HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,7133741,000 (3.94)276
pnh002's review
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
  pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (364)  Spanish (4)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (372)
Showing 1-25 of 364 (next | show all)
Tris Prior has escaped out of the dire situation at the end of the first book Divergent with Four straight into another time of action-packed scenes where truth is not as it seems and enemies seem to change with every page. She goes forward dauntlessly to figure out the truth, to find some sort of absolution for her deeds in the last book, and to understand her society.

I almost feel guilty for giving this book 1 star because it's not a horrible book. But honestly, I just didn't like it. I probably never should have picked up this second book because I didn't really like the first book (which I read a while back) as well - but I was convinced by a friend who loved it and then I didn't want to drop the book halfway in.

I've been thinking about why I dislike this book and I think it stems primarily from my disbelief of the dystopian world and the characters within this world. It just doesn't ring true to me. I say this because of the inconsistencies in character. For example, the five different groups represent five different personality traits. These factions become stereotypes of whatever they portray and seem to have no other personality traits beyond that. It's like the Dauntless can't think logically unless they're divergent. It's as if all Erudite members must be extreme nerds. It's as if someone from Amity will never argue. It infuriates me because that is such a contradiction after you get to know the more crucial characters for the book who all have different personalities and quirks like good characters do. So then why are the rest of the people in factions so darn stereotypical? It's as if these people are normal (as seen from characters we get to know like Tris or Tobias or Christina), but then not normal (as seen from supporting characters like Uriah, Caleb, and many more).

So my conclusion is that Roth doesn't go far enough into this dystopian world. The characters are just too similar to people who wouldn't live in a dystopian world until she wants to make a point that the world is different. Then all of a sudden they turn a 180 and say a line that says something to the effect of "oh I can't think logically, I'm not an Erudite" or "only the Dauntless are gutsy, you're not so you're weak". It's not consistent!!! And that infuriates me.

Another thing that just kept bothering me was the amount of times Roth had to make the obvious and overt statements that indicate Tris is divergent in terms of Erudite. I honestly don't see how she is divergent at all besides asking a lot of questions. It seems the difference between someone who's divergent and who's not is just that they aren't affected by simulations rather than personality characteristics. Which kinda blows the whole premise out of the water.

The action was as fast paced as the last book. Unfortunately that was more of a negative than a plus for me because I felt most of the action had zero to no transition, jumping from love-scene to an argument with the brother, to discovering a new twist, to running out of Candor into Amity, to shooting someone, to etc etc etc. As much as I love action, it feels like there was no thought placed into Tris's actions, like the character was falling into plot points rather than directing the story through her actions.

Okay, those are my opinions of the book - but that doesn't mean Roth is a bad writer. On the contrary, I can definitely see why many love this book. It has a strong heroine, a bad-ass love interest, many plot twists, good hate-able villains, action and adventure, and mystery. Her grammar and sentence structure has no problems. Her scenes are cohesive. It's not a bad book. I just didn't like it.

So yes, I didn't like the book, so therefore one star.
Recommended for people who read the first book Divergent (if you liked it). I just personally wouldn't recommend it to anyone. ( )
  NineLarks | Sep 15, 2014 |
Tris Prior has escaped out of the dire situation at the end of the first book Divergent with Four straight into another time of action-packed scenes where truth is not as it seems and enemies seem to change with every page. She goes forward dauntlessly to figure out the truth, to find some sort of absolution for her deeds in the last book, and to understand her society.

I almost feel guilty for giving this book 1 star because it's not a horrible book. But honestly, I just didn't like it. I probably never should have picked up this second book because I didn't really like the first book (which I read a while back) as well - but I was convinced by a friend who loved it and then I didn't want to drop the book halfway in.

I've been thinking about why I dislike this book and I think it stems primarily from my disbelief of the dystopian world and the characters within this world. It just doesn't ring true to me. I say this because of the inconsistencies in character. For example, the five different groups represent five different personality traits. These factions become stereotypes of whatever they portray and seem to have no other personality traits beyond that. It's like the Dauntless can't think logically unless they're divergent. It's as if all Erudite members must be extreme nerds. It's as if someone from Amity will never argue. It infuriates me because that is such a contradiction after you get to know the more crucial characters for the book who all have different personalities and quirks like good characters do. So then why are the rest of the people in factions so darn stereotypical? It's as if these people are normal (as seen from characters we get to know like Tris or Tobias or Christina), but then not normal (as seen from supporting characters like Uriah, Caleb, and many more).

