HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia…
Loading...

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Sylvia Day

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
895909,862 (3.65)18
DarkFaerieTales's review
Review courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales

Quick & Dirty: An intense and riveting erotic read that will play with your heart and emotions.

Opening Sentence: “We should head to a bar and celebrate.”

The Review:

Bared to You is about love in a purely raw state. Eva Trammel is a 24-year old woman who has recently graduated and is ready to make her mark on the world. Eva has chose to take the simple path, found an entry-level position in a marketing firm, all without utilizing her wealthy stepfather’s ties in the business world. Eva has moved to New York City on her own and is ready to begin her adult life on her own terms. In a meeting destined by fate, Eva runs into Gideon Cross. A young late twenty-something, Gideon is a successful and highly motivated industry giant.

Sparks fly, and boy are they hot. Eva and Gideon are drawn to each other with a force like two magnets. Together, they are passionate enough that there is an unforgiving need. Individually, they have secrets and insecurities that destroy one another.

Eva is very strong-willed, and rightfully so. With an overbearing and overprotective mother, Eva’s life is constantly monitored, against her will. Eva craves independence and self-sufficiency, not only to be an adult, but also to overcome family scrutiny. Eva’s journey to secure the foundations of her heart allows her to take a leap of faith. She allows her insecurities to get the better of her, and for a strong woman in the office, she’s completely docile everywhere else.

Gideon is definitely your dark, tall, and handsome male lead. Gideon is a force to be reckoned with, and he definitely commands your presence in every sense of the word. Gideon’s career is controlled and fast-paced, but once he meets Eva, the dynamic and balance of that life is thrown off. There was a point where you instantly fall in love with who Gideon is as a person versus the image or persona of him. The intimate moments shared between Gideon and Eva show the reader this deep understanding of who he really is. Like an onion, there are so many layers to him, and lucky for Eva, she’s the woman he’s willing to open up to.

Bared to You shows deep emotions and subjects that complements the romance and sexual relationship of the book. I couldn’t put the book down. There are heavy erotic details in this book, and not for the faint of heart. Explicit images and passionate positions cover the pages, and boy did I enjoy them. But erotica isn’t the only thing about Bared to You that made this an enjoyable read. Day wrote about sensitive topics and addresses them with sensitivity and finesse.

I can’t stop thinking about this book, the characters, and the story. Day wrote everything perfectly, definitely making Bared to You one of my favorite reads for this year. There was everything in this story, and everything that I didn’t think to ask for. By the way, just in case you didn’t understand from my vague erotica descriptions, Bared to You contains explicit scenes and is full of hot, graphic sex. But I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. I did.

Notable Scene:

I did what I’d wanted to do since I saw him in my living room: I shoved my hands in his hair and kissed him back. I loved the way he kissed me, as if he had to, as if he’d go crazy if he didn’t and had nearly waited too long. I sucked on his tongue, having learned how much he liked it, having learned how much I liked it, how much it made me want to suck him elsewhere with the same eagerness.

His hands were sliding over my bare back and I moaned, feeling the prod of his erection against my hip. I shifted, moving to straddle him, shoving the skirt of my gown out of the way and making a mental note to thank my mom for the dress – which had such a convenient slit. With my knees on either side of his hips, I wrapped my arms around his shoulders and deepened the kiss. I licked into his mouth, nibbled on his lower lip, stroked my tongue along his…

Gideon gripped my waist and pushed me away. He leaned into the seat back, his neck arched to look up at my face, his chest heaving. “What are you doing to me?”

I ran my hands down his chest through his dress shirt, feeling the unforgiving hardness of his muscles. My fingers traced the ridges of his abdomen, my mind forming a picture of how he might look naked. “I’m touching you. Enjoying the hell out of you. I want you, Gideon.”

