HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Yard by Alex Grecian
Loading...

The Yard (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Alex Grecian

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
7949111,562 (3.74)100
Member:thiscatsabroad
Title:The Yard
Authors:Alex Grecian
Info:Putnam Adult (2012), Edition: First Edition first Printing, Hardcover, 432 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:None

Work details

The Yard by Alex Grecian (2012)

Recently added byprivate library, MSZR, MHanover10, clarafehybelle, mikaelaLou, rlsalvati, churchbob, orioc22
  1. 10
    The Alienist by Caleb Carr (majkia)
    majkia: similar in that both books - although one in New York, one in London - follow the beginnings of modern forensics and modern policing.
  2. 00
    The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye (InvisiblerMan)
  3. 00
    In the Shadow of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff (4leschats)
    4leschats: Both of these works deal with the emerging science of forensics to solve difficult cases.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 100 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 93 (next | show all)
After reading some of the reviews on this book I was a little worried that I might not enjoy it but I was pleasantly surprised. It was very well written and I think captures the essence of the late 1800's London. It really makes me glad that I didn't live back then. All the people dying of consumption, people thrown into workhouses, parents dying and kids turning into street urchins and being snatched to do dangerous jobs. It's a good read, fast paced and enjoyable. I would recommend it. ( )
  MHanover10 | Jul 10, 2016 |
An excellent Victorian suspense novel, featuring the very early days of forensic detection at Scotland Yard. It's a page turner, with great characters and fine period detail, although at times it felt just a bit too "modern" in a way I can't quite put my finger on. Very enjoyable, nonetheless.
Reviewed in June 2013 ( )
  laytonwoman3rd | Jun 9, 2016 |
The Yard is Alex Grecian's debut novel. Unlike many Victorian Scotland Yard crime stories, this one is neither a thriller nor a mystery; however, it has elements of suspense and the author knows how to hold the readers' attention and interest from beginning to end.

The Yard is a historical crime fiction with vivid scenes, interesting characters and an atmosphere that reaches the senses and places readers' firmly in grimy 1889 East London where electricity and water closets were in their infancy. Women still wore their laced corsets, carriages were drawn by horses and police resources,and communications and transportation were limited by the historical setting.

Just when the last thing Scotland Yard needs is more killings that could panic the city, a gruesome discovery is made at the train station. Solving the crime becomes the squad's first priority, and Inspector Walter Day, newly arrived in London from Devon, is appointed as the lead investigator.

Inspector Day will work with the young, eager and relentlessly hardworking Constable Hammersmith, and the first forensic pathologist in England, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. These three, together with other members of the Murder Squad, juggle the murder case with several other cases, including one involving a bizarre series of throat-cuttings.

The officers who will undoubtedly be the lead characters in subsequent books in the series are often flawed, but always sympathetic. One is a newlywed who sometimes longs for the clear air of his home in Devon. Another is a scrapper who fought to leave the mines where he worked as a child. A forward-thinking medical examiner adds interest, especially when he begins experimenting with an early form of fingerprinting.

Surprisingly, in all this grubby reality are some unexpected flashes of humor. I actually found myself laughing out loud at the welcome comic relief. However, these moments are few and far between, and the reader is soon immersed once again in the scary, overcrowded London of the 1800s. I look forward to the next in this series. ( )
  Carol420 | May 31, 2016 |
An entertaining murder mystery with great characters. ( )
  mmacd3814 | May 30, 2016 |
Excellent depiction of the era and how The Yard was affected by the unsolved murder spree of Jack the Ripper, especially when faced with another string of murders. Details the range of cops - those who do the job for prestige (and to impress girls), those dedicated to justice (often to the detriment of their personal lives), and those in between. Also creates an interesting team of non-law enforcement who help with the case. Clever plotting with people ending up in the wrong place (or the right place?) by chance, but in believable ways. Small amount of graphic/gruesome detail.
Readalikes: The Alienist by Caleb Carr ( )
  bookappeal | Mar 22, 2016 |
Showing 1-5 of 93 (next | show all)
Readers who enter The Yard’s world-on-the-edge-of-change will be counting days until the sequel, hoping to meet some of these great characters again.
 

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Alex Grecianprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Cavanaugh, MeighanBook designsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Wood, SaraJacket designsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
If you wake at midnight, and hear a horse's feet,
Don't go drawing back the blind, or looking in the street.
Them that asks no questions isn't told a lie.
Watch the wall, my darling, while the Gentlemen go by!

- Rudyard Kipling, "A Smuggler's Song"
Dedication
For Charity,
who will inspect this dedication
for plot holes.
First words
London, 1889. Nobody noticed when Inspector Christian Little of Scotland Yard disappeared, and nobody was looking for him when he was found.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....
When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?
Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Suffering public contempt after the Metropolitan Police's failure to capture Jack the Ripper, Walter Day, a member of Victorian London's recently formed "Murder Squad," partners with Scotland Yard's first forensic pathologist to track down a killer who is targeting their colleagues.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
7 avail.
38 wanted
2 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.74)
0.5 2
1 6
1.5 3
2 10
2.5 5
3 54
3.5 18
4 100
4.5 22
5 43

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

The Yard by Alex Grecian was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 107,489,108 books! | Top bar: Always visible