HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Selection (Selection - Trilogy) by Kiera…
Loading...

The Selection (Selection - Trilogy) (edition 2012)

by Kiera Cass

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,3411825,776 (3.78)44
KimberlySlicedOpen's review
Review by Sliced Open Reviews

Note: adding book to my fav reads of 2012!

While I could use so many words to describe this book, but I won’t flood you with one word descriptions...so here we go.

The Selection gripped me from the opening chapter, I *accidentally* started reading this at work while getting my Nook library organized and it was the biggest *accident* I could ever make. I read chapter 1 one while sitting at my desk on lunch, and then, almost went into hysterics while waiting for 5 o’clock to come so I could go home and get my Nook and curl up on my bed and read. I did just that and was so angry when it ended. I don’t just want book two I NEED it, with a need so bad that I’m not sure how I will make it to next year, but I will try.

Kiera Cass floored me, her writing and relationship building was by far some of the best I have seen in some time, and with this book she is defiantly making my top loved authors list. When I read the blurb a couple months back I vaguely remembered it until it popped up as downloading on my Nook (I know Kiera you can kick me for that later).

I usually HATE love triangles in a book, but I almost think Kiera Cass took everyone’s feelings into consideration while writing this, she didn’t make your typical, girl likes boy, boy likes girl, girl finds other boy she likes, other boy likes girl, and OH NO boy hates other boy. While she does follow some of that, the book wasn’t centered on it, it was the building of Relationship between America and Aspen and America and Maxon, which is how it should be. Dare I say, Cass did the love triangle right, YAY!

This was not your typical Dystopian novel, while we are used to being tossed into the horrible society in a dystopian and the carried away through the characters life and learning and growth in their said society, this novel shows you how the society works but then you follow America through her journey in the “Selection” so little to no grueling battles or fiery towns or running from the law, which is not a bad thing, it was actually quite refreshing if you ask me!

So now I am going to go scream from the roof tops that everyone should go out a buy this book and read it, then, they too can go scream from the roof tops, this may hold us all over until the next book...Well Done Kiera, well done! ( )
  KimberlySlicedOpen | May 20, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (173)  German (1)  All languages (174)
Showing 1-25 of 173 (next | show all)
The Selection goes with a very
elegant cover. Apparantly, the looks
can be deceiving.

I just can't figure it out that this
book gets a very high rating. It's
terrible.

This one is mash-up between the
The Hunger Games girlified Version!
and The Bachelor which is awful.

I finished the entire book at exactly
1:56 A.M. and just wasted my time.
But somehow, I managed to enjoy
it.

Since the plot is very alike with the
The Hunger Games. Why not put all
the 35 Selecteds into hunting and
killing each other and the last girl
standing will be the One? Just
kidding. ( )
  Perco | Oct 11, 2014 |
I don't know if YA is getting more predictable or if I've somehow just become a snob, but I miss being surprised, and I saw the end coming maybe fifty pages in. It's really disheartening because I love the genre, I love dystopian novels, but I'm starting to wonder if it's all really played out and I should move on to more "adult" reading material like my age begs me to do.

I really wanted to love this book. I really did. It was simply too slow, too boring, too fluffy without any solid substance behind it at all, and with the main character having the absolute stupidest name I've ever heard, I just couldn't. The book tried, I tried, but we both fell incredibly short.

Excuse my while I go twirl my fork menacingly. *snort* ( )
  strongasanoak | Sep 25, 2014 |
I thought I would hate this, mainly because it has a lot of things that I don't like. I don't like love triangles...actually, I really hate love triangles. It's one of my biggest pet peeves when it comes to Young Adult novels. Why does there have to be two guys? Why? What's wrong with just liking one person and leaving it at that?

I also was wary of the Bachelor like theme. I've sadly seen one episode of the horrid show and I kind of find it incredibly distasteful and gross. Maybe it's because the guy (or girl) is in a massive love triangle.

Anyways, despite my misgivings I decided to read the book and it wasn't that bad. In fact, I liked it for the most part.

