HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Selection (Selection - Trilogy) by Kiera…
Loading...

The Selection (Selection - Trilogy) (edition 2012)

by Kiera Cass

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,6542084,356 (3.8)57
Review by Sliced Open Reviews

Note: adding book to my fav reads of 2012!

While I could use so many words to describe this book, but I won’t flood you with one word descriptions...so here we go.

The Selection gripped me from the opening chapter, I *accidentally* started reading this at work while getting my Nook library organized and it was the biggest *accident* I could ever make. I read chapter 1 one while sitting at my desk on lunch, and then, almost went into hysterics while waiting for 5 o’clock to come so I could go home and get my Nook and curl up on my bed and read. I did just that and was so angry when it ended. I don’t just want book two I NEED it, with a need so bad that I’m not sure how I will make it to next year, but I will try.

Kiera Cass floored me, her writing and relationship building was by far some of the best I have seen in some time, and with this book she is defiantly making my top loved authors list. When I read the blurb a couple months back I vaguely remembered it until it popped up as downloading on my Nook (I know Kiera you can kick me for that later).

I usually HATE love triangles in a book, but I almost think Kiera Cass took everyone’s feelings into consideration while writing this, she didn’t make your typical, girl likes boy, boy likes girl, girl finds other boy she likes, other boy likes girl, and OH NO boy hates other boy. While she does follow some of that, the book wasn’t centered on it, it was the building of Relationship between America and Aspen and America and Maxon, which is how it should be. Dare I say, Cass did the love triangle right, YAY!

This was not your typical Dystopian novel, while we are used to being tossed into the horrible society in a dystopian and the carried away through the characters life and learning and growth in their said society, this novel shows you how the society works but then you follow America through her journey in the “Selection” so little to no grueling battles or fiery towns or running from the law, which is not a bad thing, it was actually quite refreshing if you ask me!

So now I am going to go scream from the roof tops that everyone should go out a buy this book and read it, then, they too can go scream from the roof tops, this may hold us all over until the next book...Well Done Kiera, well done! ( )
  KimberlySlicedOpen | May 20, 2012 |
English (207)  German (1)  All languages (208)
Showing 1-25 of 207 (next | show all)
I can understand why so many people didn't "get" this book. It is a fairy tale in the most sincerest form with just a bit of modern craziness thrown in.
The caste system wouldn't be understood by people who have grown up with big screen televisions, opulent parties, new clothes whenever they feel like it and positively tons of wasted food.
The caste system exists now. It's just not a big part of the rules.
I applaud Kiera Cass! This is a tremendous story! It flows beautifully and the characters are incredibly real.
Can't wait to get into The Elite! ( )
  JCMorrows | Aug 25, 2015 |
TV''s The Bachelor fuses with Fox's I want to marry (Prince) Harry fuses with Princess for a Day in this highly-romantic novel. America, a spunky redhead is the lowest caste member (#5) "chosen" to participate in the The Selection, that is the contest , to become the new Princess and Future Queen of Illea. America's not interested in the prince as her heart has already been captured by the darkly handsome Asper (shades of Heathcliff!) who is in an even lower caste (#6) and even though they're crazy about each other (the lovemaking is strictly PG) he will sacrifice their future together so she can have a better life (huh?) A nice read for future Harlequin Romance addicts. ( )
  mjspear | Aug 10, 2015 |
3.5/5 stars
I post all my reviews to athroneofbooks.booklikes.com

“One can never help being born into perfection.”

World’s worst character name goes to...*Drumroll*…America Singer! Congratulations Mer, you earned it. It took me pretty much the whole book to adjust to her name. And FINALLY around 60% they give a reason for why she was named America. Makes it much easier for me to deal with, even though it didn’t make me hate her name any less. Of course there’s much more to a book than character names.

The banter and conversations between America and Maxon felt fun to me. They sound like countless conversations I’ve had in my life. I read a few reviews that called the dialogue unrealistic and I just laughed. Maybe to you, but not to me.

My guilty pleasure has always been reality tv. I have a habit of saying oh goodness that show looks stupid, then proceeding to put it on and bingewatch the whole season. When I heard what this was about I was so excited, reality tv in a book? Count me in! I can see why people may have found the book unlikable or annoying but it was fun for me. It was my guilty pleasure in a whole new form. The contestants you root for and the ones you want to stab are in the book. And with the setting being a competition you always wonder if you can really trust the others.

