HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia…
Loading...

Bared to You: A Crossfire Novel (original 2012; edition 2012)

by Sylvia Day

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,0751037,771 (3.7)19
Review courtesy of Dark Faerie Tales

Quick & Dirty: An intense and riveting erotic read that will play with your heart and emotions.

Opening Sentence: “We should head to a bar and celebrate.”

The Review:

Bared to You is about love in a purely raw state. Eva Trammel is a 24-year old woman who has recently graduated and is ready to make her mark on the world. Eva has chose to take the simple path, found an entry-level position in a marketing firm, all without utilizing her wealthy stepfather’s ties in the business world. Eva has moved to New York City on her own and is ready to begin her adult life on her own terms. In a meeting destined by fate, Eva runs into Gideon Cross. A young late twenty-something, Gideon is a successful and highly motivated industry giant.

Sparks fly, and boy are they hot. Eva and Gideon are drawn to each other with a force like two magnets. Together, they are passionate enough that there is an unforgiving need. Individually, they have secrets and insecurities that destroy one another.

Eva is very strong-willed, and rightfully so. With an overbearing and overprotective mother, Eva’s life is constantly monitored, against her will. Eva craves independence and self-sufficiency, not only to be an adult, but also to overcome family scrutiny. Eva’s journey to secure the foundations of her heart allows her to take a leap of faith. She allows her insecurities to get the better of her, and for a strong woman in the office, she’s completely docile everywhere else.

Gideon is definitely your dark, tall, and handsome male lead. Gideon is a force to be reckoned with, and he definitely commands your presence in every sense of the word. Gideon’s career is controlled and fast-paced, but once he meets Eva, the dynamic and balance of that life is thrown off. There was a point where you instantly fall in love with who Gideon is as a person versus the image or persona of him. The intimate moments shared between Gideon and Eva show the reader this deep understanding of who he really is. Like an onion, there are so many layers to him, and lucky for Eva, she’s the woman he’s willing to open up to.

Bared to You shows deep emotions and subjects that complements the romance and sexual relationship of the book. I couldn’t put the book down. There are heavy erotic details in this book, and not for the faint of heart. Explicit images and passionate positions cover the pages, and boy did I enjoy them. But erotica isn’t the only thing about Bared to You that made this an enjoyable read. Day wrote about sensitive topics and addresses them with sensitivity and finesse.

I can’t stop thinking about this book, the characters, and the story. Day wrote everything perfectly, definitely making Bared to You one of my favorite reads for this year. There was everything in this story, and everything that I didn’t think to ask for. By the way, just in case you didn’t understand from my vague erotica descriptions, Bared to You contains explicit scenes and is full of hot, graphic sex. But I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. I did.

Notable Scene:

I did what I’d wanted to do since I saw him in my living room: I shoved my hands in his hair and kissed him back. I loved the way he kissed me, as if he had to, as if he’d go crazy if he didn’t and had nearly waited too long. I sucked on his tongue, having learned how much he liked it, having learned how much I liked it, how much it made me want to suck him elsewhere with the same eagerness.

His hands were sliding over my bare back and I moaned, feeling the prod of his erection against my hip. I shifted, moving to straddle him, shoving the skirt of my gown out of the way and making a mental note to thank my mom for the dress – which had such a convenient slit. With my knees on either side of his hips, I wrapped my arms around his shoulders and deepened the kiss. I licked into his mouth, nibbled on his lower lip, stroked my tongue along his…

Gideon gripped my waist and pushed me away. He leaned into the seat back, his neck arched to look up at my face, his chest heaving. “What are you doing to me?”

I ran my hands down his chest through his dress shirt, feeling the unforgiving hardness of his muscles. My fingers traced the ridges of his abdomen, my mind forming a picture of how he might look naked. “I’m touching you. Enjoying the hell out of you. I want you, Gideon.”

FTC Advisory: Berkley/Penguin provided me with a copy of Bared to You. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review. ( )
  DarkFaerieTales | Jul 4, 2012 |
English (96)  Spanish (2)  Italian (2)  Catalan (1)  All languages (101)
Showing 1-25 of 96 (next | show all)
I surprisingly didn't hate this series. I mean as erotica goes, it does not let down, but the actual story isn't horrible. I do like that it isn't the typical BSDM dom/sub relationship, because that was getting old. But yeah I mean for what it is, it wasn't bad at all. ( )
  thatgirlbookworm | Aug 5, 2015 |
Demasiado longo. Parecia q se repetia constantemente e não terminava ( )
  bruc79 | Jul 31, 2015 |
I picked this up because it has been compared to Fifty Shades, which I loved! I was having Christian Grey withdrawals! LOL! I read this book pretty quickly and it really held my attention. Eva has a lot more fight in her than passive Ana which I respected because she reacted more like I would have. Gideon is really emotional in a romantic way that made my heartache at times. I will say that there was a lot of unnecessary dirty talk but overall it was pretty hot! Though it was similar to Fifty, it had many differences too, no real "kinky f***ery". I recommend this book! I can't wait for the sequel! ( )
  GwendolynGrace | Jul 15, 2015 |
Bared to You was very similar to 50 shades but differnt and addicting enough to keep me coming back for more and more and more... ( )
  TexasBookLover7 | Jun 16, 2015 |
Mmmm...no sè ...