America Singer lives in a dystopian like world where people are categorized by numbers. The higher the number you have, the better you life will be. Also, your number determines what kind of carry you have. Fives, like America 's family, are entertainers. While Sixes, are servers.

Which brings us to boy number one in America's love triangle, Aspen, who is a Six. (Aspen, America...I see what you did there). America doesn't care that he's a Six, her family would be against it, and he doesn't like that America would probably provide for him more than he provides for her. Plus there is a law that tries to limit people from doing this.

Boy number two is Prince Maxon. He's holding a Bachelor like game, where girls around the kingdom have a chance to be proposed by him. America signs up, because Aspen told her to, and is chosen. America and Aspen break up, America goes to the castle, and starts to develop feelings for Maxon.

Now the triangle is complete.

America, for the most part, is focused on one guy during the novel and I did like her growing friendship with Maxon. I would have been fine if the novel focused more on this and America's growing feelings for him.

Some of the things that I found odd:

After America lets Maxon know that she's in love with someone else, she makes a deal with him. He keeps her at the palace for as long he needs her to be there for the Selection and in return, she'll give him insider information on the girls. It sounds like a fine deal to me, only America avoids most of the girls and the conversations she has with Maxon is almost never about them.

Sadly, this did bug me a bit because I wanted to see America interact with the girls. But we never really see that. A lot of the girls are interchangeable and for the most part I didn't really care for them.

And then there was..

While reading the novel, I felt like Aspen would show up during America's selection process. This was a given. I did think he would have some ties to the rebels, which would cause America to choose whether she wants to support the kingdom and Maxon, or the support the rebels/freedom and Aspen.

Instead, the book ends in a cliffhanger. Maxon doesn't even pick a girl by the end. This was disappointing, because for the most part I did enjoy this novel but then it ends abruptly. It didn't even feel like a full novel because of that.

I will probably read the next book to see if Aspen and Maxon go head to head...for the kingdom and not America. ( )
  pdbkwm | Sep 8, 2014 |
Amazing start to the series. I really enjoyed the different characters and learning about them. America is definitely a strong main character and I loved reading about her relationships with different characters in the book, especially Marlee and Maxon. ( )
  forsakenfates | Aug 25, 2014 |
The plot of this book is obvious and predictable. I detest shows like The Bachelor and Bachelorette so I avoided this because that's just what the premise is. 35 girls, 1 crown to be won.

The main character has an air of something....annoying about her. (And a rather annoying name, usually if I don't like a character name I won't read the book but I got this from Amazon when I was drunk). Despite the annoyance of the characters, and the asinine plot, its actually a very compelling read.

I was admittedly ready to dislike the price as on first meeting he came across as a pompous asshole. His character did develop quite well throughout the story, he had a personality and mind and wasn't a card board cut out swooner. The world building was interesting as well, its a dystopian but there was a rather well thought out reasoning and history as to how to the world came to be.

I'm not sure its the smartest way to find a Crown Princess, but admittedly this is a guilty pleasure read for me. Its annoying, but impossible to stop reading. I had to go out and get the other two books in the series, one paperback, one hardback and wound up getting the Selection again in paperback so I could have the complete set.

I know how it ends, but I'm still looking forward to the in-between book to see how the plot develops. ( )
1 vote sunset_x_cocktail | Aug 20, 2014 |
I expected a little more from this. I felt like I only got 3/4 of a book. What is it with people needing to have a trilogy? ( )
  Mirandalg14 | Aug 18, 2014 |
35 Girls. 1 Crown. The Competition of a Lifetime.

Kiera Cass' The Selection series is a romance/drama/fairy tale story with a reality show premise. The first book is called The Selection and was published in 2012 by HarperTeen. Aimed at teen readers, this three book series now has a companion novel and is sure to charm teen fans who like a girly romance that will unconditionally end with a happily ever after.

I'm not particularly fond of America Singer, but the colourful cast of girls and handsome Prince Maxon make up for America's sometimes irritating quirks. Regardless, the books are a bit of delicious treat. An easy, no-stress read of an average girl who is given the chance to marry Prince Charming. The premise of the series is an interesting one—it's why The Bachelor still thrives on TV!

