Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Selection (Selection - Trilogy) by Kiera…

The Selection (Selection - Trilogy) (edition 2012)

by Kiera Cass

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,7892223,918 (3.81)63
Review by Sliced Open Reviews

Note: adding book to my fav reads of 2012!

While I could use so many words to describe this book, but I won’t flood you with one word descriptions...so here we go.

The Selection gripped me from the opening chapter, I *accidentally* started reading this at work while getting my Nook library organized and it was the biggest *accident* I could ever make. I read chapter 1 one while sitting at my desk on lunch, and then, almost went into hysterics while waiting for 5 o’clock to come so I could go home and get my Nook and curl up on my bed and read. I did just that and was so angry when it ended. I don’t just want book two I NEED it, with a need so bad that I’m not sure how I will make it to next year, but I will try.

Kiera Cass floored me, her writing and relationship building was by far some of the best I have seen in some time, and with this book she is defiantly making my top loved authors list. When I read the blurb a couple months back I vaguely remembered it until it popped up as downloading on my Nook (I know Kiera you can kick me for that later).

I usually HATE love triangles in a book, but I almost think Kiera Cass took everyone’s feelings into consideration while writing this, she didn’t make your typical, girl likes boy, boy likes girl, girl finds other boy she likes, other boy likes girl, and OH NO boy hates other boy. While she does follow some of that, the book wasn’t centered on it, it was the building of Relationship between America and Aspen and America and Maxon, which is how it should be. Dare I say, Cass did the love triangle right, YAY!

This was not your typical Dystopian novel, while we are used to being tossed into the horrible society in a dystopian and the carried away through the characters life and learning and growth in their said society, this novel shows you how the society works but then you follow America through her journey in the “Selection” so little to no grueling battles or fiery towns or running from the law, which is not a bad thing, it was actually quite refreshing if you ask me!

So now I am going to go scream from the roof tops that everyone should go out a buy this book and read it, then, they too can go scream from the roof tops, this may hold us all over until the next book...Well Done Kiera, well done! ( )
  KimberlySlicedOpen | May 20, 2012 |
English (214)  German (1)  All languages (215)
Showing 1-25 of 214 (next | show all)
Clearly a lot of people didn't like this book, judging from the poor reviews I've seen, but I enjoyed it. Was it great literature? No. Was it a completely unique and original idea? No, not really. It was, like many YA books these days, set in a future dystopia where castes exist, except they are known as numbers with 1 being Royalty and the richest classes and 8 being the lowest of the low. When the royal Prince comes of age, every young lady of age in the country can apply to enter a competition to try to win the Prince's heart. This competition is called The Selection and from all the applicants, 36 girls are chosen. Taken from their families, they are sent to the palace to be taught royal etiquette, clothed in bespoke gowns and worked on by the best makeup and hair stylists to an effort to try to catch the Prince's attention. Their families are compensated with money for the time they are away, and The Selection is watched by the entire country on weekly tv reports that include segments about each girl and her unique talents, her background and family, and as time goes by, interviews with the girls themselves and even the Prince. The citizens root for different girls, hoping their favourite will win.

Meanwhile, rebels from both the North and the South, who are trying to overthrow the Monarchy are mounting attacks on the palace, making it a dangerous place to be in spite of all the luxury and guards. America Singer is a musician from a caste 5 family of artists and one of those chosen to attend The Selection. Unlike her fellow competitors, America isn't there to try and win the love of the Prince. Her family needs the financial compensation, and she is trying to get away from someone who broke her heart.

The fact that the book was kind of a mashup between the Hunger Games and The Bachelor didn't bother me at all. I thought the writing was quite good and the book held my interest and kept me turning the pages. Yes, there were some cliche moments, but everything felt like it fit well into the characters personalities and ages, including America's confusion about what she really wants and why. She's not an empty-headed wannabe princess, but a young woman with a passionate heart who cares about other people and is wiling to stand up and fight for what she believes is right. The Prince still feels like a bit of an unknown and I hope we get to know him better in the books to come. Sometimes he comes off as a little stiff and two-dimensional, although there have been moments when it seemed like a real person peeked out that had some depth and conscience. Clearly America is a good influence on him, but with her feelings more than a little mixed up when her former love shows up, she's caught in a dangerous game that could easily go very wrong.

