HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

In the Bag: A Novel by Kate Klise
Loading...

In the Bag: A Novel (edition 2012)

by Kate Klise

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
6422186,178 (3.44)1
lrobe190's review
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Daisy and her daughter Zoe are traveling to Paris from St. Louis for Zoe's spring break. Daisy is a top-notch chef and recently left a restaurant job to clear her mind and decide what she wants to do next. Andrew and his ason are heading to Madrid for Andrew's job as an exhibit designer. On the plane, Andrew actually jostled a woman holding a glass of wine which spills on her silk blouse. Andrew feels terrible. The woman is very attractive and Andrew is drawn to her. Uncharacteristically, Andrew composes a note apologizing and asking her out for a drink when they are back in St. Louis. He stuffs the note in her open purse. When the parties arrive at their respective destinations, Zoe and Webb realize that somewhere during their journey, their bags have been switched. From this unpromising beginning, the four characters...Daisy, Zoe, Andrew and Webb...go about their business not realizing that everything they do is connected in some way.

This book is a light, entertaining and funny read. It is told through the POV of each character. The reader sees the interconnections among the characters which adds to the fun and fast pace. It's really two stories...Daisy's and Andrew's, both looking for something more in their lives...and Webb and Zoe's...both on the brink of adulthood and trying to stand on their own. Teens will enjoy this book as much as adults will. It's a perfect beach book! ( )
  lrobe190 | Apr 2, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 22 of 22
This was an absolutely adorable read. It was a feel good book. I loved it.

Coco and her mother Daisy go to Paris for a vacation when Daisy once more quits her job. Andrew takes his son Webb with him as he goes to Madrid for work. Coco and Webb's bags are interchanged. The teens start e-mailing each other unbeknownst to their parents. Daisy, as a favor to her friend, does the food for the art exhibition that Andrew has been designing. They start talking. What happens is a wild ride. With old fashioned ideas and new technology how does romance fit?

I loved these four characters. I wasn't sure what to expect but watching them interact with each other and how botched their thinking was was so much fun. Nobody was ever right about what the other was thinking. I laughed out loud by the end.

Delightful! Perfect beach read ( )
  Sheila1957 | Jul 27, 2014 |
If you ignore the fact that the plot is somewhat contrived, this was a delightful little book (maybe not that little, 306 pages). A single mom traveling to Europe with her teenage daughter entangles with a single dad and his teenage son. There are notes, emails, mixed-up luggage, and much coincidence (oh gee, the mom's friend is able to lend them her Paris apartment because she is overseeing the exhibit in Spain that the dad is organizing). I was rooting for everyone. The plot seemed cinematic, but I didn't find anything about a movie version. ( )
  ennie | Apr 21, 2014 |
I like a good romantic comedy, and this one was fine, but not overly interesting, That it took me three weeks to finish is telling. ( )
  pidgeon92 | Apr 1, 2013 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
It was a little too young for me once I started reading it, so I really just skimmed. But the plot is cute. ( )
  monkeyreader | Nov 13, 2012 |
Cute novel that would be perfect for the beach or pool with the alternating four points of view and short chapters. Even reading it post-Labor Day was fun. A mixed up LL Bean duffel bag from the Paris luggage carousel turns two single parents European trips (with their respective teens) into a fun, breezy romance. Because of their alternating viewpoints, it's easy to pick up the track of the story even if you put it down. ( )
  ethel55 | Sep 11, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Light, cute story poking fun at the difference between teen romance and adult romance in the digital age and how each generation communicates, or, rather, fails to communicate with their own generation and the other. The teenagers are suitably self-absorbed and the adults struggle with their figurative "baggage" as they navigate Paris, Madrid, and Barcelona in a crazy jumble of coincidences. The story has a fun European vacation atmosphere that causes characters to do things they might not normally do. Enjoyable summer read. ( )
  bookappeal | Jul 31, 2012 |
This is Kate Klise’s first endeavor into the world of adult fiction…which due to the story itself, could easily be housed in the land of Young Adult without feeling like a wolf among sheep. In this story, we have a case of mistaken identity…of a case…a written note that was met with a heart full of skepticism despite its true intentions…and the mission of one bag to change the fate of four people for better or worse. It’s the actions of those that found and lost said bag that get things rolling, but fate seems to have a big hand in it all as well. It’s hilarious, it’s touching, it’s sweet, it’s not to be missed….which of course you’ve heard all before, but trust me, it applies.