I flew through the first two novels and am about to start on the third. It's not my favourite series, but Kiera Cass is a fantastic author who appeals to teen girl readers who love a good love triangle and a match-up of a girl who could be you, who ends up marrying the perfect guy. As a YA fan, this is more of a guilty pleasure for me and my dislike of the heroine pulls down my overall rating. However, I can certainly attest to the fact that preteens who like this type of story will enjoy this series!

A well-written series choice for teens!

3 Stars ( )
  loveofreading | Aug 2, 2014 |
I really enjoyed the writing in this book. I loved America's character, she is such a sweetheart. I especially like how she treated her maids. This book has quite the love triangle though. Personally I'm rooting for Maxon as the series continues. I am really happy to say that this book didn't get as catty as I expected it to. 35 girls fighting over 1 guy, I expected more of a cat fight.

I think Maxon is a great guy, even though he is the prince he has insecurities. I like that he isn't super cocky and he's actually pretty down to earth. He has a good heart and I want America to fall in love with him.

Aspen on the other hand... I think that he's selfless in the way that he didn't want to bring America down because of the caste system. But I also think that love can be greedy, and that it was America's decision on whether or not she cared about the caste system. I think that in making that decision for her he no longer has any right to fight for her. You can't break someone's heart and then change your mind. You gave her up, so let her move on. You jerk.

I can't wait to read the next book. Kiera Cass is a really good writer, this book flowed really well and was never dull. I hope to read a lot more by her. ( )
  manka23 | Jul 29, 2014 |
The first sentence: “When we got the letter in the post, my mother was ecstatic.”

Thoughts from the first and second chapter:

The writing style (first person, again) and voice pulls you in very quickly. Also you’re wondering about what the talk of numbers has to do with this story, and so you easily flip through the pages to understand what she’s going on about with a letter and royalty. She doesn't want to be a One. Umm, why not? Do these main characters never want the super, amazing, special thing/position ever in books? Doesn't seem like it. Oh, and yes, another female character who denies her beauty, but it’s sooo obvious to everyone else. The secret boyfriend: Uhh..okay? Will this turn into some kind of a love triangle or what? And apparently.

Main Character: America Singer (Yeah, really).

I have no problems with names, usually. America was a pretty common name for girls at some point in history. I have a few Americas in my family tree and so do a lot of other people, but does it make sense in this story where the country itself doesn't exist anymore? Maybe or maybe not, depending on what you want to believe.

The Plot: Well, it’s a fairly simple one. 35 girls compete to become the prince’s wife. Although, it really wasn't much of a competition or so it seemed to me. America didn't really have to try and she didn't.

The other characters:

America’s family: I liked them for the most part. I could understand why her mother wanted her to join the competition. A chance for a better life.

Aspen: I didn’t get why he wanted America to join the competition. That whole what if excuse didn’t work for me. For some reason I just didn’t like him at all.

Prince Maxon: I do like this character, but I wonder how he didn’t know that the lower caste people were going hungry and stealing to provide for their families in the first place.

Princess wannabes: Most of them, well, were meant to be unlikable. Celeste for example. She was a total witch with a capital B.

Annoying Things: A competition was promised, but there wasn't much past a few angry glares and whispering behind America’s back, let alone a real competition where they do more than just take pictures and whatever. Aspen, I couldn't stand him for some reason.

Overall: This book was entertaining for what it was. The issues with this book can be pretty easily ignored for just the quickness of the read and the entertainment factor.
Also I ship Prince Maxon and America.

Will I read the other two books: 50/50 chance. It was good, but not enough to excite me to continue. ( )
  CinaChilders | Jul 27, 2014 |
Read in June, 2014

Clearing up the mixed reviews for this book.....
"This is not a dystopian book. This is a romance with a mildly dystopian sub-plot."

If you love books with action-packed-agnst-ridden-the-world-is-gonna-end-surival this book will disappoint you. If you like paperback romances and want a new light-hearted romance with a twist you will like this book.

