HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia…
Loading...

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Sylvia Day

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,2471486,356 (3.7)20
Review courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales

Quick & Dirty: An intense and riveting erotic read that will play with your heart and emotions.

Opening Sentence: “We should head to a bar and celebrate.”

The Review:

Bared to You is about love in a purely raw state. Eva Trammel is a 24-year old woman who has recently graduated and is ready to make her mark on the world. Eva has chose to take the simple path, found an entry-level position in a marketing firm, all without utilizing her wealthy stepfather’s ties in the business world. Eva has moved to New York City on her own and is ready to begin her adult life on her own terms. In a meeting destined by fate, Eva runs into Gideon Cross. A young late twenty-something, Gideon is a successful and highly motivated industry giant.

Sparks fly, and boy are they hot. Eva and Gideon are drawn to each other with a force like two magnets. Together, they are passionate enough that there is an unforgiving need. Individually, they have secrets and insecurities that destroy one another.

Eva is very strong-willed, and rightfully so. With an overbearing and overprotective mother, Eva’s life is constantly monitored, against her will. Eva craves independence and self-sufficiency, not only to be an adult, but also to overcome family scrutiny. Eva’s journey to secure the foundations of her heart allows her to take a leap of faith. She allows her insecurities to get the better of her, and for a strong woman in the office, she’s completely docile everywhere else.

Gideon is definitely your dark, tall, and handsome male lead. Gideon is a force to be reckoned with, and he definitely commands your presence in every sense of the word. Gideon’s career is controlled and fast-paced, but once he meets Eva, the dynamic and balance of that life is thrown off. There was a point where you instantly fall in love with who Gideon is as a person versus the image or persona of him. The intimate moments shared between Gideon and Eva show the reader this deep understanding of who he really is. Like an onion, there are so many layers to him, and lucky for Eva, she’s the woman he’s willing to open up to.

Bared to You shows deep emotions and subjects that complements the romance and sexual relationship of the book. I couldn’t put the book down. There are heavy erotic details in this book, and not for the faint of heart. Explicit images and passionate positions cover the pages, and boy did I enjoy them. But erotica isn’t the only thing about Bared to You that made this an enjoyable read. Day wrote about sensitive topics and addresses them with sensitivity and finesse.

I can’t stop thinking about this book, the characters, and the story. Day wrote everything perfectly, definitely making Bared to You one of my favorite reads for this year. There was everything in this story, and everything that I didn’t think to ask for. By the way, just in case you didn’t understand from my vague erotica descriptions, Bared to You contains explicit scenes and is full of hot, graphic sex. But I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. I did.

Notable Scene:

I did what I’d wanted to do since I saw him in my living room: I shoved my hands in his hair and kissed him back. I loved the way he kissed me, as if he had to, as if he’d go crazy if he didn’t and had nearly waited too long. I sucked on his tongue, having learned how much he liked it, having learned how much I liked it, how much it made me want to suck him elsewhere with the same eagerness.

His hands were sliding over my bare back and I moaned, feeling the prod of his erection against my hip. I shifted, moving to straddle him, shoving the skirt of my gown out of the way and making a mental note to thank my mom for the dress – which had such a convenient slit. With my knees on either side of his hips, I wrapped my arms around his shoulders and deepened the kiss. I licked into his mouth, nibbled on his lower lip, stroked my tongue along his…

Gideon gripped my waist and pushed me away. He leaned into the seat back, his neck arched to look up at my face, his chest heaving. “What are you doing to me?”

I ran my hands down his chest through his dress shirt, feeling the unforgiving hardness of his muscles. My fingers traced the ridges of his abdomen, my mind forming a picture of how he might look naked. “I’m touching you. Enjoying the hell out of you. I want you, Gideon.”

FTC Advisory: Berkley/Penguin provided me with a copy of Bared to You. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review. ( )
  DarkFaerieTales | Jul 4, 2012 |
English (135)  Spanish (2)  Italian (2)  Catalan (1)  All languages (140)
Showing 1-25 of 135 (next | show all)
If you have read Fifty Shades of Grey then you will probably like Bared to You, haven't read shades of grey myself but I know that they are exactly alike. (I read several chapters of grey but couldn't get into.)

