HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Vicious Deep by Zoraida Cordova
Loading...

The Vicious Deep (edition 2012)

by Zoraida Cordova

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
10214118,402 (3.81)1
sithereandread's review
I love to be surprised by new writers and books! And THE VICIOUS DEEP, by Zoraida Cordova, is no different! Right from the start I loved this book. Not only is it narrated by a boy (hot boy at that), but he also finds out he is a merman! Now with the pressure of high school, trying to win the heart of his best friend, and championing for the throne of the merfolk, Tristan finds himself on an unforgettable journey that will keep your hands glued to the pages.

I loved this book! I found myself sucked into the story from the start. It is totally unique and I loved that it was narrated from a male POV. The book starts off with a bang when Tristan (amazing swimmer and part-time lifeguard) finds himself trying to rescue someone from the water and wakes up on the shore three days later. After that his body starts to change until he turns into a uni-finned and scaly merman! I loved the lore that Cordova created in this book. Her world among the sea creatures was breathtaking and really fun to read. I also liked how there weren't just merfolk in this book but other creatures that are similar in their fantastical elements.

The plot was great but I found myself also very interested in the characters themselves. I have quite a book crush on Tristan with his piercing blue eyes and swimmers body to die for, but I also loved his friends and frienemies. Layla, his best friend, is a sweet girl and I yearned for these two to just get together already! Kurt and Thalia were hilarious and I just wanted to jump in the book and give them both huge hugs. And even though I initially hated Gwen, I found myself liking her in the end.

As I neared the end of the book I was like, "No no no, there is so much more to cover!" This book is part of a series but it's not a massive cliffhanger (thank goodness or I might have had a minor heart attack), I am very excited to read the next installment. Anyone who likes mermaid books or is looking to start, this book should definitely be on your list! ( )
  sithereandread | Apr 26, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 14 of 14
This continues to be my all-time favorite mermaid story ever!
Actually, it's my favorite merman, underwater, oracles, kingdom book ever!
There is so much to the story, and the author's writing was/is amazing - giving enough details with a strong lead male and point-of-view and the underwater world building is amazing...

Tristan is your typical teen boy who knows who he is and what he loves - he's captain of the swim team, popular in school and with the girls, haves a wonderful family, best friends and loves his home in Coney Island.
So what happens to the guy who has it all finds out that he's a mermaid? No, no - a merman???
He freaks out!... and then embraces it and just goes with the flow... literally and figuratively.
Oh, and then throw in that the grandfather he never knew nominates him as one of the champions to compete for the throne to be the Sea King - no problem, Tristan takes it all in and cracks a joke about it, because that is Tristan's defense mechanism to take the seriousness out of everything that is happening to him. His attitude his refreshing and realistic - where many people would panic, breakdown and cave into the fear of something so huge happening to them (he has a fishtail!), Tristan took it all in stride and accepted it, because he knew that no matter what he did, he couldn't change the pass and had to face his new future. Tristan, a bit egotistical, but downright loving and loyal, has such a fun attitude and an amusing but brilliant way about looking and dealing with things that he thought were impossible. I really, really enjoyed getting to know Tristan, his old and new friends and family.
Like I mentioned, Tristan is an average teen boy, there are some crude moments and thoughts, crass language and behavior, but the author did it well and did not go overboard - sorry to say, but boys will be boys, even when they're swimming around with a fishtail.

The love story is like no other, it's not the typical storyline where they're all lovey-dovey for each other, it's the love/hate kind where she, Layla, is just as strong-minded and opinionated as Tristan. She never backs down from him, or anyone else. Surprisingly she recovers from the shock of Tristan's news and handles everything pretty well. As well as any human can. I really liked Layla and look forward to seeing how their relationship will develop with everything that is going on, which will be very difficult to keep together.

The story is fast-paced, (which I love and always seem to fall upon), with realistic scenery and characters. All the details to the Sea Kings floating island, Toliss, to the color and texture to Tristan and his merfriends scales and tails, to other creatures living in the sea, and those that have been banished from the sea to live on land - all realistic, beautiful and imaginative. I would love to see this trilogy be turned into a movie in the future - a future that would have all of the technology to truly breathe life into all of this beauty that the author created.