As I said before this is defiantly a romance novel with touches of dystopian. Any violence occurring in the novel is hinted at or quickly brushed over, so people who don't enjoy the detailed grittiness of dystopian lit will enjoy this book. It's is a casual read for people who like to fantasize about the "reality princess experience" with a touch of dystopian unease.

Summary -
The book follows a spirited Cinderella-type heroin named America, who living in near poverty dreams of a good life for herself and her loved ones. The world America lives in is governed by a caste system in which the majority of the people are born near poverty. Having fallen in love with a boy from a lower level then herself Cinderella struggles to work towards a life in which both of them can be happy. However, everything changes with the announcement of "The Selection", a contest between 38 girls for the hand of a prince". Despite her better judgement America enrolls in the Selection which overturns the life she had hoped for. Suddenly America is thrown into a nationally televised contest with a wide variety of eccentric contestants each hoping to catch the eye of the prince, who America is completely uninterested in (aside from the money provided by The Selection that will help her struggling family). As the story continues the palace, while majestic and beautiful, shows signs of instability as rebellions begin occur with increasing frequency putting America, her fellow constants, the royal family, and her society in danger. The prince, while kind is also emotionally isolated from the people around him, a trait which he will have to overcome if he is to find his future princess, stop the rebellions, and govern his people. Will America be able to help him or will their mutual stubbornness be their downfall. ( )
  AyaF | Jul 10, 2014 |
Let me say this upfront: I read the whole thing, didn't skim or skip pages. Re-posted from my blog at http://armchairauthor.wordpress.com

Stucco palace.

Just think about that phrase for a moment. Hold it in your mind. Turn it over, consider the implications. It has a lot to do with this review.

The Selection by Kiera Cass, 327 Pages

I was really excited about this book, I really wanted to like it. I am not immune to the lure of a beautiful cover featuring a beautiful girl in a gorgeous dress. A dust-jacket featuring a svelte redhead in endless ruffles of turquoise tulle reflected back in different poses by a bank of water-spotted mirrors, wrapped around a Tiffany-blue hardback stamped with a silver tiara. Despite my disdain for bodice-ripping romances I can enjoy a made-for-TV romantic comedy or an episode of The Bachelor while I’m cooking dinner, so I was game to give the YA dystopian fantasy a shot.

This is a book that tries to bridge the gap between The Hunger Games and Twilight. Someone was bound to try soon enough, those two incredibly popular series combined would seem like a golden ticket to publication. On the one hand, we have a highly regulated society in which many are starving and it is very difficult to move across the government’s dividing lines, hosting a competition to publicly elevate one of its number above the rest. On the other we have a novel completely centered around a love triangle, with a heroine who is a bit of a Mary Sue.

America Singer is a tri-lingual, naturally beautiful musician with a secret boyfriend of a lower caste. Being a Five is not so great, it is an artisan class with sporadic work that leaves her family perpetually short on food, but her boyfriend Aspen has it worse as a Six in the servant class. She has the big-time hots for this boy and they have two years worth of treehouse trysts backed up, creating an incredible pressure that they’d like to relieve post-marriage (pre-marital sex is ground for imprisonment). Big no-no, America’s momma is hoping she will use her pretty face to marry up at least two castes. When a Cinderella-esque invitation arrives exhorting America to enter a lottery for a chance to win a place in a competition to win the hand of the crown-prince of Illéa, becoming a One in the process, her mother is practically foaming at the mouth and even secret-boytoy Aspen doesn’t want her to pass up the opportunity.

She is persuaded to enter, and of course she is selected.

Many blogs have already likened this novel to The Bachelor, and I would have to say that it actually reads like Bachelor fan-fiction with a prince subbed for the schmuck. America is incredibly judgmental of the other Selected, often based on a single visual impression or line of dialogue, yet these judgements are never false. The sexy brunette is seductive and conniving, the bubbly blonde is sweet as pie. Everything plays out as exactly as you might guess, in the most clichéd manner possible. The palace is repeatedly attacked by mysterious rebels with no definite purpose in scenes that fail to thrill. The book is light on both dialogue and description, propelled by endless stated actions and sentiments “I walked downstairs and then sat in a chair and then ate dinner. It was delicious. I felt full.” There were several paragraphs in which every sentence began with “I”. The scant dialogue all sounds the same, though the novel depicts characters from a range of social classes and geographic locations. I wouldn’t even know if I split an infinitive, but there were many glaring errors in mechanics, as though someone printed their fan-fiction straight from the computer and had it bound. Unfortunate dialogue tags abound, everyone “sings” everything. At one point I wondered if this book were supposed to be a musical.

