HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6,492481589 (3.89)325
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
1 vote pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
English (472)  Spanish (3)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Italian (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (479)
Showing 1-25 of 472 (next | show all)
Oh my gosh - even more of a thrill than the first. Nothing is what it seems. And instead of tiring on the concept, the end leaves you actually craving the third installment. I had to re-read this to pick up all that was going on - and I'm SO GLAD I did... ( )
  bjoelle5 | Feb 6, 2016 |
This felt slower than Divergent and I didn't enjoy it quite as much. I felt the "Big Secret" at the end wasn't really that much of a surprise and a bit of an anti climax. I'll finish the series though. ( )
  Laurochka | Feb 6, 2016 |
Too many teenage relationship issues and not enough revolution. Still an enjoyable read. ( )
  tashlyn88 | Feb 5, 2016 |
I don't have a lot to say about this book, other than that I enjoyed it as much as the first one. ( )
1 vote AngelClaw | Feb 2, 2016 |
This was not as engaging for me as the first book was - don't know if it was because I listened to this one and I miss more that way than when I read a book. The narration was good though. Or maybe it was that I found Tris's identity issues and issues with her relationship with Tobias to be kind of repetitive. It definitely was not as interesting as her journey to become a Dauntless. Hoping Book 3 will be more like Book 1. ( )
  MaureenCean | Feb 2, 2016 |
1 vote MisaBookworm | Feb 2, 2016 |
Really good. Probably not as good as the first one, and a little more predictable. But the ending was great. Now on to Allegiant. ( )
1 vote RenaeMcBrian | Jan 31, 2016 |
Really good. Probably not as good as the first one, and a little more predictable. But the ending was great. Now on to Allegiant. ( )
1 vote RenaeMcBrian | Jan 31, 2016 |
Really good. Probably not as good as the first one, and a little more predictable. But the ending was great. Now on to Allegiant. ( )
1 vote RenaeMcBrian | Jan 31, 2016 |
Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.

Well, I felt like Insurgent was Big Dumb Fun just in exactly the same way that the first book was. I know a lot of people didn't agree, and it might be because I sped through it in a couple of hours, but I was really satisfied with the way this book progressed. Let's face it, this book is escapism in a really ridiculous fashion.

Tris is the main reason I keep reading these books. Tris who is sixteen and young and stupid and brave and athletic and makes ridiculous decisions but whose heart is always in the right place. I like that she is somewhere in the middle – neither perfect nor with cripplingly low self-esteem, neither always right nor always wrong. Her relationship with Four doesn't define her ( her willingness to go behind his back and consort with Marcus pretty much shows that, even though it's probably not the best decision, because it's the one she thinks is right and most beneficial to the most people at the time – possibly a wee bit impulsive, but that's in character too). The Faction system continues to be completely unworkable, but if you can't accept that you probably haven't made it this far anyway.

It isn't as good as Divergent. I think that Tris's angsting about killing Will was a bit much. I'm glad it was included but it goes on for far too long and in a story where so much is happening at once, it didn't really need to be rammed home this much. Plus, I feel like it's a bit out of character. Tris shows herself to ultimately be pretty pragmatic about what happens in this situation and it seemed more likely to me that she would confront her gun fear and move on than keep this going til the end of the book.

I'm going to keep this short as I read it three months ago and I'm worried about spoiling certain things from Allegiant. However, as long as you don't go in expecting everything to suddenly start making perfect sense, this should be an enjoyable enough read for you. I give Insurgent eight out of ten.
  thebookmagpie | Jan 30, 2016 |
Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.

Well, I felt like Insurgent was Big Dumb Fun just in exactly the same way that the first book was. I know a lot of people didn't agree, and it might be because I sped through it in a couple of hours, but I was really satisfied with the way this book progressed. Let's face it, this book is escapism in a really ridiculous fashion.