I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series to see what happens next. ( )
  LongDogMom | Nov 20, 2015 |
Egalley thanks to Harper Collins UK
To be honest, this book would have easily gotten 8.5/10 but the ending totally pissed me off.

It's fun, it's highly entertaining, romantic and visual. I even agreed with America's decision and rooted for prince Maxon all the way. She was way too condescending to poor guy, and don't get me started on her ex. He was effing unbelievable. As in unbelievably stupid.

Let's tell poor America that it's all over, break her heart because so sorry! I can't provide for you and I won't take anything from you. Well, eff you too, my dear boy! Then when involvement with her will condemn both of them to treason, he can't care less again and pursue the girl.

You know what this tells me of? Utter and pure selfishness. I would be extremely disappointed if he ever becomes a part of the cursed love triangle...

Now the competition is fun, the palace with its luscious meals, gowns and friendly servants reads like a fairy tale despite a vague threat of rebels, who like the bogeymen we hear about but never encounter. Even the mean and friendly girls are not too mean and friendly.

Maxon is likeable, America is tolerable and what's his name? Aspen - forgettable. I don't even know why the author made all that fuss about poor Wendy's review on Goodreads when it haven't harmed the popularity of her book in any way.

As to the end, it simply sucked. There is no conclusion, no round up of anything, it just ends metaphorically speaking in the middle of the sentence.

I don't like cliffhangers, but tolerate them, but this is an even more shameless try to ensure that we'll buy the next book, and nobody likes to be used or manipulated so blatantly. So yeah, read it but bear in mind that the ending will be disappointing.

Similar reads: The Pledge by Kimberly Derting, Savor by Megan Duncan ( )
  kara-karina | Nov 20, 2015 |
Okay. Where to start with this one? I could literally go on forever about how awful it was.

Here, I'm just going to summarize:

1.) Terrible writing - This book was very poorly written. Rather juvenile stylistically. Almost all the descriptions were telling instead of showing, and the book couldn't define a setting to save its life. I have no idea what any of the major locations in the book actually looked like.

2.) Terrible structure - The beginning of this book dragged on forever; it started WAY too early in the story's timeline. The inciting event didn't even take place until about 20% of the way in.

3.) Terrible protagonist - "America Singer" was so Mary Sue-ish, I wanted to slap her half the time. And there was nothing about her character I found compelling.

4.) Cliches - Good Lord, the number of cliches in this book...

5.) Poorly developed dystopian world - Yet again; one of my biggest issues with YA Dystopian. And this time around, it was bad NOT because the author didn't explain its origins but because its origins were...well...STUPID. I have never heard anything more ridiculous than the explanation for the creation of the dystopian country in this book. It makes no sense whatsoever.

6.) Love Triangle - Enough said. I'm tired of talking about crappy love triangles.

7.) Repetitiveness - The events in this book just went around and around and around, with almost identical things happening over and over again in slightly different contexts.

8.) Poorly developed rebellion - Why is this a running theme with YA Dystopian?

9.) The sexism - There's a heaping pile of sexism in this "dystopian" society. And its existence is, of course, NEVER explained. Not once.



1.) Witty Banter between Maxon and America - what kept me reading.

And...that was it. That was the only thing I liked about the entire story. Yeah.


Overall, for me, this was just a badly written, cliche-riddled, extremely boring excuse for a YA Dystopian novel. I have never rolled my eyes so many times reading a book as I did in the first HALF of this book. The funny dialogue between the two main characters might have kept me going, but that doesn't mean I didn't loathe the rest of the book. It was...bad. There was no other way to put it. The plot wasn't compelling. The dystopian environment wasn't interesting. Most of the characters were horribly cliched or just poorly characterized. The writing didn't hook me.

I give this 2 stars for the occasionally witty dialogue (and the pretty cover).



2/5 ( )
  ClaraCoulson | Nov 16, 2015 |
My friend Susan got two of these books and was nice enough to offer me up a copy. I read it last night in one sitting. As far as dystopian worlds go this one was pretty easy to grasp and understand. I liked the subtle shifts in world power that caused the creation of this new land. I also thought that this book has some Hunger Games undertones.