The heroine herself comes across as inconsistent and disingenuous. She is home-schooled and plays the victim of incomprehensible feminine politics, but makes unerring judgements of her fellow ladies and presumes to give Maxon advice on interacting with them. At one point she states that she wants nothing more than to be alone with a violin, on the next page she is alone in her room with a selection of instruments and says she can’t “be bothered” with them. She claims to be madly in love with Aspen but only seems to think or feel anything about him when he is directly in her line of sight. She performs actions that are inconsistent with the reader’s knowledge if her character, simply because they seem to be on the author’s checklist of princessly characteristics.

The romance is pretty dull. With America and Aspen it is a lot of forbidden horny leg-rubbing; America and Maxon engage in slightly more interesting conversation about why he sucks (America is a real charmer).

This is not the worst of it, you guys, and I’m sorry for rambling on. I’m almost done.

The worst failure of this novel is a failure of the imagination. I could deal with a stupid plot and two-dimensional characters if I got some great poetic language, engaging world-building, or sumptuous descriptions of luxurious locales and fashion. The author seems to have an obsession with cap-sleeves, everything America wears has them! I’m not sure if it was a deliberate choice to make her seem demure or a lack of creativity. The sumptuous cuisine? Bacon, eggs, and pancakes; or vanilla ice cream with fruit. Literally dozens of female characters have names but no physical descriptions or personalities, even when they have speaking parts. COME. ON. The palace is made of stucco (but has marble floors). Stucco, you guys. It was described in a way that made me picture the mansion they always use on The Bachelor, but it is somehow big enough to house more than two hundred people, forty or so with their own rooms and enormous individual bathrooms. Magic.

I am disappoint. This could have had real potential if a tougher editor had entered the picture. ( )
2 vote ArmchairAuthor | Jul 3, 2014 |
I loved this book. I just can't help myself when it comes to dystopian young adult books. America is a great character and Cass makes her feel like a 'real' teen - just one in a different world. I can feel America's uncertainity, and I feel the unfairness of the whole institution of selection, even if its not actually brought up in the book that much. But then again - by not talking about how weird/strange it is Cass really puts the reader in the world of Illéa.

I'm truly baffeled by the mixed reviews this book has recieved. I'm an adult who enjoys YA books, I read them because they are entertaining - that's it. Its a nice way to spend an hour or so. I'm not concerned with the moral or anthing like that - I want to be able to block out the fat man sitting next to me on the train while I commute. If you like YA distopian books and a good time read The Selection, if you take life too seriously then don't read it. ( )
  sscarllet | Jul 1, 2014 |
There are two things that should be known up-front about The Selection: Whoever decided it qualified as Dystopia needs to be handed a copy of 1984 STAT, and despite this oversight, The Selection is actually pretty entertaining. As long as you don’t throw the that “D” genre label anywhere near it, The Selection stands pretty well on its own. The only reason this book really can even get near the Dystopia label is the caste system, which while that makes America an underdog to root for, doesn’t really stand up to scrutiny.

That aside, I really enjoyed The Selection more than I thought I would. Cass’ writing is sometimes distracting, but for the most part I thought she told the story decently. After the first chapter, I decided not to expect anything more from this story except entertainment, and that’s exactly what I got. I’ve never watched The Bachelor, but from what I can tell, the comparisons to reality TV for this book are pretty spot-on. It has all the features of why reality TV can be appealing.

America is a bit annoying at times, but yet I still found myself so intrigued by her romance. I hated Aspen, one of the potential love interest, so I was happy to see that America slowly warmed up to Maxon over the course of the story. For his part, Maxon is a little too perfect, but this is really a fairy-tale at heart so I’ll let it slide.