I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning of Tristan's journey as champion.
I hope to see more of this author's writing soon!!! ( )
  thebumblegirl | Jul 2, 2014 |
3.5/5 stars

It’s almost summer time and I know a lot of us readers are looking for some good summer reads. While I think Vicious Deep could have been better, I would still add this to a fun summer reading list. It’s adventurous, original, and Tristan is a hoot. (Yes! A 16 year old male point of view!)

First off, I am thrilled that this book is from a male protagonist. I really wish there were more in the YA field, but that is not the case. Although, I do think it is on the rise now that authors are seeing how well people respond to male POVs. Since I’m already talking about Tristan, I’ll just ahead with my impression of him. Tristan is a pretty typical 16 year old guy. A star athlete on the swim team, a reputation as a “ladies man,” and he’s going through some pretty major changes in life. *Semi-spoiler, but not really, you know what this is about* This big change is Tristan discovering that he is half human, half-merman. As if this weren’t troublesome enough, he is struggling with his feelings for his best friend, Layla.

Layla…is not my favorite character or love interest. She is jealous when Tristan flirts, yet it’s perfectly acceptable for her to flirt. She loves him, then she won’t talk to him. She’s kind of all over the emotional radar. The one thing I do love about her is her loyalty to Tristan, even when she’s angry with him. But she really will do anything for Tristan, including putting her life in danger.

Some other characters of interest are Kurt and Thailia. These siblings are sent by the Sea King to prepare Tristan for entering the merkingom. Kurt is hysterical, not because he’s funny, but because he is so damn serious and doesn’t understand a lot of humanisms. Thailia is a warm ray of sunshine that you can’t help but love. She is innocent, sweet, and her little romance with a human boy is precious.

Now, characters aside, I’m going to split the rest of this review into what I liked and didn’t like. Let’s start with what I liked.

I really liked that this book is about merfolk. I love vampires and werewolves, don’t get me wrong, but there are just so many books about them out there. I was thoroughly refreshed when reading this book. Also, on that note, this book talks about all kinds of creatures, vamps and wolves included, fairies, shape-shifters, and lots of halfbreeds which I believe had a name that I can’t remember.

Also, I really liked where this series is going. In the synopsis, it talks about Tristan being a pawn in a battle. Well, there is certainly already a lot of violence in this book and many battles. These half breed sea creatures keep attacking Tristan and his friends as he is part of the championship of the Sea King.

Here’s what I didn’t like. I really am not liking some of the writing style. I get that the author is trying to make it believable that it is a 16 year old talking, but it just didn’t work for me. Now that is not to say it won’t work for someone else. Also, some of the words and phrases to show that it’s a 16 year old, again didn’t work for me.

And when it comes to this silver-mermaid that is mentioned in the synopsis, we only figure out a little bit about her. I’m assuming that we’re going to see more of her in future books, but if the synopsis is going to mention her, she should have had a bigger role in this particular book. *Semi-spoiler in regards to plot* I personally feel that the synopsis should have mentioned that Tristan is thrust into an age old championship to become the rightful king. But that’s just me.

Overall, this book is good. It is definitely a first of it’s kind for me, the characters are pretty great, the plot is pretty quickly paced, and it is hard to put down this book. Since summer is coming up, I think this would be a great addition to your beach book stash. I know you all have one. ( )
  Ashley_McElyea | Dec 15, 2013 |
I really enjoyed this novel. I'm already a fan of novels that take place around the ocean, so this was an easy book to love. It was a lot different in the writing, than most of the young adult fluff I've seen around- so that was a great change of pace. Looking forward to the sequel! ( )
  SarahLewis | Dec 9, 2013 |
I really have to start taking notes as I read. I read this book in one sitting then jumped right into a new book. Eight books later, I can hardly remember what I liked and didn't like about The Vicious Deep.