America is independent but not so far as to forget her family. I like that about her, she knows (or at least has a pretty good idea) of what she wants and does the selection only for her family (well, and Aspen's) sake. I enjoyed Maxon al ot, he was not at all the way I started out the book thinking he was. I fell more in love with him than I did with Aspen...even though they are both dreamy in their own ways.

The plot moved rather fast although I would liked to see Maxon get rid of more girls early just for things I felt they were doing that he shouldn't have put up with. I enjoyed the emotional growth between Maxon and America as well, it was slow and sweet.

On those very positive notes...I HATE cliffhangers...HATE HATE HATE! I am so tired of them I want to scream every time I read a YA book these days. Maybe this book ending could be called a happy-for-now but ti stops at a critical part for all the main characters and that is my definition of a cliffhanger. I will read the next one only because I am dying to know who Maxon chooses.

This book is a cross between The Hunger Games and The Bachelor. Decently written and engrossing. ( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 12, 2015 |
In the Selection series book one it started with a girl named America Singer who got a letter saying she was allegeable to apply for the selection. The selection was where single girls from the age of sixteen to twenty were randomly drawn out of the applicants to come to the palace and compete for the prince’s heart. Only thirty five girls would be picked. America didn’t want to compete for the selection for she was in love with a boy named Aspen and didn’t like the prince in the first place. One night though Aspen and America met in the tree house and he told her to compete and dumped her because he knew he couldn’t provide for her if they got married and had a family because he was a six and she was a seven (the country Illea had a caste system where the higher number was worse than lower numbers, eight being homeless and one being rich). So she applied and her mother was happy about it even though it didn’t really matter because what were the chances she’d be picked? Well she was. A few weeks later she was on a plane to the palace with a few other girls where she made two friends and an enemy. She didn’t want to be there and had a meltdown the first night where she met the prince and yelled at him. He was nice enough to keep her there and they became friends and she offered to help him find a wife since she wasn’t interested. So they went on and girls were starting to get sent home. One day they did an interview on live TV and after that they shared their first kiss and she started to realize she liked him. Unfortunately one of the new guards happen to be her ex-boyfriend who wanted to try and win her back. Of course her heart ached because she couldn’t decide who she rather be with. While the selection was still going on there had been two attacks on the palace by rebels. The prince decided to send thirteen girls home for their safety and turn the selection into the Elite. America was one of them.
I actually really enjoyed this book. I really liked its point of view because all the other books I read don’t come from exactly what she sees, tastes, feels, hear, and smells and that’s it. The reason I only gave this book four stars was because the names of the characters in this book really bothered me for some reason. Otherwise the story line was good and the author did a really good job at describing everything America felt. I honestly am on my toes for the next book in the series called The Elite.
  tessal.b1 | Nov 1, 2015 |
Note: No spoilers for Book One

For me, reading these books was like when I am in the mood for cookies, and don’t have the best cookies around, but keep eating what is there because I want cookies.

This is a five-book series that begins with a selection being held in Illéa (part of the former United States - this book takes place after World War IV) for a wife for Prince Maxon. All girls between the ages of 16 and 20 are eligible to apply, and 35 will be selected for the initial competition.

America Singer is 17, and her mother encourages her to apply, because if she gets selected, it will mean extra food for the family. The Singer family is in the Fifth Caste and times are often rough. Society is divided into eight castes, with the highest being One, designating the Royal Family. America says she doesn’t mind being a Five, except when they go hungry. But her mother is a “caste climber” and wants more for America.

America’s ambition is “not to be Illéa’s princess. To be Aspen’s.” Aspen Leger is a Six (“Sixes are born to serve”), but America loves him. They carry on a secret romance in her tree house. Castes are encouraged to marry within their own caste, but it’s not impossible to marry a step below or above, although it’s not easy.

Aspen decides he won’t make America be a Six, and breaks up with her. Just afterwards, America finds out she has made the cut for the initial selection. She is immediately elevated to a Three, although her family remains Fives. (If she wins, she and her entire family will become Ones as members of the royal family.)

America takes off for the palace in Angeles, meets the other contestants, their handlers, and their maids (each girl gets three to prepare her dresses, make-up, and so on).

