HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Selection (Selection - Trilogy) by Kiera…
Loading...

The Selection (Selection - Trilogy) (edition 2012)

by Kiera Cass

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,5091864,901 (3.78)50
Review by Sliced Open Reviews

Note: adding book to my fav reads of 2012!

While I could use so many words to describe this book, but I won’t flood you with one word descriptions...so here we go.

The Selection gripped me from the opening chapter, I *accidentally* started reading this at work while getting my Nook library organized and it was the biggest *accident* I could ever make. I read chapter 1 one while sitting at my desk on lunch, and then, almost went into hysterics while waiting for 5 o’clock to come so I could go home and get my Nook and curl up on my bed and read. I did just that and was so angry when it ended. I don’t just want book two I NEED it, with a need so bad that I’m not sure how I will make it to next year, but I will try.

Kiera Cass floored me, her writing and relationship building was by far some of the best I have seen in some time, and with this book she is defiantly making my top loved authors list. When I read the blurb a couple months back I vaguely remembered it until it popped up as downloading on my Nook (I know Kiera you can kick me for that later).

I usually HATE love triangles in a book, but I almost think Kiera Cass took everyone’s feelings into consideration while writing this, she didn’t make your typical, girl likes boy, boy likes girl, girl finds other boy she likes, other boy likes girl, and OH NO boy hates other boy. While she does follow some of that, the book wasn’t centered on it, it was the building of Relationship between America and Aspen and America and Maxon, which is how it should be. Dare I say, Cass did the love triangle right, YAY!

This was not your typical Dystopian novel, while we are used to being tossed into the horrible society in a dystopian and the carried away through the characters life and learning and growth in their said society, this novel shows you how the society works but then you follow America through her journey in the “Selection” so little to no grueling battles or fiery towns or running from the law, which is not a bad thing, it was actually quite refreshing if you ask me!

So now I am going to go scream from the roof tops that everyone should go out a buy this book and read it, then, they too can go scream from the roof tops, this may hold us all over until the next book...Well Done Kiera, well done! ( )
  KimberlySlicedOpen | May 20, 2012 |
English (185)  German (1)  All languages (186)
Showing 1-25 of 185 (next | show all)
I started this book one evening before bed, and ended up staying up until 3 am just to finish it. It was that good. It's not a literary masterpiece, but sometimes it's good to just read a light-hearted page-turner!

This is a dystopian novel, but the dystopian aspect is not way "out there." There is some political unrest in the country, which I'm guessing will play a part in the next couple of books, but it wasn't heavy, a la Hunger Games. Basically, it's a Cinderella-type version of "The Bachelor" with a little love triangle thrown in for good measure. I loved it. I loved the characters. I can't wait to see how it all plays out. (That being my only, common, beef -- that it's part of a trilogy, and therefore not a stand-alone story in one book). ( )
  lauraodom | Apr 16, 2015 |
Plucked out of her life, America Singer reluctantly participates in the Selection, a competition where thirty-five women try to win a spot in the royal family as Prince Maxon’s bride. Cass tries to make the unfortunately named America Singer spunky, special, and a protagonist to root for; whether or not she succeeds is up to the reader. The Selection has been accurately referred to as a cross between the Hunger Games and The Bachelor, only less so. Cass continually lowers the stakes throughout the plot: Maxon verbally guarantees America a spot in the final three of the Selected and the women who are sent home enjoy elevated social status and do very well. The reality television aspect of the competition is slight and the elimination of Selected women happens mostly in a few large anti-climatic events, abruptly ending the first book in the trilogy. The Selection is a more intellectual read than watching an entire season of a Bachelor-type reality show, but only just. The Selection is best suited for readers looking for a light escapist read involving a royal palace, descriptions of pretty dresses, and a romance with (the slightly awkward) Prince Charming. Recommended for ages twelve to sixteen. ( )
  Jessie_Bear | Apr 15, 2015 |
Oh my gosh. Okay, so this book is completely and totally best described as "The Hunger Games" meets Jane Austen. I don't really know how else to put it.

Let me start by saying that this book is completely outside of my comfort zone and I am so glad that I stepped outside of my little box and read this one. This is by far one of my favorite reads of 2013 so far. Whether it will stay there is going to depend on what else I read, largely, but it definitely has set the bar VERY high.

I read this book in less than 24 hours. That should tell you something. I absolutely loved the word that was painted. I wish that we would have gotten a little more history about why things were the way they were a little earlier in the book, but the information does come out slowly.

