HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Mr. Churchill's secretary : a Maggie Hope…
Loading...

Mr. Churchill's secretary : a Maggie Hope novel (original 2012; edition 2011)

by Susan Elia MacNeal

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
70310013,474 (3.52)119
Member:bell7
Title:Mr. Churchill's secretary : a Maggie Hope novel
Authors:Susan Elia MacNeal
Info:New York : Bantam Books Trade Paperback, c2011.
Collections:Early Reviewers, Previously owned, Read but unowned
Rating:***
Tags:adult, historical fiction, WW2, England

Work details

Mr. Churchill's Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal (2012)

Recently added bypburger, private library, kristi_test_05, acf151, kristi_test_04, kristi_test_03, fumcod
  1. 20
    The Beekeeper's Apprentice by Laurie R. King (yonitdm)
    yonitdm: They both feature brilliant, strong women as main characters, plus mystery, intrigue, and many, many cups of tea.
  2. 00
    The Whole Stunned World: Between Boston and Burma by Jenny Ruth Yasi (rxtheresa)
    rxtheresa: Also an historical novel by a first time author. It is about Burma, not Great Britain and struggles during time of war.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 119 mentions

English (101)  Piratical (1)  All languages (102)
Showing 1-5 of 101 (next | show all)
More accurately about a 3.75 for me. The beginning was tough to get through but then it became very interesting, with insider views of Churchill's doings and speeches. Fun WWII spy novel, with IRA thrown in (who knew). Some very inspirational Churchill moments: KPO (Keep plodding on), and that he painted when things just got too dark for him. How fantastic is that! ( )
  sydsavvy | Apr 8, 2016 |
London 1940. Margaret “Maggie” Hope wants to work for the British intelligence, but as she is a woman she ends up being a typist at No. 10 Downing Street. But she has a knack for code breaking and soon she does a lot more den typing for the prime minister.

This book was OK, not fantastic to read, but enjoyable since I love historical mystery books. Maggie Hope is a good character and there were a lot of likable characters around her. I can't say that I really liked her relationship with John. For some reasons, their relationship didn't click for me. The plot in this book was interesting, there is a plot to kill Winston Churchill and it doesn't take much brain work to figure at that one person around Maggie isn't who she is saying she is the question is who? There wasn't really any real twist to the story, no real aha moments. Everything unfurled nicely along the way and that was the problem, I wanted the story to be a bit more problematic, more nerve chilling, but alas, it was not to be. Still I will continue with the series. I liked the book enough to feel that I want to read more and I especially liked Winston Churchill in this book.

( )
  MaraBlaise | Feb 9, 2016 |
An interesting mix between fact and fiction. Mr Churchill's secretary follows Maggie Hope who just became Churchill secretary during WW II. It depicts what must have been life in London during that hard time.The story is fun and entertaining. ( )
  ct.bergeron | Feb 8, 2016 |
The book had a bit of a slow start, but was easy to get into. I would say this is a light read, not excellent but readable. 3.5 to 4 stars ( )
  crazeedi73 | Jan 30, 2016 |
The book had a bit of a slow start, but was easy to get into. I would say this is a light read, not excellent but readable. 3.5 to 4 stars ( )
  crazeedi73 | Jan 30, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 101 (next | show all)
MacNeal’s first novel offers such a giddy premise and gathers so much impulse in its opening half that we root for her to close the deal in the second half. Alas, no such luck.

The setting is London during 1940’s Battle of Britain; the heroine is a plucky young American named Maggie Hope who wins a job as a secretary to Winston Churchill. Maggie soon finds herself up against German spies, traitorous English Nazis and IRA terrorists. She outwits all the villains with much aplomb until the story stumbles on its own preposterous plot twists.
added by VivienneR | editThe Toronto Star, Jack Batten (Jun 30, 2012)
 
A plucky heroine isn’t enough to salvage a plot overly dependent on contrivances, as shown by MacNeal’s debut set in 1940 London, the kickoff to a series. The murder of Diana Snyder, a secretary in Prime Minister Winston Churchill’s office, creates a vacancy that American expat Maggie Hope agrees to fill, despite her umbrage at having been previously passed over for a more substantive position there. Maggie adjusts fairly quickly, even as the people of London strive to withstand both German bombs and IRA outrages. Since those behind Snyder’s fatal stabbing as well as their motive are identified early on, the suspense mainly lies in whether Maggie will be able to use her intellect to foil a plot aimed at decapitating the British government. On several occasions, disaster is averted purely by chance, undermining efforts to credit Maggie with saving the day.
added by VivienneR | editPublisher's Weekly (Feb 13, 2012)
 
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
In wartime, truth is so precious that she should always be accompanied by a bodyguard of lies. - Winston Churchill
I read about the guts of the pioneer woman and the woman of the dustbowl and the gingham goddess of the covered wagon. What about the woman of the covered typewriter?

What has she got, poor kid, when she leaves the office? - Christopher Morley, Kitty Foyle
Dedication
To Noel, who always believed
First words
Half an hour before Diana Snyder died, she tidied up her desk in the typists' office of the Cabinet War Rooms.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined—and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0553593617, Paperback)

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined—and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character,  Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:00:18 -0400)

(see all 2 descriptions)

After German Luftwaffe bomb London, Maggie Hope--trained in math and code breaking, but only able to find a job as Winston Churchill's secretary--uses the access her position demands to try to unravel an assassinate plot.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 4 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

Susan Elia MacNeal is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
30 wanted
2 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.52)
0.5 3
1 8
1.5
2 23
2.5 8
3 69
3.5 39
4 100
4.5 12
5 33

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Mr. Churchill's Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 106,746,523 books! | Top bar: Always visible