. Many times while reading this book I found myself pacing up and down my cabin, shaking my head in pure frustration, and shouting out loud "ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!".

That being said, the book was still enjoyable and explored more into the faction system that was not fully detailed in the first book. Some interesting secrets are revealed and shocking questions are brought forth. These led me to still be interested in reading the final book in the series (Not including the prequel Four). If your looking for more Divergent, then its still a good read, but personally I'm hoping the next book picks back up. I still love you Veronica Roth and can't wait to read more of your books!

(www.FictionForesight.com) ( )
  FictionForesight | Apr 26, 2016 |
Insurgent I have to say was not as good a s Divergent or Allegiant. But it was still good. Veronica Roth is still amazing and I love her work though. ( )
  gracefranks25 | Apr 24, 2016 |
Well, the good news is the advancement of the writer, in the fact that the character has more than two reactions to everything.

The bad news is this could have been a duology rather than a trilogy.

I still say good concept, okay execution. The details are starting to show up now, though they are still too few and too far apart. It's having the effect of both making the reader want to continue and making them want to give up.

And as I read more of the recently published stuff, I'm realizing my characters don't naval gaze nearly as much as many recent books. However, that's not something that I enjoy reading, which is what gets a lot of books knocked for.

So just working through a few other books, then on to the final book. ( )
  gilroy | Apr 24, 2016 |
Still an unbelievable concept, very smart and creative idea. Very dramatic ending, can't wait to read what happens next. ( )
  GigisIrieReads | Apr 20, 2016 |


I didn't like this one nearly as much as the first one, but it was shill worth reading it. ( )
  Electablue | Apr 20, 2016 |
Loved, loved, loved the first book in this series. In fact, I loved it so much, I read it a second time before returning it to the library.

That said, Insurgent was a great return to Tris's world. I loved revisiting her and Four and their friends. It was really interesting to learn more about the other factions and the factionless. Was initially a little worried that Tris would end up Katniss-ing her way around this book like Mockingjay, but she turned out to be ok and brave again by the middle. Hooray!

Not crazy about the "twist" ending, which I had suspected part of through both books, but I imagine we will find much more about this in the next (final?) book of the series, which I assume is to be released in 2013. At least I hope so, I don't particularly want to wait much longer than that! ( )
  ajsteadman | Apr 20, 2016 |
Wow! This is an action packed, thriller of a book. My heart is still racing! I had a very hard time putting it down for any length of time, but Nooks much be recharged occasionally! I have to admit to being very disappointed with Tobias during much of the book, but I'm also glad there was some drama in the relationships and that everything wasn't all easy peasy. I was sad for Tris and the things she had to go through, but I do think these things helped her become a stronger woman and will help shape her decisions in the next book (which I CAN NOT wait for!) I would really love to see another bit of what Tobias was thinking during this book. *hint hint Miss Roth!* ( )
  MynTop | Apr 8, 2016 |
there were many aspects that could have been better but the content has enslaved me with intrigue. even if it reads like a panem/maze runner ripoff at times. even if I want to punch the narrator in the face for being a dumb twat. I still have to know what happens ( )
  suttonrl | Mar 31, 2016 |
there were many aspects that could have been better but the content has enslaved me with intrigue. even if it reads like a panem/maze runner ripoff at times. even if I want to punch the narrator in the face for being a dumb twat. I still have to know what happens ( )
  suttonrl | Mar 31, 2016 |
There was bit too much self-angst in it, but other than that, it was quite a good book. ( )
  Traciinaz | Mar 17, 2016 |
Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.

Well, I felt like Insurgent was Big Dumb Fun just in exactly the same way that the first book was. I know a lot of people didn't agree, and it might be because I sped through it in a couple of hours, but I was really satisfied with the way this book progressed. Let's face it, this book is escapism in a really ridiculous fashion.