FTC Advisory: Berkley/Penguin provided me with a copy of Bared to You. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review. ( )
  DarkFaerieTales | Jul 4, 2012 |
All member reviews
English (83)  Spanish (2)  Italian (2)  Catalan (1)  All languages (88)
Showing 1-25 of 83 (next | show all)
Bared to You (Crossfire) was a book I found at a local library sale. I heard it was very similar to the Fifty shades of Grey series. I was very disappointed in this first novel as the plot and story line directly followed the first book in the Fifty shades of grey series, to an irritating "T". Eva was a single women starting a new job when she fell (literally) at Gideon Crossfire. Someone who is so deliciously handsome she can barely contain herself around him. She fumbles and makes a huge fool of herself whenever he is around given his stature and Empire. This is a VERY adult read as it does have sex languages, scenes and erotic situations throughout the entire novel. I have since read the second book and can say it does spin off and the plot is intriguing. This first book almost swayed me away from reading the next book in the series because it was so similar to Fifty shades of grey but so glad I stuck with it and continued reading on in the series. I would recommend this if you enjoy romance and erotica. ( )
  cewtypye | Jul 3, 2014 |
The entirety of "Bared to You" takes place in about the span of a week and a half to two weeks. Yes, yes, there are some racy sexual encounters and, sure, Day's descriptions get the blood pumping, but the story is more than that.

Eva Trammell is new to NYC. She and her best friend, Cary Taylor, have moved cross country for work - Eva for advertising, Cary for modeling. The best friends share a lux Manhattan apartment, as well as a history of abuse. On a practice run to her new workplace, Eva literally bumps into Gideon Cross, a stunningly attractive, super rich, notorious New York playboy. Their connection (whether you believe it or not) is instantaneous and undeniable. Almost before you (or they) know it, the couple is entangled in a highly sexual, very volatile relationship.

I found myself smirking from time to time as I read, just because of how absurd the relationship seemed at times. So much, so fast and so intense in a week? Please. But there is a level of believability to it. What was really interesting, and what probably says more about me as a reader than it does about Day as a writer or the characters she's created, was how much I identified with the level of obsession/possessiveness. I've known myself to be a pretty darn possessive and worrisome creature myself, so I could relate to both Eva and Gideon's need to stake their claims on one another - privately and publically.

I liked the book. I liked the story and the characters. It reminded me of "Fifty Shades," but in a more complete, sophisticated way. I'm looking forward to see where Day takes the story in the second book in the Crossfire series.
( )
  Jenna.Czaplewski | Jul 3, 2014 |
Just having read Bared to You by Sylvia Day, I did appreciate Eva, the main character in the story, who, although is extremely insecure and possessive of her man, seems to be a stronger and more interesting character than innocent, naïve Anastasia of Fifty Shades of Grey. After reading both books, one cannot help but compare Christian Grey of Fifty Shades to Gideon Cross of Bared to You. Both male characters are extremely controlling, extraordinarily handsome, superb lovers, and dysfunctional.
As I read Bared to You, I was amused that Eva and Gideon had such tremendous sexual connection that whenever they encountered disparity in their relationship (which was often), Eva would either attempt to flee, or they would engage in sex. As a matter of fact, the sexual encounters were so numerous, that those pages consumed most of the book. Much of the novel offered descriptions of engaging in sex at various locations….in the limo, at the hotel room, at Gideon’s lavish apartment, at a garden party, and at Eva and Cary’s residence; the author was quite skilled at describing the sexual encounters in explicit detail. Toward the end of the story, I was a little annoyed, however, that these two seemingly intelligent adults would only resort to sex in order to solve their problems of jealousy and misunderstanding in their relationship. I thought it was just too simplistic.
As I read the novel, I also wondered about the timeline in which all these events occurred. It seemed like the relationship developed so quickly, a bit too quickly for me to believe as plausible. If I recall the story correctly, the Krav Maga gym was being remodeled and was to reopen in two weeks when the story began. By the time the gym was back in operation, Eva and Gideon were already a volatile couple with extreme sexual attraction for each other, as well as a lot of psychological issues stemming from their childhood sexual abuse experiences. Eva was already professing her love to Gideon by saying the three big words in a relationship- ‘I love you.’ The timeline in this story seemed to move a little too quickly for me to accept as realistic, and in that way, I didn’t find it to be believable.
Otherwise, ‘Bared to You’ was entertaining and a quick read, especially for someone like myself who reads every blazing word on the page. ( )
  haymaai | Jun 22, 2014 |
Review Coming Soon ( )
  TheiBookEmporium | May 21, 2014 |


