HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Islanders by Christopher Priest
Loading...

The Islanders (edition 2012)

by Christopher Priest, Grady McFerrin (Designer)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
167971,264 (3.91)23
Member:Vikz.Richards
Title:The Islanders
Authors:Christopher Priest
Other authors:Grady McFerrin (Designer)
Info:Gollancz (2012), Edition: Reprint, Paperback, 352 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:*****
Tags:None

Work details

The Islanders by Christopher Priest

  1. 20
    City of Saints and Madmen by Jeff VanderMeer (anglemark)
    anglemark: There are similarities in style and theme.
  2. 00
    Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell (tetrachromat)
    tetrachromat: Similar in structure and in themes.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 23 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
It’s hard to write a synopsis of this novel. The book is structured as a travel log of the Dream Archipelago, a series of islands in a world other than ours. To understand the plot you need to read everything including the introductory and dedication. Each chapter is about a different island. I was afraid it would be a dry read because the first chapter is the most like a travel log explaining the geology of the island and the climate, but by the end of the chapter I realized it was a love story. All of the chapters are individual stories that have some link to the island the writer is describing. Within every chapter a character or story from a previous chapter appears. Eventually a narrative is formed.

An artist travels through the islands leaving love and loss in his wake. A mime is killed while performing in a theater. The author of the introductory appears over and over again in the novel even though he claims he has never left his home island. There is a tragic love affair.

The reader should read this novel in one or two sittings unless they have a really good memory. At one point I went back and reread the introductory and then I noticed the dedication page and thought “oh yeah, I get it.”

I am a fan of Christopher Priest and familiar with his reality questioning works. I recommend this book to those who enjoy reading novels with unusual narrative structure including unreliable narrators. ( )
  craso | May 24, 2014 |
I would recommend reading the short stories in The Dream Archipelago before attempting this book. They introduce the setting for the Dream Archipelago, a constellation of islands which stand off the coast of two warring blocs and which seem to have almost personalities of their own.

The Islanders initially appears as a travel guide, with entries on the various islands in the Dream Archipelago. Yet these entries tell us little that is not either confusing or contradictory. The names of the islands are particularly useless as they all seem to blend together, rather than stand out. The Guide as well soon becomes untrustworthy as its purported author appears as a character in some of its entries for islands. And there are a small cast of characters that re-appear in different entries, some more or less consistent than others in their motivations and actions. The strangest tale, which re-appears the most, is that of the apparent murder of a mime artist, done using a plate of glass in a theatre. Would something as unlikely as this actually occur?

Add some brilliant stories that plough very different furrows: a romance in a secret base of one of the Powers trying to use technology to map the islands (unsuccessfully), the awful wildlife on another island and the true nature of the old, empty towers on some islands, and you have a classic, about our world but not of it. Even the winds are different enough to have names in the local patois and a person (both revered and reviled) who builds 'sculptures' to channel them for artistic effects.

Every thing is named, but the names mean nothing. ( )
1 vote AlanPoulter | Jan 31, 2014 |
This one reminded me a bit of some of Jeff VanderMeer's works, in a good way. While the constantly-shifting perspectives and narrations were a little jarring at first, it ended up being a great pleasure to try and puzzle out what was happening. Highly enjoyable, and Priest's created a fantastic and very strange world. ( )
  JBD1 | Nov 20, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 9 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Christopher Priestprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Yoshimi-dori, FurusawaTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0575070048, Hardcover)

Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary SF novel from the multiple award-winning author of The Prestige—for fans of Haruki Murakami and David Mitchell
 
A tale of murder, artistic rivalry, and literary trickery; a Chinese puzzle of a novel where nothing is quite what it seems; a narrator whose agenda is artful and subtle; a narrative that pulls you in and plays an elegant game with you. The Dream Archipelago is a vast network of islands. The names of the islands are different depending on who you talk to, their very locations seem to twist and shift. Some islands have been sculpted into vast musical instruments, others are home to lethal creatures, others the playground for high society. Hot winds blow across the archipelago and a war fought between two distant continents is played out across its waters. The Islanders serves both as an untrustworthy but enticing guide to the islands; an intriguing, multi-layered tale of a murder; and the suspect legacy of its appealing but definitely untrustworthy narrator. It shows Christopher Priest at the height of his powers and illustrates his undiminished power to dazzle.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:47:56 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

This book pieces together the rather unpleasant lives of the main characters is entertaining; and there are episodes complete in themselves, short stories really, which are satisfying. The ghosts are excellent. And I consider the thryme an absolutely first-class invention.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
33 wanted3 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.91)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 3
2.5 1
3 2
3.5 3
4 11
4.5 6
5 8

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,691,125 books! | Top bar: Always visible