I do remember that I liked that this story is told from a merman's point of view. I'm glad that the menfolk are getting some representation in a female dominated genre. No need to be sexist, afterall. Tristan was pretty darn funny. He was arrogant and witty, just like you would expect most teenage boys to be. He was a 100% believable narrator.

Then there is Layla. I liked her a lot. She was strong-willed and independent. She was also not a mermaid. She found out about Tristan's secret, by pure chance. Of course, since it's been like 3 months since I read this book, I forgot why exactly I liked her other than those reasons.

I also want to point out that I enjoyed the world building. The descriptions of the merworld were great. It is so important to have a believable setting-- even in a fantasy type book. The old school rules of fighting for the tritan were pretty extreme, and added to the plot. There were a few characters that I didn't care for that kept hanging around, but whatever. I'm sure they will find their place somewhere in book 2.

But what really irked me about this story was the ending. Did anyone else think it ended too abruptly? I was crusing along enjoying the quest, when BAM. End of book one. Just like that too. I had to actually flip back a few pages to make sure I didn't skip something. I really thought I had missed a chapter or two. That was a huge disappointment. I love a good cliffhanger, but not when the story seems to hit a brick wall at 65 MPH. Of course, though, I'll have to read The Savage Blue because I need to know how and if Tristan can find the rest of the trident pieces. ( )
  flashlight_reader | Jan 4, 2013 |
The Vicious Deep is a wonderful paranormal YA adventure about merfolk with some mythology mixed in. The story is narrated by Tristan who is very popular and a bit arrogant. While he is at times humorous, he is also very much (in my opinion) a man slut.

Tristan’s adventure begins when a tidal wave sweeps across the coast where he is acting as a lifeguard. He sees someone in need of rescuing and ends up disappearing himself. Several days later his best friend finds him on the beach alive but is unable to tell them where he was those days he was missing. Strange things start to happen as he slowly find out he is not who he thought he was.

I am very impressed that this was the author’s debut novel and I look forward to reading more by her. ( )
  dpchapman | Jul 19, 2012 |
Review Courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales

Quick & Dirty: This great, debut voice takes the readers under the sea with a refreshing male perspective, action and romance. But once you dive into this novel, you won’t want to put it down!

Opening Sentence: I hear the first wave before I see it–

The Review:

Tristan thinks his love for the ocean comes from being an excellent swimmer. Or, maybe, because his mother always told him he was born on the ocean. But that’s before a freak tidal wave sucks him out to sea when he’s trying to save a drowner on his life guard shift. Three days later he washes back, without any idea of where he went. All he knows is now, the sea is calling to him like never before. Turns out his mother has been keeping some secrets from him. Now he’s suddenly keeping a secret he didn’t believe could possibly be real: he’s a merman, heir to an underwater kingdom. He thought the world a myth, or a Disney movie, when in reality it’s anything but that. Tristan quickly finds he has to prove himself if he ever wants to be accepted. When Kurtomathetis (I checked the spelling three times, and I’m still not sure that’s right…) and Thalia come from the sea to visit Tristan, his family tries to pretend their cousins. That doesn’t exactly work out well, because humans are drawn to their beauty (think, sirens). Things get sticky fast when Layla gets a glimpse of scales and decides to jump on the boat taking Tristan to visit his grandfather the Sea King.

He may be the only heir to the throne of the Sea Court, but he’ll have to compete with the other mermen to get it. His grandfather — a descendent of Triton, who I still imagine as Ariel’s father — is stepping down, leaving Tristan the only member of his family who could rule after him. The sea has different dangers than Tristan is used to, including a sharp-toothed (but not ugly) mermaid bent on stalking him.

My absolute favorite part of The Vicious Deep was the fact that Tristan is like any other teen. He acts-first-thinks-later, is insensitive, and thinks about sex. A lot! His dry wit and laid back narrative style had me turning pages and flying (swimming?) through this novel. But the best part is that he also grows. I don’t read a lot of male, first perspective. Frankly, I don’t think there are enough of them out there. I loved watching Tristan become a better person, learning from his mistakes and new experiences. Córdova’s really strong world building helps add to his characterization as well as furthering the plot.