Nothing pisses me off faster than a terrible ending to what was pretty much an intriguing book. Day just ended this at the end of a chapter! Right after two new conflicts reveal themselves to the main characters! Ummm,,,,, hello! No HEA (which is fine w me as long as there is a resolution & good explanation of loose ends), no resolutions, no reveals, nothing!! Terrible, terrible, terrible! Shame on Day & her publisher for such a gross abuse of readers who spent 230 pages getting emotionally involved w Eva & Gideon's issues with no ending!! Sorry, just taking a shower & driving away in a limo for the night to avoid a confrontation w a major secondary character the heroine lives w is not an ending. Very disappointing! I will not be buying the second book, Day & publisher don't deserve it.

Although this book is better written than 50 Shades of Grey & deals with similar issues, I would not recommend it. The author ends the book without resolving a single one of the conflicts & issues!! The book just stops at the end of a chapter!

Christian Grey & Gideon do have alot in common, handsome, rich business men who like to stalk their lady loves, not to mention a shared history of childhood sexual abuse. I did like how the abused is handled, explained, & the emphasis on needing to get help to get better. I know/love so many adult survivors - it was definetly very realistic & I like how it was treated w dignity for such a terrible subject. I just hope he isn't magically "cured" like happens in a lot of books. Cuz I can tell you from experience that crap doesn't happen! Sexual abuse affects every part of their lives forever.

The more I reflected on the book though, it just made me more & more angry! It just left every loose end loose! So you have to buy the next book. It just quit @ the end of a chapter. No resolution for the Cary orgy, Cary's boyfriend, why Gideon's so effed up, why's his bro's a dick, how can 2 childhood sexual abuse survivors have a real relationship, etc!! Really pissed me off & I loved Gideon! I really felt for him & how much therapy he was gonna need before he got over/thru what happened to him.

Basically, if you want any type of closure or resolution to Eva & Gideon's story you have to buy the 2nd book in the series, because not a single thing is explained in book 1. Shame on Sylvia Day!! ( )
  CMBlaker | May 6, 2014 |
Hmmmm.....my original review on GR mysteriously disappeared sometime in the last couple months. Something to do with Amazon & that I did not like the book??? Here it is copy/pasted:

Shame on Sylvia Day!!!

Nothing pisses me off faster than a terrible ending to what was pretty much an intriguing book. Day just ended this at the end of a chapter! Right after two new conflicts reveal themselves to the main characters! Ummm...... HELLO! Forget a HEA (which is fine w me as long as there is a resolution & good explanation of loose ends)there's no ending at all!! No closure, no resolutions, no reveals, nothing!! Terrible, terrible, terrible! Shame on Day & her publisher for such a gross abuse of readers who spent 230 pages getting emotionally involved w Eva & Gideon's issues with no ending!! I'm sorry but, just taking a shower & driving away in a limo for the night to avoid a confrontation w a major secondary character the heroine lives w is not an ending. Very disappointing! I will not be buying the second book, Day & publisher don't deserve it.

Although this book is better written than 50 Shades of Grey & deals with similar issues, I would not recommend it. The author ends the book without resolving a single one of the conflicts & issues!! The book just stops at the end of a chapter!

Christian Grey & Gideon do have a lot in common, handsome, rich business men who like to stalk their lady loves, not to mention a shared history of childhood sexual abuse. I did like how the abused is handled, explained, & the emphasis on needing to get professional help to get better. I know/love so many adult survivors - it was definitely very realistic & I like how it was treated w dignity for such a terrible subject. I just hope he isn't magically "cured" like happens in a lot of books. Cuz I can tell you from experience that crap doesn't happen! Sexual abuse affects every part of their lives forever.