On her first night in the palace, America gets claustrophobic and runs out into the gardens. There she meets Maxon for the first time, and she vents to him about how much she hates this whole process. She also tells him her heart lies elsewhere, even though Aspen broke up with her. She asks him to let her stay anyway, because she couldn’t face Aspen and anyway her family needs the money. She says that if he lets her stay, she will be a friend and help him decide among the other girls. He accepts.

The girls have to pass through various hurdles, including avoiding the desire to kill each other. But there are external enemies as well. As the story progresses, the palace is attacked several times by rebels - there are both northern rebels and southern rebels; the Northerners are more benign than the Southerners, but both cause panic in the palace.

America begins to think Maxon is a pretty good guy, and that she could even fall in love with him. But then she gets a surprise when a new staff member shows up at the palace and she is once more confused.

As the book ends, Maxon narrows the selection of girls down to the Elite - the final six.

Evaluation: The book and its successors read like fan fiction (in a mashup of The Bachelor, Hunger Games, Matched, and the like) and aren’t very well-written, but they’re still as addictive as even not-your-favorite cookies. Besides, I would read these books for their covers alone! ( )
  nbmars | Oct 28, 2015 |
  Bookman1954 | Oct 23, 2015 |
Fantastic read and now one of my faves, read it super fast because it was so difficult to put down!! This book mostly consists of the main character working through emotions, but there is just enough mysterious detail about other things happening around her to make you go WUT I NEED TO KNOW MORE. I like that America (main) takes no crap from anyone no matter what "caste" they are in... but it is definitely frustrating when she reverts to her silly teenagerisms. D: ( )
  kirako | Oct 20, 2015 |
After I finished this book, my sister asked me what I thought and this was the gist of what I said:

My name is Thailand Sleeper. I live in a little province called Lovely in the Kingdom of Thainalaysia (which, according to the history I'm supposed to just know and not learn, used to be separate countries called Thailand, China, and Malaysia). I have a very helpful desk... I'm pretty sure it just sprouted arms and typed this all up for me. This book, on occasions, also made me shake a thoughtful but menacing foot at it (which was a very interesting look for my foot, btw).

My sister looked at me like I had gone crazy, and all I could do was shrug. I guess it doesn't bode well when my strongest impressions of the book are the hilarious naming sense, strange uses of adjectives, awkward sentences, and terrible world-building.

I debated whether to give this a 1-star rating, but I don't actually hate the book at all. Overall, it was underwhelming, baffling, and mildly entertaining at times - though according to my thoughtful brain, I was likely entertained for all the wrong reasons.

The ending, however, was something I was frustrated with. I kept waiting for something to happen, for the story to move. And then when it looked like it might finally start to get somewhere, it ended. Yeah, ugh.

The thing is, to me, this book is the kind that requires deactivation of brain cells to enjoy. Since I was looking for something brainless to read, I suppose it worked out. Somewhat. It's just that the book is missing a plot, and it would have been nice if that was included. In the end, all I got was a long setup with zero resolution. I felt jibbed.

Apparently, I have to read the next book to get to the meat... except it appears to be mainly about the worst things I hate in love triangles (if the reviews are to be believed). Does that mean things aren't actually going to move at all until the third book? I shudder.

What to do.
( )
1 vote colorwalk | Oct 6, 2015 |
The selection is about a girl named America Singer; she is a five in the caste system. One is the highest you can be in the caste system which is what Prince Maxon was. America has a boyfriend named Aspen who is a six. The selection is where Prince Maxon chooses thirty-five girls to come to Illea and he will choose one to be his wife. Aspen has forced America to join the selection and put her name in because he doesn't think he will give her the life she deserves. So America puts her name in and she gets chosen as one of the thirty-five girls. Once she is gotten to Ilea she gets to know some of the girls and Prince Maxon. So they began to like each other. At the end of the book there are six remaining and will it be America?
My opinion on the book was I thought it was a great book. I liked how you can get to know the characters and see how they feel. Also, I like how the story is really detailed and put good thought into the story. Also, its not just about the Selection its also about the wars that are happening at the time and who our enemies are. It can also make the reader feel sad or happy or even nervous because the reader will get into the book because there are so many questions that you want to be answered. The book is also cliff hanging at the end so you will be very frustrated at the end of the book. That is my opinion on the book The Selection. ( )
  DarlaF.B1 | Oct 1, 2015 |
This is teen age chic lit. As long as that is what you are looking for, you won't be disappointed. If you are looking for dystopian fiction, look somewhere else. The dystopian elements seem to be there because otherwise how could you have American girls competing on television to marry the prince? Even the explanation of the background seem to be explanations put in because the editors insisted. ( )
  MarthaJeanne | Sep 21, 2015 |
Okay, the idea of The Bachelor meets The Hunger Games is pretty fun. Like the latter, this satirizes our current reality TV obsession by building a dystopian society that relies on it for some crucial function—in this case, choosing a princess and wife for the heir to the throne. America Singer is one of 35 girls chosen for “the Selection.” She admits to Prince Maxon that she’s not at all interested in marrying him, but convinces him to keep her around as a friend.