I was completely and totally mad at Aspen for the way events changed, and I cried and laughed along with the characters as the story played out. And Celeste? Well, she needs to be ...she needs to go home. That is all I can say and still be polite!

I cannot wait to read The Elite, and will be sitting down here momentarily to read that book because I just have to find out what comes next. There is not much more I can say without spoiling the book for someone, so I will leave you with this: Read this book. You absolutely will not be sorry. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
Oh my gosh. Okay, so this book is completely and totally best described as "The Hunger Games" meets Jane Austen. I don't really know how else to put it.

Let me start by saying that this book is completely outside of my comfort zone and I am so glad that I stepped outside of my little box and read this one. This is by far one of my favorite reads of 2013 so far. Whether it will stay there is going to depend on what else I read, largely, but it definitely has set the bar VERY high.

I read this book in less than 24 hours. That should tell you something. I absolutely loved the word that was painted. I wish that we would have gotten a little more history about why things were the way they were a little earlier in the book, but the information does come out slowly.

I was completely and totally mad at Aspen for the way events changed, and I cried and laughed along with the characters as the story played out. And Celeste? Well, she needs to be ...she needs to go home. That is all I can say and still be polite!

I cannot wait to read The Elite, and will be sitting down here momentarily to read that book because I just have to find out what comes next. There is not much more I can say without spoiling the book for someone, so I will leave you with this: Read this book. You absolutely will not be sorry. ( )
  destinyisntfree | Feb 28, 2015 |
I first became aware of this book while looking through the giveaways page. I wanted to read it so much that instead of waiting for it to come to the local library I went out and purchased it.

The cover art is beautiful. I enjoyed the book. It was a quick read, but I wasn't as excited with the way this book ended. I know that there is *hopefully* going to be another to follow it, but I wish the author hadn't dragged America's decision all the way into the second book.

I would say that the fact that this book came out during the height of the Hunger Games buzz is going to help sell this book. Now it isn't the same by any means, but I see definite similarities, girls entering a Selection process to become the princess, having to compete with other girls. Set in a dystopian land where rebels are attacking. Then the love triangle between America, Maxon, and Aspen. I'll be waiting for the next book to see how it all turns out.
( )
  PrescottKris | Jan 26, 2015 |
Ok it isn't the best book in the world. The writing is too simplistic; the story isn't even that unique. The characters and setting lacks depth. Despite all this things this book is SO ENTERTAINING!!! I couldn't put it down. I was really interested and I loved the love story aspect. This book is a quick book to read and if you are in the mood for a fun light read pick it up! ( )
  KatesReviews | Jan 24, 2015 |
Once again, I'm late to the party when it comes to a relatively popular book. I actually purchased this in May 2012, shortly after its release, but I've gotten to the point where I won't start a trilogy until the final book is nearing publication or already published. Otherwise, I forget a lot about the prior two books, and I usually end up having to re-read them to remember.

Hmm. So I'm not sure who thought that this was "The Hunger Games" (one of my favorite book series EVER) meets "The Bachelor." I've never watched an episode of "The Bachelor," but I vaguely know the premise, and this book is a heck of a lot more like "The Bachelor" than "The Hunger Games." It might be marketed as a dystopian YA novel, but I was hesitant to label it that on my own shelves (I ended up doing so, but it took me a while to commit). There are a few mild dystopian themes - a bizarre caste system that makes little to no sense, a monarchy in power instead of a democracy. the United States of America no longer existing (replaced now with the Kingdom of Illéa), some nameless rebels that seem intent on taking down the monarchy for no explained reason except they don't like the monarchy, etc. But when push comes to shove, I don't see much of a dystopian edge to this book.

It's probably because the world building is minuscule at best (this is my major problem with the Divergent series, as well). There's a random "history lesson" thrown into the middle of the book, which tries to explain to the reader, I suppose, what exactly went down to create Illéa, but I really think it muddles things up more than explains them. Other than that, the reader is supposed to just suspend all belief, rationality, and critical thinking skills and just believe whatever the author spoonfeeds the reader. Sorry, I don't work that way. I want to know why, why, why, and I want those answers to make at least some sense, thank you. But the answers in this book are few and far between, and to make them make sense would take some crazy suspension of logic.