The more I reflected on the book though, it just made me more & more angry! It just left every loose end loose! So you have to buy the next book. It just quit @ the end of a chapter. No resolution for the Cary orgy, Cary's boyfriend, why Gideon's so effed up, why's his bro's a dick, how can 2 childhood sexual abuse survivors have a real relationship, etc!! Really pissed me off & I loved Gideon! I really felt for him & how much therapy he was gonna need before he got over/thru what happened to him.

Basically, if you want any type of closure or resolution to Eva & Gideon's story you have to buy the 2nd book in the series, because not a single thing is explained in book 1. Shame on Sylvia Day!! ( )
  CMBlaker | May 6, 2014 |
A copy of Fifty Shades of Grey - uses the same plot template. Does have some differences though, the characters suffer from abuse as children, difficult to see where the author is going with this, except trying to make it different from FSoG. ( )
  rhiand | Apr 28, 2014 |
Easy read and not too difficult to understand or keep up with. It was recommended to me by my sister who knew I had read the fifty shades trilogy.

I would say that this book, or even the series, may not be everyone's cup of tea. They might be expecting another fifty shades and, even though it did mirror a lot that series' concepts and plots, it was quite mild in comparison. It was entertaining and enjoyable in parts, but the constant arguments the characters had was giving me whiplash. They were happy on one page, arguing on the next and then making up 2 pages on! I know they all have their own demons but come on! The story never really progressed in my opinion. It's just constant arguments and sex. If you like that sort of thing then go for it, but I prefer my stories to develop, not repeat itself over and over again. ( )
  LaurenKathryn | Mar 31, 2014 |
Sexual-issues-a-ramma. They all have sex issues, even the minor characters, and they are all going to act badly for it, because obviously you can not have been abused and keep your self together. This was trash. ( )
  pennmaniac | Mar 26, 2014 |
What did I just read? Two damaged souls having sex, being stupidly jealous, playing silly mind games that are not even remotely clever. This book was ridiculous. ( )
  KatieMassey | Mar 26, 2014 |
At firstf, it was to similar to Fifty Shades..., but then it turned and before I new it, I was hooked on the characters. I cannot wait to read the next book. Definately a must read.
  Mykake | Mar 23, 2014 |
Kinda repeats itself, but might get somewhere, not sure. ( )
  kajsa88 | Mar 8, 2014 |
It's hard not to compare this book to Fifty Shades of Grey because there are a ton of similarities, but in my opinion, FSOG blows this one out of the water. True, there is a distinct lack of lip biting and exclamations of "Holy crap!" in this one, but the character development is just not there.

Eva and Gideon are instantly on fire for each other the moment their eyes meet in an otherworldly, explosive way. You'd almost think Gideon had supernatural powers the way Eva reacts to him the first time she sees him.

Gideon is supposed to be this billionaire business tycoon, so the way he propositions Eva in his office just doesn't ring true to me. Any other woman would be slapping him with a sexual harassment suit so fast, his head would spin. In order for him to be that rich, he'd have to be smarter than that. By, oh say, I don't know, offering her a contract. lol

The sex was hot, for sure, but there was so much of it that by the time I reached the end of the book, I'd started skimming through those scenes. FSOG had more variety in the sex scenes, whereas this book was mostly vanilla, and a whole lot of it.

Their I-can't-live-without-you-I'd-walk-through-hell-to-find-you passionate declarations didn't seem to be based on anything more than this overwhelming sexual codependency. They weren't friends. They didn't have witty exchanges. They fought, she ran, he chased her, they declared their feelings for one another, and then they had several rounds of sex. This cycle repeated itself throughout the book.

Oh, and the number of times Gideon told Eva to shut up? Don't even get me started on that. Man, I had this powerful urge to slap him every time he did that! So not okay.