Tris is the main reason I keep reading these books. Tris who is sixteen and young and stupid and brave and athletic and makes ridiculous decisions but whose heart is always in the right place. I like that she is somewhere in the middle – neither perfect nor with cripplingly low self-esteem, neither always right nor always wrong. Her relationship with Four doesn't define her ( her willingness to go behind his back and consort with Marcus pretty much shows that, even though it's probably not the best decision, because it's the one she thinks is right and most beneficial to the most people at the time – possibly a wee bit impulsive, but that's in character too). The Faction system continues to be completely unworkable, but if you can't accept that you probably haven't made it this far anyway.

It isn't as good as Divergent. I think that Tris's angsting about killing Will was a bit much. I'm glad it was included but it goes on for far too long and in a story where so much is happening at once, it didn't really need to be rammed home this much. Plus, I feel like it's a bit out of character. Tris shows herself to ultimately be pretty pragmatic about what happens in this situation and it seemed more likely to me that she would confront her gun fear and move on than keep this going til the end of the book.

I'm going to keep this short as I read it three months ago and I'm worried about spoiling certain things from Allegiant. However, as long as you don't go in expecting everything to suddenly start making perfect sense, this should be an enjoyable enough read for you. I give Insurgent eight out of ten.
  thebookmagpie | Mar 13, 2016 |
I have read so many YA dystopian kind of books. Some of which all the books were published like The Giver series, but most where I have to wait for book 2 or 3 or both to come out. This was one of the ones I liked most so I hope book 2 is just as good.

Update June 16
Oops Forgot to write a review I see. Which sucks because I can't remember the things I wanted to say.

All in all I thought it was a worthy second book of this series. I wanted to know what the big revelation would be but I guess I have to wait a bit longer. (a year or more? aargh)

I do find the main character very annoying. She never listens and she tires me. Sometimes I feel like shouting, sit down girl,Mind your own business or go to bed idiot" lol

Checking my notes I also thought the scan parts were a bit unrealistic. It is like in the movies, where the main character will die soon and he or she asks the killer why? and then they get to know the answer and get saved.
I will say no more. ;)
Can't wait for book 3.

Update: And of curse book 3 is there but poor Marlene had to re red a bit of book 1 and everything of this book. Hate it.

I hereby acclaim that I will not start anymore to read a book that is part of an incomplete series. ( )
  Marlene-NL | Mar 12, 2016 |
Another great book from Veronica Roth! ( )
  AmberKirbey | Mar 11, 2016 |
In the near-future Tris grew up in, Chicago is a walled city. Within it, teens are assigned to a faction based on their personalities. Tris demonstrated the rare ability to think like multiple factions at once, meaning that she is a "Divergent" with the ability to choose how to live. To her family's surprise she chooses the Dauntless faction, and barely survives its bone-breaking initiation and training. After another faction uses mind control to make the Dauntless into slave-soldiers, only Tris and the few other Divergents are able to break free and stop the mind control.