Personally, I think I would have liked this book more if it hadn’t decided to play at the Dystopia genre. I could have done without the rebel attacks(though I’m hoping they’ll be important for the future books), and wished this book had just played up the fun angle for all it’s worth. It might not be the best serious reading, but it made me giggle and squee over Maxon and America’s relationship, and I think as just a fun story it does well.

Final Impression: The Selection is not that well-written or well-defined, but I liked it DESPITE those facts. It was just an entertaining story and while I totally get why people haven’t liked it, the book definitely entertained me for a few hours. It’s basically just a popcorn, completely-for-fun read, but I liked it all the same. ( )
  Stormydawnc | Jun 23, 2014 |
This is a simply wonderful book, with a princess nature and hidden plot line. It is about a dystopian united states, torn apart by war, that has succumb to a system of castes, ranging from 1 to 8 with one being royalty, like districts in "The Hunger Games", that force them to be either poor or rich because of restricted job opportunities. Once a prince has come to age to be married, the king and queen hold a public event that choses girls from all different castes to compete in a sort of competition for the prince. He goes on dates and such with the girls and eliminates them if he doesn't believe the girl could be the queen. A girl from caste 5, America Singer, enters the Selection from pressure from her mom and boyfriend. When she gets drawn and has to go to the castle (not a spoiler, it's kind of obvious) she has to decide if she likes her boyfriend, Aspen or if she could find love with the prince. I think it has the dystopia of "The Hunger Games" by Suzanne Collins with the competition of "The Princess Academy" by Shannon Hale. This is my most favorite book by far. ( )
  Fifi1288 | Jun 16, 2014 |
The Selection had been on my wishlist for awhile, so I was excited when it became available for checkout from my library. I had high expectations for this novel (just look at that beautiful cover), but was sadly disappointed. The book started out interesting enough but just ended up being like a boring episode of The Bachelor. The characters are mediocre at best and the plot is beyond predictable. I'm only the teeny tiniest bit curious to find out what happens. ( )
  LauraT81 | Jun 5, 2014 |
I liked this book, it wasn’t great, but I liked it. The story pulled me in and I wanted to find out what happens to America Singer, the main character. A combination of The Hunger Games and The Bachelor, set in the future country of Illéa, Prince Maxon has to find a princess. Thirty-five girls, including America, are selected to vie for the position. They are taken to castle to get to know Maxon and as you can imagine lots of drama ensues. There is a caste system in Illéa, which also creates issues between the girls. There is also a war going on that is not explained very well, but the castle is attacked every so often. What really bugged me were the names of the characters…Kamber, Amberly, Emmica, Gavril, Maxon, Swendway…they all sound so ridiculous. ( )
  dinelson | Jun 1, 2014 |
I was hesitant about this book/series. Maybe it is the look of the girl sniffing her armpit (what is that pose about??) or that fact that most critics compared this to The Hunger Games (stop doing that!), but in the end I was HOOKED.

America Singer wants a normal life and to marry her boyfriend, Aspen. Sadly that isn't how things work, nor is it that easy. Everyone is classified by a number, that number determines their jobs, pay, house, family size, EVERYTHING. It is certainly not wise for a female to marry down a class, she must set her sites higher. But then The Selection happens.

Prince Maxon wants to find love but has a hard time doing so because of who he is and the state of the nation. That is where The Selection comes in. America is hesitant because she doesn't want to try for the affection of the Prince when she has Aspen, but does anyways. That is when America's world is turned upside down. She starts to see things with a fresh pair of eyes and an open mind, wondering if she could in fact be princess one day.

I couldn't get enough of this book. Will her heart stay with Aspen? Could she possibly love Maxon and become princess? This was NOT the sappy love story I feared it would be (Matched series, anyone?). I truly wanted to find out what would happen. I was one of the better reads I have found this year and so happy I picked up the series (yes, I wait until the entire series comes out before reading/buying...).

I give this book 3.5 stars out of 5, it is such an enjoyable read. Can't wait to see what happens in the America/Aspen/Maxon love triangle! ( )
  smstuart | Jun 1, 2014 |
The Selection is basically a dystopian version of The Bachelor set in a future nation on the North American continent.