Which is probably my next favorite part of The Vicious Deep. The world building underwater as well as Coney Island is fantastic. Completely fleshed out and engrossing, you can see everything in the setting clearly and have absolutely no trouble suspending disbelief. She populated the world with great secondary characters that were both unique and plentiful, making them easy to remember and fun to read about. And it isn’t just mermaids, we have everything from Fey to shifters mentioned in this paranormal world. Tristan has a lot of people in his life that he considers important, which is something Córdova does a great job of showing while keeping Tristan firmly in character.

I’ll admit, there were a few moments when the characters acted out of what I thought was realistic for them, but this ended up righting itself when their common sense came back. This book had both romance and suspense, and is a perfect read for anyone who ever played mermaids in the pool (Which should be everyone. If you didn’t, go remedy that immediately). It has a creepy villain, some great emotional moments, and great voice.

Notable Scene:

My grandfather chews and chews. “Masticating food that never ends. Wonderful. It reminds me of eating various fruits all at once.” Marty leans into my ear and whispers, “I haven’t the heart to tell him that there are zero fruit servings in that pack of gum.” When the King frowns, my heart sinks. “The flavor is all gone.” The mercourt jeers. My grandfather, the Sea King, swallows his gum and sits back, pleased with himself.

It’s strange, almost painfully funny, how I’ve never known him, and suddenly, unexplainably, out of thin air, I love him. I see my mother in him, and I wonder if I’m in there too.

He bows his head to Layla, the lines around his eyes spread with a smile. “I accept your gift. And you are welcome as a guest of Tristan Hart.”

The Vicious Deep Series:

1. The Vicious Deep

2. The Savage Blue (January 1, 2013)

FTC Advisory: Sourcebooks Fire provided me with a copy of The Vicious Deep. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review. In addition, I don’t receive affiliate fees for anything purchased via links from my site. ( )
  DarkFaerieTales | Jun 18, 2012 |
Its always nice to read a novel with a male POV but I was particularly happy with how much of a guy Tristan is. He talks about girls, swears and jokes around with his friends. Along with him, their are many colorful personalities in the novel that help keep the plot interesting and the humor going strong. I especially liked Gwen and Thalia. Nothing like some mergirls to steer things up and cause some trouble.

The mermaid mythology is familiar and easy to follow. At times the story felt a bit rushed, a lot of things seem to happen rather quickly and sometime I wasn't even sure how much time had gone by. With that said, its pretty action packed and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series. ( )
  ShaEliPar | Jun 7, 2012 |
This review appears on my blog, Starting the Next Chapter.

Tristan Hart has managed to make a name for himself amongst the girls at his school as a womanizer and, to some, a jerk. Things are about to change, however, when he is washed out to sea by a freak tidal wave. When he is found laying upon the beach by his best friend, it is with the realization that he can't quite remember what happened to him and that his feelings for his friend are growing stronger. There's another problem, however: he was missing for 3 days and no other survivors have been found. As if that weren't enough, he's beginning to change. Can Tristan hold the remaining shreds of his life as he knows it together, all the while trying to stop a force that could bring the world to its knees?

I know that Tristan is supposed to be something of a jerk in the process of reforming. I get that. However, while I did have problems becoming interested in him as a main character, he isn't the only character that I found myself supremely annoyed by. I'm just going to say it plainly: Layla drove me absolutely batty! Sure, her attitude toward Tristan is often warranted, but there are other moments that left me wondering just what was supposed to be so appealing about this girl. It was all so over-the-top that it became more of a distraction than anything. I found myself more drawn to Tristan's parents and "cousins" than either Tristan, himself, or Layla. Neither were exactly my cup of tea.

The settings were much more appealing, as they were written with great attention to detail and no small amount of imagination. Even if I didn't enjoy the primary character and his best friend, I did enjoy the adventure he set out on. The villains were threatening and ensured that the story had the level of urgency needed to warrant the troubles Tristan encounters and the tasks he is set are intriguing. The plot did hit a few snags that left me confused, but it did manage to bounce back and catch me up to speed. Over all, the story's progression was a good one and I enjoyed the quest aspect more than I would have expected initially.