I guess that's one thing I will say for this book (aside from the hot sex): it made me angry and frustrated, which is better than apathy. It did evoke some strong emotion in me. It just happened to be the wrong emotion, for the most part. ( )
  CyndiTefft | Feb 6, 2014 |
The Good: The narrative was easy to follow, pacing was good, and the author didn't seem like she was using thesaurus to sound more intelligent a la 50 Shades.

The Bad: Some of the dialogue was pretty cheesy, and it seemed that EVERY. SINGLE. CHARACTER. has deep-rooted emotional/sexual issues. The story also seemed to be going around in circles; Eva and Gideon have sex, he reveals a tidbit about his life, they angst about it, Eva tries to run away, Gideon brings her back, they have sex again, rinse, repeat. Wasn't much in the way of narrative action once you take out all the sex.

The Ugly: As is the norm for many erotic fiction titles, EVERY female character in this book was defined by her sexual relationship to men. I found this trend to be blatant in this title, and although i concede that sexual relationships are a big part of life, this book focuses on barely anything else OTHER than that. Yes, Eva has her job which she's good at and she enjoys, but her job is constantly being interrupted by her relationship with Gideon and is seemingly nothing else than a distraction/filler for all the times when she's NOT with him. Also, coming to a place where they can enjoy sex together after their messed up pasts is good, but there are obviously some demons in there that need sorting out before they can even BEGIN to attempt a functioning relationship, so its obvious that the blow-out will be used as a plot device in the next book or two.

Generally speaking: Ok for mindless erotic fiction and much better than 50 Shades by a long shot, but nowhere near enough of an effort was made to depict females as anything other than sexual objects. Having been written by a female author, and read predominantly by females/mothers/wives, that is an incredibly worrying thought. ( )
  aiturnizzle | Feb 4, 2014 |
If you have read Fifty Shades of Grey then you will probably like Bared to You, haven't read shades of grey myself but I know that they are exactly alike. (I read several chapters of grey but couldn't get into.)

In Bared To You both the male and female protagonists have emotional scars from their past and no experience with healthy romantic relationships to speak of, and in turn it affected they way they, or more so Gideon Cross, dealt with relationships. Gideon is a powerful business tycoon that has never had a girlfriend and prefers to date brunettes but Eva isn't a brunette. The book delves more into Eva Hammel's past experience but Gideon didn't open up much about his own, but as the story progresses you can kinda put two and two together. Maybe the next book will delve more into what drives Gideon. Gideon needs control and prefers to be the dom, (his own words) and for his partner to be submissive.

In my opinion I prefer Gideons's character over Christian Grey's, Gideon didn't come off as arrogant and he treated Eva with a lot more respect. (Did read several chapters of Fifty Shades but couldn't get into it.)

The secondary characters are very interesting and some are funny, they helped to create a good backdrop to the story.
( )
  chicreader | Jan 21, 2014 |
If you have read Fifty Shades of Grey then you will probably like Bared to You, haven't read shades of grey myself but I know that they are exactly alike. (I read several chapters of grey but couldn't get into.)

In Bared To You both the male and female protagonists have emotional scars from their past and no experience with healthy romantic relationships to speak of, and in turn it affected they way they, or more so Gideon Cross, dealt with relationships. Gideon is a powerful business tycoon that has never had a girlfriend and prefers to date brunettes but Eva isn't a brunette. The book delves more into Eva Hammel's past experience but Gideon didn't open up much about his own, but as the story progresses you can kinda put two and two together. Maybe the next book will delve more into what drives Gideon. Gideon needs control and prefers to be the dom, (his own words) and for his partner to be submissive.

In my opinion I prefer Gideons's character over Christian Grey's, Gideon didn't come off as arrogant and he treated Eva with a lot more respect. (Did read several chapters of Fifty Shades but couldn't get into it.)