Es entretenido , eso sì. Sin embargo , resulta una copia casi fiel de "Fifty Shades of Grey" . Bah , no una copia . Una parodia . Hubo veces que casi suelto una que otra risita porque , si , es tan igual a Fifty que produce eso ,RISAS .

Por otro lado , la autora le sacò lo que Fifty tiene demàs ,es decir, "BARED.." no tiene esos modales y frases amaneradas que resultan insoportablemente antiguas en el libro de E.L. James. Por eso le pongo tres y no dos puntos . Otro punto es por la buena calidad de las escenas eròticas y el hecho de que la protagonista no sea una pusilànime . El ùltimo punto es que ... bue ,si te deja un poco de intriga saber como va a seguir . ( )
  LaMala | Jun 7, 2015 |
Ufff , que bodrio . Una parodia de lo que tendría que ser un buen romance .

Hay escenas tan ridículas que tuve que saltear muchas hojas para poder terminarlo .

Ejemplo ,

La pareja principal acaba de tener sexo y ahora duermen los dos en la misma cama . A la mitad de la noche , la piba tiene una pesadilla y se despierta en los brazos del muchachito .

PIBA : ¿Qué me pasó?
MUCHACHITO : Estabas gritando y agitando los brazos .

Lloran los dos , ella le explica que es un trauma de la infancia y al rato vuelven a dormir .

Minutos después , el Muchachito empieza a gritar y a agitar los brazos en la cama . La Piba lo despierta y lo abraza.

MUCHACHITO ; ¿Qué me pasó?
PIBA : Estabas gritando y agitando los brazos .

Se abrazan y el le dice que es un trauma de la infancia .




ASI ES LA ESCENA . LO JURO!!! Me pareció tan cómica que a partir de eso ya el resto de la novela no me lo pude tomar en serio .

La manera que estas autoras de moda banalizan lo que tendrían que ser temas serios como la deserción o abuso familiar , las violaciones o la desgracia que sea que le meten a los personajes es irritante ...

OTRO EJEMPLO DE LA RIDICULEZ PARA REDONDEAR ,

(Primera vez que se encuentran los personajes , la PIBA tropieza en la entrada al edificio y cuando levanta la cabeza ve al MUCHACHITO ...

Monólogo interno de la piba : Ahí estaba , tan hermoso que incluso con el traje y corbata se le notabaN los músculos en todo el cuerpo . Me miraba intensamente como si me desnudara . En vez de sentirme ofendida , sentí un líquido entre las piernas (SI , DICE ASI) y los pezones endurecidos . Me miraba ... me miraba como si sintiera lo mismo ....


TODO esto mientras ella está agachada en el piso con la cabeza a la altura de la bragueta de él , obvio . Y no sé cuando tiempo pasan en esa posición porque lo que tarda en describir esa mirada (y todos las decenas de detalles que descubrió en el cuerpo de él ) ya pasaron al menos quince minutos y seguramente toda la gente alrededor también se estaba calentando . Lo próximo que nos vamos a enterar es que va a salir un libro desde el punto de vista de alguno de esos , contandonos como se excitaron con los pezones endurecidos de la PIBA y los pectorales que sobresalian del traje del MUCHACHITO .

Le regalo un punto porque hay un par de escenas eróticas que están bastante pasables y también porque la pareja no es TAAAN insoportable como otras (ufff , si , hay peores) .

EL LIBRO ENTERO es Fifty Shades con otro nombre .
( )
  LaMala | Jun 7, 2015 |
This is 50 shades better than the more popular triolgy of the same genre right now. This is what I was hoping for with more cohesive writing, more exciting description and slightly more realism. ( )
  mandersj73 | Apr 27, 2015 |
More romantic than dark, this novel explores a very new and very frightening relationship and the way it develops into deep love and genuine trust. I loved it for expoloring all those fears a person has in the beginning - of being honest & sharing dark secrets, of losing someone you fell for hard and fast... Not to mention the sex scenes, which never seem dirty, but always passionate, real, full of both love and desire. ( )
  v_allery | Apr 19, 2015 |


Great book until the last 50-60 pages...this is where the book came very rushed and a little confusing. ( )
  Kimmykay0302 | Apr 13, 2015 |


Great book until the last 50-60 pages...this is where the book came very rushed and a little confusing. ( )
  Kimmykay0302 | Apr 13, 2015 |
Seeing as I was going to a convention where Sylvia Day was present, I thought I should try reading one of her novels. Unfortunately I was pretty short on time, so I decided to listen to Bared to You (the first book in the Crossfire series) in the car instead. I swear, this book seemed to go on forever. This is just not my kind of read, but others (particularly those who enjoyed Fifty Shades of Grey or other books with super alpha male heroes) will like it. It’s not that this book is poorly written, it’s just that the sex/argument/sex/argument thing got a bit boring for me over time.