Insurgent takes place immediately after [b:Divergent|13335037|Divergent (Divergent, #1)|Veronica Roth|http://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1328559506s/13335037.jpg|13155899], and Roth throws you right into the action. There's no summary, no quick reminder of who is who--it's just straight into Tris and friends trying to get allies against the Erudite and their Dauntless soldiers. It took me a few chapters to remember who each of the characters were, and even longer to decipher the tangled relationship webs. The plot is equally confused and confusing--Tris and her allies switch allegiances and goals nearly every chapter. But all of that could have been forgiven if only this was a smarter book. The first book focused first on the selfless Abnegation faction, then on the brave, fierce adrenaline-junkies of Dauntless. In this book Roth spends more time with the Erudite, and wow, she is terrible at writing smart characters. They outright recite dictionary definitions at each other. This, apparently, is the pinnacle of intellectual achievement. What's really sad is that the smartest Erudite of them all is actually possibly the most foolish--to protect her inner sanctum and most secret information, she sets up a security system that can identify and drug any intruder instantly. So when Tris blindly stumbles into this, she is immediately captured or killed, right? Nope. The security system identifies Tris, names her as "Divergent" (which means she can break out of mind control simulations at will), and then puts her into a mind control simulation. Which Tris is of course able to triumphantly break out of. Surprise! Not that any one else in this book has better reasoning skills: Four/Tobias surrenders to Johanna for torture, drug testing and eventual death so he can find out where central control is located. He is able to get this information back to the rebels only because Peter unexpectedly turns traitor and helps him escape. He couldn't have counted on that, so how on earth did he think this plan was going to work? Or, another instance: Tris and her crew want to prevent Tobias from killing Johanna before she gives up certain information. Instead of just going with Tobias into Erudite, so they have all of his resources and are in position to stop him at the precise moment he needs to be stopped, they get several members of their party killed while storming Erudite headquarters and arrive too late to stop Tobias. Or something else that blew my mind: Dauntless train with weapons from an early age, sleep with them, and are basically paranoid soldiers. They form an uneasy alliance with the factionless near the end of the book, although (like most factions) they've spent their lives despising the factionless. Together they storm Erudite headquarters. As soon as they've secured the Erudite leaders, the factionless ask for their weapons. Apparently suspecting nothing, and apparently willing to give up their weapons IN ENEMY TERRITORY (even though just a few chapters ago they wouldn't give up their weapons even when it was a requirement of receiving sanctuary from certain death), all of the Dauntless completely disarm and hand the factionless all their weapons. The factionless immediately proclaim themselves the new rulers; the Dauntless are super! shocked! at this betrayal. For goodness' sake! And then, the idiot cherry on the blockhead sundae, the reason everyone is living in a walled-in Chicago is revealed. Generations ago, people were upset at all the cruelty in the world, so volunteers erased their minds and entered Chicago as part of an experiment. The hope was that someday, Divergent people would be born, and this would be the end of all suffering and war in the world. lol, what?

The flimsy worldbuilding, blocky writing (The word window was repeated FOUR TIMES in a single sentence. Come on.) and just plain stupid plots have overpowered this series. Tris is still a badass, but the story is just too silly and nonsensical for me to care about any longer. ( )
  wealhtheowwylfing | Feb 29, 2016 |
Disappointed. That may be a factor of YA burn out rather than the book. Maybe. ( )
  lesmel | Feb 22, 2016 |
What happened to the awesome heroine we came to know and love in Divergent? What happened to the action-packed adventure? Why is this book suddenly the story of two angsty teenagers who apparently "love" each other but can't stand to be in the same room? What happened, Veronica Roth? WHAT HAPPENED?

Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. Literally. Exact same place. There's no recap of the action of the previous book, so if you, like me, took a little year-long break in between reading the two, you'll be more than a little confused. I had to enlist the help of a friend who'd just borrowed Divergent from me to figure out what the hell was going on. Just when I thought I'd gotten all the previous characters straight, a good number of new characters were thrown in. Talk about frustrating. But that, really, is a very minor problem compared to what happens later.

First of all, when did this series become a romance? One of the things I loved about Divergent was that, for once, the romance took a backseat to the action. Tris and Four were falling for each other, but it was secondary to her training, secondary to the fighting, secondary to everything else in the book. She didn't, like so many other main characters in YA novels, let him become the be-all and end-all of her world. Somehow that changes with Insurgent and this boy suddenly consumes her whole life. In the first few chapters, Tris and Tobias do little else than make out. As the book progresses, they do little else than argue and keep secrets and purposely ignore each other. Why can't Tris just tell Tobias about Will? Why does she decide to tell him while she's under truth serum, making him think she's then forced to tell him, rather than doing it of her own free will? Why does Tobias say he trusts Tris's opinions, and then shoot her down every time she disagrees with him? They act like such children, and it's completely out of character from the couple we saw previously. It's like Tris and Tobias have been taken over by different people. Or maybe like the author didn't feel continuity was important and just wanted to advance the ridiculous plot.

Now let me just ask how it's possible that Tris, an emotional, unreliable, whiny sixteen-year-old, is the only person in all of the factions who has more than one personality trait. Her friends attribute the fact that she can think AND take risks AND be selfless (OMG) to her being Divergent, but we don't see them running to any of the other Divergent for answers to their questions. Only Tris. Are we really to believe that just because someone is Abnegation, they can't figure out the answer to a simple question? That just because someone is Dauntless, they could never possibly do anything for less than selfish reasons? That just because someone is Erudite, they could never do anything that comes with any semblance of risk? Even the faction transfers don't seem to have the ability to fit into more than one box, except, of course, when it's convenient to the plot. The premise is ridiculous. I didn't notice this as much in Divergent. Maybe the constant action distracted me. Who knows. But the idea that Tris has this magical brain but still makes the most idiotic decisions baffles me.

