HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Yard by Alex Grecian
Loading...

The Yard (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Alex Grecian

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
7358512,706 (3.76)99
Member:thiscatsabroad
Title:The Yard
Authors:Alex Grecian
Info:Putnam Adult (2012), Edition: First Edition first Printing, Hardcover, 432 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:None

Work details

The Yard by Alex Grecian (2012)

  1. 10
    The Alienist by Caleb Carr (majkia)
    majkia: similar in that both books - although one in New York, one in London - follow the beginnings of modern forensics and modern policing.
  2. 00
    The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye (InvisiblerMan)
  3. 00
    In the Shadow of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff (4leschats)
    4leschats: Both of these works deal with the emerging science of forensics to solve difficult cases.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 99 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 87 (next | show all)
I like historical mysteries set in Victorian London so I was excited to pick up a copy of The Yard by Alex Grecian. After their failure to capture Jack the Ripper, faith in the Metropolitan Police Department reached its lowest point so Scotland Yard formed its own Murder Squad. The Squad is called into action when a man's body is found in a travel trunk at the train station. Chief of the Squad, Colonel Sir Edward Bradford and new detective Walter Day soon discover who the victim is and that they must investigate the death of one of their own detectives. Not only that, but they must work out if this is a random murder or if it is an attack on the newly formed Murder Squad themselves.


Sir Edward, Inspector Day, Constable Hammersmith and Dr. Kingsley are great characters with appealing personalities and I understand the author baseiid many of them on real people. I also thought the secondary characters were realistic and compelling, especially Dr. Kingsley's daughter, Fiona, who draws the autopsy photos for her father.


The London atmosphere, which is an integral part of a good Victorian mystery, was missing and the characters often resorted to American slang which didn't make sense in the context of a Victorian London setting. I did enjoy it well enough to to pick up the second of the series, Black Country. It has a lot of potential and I hope the author continues to develop his characters and make the setting more atmospheric. ( )
  Olivermagnus | Jan 17, 2016 |
Picturesque.

This seems to be the best word to describe the way the author provides more detail about the seamy underside of Victorian London than anyone could ever possibly want to know. If you prefer stories about happy puppies and kittens you will probably want to avoid this one. Nevertheless, the characters are strong and the writing is compelling, leaving me wanting to hear more about the world that they live in. It's really more historical fiction than a true mystery, even though the scene is Scotland Yard. The identity of the murderer is given away fairly early in the book, and the rest is focused on the characters' lives with a small bit concerning catching the killer. ( )
  benfulton | Dec 31, 2015 |
It’s a year after the Ripper murders, and the Yard is still reeling from its failure to capture him. A newly organized “Murder Squad” sought to change public scorn of the police force. In the city of London in the late nineteenth century, children disappeared and no one looked for them, morgues were overladen and the dead not treated respectfully, and crime was rampant and police, over-worked. Then, when one of their own was brutally murdered, the Murder Squad goes after the killer with a vengeance. Rich in imagery of nineteenth century London and not lacking in detail, both descriptive and graphic, this mystery is a masterful combination of plot and characters. ( )
  Maydacat | Sep 8, 2015 |
This story is like the streets of Victorian London, tight, full of life, winding in many directions, leading to a final destination that may be exciting, fun, or full of mystery.We find all these qualities in this superlative tale of the early days of Scotland Yard, including the founding of it’s Murder Squad. This is a hand picked group of detectives who are assigned to investigate only the most heinous of crimes, murder. The author fills the pages with fully fleshed characters who jump to life from the pages of the book. This is definitely worth the read and I look forward to the further episodes. ( )
  Ronrose1 | Aug 9, 2015 |
This historical fiction takes place in 1889. The police have been embarrassed by their failure to catch Jack the Ripper. Another serial killer has appeared, and seems to be killing members of the police squad. The story was pretty good, and it was a bit of a page turner, but the modern dialog was a little jarring. If you are interested in a quick, fun read, you might enjoy this one. If you are a stickler for historical accuracy, I don't think you will enjoy it as much. ( )
  NanaCC | Jul 26, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 87 (next | show all)
Readers who enter The Yard’s world-on-the-edge-of-change will be counting days until the sequel, hoping to meet some of these great characters again.
 

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Alex Grecianprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Cavanaugh, MeighanBook designsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Wood, SaraJacket designsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
If you wake at midnight, and hear a horse's feet,
Don't go drawing back the blind, or looking in the street.
Them that asks no questions isn't told a lie.
Watch the wall, my darling, while the Gentlemen go by!

- Rudyard Kipling, "A Smuggler's Song"
Dedication
For Charity,
who will inspect this dedication
for plot holes.
First words
London, 1889. Nobody noticed when Inspector Christian Little of Scotland Yard disappeared, and nobody was looking for him when he was found.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....
When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?
Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Suffering public contempt after the Metropolitan Police's failure to capture Jack the Ripper, Walter Day, a member of Victorian London's recently formed "Murder Squad," partners with Scotland Yard's first forensic pathologist to track down a killer who is targeting their colleagues.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
10 avail.
43 wanted
2 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.76)
0.5 2
1 5
1.5 3
2 9
2.5 4
3 49
3.5 16
4 97
4.5 20
5 41

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

The Yard by Alex Grecian was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,178,309 books! | Top bar: Always visible