HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Women Scorned by Angela Alsaleem
Loading...

Women Scorned (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Angela Alsaleem

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
5544214,390 (2.33)6
ilovekittens's review
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Angela Alsaleem's novel, Women Scorned, is a surprisingly imaginative read. It is, at turns, gory, disturbing, twisted, and weird, but one thing it is definitely ISN'T is dull. I was hooked from the first page, and just couldn't put it down. The characters are strange (in a good way), and the plot is one of the most inventive of anything I've read in a long while. Alsaleem takes on some of the most classic horror conventions (zombies, ghosts, satanic cults) in refreshingly new ways – quite an amazing feat. Honestly, I'm surprised by the low reviews given here. You have to know going in that this book is not going to be some sort of philosophical revelation. It is fun and imaginative, which I find to be a plus in my horror reads! I'd recommend this to anyone who likes some gore and can just let go and enjoy a good story without worrying that the literati will judge them ( )
  ilovekittens | Apr 26, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (44)  Dutch (1)  All languages (45)
Showing 1-25 of 44 (next | show all)
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I love horror. I love gore. But both I like in understandable terms. This was just gore for gores sake and not much else. The plot could have gone in so many directions but instead fell flat.
  OracleOfCrows | Sep 21, 2013 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I received this book for free from library thing.

I'm gonna have to DNF this book. The violence against the women was too much for me. And that is saying a lot because I'm the queen of gore. I felt this book drug on and on and on, not really going anywhere and could have been cut in half and still get the message out there. ( )
  tguinther | Jan 31, 2013 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I seldom come across a book that makes my stomach turn; I read a lot of horror and I'd say I tolerate violence pretty well. This one was a true stomach-turner, I read a lot on the bus and I really had to work on keeping a straight face while reading. All and all I liked the story, the characters were well written and the plot was fine. However, at times I just lost interest in the story and just kept on reading waiting to get to the end. I can't really tell what made me lose interest but I think that (and I'd never thought I'd say this) too much violence makes it lose it's power and meaning.
I don't regret reading the book but it didn't leave me much. After a week I hardly remembered the story, I just remembered that it was very graphic. And I really hate the cover. ( )
  Iira | Jan 16, 2013 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Some people should not be allowed to write books. This author is one of those people. The book made no sense, was in some places overtly graphic for the shock value, not to contribute to the plot, the characters confusing and the whole plot itself was one vast pit of despair. I normally try to find positive and value to every writers work but I just can't with this one. I did not like this book at all, yet to give it a fair try I read the whole thing with the hopes that it would all make sense in the end. It didn't. This author needs to scrap this idea and start fresh - this time taking time to think out the plot and offer the background necessary to grasp the story. Once that's done then make sure to have someone review, edit and critique the work prior to publishing. ( )
  cwaldrum | Aug 26, 2012 |
Women Scorned by Angela Alsaleem from Journalstone books is for hard core horror fans. The story follows a woman named Camilla who was just murdered, now an ancient spirit possesses her, using her as a tool of vengeance. Tortured by visions of murdered women, she is thrust into a world of terror as she seeks a way to rid herself of the nightmare she has become.

Camilla is still trapped in her body but has no control. In order to live she feeds off of a substance that is on the breath of criminals. This is the least of Camilla’s problems though, because there is a cult stalking the spirit that inhabits Camilla and they plan on using it to release a horde of demons on earth.

I have to warn you on this book you shouldn’t read it if you have a weak stomach because there is a lot of gore here but there is some great characters and its a well written story. Mainly Women Scorned is a tale about revenge and asks the question can you really move on after you punish your enemies. This is a hard core bloody horror novel that will make you squirm in your chair, if you like a lot of violence then pick this one up. ( )
  dwatson2 | Aug 4, 2012 |
Women Scorned by Angela Alsaleem is a quick, furious and frightful read.I Woman Scorned is about a murdered woman named Camilla. After she is murdered an ancient spirit named Rory possesses her. The spirit uses Camilla as tool of vengeance for murdered women. Camilla's dead flesh hungers for a substance that only exists on the breath of criminals.
A secret cult in need of the Rory spirit sends their chosen to capture Camilla. The spirit inside Camilla's body is their key to unlocking the secrets of hell. Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned. Camilla and everyone her path crosses learns this first hand.
This book contains extreme violence torture and graphic murder scenes, so it is not intended for people who don't enjoy horror! I love horror and I thoroughly enjoyed this book! This book is full of scary moments and will give you nightmares! This book is packed with extreme gory details. Some of the murder scenes and torture scenes shocked and scared me, and I don't shock and scare easily! (I have not been shocked and scared by a book in a very long time. That is why I gave Women Scorned 5 stars) ( )
  pixiedark | Jul 29, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I got this book through Early Reviewers program.