The secondary characters are very interesting and some are funny, they helped to create a good backdrop to the story.
( )
  chicreader | Jan 21, 2014 |
Sex is simple. Affection is dangerous. And love... all kinds of trouble. And Eva & Gideon have all but cornered the market on trouble. They're two sides of the same double faced coin & can go rounds on the issues train. They pushed & pulled each other like it was sport. Triggers & defense mechanisms with a huge dose of cut & run. As a reader, I loved them but damn it if they weren't exhausting!

I very much liked Eva as a character. She's a woman I can root for. She was witty, comfortable with her sexuality & even when she was making mistakes, she was honest enough not to delude herself that she was wholly right. She had no problem setting boundaries with Gideon but she also owned her physical attraction & wanton lust for him. Fantastic. Nothing annoys me more than a heroine that is wishy-washy & confused about her wants & needs. Eva had no problem calling Gideon an asshat & flipping him off as she walked away. She loves Gideon but it's not to the exclusion & eclipse of herself or her emotional well-being. She also displayed her own deep & overwhelming vulnerabilities, so she had my heart. Though, she could have stood to have mentioned his perfection of looks a lot less. It struck me as a bit juvenile an obsession for an otherwise aware woman. Especially since she is seeking more than a physical & surface connection with Gideon. I don't mind her acknowledging his hotness but reiterating it every time they had a moment together was a bit tedious.

Gideon initially struck me as definitely hiding behind a facade. I was sure he was a hot mess of insecurity wrapped up in some wicked crazy. I know he's supposed to be all "alpha" but those types generally offered in popular fiction translate in my mind as overcompensating & insecure when they break out the stalker behavior & veiled (& not so veiled) threats to the object of their obsession. Desperate doesn't register as sexy & infinitely shaggable to me. And I also don't find that "heroine in actual fear of hero" thing a trope that hits high on the hot quotient. So I needed more time to see if Gideon would be that type. Happily, he wasn't that guy, though he definitely was insecure & bringing his own Cross brand of crazy to the party. Lucky for him, Eva matches him in the epic mood swing department, so I didn't mind watching them unfurl on each other. He also displayed real affection for Eva & seemed to freely admit when he messed thing up. I can't hate a man who is willing to apologize for his stupidity.

They both have for real problems of the life-time scarring & sometimes emotionally paralytic variety. I just loved that they were going to give a real relationship a go, even with their own private, unspoken trepidation. I'm a sucker for hope against the odds. Together they're emotional, damaged, desperate, jealous & needy. What is infinitely fascinating is watching them try to be better than those aspects of their personalities & overcome them to be better people. Because in the end, they do want to be the best person they can be for themselves & the other person. I love that. There's no "I'll fix you" from either of them. It's more a "I'll help you". No matter what else is going on they have a parity that I very much like.

What am I forgetting? Oh, yes. The sex. They have it. They have a lot of it. They talk about it like adults. It's explicit & not even close to kinky. It's hot. They have good banter. While they often used sex as a sedative & reliable means of communication instead of opting to use their words for important conversations, I was just glad they were getting moments of mind-numbing, coma-inducing sex. It gave them breaks between obsessing, self-loathing slips & other states of mania. I have to buy into both the characters singly & as a couple to care about the sex they're having & this book didn't disappoint. Oddly though, the things I highlighted on my Kindle weren't their sex scenes. I was most moved & intrigued by their other interactions. I'm hoping there's more of them working through their issues with Dr Petersen & verbally with one another in the next installment.

Rounding out the inner-sanctum looped group in Eva's life are her mother & bff Cary. Cary has some of the best lines in the book but the way we're left with his story has me worried that when we resume, he'll be found in some derelict part of town or a dumpster. I'm a bit anxious for him.