Fans of her children’s fiction will not be disappointed as her popular style of storytelling is not completely erased despite the older audience aimed for. The appearance of correspondence throughout the book from the handwritten note to the emails that fly back and forth between Coco and Webb work wonders to put you right there in the story while giving it that air of familiarity that can’t be denied. Another deja vue moment? The included illustrations when day turns to night. The images depicted give readers a glimpse of what’s forthcoming in the next few chapters, but only enough to peek your interest while not spoiling the fun. I know, I know…pictures in an ADULT fiction book, and yet…it works REALLY well. Now on to the characters…

Daisy and Andrew are the slightly jaded adults just trying to make their way through another trip abroad. Daisy is there for pleasure with her daughter Coco; Andrew is there for work with his son Webb. All work and no play makes for one stressed out papa, but the same can be said about all play when a work opportunity that will also help out a friend is staring you in the face. Let’s just say they’d be a match made in heaven if their paths would only cross…and cross they do but they end up more crossed than anything else. It’s rather funny and a great example of how one should not assume what another means nor what their intentions are….just ask them to speak their mind already! SO much confusion could be afforded. Now on to the teens…

Coco is just graduating high school with college right around the corner, a good girl (too good at times according to Mom) and smart as a whip….Webb is right along the same paths as well, though his Dad wishes he would become technology challenged for a while at least and enjoy the European landscape. Their chance email encounter due to the bag switcheroo is entertaining to say the least…especially when they are trying to sort out if they each are who they say they are. Never has a case of “mistaken identity” been captured so fully and full of life as this….well, that I’ve seen so far at least.

Plans are made, dates are set and gasp! They agree to meet, swap bags, and maybe numbers if all goes well….but as this one is more contemporary fiction, it is given free reign to have things go wrong that can go wrong. It mostly boils down to a lack of communication…which again is pretty ironic since that’s what they were doing this whole time…and bottled up feelings, but it translates to a story you won’t be able to put down. The pages fly by and before you know it, you’ve reached the end….and although its not the one you thought you were speeding towards, it’s perfect just the same.

A great summer reading pick for young adult readers and beyond! If you enjoy a fast flowing story of mishaps, chance encounters, potential connections missed and gained, as well as time spent in a foreign land, this one is most certainly for you. There are moments that are smile inducing, moments of frustration, kindness shown and forgiveness given…but mostly there are the moments we stumble and share through a life well lived that lead us down those often unexpected but truly worthwhile paths that memories are made of. A grand adventure you won’t be able to put down that celebrates the value of the written word...

*review copy received in exchange for my honest review ( )
  GRgenius | Jun 20, 2012 |
If Kate Klise's In The Bag sounds like a kooky novel relying on uncanny coincidences to further the plot, you’re right — and I liked it. Though far from unpredictable, it’s easy to see how fate plays a role in joining together four people; the whole novel has a sort of “Sleepless In Seattle” feel to it. You know what I mean? Like everything is destined to work out, but only the audience can see it. And we’re along for the ride.

Though Coco’s typical-teenage-character whining (“Mooooom! You’re ruining my life!“) nonsense took a while to stomach, I eventually took a shine to her. Both Coco and Daisy are struggling to sort out their roles in the mother-daughter dynamic, especially as Coco gets older and prepares for college. Their trip to Paris is supposed to be a chance to reconnect and recharge their batteries, especially for Daisy, but nothing seems to be going their way.

After a luggage mix-up, they’re linked to Andrew and Webb, a handsome father-son pair, and it’s not complicated to see that Teen Girl A will feel a spark with Teen Boy B. Communicating exclusively through email, In The Bag focuses often on the role of digital courtship versus the more traditional ways of getting to know someone (like, you know, in person). Daisy is wary of technology while Andrew embraces it; Coco and Webb are, of course, glued to whatever Internet cafe they can find abroad. I liked the explorations of “modern” courtship — they made sense, and Klise wasn’t heavy-handed about it. The whole “OMG people don’t really talk anymore” overtures popping up in contemporary fiction are getting stale.

Those who love a side of scenery, French food and wicked descriptions of Europe with their love stories will definitely find plenty to enjoy in In The Bag. Flipping between sunny Madrid and romantic Paris, it’s the sort of novel that will have you wanting to pack a bag immediately. (Just hope it doesn’t get lost.) Though I got more of a sense of France than Spain, that’s probably because Webb spent his time in Madrid talking to Coco in Paris — so we see less of the city through his eyes. Still, the travel aspects were fun, and I enjoyed the “Americans abroad” perspective.