I thought the book started out interesting but after a while just got wierd. I didn't feel invested in the story or connected to the characters in anyway. I didn't care if they succeeded or failed, just felt totally disconnected. There were times when she switched from he/she to it when describing the entities. In all, it didn't seem like a well connected book and I probably wouldn't read another like it.
  Thalaba | Jul 18, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Camilla Benedict, an aspiring art student, is brutally raped and murdered. After her death, Camilla's now mutilated body is possessed by an ancient spirit. Camilla is haunted by visions. Visions of women's last few moments before their life is snuffed out. She experiences their death over and over again. She becomes determined to find a way to end this nightmare and die once more.

However she longs for something in the breath of criminals. An intangible substance that fills her with more energy than she ever had when she was alive. She becomes addicted to stealing their breath, consuming their souls. And like an addict, she wants to end her suffering, but at the same time wants one more fix, one more jolt to make her feel complete. Even if only for a little while.

Camilla meets Libitina Flesher, a woman who, although deeply disturbed, is somehow able to see her when when no one else can. Libitina agrees to help Camilla find a way to end her unnatural existence. Although the circumstances through which Camilla and Libinita meet are less than ideal, Camilla is glad to have some company although Libitina may regret joining Camilla's quest.

Aludra Erebus, the Chosen One, is a dark virgin who enjoys inflicting pain upon innocent people. She has bent sent by the Order of Merlin, a Satanic cult, to capture the spirit inhabiting Camilla's body in order for the cult to perform an ancient ritual that will unleash the demons of hell upon Earth. Camilla can sense that this evil is tracking her and knows that if she is captured, the Order will have the key to unlocking the gates of Hell and giving Satan free rule over the human realm.

This book is extremely dark and extremely graphic story containing sexual mutilations, rape, and torture in descriptive detail. Although the level of detail is fantastic, if you are even in the least troubled with blood and gore type of books or are not a fan of the horror genre, then I highly recommend you skip this book and pick up another. However, if you like gross-out details or enjoy books of this genre, then you may want to consider reading this book. But I cannot stress enough, the details of torture and rape leave very little to imagination and although I usually applaud the level of detail provided, I recommend keeping this book far away from children and people with weak stomachs. ( )
  Kevinbw309 | Jun 21, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I haven't read a ton of "horror" books. If I do read books from this genre, they are usually classics. So I am not very schooled in this type of novel, and therefore this review is coming from a totally unmediated place.
I can't say I enjoyed this book, at least not in the traditional sense of the word. It's a dark book about bad things happening to not-so-bad people. That being said, this is one of the most imaginative and creative books I have ever read. I am familiar with the horror genre in terms of film (extremely familiar), and I have not seen anything quite like this before. The author introduces new generic tropes and situations into the genre which are familiar in some loose sense. I think this can be difficult to do, and kudos to her for achieving this.
If you like horror novels, then maybe you will like this one. It's worth a try if you are searching for something new. Also, there are some graphic descriptions in this book. If you are really repelled/repulsed by graphic sexual violence, this is not for you. It's not constant, but it's there enough times for it to be a problem for someone who really can't stand it. ( )
  amschroe | Jun 12, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Finally got around to finishing this. Really had to force myself to continue because this book as a mess. Way too much descriptions of torture and rape for my liking, or for anyone's liking probably. About the tenth time you read the description of Camilla's bloody corpse or decaying face you just get numb.

The plot is confusing and not in a thoughtful way. Too much silly numerology, pseudo-Satanism (or Merlinism?), and spirits. None of it was scary, gripping, or even slightly believable. It just felt... contrived.

I don't recommend this book to anyone. ( )
  Unright | Jun 8, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I received this book through the Librarything Early Reveiwers Program.