Why, for example, is there a rigid caste system in the former USA? Granted, they are at least a few generations removed from a functional democracy, and apparently history is not the Kingdom of Illéa's strong suit (the "instructor" says, at one point, that history isn't something that should be studied but known - and apparently owning a history book about the USA is something, inexplicably, Not Allowed), but still, doesn't ANYONE remember what the United States was like before the Third World War (in which China invades the United States and makes the country its bitch)? Didn't grandmothers and grandfathers pass along stories of "how it used to be" to their grandchildren? Heck, America's family is kind of like the Illéa version of troubadours - don't they have ballads in their repertoire, ballads that are set in the past? No? Why not? The United States was a melting pot of ideas, with over two hundred years of democracy and individual rights, with people standing up for themselves. How does this get erased seemingly overnight? How are these ideas completely lost from the social "memory" of Illéa?

The caste system, at any rate, makes no sense. Even America's young brother, Gerad, hints at this. Gerad is born into the "artist" caste, Five, so he has to find some form of art he's good at eventually. But he's a typical kid, and he just wants to play ball and look at bugs. Why is it because some ancestor of his was good at art, it is assumed that all of that man's progeny will be good at art? Once again, welcome to the land of "this makes no bleeping sense."

And what do the other castes even DO? The Ones are apparently royals; the Twos and Threes are higher ups, but no one really explains what they DO (except for America making some aside that, since she is now a Three since she is part of the Selection, she'd like to be a teacher). What is the real difference between Twos and Threes? Fours work in factories and farms; Fives are artists/musicians/etc. Sixes are servants. Sevens...I'm not sure. I don't think this was ever explained, either. Eights are homeless. So there are three castes out of the eight that the reader has little to no knowledge about, and yet the caste system is Very Important! And if the caste system IS so important, WHY do they allow intermarriage between the castes (including the monarchs, hence the Selection in the first place) and people to "buy themselves up?"

And that leads, sort of, into the monarchy system itself. Apparently, kings and queens have come back into style BIG time since the takeover and collapse of the USA. I'm not sure why, except that it adds drama and excitement to the story for younger readers who don't really care about examining the story in depth. I mean, come on, this story is set in some vague future. Monarchies are dying out in the world today; most of those that do exist only do so as figureheads and not real leaders with real power. And yet the United States, born out of a struggle against an overbearing monarchy, with "no king, no monarchy" thrumming through the veins of the social conscience in America, somehow decided that, hey, maybe monarchy might work after all. Riiiiiiight. Please explain to me how this makes any sense at all. And apparently the former United States, now Illéa, isn't the only country that thought this was a good idea. The King and Queen of Swendway (what a name that is, haha - I assume it's some weird conglomeration of Sweden, Finland, and Norway?) appear to have power, and the royal daughters of Illéa are married off to other monarchs to cement the fragile peace between Illéa and those other countries. But Illéa doesn't take the chance to make more connections with their sons; instead, for some inexplicable reason except Because That Is The Way It Is, those sons marry into the "lower castes." Once again...why?

Well, it's not like the royals are all that smart in the first place; in fact, I think they're probably in the running for the Darwin Awards at some point in their lives. There are, presumably, two groups of rebels who keep trying to (and often successfully do) storm the castle - the Northerners, who are slightly more peaceful and less bloodthirsty, and the Southerners, who are there to kill, destroy, and rape. It isn't exactly clear how long America is in the castle during the book (several weeks), but she sees more than one rebel attack during this time. Damn, those are some mighty puny walls if they keep getting breached all of the time - so badly, in fact, that during the last attack mentioned in the book, the rebels are actually IN the castle and IN the Selected's rooms. So why hasn't someone gotten the bright idea of, oh I don't know, actually building a castle that does more than look pretty? They still have electricity - ever heard of an electric fence? How about building walls so high that they're almost unscalable? How about a moat filled with piranhas or something? Come on, feel free to get a little creative. Metal window shades are obviously NOT working, and neither are the plethora of guards running around the castle.

So, not surprisingly, Prince Maxon is rather an idiot. Part of that, I am sure, is the fact that he's kept in the relatively-easy-to-invade castle for most of his days and isolated from others - so much so, in fact, that he was apparently ignorant that some of the castes have it bad. I mean, geez, come on, you know that there is a WHOLE CASTE THAT IS HOMELESS (Eights), but he figures that they have enough to eat or something. Seriously, he's that dumb. How swoonworthy is that? He's also rather a moron when it comes to dating girls, but that's probably to be expected, since, once again, he's kept relatively isolated from others. In fact, America is his first kiss. So I can forgive him for being hopelessly naive when it comes to dating. As an aside, though, how skeevy is it that Prince Maxon keeps running around calling all of the girls "my dear" and smooching them? Ick. No thanks.

