HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

When Copper Suns Fall by KaSonndra Leigh
Loading...

When Copper Suns Fall (edition 2011)

by KaSonndra Leigh

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
4113279,442 (3.8)None
pamkaye's review
I received When Copper Suns Fall through the Librarything Member Giveaway.

I had a hard time getting into this book. I really can't explain why. I just didn't connect to it.

The plot was interesting,the writing style was good, characters were fine, and there was a good bit of action througout.
Maybe there was a little too much craziness going on at times. Too many people pulling Chela to do their bidding or to be on their side of the fight. And I always hate when everyone falls in love with the main character. ( )
  pamkaye | Jul 7, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 13 of 13
This story follows Chela Prizeon, a gifted girl who lives in a world where her gifts could very well mean her death. With the war between the Seraphim and the Tainted little more than a half century past, the world has fallen to walled cities and ale-meds. Curfews, severe punishments for using gifts, and lies and betrayal around every corner.
I spotted a number of minor errors in this world that should be looked at as soon as possible. While none of the errors spotted will hinder reading speed they are numerous and noticeable.
Despite the errors, I really enjoyed this book. The storyline, while not new, was taken to new places as a dystopian novel. Instead of humans fighting for their lives, it's angels and half angels fighting for theirs. The characters are each their own entities and it's never a question of whether one would do the things they do. Faris, I think, is my favorite of them all. His inner battle is heart wrenching.
I would recommend this to any fan of dystopians, paranormal fantasies, and paranormal romances. With the array of genres this story falls into, there's a little something for everyone within the pages.
I look forward to reading When Silver Moons Rise, which is the second book in this series.
I give this book 5 of 5 paws ( )
  S.CuAnam_Policar | Dec 4, 2013 |
I was not sure what to expect from this book, but being blown away from start to finish isn’t what I expected. It was so beautifully written, it had me captivated right from the movement of Chela’s twin brother’s hand (Micah), who is in a strange coma.

KaSonndra Leigh did an amazing job with this book. I fell in love with the characters, its not like most fantasy books I had read, it has that deep meanings and feelings in it. I really loved the main character Chela, she is so strong, determined, adventurous and fiercely protective of those she cares about.
This book has it all, we have angels, and magic, and its set in a dystopian type future, but with all the deep feelings I mentioned in the fantasy world.

Plenty excitement with these characters who are emotionally charged with the adventures of the celestial beings and angelic realms. I loved it.

Check out my blog for the book tour, and the giveaway, here> Michelle's Paranormal Vault of Books ncisebookreviewsbymichelle.blogspot.com

I love the fierce determination Chela has to find out what happened with her twin brother, and why he is still in this coma, she feels something is not right, and is determined to save him. Before they pull the plug.

I do not want to say much past what is in the blurb, so not to spoil anything, but will say, I enjoyed the romance delevoping between Chela and……. Yeah, not gonna tell you who, lol. You can find out. As in the beginning, you do not know, 2 mysterious hotties show up, and it keeps you guessing for a bit. Don’t want to ruin that for you.

Overall a fantastic read, for teens up to upper adults, it has it all for everyone. Your heart will swell up at the mushy parts, and get angry along with Chela too.

5 out of 5 stars for me. Pick it up, you wont be sorry. I am looking forward to the sequel. ( )
  ConciseReviews | Oct 15, 2012 |
I received When Copper Suns Fall through the Librarything Member Giveaway.

I had a hard time getting into this book. I really can't explain why. I just didn't connect to it.

The plot was interesting,the writing style was good, characters were fine, and there was a good bit of action througout.
Maybe there was a little too much craziness going on at times. Too many people pulling Chela to do their bidding or to be on their side of the fight. And I always hate when everyone falls in love with the main character. ( )
  pamkaye | Jul 7, 2012 |
The world building wasn't as seamless as it could have been - and the flow of the story was a little choppy. But the plot was fun, as were the characters, so it is worth putting somewhere on your to-read list.

The only major downfall was the mixture of fantastical with weird dystopian. The society itself feels distopian, but then there is this huge magical realism element to it (angels, demons, good vs. evil, etc). I wish it would have chosen one theme and stuck with it. But the society is corrupt AND the demons are corrupt, so the MC has a lot going against her, but again - it makes for an interesting, albeit a little convoluted, story line. ( )
  RADesilets | Jun 27, 2012 |
I won this book in a member Librarything giveaway in exchange for a review

I had some trouble with this book even though it really wasn't bad. I liked many of the characters and the overall story was pretty interesting, but I found myself having trouble really getting into the setting and keeping some of the more minor characters straight. I don't know if the problem was the book not being descriptive enough or if I just wasn't into it, but that was a bit distracting. Getting past that though, I liked the main characters and the romance that was going on. If you're a fan of angels, dystopian books, and a little romance, I'd give it shot. ( )
  KatDJZ | Apr 17, 2012 |
Here's why I got caught up, the conflict-resolution of the the story is compelling. No wonder humans don't want anything to do with these Caduceans and Tainteds because their motives are self-serving with no regard for human collateral damage. In Chela's quest to find justice and save her brother she finds herself in the same situation he was in and as the story unfolds, someone who she trust was the one who betrayed her and kick started this awful situation.