The Vicious Deep may not have resonated with me as much as I had hoped it would, but I did see the potential in the story by the end of the book. Having been the first mermaid (merman?) story I had read in quite a while, it did rekindle my interest in the subject, which is always a nice touch. I will keep an open mind about the next book in the series, but I know that I have some hopes for things I would like to see in it. It is my hope that I can become more attuned to the characters in the future and that the plot keeps intensifying. I'll be waiting to see where the story goes from here.

Obligatory legal statement: This ARC was provided to me free of charge by the publisher via Southern Book Blogger ARC Tours. No monetary compensation was received in exchange for this fair and unbiased review. ( )
  MarlaSTNC | May 30, 2012 |
I have mixed thoughts and feelings for The Vicious Deep by . I didn't really get into the story as much as I thought I would. How it was written and how the story goes isn't bad per se; just missing a quality I can't pin point that would have gotten me enveloped into the story.
Surprisingly, my favored characters was not the protagonist (Tristan) or even his love interest and Best Friend (Layla), but the characters who played in the background or who played minimal roles.

Tristan thought and talked about his 'junk' WAY too much border lining on arrogance and annoyance. He lacked depth in who he is as a character unless he's talking about Layla. But even with that, he rambles on about her too much throughout the story that he comes out whinny. He can also be a turn-off; kind of shallow and says things that he shouldn't say out loud. Just my two cents =)

Layla, is in a way okay, but she frustrates me in some of the things she does/acts. After awhile you just can't help but get irritated with her too.

Thalia, Kurt, and Marty are by far my favorites and I'm even starting to like Gwen. They are livelier and make better impressions that you can just connect with. They'll stick in your mind throughout the whole book without leaving a bad after taste.

I greatly enjoyed the humor, sarcasm, and quips that were slung here and there. It gave the ambiance of a light hearted reading. However, I didn't quite like the overly used curses. It felt like they were just thrown in at random within the story without really even needing to.

The Vicious Deep is a good novel! I might not come off as overly enthuse about it, but it might just be the book that will knock your socks off! ( )
  TValeros | May 12, 2012 |
I have enjoyed many of the mermaid books out there lately and THE VICIOUS DEEP is just as good with a slightly different twist since the main character is actually a merman.

Tristan's voice throughout the book was easy to follow and fall into. His character was well portrayed and his story was eventful. Layla was my second favorite character and as Tristan's best friend she had a high place in the book. Tristan and Layla have been best friends forever and now have feelings for each other but neither is willing to throw that out there first. Tristan is known to his friends as some what of a man whore so its pretty entertaining watching him try to get Layla to see him as more then a friend. The whole relationship was frustrating and sweet at the same time. There were a lot of great characters thrown into THE VICIOUS DEEP that also helped bring the story out and you really cant help falling in love with all of them.

Lots of stuff is left in the air but THE VICIOUS DEEP was the first book in The Vicious Deep Trilogy and you can tell the whole series will be nothing but entertainment, suspense and action. I'm looking forward to Tristan's continued fight to find the final pieces of the Triton. ( )
  STACYatUFI | May 10, 2012 |
Review courtesy of All Things Urban Fantasy

More Nevernever Land than Hogwarts, THE VICIOUS DEEP is a mix of the poetic and profane that would do Shakespeare proud, ribald banter alongside lyrical imagery. Tristan faces challenges that range from a centuries old sea witch to a heartbroken ex-girlfriend and this blend of epic and ordinary created a memorable story that has me anxious for more.

Though this book is about merfolk, Tristan may as well be a siren. His voice absolutely seduced me from page one. Descriptive, wry, and distinct, as I highlighted more and more quotes it was clear that it really didn't matter what this story held, so long as I could enjoy it through his eyes. And soon I fell in love with them all... Layla with her fists, Maddy with her broken heart, Angelo and his father thanking God for girls in short shorts... Cordova makes every character vivid and loveable, each elegantly sketched with just the perfect details for them to bloom on the page.

