HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Yard by Alex Grecian
Loading...

The Yard (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Alex Grecian

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6147815,860 (3.74)84
Member:thiscatsabroad
Title:The Yard
Authors:Alex Grecian
Info:Putnam Adult (2012), Edition: First Edition first Printing, Hardcover, 432 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:***
Tags:None

Work details

The Yard by Alex Grecian (2012)

  1. 10
    The Alienist by Caleb Carr (majkia)
    majkia: similar in that both books - although one in New York, one in London - follow the beginnings of modern forensics and modern policing.
  2. 00
    The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye (InvisiblerMan)
  3. 00
    In the Shadow of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff (4leschats)
    4leschats: Both of these works deal with the emerging science of forensics to solve difficult cases.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 84 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 80 (next | show all)
Enjoyed this book. Victorian crime is so different to modern day, and this book introduces the way evidence is important in solving crimes. I did get a bit confused at the beginning but it cleverly all came together at the end. ( )
  greatbookescapes | Nov 20, 2014 |
Enjoyed this book. Victorian crime is so different to modern day, and this book introduces the way evidence is important in solving crimes. I did get a bit confused at the beginning but it cleverly all came together at the end. ( )
  greatbookescapes | Nov 20, 2014 |
Enjoyed this book. Victorian crime is so different to modern day, and this book introduces the way evidence is important in solving crimes. I did get a bit confused at the beginning but it cleverly all came together at the end. ( )
  greatbookescapes | Nov 20, 2014 |
Enjoyed this book. Victorian crime is so different to modern day, and this book introduces the way evidence is important in solving crimes. I did get a bit confused at the beginning but it cleverly all came together at the end. ( )
  greatbookescapes | Nov 20, 2014 |
Enjoyed this book. Victorian crime is so different to modern day, and this book introduces the way evidence is important in solving crimes. I did get a bit confused at the beginning but it cleverly all came together at the end. ( )
  greatbookescapes | Nov 20, 2014 |
Showing 1-5 of 80 (next | show all)
Readers who enter The Yard’s world-on-the-edge-of-change will be counting days until the sequel, hoping to meet some of these great characters again.
 

» Add other authors

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Alex Grecianprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Cavanaugh, MeighanBook designsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Wood, SaraJacket designsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
If you wake at midnight, and hear a horse's feet,
Don't go drawing back the blind, or looking in the street.
Them that asks no questions isn't told a lie.
Watch the wall, my darling, while the Gentlemen go by!

- Rudyard Kipling, "A Smuggler's Song"
Dedication
For Charity,
who will inspect this dedication
for plot holes.
First words
London, 1889. Nobody noticed when Inspector Christian Little of Scotland Yard disappeared, and nobody was looking for him when he was found.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only 12 detectives - known as “The Murder Squad” - to investigate thousands of murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police’s spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own... one of the 12....
When Walter Day, the squad’s newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard’s first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad.... but why?
Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Suffering public contempt after the Metropolitan Police's failure to capture Jack the Ripper, Walter Day, a member of Victorian London's recently formed "Murder Squad," partners with Scotland Yard's first forensic pathologist to track down a killer who is targeting their colleagues.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 5 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
84 wanted2 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.74)
0.5 1
1 5
1.5 2
2 10
2.5 4
3 40
3.5 14
4 77
4.5 19
5 33

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

The Yard by Alex Grecian was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,390,903 books! | Top bar: Always visible