My only big complaint about the book was how long it took to get a real description of how the world came into being. I believe it was at 63% before they explained everything that had happened to create the new world Illea. Up until that point I was like I love this, but how the hell did it come to this caste system and monarchy in what used to be the USA?

Even if I hated every other aspect of the book, which I didn’t, I would have still loved Maxon. He’s sweet, clueless, funny, and next in line to rule the country. I felt like another contestant who was unnoticed by the prince and was jealous of all the attention he gave to America. NOTICE ME MAXON, PLEASE!

Yes a lot of people stated that this is a book that’s all fluff, no substance. Sometimes that’s what I want. I had a shitty week and wanted to enjoy a book, get lost in a world where I’m not cleaning floors and having back pain. And this book did that. I don’t generally pick up a YA reality tv-esque book when I want substance. Though I wouldn’t be upset if it offered that as well. So to sum up, this book brought me the relaxing evening away from my worries that I was hoping for when I opened it up. ( )
  MarandaNicole | Jul 15, 2015 |
Interesting concept, the prince having to choose his wife from a selection of 35 girls. There were some problems with the writing; very simple, short cuts, lack of development in characters, very predictable and sometimes just all over the place yet I found myself entertained and intrigued and enjoyed it in spite of all that. ( )
  maggie1961 | Jul 10, 2015 |
(This review is a synopsis of the 3 book series, but doesn't contain major spoilers.)

First of all — how beautiful are these covers? Honestly, they are breathtaking.

In Illéa’s caste system, America Singer is a 5. That means that she, and her family, must find a career in the arts (regardless of the demand for their craft). America is lucky enough to have a beautiful singing voice and she loves to play instruments, so she doesn’t seem to mind too much. Illéa is a newly formed country set in the future consisting of North America and Latin America. The country is ruled by King Clarkson and Queen Amberly. They have a single heir, Maxon, and he has finally come of age. Unlike princesses, who are married off into other royal families, princes get to participate in the “Selection.” (Think The Bachelor, but with citizens of Illéa.)

America doesn’t want to sign up because she has a secret love — Aspen. But the Selection will pay her poor family for participating, and Aspen insists that she try to have a chance at a better life. Marrying Aspen would downgrade her to a 6, only two steps away from homelessness and poverty. On the other hand, marrying Prince Maxon would make her a One, the highest caste in Illéa. When America is chosen to participate out of thousands of eligible young women, her family is ecstatic — the complete opposite of her feelings.

America enters the glamorous, regal life of the royal family, and must compete with 34 other daughters of Illéa for the heart of Prince Maxon. At first, she isn’t interested. Why would she want some stuck-up prince when she has someone waiting for her at home? But Maxon isn’t what he seems, and it changes America’s plans…

The first three books, The Selection, The Elite, and The One, embody the entirety of Prince Maxon’s Selection (the Elite are the top six, the One is the one he chooses). The books are filled with butterfly-in-stomach romance, catty girlfights, love triangles, and surprisingly some political strife. America grows with each book, becoming more and more of what Illéa needs in a Princess — but will she be the One Prince Maxon chooses?

I purchased this in a beautiful 3-book box set that included a bonus from the novellas that Kiera Cass wrote from different characters’ points of view. I read these three books in record time — they were day-dreamy guilty pleasure reads, and I found myself continuously lost in world of Illéa. ( )
  Ellie.Pelto | Jul 7, 2015 |
The Selection is one of my favorite books. There are many, many reasons for this. I love the plot, the characters, the writing style, and the world Kiera Cass has created. What I would give to live in America's shoes!

Although I wasn't thrilled in the very beginning because quickly a love triangle was formed, it was soon revealed that the love triangle could easily be overlooked. They don't bring it up very often and one of the boys isn't even really mentioned until the end.

Kiera created characters like America Singer, a stubborn red head who is in caste 5 and because of this works as a singer and a dancer, the alternative being an artist. Then there is her secret boyfriend Aspen Leger, a caste 6 who wants nothing but the best for the girls in his life, him being raised one of the poorest castes. Lastly, (that I'm going to talk about, there are many, many other characters you can come to love and adore but I decided to only speak of the main three) there is Prince Maxon Schreave, the boy America will have to fall in love with to become Princess. He is holding the Selection in these books and is looking for a wife. He is sweet and poetic and good humored. He's like any other boy, just more oblivious and open to more resources.

Don't even get me started on Kiera's writing! It was understandable, which is good. Not like classics where there is a whole page dedicated to how metaphoric and descriptive the texture of a blade of grass can be with all those old, fancy words, this book uses common yet descriptive words most people understand and makes sure nothing is running on. Also, she only adds relevant parts. I don't recall thinking, "Ugh, this scene is so irrelevant, why do I care?" Not to mention, it was a fairly simple read. If you had the time, you could read it in a single sitting.