Tristan is the charming guy you want to believe has a good heart, despite our ringside seats to his flaws. His love for Layla is lined up right next to his wayward erection, and everything from his rakish ways to his deep-set devotion is loveable. This is no hero with eyes only for the heroine, Tristan is comically aware of every female around him. Slowly it becomes clear, however, that the women he loves are described for more than just their appearance. His mother, his best friend, and eventually, his “cousin”, Thalia, Tristan respects and adores them, attuned to their strengths and quirks. And as a love interest, despite the parade of past flings (and his callow moments), Tristan is honest and helpless enough in his attraction that it’s impossible to hold against him. Ultimately, you can’t help but mirror Layla, with exasperation and love in every punch. Tristan is a man-boy that has potential... and a long way to go before he grows up.

THE VICIOUS DEEP is that magic blend of mayhem, comedy, and affection that makes for an irresistible adventure, which makes it all the more breathtaking when Cordova's rhythm slips poetry into the pages. It is rare that a book succeeds on so many levels, and I finished THE VICIOUS DEEP excited and eager to share it. Sweet and bawdy and beautiful, this book has something for everyone. She loves me, she loves me not... I certainly do, Tristan, I most certainly do.

Sexual Content: Kissing, references to sex and oral sex. ( )
  Capnrandm | May 2, 2012 |
I love to be surprised by new writers and books! And THE VICIOUS DEEP, by Zoraida Cordova, is no different! Right from the start I loved this book. Not only is it narrated by a boy (hot boy at that), but he also finds out he is a merman! Now with the pressure of high school, trying to win the heart of his best friend, and championing for the throne of the merfolk, Tristan finds himself on an unforgettable journey that will keep your hands glued to the pages.

I loved this book! I found myself sucked into the story from the start. It is totally unique and I loved that it was narrated from a male POV. The book starts off with a bang when Tristan (amazing swimmer and part-time lifeguard) finds himself trying to rescue someone from the water and wakes up on the shore three days later. After that his body starts to change until he turns into a uni-finned and scaly merman! I loved the lore that Cordova created in this book. Her world among the sea creatures was breathtaking and really fun to read. I also liked how there weren't just merfolk in this book but other creatures that are similar in their fantastical elements.

The plot was great but I found myself also very interested in the characters themselves. I have quite a book crush on Tristan with his piercing blue eyes and swimmers body to die for, but I also loved his friends and frienemies. Layla, his best friend, is a sweet girl and I yearned for these two to just get together already! Kurt and Thalia were hilarious and I just wanted to jump in the book and give them both huge hugs. And even though I initially hated Gwen, I found myself liking her in the end.

As I neared the end of the book I was like, "No no no, there is so much more to cover!" This book is part of a series but it's not a massive cliffhanger (thank goodness or I might have had a minor heart attack), I am very excited to read the next installment. Anyone who likes mermaid books or is looking to start, this book should definitely be on your list! ( )
  sithereandread | Apr 26, 2012 |
The Vicious Depp dammit every time Deep popped up on my radar when this happened, and from that point, I knew I had to read it.  And by the time that un-happened and a new cover was born, it was so firmly planted in my to-read wishlist that I found myself becoming a member of the Bloggers of the Deep street team.
And for that, I am glad.

The Vicious Deep is a very engaging, somewhat unusual take on mermaids. Riding the crest of the wave of what looks to be a pretty good mermaid craze, TVD forgoes the expected female heroine and her mysteries of the deep, and follows instead an unsuspecting male lead who finds himself in over his head.  [You see what I did there?  Okay, I'll stop.]  Tristan is likeable: charmingly flawed, self-deprecating yet cocky, typical teenage fuck-up and stunner all in one.  He's one of those guys that, even while you know they're playing you, you can't help but sigh and bat your lashes.  That guy.  And because of that, when he finds himself tossed into this completely unexpected situation where he has to actually put himself out there and try at something that had never even entered his head, it comes together with the way he'd begun to think about his life and trying there, too.  And it just works.