So my conclusion is that Roth doesn't go far enough into this dystopian world. The characters are just too similar to people who wouldn't live in a dystopian world until she wants to make a point that the world is different. Then all of a sudden they turn a 180 and say a line that says something to the effect of "oh I can't think logically, I'm not an Erudite" or "only the Dauntless are gutsy, you're not so you're weak". It's not consistent!!! And that infuriates me.

Another thing that just kept bothering me was the amount of times Roth had to make the obvious and overt statements that indicate Tris is divergent in terms of Erudite. I honestly don't see how she is divergent at all besides asking a lot of questions. It seems the difference between someone who's divergent and who's not is just that they aren't affected by simulations rather than personality characteristics. Which kinda blows the whole premise out of the water.

The action was as fast paced as the last book. Unfortunately that was more of a negative than a plus for me because I felt most of the action had zero to no transition, jumping from love-scene to an argument with the brother, to discovering a new twist, to running out of Candor into Amity, to shooting someone, to etc etc etc. As much as I love action, it feels like there was no thought placed into Tris's actions, like the character was falling into plot points rather than directing the story through her actions.

Okay, those are my opinions of the book - but that doesn't mean Roth is a bad writer. On the contrary, I can definitely see why many love this book. It has a strong heroine, a bad-ass love interest, many plot twists, good hate-able villains, action and adventure, and mystery. Her grammar and sentence structure has no problems. Her scenes are cohesive. It's not a bad book. I just didn't like it.

So yes, I didn't like the book, so therefore one star.
Recommended for people who read the first book Divergent (if you liked it). I just personally wouldn't recommend it to anyone. ( )
  NineLarks | Sep 15, 2014 |
***This review will have spoilers for the first book, Divergent but not for this book.***

This book finds Tris dealing with the emotional aftermath of mortally shooting her good friend. It weighs on her conscience so heavily that she can’t even pick up a gun. She’s also processing the grief of losing her parents. The plot picks up right where Divergent left off. Tris, Tobias and what’s left of Dauntless that is still good seek refuge among the different factions while they formulate a plan to find and kill Jeanine Matthews, leader of the traitor Dauntless.

This book was definitely not as good as the first. The story was confusing at times. Tris and her group moved around so much, I kept having to refer back to see where they were. Also, she and Tobias had their mitts on each other all.the.time. Every other page they were hugging, kissing, holding hands. It was too much and too mushy. I know that they are young and in love but they are also on the run for their lives! I kept thinking about what my college psychology professor taught me. No one thinks about sex when his/her life is in danger. My final criticism is why did Tris and Tobias have to lie to each other so much? I know that the purpose was to insert some conflict into their relationship since there is no love triangle. But the reasons they were lying didn’t seem justified.

This book did have some twists and turns that I didn’t see coming and kept the story exciting. In between Tris and Tobias making out it was action packed. And the secret that is revealed in the end is definitely enough to make me read the third and final book in the trilogy, Allegiant. ( )
  mcelhra | Sep 10, 2014 |
Insurgent...Insurgent. What can I say about Insurgent. I guess the first thing I can say is that this review will contain spoilers for Divergent and probably some spoilers about Insurgent.

I could also say that I thought the plot was pretty interesting and liked that we got to see more of the world. I got bored of all the training in Divergent, so I was happy we got none of that here. I also liked that the book started right where the first book ended. After the cliff-hanger, doing anything else would have been annoying, so I liked that it just went straight into things. I also liked that we got to see more from Tobias. Yes, he's a bit of a jerk here, but considering his upbringing I thought his harshness made sense. The best part was being able to see all of the factions. Overall, I liked it a lot better than Divergent.

The story is about Tris and her gang trying to take down Erudite. A bunch of things happen, sometimes serving no purpose at all, but things happen. In the end, we're introduced to a cliff-hanger and finally answer one of the questions I had back in Divergent.

Sadly, this book and series still doesn't make sense. I'm trying, I really am, but if you thought the world and the faction didn't make sense before, be prepared for it to not make any more sense here. I mean, at all. Amity likes to strum banjos and eat toast that makes you high happy, they also grow all the food, so they still serve their purpose. Candor, I don't understand the point of them other than being jerks. What's the point of having all of your secrets laid out in the open? What do they do? Lawyers? Why would you need one in this world? What is the point of them? What's the point in any of them?

