HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Flora's Fury: How a Girl of Spirit and…
Loading...

Flora's Fury: How a Girl of Spirit and a Red Dog Confound Their… (edition 2012)

by Ysabeau S. Wilce

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
9812123,235 (4.14)14
foggidawn's review
Flora's Fury: How a Girl of Spirit and a Red Dog Confound Their Friends, Astound Their Enemies, and Learn the Importance of Packing Light by Ysabeau Wilce is a worthy continuation to an excellent series.

In this book, Flora is a cadet at the Barracks, having put aside her childhood dreams of being a Ranger (at least for a while). She's on assignment as a clerk in the General's office, so her duties are limited to errands, paperwork, and baby-minding. Her long-time friendship with Udo is strained, she's unsatisfied with her work, and she has certain plans of her own. She knows she shouldn't be mucking around in the Current, but there are a few things she just has to know -- and to find them out, she will need to use magic. Her spell-casting attempt is interrupted by a mysterious stranger, and shortly thereafter, she finds herself on a voyage that will take her over sea and land, to places she's barely even heard of, and she will learn much more than just the answers to her questions. She'll also learn a few hard lessons about actions and consequences . . . and maybe a little bit about romance, as well.

Flora's high-spirited hijinks will be familiar to fans of the series. I was particularly impressed how, in this book, Flora really seems to mature. By the end of the book, she's making decisions on her own -- not to please or spite her parents, and not thoughtlessly following her whims, but weighing consequences and choosing the course of action that she deems best. She also gives up something precious at one point in the story (I'm trying to avoid spoilers, so sorry if this is getting really vague), and the results of that were poignant and hinted, I hope, at things to come in future volumes. Flora will always be fiery and temperamental, but I feel that she's developing into a truly strong woman, and becoming someone I'd actually like to know.

Some reviews I have read have speculated that this is the end of the series for Flora, but I think that can hardly be the case -- there are too many loose ends, and all of Califa is poised on the brink of conflict. Here's hoping that we'll see a lot more of Flora in the not-too-distant future! ( )
  foggidawn | Jun 28, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 12 of 12
I hate giving a 4 to a Flora book - the Flora Trilogy is honestly one of the best (if not the best! - it may be tied with Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief series for that spot) YA has to offer, but the plot pacing in this one seemed so uneven!
Wilce always ties things up nicely, and we can always tell she really thought everything through, but there were parts that really dragged in there. I'm probably being extremely unfair, any other book like this would have gotten a 5 from me, but if I compare this one to the previous ones, it's a 4.

Still, it was great, I can't recommend this series enough! And I do hope there'll be more to come. ( )
  Isa_Lavinia | Sep 10, 2013 |
Third Flora book! I thought it was going to be the last, but I could also see more books to come. I liked it, of course. Flora remains feisty and funny. At the same time, I did miss the tightness of the first two books–this one sprawls all over the place–and I wasn’t nearly as affected as I expected to be. Doesn’t change the fact that it’s a good book and a fun read. ( )
  maureene87 | Apr 4, 2013 |
Third Flora book! I thought it was going to be the last, but I could also see more books to come. I liked it, of course. Flora remains feisty and funny. At the same time, I did miss the tightness of the first two books–this one sprawls all over the place–and I wasn’t nearly as affected as I expected to be. Doesn’t change the fact that it’s a good book and a fun read. ( )
  maureene87 | Apr 4, 2013 |
Third Flora book! I thought it was going to be the last, but I could also see more books to come. I liked it, of course. Flora remains feisty and funny. At the same time, I did miss the tightness of the first two books–this one sprawls all over the place–and I wasn’t nearly as affected as I expected to be. Doesn’t change the fact that it’s a good book and a fun read. ( )
  maureene87 | Apr 4, 2013 |
Third Flora book! I thought it was going to be the last, but I could also see more books to come. I liked it, of course. Flora remains feisty and funny. At the same time, I did miss the tightness of the first two books–this one sprawls all over the place–and I wasn’t nearly as affected as I expected to be. Doesn’t change the fact that it’s a good book and a fun read. ( )
  maureene87 | Apr 4, 2013 |
Ms. Wilce, one note--it's "flibbertigibbet" not "flipperdegibbet" but otherwise, quite well done. I'm looking forward to #4.

P.S. Please try not to take four years to write the next one, mmkay? ( )
  Jammies | Mar 31, 2013 |
I just adore Flora Fyrdraaca. There it is. She feels like a real, stubborn, particular, peculiar person to me. And the world she lives in is just a joy. A scary, funny, odd joy complete with flies and dishonest bed and breakfast owners, and cranky shapeshifters with abandoment issues, and all of it touched with the magic of genuine weirdness. These books make me happy.

Much of the happy is that they are fun, and the characters are terrific, and the world is creative and intricate and unusual. But like icing on an already delicious cake, not the least of the happy is that Ysabeau Wilce is one of a few wonderful fantasy authors who have realized that their creations don't have to share our history of gender because hey, this is a made up world!!.

People in this made up world don't have to be sexist homophobes just because that's part of the history of the reality we do our grocery shopping in. It isn't a given that the same bigotries have to travel into every fantasy novel, along with faux medieval speech and a guy with a slop bucket and a leather apron. Makes me slap my forehead and go duh! how did it take me so long to realize that?

