HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Insurgent (Divergent) by Veronica Roth
Loading...

Insurgent (Divergent) (original 2013; edition 2012)

by Veronica Roth

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5,327407825 (3.89)294
Believe you me, when this says its a "thrill ride, with twists, heartbreaks, and romance," they were definitely NOT lying. This book was way more than I expected. I mean I liked Divergent, so I expected it to be good, but this was AMAZING! Like wow. Every time I turned a page, something else was happening. And once I caught my breath from the first event that happened, something else happened that made my breath catch and my heart race again. Veronica Roth, you definitely did not disappoint! I really liked this more than Divergent. And if you know me, you should know what a feat this is, because I am one of those people that HATE the dreaded "Book Number Two." Only because it never lives up to the first one. But this one, definitely did. And in my opinion, surpassed it.
Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. At the beginning of the story, the war is brewing and with it comes the action, suspense, and grief. Tris is still heartbroken of choices she made in Divergent. You can literally feel EVERY emotion in the book, no matter which character the emotion belongs to. And as far as emotion in this book, Veronica Roth's words will have you happy, sad, frustrated, and feeling in love and hanging on until the very last page.
And the ending.... Just as good as Divergent's ending. Believe me, this thrilling installment to the Divergent series will leave readers waiting desperately for the next book.
P.S. I still love Four/Tobias. Maybe even a little more after this lol ( )
  pnh002 | May 17, 2012 |
English (400)  Spanish (3)  Piratical (1)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  Italian (1)  All languages (407)
Showing 1-25 of 400 (next | show all)
It is quite nice a second part of trilogy.At some point you really get confused whether Beatrice is acting like a teenager or dauntless. It is gripping book and I really liked it. ( )
  durgaprsd04 | Feb 25, 2015 |
This book picks up where Divergent ends, with Tris on the run, along with a few others that have survived with her. Now they are mainly concerned with staying alive and ending the conflict.

There are surprises in this book, more things about how unsettled things really were come out. I had two problems with this book. One was that I kept thinking Tris and her friends were all much older than 16, I also didn’t like how Tris felt she had to solve everything herself and couldn’t trust anyone else. The first led me to thinking why is she acting like that? Only to remember, she’s only 16. The second was very annoying and old fast.

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the first, but I still recommend it. Nothing gets to crazy, the story still moves quickly and the values of friendship and teamwork, which pretty much have to be hammered into some people’s head prevail.

There is another book coming out in September, I haven’t decided if I will read it. I’m not tired of this series I just have a lot of books to be read. ( )
  BellaFoxx | Feb 14, 2015 |
Definitely not as good as Divergent. The relationship between Trice and Tobias doesn't feel real in this book. It seems like they hate each other and they have no reason to still be attracted to each other. ( )
  KamGeb | Feb 14, 2015 |
I don't know how to rate this book. The end was exciting (and finally explained how this society came about), but most of the book was a muddle. The characters are interchangeable names with no real personalities of their own. Christina, Marlene, Lynn, Shauna... all the same. I couldn't even really keep track of them all. If they died, it meant nothing, except that a name would be used less. This book had no emotional impact at all, and the plot is so complex I'm not really sure who is in the right or even what really instigated the war. Most of Tris's actions made zero sense - she accepts premises with no evidence, and isn't the same character she was in the last book (it's like she turned into Bella from Twilight). Even Tobias (AKA Four) acts like a different character in this book.

It really was a muddle of a book. 500 pages of nothing happening except for Tris being depressed and unable to really function, then 20 pages of action. The villain was killed too quickly without ever really being developed beyond the "cobra commander" level of evil. While the five faction conceit worked in the first novel (despite being ridiculous on the face of it), this book simply shows that there is no way this could work - and, seriously, this was just a badly written and badly plotted book wherein the main character cannot make a justifiable decision at any point. I had to force myself to finish the book - it was boring.

Also, why wouldn't Marcus tell Tris the big reveal? There was no real justification, except that the author wanted a big reveal at the end to shock all the characters. Writing tip: Characters shouldn't be aware of the author's agenda - they should have realistic motivations of their own to achieve the author's goals. Marcus did not have any reason to hold this information from Tris.

Also, Four (Tobias) was a moody jerk in this one... and he lacked realistic motivations for his choices. Basically no one in this novel made justifiable choices for their actions. ( )
  VincentDarlage | Jan 30, 2015 |
I can't really say if I like this one more than the first one or not. I probably feel about the same about both of them. They were entertaining to read at the time, but after some thought, don't hold up well. While this book works to explain the events that happened in the last book, I don't find it overly convincing or believable. Now before anybody gets on my case about complaining about the believability of a dystopian novel, let me explain my idea of what makes a good one.

The major thing, for me anyway, that makes dystopian novels great is the fact that some part of them is based on current issues. While crazy things happen that are destructive and horrifying, there is some inkling of the world that is imagined/how the world got to be that way that is similar to how our world works today. Like Orwell's Big Brother concept and how cameras and social media can track our every move as you read this. We can find a connection between our current events and the events of the dystopian world that makes the novel disturbing. To me, the dystopian novel should make us wonder to ourselves, "Is this where we are headed?". I didn't get that from this series.

There were also some glaring holes that would actually distract me from the story. Such as, why Tris and Four spend most of the book sneaking around and sometimes just walking straight into places that are supposedly on high alert for them. Did nobody send out a memo? Did nobody make a sketch of them and tell the guards that if they see someone that looks like that to arrest them? And this didn't just happen once or twice. This happened throughout the entire book! They never even disguised themselves! This was highly annoying and caused my eyes to roll.

Another thing that has been bothering me while reading this series is that I increasingly dislike Roth's writing. Her use of commas sometimes makes very little sense and often confuses the meaning to the sentence. (This can also be due to bad editing. Why did nobody catch these?) She also uses the word "breaths" instead of "breath" which often didn't flow well. While I don't believe it is technically wrong, it is jarring to read.

Overall, this was an okay book. It's a good fast read, but if you want something with more substance to it I would go with something else. There really isn't much to this one, and while there was some potential, I don't believe that this book is a good example of what dystopian novels can really achieve when done well. ( )
1 vote kell1732 | Jan 25, 2015 |
I wasn't crazy about this. It's holding on to its three stars by its toenails, because I did finish wanting to continue on to the last book--but, well, almost not. What first intrigued me about this series from the first book were the factions, which so reminded me of the Houses in Harry Potter and the implied critique of "sorting" people into groups with a few or one overriding value, and how those values can become corrupted. I also liked our action heroine/narrator Tris quite a bit, even if she at times didn't strike me as a very plausible teenager, nor is she as distinctive and appealing a character as say Rowling's Hermione or Collin's Katniss.

Overall, I wasn't thrilled with how Roth continued to develop the factions in this book, even if I did appreciate how she showed the dark side of most of them. But if I didn't particularly care for how Gryffindor-centric the Harry Potter books were--well, I'm out and out repelled by the Abnegation faction, Roth's answer to "What Would Jesus Do?" That may be the reason right there, since I'm no fan of Christianity even though I was raised in it--I'd never choose to live their way, and I'd resist being ruled under them. Although Roth does have some ambiguous and ruthless characters coming from Abnegation, I'm still left feeling we're supposed to embrace their ideals of selflessness. Moreover, about half-way through the book Tris acts in a way that embodies those ideals, in a way so stupid I almost slammed down the book and gave up. There was also another plot point in the book where supposedly brilliant people acted in a way stupid beyond belief. The series got a pass on that one only because a comment of one character implied not all was as it seemed, so I'm holding out hope it's explained in the last book.

Also, I have yet to fall in love with any of the characters, even though I'm sure Roth is only slightly less in love with her Tobias than Stephenie Meyer is with her Edward. At least neither Tobias nor his relationship with Tris is anywhere near as nauseating and dysfunctional as that central to the Twilight series and if Tris is no Hermione or Katniss, at least she's no Bella--for which, much thanks. (And Roth is a better writer than Meyer, even if not imo as striking and imaginative as Rowling or Collins.)

It is at least an easy fast read--and I was left just curious enough about the outside world about to be revealed to us I am now speeding through Allegiant. The friend who first brought this series to my attention says the series gets better, and Tris' arc is strong. We'll see if I find that true in the last book. ( )
  LisaMariaC | Jan 15, 2015 |
I have to admit that this one took me a little longer to get completely swept away. This does not mean that this book was in any way inferior to the first. Actually, I think the problem was that I had an idea of where I thought the characters were going and it didn't quite jibe with Veronica Roth. :-P That being said, by the midpoint in the book I was hooked again. This book was darker than the first (believe it or not) because the fight is not just about factions but about secrets. Those in the highest level of government know a secret and Abnegation was prepared to tell the entire population...until Erudite decided that it was too dangerous. That's what prompted the fighting (and Jeanine Matthews wanting to wield control over everyone). The Divergent, in particular, are impacted by this information but we won't know exactly to what extent until the next book in the series. Here we go again! ( )
  AliceaP | Jan 10, 2015 |
Why can't sequels be as good as the first book? Insurgent continues to have me on the edge of my seat. I love the characters and the twists/turns are very good. However, many parts of this sequel to Divergent, seem forced and I can't help but feel that Ms. Roth rushed things at the end. I'm still not sure how she got to the conclusion she did - I must have missed something. ( )
  sunnydrk | Jan 8, 2015 |
From deepening the plot line to developing the characters more...I must admit I am enjoying this series and very glad I did not stop reading after Divergent. Problems are constantly stirring up and getting to know more about the characters just drags one deeper into the world...cannot wait to see what the next book has in store.
  PhilipTroy | Jan 8, 2015 |
Incredible sequel to Divergent. Worth the read. Can't wait for the next one ( )
  dom76 | Jan 7, 2015 |
I started reading this book immediately after finishing Divergent and was eager to see where the story led. My eagerness did not last long and I had to force myself to finish this book. I fell asleep more times than I could count and ended up skimming pages as I neared the end. While the plot was initially intriguing, it just didn't go anywhere. Nothing happened, page after page after page, and the revelation at the end of the book was a complete letdown. The characters, particularly Tris and Tobias, were completely lacking. What the heck happened to them between the last page of Divergent and the first chapter of Insurgent? Heaven help us if our world needs to be saved by a group of whiny teenagers like this bunch. ( )
  Nancy_Archdekin | Jan 4, 2015 |
One choice can change everything. That's what happened to Tris Prior on her choosing day and every choice has consequences. As unrest surges around her, Tris must force herself to continue trying to save those she loves while grappling with grief and forgiveness, loyalty and betrayal, politics and family. With war looming among the factions, sides must be chosen and secrets revealed, making the consequences of choice even higher. To embrace what it means to be Divergent - what will that do to those around her?

Insurgent picks up right where Divergent leaves off. The balance of power in the city has shifted. The factions are shattering. Alliances have formed between unlikely partners. Action is packed into almost every chapter and the story moves right along.

Power and control seems to be a common theme throughout the book. Control over whole groups of people. Control over ones self. The power of information. The struggle to keep power once obtained.

The most annoying part of the book for me was the constant up and down in Tris and Tobias's relationship. The tension felt forced and unnecessary considering there was plenty of conflict in the story already.

The book ends on a bit of a bombshell. I admit I was hoping that we'd learn more along these lines while reading Divergent so I was not disappointed. It also means I must read book 3 immediately! ( )
  Narilka | Jan 3, 2015 |
The first book remains my favorite but I did enjoy this one -- intriguing to see more of the world, and I am very very curious to see how things will be resolved in the third book now...
  devafagan | Jan 2, 2015 |
This second book of the DIVERGENT trilogy is the best one so far. Where I wasn't quite sure I cared enough while nearing the end of book one, this book captured me from the start. The plot is faster. The action, far more thrilling. And the development of both main and supporting characters is much deeper. I came to love both Tris and Tobias, including their utterly realistic romance, while also finding empathy for so-called villains. INSURGENT is excellent, from start to finish, and made me want to immediately continue to the trilogy's conclusion. ( )
  phrenetic.mind | Dec 30, 2014 |
Tris (Beatrice Prior) and her group of Dauntless and Abnegation survivors leave run for cover from the Erudite. Through a series of twisted actions Tris battles between the guilt of losing friends and family to programmed simulation battles and her love for Four/Tobias Eaton. She follows her instincts at all times and battles against the Erudite leader, Jeanine Matthews, who is coming after her and all other Divergents. Luckily, the Factionless appear to seek refuge and build an army. Countless twists and turns ensue that end with Tobias's mother returning and the death of Jeanine. After Theresa, Tobias's mother, storms the Erudite, we finally get to know the information Abnegation and Tris were trying to recover...a video from the "outside" world explaining their experiment inside the Amity's walls, seeking to build the world of the Divergent to help rescue the outsiders from all the horrible violence and corruption that has ensued.

I like the trilogy as I like the main characters. The action in this book isn't quite as good as the first since it has some sparks of action then back to Tris' inner battle. The love story is a bit lacking in this one but overall, I liked the movie and it makes me like the characters even more when I picture them in my head while reading. I look forward to reading Allegiant next as they are fairly quick and interesting reads. ( )
  missbrandysue | Dec 21, 2014 |
If you haven't read Divergent, definitely check it out & read it before reading Insurgent, otherwise you will be completely confused. That said, the action in Insurgent picks up right where Divergent left off. I enjoyed this installment in the trilogy as much as the first. It's difficult to say much without spoiling something. Suffice it to say Insurgent is action packed with deeper character development. Veronica Roth's writing style is a pleasure to read, and I can't wait for the final installment! ( )
1 vote Kelly_Mills | Dec 12, 2014 |
Do yourself a favor: stop after after the first book. The second and third offer nothing interesting. Any questions you might have that get answered in the second and third books have FAR less interesting resolutions than anything you might imagine on your own. ( )
  benuathanasia | Dec 11, 2014 |
INSURGENT – I decided to read on through to the next book Insurgent, by the mid to end I was no longer enthused. I found the ups and downs of Tris became monotonous and hard to follow as did her on off love relationship with Tobias. The faction of Erudite overcomes the Dauntless (through simulation) and they go on to annihilate Abnegation the survivors head towards Amity for refuge. The Factionless rise up and in all of this turmoil Tris is apparently searching for the truth (whatever that is and we still don’t find out the end apart from someone named Edith Prior who reappears via a video) is she Tris’ grandparent????? As they share the same surname. Unfortunately it was too science fiction for me to get my head around and I became bored with it. Also Tris’ appears to nearly die over and over and over again, she can barely lift her arm and yet she can overcome any obstacle in her way?????
Will I read the last book of the series Allegiant?? Most probably I will however I will skim it as I know what expect –
A dark dystopian world with ongoing fighting, between factions, for survival!
Tris will continue to fight (although half dead) against all odds to discover the truth, whatever that may be. ( )
  rata | Dec 8, 2014 |
I thought the first one was better. Just not as interesting. ( )
  Kathryn_Brown | Dec 1, 2014 |
Wasn't as thrilled with this one as I was the first. I began to predict some of the characters' decisions and the big twist was obvious...but somewhat well executed. I want to see how the author fixes this. ( )
  LadyLiz | Nov 25, 2014 |
Could have been three stars but the first half of the book is so terribly slow.

This is clearly a "second book," and not a stand-alone in any way. It does little except move the plot forward a bit for what could be a very interesting conclusion to Roth's trilogy.

ALSO: If you haven't read Divergent in a year, I highly recommend you read a quick synopsis of what happened. Insurgent expects to you remember all of the plot points, minor characters, political back story, relationship dynamics, etc, and does a horrible job of reminding you what happened. You can piece it together but it's highly distracting. ( )
  redrabbit | Nov 25, 2014 |
I read Divergent a million years ago it seems (just after it's release) and adored it. I forgot about it until Allegient came out and then the movie so I watched the movie and remembered why I loved Divergent so I had to go read Insurgent right away. It wasn't perfect but it was still pretty good. There were some massive plot holes here and there but the book was okay and did pretty well for a trilogy middle novel. I enjoyed it.

After reading reviews for Allegient I won't be reading it as I did enjoy these first two novels and I don't want to ruin them. I hope the movie franchise can save the series and turn the ending into what it should be. Never thought I would say that. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
I'm so pleased, this book was just as well-written as the first one--great flow, great continuity. I'm really happy with how this one ended, and am anxious to start the last one in the series! ( )
  trayceetee | Nov 15, 2014 |
I enjoyed Book II more than Book I. I felt the author had a better grasp on the world and the characters in Insurgent. Quite a few people have criticized the series because they feel a lack of realism.

The argument being that no parents would allow their children to do half the things the kid characters do in these books—but if you think about it, that’s part of the world itself. It’s part of the world-building that the author sets up. This is a dystopia where teenagers can be considered adults and can act any way they wish (if they are Dauntless).

Some reviewers felt that the series has been unrealistic because of the cruelty dished out by teenagers against others, but teenagers can be just as ruthless and relentless in their bullying, sexual assaults, and violence in general as adults can. If anything, I think that makes this series more realistic.

Read the full review here: www.ravenoak.net ( )
  kaonevar | Nov 12, 2014 |
While I enjoyed the first book in this trilogy more, I must say I loved the ending. The final book should be an exciting read. Veronica Roth is a reader I hope to read more of in the future. ( )
  chellebuck79 | Nov 6, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 400 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
1268 wanted
10 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.89)
0.5 2
1 32
1.5 2
2 103
2.5 35
3 361
3.5 122
4 660
4.5 86
5 540

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 95,655,846 books! | Top bar: Always visible