But what really grinds my gears when it comes to Prince Maxon is his insufferable attitude. Yes, he's naive. Yes, he's a royal, and so probably more than a little spoiled and pampered. But his search for a wife is horribly self-centered; he's only concerned about how she will fit into his world. He doesn't seem to care much about her, except that she must love him. And, heaven forbid, she actually has her own opinions! He does, actually, do something when America brings it up to him that there are people out there starving. But when she tries to tell him that Celeste is a viper in the grass, he goes off on America and tells her that he makes the rules around here, so she'd better watch her step. Seriously? I'd be packing my bag and telling him where to shove his attitude.

But Prince Maxon isn't the only one who comes off as a shade misogynistic; in fact, he's one of the "better" ones. Sigh. This whole world is solidly misogynistic. Girls can't have sex before marriage; if they're found out (by ratting, caught in the act, or pregnancy), they are often sent to prison (there's mention of this in the beginning of the book). And Aspen, America's love interest, is a turkey and a half. When America manages to save enough money to buy him a feast, he flips out and breaks up with her because he's the man and he's supposed to be spoiling her. No thank you, no "oh my god you are awesome," no "I love you because you did this for me," no "I am going to take this home to my sisters and mom so they can share in this too." Nope, he man, America woman, America bad. Ick.

But don't worry - America herself is rather insufferable as a character, so I didn't feel TOO bad for her. She is also quite self-centered, and she's one of those horribly cliched characters. She's sooooooo beautiful, but she gets mad when people tell her she is, because she really isn't! And she has suchhhhhhh a hard life (even though her family has a television set, electricity [most of the time], a way to make a living, usually enough food [and enough that she can pass on whatever leftovers remain to Aspen], tea with LEMON [she lives in the former Carolinas, so I am going to presume those are imported from another region], etc). She's also apparently really bad at math, because she seems to think that if she enters the Selection, she'll win. Her mother is also bad at math, because she thinks the same thing.

And what, exactly, is with America's name? The reader is told, right around the weird "history lesson," that the people of the United States of America didn't want to go back to that old name because it had a bad connotation. Or something. Once again, that's not well explained. So they picked Illéa, after a private citizen who helped them win the Fourth World War (don't ask...there really aren't any answers for you). So, why, then, would ANY mother name her child America if that is how the name is viewed in the new Kingdom of Illéa? That's like naming your kid something along the lines of "turdface."

I also don't care for America's attitude. She's a Five, and she loved a Six (who is a member of the servant class), but she seems to think that her maids, all Sixes, just live to serve her and the royal family. Which, I guess they do, but America seems to think that this makes them genuinely happy. Umm. Look, I work in a service-oriented career, and I cannot tell you how many times I have put on my Stepford Wife smile and mentally cursed most of the human race in my head. I am sure real maids would be the same way.

Also, the lack of diversity seriously sucks. There's one brief mention of one of the Selected having ties to New Asia (but it is not clear if she just KNOWS people, if she is related to someone, or what, and it definitely isn't clear if she's actually of Asian heritage or not), but other than that, everyone seems to be pretty damned white. Please. This is the former USA we are talking about, and apparently part of it is comprised of Hondorus and Nicaragua (and then, one could further assume, at least part of Mexico, because how hard would it be to have all of these random pieces of Illéa in North America without any connection at all to one another?). Why isn't there one girl of colour in the Selection? Is there racism as well as caste-ism in Illéa? Honestly, I wouldn't be too surprised at this point.