In Bared To You both the male and female protagonists have emotional scars from their past and no experience with healthy romantic relationships to speak of, and in turn it affected they way they, or more so Gideon Cross, dealt with relationships. Gideon is a powerful business tycoon that has never had a girlfriend and prefers to date brunettes but Eva isn't a brunette. The book delves more into Eva Hammel's past experience but Gideon didn't open up much about his own, but as the story progresses you can kinda put two and two together. Maybe the next book will delve more into what drives Gideon. Gideon needs control and prefers to be the dom, (his own words) and for his partner to be submissive.

In my opinion I prefer Gideons's character over Christian Grey's, Gideon didn't come off as arrogant and he treated Eva with a lot more respect. (Did read several chapters of Fifty Shades but couldn't get into it.)

The secondary characters are very interesting and some are funny, they helped to create a good backdrop to the story.
( )
  GigisIrieReads | Apr 20, 2016 |
So this book had a lot of sex.

It was basically relationship drama.
Sex.
Relationship drama.
Sex.
Relationship drama.
Sex.
And so forth.

This was definitely better than Fifty Shades of Grey. I liked it but I wasn't blown away by it. I wanted more BDSM type of sex than what I got. But I suspect that will be developed in the other books. ( )
  jessicadelellis | Mar 26, 2016 |
I was late to the party reading this book - its ok, I don't hang with the crowd in most cases.
I will start by saying it took me a while to get into the book, but once in i really liked it.
Reading this book made me think of 3 other books/series that i have also read:
1) Gabriels Inferno/Rapture
2) Fifty Shades Trilogy
3) Trust in Advertising

All of these books share common story elements
1. Extremely wealthy lead male character, with out of this world good looks & body to match
2. Lead male character is controlling, possessive, sexually experienced, gets jealous easily
3. Weaker (personality wise) female with self esteem issues
4. some sort of trauma used as the explanation of the personality of the male lead character
5. The "other" women threat to the relationship
6. Lead female has best friend that plays strongly in the storyline
7. Sex seems to be the glue that brings and holds the relationships together
8. Dysfunctional families - either the male or female lead character
9. The driving need to be together, even if the relationship does not make sense beyond the great sex
10. Major emotional, traumatic issues that must be over come before the couple can find their HEA
11. A very short romantic timeline - meeting, lots of sex, getting everything wrong fixed, and on to the HEA
12. The HEA benefiting the women financially

In this book, not only do we have the main couples story but we have at least 2 other romantic side stories going on (friend-Cary's and Boss-Mark's), not sure if they will remain part of the future books in this series, but I would expect to see things happening with Cary since he is Eva's best friend and room mate. I also expect to see the "other" women plot become more significant in future books. I like Gideon and Eva.

I enjoyed that Eva was one of the stronger females in recent books, she too had her demons but she was coping well, she had a great sense of humor (nick naming Gideon "Dark & Dangerous", and at one point turning him down with the line "I have a date with my vibrator").


I do see a "book" formula/pattern though that several authors seem to be adopting. I guess I can't blame them, its got me hooked and waiting for the next book in this series. I also find that I feel for the couple and want to see them find their HEA, it must be the dream to have it all.




( )
  kerbytejas | Mar 25, 2016 |
This is going to be a quickie review. I really enjoyed this book. I’ve never read FSOG, and I’ve seen this compared to that book frequently. I loved that there are some pretty dark demons both Gideon and Eva need to overcome. Add in crazy families, and it’s bound to be a rollercoaster ride.

Everything happens in a very short span of time. Both characters are possessive, but I like that they were able to deal with their jealousy for the most part. We find out Eva’s backstory, but Gideon is still a mystery. I think I know, but I’m hoping I’m wrong.

I’m anxious to continue with this series. It’s incredibly hot, and engaging. ( )
  BookishThings | Mar 23, 2016 |
Eva is a girl from a prominent family, however she doesn't want to rely on her stepfathers reputation to make it in the world and for that reason went to school on the other side of the country and even got a job and as a personal assistant in an ad agency in New York City. Its also in the same building that she finds the love of her life, Gideon Cross, the owner of the building and other companies around the country. They both have a past that they want to hide but when the past starts to unravel, will their relationship unravel as well??