So basically, a book about a relatable poor girl who gets chosen to live in a castle and learn to live like a princess while being stuck in a love triangle sounds pretty fantastic. I don't think I ever will not give this five stars. ( )
  BooksWithABrunette | Jun 27, 2015 |
When America Singer is chosen, along with thirty four other girls, to compete for the hand of the prince, she finds herself torn between a hometown sweetheart and the intoxicating palace life. A la bachelor style, Prince Maxon wines and dines the girls, occasionally eliminating one or two from the competition. America, despite her lack of interest, finds herself drawn to the Prince.

I had a blast reading this book. Yes, it was simplistic, yes it wasn't very in-depth, but it was appealing, interesting and fast-paced. Overall, a great beach book, weekend book, or just something to sit back and relax with. ( )
  JanaRose1 | Jun 25, 2015 |
The beggining of everything. Kiera Cass is a genius. I love this series. Its honestly one of my favorites. I cannot wait for the next installation to come out. ( )
  valesbookshelf | Jun 23, 2015 |
I very much enjoyed this book. it was a fun wholesome read that I was excited to see unfold through more books. I loved the name america and aspen and maxon and thought it was fresh and original. I don't know what kind of books the reviewers who gave it one sees like to read maybe they prefer smut or something other than sweet romance but I loved it and I'm in my late thirties. ( )
  Alwaysmidnight | Jun 16, 2015 |
The slection is a historipan society. China invades America. America and Canda come together and made a empire called Allie. Instead of choosing royals Iallies chooses girls. Allie chooses 35 girls. From eight different tasks. Each task fouces on a different job oppertunity. Also, a level of society. From 0-8.
Eight to four is te poor. three to zero is the rich, or royal family. The slection fouces on a girl from 5. American SInger, firey red head. American Singer must deal with the probloms of her boyfriend cheating. American strats to fall for Max, but know that life is not a fairy tale.There is a totoal of four books in the Slection.
  Emmac.B1 | Jun 4, 2015 |
The selection series takes place in the future, where America is kind of in ruins and not as well run as today. They've decided to bring back kingdoms with kings and queens and princes and princesses. They have also developed castes. The castes go from one to eight, one being royalty and eight being the worst way to live, no education, little housing, and little money. The main character is a 17 year old girl named America Singer, and she is a 5 (in castes). The entire series resolves around this thing called the selection. It's happens every time the newest prince comes of age to search for a queen, and the way they do it is by having all the girls willing or wanting to marry the prince write their names and give it to the prince, and he randomly chooses 35 girls out of thousands, maybe tens of thousands. America is one of those lucky 35 girls to get chosen, even though she was forced by her family to sign up, so she didn't even want to go. She was already in love with some one named Aspen, so the idea of going off the palace and possibly (if she got chosen) marrying the prince! At first she dislikes the prince but as the series goes on America and the prince (Maxon start to like eachother, until at the very end she decides she wants to try to win his heart and the crown.

I personally loved this book and couldn't wait to read the second book of the series. I loved imagining living in a palace and having a huge beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the palace garden. I also loved imagining the dresses, makeup, and jewelry the 35 girls got to wear! I think she wrote the story in a way that kept it interesting almost all the way through, with action, excitement, humor and romance all mixed together. I loved how there were lots of parties, and dances. And I also liked how in the end the focus wasn't entirely on winning the princes heart but also about making new friends. I didn't see one fault in the story! ( )
  aliya.b1 | Jun 1, 2015 |
America lives in a society that is divided by how much money you make. America is in love with somebody that is lower than her and if she marries him she will make less money. When she gets an invitation to be apart of The SElection where the prince has many women come live in the castle while he gets to know them and tries to find out who he loves. As more and more people leave the castle America starts to realize how much she loves Prince Maxon but it all goes downhill when her first love Aspen becomes a guard at the palace.
I recommend this book to anyone who loves romance novels and dystopian novels. I didn't personally enjoy it because i found it very cheesy. I also recommend this to people who enjoy reading books like The Hunger Games and Matched. ( )
  GabiJ.G1 | May 31, 2015 |
For thirty five girls, the selection is a big deal, but not all girls are the same. It wasn't supposed to happen to her. She didn't wanna be here in the Palace. She didn't want to be apart of the selection. But, here she is at the Palace finding out day after day if she has what it takes to be, the princess of Illea. America Singer lives in a time of caste systems and kings, queens, prince, and princesses. Maxon Schreave, prince of Illea, Maxon held his own selection in hopes to find love. Instead he found America Singer. America was different from the others. She didn't want to be there, but she stayed anyway. As the book goes on and the war continues Maxon's love for America grows. America's love for Maxon grows, but can 34 other girls get in the way, or will she make it to the elite.