America Singer is a member of the Artisan caste, fairly low in the country's class system. America is content with her life, though: she gets by using her vocal talent, and she's in love with a handsome boy from the caste below hers. When it's announced that the Selection will be held to find a bride for Prince Maxon, she's not even interested in entering. She does so because her family, and even her sweetheart, pressure her to enter -- and because she's sure she won't be chosen. But, of course, she is chosen, along with thirty-four other girls, to travel to the palace and try to win the heart of the prince. America is up-front with him: she's only there for the food (and for the stipend that her family receives while she is in the competition). But, as they interact with one another, America and Maxon become friends. Naturally, some of the other girls are jealous of what they see as America's favored position. There are dangers from the outside, as well: revolutionaries attack the palace, and the girls may be in danger of losing their lives, not just their hearts.

Okay, so it's a little bit reality-show cheesy, and the reasons for the downfall of the USA and the rise of this extremely different government are never quite explained. Even the motives of the revolutionaries are kind of murky. And nobody really believes that America isn't going to end up with the prince, right? But, despite all of that, I'll keep on reading, because it's fluffy and fun and a quick read, and I'm hoping some of the missing details will be filled in over the course of the next two books. ( )
  foggidawn | May 30, 2014 |
The Selection is the one in a lifetime opportunity. Almost everyone in Illea wants to enter except, America. Her whole family want her to enter, it could be a way for them to escape poverty. But America has already found her guy, and she wants to marry him, the only problem is he is a caste lower than her. She is forced to enter and her love breaks up with her, after seeing she got chosen to enter the selection. She knows she never wanted to marry the prince. But as it turns out she might actually be in the competition for real.

Selection is the best book I have ever encountered! I never thought it would be this amazing. I picked it up at the library and immediately thought that it looked boring. But after the first 10 sentences, I couldn't put the book down. I read it during dinner and most of my school classes. Ilearned many things in this book. One of them includes never basing a book on its cover. ( )
  ChantelP.B1 | May 30, 2014 |
The Selection is a competition of a lifetime. 35 girls get chosen from each caste, to compete for a crown and marry the most charming man, Prince Maxon. But for America, being selected is a nightmare she wants to get out of. It means turning her back on her love for Aspen, even though hes forcing her to apply, and leaving her family to attend a competition she doesn't want to be in. Whats even more frightening, is the constant violent rebel attacks.

Finally, America turly meets Maxon. She starts to develop a small crush on him and becomes more and more attatched to him. This leaves her questioning who should she choose? Aspen or Maxon?

Selection was one of the best books I've read! I didn't really expect to read so much of it and fall in love with a book that quickly. This story is obviously based on this future because of the caste system the author created in the book. ( )
  ElizavetaC.B3 | May 29, 2014 |
Winning the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The fame, money, food, and of course to be the crowned princess of Illea. America gets the chance to become princess, but first she must beat out the competition of the other 34 girls also who want to rule at Maxon's side. But America is not in it for the crown, she is only their to help her family get the money throughout the competition because her family are only Fives, a very low section of the nation's caste system. She also loves someone else for sure, Aspen. Her boyfriend back in the Carolina Province. At the end of this book she makes it into the Elite, meaning it is down to only 6 girls.
I believe this book is fairly decent, but it may sound weird how I put it. More than 35 girls competing to when the princes heart after getting picked for their looks. Like, guys only pick girls for their looks? That's not a good message to send out to your readers, expecially when some of them are young girls who are concerned about their looks. This book also did not have that much of rising action, so I was kind of waiting for something to happen. Nothing really even did. That is why I gave this book two stars. ( )
  IssyM.B4 | May 29, 2014 |
The Selection revolves around the world of America Singer, who recieves a notice one day saying that the prince of the new country Illéa, Maxon Schreave, shall be holding the Selection, a competition in which 35 lucky young ladies compete for the prince's hand and the crown. America comes to think of one main reason in which she wants nothing to do with this matter, and that is the fact that she is in a secret relationship with Aspen Leger. One night, as the two decide to meet in their usual meeting place, Aspen tells America that this competition could bring her much more than he, a man supporting a family in the position of a Six in the caste, ever could. This causes the two to get into a huge argument, and later on leads Aspen to breaking up with America. With the effect of the break up and a bribe from her mother, America enters the Selection, which leads to her leaving to go live in the palace, as well as the other 34 girls. She finds making friends easier than expected, such as Marlee Tames and a somewhat formidible enemy, otherwise known as Celeste Newsome. ( )
  SydneyW.G3 | May 28, 2014 |
America Singer is a Five living in the Province of Carolina. When America becomes of age she gets a application to the Selection. The Selection is a contest when 35 girls are chosen to compete to be the princess of Illea. The prince, Maxon Schreave, runs the contest. America only enters the Selection because of her boyfriend, Aspen, said it would help her family. When Aspen thinks America will stop loving him and start loving Prince Maxon, he breaks up with her. When America arrives at the palace she is automatically a favorite of the country. America and Maxon become friends because America doesn't think she will ever fall in love with him. When it comes time to eliminate some girls, America finds herself in the Elite.