In The Bag definitely has crossover appeal. Adult readers and chick lit lovers will relate to the harried-parents-doing-the-best-they-can relationship between Andrew and Daisy; teens have plenty to get their blood pumpin’ regarding the sweet but flirtatious evolution of Webb and Coco’s emails. By the time the pair meet face-to-face, I was grinning — I mean, who wouldn’t root for those crazy kids? And when things don’t go exactly as planned, I could sympathize. For as much as I had to suspend disbelief at points, Coco and Webb’s meeting was painfully realistic.

So armchair travelers rejoice! Kate Klise has penned a funny, light and speedy read transporting readers through Madrid and Paris with two love stories entertaining enough for me to devour the whole thing on a three-hour train ride. And I have no regrets. ( )
  writemeg | Jun 4, 2012 |
I know where you might find copies of Kate Klise's adult debut novel In the Bag this summer ..... in quite a few beach bags! It's absolutely perfect for summer reading - sweet, charming, light and fun.

Chef and single mom Daisy is on her way to Paris to take a much needed vacation with her teenage daughter Coco. Single dad Andrew is on that same flight with his teenage son Webb on their way to Spain. When Andrew accidently spills a glass of wine on Daisy, he feels terrible....but also smitten. Daisy is well - the kind of woman he could fall for. So he decides to tuck a note into her carry on luggage with his email contact information. You never know, right?

It is only when each pair arrives at their hotels that the teenagers discover that they have picked up someone else's luggage. Three guesses here. Yes - Coco and Webb have each other's bags. When they discover contact info in the bags, they begin conversing by email. And the conincidences don't stop there.....

Klise has conjured up a simply delightful plot, full of miscommunications, misperceptions, missed cues and misunderstandings. She has chosen to tell the story from the viewpoint of each of the characters, which really worked. The characters were believable and rang true. I nodded my head and chuckled at much of the parent's thoughts and dialogue. It brought back memories of my own two (now grown) teenagers. Klise also did a great job with Coco and Webb. Much of their communication is done through email and Kate wrote witty missives that seemed to capture the tentative beginnings of teenage relationships. Interestingly it is only when they meet in person that Coco and Webb have trouble communicating, mirroring today's dependence on electronic connections.

And no summer beach read is complete without a happy ending. Yes, you can see it coming but Klise makes the journey there so much fun. Chick lit fans will love it. And it would make a cute rom/com movie too!
And it was only when I finished the book that I discovered the idea behind the book. Klise found a hand written note in her own carry on bag. I wonder if she ever followed up? ( )
  Twink | May 24, 2012 |
Okay, so I'm a 30-something single mom of 2 boys, not yet teenagers but they both think they're 40. This book really hit home with me as a single parent and kept me hooked from first page to last. I really loved the writing style that Ms. Klise uses, telling the story between four alternate points of view. The four characters are wonderfully created and really capture the readers attention with their comedic ways!

I really enjoyed travelling to Paris, Madrid and Barcelona with this 4 amazing characters. Daisy Sprinkle, who gets wine spilled on her by a stranger on her flight. Andrew Nelson, said stranger and writer of a secret admirer note that Daisy is so not impressed with. Webb Nelson, Andrew's 17 year old son who, upon arrival in Madrid, realizes that he does not wear bras and panties so he must have the wrong bag. Coco Sprinkle, Daisy 18 year old soon-to-be-college-student-wanna-experience-life daughter who realizes that she must have some grungy guys bag when they arrive in Paris. That alone is enough to keep the reader hooked and laughing. But it's what happens after all this happens that really takes the reader for a fun, exciting, whirlwind ride!

Coco and Webb plot to return their bags to each other after Webb finds Coco's email address. Their emails are quite funny and very sweet between two teens who are very inexperienced in the dating world! Daisy meets Andrew in Madrid when she is recruited by her dear friend, Solange, to cater to the art display she's hosting. Little did Daisy know that Andrew is the man she emailed after receiving an admirer note that left her reeling!

I will stop there. I'll give the plot away with what happens to them all and I don't spoil it for anyone! I will tell you that this summer, you need to sit back, relax, and take a trip to Paris (and Madrid!)(and Barcelona!) with this fun loving characters. You'll be swept off your feet by the wit and charm that flows from these sweet characters and you'll learn that parenting isn't always easy, but that you need to relax and go with the flow.