The selection is one of my favorite books ever. I love how America goes in not wanting to do the selection but instead she might have found love? This book is full of drama and always keeps you wanting to know more. I rated this book a 5 out of 5 because it is very well written and there is always a suprise, whenever you think something good is gonna happen something (or someone) always ruins it but that's not always the case. There are alot of cliffhangers that only leave you wanting more. I guess well just have to wait to see what happens in the next book, A.K.A The Elite. ( )
  JadeR.G1 | May 22, 2015 |
This version of USA is astonishing and very original.
America is the typical adolescent girl, or maybe just my kind of adolescent girl, she's red-haired, super beautiful and super smart and doesn't care with her appearance more than she should.
She and Aspen are two people in love that are departed from each other by distance and fear and I feel that it also happens with a lot of young couples.
When she participates in the Selection and meets Maxom, while she's trying to get over Aspen, America realizes that she might fall in love again.
I loved this book and it's one of my all time favorites. This series is so involving and original I want to read these books over and over again. ( )
  anaesteves | May 21, 2015 |
This version of USA is astonishing and very original.
America is the typical adolescent girl, or maybe just my kind of adolescent girl, she's red-haired, super beautiful and super smart and doesn't care with her appearance more than she should.
She and Aspen are two people in love that are departed from each other by distance and fear and I feel that it also happens with a lot of young couples.
When she participates in the Selection and meets Maxom, while she's trying to get over Aspen, America realizes that she might fall in love again.
I loved this book and it's one of my all time favorites. This series is so involving and original I want to read these books over and over again. ( )
  anaesteves | May 21, 2015 |
This version of USA is astonishing and very original.
America is the typical adolescent girl, or maybe just my kind of adolescent girl, she's red-haired, super beautiful and super smart and doesn't care with her appearance more than she should.
She and Aspen are two people in love that are departed from each other by distance and fear and I feel that it also happens with a lot of young couples.
When she participates in the Selection and meets Maxom, while she's trying to get over Aspen, America realizes that she might fall in love again.
I loved this book and it's one of my all time favorites. This series is so involving and original I want to read these books over and over again. ( )
  anaesteves | May 21, 2015 |
**Fair warning right now, this is a review(ish) or a review-lite because I'm not sure I'm able to get things together enough on this book for what I'd call a review with nothing stuck on the end of the word ;-) **

The Selection is probably the most talked about YA novel (aside from maybe Cassandra Clare's novels) outside of book sites, lately. In both positive and negative ways. Some of the talk has undoubtedly been started by things other than the content of the novel (some drama by the editor and/or author and the possible TV pilot) . . . but a lot has also been about the book.

I'll admit that seeing a lot of really positive early reviews got me really excited for this one . . . that and the super gorgeous cover (what can I say, I'm a sucker for a pretty cover).

. . . Then some of the 'I-hate-this-book' reviews started to show up (or they were always there and I just don't follow those people on Goodreads or didn't look hard enough).

Any book that can draw such mixed reviews had me intrigued (again, just my Goodreads friends/those I follow - Goodreads as a whole has pretty balanced reviews 5 stars - 37%, 4 stars - 33%, 3 stars - 18%, 2 stars - 6%, 1 star - 4%).

So, I gave it a shot.

Described as The Bachelor or Cinderella meets The Hunger Games by the editor or blogs, I actually didn't see much, if any of The Hunger Games in The Selection. The Bachelor? Sure. With the one guy dating thirty five girls, that's kind of a given. Cinderella? Yeah, with disadvantaged (singing, even) girl becoming like a princess overnight.

Actually, though, the book reminded me a lot more of Wither. The whole set up of Illea in the beginning of the novel reminded me of the world Rhine was living in. It only reminded me more of Wither more once the story got going.

Wither had the different girls all living in a house and married to the same man, The Selection had them dating him, in Wither Rhine promises to despise him, in The Selection America's going to hate Maxon and just play along for a bit, in both the girls wonder if their feelings are changing.

That's not to say The Selection copies Wither, at all, just that it's what it reminded me of . . . and why I can't quite figure out why The Selection didn't work for me. Something about America just rubbed me the wrong way throughout the book.