The book starts off as Eva gets a job in New York City and is ready to start an adult life, leaving the demons of her past behind. Her mother is way overprotective (she tracks Eva’s mobile phone!), beyond what is reasonable. Eva isn’t short of money either, and lives in a nice apartment with her friend Cary. (No romance there, just friendly sparring – Cary is bisexual, so there’s opportunity for some interesting sex scenes there). She meets gazillionaire Gideon Cross in the skyscraper she works in (and he owns) and he’s keen to know her more, but Eva resists. You know of course that she’ll give in and that starts an incredibly intense and emotional relationship. (I’m surprised my iPod didn’t melt in the process of playing this story). Eva has trouble with trust and being in the spotlight, but she reveals her past to Gideon. He responds by being even more protective, but I don’t think he tells Eva directly about his past (yeah, I Wikipedia’d it to find out what happens in the series). I might have missed this. Anyway, there’s a lot of sex, breaking up and making up.

I’m definitely over this kind of story – I wanted to know more about the minor characters, like Eva’s mum. Why exactly is she overprotective of Eva? Is it just guilt over what happened to her in her previous marriage? What’s the deal with Cary? I bet he’s got an interesting story to tell too beyond his sex life.

The narration of this story is fantastic though – Jill Redfield acts it out brilliantly (yes, complete with orgasm moments). She did a really good growly voice as Gideon too. Her narration is one of the best I’ve heard. Unfortunately the story was just overlong and repetitive for me. I want to know more of the backstories – why is Gideon so rich so young? Is it plain hard work and some luck, or something more? The animosity with his family, yet the ability to ravish Eva in the family home? I do have loads of questions, but I’m not that interested in wading through a lot of sex and arguments to get there. I can understand why this series is popular, but it’s not for me. The characters are immature and don’t seem to grow or learn from their mistakes.

I think this is one of the reasons I’ve gone off romance – I can get my conflict elsewhere with a more varied storyline.

http://samstillreading.wordpress.com ( )
  birdsam0610 | Apr 4, 2015 |
An interesting erotic romance that dealt with some serious issues and kept my attention but I wasn't comfortable with the choices characters made and I was disappointed with the ending. Gideon and Eva are instantly attracted to each other but each has demons from the past.
( )
  Dawn772 | Jan 29, 2015 |
Direct read-alike for Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James ( )
  ktoonen | Jan 28, 2015 |
OK, now I just have to admit. Amazon suggested me this book when I searched for Fifty shades. Oh my curiosity.
Shouldn't have done that.
Really huge mistake to start reading this books (Crossfire series).
Why? Because it is boring, dull, and definitely should be sued as a copy of Fifty Shades without mentioning it on the cover. Really, it is just the same, with some little differences.
Don't do it! ( )
1 vote otikhonova | Dec 8, 2014 |
Sylvia Day actually surprise me with this novel. While it has been compared repeatedly to that certain BDSM book that took off into oblivian *cough50shadescough* I don't think there is a connection. I did try 50 Shades but the complete lack of writing skill on the writer's part made it unreadable for me. This novel was written well enough to draw me into the story at least.

The characters in this book are not perfect, every single one of them has issues, even more so Gideon and Eva. I like that Eva has gone to therapy to try to work on her issues but Gideon still won't even share what his is with Eva, or the audience. They are huge and emotionally jarring, as were Eva's, I'm sure. I am glad to see more and more literature taking on characters with such strong and socially repressed issues such as rape and child molestation. There are staggering statistics, like 1 in 4 women have been molested, sexually assualted, or raped and I am glad some authors are bringing light on these major issues.

The steam level in this book is high but the emotional connection is love. The characters agree to go to couples therapy together after like a week and I didn't see the build up or the proof of these emotions to justify this step. I mean, if you need to go to couple's therapy after a week then you should probably just go find someone else. I needed more emotional connection.