So, basically, if you can look over all of the glaring contradictions, plot holes, and contrivances, you might be able to enjoy this book. Maybe. Especially if you like boring princes, misogynistic servant boys, and plenty of pretty dresses. I gave the book two stars because I did end up finishing it, and I may, if drunk enough, finish the series at some point in my future. But it was a hard slog. I need something more substantial to read now. ( )
2 vote schatzi | Jan 17, 2015 |
Wow. This was so bad it's funny. No, seriously. I don't recommend you try it, but I may keep reading these books. ( )
1 vote IsaboeOfLumatere | Jan 14, 2015 |
America is chosen to compete for Maxon heart in the selection. She must say goodbye to everyone, including her boyfriend, Aspen. America started to go on a lot of dates With Maxon and she seemed to like him. Maxon started to kick girls out. The castle got attacked a lot and a lot of girls had asked to leave. in the end there was supposed to be 10 girls but there ended up only being 6 girls. America is one of them.
This book was amazing. I think all girls should read it. I gave it five stars because it was one of the best books I have ever read. I wish the book was mine so I could read it over and over again. now I need to move on to the next book, which I think will be great. ( )
  HaleyC.B4 | Jan 12, 2015 |
Another dystopian young adult trilogy with castes and a teenagers opportunity to elevate her whole family from poverty... but at the cost of true love? ( )
  asawyer | Dec 31, 2014 |
Can't wait for the The Elite!!!!!! I've already started wishing my life away to get to 2013 to read the next book. ( )
  sjerrolds | Dec 15, 2014 |
"The Hunger Games" meets "The Bachelor"
  DaffiMere | Dec 13, 2014 |
(unknown level)
  mshampson | Dec 12, 2014 |
My friend Susan got two of these books and was nice enough to offer me up a copy. I read it last night in one sitting. As far as dystopian worlds go this one was pretty easy to grasp and understand. I liked the subtle shifts in world power that caused the creation of this new land. I also thought that this book has some Hunger Games undertones.

America is independent but not so far as to forget her family. I like that about her, she knows (or at least has a pretty good idea) of what she wants and does the selection only for her family (well, and Aspen's) sake. I enjoyed Maxon al ot, he was not at all the way I started out the book thinking he was. I fell more in love with him than I did with Aspen...even though they are both dreamy in their own ways.

The plot moved rather fast although I would liked to see Maxon get rid of more girls early just for things I felt they were doing that he shouldn't have put up with. I enjoyed the emotional growth between Maxon and America as well, it was slow and sweet.

On those very positive notes...I HATE cliffhangers...HATE HATE HATE! I am so tired of them I want to scream every time I read a YA book these days. Maybe this book ending could be called a happy-for-now but ti stops at a critical part for all the main characters and that is my definition of a cliffhanger. I will read the next one only because I am dying to know who Maxon chooses.

This book is a cross between The Hunger Games and The Bachelor. Decently written and engrossing. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
I loved this book. I just can't help myself when it comes to dystopian young adult books. America is a great character and Cass makes her feel like a 'real' teen - just one in a different world. I can feel America's uncertainity, and I feel the unfairness of the whole institution of selection, even if its not actually brought up in the book that much. But then again - by not talking about how weird/strange it is Cass really puts the reader in the world of Illéa.

I'm truly baffeled by the mixed reviews this book has recieved. I'm an adult who enjoys YA books, I read them because they are entertaining - that's it. Its a nice way to spend an hour or so. I'm not concerned with the moral or anthing like that - I want to be able to block out the fat man sitting next to me on the train while I commute. If you like YA distopian books and a good time read The Selection, if you take life too seriously then don't read it. ( )
  sscarllet | Nov 20, 2014 |
Much better than I thought it would be! I was reluctant to read this book for a long time because I didn't care for the concept of a bunch of girls fighting over a prince (I'm a feminist, thank you very much!). But a good friend highly recommended it and so I put myself on the (very long) library hold list for this book. It was a good read, very typical of the YA dystopian genre, but also very readable and with a likable narrator. I can't wait to continue the series! ( )
  wagner.sarah35 | Oct 26, 2014 |
The Selection goes with a very
elegant cover. Apparantly, the looks
can be deceiving.

I just can't figure it out that this
book gets a very high rating. It's
terrible.

This one is mash-up between the
The Hunger Games girlified Version!
and The Bachelor which is awful.

I finished the entire book at exactly
1:56 A.M. and just wasted my time.
But somehow, I managed to enjoy
it.

Since the plot is very alike with the
The Hunger Games. Why not put all
the 35 Selecteds into hunting and
killing each other and the last girl
standing will be the One? Just
kidding. ( )
  Perco | Oct 11, 2014 |
I don't know if YA is getting more predictable or if I've somehow just become a snob, but I miss being surprised, and I saw the end coming maybe fifty pages in. It's really disheartening because I love the genre, I love dystopian novels, but I'm starting to wonder if it's all really played out and I should move on to more "adult" reading material like my age begs me to do.