She didn't seem like a real character, one that you could connect with. In the beginning she seemed obstinate just for the point of being difficult . . . then she'd start to give some and being difficult would kick in again. She just didn't work for me.


If you want to give The Selection a shot - like I said, a lot of people did love it, I'm just not one of them - do know that this is very much an introduction-y Book I. It doesn't end on a cliffhanger, per se, but it's the most prequel-like first book in a series I've read lately.

(If you read all of that, or even most of it - I love you!)
  BookSpot | May 18, 2015 |
To start off, I will say that I liked this book more that I thought I would. I was originally looking for a book for a reading challenge (needed blue covers) and just happened to see this at the library and figured it didn't look too bad and that I would just read it since nothing else was working.
I will admit, the concepts are not very original. The ideas that is is in between The Bachelor and Hunger Games (in the dystopia sense)is fairly accurate, with heavily leanings on The Bachelor. The love triangle setting adds a bit extra to character complexity.
I will not say much on what the books is about. The summary already does that in itself on this book. The book is written from America's perspective and what I will say otherwise is what I thought. First, I must admit, I dislike the character names. Yes I know the last names refer to what the person does, but the first names are horrid in my opinion. Yet the main thing is the writing style and pace. I literally laid down last night thinking I would read a few chapters. Next thing I knew, the sun would be rising soon and the book sat finished in my hands. I don't get that with many books anymore. This book made me giggle at times, and twitch in anticipation at others. It left me desperately craving the sequel. Wondering who she picks, or who Maxon picks,what is up with the other girls, etc.
So, while the concept is not original, the characters are interesting, and the story is written in a way that is easy to get wrapped up in it. I actually just put it back on hold at the library so I could skim through it once again before them next book comes out. I read it so fast I fear I might have missed things. I honestly had a hard time rating this. In the way in captured my attention once I started reading, and my desire to read it again I would normally say 5, but since it does lean SO heavily on the concept of The Bachelor. So, I give this a 4. ( )
  jljaina | May 16, 2015 |
I had to stay up all night to finish this book, but not for the reason you think. The plot does a good job of hooking you, but very little happens, and I was waiting for something exciting to happen. I didn't even realize when the climax of the book had occurred until I checked the page number. While it is a good premise, I did not feel that there was much risk being taken. The main character wasn't taken out of her comfort zone other than to leave home. In fact, she embraced leaving since she was angry at Aspen. Climaxes require the character to be knocked off balance, which America wasn't. She felt like a Mary-Sue with a slightly more developed range of interests. The world was not very developed, and the villains (Celeste and the rebels) remained either two-dimensional or faceless. It felt as though someone had taken the part of "The Hunger Games" where Katniss is made presentable in the Capitol and expanded it.
There was no meaning to the story. The only thing that comes close to showing a hidden depth is the classism between the girls. The rebels were fighting the government for some unknown cause, and America briefly wonders why there are no history books.
The part I found hardest to accept was that she determinedly says that no boy owns her and she is her own person, therefore rejecting the love triangle, but proceeds to agonize over her choice. I was tempted to buy the other two books because it didn't feel like the story had even come close to ending and I was curious about how the story would play out, but I changed my mind because of the plot holes and dramatization. ( )
1 vote furieous | May 11, 2015 |
I really enjoyed The Selection. To me, it was like a cross between The Hunger Games (without the fighting to the death) and Mean Girls with a bit of Cinderella mixed in. I felt there was a lot of similarities to The Hunger Games. Even the castes seemed very similar to the Districts of The Hunger Games. Even so, I couldn't help but really enjoy myself whilst reading and I couldn't stop turning pages. It was a nice, easy quick read.

The events of The Selection are told from the point of view of America Singer. I felt that the plot was somewhat predictable, i.e. the whole girl torn between two very different boys. However, despite this I felt that the plot moved forward at a nice pace and Kiera Cass dealt with a multitude of different characters very well. Of course, being part of a series the story didn't completely wrap up at the end but I'm definitely going to read The Elite.

I also liked most of the characters, the exception being Celeste and wish we got to know more about them all. But there is fairly a lot so I understand that wouldn't have been the easiest and many aren't actually featured in the story for very long.

I felt so sad for America when her heart is broken but she shows that she can be strong and work her way through the heartbreak. She is probably the nicest girl to be Selected, apart from Marlee. She doesn't speak down to her maids like the other girls and treats them as equals even though they are a caste below her. Unlike the majority of the other girls, she knows what hardship and being hungry is. However, I do find her name a bit silly. She is also quite whiny and immature but what teenage girl isn't at at least some point.