Fluff aside, there’s an emphasis on purity here that is disturbing. Premarital sex is illegal (and birth control not available to the lower castes). The girls in the Selection (aged between 16 and 20, because that’s the perfect age for getting hitched, right?) must swear that they are virgins, but are told that they should not refuse any, ah, requests that might come their way from the Prince, leaving America to worry that she might return home, I kid you not, “used and unwanted.” Yikes. (Not to worry—he’s a gentleman.)

I just can’t put this trash down, though. Have already ordered next one from library. ( )
  jholcomb | Sep 7, 2015 |
I can understand why so many people didn't "get" this book. It is a fairy tale in the most sincerest form with just a bit of modern craziness thrown in.
The caste system wouldn't be understood by people who have grown up with big screen televisions, opulent parties, new clothes whenever they feel like it and positively tons of wasted food.
The caste system exists now. It's just not a big part of the rules.
I applaud Kiera Cass! This is a tremendous story! It flows beautifully and the characters are incredibly real.
Can't wait to get into The Elite! ( )
  JCMorrows | Aug 25, 2015 |
TV''s The Bachelor fuses with Fox's I want to marry (Prince) Harry fuses with Princess for a Day in this highly-romantic novel. America, a spunky redhead is the lowest caste member (#5) "chosen" to participate in the The Selection, that is the contest , to become the new Princess and Future Queen of Illea. America's not interested in the prince as her heart has already been captured by the darkly handsome Asper (shades of Heathcliff!) who is in an even lower caste (#6) and even though they're crazy about each other (the lovemaking is strictly PG) he will sacrifice their future together so she can have a better life (huh?) A nice read for future Harlequin Romance addicts. ( )
  mjspear | Aug 10, 2015 |
3.5/5 stars
I post all my reviews to athroneofbooks.booklikes.com

“One can never help being born into perfection.”

World’s worst character name goes to...*Drumroll*…America Singer! Congratulations Mer, you earned it. It took me pretty much the whole book to adjust to her name. And FINALLY around 60% they give a reason for why she was named America. Makes it much easier for me to deal with, even though it didn’t make me hate her name any less. Of course there’s much more to a book than character names.

The banter and conversations between America and Maxon felt fun to me. They sound like countless conversations I’ve had in my life. I read a few reviews that called the dialogue unrealistic and I just laughed. Maybe to you, but not to me.

My guilty pleasure has always been reality tv. I have a habit of saying oh goodness that show looks stupid, then proceeding to put it on and bingewatch the whole season. When I heard what this was about I was so excited, reality tv in a book? Count me in! I can see why people may have found the book unlikable or annoying but it was fun for me. It was my guilty pleasure in a whole new form. The contestants you root for and the ones you want to stab are in the book. And with the setting being a competition you always wonder if you can really trust the others.

My only big complaint about the book was how long it took to get a real description of how the world came into being. I believe it was at 63% before they explained everything that had happened to create the new world Illea. Up until that point I was like I love this, but how the hell did it come to this caste system and monarchy in what used to be the USA?

Even if I hated every other aspect of the book, which I didn’t, I would have still loved Maxon. He’s sweet, clueless, funny, and next in line to rule the country. I felt like another contestant who was unnoticed by the prince and was jealous of all the attention he gave to America. NOTICE ME MAXON, PLEASE!