I definitely recommend this book with 5 Books, two thumbs up, hats off and so much more! It is a fast paced read-short chapters, each one told from a character's point of view. You'll laugh and you'll....well, laugh! Ms. Klise has done a wonderful job at creating this light, airy novel and I am highly anxious to see what she releases next for her new grownup fans! ( )
  ReviewsbyMolly | May 16, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
The book is great for reading in short bursts - waiting at appointments, lunch break, etc. The story is light and fun. I loved the short chapters told from the four main character's points of view. I thought the plans Webb and Coco made to meet in Paris (rather than have Coco accompany her mother to Spain) were unnecessary, until I finished the story. All the happenings came together to a decent conclusion. Great for someone looking for a light, romantic comedy. ( )
  kibosa | May 6, 2012 |
Based on a true life circumstance that provided her with the incentive to write this amazing novel, Kate Klise takes readers from two different generations along on a world wind trip to Paris and Madrid in In The Bag.

As two unlikely passengers boarding a flight to Paris, Daisy Sprinkle, sitting in first class and having a complimentary glass of wine, encounters through a bump of fate, Andrew Nelson. He is the one who accidentally bumps her and causes her to spill her wine on her blouse while making his way to his assigned seat. As a stewardess sweeps in to take care of the crisis, he is reprimanded to find his seat now. Feeling less than a man, he hand writes a personal note of apology offering to replace the blouse, or have it cleaned. But much more than that, he would love to take her to dinner once they return from Paris if that's at all possible. He ends the note with his email address. While they are waiting for their baggage in Paris, he slips the note into her carry on and hopes that she will respond.

Meanwhile, Coco, her daughter finds that she has retrieved the wrong duffel bag when they arrive at their apartment in Paris filled with a man's rumpled jeans, shirts and a well worn copy of Walden by Henry David Thoreau. What she soon realizes that someone else has her duffel bag filled with not only her clothes but also her worst underwear in it. Her mom advised her to pack her worst and they would buy new lingerie when they got to Paris and could throw the old stuff away.

Webb realizes that he has the wrong duffel bag when he opens his to find nicely organized and packed women's clothes and bras and underwear that certainly don't belong to him. When he locates a luggage tag with an email address attached, he finds an internet cafe in Madrid and sets off to locate the person who's bag he has. Lucky for him, she responds quickly enough via email and they soon set off on a series of unexpected, cute and witty email messages while their parents attend to their jobs. What they both soon realize is that they have a lot in common and agree to meet somehow and exchange bags if only they can escape their parents.

I received In The Bag by Kate Klise compliments of William Morrow, a division of Harper Collins Publishers for my honest review and LOVED it! It's like You Got Mail while traveling! This is such a cute love story that deal with two couples, Andrew and Daisy, and Coco and Webb, who soon realize that their ideas of romance and falling in love are much different that what they could ever hope to imagine. For Coco and Webb, they are part of the younger generation who text and email, while Andrew and Daisy come from a pre-digital generation of letter writers and simpler times. You can't help but smile after reading this novel told from four different points of view through the week they are traveling! A definite must read for the summer and one I highly recommend! This one is a 5 out of 5 stars!! ( )
  ReviewsFromTheHeart | Apr 30, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I really enjoyed this fun, quick read! It was not difficult to keep up with all the different characters at all; I loved having characters that I could root for until the end! If you enjoy a good love story, you should definitely pick up this book; it's a quick, easy read that you won't want to put down! ( )
  ceh0017 | Apr 3, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I love Kate Klise so I was very excited to receive an ARC of In the Bag, her first book for adults. While I enjoyed it enough, I would not say it was one of my favorites. Her work for young readers is so fantastic (the Regarding series, Grounded, 43 Old Cemetery Road, etc.) that I was really excited to see what she would do for adults. While I mostly liked the characters (more Andrew and Daisy - Coco was beyond annoying), the story was a very far-fetched. I didn't feel connected to the story or compelled to find out what would happen next. I brought the book on vacation with me and started it just before the end of my trip. When I got home I was fairly busy and didn't read for a few days and all of a sudden I realized I had forgotten to pick it up again. A book that I'm really interested in I don't have to remind myself to pick up again. Basically I didn't really care what happened to the characters.