I also really liked Maxon. I think he has quite a naive quality to him due to probably having quite a sheltered life so far in regards to struggles of those in the lower castes. I also found him quite adorable as well as quite witty in places. I loved his interactions with America. It was sort of like he just wanted someone to talk to. There probably wasn't many other boys (or even girls) his age around the castle for him to interact with before.

I do like Aspen... BUT he is an idiot! For instance, he says to America:

"I'm supposed to be providing for you."

UGHH!! I mean I wanted to strangle him for having such an old-fashioned view. There is nothing wrong with a woman providing for a man.

I can't wait to read more of America, Maxon and Illia. I really want to find out what is in store for them next especially in regards to the rebels. So it's safe to say I will be reading The Elite as soon as I can.

Although The Selection is a dystopian novel, there is a lot of romance involved therefore I would recommend it to teenage girls who are fans of romantic novels. It is a really easy read and I believe it could potentially be enjoyed by older girls but the language is fairly simple and there is a lot of whining and bitchiness to the story. ( )
  MyExpandingBookshelf | May 4, 2015 |
An easy and entertaining read. The first love triangle where I'm rooting for the second love interest (Prince Maxon @_@). Nothing original, but definitely fun.

For my full review visit my blog here (but beware because there are some spoilers: http://brittanysbookrambles.blogspot.com/2013/03/the-selection-review-spoiler-al... ( )
  bpress | Apr 20, 2015 |
I started this book one evening before bed, and ended up staying up until 3 am just to finish it. It was that good. It's not a literary masterpiece, but sometimes it's good to just read a light-hearted page-turner!

This is a dystopian novel, but the dystopian aspect is not way "out there." There is some political unrest in the country, which I'm guessing will play a part in the next couple of books, but it wasn't heavy, a la Hunger Games. Basically, it's a Cinderella-type version of "The Bachelor" with a little love triangle thrown in for good measure. I loved it. I loved the characters. I can't wait to see how it all plays out. (That being my only, common, beef -- that it's part of a trilogy, and therefore not a stand-alone story in one book). ( )
  lauraodom | Apr 16, 2015 |
Plucked out of her life, America Singer reluctantly participates in the Selection, a competition where thirty-five women try to win a spot in the royal family as Prince Maxon’s bride. Cass tries to make the unfortunately named America Singer spunky, special, and a protagonist to root for; whether or not she succeeds is up to the reader. The Selection has been accurately referred to as a cross between the Hunger Games and The Bachelor, only less so. Cass continually lowers the stakes throughout the plot: Maxon verbally guarantees America a spot in the final three of the Selected and the women who are sent home enjoy elevated social status and do very well. The reality television aspect of the competition is slight and the elimination of Selected women happens mostly in a few large anti-climatic events, abruptly ending the first book in the trilogy. The Selection is a more intellectual read than watching an entire season of a Bachelor-type reality show, but only just. The Selection is best suited for readers looking for a light escapist read involving a royal palace, descriptions of pretty dresses, and a romance with (the slightly awkward) Prince Charming. Recommended for ages twelve to sixteen. ( )
  Jessie_Bear | Apr 15, 2015 |
Oh my gosh. Okay, so this book is completely and totally best described as "The Hunger Games" meets Jane Austen. I don't really know how else to put it.

Let me start by saying that this book is completely outside of my comfort zone and I am so glad that I stepped outside of my little box and read this one. This is by far one of my favorite reads of 2013 so far. Whether it will stay there is going to depend on what else I read, largely, but it definitely has set the bar VERY high.

I read this book in less than 24 hours. That should tell you something. I absolutely loved the word that was painted. I wish that we would have gotten a little more history about why things were the way they were a little earlier in the book, but the information does come out slowly.

I was completely and totally mad at Aspen for the way events changed, and I cried and laughed along with the characters as the story played out. And Celeste? Well, she needs to be ...she needs to go home. That is all I can say and still be polite!

I cannot wait to read The Elite, and will be sitting down here momentarily to read that book because I just have to find out what comes next. There is not much more I can say without spoiling the book for someone, so I will leave you with this: Read this book. You absolutely will not be sorry. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 207 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
587 wanted5 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.8)
0.5
1 19
1.5 1
2 44
2.5 7
3 122
3.5 31
4 175
4.5 18
5 171

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,039,017 books! | Top bar: Always visible