I know this is a high recommendation for fans of the formerly Twilight-fan-fiction, Fifty Shades series, but as a chica who has not read that series (but loves a good romance/erotica), I can say without reservation that Bared to You was a great read & fascinating glimpse at these characters. This was totally worth stepping out of my usual historical fiction romance/erotica genre & into a contemporary. I definitely look forward to the next installment in this series as I quite need to know how they'll fare & I'm desperate to get more into the depths of these characters. I'm so rooting for them. ( )
  anissaannalise | Jan 1, 2014 |
Wow Loved this book ~ just what I needed after reading fifty shades~ hot hot hot! read more of my reviews on my blog iloveladyporn.com ( )
  iloveladyporn | Dec 6, 2013 |
Good god, how can Groundhog Day with abs go on for 300+ pages? I was snorting with laughter for most of the bumpy journey, but the icing on the cake was the readers' discussion guide at the end. Excellent beach or rainy day read. ( )
  celerydog | Nov 17, 2013 |
Holy moly guacamole. This book is TERRIBLE. I read all of the 50 Shades, I even read Twilight... I picked this one up after hearing that Day was awarded an eight-figure advance by Penguin, one of the largest in history. But it is terrible. And not good terrible. There is fun terrible. There is camp and there is ridiculousness, and that is fine. Maybe that's why I even liked 50 Shades - it wasn't trying to be anything good. Or maybe it was but it didn't show. This was like, not that bad writing describing awful ideas. Rock-hard abs. "Fisting his root." A black short-sleeved silk turtleneck sweater? What the fuck is that item of clothing? And the angst, and the anger, and the woman always being mad at the man, and the man apologizing and crawling back, "walking in to Hell" for her, blah blah blah blah blah. Why are these always the same? Why is this formula successful? How can people have so many orgasms yet be so boring? The 99 cent e-book I read about aliens impregnating a human with their giant glowing rainbow cocks had more character development.
  evforija | Oct 23, 2013 |
Good Read, Had a fifty shades trilogy feel to it.Very volatile relationship which kept me on my toes. Will be sure to read next in series. ( )
  nubian_princesa | Oct 21, 2013 |
This novel, to me, is a grown up and more realistic version of the 50 Shades series. ( )
  johnsong4 | Sep 28, 2013 |
Kinda meh about this book. This couple puts the word dis in dysfunctional.

At the same time, I really liked the powerful and yet vulnerable side of our male lead.


I think what annoyed me the most was the BDSM overtures that never quite was right. Kinda like if someone thinks that rough sex means all there is to BDSM.


This book felt like chapters of angst loosely kept together by sex scenes. ( )
  Bea_writer | Sep 21, 2013 |
No stretch of the imagination here, I went into reading this book expecting to not fully enjoy myself. Maybe I was looking for something to snark on, but I'll try to be fair.

Things I did like:

Eva does have a shred of independence, has a back story that ties the characters closest to her together rather nicely. Lo and behold, shes well off herself. That, in itself, is rather refreshing to read. Her jealousy and relationship woes with Gideon isn't outlandish given both characters history and the massive insecurities don't particularly feel like 'plot devices'. Over all, Eva's characterization wasn't bad.

Syliva Day has a certain knack for writing, things in this book have defiantly been cleaned up before publishing as there are certain books in this genre that are just pushed out for the smut.

The Other Stuff:

The cliches, oh good Lord, the cliches. In books like these, everyone is beautiful, uniquely beautiful, sexy beautiful. I think there was one person who was hinted at being sub par in the looks department but made up for it in self confidence that just came off as sexy.

The sex was pretty formulaic every time, it was like reading the same sex scene over and over. Gideon runs a finger between Eva's 'cleft', he goes down on her, makes her have a thunderous orgasm before nailing her with his 'Thick and Beautiful' penis. There was a good chunk there, mostly in the last 100 pages where it was one massive sex scene, with a bit of plot sprinkled in. Things also got a little 'purple' in there for a while.

