HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,3703511,127 (3.95)264
pnh002's review
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
  pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (346)  Spanish (3)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  All languages (351)
Showing 1-25 of 346 (next | show all)
This book is not good. The first person gets so tedious (I lost count of how many times a sentence started or ended with "He said."). Additionally, the story is so slow and boring. There is entirely too much time spent on feelings of guilt for actions that happened in the first book. ( )
  levasssp | Jul 22, 2014 |
This book has a lot of action. It twists and turns a lot and I couldn't put it down. Words really cannot describe how good this was. 5Q5P The cover art is awesome and I'd recommend this for middle school and high school students as well as adults. I chose to read this book because the cover looked very interesting and the first book was probably the best thing I've ever read. VictoriaE
  edspicer | Jul 17, 2014 |
I was severely disappointed with this book. I almost considered putting this book down(which I am prone to do) but I forced myself to continue. True it had been a year since I read the previous book, but I still felt it was a difficult read. They were too many characters to keep track of, due to their plain names and different factions. The main character, Beatrice, is told in first-person and her thought-process is quite annoying. She very stubborn and her acts of "self-lessness" are merely obstinate choices she makes to be a "sacrifice". I only continued to read for the romance of the male protagonist, Four, but Beatrice kept distancing herself from him. I was not impressed. Try harder for the conclusion, please. ( )
1 vote aliterarylion | Jul 14, 2014 |
4
  aweinel | Jul 14, 2014 |
A decent continuation of the Divergent plot but not as compelling as the first novel.

My main complaint about this novel is that Tris is a passive observer thorough large chunks of the story. I wanted her to take charge more often and have it be her story, not just the story of future, dystopian Chicago. The back-and-forth trust issues and insecurities in her relationship with Tobias grew tiresome too. ( )
  StephanieNicole | Jul 10, 2014 |
I did not know if I would like this book or not given that it was so popular with the younger readers. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This Utopian style world in which they are living in is truly thought provoking with very interesting sects and behaviors. An excellent story that involves the battle of good and evil rolled into a love story makes it intriguing enough to keep you both on your seat and guessing the entire way. I could not wait to get to the next book. ( )
  ShadowRhelm | Jul 9, 2014 |
Insurgent seems to continue from exactly where Divergent left off, so for those of us who read Divergent a long time ago and don't really remember... not so good. There is no recap of any kind, so I spent the first ¼ of the book being really confused. I finally sort of figured out what was going on in this one, but it still bothers/ed me that there was no recap to remind me of what happened in Divergent. This is why I am not doing a synopsis with this review. Well, maybe I'll attempt this: everyone seems to be double-crossing everyone else, including some of the factionless.

All the double-crossing made for lots going on in the book, and so I am rating it 3.5 (good), but I was still somewhat confused through a portion of the book. I bought the first two books, but won't be buying the third. This one ended on a cliffhanger, so I might still read the 3rd one, but it'll come from the library. I hope the author gives a bit of a recap in that one, as a reminder. ( )
  LibraryCin | Jul 8, 2014 |
Like other reviews, I have to echo that this seemed like a different Tris. Not as much happened and she spent a lot of time in her head. There were a few plot twists that were kind if fun, though, so on to Book 3! ( )
  reginacorley | Jul 8, 2014 |
I wanted to like this book. I tried to like this book. I did not even like Four in this book and Tris just worked my reading nerve. Here is the thing, I will most likely read the last book in the series because I want to see how the author resolves the series. Why do heroines have to be non-logical? Why does this girl never think? Why is it I wanted Four to walk away from her? Why did I rejoice that I did not have to purchase this book because it is popular so I knew I could borrow it from the library. Don't even get me started with my feelings regarding the train or the flaws I have with the factions. I think the series reached a closure point with this one but I will find out when I complete the third installment. None of these characters are like-able not even the ones you previously thought were a possibility. Is there some law that states young adult dystopian novels have to cause a gag reflect in the reader. Yeah I know some people love this series and that is there right but me not so much. My flaw is I am a junkie who wants to know the ending. ( )
  vtlucania | Jul 5, 2014 |
This book was way too long. I have made this review as un-spoilery as possible for those who haven’t read Divergent.