Yes a lot of people stated that this is a book that’s all fluff, no substance. Sometimes that’s what I want. I had a shitty week and wanted to enjoy a book, get lost in a world where I’m not cleaning floors and having back pain. And this book did that. I don’t generally pick up a YA reality tv-esque book when I want substance. Though I wouldn’t be upset if it offered that as well. So to sum up, this book brought me the relaxing evening away from my worries that I was hoping for when I opened it up. ( )
  MarandaNicole | Jul 15, 2015 |
Interesting concept, the prince having to choose his wife from a selection of 35 girls. There were some problems with the writing; very simple, short cuts, lack of development in characters, very predictable and sometimes just all over the place yet I found myself entertained and intrigued and enjoyed it in spite of all that. ( )
  maggie1961 | Jul 10, 2015 |
(This review is a synopsis of the 3 book series, but doesn't contain major spoilers.)

First of all — how beautiful are these covers? Honestly, they are breathtaking.

In Illéa’s caste system, America Singer is a 5. That means that she, and her family, must find a career in the arts (regardless of the demand for their craft). America is lucky enough to have a beautiful singing voice and she loves to play instruments, so she doesn’t seem to mind too much. Illéa is a newly formed country set in the future consisting of North America and Latin America. The country is ruled by King Clarkson and Queen Amberly. They have a single heir, Maxon, and he has finally come of age. Unlike princesses, who are married off into other royal families, princes get to participate in the “Selection.” (Think The Bachelor, but with citizens of Illéa.)

America doesn’t want to sign up because she has a secret love — Aspen. But the Selection will pay her poor family for participating, and Aspen insists that she try to have a chance at a better life. Marrying Aspen would downgrade her to a 6, only two steps away from homelessness and poverty. On the other hand, marrying Prince Maxon would make her a One, the highest caste in Illéa. When America is chosen to participate out of thousands of eligible young women, her family is ecstatic — the complete opposite of her feelings.

America enters the glamorous, regal life of the royal family, and must compete with 34 other daughters of Illéa for the heart of Prince Maxon. At first, she isn’t interested. Why would she want some stuck-up prince when she has someone waiting for her at home? But Maxon isn’t what he seems, and it changes America’s plans…

The first three books, The Selection, The Elite, and The One, embody the entirety of Prince Maxon’s Selection (the Elite are the top six, the One is the one he chooses). The books are filled with butterfly-in-stomach romance, catty girlfights, love triangles, and surprisingly some political strife. America grows with each book, becoming more and more of what Illéa needs in a Princess — but will she be the One Prince Maxon chooses?

I purchased this in a beautiful 3-book box set that included a bonus from the novellas that Kiera Cass wrote from different characters’ points of view. I read these three books in record time — they were day-dreamy guilty pleasure reads, and I found myself continuously lost in world of Illéa. ( )
  Ellie.Pelto | Jul 7, 2015 |
The Selection is one of my favorite books. There are many, many reasons for this. I love the plot, the characters, the writing style, and the world Kiera Cass has created. What I would give to live in America's shoes!

Although I wasn't thrilled in the very beginning because quickly a love triangle was formed, it was soon revealed that the love triangle could easily be overlooked. They don't bring it up very often and one of the boys isn't even really mentioned until the end.

Kiera created characters like America Singer, a stubborn red head who is in caste 5 and because of this works as a singer and a dancer, the alternative being an artist. Then there is her secret boyfriend Aspen Leger, a caste 6 who wants nothing but the best for the girls in his life, him being raised one of the poorest castes. Lastly, (that I'm going to talk about, there are many, many other characters you can come to love and adore but I decided to only speak of the main three) there is Prince Maxon Schreave, the boy America will have to fall in love with to become Princess. He is holding the Selection in these books and is looking for a wife. He is sweet and poetic and good humored. He's like any other boy, just more oblivious and open to more resources.

Don't even get me started on Kiera's writing! It was understandable, which is good. Not like classics where there is a whole page dedicated to how metaphoric and descriptive the texture of a blade of grass can be with all those old, fancy words, this book uses common yet descriptive words most people understand and makes sure nothing is running on. Also, she only adds relevant parts. I don't recall thinking, "Ugh, this scene is so irrelevant, why do I care?" Not to mention, it was a fairly simple read. If you had the time, you could read it in a single sitting.