Starting with the rape/murder of a young woman by a cop, this story never loses it's pacing or fails to keep the reader engrossed and turning the pages. After the cop leaves her, Camilla comes back to life and goes looking for help......(Or does she really?) Why can nobody see her all bloody and hurt?... Why won't they help her?
When Libitina Flesher steals a body from a morgue to study, she finds the body is the undead. Thinking she will be the first to document a real zombie, she follows Camilla out into the forest.
Then comes Aludra - sent from The Dark One to bring back a spirit who will bring the spirit world into the living world. She is a very sick minded women who is hunting or luring Camilla.
I am a huge horror fan and just loved this book. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time reading it. If it was a movie, I definitely would have covered my eyes at a few point. But since the images were in my head, I couldn't hide from them. Every gory scene was described in perfect gross-me-out detail.
I can't wait to read something else from this author. ( )
  pamkaye | Jun 3, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
This not usually my genre even though I do enjoy horror however I found it laborious to get to the end of the book. The descriptions were well written in some parts but it just seemed that the author was trying too hard and could have left a lot more to our imagination. Some of the descriptions were not very original and seemed to have been taken from fairytales. The story didn't grip me and the naming of the characters lacked thought: High Priest, High Priestess and the Dark One which don't portray anything sinister or particular about their function or part in the story. Am still trying to figure out the point of this book. ( )
  DBeecher | May 30, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Received book via Early Reviewer Contest - I do not normally read horror(I guess that's what it would fall into). The book started well enough but soon got quite confusing. Too many spirits and unexplained goings on for me to follow. This may be normal for stories in this genre. Not my cup of tea. ( )
  omsorensen | May 30, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
This was a weird book. I liked the story line in the beginning but then once it got into the ancient spirits and all that I became confused and couldn't keep what was going on straight. ( )
  SweetReaderMA | May 29, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
This book, in a word, was weird. I am torn as to whether or not it was the good or bad variety.

There are three important characters in this book. Camilla is a young woman who is raped and left for dead. Unable to understand why people aren't helping her- indeed, why most can't seem to see her at all- she soon realizes she has an almost instinctual taste for the breath spirits of men who have brutally killed women. She is the protagonist of the tale. Libitina is one of the only people who can see her, and she ends up helping Camilla on her journey to discover why she is still hanging around after death.

Adding another layer of wtf-ittude to the story is a crazy cult who planted the spirit in Camilla. They plan on using her to enact a bizarre, possibly world ending ritual, which brings me to Aludra, the third main character. Aludra has been sent into the world to draw Camilla to these crazies by- you guessed it- horribly murdering and torturing women.

The character of Libitina was perhaps the most interesting part of this tale. She's an odd one, but I held a certain kinship with her because of her overwhelming ambition to work in pathology, and also because she carries with her a profound sense of failure (something I can relate to as of late.) She feels almost like an absurdist's extreme version of me.

Overall, I felt the storytelling was weak, despite a few moments of probably unintentional hilarity. The biggest issue with the story was the lack of clarity through the middle and end. There were several moments where I had to shake my head and go, "Dude, wait... what?" Also, the role of Camilla during the book's climax as well as after the story is confusing.

Women Scorned is certainly an interesting tale with some heavy subject matter. The one idea I wish had been explored further was what the ritual was supposed to accomplish: a merge with the spirit world. Would it have been a good thing, in the end? Despite the cult members' extreme sadism and sado-masochism, they all seemed to believe that completing the ritual would alleviate the pain of losing loved ones the world over, since people could interact with spirits. So were Aludra and her comrades really evil, or just a means to an end?

A strange 3 out of 5 stars. ( )
  rebelaessedai | May 29, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Camilla is possessed after being brutally murdered, awaking with a taste for revenge—for herself and all mistreated, abused, and murdered women. Tormented by visions, she seeks out her victim’s one at a time. But a dark cult bent on intertwining the living world with the evil, is seeking out the spirit that has possessed her. Stuck in the middle is Libitina, a struggling pathology student who is the only thing standing in the way of the cult and the demon horde waiting on the other side.

Women Scorned is a disturbing, creepy, character riddled horror novel. I can guarantee that the reader will cringe until the last page is turned. ( )
  debbieaheaton | May 26, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
ummmm...I'm kinda in shock here. Do I enjoy horror and can I handle very graphic even as some reviews put it (gory) scenes. Yes, doesn't bother me at all. I'm one of those Texas chainsaw massacre or saw movie fanatics. However, this book keep me teetering on the this is just a bit to much for me see-saw. I dunno..parts of it worked and parts didn't I just could never get the feeling of it all coming together in a way that made the vulgarity work. Unlike story's of say the "Saw" movies it all comes together. Two streams that eventually flowed together into a river. But not here with this book. Just didn't work for me.
1 vote justablondemoment | May 24, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I finally finished this book. It was a slower than usual read for me. I am particularly new to this type of story. Gore, gore and more gore. I had a hard time figuring out the purpose of the characters plight until the last 20-30 pages. I think mostly because I saw the end in sight; the story drags on too long.