I did pick it up again and finish and I'm glad I did (unless I am really hating something, I don't like not finishing a book) and it was a sweet, frothy but totally forgettable ride. I still love Kate Klise's work and will continue to read anything she puts out but I found In the Bag to be disappointing because my expectations were so high. ( )
  catherinea | Apr 3, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Daisy and her daughter Zoe are traveling to Paris from St. Louis for Zoe's spring break. Daisy is a top-notch chef and recently left a restaurant job to clear her mind and decide what she wants to do next. Andrew and his ason are heading to Madrid for Andrew's job as an exhibit designer. On the plane, Andrew actually jostled a woman holding a glass of wine which spills on her silk blouse. Andrew feels terrible. The woman is very attractive and Andrew is drawn to her. Uncharacteristically, Andrew composes a note apologizing and asking her out for a drink when they are back in St. Louis. He stuffs the note in her open purse. When the parties arrive at their respective destinations, Zoe and Webb realize that somewhere during their journey, their bags have been switched. From this unpromising beginning, the four characters...Daisy, Zoe, Andrew and Webb...go about their business not realizing that everything they do is connected in some way.

This book is a light, entertaining and funny read. It is told through the POV of each character. The reader sees the interconnections among the characters which adds to the fun and fast pace. It's really two stories...Daisy's and Andrew's, both looking for something more in their lives...and Webb and Zoe's...both on the brink of adulthood and trying to stand on their own. Teens will enjoy this book as much as adults will. It's a perfect beach book! ( )
  lrobe190 | Apr 2, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I received an advance copy of this book and can't wait for it's debut in May. In the Bag makes you want to be Daisy and Coco and Andrew and Webb. It makes you want to laugh and cry at the same time and does what the perfect feel good book must do - it makes you feel warm and misty at the memory of and first love. I could identify with the characters easily and the change up between each person's view of what happens is magical. Coco and her chef mother Daisy are on a vacation to Paris as is Webb and his exhibit designing dad Andrew. When the kids luggage gets mixed up it is kismet. Or will it just be the beginning of one misunderstanding after another. Does it help that it takes place in Paris and Madrid - Oui! This will be a terrific summer read- the perfect accessory to a vacation. Tres bien Mme. Klise! ( )
  ltcl | Apr 2, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
The moral of this sweet story is never ever jump to conclusions. The happy ending is obvious from early in the plot but the characters keep setting up roadblocks as they each make assumptions and jump to conclusions. The fun is following the characters as they detour down dead ends before finding each other at the end. The story is told from 4 points of view and I think is enjoyable to read whether you identify with the single parents or their teenage kids. ( )
  CarolO | Mar 27, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
A mother and a daughter, a father and his son's, europeon vacations are instantly changed with the mix-up of two bags at the air port. Kate Klise's book "In the Bag" is written with each chapter told by a different character, and almost like a journal of the four characters days. This is Kate Klise's first adult novel but I can also see many teen readers enjoying the book. I actually found the storyline of the teens in the book better then the adult characters storyline. Even though the storyline was a bit predictable I found the book to be a quick and light read which would be great to take to on vacaction with you. ( )
  lucky11 | Mar 25, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Let me begin by saying, even though this is her first "adult" book, this could be read by YA's also. It was a very easy read about a single-mother and daugher who have several encounters with a single-father and son. The ending seemed rushed and overall was a let down, but I did enjoy the novel as a whole - would recommend as a beach or weekend read. ( )
  Nebraska_Girl1971 | Mar 23, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
In the Bag is a story of an Adult- older generation 'get to know you' versus a teenage technology driven 'get-to-know you' romance. It is funny to see the comparison of the two different generations and how they communicate. It was a little cheesy in parts but I enjoyed the chapters being told from different character perspectives. It's an easy summer read. ( )
  bvwest | Mar 19, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
It is apparent that In the Bag by Kate Klise was her first novel for adults. I felt like I was reading a book for pre-teens. The story line was pretty implausible, but something that a pre-teen might fantasize about. One of the main characters was named Coco Sprinkle. Does that tell you anything? With all that being said, I did find the book pretty cute – a quick beach read. ( )
  katiemertz | Mar 18, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
This is not the best book. It is the story of travelers who get involved in a luggage mix up and how that issue is solved. It is not very believable . This author should stick to the children's books she is used to writing. I would not recommend this book. However I am pleased that I was chosen to review this book for LibraryThing. ( )
  CandyH | Mar 9, 2012 |
Showing 22 of 22

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
14 wanted
2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.44)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 3
2.5
3 9
3.5 5
4 11
4.5
5 4

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

In the Bag by Kate Klise was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,739,505 books! | Top bar: Always visible