So basically, a book about a relatable poor girl who gets chosen to live in a castle and learn to live like a princess while being stuck in a love triangle sounds pretty fantastic. I don't think I ever will not give this five stars. ( )
  BooksWithABrunette | Jun 27, 2015 |
When America Singer is chosen, along with thirty four other girls, to compete for the hand of the prince, she finds herself torn between a hometown sweetheart and the intoxicating palace life. A la bachelor style, Prince Maxon wines and dines the girls, occasionally eliminating one or two from the competition. America, despite her lack of interest, finds herself drawn to the Prince.

I had a blast reading this book. Yes, it was simplistic, yes it wasn't very in-depth, but it was appealing, interesting and fast-paced. Overall, a great beach book, weekend book, or just something to sit back and relax with. ( )
  JanaRose1 | Jun 25, 2015 |
The beggining of everything. Kiera Cass is a genius. I love this series. Its honestly one of my favorites. I cannot wait for the next installation to come out. ( )
  valesbookshelf | Jun 23, 2015 |
I very much enjoyed this book. it was a fun wholesome read that I was excited to see unfold through more books. I loved the name america and aspen and maxon and thought it was fresh and original. I don't know what kind of books the reviewers who gave it one sees like to read maybe they prefer smut or something other than sweet romance but I loved it and I'm in my late thirties. ( )
  Alwaysmidnight | Jun 16, 2015 |
The slection is a historipan society. China invades America. America and Canda come together and made a empire called Allie. Instead of choosing royals Iallies chooses girls. Allie chooses 35 girls. From eight different tasks. Each task fouces on a different job oppertunity. Also, a level of society. From 0-8.
Eight to four is te poor. three to zero is the rich, or royal family. The slection fouces on a girl from 5. American SInger, firey red head. American Singer must deal with the probloms of her boyfriend cheating. American strats to fall for Max, but know that life is not a fairy tale.There is a totoal of four books in the Slection.
  Emmac.B1 | Jun 4, 2015 |
The selection series takes place in the future, where America is kind of in ruins and not as well run as today. They've decided to bring back kingdoms with kings and queens and princes and princesses. They have also developed castes. The castes go from one to eight, one being royalty and eight being the worst way to live, no education, little housing, and little money. The main character is a 17 year old girl named America Singer, and she is a 5 (in castes). The entire series resolves around this thing called the selection. It's happens every time the newest prince comes of age to search for a queen, and the way they do it is by having all the girls willing or wanting to marry the prince write their names and give it to the prince, and he randomly chooses 35 girls out of thousands, maybe tens of thousands. America is one of those lucky 35 girls to get chosen, even though she was forced by her family to sign up, so she didn't even want to go. She was already in love with some one named Aspen, so the idea of going off the palace and possibly (if she got chosen) marrying the prince! At first she dislikes the prince but as the series goes on America and the prince (Maxon start to like eachother, until at the very end she decides she wants to try to win his heart and the crown.

I personally loved this book and couldn't wait to read the second book of the series. I loved imagining living in a palace and having a huge beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the palace garden. I also loved imagining the dresses, makeup, and jewelry the 35 girls got to wear! I think she wrote the story in a way that kept it interesting almost all the way through, with action, excitement, humor and romance all mixed together. I loved how there were lots of parties, and dances. And I also liked how in the end the focus wasn't entirely on winning the princes heart but also about making new friends. I didn't see one fault in the story! ( )
  aliya.b1 | Jun 1, 2015 |
America lives in a society that is divided by how much money you make. America is in love with somebody that is lower than her and if she marries him she will make less money. When she gets an invitation to be apart of The SElection where the prince has many women come live in the castle while he gets to know them and tries to find out who he loves. As more and more people leave the castle America starts to realize how much she loves Prince Maxon but it all goes downhill when her first love Aspen becomes a guard at the palace.
I recommend this book to anyone who loves romance novels and dystopian novels. I didn't personally enjoy it because i found it very cheesy. I also recommend this to people who enjoy reading books like The Hunger Games and Matched. ( )
  GabiJ.G1 | May 31, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 214 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
617 wanted6 pay3 pay

Popular covers


Average: (3.81)
1 20
1.5 1
2 47
2.5 7
3 128
3.5 32
4 189
4.5 17
5 185

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,888,711 books! | Top bar: Always visible