**Contains Spoilers**

OK. So I read this book after reading the entire 50 Shades Trilogy and man do I have to say that there are SOOO many similarities between the two. The concepts are the same, hot CEO type, ensnared by a beautiful woman, both into some Kinky and weird things, although, not as much in BTY as 50. However, I can't help but wonder if BTY was written based on 50 Shades, seeing that it came out later than that one.

Yes I realize that being in the smut genre there are going to be some extreme similarities.

I will give BTY one thing that 50 shades doesn't, better writing. I thought that the writing style was better, still cheesy none the less but better and it was easier to follow. I also liked how it wasn't as long winded as 50, being 200ish pages less.

I have to of course finish the books that are out and keep reading them. I mean what woman doesn't want romance in her life, even if it has to come from a book? ( )
  welkeral | Mar 20, 2016 |
[Wednesday, ‎January ‎22, ‎2014] So last night, I was beginning to get really depressed... and the best therapy for real depression I know of, is to escape through the pages of a book, with real heart-throbbing, palms-sweating, aching-all-over romance preferably with a gentleman such as Mr. Grey or Mr. Darcy. And because I finished both books -and more- more times than I could count, I needed a new distraction from reality, and that's when my hands picked one of the new books I got. One minute I was starting chapter one in page one the next it's 3 o'clock in the morning, my eyes are burning me and chapter 8 was inviting me to continue, but sadly my eyes begged me to have mercy so I slept having hot dreams of Mr. Cross. My new fantasy. Ladies, this is the next 50 Shades of Grey if not better. Indulge yourselves! Salute!

[Monday, ‎March ‎3, ‎2014] The beginning was so promising, but by the middle of the book I became detached, by the end I became disgusted. All the characters seemed amazing but by the end I didn't like most of them. The book seemed fake and nothing like 50 Shades of Grey. 50 grew with each page, with each volume things got better. I didn't find this here.

I got to admit, I preferred 50 because I could relate to Ana, I can't relate to Eva at all. Gideon seems so made-up and fake at times... Christian was beautiful written and feels real. This book started in 5/5 and I was about to rate it a 2, but I really liked the beginning so 3. Not sure if I'll continue the series or not. ( )
  mrsdanaalbasha | Mar 12, 2016 |
[Wednesday, ‎January ‎22, ‎2014] So last night, I was beginning to get really depressed... and the best therapy for real depression I know of, is to escape through the pages of a book, with real heart-throbbing, palms-sweating, aching-all-over romance preferably with a gentleman such as Mr. Grey or Mr. Darcy. And because I finished both books -and more- more times than I could count, I needed a new distraction from reality, and that's when my hands picked one of the new books I got. One minute I was starting chapter one in page one the next it's 3 o'clock in the morning, my eyes are burning me and chapter 8 was inviting me to continue, but sadly my eyes begged me to have mercy so I slept having hot dreams of Mr. Cross. My new fantasy. Ladies, this is the next 50 Shades of Grey if not better. Indulge yourselves! Salute!

[Monday, ‎March ‎3, ‎2014] The beginning was so promising, but by the middle of the book I became detached, by the end I became disgusted. All the characters seemed amazing but by the end I didn't like most of them. The book seemed fake and nothing like 50 Shades of Grey. 50 grew with each page, with each volume things got better. I didn't find this here.

I got to admit, I preferred 50 because I could relate to Ana, I can't relate to Eva at all. Gideon seems so made-up and fake at times... Christian was beautiful written and feels real. This book started in 5/5 and I was about to rate it a 2, but I really liked the beginning so 3. Not sure if I'll continue or not. ( )
  mrsdanaalbasha | Mar 12, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Can't wit for the next one in the series ( )
  purpleprincess1311 | Mar 8, 2016 |
Showing 1-25 of 135 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
32 avail.
343 wanted
6 pay15 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.7)
0.5 4
1 25
1.5
2 36
2.5 4
3 98
3.5 23
4 150
4.5 12
5 128

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 105,253,070 books! | Top bar: Always visible