HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Plan D by Simon Urban
Loading...

Plan D

by Simon Urban

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
563210,933 (3.67)2

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 2 mentions

English (2)  French (1)  All (3)
Showing 2 of 2
This is a political murder mystery set in East Berlin in an alternate world where the Berlin Wall has not fallen and German reunification never happened. The murder occurs at a sensitive time of negotiations between East and West Germany and joint force is put in place to solve the murder as quickly as possible. There are plenty of twists in the plot and Martin Wegener, the central character and East Berlin police detective trying to solve the crime, is a complex man with both good and bad in his motives, background, decisions and relationships.

The alternate world of a continuing GDR and Wall is particularly well drawn. There are several seemingly off-hand references to past events inserted in the narrative that make them entirely believable.

This is a fairly run-of-the-mill political thriller elevated to something more by the completeness of the world view and environment in which it is set. ( )
  pierthinker | Aug 21, 2017 |
It got better, although it never quite got out of the crime thriller mould. I would've liked a bit more exploration of the alternate timeline, although I enjoyed the descriptions of the 2011 DDR very much. Now I'm hungry for a Wart-burger. ( )
  pan0ramix | May 26, 2017 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (4 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Simon Urbanprimary authorall editionscalculated
Derbyshire, KatyTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Information from the Russian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

October 2011. While West Berlin enjoys all the trappings of capitalism, on the crowded, polluted, Eastern side of the Wall, the GDR is facing bankruptcy. The ailing government's only hope lies in economic talks with the West, but then an ally of the GDR's chairman is found murdered - and all the clues suggest that his killer came from within the Stasi. Detective Martin Wegener is assigned to the case, but, with the future of East Germany hanging over him, Wegener must work with the West German police if he is to find the killer, even if it means investigating the Stasi themselves. It is a journey that will take him from Stasi meeting rooms to secret prisons as he begins to unravel the identity of both victim and killer, and the meaning of the mysterious Plan D. "Plan D" is a gripping thriller and a thought-provoking alternative history in the vein of Robert Harris's "Fatherland" and John le Carre's "The Spy Who Came in from the Cold".… (more)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.67)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5 1
3 2
3.5 4
4 4
4.5 1
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,368,530 books! | Top bar: Always visible