Anyways. That isn't my biggest problem. My biggest problem in Insurgent is still the biggest problem I had in Divergent. Tris. She's a horrible human being, you guys. Just horrible! She's a Divergent, which apparently isn't all that special, but she's more special compared to all the other Divergents. This means that her mind isn't easy to control and instead of falling under one faction, she actually falls under more than one. She falls under Abnegation, her original faction, Erudite, and Dauntless.

This should make her selfless, smart, and brave. Only, she's selfish, stupid, and reckless. I never got the sense that she belonged with anyone other than Dauntless. So why is she a Divergent? She doesn't think and is on some mission to sacrifice herself so she can join her parents. I get that's she's hurt, I do, but she does this so many times without talking to anyone, but expects everyone to tell her the truth and plans. She's irrational. The sad thing is that everyone looks to her for advice, because apparently you can't think properly unless you're an Erudite. The factions...why must they make no sense? Why!

...*deep breaths deep breaths*...

I really disliked how she lashed out at others, even when she's in the wrong. There is a scene where Christina and Cara are talking about her, because she killed Will, and they're not happy about her. Instead of understanding their grief, she makes it all about her and how she's a victim. She's not. She killed Will and went straight for a head shot even though she let Eric and Peter live. Why didn't she shoot his hand or leg? You want to know why. It's a curse, it's the

Remove every couple, so Tris and Tobias look normal curse

In Book One, Will and Christina hook up and it's cute and loveable and you root for them. Then Tris kills Will, leaving Christina alone. Tris also watches both her parents die, even though both were incredibly interesting characters that I would have liked to seen more of, they die because they're protecting Tris. And when I say protecting, I mean getting out of the way so we don't see a healthy relationship.

In Book Two, Edward becomes a psycho making Myra leave him, even though both seemed so in love with each other. Uriah and Maureen hook up and in pretty much the next chapter she dies. Lynn loves Maureen, so she has to die as well. Even when it seems like Christina might have someone else, he dies after saying she's cute. Shauna and Zeke are the exception to this rule, instead of dying; Shauna becomes paralyzed and has to be on a wheelchair. I suppose Caleb and Susan might be an exception too, but we don't see enough of them for this couple curse to happen. Thank God for that, because I actually like those two together.

Thus, every couple that seems to become normal and cute must have someone die so that Tris and Tobias are last couple standing.

I expect more couples dying on each other in the next book. Caleb will probably die then, so Tris can be the only person in her family alive and allowing another couple to 'break' up.

Even though I enjoyed this book a lot better than Divergent, it still has a lot of the same problems. The world doesn't make sense, the need for factions in order to find peace seems okay at first until you find out what the factions do and then you wonder what is wrong with these people. Tris is still annoying and not a strong female character. When she betrays Tobias and goes with Marcus to Erudite headquarters, she lets Marcus hit Caleb and instead of getting angry at that she gets angry that Marcus did the same thing to Tobias. With the Caleb hitting, it's justified because he's a traitor, even though Tris is technically considered a traitor at this point too......



Why is it okay for her to betray everyone and not tell anyone the reason why, but it's wrong when Caleb does it? Caleb could have a great reason to do so, why don't you...hmm, I dunno. Talk to him instead of getting angry? That would be the logical and selfless thing to do, right? Right?


I just can't with Tris.

Anywho, the ending is interesting so I'll be reading the next book the series to see what happens next. I'm hoping the next book answers my questions and makes me understand this world. I also hope that no couple is harmed by the curse.

So I guess I should end the review here. Insurgent is better than Divergent, but it's still so so flawed. ( )
  pdbkwm | Sep 8, 2014 |
I really didn't like the first half of this one of the Divergent trilogy. Lots of running around slightly pointlessly, which OK, is probably what being part of a civil war is like, but is a bit incoherent to read. And oh, Tris spends the novel making some Really Stupid Decisions without really talking to anyone, which OK, is a bit forgivable in YA where the hero is an impulsive teenager, but is completely overdone by the end. But the bits where she is held prisoner and experimented on, while implausible and a bit cliched, are totally gripping. [Main review under 'Allegiant', because I read them all back to back.] ( )
  atreic | Sep 7, 2014 |
Tris wakes up on the train leaning onto Tobais. She just saw her mother die trying to save her from the guards that were chasing after them. They are heading to the Amity compound as a safe spot for the night. But while Tris is sleeping she has a bad dream with Will in it she sees him fall to the ground dead. The next morning the Amity decide whether or not to let them stay. The Amity decide that they can stay if they can follow the rules and they will have to work if they want to stay. They get chased out of the Amity compound by the Erudite and most of the Abnegation that where safe got killed while running away.
What I liked about this book is that it is very breathtaking and it keeps me up all night. Needing to read it the next day when I wake up in the morning. It is so detailed I can imagine it in my head while I read it. And it is my favorite book of the year. I can't wait for the movie so I can compare it to the book. And I am so excited to read Allegiant. I bet it will be a good book. ( )
  AbigailUB4 | Sep 1, 2014 |
I originally bought Divergent and Insurgent on a buy one get one half price deal from a local Waterstones bookshop, and if I hadn't got the two of them at once, I most likely would never have picked up Insurgent after being less than thrilled with Divergent.