Unlike many of the other reviewers here, I came to the Divergent party late and was able to launch right into Insurgent the day after I finished Divergent with the story fresh in my mind. This was helpful since the sequel picks up right where the first one left off, without any re-cap or synopsis. This bugged some people but I am fine with it, it’s not like Wheel of Time or something, this series will only have three books. It’s not that huge of an imposition to start with number one.

In this installment of the trilogy each faction must decide where they stand after the tragic genocide of one of the factions at the end of Divergent, and how they will proceed.Tris is at the forefront of the action throughout the novel thanks to her knowledge of what’s happening and her Divergent status. There will be war and all that remains to be determined is which side each faction (and the factionless) will fight on.

The novel’s strongest moments were in seeing the headquarters of each faction and getting a feel for their culture and priorities. The thought that went into each faction’s sociology shows without turning into an infodump.The author’s preferences seep through in places, but it’s interesting to see Tris’s reaction to ideologies other than the one she was raised in and the one she chose. Equally satisfying is seeing her grow enough to realize that each faction has something beautiful to offer.

Insurgent‘s weak point was directly related to its length. There were a lot of plotlines running in harmony through the first novel, which left a lot to address in the second. Tris was dealing with the emotional fallout of the things she was forced to do for the greater good at the end of Divergent, though she is not an overtly emotional person. This chewed up a lot of time and became frustrating as she made the same mistakes over and over, becoming reckless to avoid dealing with her feelings (though I guess that’s honest for a sixteen-year-old) She and Four had the same fight several times and neither one altered their behavior in any way…it felt like running in circles on a hamster wheel. Characters related to various side plots popped up between revolutions for a little variety and/or resolution.

Things do come together toward the end, action picking up and speeding the reader along as Tris embraces the gifts that come with her Divergence and takes charge (satisfying considering how much of the book she spent being either a numb robot or completely reckless). The novel is left on a note that could either be an ironic cliffhanger or a bittersweet conclusion, but the rumor is that there is another (as yet un-named and un-written) sequel in the works.

This novel still provides plenty to think about, but it was not nearly as well-paced or plotted as Divergent. Perhaps that is to be expected in this age of every publisher looking for the Next! Big! Series! and rushing installments to publication before the public loses interest. The Divergent trilogy still has mine, I’ll be back to read that third volume, I just hope that the author gets the time she needs to make it all it can be. ( )
  ArmchairAuthor | Jul 3, 2014 |
I really liked this second novel in the series, but not quite as well as the first. I am definitely looking forward to finding out how it all ends. ( )
  silva_44 | Jun 27, 2014 |
Everyone please don't hate me!! I am one of the few readers, who did not like this series. It wasn't the worst, but not the best either. I had too high expectations for the first book. Divergent started off good, but it dragged on, and I didn't care about the characters. The characters were flat and dull to me. Even though I didn't like the first book, I picked up Insurgent because of the good reviews. This book was worst than Divergent. It was just so boring, I couldn't get into it. Maybe I'm just too big a fun of the Hunger Games. I read this series because of the hype, but I just didn't like it. I think the books were too long. After every page I kept looking down to see when the book was gonna end. I don't know, it fell flat. I bought this book, and I'm giving it to my sister because she loved the first book. Maybe the movie will be better. I also had a hard time creating a mental picture in my head. The characters were okay. I liked Christina. I liked Al, and didn't get why he took Peter's side, and tried to Kill Tris. Four was a tolerable character but I got so annoyed with him and Tris constantly arguing with each other. I felt they didn't have a strong relationship, like they were supposed to. I think the Hunger Games was too good. I just finished the book, and I don't even know what happened throughout the book. I liked the first book better, and I couldn't stand how mean Peter was to Tris. This book is not my favorite, but I think you should give it a chance, because maybe it's just me who didn't like it. ( )
  stephanie.dicesare.7 | Jun 25, 2014 |
I personally found Insurgent much more fulfilling than Divergent, but I think that depends upon what readers liked about Divergent. For me, I enjoyed everything in the first book EXCEPT most of the training, which took up quite a large part of the book. Those who liked that part might be disappointed.