KLeigh's Angels are spectacular! They are hardly feathered but more like those warrior angels from the movie Legion (2009). This is not a Nephilim story either, KLeigh created a world of her own, she owns Corunum the same way Suzanne Collins owns Panem (Hunger Games). That's how vivid and detailed the story is. ( )
  talksupe.blogspot | Mar 4, 2012 |
*Received e-book through Read It and Reap program from the Shut Up and Read! Goodreads group from author;
**also posted on Amazon.com under Leanne

When Copper Suns Fall is told by the point-of-view of Chela, a rare descendant of celestial blood, who attempts to figure out whether her twin comatose brother was deliberately injured and which persons are involved in the plot. Do others know the secret of his blood and want to use it for selfish aims, and is she safe from them? In addition, what is she herself capable of?

Leigh opens up with this intriguing premise, but as the story continues, it becomes somewhat confusing and convoluted. The world-building was ambitious, with a Great War occurring leading to the tumultuous Tidal Years and intervention of the two angel groups, the establishment of the Nation of Corunum and its Tribunal, which controls society, the mandatory taking of ale-meds for the greater good (reminded me of the movie, Equilibrium), the two angel groups still engaged in battle (Caduceans and the Tainted) over a powerful weapon, the memories, the constant threatening presence of a great Beast, and so on. I appreciated Leigh’s aspirations in creating a unique culture, but it needed to be expanded on and elaborated – it seemed too cursory at parts. In addition, I found myself having to reread portions of the book in order to understand the intricacies of the plot as it jumped from one scene to another, at times with no transition or connecting thread.

On the other hand, I did like the character of Chela as she observes and takes a role in the societal and angelic politics around her and as she experiments with her blood heritage. I found her relationship with her trio of friends, the Bermuda Three, endearing, and her roller-coaster interactions with the mysterious Faris appealing. In addition, I thought Leigh did a competent job in describing the secondary characters, such as Seth and Lucia, as well.

Overall, When Copper Suns Fall was a challenging read, but a solid attempt at a first novel in a new series. Although I wasn’t awed by it, I think it did have an interesting world concept and enough dynamic character interactions to warrant reading the next book in the series. I would recommend this to young adult readers, who are fans of paranormal romances, and not necessarily dystopia. ( )
  LeanneSF | Mar 2, 2012 |
I signed up for this e-book through goodreads "Read It & Reap" section under the group "Shut Up and Read". This story had such an interesting premise and me being a lover of angel themed books, I was really excited at the prospect of reading a different take on angel mythology. Unfortunately, When Copper Suns Fall did not live up to my expectations.

First with the positives. I though the beginning was engaging and heartfelt. Chela, our main character, is sitting by the bedside of her twin brother who is in a coma from the glutovirus. In this dystopian world, there is no cure and Dr. Van Meter tries to convince Chela to give up hope and allow them to use Micah's body for critical research since he'd make a "strong vessel". But Chela stands firm, knowing deep down inside something isn't quite right and vows silently to herself that she will find the cure and the answers to her troubling questions.

The mythology and new world the author creates is interesting and different. In this futuristic world, the Tribunal now governs and the citizens are given new rules to abide by in order to help rebuild what was lost during the "Great War." Children must now take "ale-meds" in order to protect their immune systems, when really it is to do something entirely different. It is forbidden to associate with Caduceans and the Tainted-- light and dark celestial creatures (angels) that are blamed for the Great War.

All of these important factors are introduced in the beginning of the book and combined with the well written opening scene, I thought I was in for a real treat. But that is the big problem with this story. The author gives us the elements but doesn't EXPLAIN them! What happened during the "Great War"? I am not the type of reader that needs everything spelled out for me-- I like some mystery, drawing my own conclusions-- BUT, if you are going to introduce everyone to a new world and a new mythology, some sort of background story is a must if you want your reader to connect.

