HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited by Samuel…
Loading...

Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited (1872)

by Samuel Butler

Other authors: See the other authors section.

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
175None67,867 (3.91)6
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 6 mentions

No reviews
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (1 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Samuel Butlerprimary authorall editionscalculated
Mumford, LewisIntroductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
If the reader will excuse me, I will say nothing of my antecedents, nor of the circumstances which led me to leave my native country; the narrative would be tedious to him and painful to myself.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0460008811, Hardcover)

1927. Butler's satirical novels revealed his long interest in Darwin's theories of biological evolution, though he had spent a great deal of time criticizing him. Some now find these books prophetic in their discussion about machines becoming intelligent and the extent to which humans would become dependent on them, as well as their increasingly rapid development.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:16:18 -0400)

In Erewhon, an anagram for "nowhere," sickness is a punishable crime, criminals receive compassionate medical treatment, and machines are banned, lest they evolve and take over. Originally published in 1872, the proto-steampunk novel Erewhon won its author immediate recognition as a satirist. SamuelButler followed in the tradition of Voltaire and Swift in creating Erewhon and Erewhon Revisited, which are widely recognized as the nineteenth century's most important works of their kind. Entertaining and provocative, these books are unsparing in their treatment of the hypocrisies of Victorian society, taking aim at the family, church, and mechanical "progress." George Orwell, no stranger to the depiction of futuristic societies, noted that at the time of Erewhon's writing the author needed "imagination of a very high order to see that machinery could be dangerous as well as useful." Today's readers will also find the book remarkably prescient in its anticipation of future sociological trends.… (more)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.91)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 4
4.5 1
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 127,300,253 books! | Top bar: Always visible