I really wanted to love this book. I really did. It was simply too slow, too boring, too fluffy without any solid substance behind it at all, and with the main character having the absolute stupidest name I've ever heard, I just couldn't. The book tried, I tried, but we both fell incredibly short.

Excuse my while I go twirl my fork menacingly. *snort* ( )
  readstolive | Sep 25, 2014 |
I thought I would hate this, mainly because it has a lot of things that I don't like. I don't like love triangles...actually, I really hate love triangles. It's one of my biggest pet peeves when it comes to Young Adult novels. Why does there have to be two guys? Why? What's wrong with just liking one person and leaving it at that?

I also was wary of the Bachelor like theme. I've sadly seen one episode of the horrid show and I kind of find it incredibly distasteful and gross. Maybe it's because the guy (or girl) is in a massive love triangle.

Anyways, despite my misgivings I decided to read the book and it wasn't that bad. In fact, I liked it for the most part.

America Singer lives in a dystopian like world where people are categorized by numbers. The higher the number you have, the better you life will be. Also, your number determines what kind of carry you have. Fives, like America 's family, are entertainers. While Sixes, are servers.

Which brings us to boy number one in America's love triangle, Aspen, who is a Six. (Aspen, America...I see what you did there). America doesn't care that he's a Six, her family would be against it, and he doesn't like that America would probably provide for him more than he provides for her. Plus there is a law that tries to limit people from doing this.

Boy number two is Prince Maxon. He's holding a Bachelor like game, where girls around the kingdom have a chance to be proposed by him. America signs up, because Aspen told her to, and is chosen. America and Aspen break up, America goes to the castle, and starts to develop feelings for Maxon.

Now the triangle is complete.

America, for the most part, is focused on one guy during the novel and I did like her growing friendship with Maxon. I would have been fine if the novel focused more on this and America's growing feelings for him.

Some of the things that I found odd:

After America lets Maxon know that she's in love with someone else, she makes a deal with him. He keeps her at the palace for as long he needs her to be there for the Selection and in return, she'll give him insider information on the girls. It sounds like a fine deal to me, only America avoids most of the girls and the conversations she has with Maxon is almost never about them.

Sadly, this did bug me a bit because I wanted to see America interact with the girls. But we never really see that. A lot of the girls are interchangeable and for the most part I didn't really care for them.

And then there was..

While reading the novel, I felt like Aspen would show up during America's selection process. This was a given. I did think he would have some ties to the rebels, which would cause America to choose whether she wants to support the kingdom and Maxon, or the support the rebels/freedom and Aspen.

Instead, the book ends in a cliffhanger. Maxon doesn't even pick a girl by the end. This was disappointing, because for the most part I did enjoy this novel but then it ends abruptly. It didn't even feel like a full novel because of that.

I will probably read the next book to see if Aspen and Maxon go head to head...for the kingdom and not America. ( )
  pdbkwm | Sep 8, 2014 |
Amazing start to the series. I really enjoyed the different characters and learning about them. America is definitely a strong main character and I loved reading about her relationships with different characters in the book, especially Marlee and Maxon. ( )
  forsakenfates | Aug 25, 2014 |
The plot of this book is obvious and predictable. I detest shows like The Bachelor and Bachelorette so I avoided this because that's just what the premise is. 35 girls, 1 crown to be won.

The main character has an air of something....annoying about her. (And a rather annoying name, usually if I don't like a character name I won't read the book but I got this from Amazon when I was drunk). Despite the annoyance of the characters, and the asinine plot, its actually a very compelling read.

I was admittedly ready to dislike the price as on first meeting he came across as a pompous asshole. His character did develop quite well throughout the story, he had a personality and mind and wasn't a card board cut out swooner. The world building was interesting as well, its a dystopian but there was a rather well thought out reasoning and history as to how to the world came to be.

I'm not sure its the smartest way to find a Crown Princess, but admittedly this is a guilty pleasure read for me. Its annoying, but impossible to stop reading. I had to go out and get the other two books in the series, one paperback, one hardback and wound up getting the Selection again in paperback so I could have the complete set.

I know how it ends, but I'm still looking forward to the in-between book to see how the plot develops. ( )
2 vote sunset_x_cocktail | Aug 20, 2014 |
I expected a little more from this. I felt like I only got 3/4 of a book. What is it with people needing to have a trilogy? ( )
1 vote Mirandalg14 | Aug 18, 2014 |
35 Girls. 1 Crown. The Competition of a Lifetime.