As it turned out, I did actually like Insurgent a little better. I think it was because there was more world building, and you got to see more of how the other Factions functioned, and the plot was more developed than just Faction training.

I didn't actually like Triss much at all in this book, considering how bad ass she was at the end of the first one, I found her very wooden in this book. And I still don't buy the romance with her and Tobias at all. Its a little weird, even though I wasn't all that blown away with the main character, I thought it was a much better plot than the first book.

And I was never going to bother with the final book, but now I have to know how the whole thing ends. ( )
  sunset_x_cocktail | Aug 20, 2014 |
I liked this book better than Divergent. The writing just seemed smoother, and things made more sense. It still seemed to me that Roth was struggling to get some of her points across, and it seemed rather repetitive in places, but there's some interesting stuff here and it's an easy read. ( )
  sammii507 | Aug 19, 2014 |
Had a really hard time getting into this one. ( )
  Mirandalg14 | Aug 18, 2014 |
*No spoilers.

Immediate reaction after reading the last word:

Holy shit. My heart nearly thumped right outta my chest at the end.

After some reflection:

This book was okay, but it didn’t have the same shine as Divergent. Again, I thought I had things figured out, but Roth kept throwing me for a loop. This and the first book were definitely action-packed and fast-paced. There was no time to get bored, because just as you’d be getting comfortable, the rug would be pulled out from under you and off the story would go.

Tris. Oy. I was on the fence about her in Divergent, although I thought she was mostly likeable. In this book, she really kinda fell apart. She was an emotional wreck. I get it. Your world is in shambles and it’s not easy to keep it together, but the contrast between Divergent’s Can-Do-No-Wrong Tris and Insurgent’s Can’t-Do-Shit Tris was too great. It occurred to me that maybe the author did this purposefully (I know that sounds stupid, but ya know what I mean) and she just went a little overboard. There were many times that I just wanted to shake the shit outta Tris and yell at her to get it together, bitch! She acted out of character often and that threw me off. A lot.

Tobias (ugh, that name is horrid) was a conundrum to me. Half of the time, I thought he was so awesome and I knew where he was coming from, but then he’d screw our love, I mean, their love up and turn my world upside down. I just wanted them to get it together. Too much turmoil for my cold, little heart.

I still liked this book. It wasn’t as good as Divergent and by no means is it a masterpiece, but I had so much fun reading it. I’ve had an inkling of where the story was heading and at the very end, my notion was confirmed, but there was a twist and that has left me ridiculously excited for book 3. Which is eons away. Fucking sniffle.
( )
  JennyJen | Aug 14, 2014 |
I loved this one too! Can't wait to read the next one!! ( )
  Tiffy83 | Aug 11, 2014 |
WOOOW!!!

I am still in love with this series.

A lot of questions where answer in my opinion. The end was definitely something i was not expecting but it cleared quiet a few stuff. IT DOES tell you what is behind the gates (more or less), IT DOES tell you what they are doing inside the gates. A little bit of it is predictable but i am still interested in what is going to happen between Tris and Tobias, like I am really hoping they can spend their life together like Katniss and Petaa did.
I am beginning to like Peter a little bit more, like this book was FULL of suprises, like OMG CALEB!! i just can not wait to finish the seires and put it all together. ( )
  angie.arciba | Aug 9, 2014 |
ASDGFGHJKL! That ending is @##@*&%%%^$. This is me possessed.

This book made my heart beat faster than I could ever imagine. It's more incredible than Divergent.

I cried a lot of times and I just feel so sad to have finished it already. I'm left wanting for more. :(

“People, I have discovered, are layers and layers of secrets. You believe you know them, that you understand them, but their motives are always hidden from you, buried in their own hearts. You will never know them, but sometimes you decide to trust them.” ( )
  margaraawr | Aug 8, 2014 |
ASDGFGHJKL! That ending is @##@*&%%%^$. This is me possessed.

This book made my heart beat faster than I could ever imagine. It's more incredible than Divergent.

I cried a lot of times and I just feel so sad to have finished it already. I'm left wanting for more. :(

“People, I have discovered, are layers and layers of secrets. You believe you know them, that you understand them, but their motives are always hidden from you, buried in their own hearts. You will never know them, but sometimes you decide to trust them.” ( )
  margaraawr | Aug 8, 2014 |
I have really been enjoying this series. I worried that having read The Hunger Games this would feel to similar, but I feel these books stand on their own. I love the fact that these are set in and around Chicago, too. I particularly like how Veronica Roth draws us into her world fairly slowly - by this second book you only just start to get the bigger picture of who these people are and why their lives are structured by factions. It's an interesting concept to organize the world this way to maintain order, although people being what they are - well, you know it won't go as planned. ( )
  PaulaKrapf | Aug 2, 2014 |
It was a little slow going for the first half and Tris was really irritating me with the constant contradictions (ie I am strong, I am not strong. I can do this, but I can't do this). It was a whole lot of nothing. Maybe I'm not very compassionate and/or maybe it was supposed to show her confusion and numbness, but I really just found it ineffective and annoying. The second half was so much better. I liked the conversations with Jeanine. And I thought the ending was great too. If nothing else, I would at least say that this book stands alone and does not succumb to the "middle book syndrome." Looking forward to reading "Detergent" when it comes out in a little over a year. :] ( )
  lyssa73 | Aug 2, 2014 |
This book was a great second instalment to the divergent series

This book was perfect build up for the last book (which is still have to read)

Tris and Four love is tested over and over again. You feel it is a real relationship with fighting and making up.

You just sometimes want to go up to tris and slap her against her head and say girl wake up.

The twist at the end of the book made my mouth fell upon wide. ( )
  anke.vanzweel | Aug 1, 2014 |
This book is really good and full of adventure. It also had lots of twists and turns and you never really know what's coming or when. 5Q5P The cover art is okay and I'd recommend this to middle school and high school students as well as adults. I chose to read this book because the series was recommended to me on many occasions. KylahL
  edspicer | Jul 26, 2014 |
Most sequels suck, it's just a fact. But this book was the exact opposite of that stereotype. If anything it was better and more action-packed than the first book. 5Q5P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this to middle school and high school students as well as adults. I chose to read this book because I had already read the previous book. SarahP
  edspicer | Jul 26, 2014 |
Painful to read. The writing is worse than the first book, which is really quite bad, and the plot involves moving from place to place looking for 'the information.' Terrible. I usually finish a trilogy when I start it, but I think I'll make an exception. ( )
1 vote Tilda.Tilds | Jul 23, 2014 |
This book is very exciting in some parts and has the perfect amount of romance between Tris and Four. There's also a lot of action, especially when the Dauntless and Factionless invade the Erudite compound. 5Q5P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this book to middle school and high school students. I chose to read this book because I read the previous one in the trilogy and it was really good, so I couldn't wait to get my hands on this one. AbigaleO
  edspicer | Jul 23, 2014 |
This book is not good. The first person narration gets so tedious (I lost count of how many times a sentence started or ended with "He said."). Additionally, the story is so slow and boring. There is entirely too much time spent on feelings of guilt for actions that happened in the first book. As others have said, this book is enough to convince me not to finish the trilogy. ( )
  levasssp | Jul 22, 2014 |
This book has a lot of action. It twists and turns a lot and I couldn't put it down. Words really cannot describe how good this was. 5Q5P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this for middle school and high school students as well as adults. I chose to read this book because the cover looked very interesting and the first book was probably the best thing I've ever read. VictoriaE
  edspicer | Jul 17, 2014 |
I was severely disappointed with this book. I almost considered putting this book down(which I am prone to do) but I forced myself to continue. True it had been a year since I read the previous book, but I still felt it was a difficult read. They were too many characters to keep track of, due to their plain names and different factions. The main character, Beatrice, is told in first-person and her thought-process is quite annoying. She very stubborn and her acts of "self-lessness" are merely obstinate choices she makes to be a "sacrifice". I only continued to read for the romance of the male protagonist, Four, but Beatrice kept distancing herself from him. I was not impressed. Try harder for the conclusion, please. ( )
1 vote aliterarylion | Jul 14, 2014 |
4
  aweinel | Jul 14, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 364 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1268 wanted
10 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.94)
0.5 2
1 24
1.5 2
2 81
2.5 28
3 299
3.5 107
4 568
4.5 81
5 499

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,673,055 books! | Top bar: Always visible