I hated the ending of the book, it was a cliff hanger and it annoyed me. I also hated the jealous running that Eva did like every single chapter. COME ON! It was too much and threw me out of the story sometimes. If you like a sexy novel that will keep you guessing, most of the time, then this book will be for you.
( )
  mojo09226 | Nov 21, 2014 |
Bared to You (Crossfire) was a book I found at a local library sale. I heard it was very similar to the Fifty shades of Grey series. I was very disappointed in this first novel as the plot and story line directly followed the first book in the Fifty shades of grey series, to an irritating "T". Eva was a single women starting a new job when she fell (literally) at Gideon Crossfire. Someone who is so deliciously handsome she can barely contain herself around him. She fumbles and makes a huge fool of herself whenever he is around given his stature and Empire. This is a VERY adult read as it does have sex languages, scenes and erotic situations throughout the entire novel. I have since read the second book and can say it does spin off and the plot is intriguing. This first book almost swayed me away from reading the next book in the series because it was so similar to Fifty shades of grey but so glad I stuck with it and continued reading on in the series. I would recommend this if you enjoy romance and erotica. ( )
  cewtypye | Jul 3, 2014 |
The entirety of "Bared to You" takes place in about the span of a week and a half to two weeks. Yes, yes, there are some racy sexual encounters and, sure, Day's descriptions get the blood pumping, but the story is more than that.

Eva Trammell is new to NYC. She and her best friend, Cary Taylor, have moved cross country for work - Eva for advertising, Cary for modeling. The best friends share a lux Manhattan apartment, as well as a history of abuse. On a practice run to her new workplace, Eva literally bumps into Gideon Cross, a stunningly attractive, super rich, notorious New York playboy. Their connection (whether you believe it or not) is instantaneous and undeniable. Almost before you (or they) know it, the couple is entangled in a highly sexual, very volatile relationship.

I found myself smirking from time to time as I read, just because of how absurd the relationship seemed at times. So much, so fast and so intense in a week? Please. But there is a level of believability to it. What was really interesting, and what probably says more about me as a reader than it does about Day as a writer or the characters she's created, was how much I identified with the level of obsession/possessiveness. I've known myself to be a pretty darn possessive and worrisome creature myself, so I could relate to both Eva and Gideon's need to stake their claims on one another - privately and publically.

I liked the book. I liked the story and the characters. It reminded me of "Fifty Shades," but in a more complete, sophisticated way. I'm looking forward to see where Day takes the story in the second book in the Crossfire series.
( )
  Jenna.Czaplewski | Jul 3, 2014 |
Just having read Bared to You by Sylvia Day, I did appreciate Eva, the main character in the story, who, although is extremely insecure and possessive of her man, seems to be a stronger and more interesting character than innocent, naïve Anastasia of Fifty Shades of Grey. After reading both books, one cannot help but compare Christian Grey of Fifty Shades to Gideon Cross of Bared to You. Both male characters are extremely controlling, extraordinarily handsome, superb lovers, and dysfunctional.
As I read Bared to You, I was amused that Eva and Gideon had such tremendous sexual connection that whenever they encountered disparity in their relationship (which was often), Eva would either attempt to flee, or they would engage in sex. As a matter of fact, the sexual encounters were so numerous, that those pages consumed most of the book. Much of the novel offered descriptions of engaging in sex at various locations….in the limo, at the hotel room, at Gideon’s lavish apartment, at a garden party, and at Eva and Cary’s residence; the author was quite skilled at describing the sexual encounters in explicit detail. Toward the end of the story, I was a little annoyed, however, that these two seemingly intelligent adults would only resort to sex in order to solve their problems of jealousy and misunderstanding in their relationship. I thought it was just too simplistic.
As I read the novel, I also wondered about the timeline in which all these events occurred. It seemed like the relationship developed so quickly, a bit too quickly for me to believe as plausible. If I recall the story correctly, the Krav Maga gym was being remodeled and was to reopen in two weeks when the story began. By the time the gym was back in operation, Eva and Gideon were already a volatile couple with extreme sexual attraction for each other, as well as a lot of psychological issues stemming from their childhood sexual abuse experiences. Eva was already professing her love to Gideon by saying the three big words in a relationship- ‘I love you.’ The timeline in this story seemed to move a little too quickly for me to accept as realistic, and in that way, I didn’t find it to be believable.
Otherwise, ‘Bared to You’ was entertaining and a quick read, especially for someone like myself who reads every blazing word on the page. ( )
  haymaai | Jun 22, 2014 |
Review Coming Soon ( )
  TheiBookEmporium | May 21, 2014 |


Nothing pisses me off faster than a terrible ending to what was pretty much an intriguing book. Day just ended this at the end of a chapter! Right after two new conflicts reveal themselves to the main characters! Ummm,,,,, hello! No HEA (which is fine w me as long as there is a resolution & good explanation of loose ends), no resolutions, no reveals, nothing!! Terrible, terrible, terrible! