HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

End Back & Neck Pain by Vincent Fortanasce
Loading...

End Back & Neck Pain (original 2011; edition 2011)

by Vincent Fortanasce, David Gutkind, Robert Watkins

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2311459,532 (4.27)2
Katya0133's review
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
When I requested this book, I thought it would be along the lines of the McKenzie back and neck exercise books. To my surprise, it is far more thorough, also covering such issues as workplace ergonomics and surgical options. Strongly recommended ( )
  Katya0133 | Mar 12, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 11 of 11
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
When I requested this book, I thought it would be along the lines of the McKenzie back and neck exercise books. To my surprise, it is far more thorough, also covering such issues as workplace ergonomics and surgical options. Strongly recommended ( )
  Katya0133 | Mar 12, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Very useful and informative. Background, instructions and illustrations were well done and appropriate for the intended reader. Information was inline with what I have received from other medical professionals. Higly recommended! ( )
  jrblaylock | Mar 9, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
End Back and Neck Pain is a comprehensive guide which addresses common causes of back and neck pain, a guide to self diagnosis, self treatment, working with medical professionals, and when to consider invasive treatment. It is not an "alternative" cure-all system, but presents traditional therapies including stretches and lifestyle adjustments. I recognized a number of stretches which I have used successfully with my physical therapist to treat neck pain. They were clearly photographed and would be easy to replicate based on the instructions given in this book. There is a lot of useful information here, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone suffering from back or neck pain. While I wouldn't use it as a substitute for seeing a medical professional, End Back and Neck Pain is an information rich starting point, and will give you a lot of practical knowledge to help you make informed decisions about how to deal with your pain. ( )
  aviddiva | Jan 1, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
The statistics are astounding, with an estimated sixty million people in the U.S. having spinal pain at any one time and forty million with chronic pain. End Back & Neck Pain, written in layman’s terms and with excellent explanations of medical terminology, may help many people with those ailments. There are many self-help techniques discussed and illustrated in the book, including; office ergonomics (a significant cause of pain if done improperly), bending and lifting, stretching and exercising, self-evaluation of the issue(s) and correct body mechanics. Learn how-to select a doctor, make sure you receive a correct diagnosis, questions to ask before undergoing surgery and first aid for your back and neck. The book has many photographs, illustrations and tables that offer additional information and make it easier to read and comprehend. End Back & Neck Pain will find an audience with general readers, physical therapists, exercise physiologists, trainers and athletes. It would be an appropriate purchase for public and academic libraries. ( )
1 vote Mmccullough | Dec 14, 2011 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I requested this book through library thing specifically because I was in a car accident about three years ago that really messed up my back. For almost a year I was unable to even do the simplest of house chores without extreme pain. I am not a medication person. Only taking it for extreme situations and would rather 'deal' with pain than take something for long periods of time. Even so I did try to use some pain relief at the beginning of this journey to no avail. Nothing I was offered touched the pain enough to make it worth taking thus I ended up 'suffering through it'.

After about a year of of chiropractic, ultrasonic, tens therapy and finally water physical therapy (which helped the most) I was able to get to a point that I could 'function' on a daily basis. There is always a constant 'ache' and often sharp stabs of pain but I am no longer 'couch' ridden and preform daily chores without too much additional discomfort.

With that being said I was excited to get this book, & began reading it right away. First & foremost it provides a lot of 'extra' information relating to the hows & whys of it all. Along with information to help identify your personal situation so you can get the most use out of the book based on your situation.

Because there is a bit of 'sift' to this book I have found that I haven't had a chance to get to the practice of it just yet. However, because the book does provide so much information I do see that it will not only be a tool for myself but also for others I know who have chronic back pain.

The writing is easy to understand & well written. Each chapter lays out different areas of focus making it easy to find what you are looking for.

I haven't had time to put the practical information to use as of yet but will update this review when I do and share what my personal experience is with it. ( )
1 vote IndigoWings | Dec 6, 2011 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Highly recommend this book. Exceptionally user friendly. End Back & Neck Pain explains the sections of the spine, how each section works and how to strengthen each section in a manner which non-medical readers can easily understand. It explains the information a patient needs to keep track of to provide a doctor with sufficient records to make a correct diagnosis and recommendations. Book very useful. ( )
  twylyghtbay | Nov 20, 2011 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
End Back & Neck Pain is an excellent guide to those better seeking to understand and treat their spine ailments. As one who has suffered from cervical disc issues, this book is great reference, expanding on the information shared by my doctors. Additionally, the treatment exercises illustrated for my condition are the same as some of those taught to me by my physical therapist. This book is definitely recommended for back and neck pain suffers who want to put in some effort and heal! ( )
  FranklyMyDarling | Nov 20, 2011 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
If you or someone you love experiences acute or chronic neck or back pain, you need to buy End Back & Neck Pain by Fortanasce, Gutkind and Watkins. It not only helps you understand your symptoms, distinguishing between those which can be improved with self-care and which need the expertise of a specialist, it also helps you determine the best doctor for your needs and how to interface with him or her. You will also learn what to expect if you need to have tests run or surgical procedures.

I wish this book had been available a few years ago when both my husband and I had to undergo months of suffering culminating in nerve block injections and painful therapies. The knowledge in this book would have relieved our anxiety and helped us avoid some unnecessary costs. The authors explain diagnosis and surgical procedures with both text and photos, and charts of what to expect after each phase of the process. They will give you the knowledge you need to be an informed patient, more fully involved in your care. The more you know, the less fear you have and the more able you are to cope with what is happening within your body and to you through treatment.

The book is divided into four parts: understanding your pain, minimizing or avoiding pain through self-care, choosing the best doctor and treatment when self-care is not enough, and understanding why advanced treatment such as spinal injections or surgery may be necessary. Throughout the book, the emphasis is upon helping you understand what pain is, how to avoid it, how to cope with it when it cannot be avoided and, when coping techniques are not enough, how to select and work with a surgeon.

What I was most impressed with is the amount of information in this book that empowers you to understand neck and back pain and how to understand the process that medical professionals use to help us cope with or heal the problems causing the pain. You learn about physical therapy, the usefulness of medications, adapting your environment to make movement easier, and surgical options that might be necessary when all else fails. Most importantly, you learn how diagnoses are made, how to describe your pain effectively and how to communicate with your physical therapist, primary care physician or specialist so they will more clearly understand your pain and be able to assist you in coping with or overcoming it.

The more you know, the better your chances are of achieving a pain-free life. The better you communicate based on that knowledge, the faster and more effectively your medical team can help you. This book is the key to achieving those goals. It is packed with clear explanations, charts, photos and checklists. If only I had had this book years ago, I could have saved myself and my husband from needless fear, pain and ineffective treatments. I would have known enough to understand what we needed, how to select the best doctor and physical therapy team and how to avoid re-injuring ourselves. At least now, thanks to Library Thing's Early Review program, I was lucky enough to read this book and am now armed with the knowledge to help myself and my husband in the future. ( )
2 vote kssunflower | Nov 19, 2011 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
(disclaimer: I won a copy of this book from library thing's early reviewer program. That copy was stolen from my apartment building foyer, so I borrowed a copy from the library.)

An overview of back and neck pain, but mostly back pain. I like that this book is extremely comprehensive, and it tells you when to see a doctor, when to try to fix things yourself, and when to rush to the hospital. Back pain is extremely varied in its symptoms and causes and this book explains many of them.

As a frequent sufferer of lower back pain, I can relate to a lot of this book. I have had horrible doctors who have misdiagnosed me, and awesome doctors who got me to awesome physical therapists, and in between doctors who wrote a prescription and a referral. This book won't help solve the problem of bad doctors, but helps improve your ability to advocate for yourself as a patient, know what kind of treatment to expect, and have an idea of what to do on your own to try to help.

Very useful are the body mechanics suggestions, all of which have been recommended to me by my physical therapists. Also useful are the ergonomic workplace suggestions, and stretches. I will definitely be implementing some of the things I learned in this book into my office setup.

Well worth a read if you have or had suffered from back pain. ( )
  lemontwist | Nov 13, 2011 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I received a copy of this book via the LibraryThing Early Reviewer program.

As soon as I received it I flipped through it, and found an insert giving an erratum for page 13. The insert was at the relevant spot - next to page 13 - which I thought was commendable.

The book is very well organized and largely written in appropriate language for a lay audience. There is plenty of medical terminology as is to be expected, educating the interested reader. The illustrations are appropriate as well, though they could be improved by adding indication of direction (e.g., in which direction are the front or back).

Overall, I'm very pleased with this guide. It demystifies and gives excellent pointers for learning more, exercising for prevention and amelioration, and seeking more advanced recourse if needed. ( )
1 vote GustavoG | Nov 8, 2011 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
This is a useful and informative in dealing with a common malady in this society: back and neck pain. The book itself consists of four major sections: Why Does It Hurt, Helping Yourself, Working With Your Doctor and Exploring Surgical Options.
Professional protectionism is evident here, as Chiropractic, which has helped me greatly is not even mentioned. Yoga, of the Hatha variety, which is a continuing help, is only mentioned twice and then as an introduction to a stretching program.
More serious problems such as herniated and slipped disks, the areas where the type of drugs and surgery approved by the American Medical Association and practiced by specialist M.D.'s are the type of problems that would involve the latter two sections of this book. Outside of this a Chiropractic Association certified D.C. (Doctor of Chiropractic) and/or yoga therapy is more than sufficient.
An author friend of mine once wrote: "The whole point of healing is to get healthy, not to prove a method. Use what works." ( )
  chg1 | Oct 30, 2011 |
Showing 11 of 11

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.27)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 4
4.5
5 6

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

End Back & Neck Pain by Vincent Fortanasce was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,474,683 books! | Top bar: Always visible