Tris is the main reason I keep reading these books. Tris who is sixteen and young and stupid and brave and athletic and makes ridiculous decisions but whose heart is always in the right place. I like that she is somewhere in the middle – neither perfect nor with cripplingly low self-esteem, neither always right nor always wrong. Her relationship with Four doesn't define her ( her willingness to go behind his back and consort with Marcus pretty much shows that, even though it's probably not the best decision, because it's the one she thinks is right and most beneficial to the most people at the time – possibly a wee bit impulsive, but that's in character too). The Faction system continues to be completely unworkable, but if you can't accept that you probably haven't made it this far anyway.

It isn't as good as Divergent. I think that Tris's angsting about killing Will was a bit much. I'm glad it was included but it goes on for far too long and in a story where so much is happening at once, it didn't really need to be rammed home this much. Plus, I feel like it's a bit out of character. Tris shows herself to ultimately be pretty pragmatic about what happens in this situation and it seemed more likely to me that she would confront her gun fear and move on than keep this going til the end of the book.

I'm going to keep this short as I read it three months ago and I'm worried about spoiling certain things from Allegiant. However, as long as you don't go in expecting everything to suddenly start making perfect sense, this should be an enjoyable enough read for you. I give Insurgent eight out of ten.
  hoegbottom | Jan 30, 2016 |
Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged.

Well, I felt like Insurgent was Big Dumb Fun just in exactly the same way that the first book was. I know a lot of people didn't agree, and it might be because I sped through it in a couple of hours, but I was really satisfied with the way this book progressed. Let's face it, this book is escapism in a really ridiculous fashion.

Tris is the main reason I keep reading these books. Tris who is sixteen and young and stupid and brave and athletic and makes ridiculous decisions but whose heart is always in the right place. I like that she is somewhere in the middle – neither perfect nor with cripplingly low self-esteem, neither always right nor always wrong. Her relationship with Four doesn't define her ( her willingness to go behind his back and consort with Marcus pretty much shows that, even though it's probably not the best decision, because it's the one she thinks is right and most beneficial to the most people at the time – possibly a wee bit impulsive, but that's in character too). The Faction system continues to be completely unworkable, but if you can't accept that you probably haven't made it this far anyway.

It isn't as good as Divergent. I think that Tris's angsting about killing Will was a bit much. I'm glad it was included but it goes on for far too long and in a story where so much is happening at once, it didn't really need to be rammed home this much. Plus, I feel like it's a bit out of character. Tris shows herself to ultimately be pretty pragmatic about what happens in this situation and it seemed more likely to me that she would confront her gun fear and move on than keep this going til the end of the book.