His narration is nearly pitch-perfect.  It had a very friend-like feel, like chatting with your besties and the jackasses you hung out with as a teen.  It's a little colloquial and just - authentic feeling, for the most part.  (I'm not now, nor have I ever been, a teenage boy who has just found out he's a mermaidman, so I can't speak to how completely authentic it is...)  It's just very funny and cheeky and teenagery in a not-so-angsty way (and AMEN for that).  The voice is just great.  It played well off of the other characters, too, which I think was one of the strong points of the novel.   I really enjoyed the characters and their interactions, and the fact that there is some gray area within them. Tristan is not always a shining hero, (for all that he is shiny), and some of the more dubious, possibly villainous characters turn out to be pretty okay (I love Gwen! #GwenFTW!)

The characters draw you in, but I think the story is enjoyable in other respects, too.  At its heart, it's a good, rollicking adventure story with a bit of heart and charm at the core; a thread of romancifulness and a dash of badassery.  It's something that will appeal to both genders, I think, and could easily transition to the big screen.  It's a bit of a more grown-up Percy Jackson - a little less wholesome and cutesy, and a little more...vicious, with a mythology all its own and solid, enjoyable world-building.

For awhile, I was held back a little bit by the necessity of the story. There were questions, the foremost being, Why does Tristan need to become Sea King?  Why should he even care, and how is he in ANY way qualified?  (I come from a Kingless place, you'll remember.  We stopped believing in de jure divine some time ago...)  But where so many YA books wouldn't have addressed it, Córdova DID, and that won me over big time.  Someone flat-out asks Tristan why he gives a flying fuck (? swimming shi-..nevermind), and he actually does stop to consider the choice he could make (to ignore it, to let someone else deal with it, to wonder what his place is in all of it), and then makes a decision based on heart and instinct.  I respected that; not only that he is choosing to go down this path, but that he (and Córdova)  recognizes that there would be questions and other paths, and that thought does need to go into the decision.  This got points, friends.  Points* in the meaningless scoreboard that is my head.

I have to say, there will be those that are put off by the fact that there's a lot of build up for not all that much accomplished in the end.  I don't want this to sound like nothing happens; I just mean there's a lot still in the air at the end, and the story has really just begun. But it's a trilogy, so that's something any regular reader should see coming a mile (fathom?) away. Also, I think it made for good world-building, and things would have been much less believable and weighty if everything had been solved in this book and tied up with a pretty little bow.  Things can happen a little quicker now in the rest of the series, and still have a good foundation as a result of the time spent building the story in this first book.  So I didn't have an issue with where things stand at the end, but it just bears mentioning, I think.

So yeah.  The Vicious Deep.  Fun for a girl and a boy.  (Though I still wish it had this cover.  Though I know it would pretty much mean =/= fun for boys, cause they'd never pick it up...)

*1000 points redeemable for a slinky or sticky slap-hand.  Winners choice!

Don't forget to check out my guest vlog on merbits from Zoraida! ( )
  BookRatMisty | Apr 20, 2012 |
Totally expecting a mermaid story I realized that this story is being told from a male's point of view. Which I find, absolutely refreshing! As soon as I started reading, I was able to fall in to the characters shoe and find that he is quite funny!

What I loved most about this story are the great characters. I adored Tristan. I felt his character is written perfectly. From his feeling to his thoughts, Tristan made me laugh, smile, and fall in love with him. He is just another teenager with strange times ahead of him.

I really adored how the plot took off the way that it did. I was not expecting a merman story let alone a journey. Once Tristan finds out who he is, he is set on a journey to save his people. And that really got me interested. I loved watching Tristan grow with new knowledge and become strong in who he is.

The love interest didn't take off the way I expected it to, but it is there. I think once Tristan gets on his feet he will see her. I am hoping that in the next book there will be a bit more development in this area.

The Vicious Deep is an daring innovative story that hooks the reader. Packing unexpected twists and turns, it satisfies the reader. The Vicious Deep gives the end result of a story that you want to read over and over again!

*cursing/sexual innuendos* ( )
  Bookswithbite | Apr 19, 2012 |
Showing 14 of 14

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
30 wanted1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.81)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 7
3.5
4 11
4.5
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 93,387,370 books! | Top bar: Always visible