I rated the Selection 5 stars because I think this book is very well written and it is very popular for girls my age. This book was very entertaining to read and one of the best books I have read. Just looking at the cover made me wish that their life was my life. I think the author did a good job portraying each character. This book is very unique in its own way, I don't think I could have been written any better. This book is a fantastic love story for middle schoolers and teens of any age. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is interested.
  GabbyM.b3 | May 27, 2014 |
The prince has come of age and needs to get married. All the girls in the kingdom are sending in their forms. Thirty-five of these girls will be put in the selection. One of these girls is called America (main character). The only reason America entered is because she wants to marry someone below her caste, and her mother told her that she would pay America. The castes are sorted into eight groups, and the higher the number the more money they are payed.
1. Royalty
2. Models
3. Sports people
4. shop/hotel owners
5. Artists and musicians-America
6. Maids, waiters, and butlers
7. Street people
8. Outcasts beggars
I loved this book. It had a good pace to it. I enjoy the feeling that the character is me. I love the characters, and how they have, are dressed, and talk like we do in modern day. There are still cell phones. I also think it relates to one of the many ways the U.S could end up. I highly suggest this to girls who like romance and action. But, no matter how much a boy likes action and adventure and wars and that stuff, I highly suggest this book only to girls. ( )
  Abbyu1.B3 | May 21, 2014 |
Sometime in the future, the global economy has changed considerably, dividing everyone into eight classes that dictate your station in life, your job - everything. You can marry up or down (though for women, that's frowned upon), but otherwise whatever your parents do for a living pretty much dictates your choices. Sixteen-year-old America Singer is a Five living in Illea, which means she and her family all dedicate their lives to the arts, painting or performing music for parties of Twos and Threes. They're working class, but life could be worse. Then the Selection is announced: in a sort Illean version of the Bachelor, Prince Maxon has to choose from thirty-five young women from his own country. The last several girls in the competition will automatically be raised in status - and the one who wins will be a One, and her family will be elevated as well. America has a secret boyfriend already and isn't interested, but her mother sees the potential of her entering, and moving their family up in rank.

Despite the fact that this is set in the future and ostensibly a dystopia, I actually see this working more for teen fans of historical romance. The details of the dystopia are really thin - and mostly given as a history lesson on page 200. The details of America's friendship with Maxon and her feelings for the Six from back home, Aspen, are much more drawn out and detailed. The kingdom and dress details give it more of a historical flavor, though there are moments of mentioning telephones and other amenities that make it clear it's not really set in the past. America is a fun heroine, and I strongly related to her in ways that I'm sure added to my enjoyment. We're left on a bit of a cliffhanger, so I'm looking forward to seeing where the story goes from here. ( )
  bell7 | May 12, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 173 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
236 wanted5 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5
1 15
1.5 1
2 35
2.5 5
3 105
3.5 22
4 129
4.5 16
5 132

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,326,210 books! | Top bar: Always visible