I'm going to keep this short as I read it three months ago and I'm worried about spoiling certain things from Allegiant. However, as long as you don't go in expecting everything to suddenly start making perfect sense, this should be an enjoyable enough read for you. I give Insurgent eight out of ten.
  hoegbottom | Jan 30, 2016 |
I really liked and enjoyed Divergent and I bought this book.
I couldnt stop reading until I read the whole book. ( )
1 vote Dband54 | Jan 26, 2016 |
I agree with others who have said there are holes in the plot, the characters are not as well developed, and overall I didn't enjoy the story as much as Divergent. I felt like I read the whole book just to get to the last chapter which leaves me hanging for the 3rd book, but I didn't enjoy the book as I went. I felt like I was plodding along, going from place to place, but not really getting motivated by the story line. I had high expectations because I thought Divergent was just fantastic, oh well. ( )
1 vote clockwork_serenity | Jan 23, 2016 |
I agree with others who have said there are holes in the plot, the characters are not as well developed, and overall I didn't enjoy the story as much as Divergent. I felt like I read the whole book just to get to the last chapter which leaves me hanging for the 3rd book, but I didn't enjoy the book as I went. I felt like I was plodding along, going from place to place, but not really getting motivated by the story line. I had high expectations because I thought Divergent was just fantastic, oh well. ( )
1 vote clockwork_serenity | Jan 23, 2016 |
A little too scattered - not as tight a story as Divergent ( )
  keindi | Jan 23, 2016 |
Yippee! this book is just as good as the first in the series. "Insurgent" literally starts where "Divergent" ended. Tris continues to grow and develop, but is more. Ulcer able than she was in "Divergent.". However, I was a bit disappointed that Four wasn't in this book as much as the first. I really like his character. There is more political intrigue and a bit less action, but I still loved it. My only disappointment is that I now have to wait months for the conclusion and this book ended on such a cliff-hanger! ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 23, 2016 |
Yippee! this book is just as good as the first in the series. "Insurgent" literally starts where "Divergent" ended. Tris continues to grow and develop, but is more. Ulcer able than she was in "Divergent.". However, I was a bit disappointed that Four wasn't in this book as much as the first. I really like his character. There is more political intrigue and a bit less action, but I still loved it. My only disappointment is that I now have to wait months for the conclusion and this book ended on such a cliff-hanger! ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 23, 2016 |
Yippee! this book is just as good as the first in the series. "Insurgent" literally starts where "Divergent" ended. Tris continues to grow and develop, but is more. Ulcer able than she was in "Divergent.". However, I was a bit disappointed that Four wasn't in this book as much as the first. I really like his character. There is more political intrigue and a bit less action, but I still loved it. My only disappointment is that I now have to wait months for the conclusion and this book ended on such a cliff-hanger! ( )
  HeatherLINC | Jan 23, 2016 |
I tend to dread series books because I want final closer and I hate having to reinvest emotion on characters again. But this one was awesome! It started a bit slow and tedious for me, but it redeemed itself about 20% of the way in and caught me off guard with unexpected plot twists and tension. I think this trilogy is right up there with The Hunger Games and I have high hopes of a far more satisfying (and more hopeful and less nihilistic) third book! ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 22, 2016 |
3 1/2 ?

With the faction system falling apart and on the verge of war, Tris (Beatrice) Prior is on the lam with some of her Dauntless friends, among others, and helping to fight the evil they have seen led by Jeanine, leader of the Erudite faction, and Eric, from Dauntless. Tris embraces her Divergence gradually as she struggles over something she did in the fighting near the end of Divergence (don't want to give a spoiler from the last book.

There is a great deal of soul-searching, confusion, and challenge for Tris to overcome personally as well as dealing with the conflicts that have arisen. She has to dig deep, live through a few mistakes and finally trust her specific Divergent strength to make the right decision. That decision leads to the books cliffhanger, and we have to wait for the third book to come out. Rounded to a 4, but not quite as good as the first book. ( )
  Karin7 | Jan 20, 2016 |
Just as good as the first one! ( )
1 vote cygnet81 | Jan 17, 2016 |
Insurgent Veronica Roth
4 Stars

While the ending of Divergent left me going meh this book has left me going tell me tell me tell me I need to know (Book 3 on order from library they have 57 copies and 67 reservations arrrgggghhh)

Insurgent continues the story of our favourite Divergent Tris along with friends from the first book, in this book we learn more about the reason behind events in book 1, there is betrayal and a shock revelation about the real reason some people are divergent and what it means to society.

I cant really say much more without spoilers but the ending has left me wanting answers and clarification that I hope book 3 will provide. ( )
1 vote BookWormM | Jan 15, 2016 |
Reckless Tris, Strong Four, Crude Peter, Curious Caleb, Mysterious Marcus. A Complete tour to Amity, Candor, Haunted Dauntless, Cruel Erudite, Dead Abnegation, Factionless Territory. ( )
1 vote Chiththarthan | Dec 29, 2015 |
This was a great follow-up to the first book. Sometimes I did wonder why Tris did some of the things she did, but it didn't distract from my enjoyment of the book.

I love how Insurgent just jumps right in where Divergent left off. No back story, not retelling, just right into the story. I can only hope the third will be the same since the ending of this one left me hungry for the next. I can't believe I have to wait over a year! UGH! ( )
1 vote AbsurdBookNerd | Dec 12, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 472 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.89)
0.5 3
1 35
1.5 2
2 125
2.5 43
3 456
3.5 133
4 818
4.5 87
5 647

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,086,137 books! | Top bar: Always visible