Our heroine has her struggles and difficulties sure - her bad temper, her confusing heritage, her goofy dog, her Aztec overlords, but she never has to struggle with being dismissed or hassled because she has the wrong arrangement of genitalia. Her male friends don't have to fight to defend their masculinity every time they put on an item of clothing that isn't brown or grey. The degree to which this makes me just plain giddy is a little scary.

It makes me realize how unconsciously I carry around the weight of sexism, because that's just how the world is, and no point railing against it. But when I run into a world where that isn't part of the price of admission, it’s a little bit like taking off a heavy coat you'd forgotten you were wearing.

It frees me to participate in this world in a spirit of joyous play. It frees up reserves of energy that I usually have to dedicate to shoveling the sexist bullshit into a bucket in the corner and holding down the lid so that I can focus on the other perfectly good and enjoyable things that are also going on instead of just being mad and sad.

I know, I know, there are lots of stories in which the characters struggle bravely and even sometimes successfully against the sexism and homophobia of their worlds. Those are good stories too. But this is a story where nobody has to struggle with it, because its just gone. Which makes me silly happy. And so I love Flora Fydraaca. ( )
  bunwat | Mar 30, 2013 |
Again more spoilers ahead. Another great entry to the Flora series. Though I didn't like this story quite as much as the first two, mainly because of the rocky nature of her and Udo's relationship, and in some parts it drags a bit. But the story is still original and creative, and there are still enough shocks and cliffhangers to leave you wanting more. I was very shocked by the part at the very end where she meets Flora Primera. Man I hope Wilce releases the next one soon, it is going to be amazing! ( )
  rbernard907 | Mar 1, 2013 |
I adore Wilce's Flora series. The books are fun, funny and often overwhelmingly sweet in the best possible way. They remind me (in all good ways) of Cat Valente's The Girl Who books, which makes both series more fun to read. Wilce's books are much more adult than Valente's, but that's no matter. I like the Flora Segunda series because it's full of secrets waiting to be discovered, because the characters (especially Flora herself) are amazing and because the story is just a lot of fun. In this third book, Flora's working for her mother, her friendship with Udo is on the rocks and she desperately wants to use her magic. I really hope that Wilce plans to write at least one more book, because Flora's growth throughout the three books has been pretty well done and I want to read a book that piggybacks on that growth. ( )
  callmecayce | Jan 4, 2013 |
Flora's Fury: How a Girl of Spirit and a Red Dog Confound Their Friends, Astound Their Enemies, and Learn the Importance of Packing Light by Ysabeau Wilce is a worthy continuation to an excellent series.

In this book, Flora is a cadet at the Barracks, having put aside her childhood dreams of being a Ranger (at least for a while). She's on assignment as a clerk in the General's office, so her duties are limited to errands, paperwork, and baby-minding. Her long-time friendship with Udo is strained, she's unsatisfied with her work, and she has certain plans of her own. She knows she shouldn't be mucking around in the Current, but there are a few things she just has to know -- and to find them out, she will need to use magic. Her spell-casting attempt is interrupted by a mysterious stranger, and shortly thereafter, she finds herself on a voyage that will take her over sea and land, to places she's barely even heard of, and she will learn much more than just the answers to her questions. She'll also learn a few hard lessons about actions and consequences . . . and maybe a little bit about romance, as well.

Flora's high-spirited hijinks will be familiar to fans of the series. I was particularly impressed how, in this book, Flora really seems to mature. By the end of the book, she's making decisions on her own -- not to please or spite her parents, and not thoughtlessly following her whims, but weighing consequences and choosing the course of action that she deems best. She also gives up something precious at one point in the story (I'm trying to avoid spoilers, so sorry if this is getting really vague), and the results of that were poignant and hinted, I hope, at things to come in future volumes. Flora will always be fiery and temperamental, but I feel that she's developing into a truly strong woman, and becoming someone I'd actually like to know.

Some reviews I have read have speculated that this is the end of the series for Flora, but I think that can hardly be the case -- there are too many loose ends, and all of Califa is poised on the brink of conflict. Here's hoping that we'll see a lot more of Flora in the not-too-distant future! ( )
  foggidawn | Jun 28, 2012 |
Following the revelations in 'Flora’s Dare', Flora is lying low, keeping her head down to try to avoid attracting the Birdies’ attention; she’s abandoned her ambitions to become a Ranger, along with her Magick. But she’s still convinced that Tiny Doom, the last of the Hadraada family, is still alive, and determined to find her. And so, under cover of the annual Pirates’ Party, Flora performs a Working – but before she can get a good look at the map that will show her where Tiny Doom is, it’s stolen by a wer-bear. Then, to Flora’s horror, she’s sent on a mission into Birdie territory … What follows brings Flora perils and adventures that include pirates, ghosts, the return of the wer-bear, Springheel Jack, encounters with an evil enchantress, a daemon and a skinwalker; a foolish sacrifice, a less-than-tender reunion, a revelation, and, finally, a new resolve: to return to Califa and take up her part in the fight for freedom from the Birdies’ tyranny.

Third in the series and if, as seems likely, this is really the final outing for Flora Segunda, then that's a tragedy. Strong female lead characters like Flora are all too rare, as are books like this. ( )
  phoebesmum | Jun 14, 2012 |
Showing 12 of 12

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
12 wanted1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.14)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 3
4 15
4.5 4
5 7

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,410,613 books! | Top bar: Always visible