There was murder, evil/bad spirit worshipping, blood, things you wouldn't want to visualize or actually see while eating or drinking. A bit to gorey for my tastes (and I've seen all the Saw and Hostel movies lol).

If you like gruesome books with a little paranormal, give it a try. I will not be reading this a second time. ( )
  lizamichelle1 | May 23, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I'm not really sure how I feel about this book. It was gory and violent .... I could deal with that, but I felt like the story needed more. I couldn't identify with any of the characters (nor do I suppose I would want to with the main character having been raped and her vagina slit open, but still ...) and everyone seemed to be walking around aimlessly. Definitely more information regarding the characters, the plot, etc. needs to be given to the reader and I felt like the author was grasping at straws not knowing how the story should play out. I was also really disappointed in the ending; it was pretty anti-climatic and I honestly thought Camilla should have given the "Rory" to Libitina. ( )
  aingalls | May 18, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I have read some horror novels, or at least what I consider horror. This was horror with a lot of gore and evil. (little out of my comfort zone) However, i did not feel it was a bad read. I was interested enough to stay til the end. The story line had great imagination. I felt the two main characters Camilla and Libitina could have been developed more. Giving the readers a better insight into who they were. I wanted to know more about them, and who Rory was. Rory was hard for me to relate with. I actually thought I may have miss understood something when Rory was introduced. I did try looking back through the book to find something and was not successful. The ending left me feeling I needed more.
I do believe the author has potential and a great imagination. Angela keep writing! ( )
  kdaviselford | May 14, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Violent and disgusting for the sake of being violent and disgusting. The author spent so much time trying to disturb that she missed any sort of interesting plot or character development. Honestly, this was nearly unreadable. And then random things happen to shock.

Really, I can't remember the last time I read something so poorly written and pointless. I skimmed through the last bit because I couldn't justify this write up without checking to see if it improved. It didn't. ( )
  Phantasma | May 12, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
This book moves really slowly and is also slow to engage the reader. There are a lot of repetitive details and even though I'm a fan of the gruesome horror genre I just wasn't interested enough in Camilla's plight. I prefer there be more plot interspersed in my gore. I was disappointed as the write-up on Early Reviewers sounded super interesting. Having said all that I'd be interested in reading a future work from the author in the hopes that they improve with practice.
  sarradee | May 7, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
This book is mildly disturbing, with most of the gruesome details repeated over and over again, seemingly just for the shock value. It was really hard to get into, and it seemed to move along too slow, likely because of the repeating of the details. ( )
1 vote kingoftheicedragons | May 7, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I won a copy of Women Scorned from Librarything. I had a hard time getting into it, maybe because the content, maybe because I was a bit confused. The writing style is good, but I think the plot wasn't my cup of tea. It starts out with Camilla getting raped/murdered, then somehow she "wakes" back up and starts wandering around. She's being pursued by Alundra, who was born for the soul purpose of uniting the 2 halves of the Rory spirit, which in turn would allow all the angry and tormented souls to be back on earth. Maybe the zombie type corpse wandering around and being reminded about all her wounds and blood oozing is what kept turning my stomach? Either way, once it all came together, about 75% thru the book, it picked up for me and I was really curious what was going to happen with Libitina, Camilla, and Alundra, not to mention the High Priest and High Priestess. Luckily Satan's plan was thwarted, but I'm still insure if Camilla is going to be walking around as a rotting corpse for another 900 years. A 2.5 rating, but I'm not willing to round up to a 3. ( )
  Supera710 | May 7, 2012 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
I got this book as part of LTER.
It is the story of 3 women, Camilla, Libitina and Aludra. Camilla has been killed with violence and is walking dead. Libitina is a woman who accidentally discovers what Camilla is and sets out to observe her . Aludra is a women who grew up in a satanic temple and her goal is to bring Camilla back to the temple with her.

Although in this book there is lots of gore and gruesome details, it never really drew me in. Even when reading about the horrors inflicted on the various women I never once felt horrified, I felt very detached. The characters were shallow and I never really identified with any of them. The plot was interesting but without strong characters the book fell flat. ( )
  Shoosty | May 7, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 44 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

Angela Alsaleem is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.33)
0.5 2
1 8
1.5 2
2 12
2.5 2
3 10
3.5
4 3
4.5
5 3

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Women Scorned by Angela Alsaleem was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,480,646 books! | Top bar: Always visible