HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Happily Ever After by Edward Carpenter
Loading...

Happily Ever After (edition 2011)

by Edward Carpenter

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2913378,207 (3.88)3
ljldml's review
Received as an author giveaway on Librarything
I love wickedly funny, sarcastic tales. Fairy tales from the viewpoint of the villain, and oh what a villain! She is devious and delightfully cold. She makes the wicked Queen role fun and exhilarating! Loved this story. ( )
  ljldml | Apr 18, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 13 of 13
I loved the twist on the classic fairy tales, and how the author managed to combine many classic fairy tales into one story. The choice of narrator was unique and gave a very funny perspective to the different situations the narrator found herself in. I particularly liked the explanation for this story that the author wrote and the end. It is an interesting essay on the nature of women in fairy tales, and was very enjoyable and thought-provoking. ( )
  calicocat901 | Jun 12, 2012 |
I won this through the member giveaways, and I guess they sent it to me through Amazon? I don't own a Kindle so that's kind of useless. I wish it would have specified that you had to have a kindle to enter.
  bacillicide | May 11, 2012 |
This was a marvelously funny retelling of the Snow White and the Seven Dwarves fairy tale. The stepmothers is witty funny and manages to give moral justification for her actions. Really good story ( )
  arelenriel | Apr 23, 2012 |
I loved this story. It opens with the Queen complaining about Cinderella. She says "You can take the slattern out of the scullery, but you can't take the scullery out of the slattern. All this, unfortunately, appears to have been lost on my darling son." And then she proceeds to tell about the toad that she had to kiss, Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, all the while acting like everything she did was perfectly innocent. It's a very short story but it will have you laughing. ( )
  Draak | Apr 21, 2012 |
An enjoyable short and dark fairy tale that has a happy ending for the villainess. I found myself laughing more than once at the retelling of many classic fairy tales that becomes the crux of author Edward Carpenter's fictional Queen's story. He lays the character of his Queen out there from the get-go, and arouses the reader's interest as to how her devious actions will all play out. ( )
  linsleo | Apr 21, 2012 |
I liked the evil queens sacrastic sense of humor and her twist on events that happen in several different fairy tales.
A quick easy short read.
Note: Received this in exchange for a review ( )
  ginger72 | Apr 19, 2012 |
Received as an author giveaway on Librarything
I love wickedly funny, sarcastic tales. Fairy tales from the viewpoint of the villain, and oh what a villain! She is devious and delightfully cold. She makes the wicked Queen role fun and exhilarating! Loved this story. ( )
  ljldml | Apr 18, 2012 |
This was a member giveaway by author Edward Carpenter from Library Thing.

I thoroughly enjoyed this short but very witty story, written from the eyes of the Evil Queen. It is not your everyday fairy tale !
At one point she is lamenting the fact that she has never met a man fit to rule a kingdom. She is a bit of a feminist. She worries that she won't live long enough to raise her son, the prince to take her place. " It's a bit difficult to govern properly with one's guts around one's ankle". Our Queen is a very proper evil woman!
From the first chapter, her discussion of the "slattern from the scullery" with glass slippers and magic, to the sleeping beauty she had awakened by a peck on the lips from her Captain of the Guard. " The little wench didn't stop screaming until they rode out of earshot." A very enjoyable story, but definitely not for the children! I would give this story four stars,and recommend for a quick, very enjoyable adventure. ( )
  Pat.Egan.Fordyce | Apr 17, 2012 |
This is a wickedly delicious quick little read! Absolutely wonderful! She is so unapologetic about who she is and what she does you kind of have to love her! Her sarcasm and whit are biting but perfect! I love reading a story from this ‘darker’ point of view! I actually laughed out loud and had to read parts to my husband because I just loved the way she said things… “… but glass slippers? Really?” I can just see the roll of the eyes and the irritated expression! Mr. Carpenter captures her perfectly! I wish it could have gone on longer!!
I also agree with the author in his note at the end of the book about the women throughout history who were seen as “evil” even though they just took care of business like they’re husbands did! So funny how differently it’s looked upon! ( )
  dolphinchick | Apr 17, 2012 |
Review Happily Ever After by Edward Carpenter
4 STARS
This was a whole other side of the fairy tales story we don't hear from. The wicked stepmother. I admit she is not my favorite character usually.
This is a real short story that mixes the fairytales together. Its creative and entertaining with the villian proud of what she accomplishes and how she deserves everything.
I defintatly would read more books from Edward. I was given this ebook in exchange for honest review from Librarything. ( )
  rhonda1111 | Apr 16, 2012 |
An interesting look at the life of the fairy tale "evil queen". A quick but good read, you get insight as to why the queen does what she does to her victims! There's also quite a few cameos of well-known fairy tales! ( )
  drimeth | Apr 15, 2012 |
Book: Happily Ever After

Author: Edward H. Carpenter

Recommend: It has potential..

I received this book as a gift from a free giveaway. This is very much not a full sized book but a short story. It felt more like reading an outlined book than reading something completed worked out. I loved the plot idea and thought it was an interesting twist. I wish that there had been more showing the reader what was going on and less telling. He has some serious potential as a writer but has some work to do yet. I hope that as he grows as a writer he decides to revisit this work and expand it because it definitely has the potential to be something intelligent, snarky and just plain fun to read. I wouldn’t recommend it yet but maybe someday in the future if he ever goes back to it. ( )
  dnabgeek | Apr 15, 2012 |
"Happily Ever After" is a witty and fast paced short story that offers quite a fix for anyone addicted to twisted fairy tales. It's a well thought out, satirical look at the world of fairy tales, and the battle between an evil (and hilarious) queen and anyone who dares to get in her way, which includes enchanted frogs, princesses, step children, hunstmen, knights, people frozen in time, and of course her husband.

If you enjoyed any of Neil Gaiman's fairy tale retellings, Gregory Maguire's "Wicked," or "Once Upon a Mattress," I would highly recommend reading Edward Carpenter's "Happily Ever After." ( )
1 vote HotWolfie | Jan 17, 2012 |
Showing 13 of 13

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.88)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 2
3.5
4 8
4.5
5 4

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,380,340 books! | Top bar: Always visible