I don't think Tris is a role model of a character -- she's reckless, whiny, and impulsive. But she also fascinates me, because for all her faults, she does care and she is often smart(at least when it comes to problems--she doesn't seem to have a high emotional intelligence).

I thought the world of Insurgent was built better, questions were answered(as more arose), and the plot was much more detailed. I'm excited for book three. ( )
  Stormydawnc | Jun 23, 2014 |
Once again, Veronica Roth has outdone herself. She has turned the world of Divergent into an even more intense and epic story that leaves you screaming, "SHE DID NOT JUST DO THAT! NO NO NO! I NEED BOOK THREE NOW!" The one negative review I have is about Four. Throughout Divergent, Four was mysterious and intriguing. I wanted to skip through to every part that included him. During Insurgent, Roth dove into Four's story. It wasn't necessarily bad, it was just a change I wasn't expecting. On top of that, Tris seemed too obsessed with Four. It's understandable, I just thought it was a bit silly.
  HannahWebb | Jun 21, 2014 |
Picking up the threads of the previous novel's plotlines, Tris's story in a future, dystopian Chicago continues, along with her tense romance with Tobias (whose family tree grows ever more complex) and the war that broke out at the conclusion of Divergent. Fun, fast, and gripping reading. ( )
  wagner.sarah35 | Jun 20, 2014 |
Did not enjoy this one as much as the first (Divergent). In fact, about half way through, caught myself thinking "well... that is just silly". I fell in love with Tris and Four in the first but found myself growing a bit more distant in this book. The plot was confused at times and, as I said before , somewhat silly. Tris did things that just didn't gel with the person I got to know initially. Too many trivialised deaths and friends who became enemies and back again just tried my immersion a bit too far.

I am liking the rebellion side of things and I will be reading to the end of the Trilogy. I could never survive in their world as it was..

Hopefully Number 3 will be as good as the first :) ( )
  Mecaza | Jun 7, 2014 |
This book was amazing! It was full of revelations and more surprises than I could have imagined. It was exhilarating and I genuinely couldn't put it down. So much more gripping and exciting that Divergent! Can't wait to read more about this world and it's characters! ( )
  Yvaine_Thorn | Jun 7, 2014 |
I really enjoyed Insurgent, probably more than Divergent even. I love how the second book gets immediately into the action without a lot of boring build up or much summary of the first novel. Also, Roth writes this series in present tense (in my opinion is more difficult to do), but it really works well with the amount of action.

I have Allegiant waiting for me, but have been a little nervous to start. I fear being disappointed by a great series! ( )
  LauraT81 | Jun 5, 2014 |
This dystopian fantasy is sure to have as big a following as Hunger Games. It is well written, with plot twists and turns that are completely unpredictable. While there is a good bit of violence, there is little else that will prevent me from carrying this in the library for middle school readers. It is a survival story set in the future; Katniss meet Tris, A Divergent through and through.

About halfway through the book I found myself thinking that it was too complex for me to follow; which faction, which person was a traitor, who was alive, who was dead. When Tris decided to follow a certain leader; to place her trust in him, I thought NO, she can't do that; Tobias has stood by her regardless and he will hate her! And then I slowly figured out what was going on, that the leader did really know the truth...and when I got to the last few chapters of the book I thought Oh. My. Goodness. I did not see that coming. The ending is a cliffhanger in itself, and waiting until next fall (fall 2013??? Really?) to find out how Tris and Tobias story ends? That is cruelty!