Speaking of idiotic decisions, can I just say how out of character it is for Tris to team up with Marcus? She makes it so painfully obvious how much she hates him, and then he dangles the promise of what's outside in front of her, some little bit of information she doesn't know, and she basically says, "Okay, so you're a horrible person and you abused my boyfriend so much that he ran away to Dauntless to get away from you, and I don't think I can trust you on anything, but I guess you know something I don't so I'm going to team up with you just in case you're telling the truth." Tris knows that this likely means the end of her relationship with Tobias. She knows that there's little chance that Marcus is going to fulfill his end of the bargain. But she doesn't seem to care. And in the end? Don't even get me started.

I was expecting something great and explosive for the ending. Something to make the previous, what, 500 pages? be worth it. What did we get? A cop-out. Okay, it's bad outside too. People are too selfish, so they wiped memories and sorted people into neat little boxes, and waited for the Divergent to emerge to save the world. This supposedly has happened in only two generations, since when Tris is trying to break into the lab, it's revealed that she's a second-generation. I'm sorry, but if people were specifically engineered to fit into neat little boxes, the population of Divergent would not be so high after only two generations. But that's a topic for a different conversation.

This review barely scratches the surface of my feelings about the book. I haven't even touched on the confusing faction-jumping that goes on throughout -- they run between faction headquarters so often that I couldn't even keep track of where they were, and I read this book over two days with no substantial breaks. I didn't even get into how confusing the motivations of the characters are -- is Caleb good or evil? What about Peter? Tobias's mom? Is the book meant to be this confusing? The more I think about it, the angrier I get. Divergent was a great dystopian novel. Insurgent is a terrible, disjointed romance novel with a little bit of dystopia thrown in. Will I still read Allegiant? Most likely, if for no other reason than to clear up all the questions I have post-Insurgent.
( )
  Sara.Newhouse | Feb 11, 2016 |
Oh my gosh - even more of a thrill than the first. Nothing is what it seems. And instead of tiring on the concept, the end leaves you actually craving the third installment. I had to re-read this to pick up all that was going on - and I'm SO GLAD I did... ( )
  bjoelle5 | Feb 10, 2016 |
This felt slower than Divergent and I didn't enjoy it quite as much. I felt the "Big Secret" at the end wasn't really that much of a surprise and a bit of an anti climax. I'll finish the series though. ( )
  Laurochka | Feb 6, 2016 |
Too many teenage relationship issues and not enough revolution. Still an enjoyable read. ( )
  tashlyn88 | Feb 5, 2016 |
I don't have a lot to say about this book, other than that I enjoyed it as much as the first one. ( )
1 vote AngelClaw | Feb 2, 2016 |
This was not as engaging for me as the first book was - don't know if it was because I listened to this one and I miss more that way than when I read a book. The narration was good though. Or maybe it was that I found Tris's identity issues and issues with her relationship with Tobias to be kind of repetitive. It definitely was not as interesting as her journey to become a Dauntless. Hoping Book 3 will be more like Book 1. ( )
  MaureenCean | Feb 2, 2016 |
1 vote MisaBookworm | Feb 2, 2016 |
Really good. Probably not as good as the first one, and a little more predictable. But the ending was great. Now on to Allegiant. ( )
1 vote RenaeMcBrian | Jan 31, 2016 |
Really good. Probably not as good as the first one, and a little more predictable. But the ending was great. Now on to Allegiant. ( )
1 vote RenaeMcBrian | Jan 31, 2016 |
Really good. Probably not as good as the first one, and a little more predictable. But the ending was great. Now on to Allegiant. ( )
1 vote RenaeMcBrian | Jan 31, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 483 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.88)
0.5 3
1 37
1.5 2
2 130
2.5 45
3 491
3.5 139
4 854
4.5 88
5 672

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,257,326 books! | Top bar: Always visible