HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Yard by Alex Grecian
Loading...

The Yard (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Alex Grecian

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5667217,572 (3.79)78
Member:thiscatsabroad
Title:The Yard
Authors:Alex Grecian
Info:Putnam Adult (2012), Edition: First Edition first Printing, Hardcover, 432 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:None

Work details

The Yard by Alex Grecian (2012)

  1. 10
    The Alienist by Caleb Carr (majkia)
    majkia: similar in that both books - although one in New York, one in London - follow the beginnings of modern forensics and modern policing.
  2. 00
    The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye (InvisiblerMan)
  3. 00
    In the Shadow of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff (4leschats)
    4leschats: Both of these works deal with the emerging science of forensics to solve difficult cases.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 78 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 72 (next | show all)
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Lots of potential in this Victorian Age mystery but the story seems to come out in fits and starts. Not a series that I will rush to read. ( )
  jamespurcell | Sep 2, 2014 |
Rather disappointing. This could have been an excellent novel, but somehow Alex Grecian never really seemed to get hold of it, and the plot and characters just slipped away.

It is set in 1889, when London is still bruised by the unsolved 'Jack the Ripper' murders. As the novel opens, newly promoted Inspector Day is summoned to Euston Square Station where an abandoned trunk has been found. The trunk contains a body, and not just any body but that of Inspector Little. He has been murdered and his lips have been sewn together. Day's investigations anre helped by Dr Kingsley, perhaps the earliest forensic scientist.

This could all have been so good! Sadly, the writer seemed to lack the ability to pull this all together in any convincing manner. There seems to be a prevailing fascination with crime stories set in bygone ages, but I worry that while the writers make huge efforts to ensure historic verisimilitude, researching their context fully, they forget the basics such as having a robust, credible plot, or creating characters who behave like people! ( )
  Eyejaybee | Aug 23, 2014 |
Being a fan of Anne Perry, I thought I would expand my Victorian mystery circle. I was disappointed in this as I found it a confusing and once the author tells us who did it, I lost interest as none of the other characters had caught my attention. I have read other mysteries where the killer is revealed early on and kept reading because I liked the others in the book or because I was curious as to how the killer was finally caught. Unfortunately, this this not happen with this book. Also, I didn't find the investigation credible. ( )
  Maya47Bob46 | May 28, 2014 |
Debut novel concerning Scotland Yard Murder Squad in the 1890s. Intriguing characters, good plot, great dialogue. Even though you know whodunit by the middle of the book, you want to read to the end to see how it works out. ( )
  powertriangle | May 26, 2014 |
This is one damn good mystery novel. I could barely put it down and when I got close to the end I had to finish it. I can't wait to read the next one. ( )
  Philip100 | Apr 24, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 72 (next | show all)
Readers who enter The Yard’s world-on-the-edge-of-change will be counting days until the sequel, hoping to meet some of these great characters again.
 

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Alex Grecianprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Cavanaugh, MeighanBook designsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Wood, SaraJacket designsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
If you wake at midnight, and hear a horse's feet,
Don't go drawing back the blind, or looking in the street.
Them that asks no questions isn't told a lie.
Watch the wall, my darling, while the Gentlemen go by!

- Rudyard Kipling, "A Smuggler's Song"
Dedication
For Charity,
who will inspect this dedication
for plot holes.
First words
London, 1889. Nobody noticed when Inspector Christian Little of Scotland Yard disappeared, and nobody was looking for him when he was found.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....
When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?
Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Suffering public contempt after the Metropolitan Police's failure to capture Jack the Ripper, Walter Day, a member of Victorian London's recently formed "Murder Squad," partners with Scotland Yard's first forensic pathologist to track down a killer who is targeting their colleagues.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
84 wanted2 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.79)
0.5 1
1 3
1.5 2
2 9
2.5 4
3 34
3.5 14
4 74
4.5 19
5 32

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

The Yard by Alex Grecian was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,677,046 books! | Top bar: Always visible