The cliche that killed it for me was the 27 year old multimillionaire. It's in '50 Shades' and it can be traced back to 'Twilight'. At least in Twilight, Edward acknowledges his money as his family's wealth. At age 28, Gideon Cross owns a good chunk of Manhattan. The club Eva attends, the building she works in, the gym she works out in, the very apartment she lives in... Gideon has his fingers in a lot of pies. I'm going to guess that this is one of those things that women are suppose to find appealing. Could stem from 'women just want to be taken care of' and from the looks of it, well, these books are pretty hot selling. If it's your thing, it's your thing, and stepping aside from 'it's just a book/fantasy/fiction', it comes off as unrealistic. Gideon's family is wealthy, but it's specified that he owns all the things stated above. Going beyond that, that cliche is in A LOT of books like this.

Overall: It's not horrible, it just gets bogged down with all the cliches. It still gets more of my approval then 50 Shades of Grey ( )
1 vote cully85 | Sep 21, 2013 |
I'm a bit torn on this one. On the one hand, the author told a really good story. On the other hand, it was a very familiar story. People all over the net have been calling this the closest to Fifty Shades of Grey that they have found, and they are kind of right, kind of not.

I think this book did the sex scenes better, I think this book was written better. Unfortunately, I didn't the characters in this one as much. I didn't connect as well, didn't come to love either character, and I didn't really buy the changes we saw supposedly occur.

Eva is very un-Ana like. She isn't shy, she isn't demure, she knows what she wants, and she goes after it. Even sex. But in one way, she's like most heroines, she's very insecure, but she has a lot of reasons to be that way.

Gideon is VERY Christian like. He is twenty eight, he is a billionaire, self assured, strong, gorgeous, likes to be in control, and emotionally stunted.

We learn all the details about what happened to Eva when she was younger, but we only learn the barest of details about Gideon's past, but a lot of questions about what happened to him were unanswered. I know it's to get us to buy the sequel, but honestly, I expected to learn more in this book, and it left me very unsatisfied.

Now, here's some more things that just bugged me in this one. In the beginning, neither person wants a relationship. In fact, one of the first things Gideon says to Eva is basically "wanna fuck?". And while Eva seems to be ok with fairly casual sex, she is NOT ok just being a fuck toy, she needs to at least know and like the guy she sleeps with. She stuck to her guns for a while, and I respected that, but Gideon wore her down.

And then, after one really hot encounter, suddenly they both want more, and they fall into a relationship pretty quickly, with lots of push and pull, stops and starts, misunderstandings and running away.

Gideon's change seemed the most out of the blue. Apparently, fucking Eva was so good, it turned him instantly from a one time only, non-relationship guy crazy about Eva, and I do mean CRAZY. Calls, investigations, expensive gifts. Not stalker crazy, but close. And we never really got a reason why besides a hot fuck in the back of a limo.

Then there is the push pull. Eva runs. A LOT. She lives by the rule that it's going to fall apart anyway, might as well not stick around for it to hurt. So Gideon chases. And Eva caves pretty much- instantly. Almost every conflict is over just minutes after Gideon finds her and opens his mouth, which makes me wonder why she runs in the first place.

The other thing that really bothered me was best friend Cary. We didn't get a lot of background on Cary either. We know they met in group therapy, they really love each other, he's a recovering addict with a cutter past, he's bisexual and has a hard time being faithful. But he seemed to genuinely love and care about Eva, which made his abrupt attitude change near the end of the story seem REALLY out of left field, and it threw me.


And then the story just. Ends. We get no real wrap up, it's just done. I know there's a sequel coming, and it didn't really end on a cliffhanger, but it didn't feel like anything was wrapped up, either. I clicked next on my Kindle, expecting at least an epilogue, but it was just over.

So I probably will read the sequel. I'll probably borrow it instead of buying it.
( )
  Bitchie | Sep 21, 2013 |
Showing 1-25 of 83 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

Sylvia Day is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
9 avail.
858 wanted
6 pay13 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.65)
0.5 3
1 18
1.5
2 25
2.5 4
3 71
3.5 21
4 104
4.5 10
5 80

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,128,140 books! | Top bar: Always visible