( )
  Dmtcer | Jun 3, 2014 |
This dystopian fantasy is sure to have as big a following as Hunger Games. It is well written, with plot twists and turns that are completely unpredictable. While there is a good bit of violence, there is little else that will prevent me from carrying this in the library for middle school readers. It is a survival story set in the future; Katniss meet Tris, A Divergent through and through.

About halfway through the book I found myself thinking that it was too complex for me to follow; which faction, which person was a traitor, who was alive, who was dead. When Tris decided to follow a certain leader; to place her trust in him, I thought NO, she can't do that; Tobias has stood by her regardless and he will hate her! And then I slowly figured out what was going on, that the leader did really know the truth...and when I got to the last few chapters of the book I thought Oh. My. Goodness. I did not see that coming. The ending is a cliffhanger in itself, and waiting until next fall (fall 2013??? Really?) to find out how Tris and Tobias story ends? That is cruelty!

( )
  Dmtcer | Jun 3, 2014 |
I liked this book it was the second book in the divergent series. I loved this book because it has romance, comedy, and adventure. And i love roance and comedy. I just think its cute for people to fall in love and kill people without hesitation. Just like bonnie and clyde kinda love story but not as cliche.
  aisosae.g3 | May 30, 2014 |
Please see my review for Divergent. Thanks. Highly recommended.

Really enjoyed both Divergent and Insurgent, and eagerly awaiting the third book! ( )
  Clare_M | May 25, 2014 |
Second book in the Divergent trilogy which introduced us to a future Chicago divided into five factions and Tris who matches three of them, making her 'Divergent' and in danger if this is found out. Tris and her friends are now fugitives, finding refuge in the Amity compound for a short time before they must escape again to a factionless safe house. There they discover Tobias's mom, Evelyn, who is still alive and plans to take over the city.

A great sequel to the first book - slightly slower paced. ( )
  boppisces | May 24, 2014 |
Can't wait for book 3!! I really enjoy this series much more than Hunger Games... ( )
  patsaintsfan | May 23, 2014 |
Wouldn’t it be fun if you could pick you duty in society? In the Divergent series, you can. You can decide between Erudite, the smart ones, Abnegation, the selfless ones, Dauntless, the fearless ones, Candor, the honest ones, or Amity, the peaceful ones. You decide when you are sixteen and stay that way for the rest of your life.

In the second book of the Divergent series, Tris tries to save the society from getting destroyed. Jeanine Matthews wants to obtain the information that runs the society and also how the groups came into existence. She is a member of Erudite and she knows that the information is in the hands of Marcus Eaton, a member of Abnegation. She feels that the only way that she would be able to obtain the knowledge is through a battle. She goes after Abnegation, controlling some Dauntless members into doing what she wants them to do.

I like this book because it never stopped keeping me interested in it. There was not a single part of this book that made me feel like I would want to put it down. I love how the book made me realize that what I could possibly go through, is not as hard as her life is. She lost everything she ever cared for at one point or another in her life.

One part of the book that I really liked was the ending when Tobias stuck up for her and understood that what she did was for the best. I think that Tobias, though he acts really strong, is just another person who is overall caring, but knows when he needs to have a leader’ voice. He is a very caring person when he needs to be. Tris knows what her motives are and will stop at nothing to achieve them. She puts herself into danger just to prove herself Dauntless, but she looks more like Abnegation when she does that. She was originally chosen to be in Dauntless, Abnegation, or Erudite, but she chose to be Dauntless. She left her parents in Abnegation and her brother, Caleb, went to Erudite.

I recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure and is up for a good book. Don't be freak out by the fact that it is 525 pages, it is a great read. ( )
  br14abbe | May 16, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 346 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1268 wanted
10 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.95)
0.5 2
1 22
1.5 2
2 71
2.5 27
3 272
3.5 105
4 533
4.5 79
5 467

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,493,952 books! | Top bar: Always visible