Kiera Cass' The Selection series is a romance/drama/fairy tale story with a reality show premise. The first book is called The Selection and was published in 2012 by HarperTeen. Aimed at teen readers, this three book series now has a companion novel and is sure to charm teen fans who like a girly romance that will unconditionally end with a happily ever after.

I'm not particularly fond of America Singer, but the colourful cast of girls and handsome Prince Maxon make up for America's sometimes irritating quirks. Regardless, the books are a bit of delicious treat. An easy, no-stress read of an average girl who is given the chance to marry Prince Charming. The premise of the series is an interesting one—it's why The Bachelor still thrives on TV!

I flew through the first two novels and am about to start on the third. It's not my favourite series, but Kiera Cass is a fantastic author who appeals to teen girl readers who love a good love triangle and a match-up of a girl who could be you, who ends up marrying the perfect guy. As a YA fan, this is more of a guilty pleasure for me and my dislike of the heroine pulls down my overall rating. However, I can certainly attest to the fact that preteens who like this type of story will enjoy this series!

A well-written series choice for teens!

3 Stars ( )
  loveofreading | Aug 2, 2014 |
I really enjoyed the writing in this book. I loved America's character, she is such a sweetheart. I especially like how she treated her maids. This book has quite the love triangle though. Personally I'm rooting for Maxon as the series continues. I am really happy to say that this book didn't get as catty as I expected it to. 35 girls fighting over 1 guy, I expected more of a cat fight.

I think Maxon is a great guy, even though he is the prince he has insecurities. I like that he isn't super cocky and he's actually pretty down to earth. He has a good heart and I want America to fall in love with him.

Aspen on the other hand... I think that he's selfless in the way that he didn't want to bring America down because of the caste system. But I also think that love can be greedy, and that it was America's decision on whether or not she cared about the caste system. I think that in making that decision for her he no longer has any right to fight for her. You can't break someone's heart and then change your mind. You gave her up, so let her move on. You jerk.

I can't wait to read the next book. Kiera Cass is a really good writer, this book flowed really well and was never dull. I hope to read a lot more by her. ( )
  manka23 | Jul 29, 2014 |
The first sentence: “When we got the letter in the post, my mother was ecstatic.”

Thoughts from the first and second chapter:

The writing style (first person, again) and voice pulls you in very quickly. Also you’re wondering about what the talk of numbers has to do with this story, and so you easily flip through the pages to understand what she’s going on about with a letter and royalty. She doesn't want to be a One. Umm, why not? Do these main characters never want the super, amazing, special thing/position ever in books? Doesn't seem like it. Oh, and yes, another female character who denies her beauty, but it’s sooo obvious to everyone else. The secret boyfriend: Uhh..okay? Will this turn into some kind of a love triangle or what? And apparently.

Main Character: America Singer (Yeah, really).

I have no problems with names, usually. America was a pretty common name for girls at some point in history. I have a few Americas in my family tree and so do a lot of other people, but does it make sense in this story where the country itself doesn't exist anymore? Maybe or maybe not, depending on what you want to believe.

The Plot: Well, it’s a fairly simple one. 35 girls compete to become the prince’s wife. Although, it really wasn't much of a competition or so it seemed to me. America didn't really have to try and she didn't.

The other characters:

America’s family: I liked them for the most part. I could understand why her mother wanted her to join the competition. A chance for a better life.

Aspen: I didn’t get why he wanted America to join the competition. That whole what if excuse didn’t work for me. For some reason I just didn’t like him at all.

Prince Maxon: I do like this character, but I wonder how he didn’t know that the lower caste people were going hungry and stealing to provide for their families in the first place.

Princess wannabes: Most of them, well, were meant to be unlikable. Celeste for example. She was a total witch with a capital B.

Annoying Things: A competition was promised, but there wasn't much past a few angry glares and whispering behind America’s back, let alone a real competition where they do more than just take pictures and whatever. Aspen, I couldn't stand him for some reason.

Overall: This book was entertaining for what it was. The issues with this book can be pretty easily ignored for just the quickness of the read and the entertainment factor.
Also I ship Prince Maxon and America.

Will I read the other two books: 50/50 chance. It was good, but not enough to excite me to continue. ( )
  CinaChilders | Jul 27, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 185 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
236 wanted5 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.78)
0.5
1 19
1.5 1
2 40
2.5 7
3 116
3.5 28
4 158
4.5 17
5 153

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,566,899 books! | Top bar: Always visible