My other issue was the characters. It's not that I hated Chela or any of the other characters, it's that I didn't really feel a connection with them. Here we go with that word "connect", right? Don't get me wrong, I was really feeling her turmoil in the beginning, but somewhere along the way I just lost interest :/ Oh and the love interests? I did love the scene when Faris was introduced. I liked the chemistry between the two. But then Seth came into the picture...then later you find out that Jalen has feelings for her....really? I guess I am just tired of that type of love triangle. Or is that a love square? Why do all the guys have to fall head over heels for the one girl? And if you are going to do it, then do it right because there are soooo many authors that have written GREAT love triangles, so much so that you can tell the difference between the good ones and the bad ones.

Oh and since we are on the topic of Faris...okay, I love alpha males. If you've been reading my reviews, then you already know this. HOWEVER, there was way too much "wrist grabbing" if you get what I mean. Literally. Faris was constantly taking her by the WRIST instead of hand, or when she pulled her arm away, he would grab her arm/hand again. I love an alpha but not a caveman and if I notice hand grabbing in a book, then you know there is just way too much.

I give When Copper Suns Fall a 2 1/2 star rating. I give the author a lot of credit for creating a unique world and new angel mythology to go with it. But without some back story to fill in the holes, to really make me feel like I was there and to better understand the characters plight, I found myself bored. I know this book is the first in a series, but I highly doubt I will be picking up book 2. I thank the gang at the goodreads.com group "Shut Up & Read" for giving me this opportunity to read and review this book.

Mia ( )
  themusescircle | Feb 28, 2012 |
Wow! This book was better than I expected. Even though the novel was about angels, I enjoyed the mythology created by the author. I enjoyed the characters and how realistic they were. I can't wait for the next book in the series. I think that this is a book that no one who loves reading should miss. ( )
  DeeDee10 | Feb 27, 2012 |
In the future, the Earth is not the same. Angels must hide among mortals and Caduceans are sworn to protect. However, there is always a good versus evil.

Who can you believe when no one will tell you the truth, not even your own father.

A boy who won’t tell you everything keeps tugging at your heart. What secrets are out there about yourself, your family and the other characters.

A must read fantasy that will keep you guessing and what to believe and who to trust right to the very end. ( )
  sewolf0310 | Feb 22, 2012 |
KaSonndra Leigh's debut novel mixes angels, alchemy and dystopia and the hell result is one hell of a first installment!

Chela doesn't believe her brother's accident was truly an accident. Her determination to find out who put her brother Micah in a coma puts her right in the middle of a war between two groups which aren't supposed to exist anymore. When both sides are interested in her, Chela must fight to do what's right while investigating the secrets within her city and within herself.

When Copper Suns Fall is an original novel that blends dystopia and angels very well with dashes of romance. The novel is constantly moving both in exploring Chela's world and introducing new characters and conflicts. There was never a moment where I was bored, instead I craved more information and more interactions. One thing I wanted more of was development of the world. Chela's world and Castle Hayne was extremely vast so I would have loved to read more about it and its history.

While the characters were numerous and lent to the plot very well, I wanted to know more. I felt that they could have been fleshed out a bit more, especially Chela's Historian father who probably knows more about about this secret war than he has let on. Regardless I loved the characters and I can't wait to learn about them in the upcoming novel, especially the love interest Faris. Speaking of the love story, while both Chela and Faris were very interesting and strong characters I could not make myself care about them as a couple.

Lastly, the writing style was quick to capture my attention and keep it. KaSonndra paints the world so clearly that I could imagine it actually existing in a near future. The characters were distinct and the conflict was well written out.

KaSonndra Leigh's debut novel in her Copper Suns series is an impressive start in what will surely be a great series. With a complex plot and strong writing skills, When Copper Suns Fall is sure to be a crowd pleaser. ( )
  HarkiQuinn | Feb 7, 2012 |
If you're a fan of "The Hunger Games", then you will certainely enjoy "When Copper Suns Fall" by KaSonndra Leigh. Chela Prizeon has spent most of her life keeping her true heritage hidden from everybody that she knows, including her best friends Jalen and Lexa who are all living under the rules set for them by a governing group called the Tribunal. When her brother Micah suffers a mysterious accident, she is determined to find out what actually happened. Chela finds herself in an entirely new world of trouble as secrets about her heritage begin to unfold, and she must choose between good and evil in order to protect the people that she loves. This book had me hooked from beginning to end, and I cannot wait for the next installment of this series! ( )
  ichbindani | Jan 31, 2012 |
I received this book through Library Thing Member Giveaways. I enjoyed the characters and the plot of this book very much. I don't necessarily read fantasy type books as a rule. However, I'm glad that I read this one. I had a hard time putting it down and look forward to future books by this author. ( )
  AmyJoBrenner | Jan 28, 2012 |
Showing 13 of 13

LibraryThing Author

KaSonndra Leigh is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.8)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5 1
3 2
3.5 2
4 2
4.5 1
5 5

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,655,858 books! | Top bar: Always visible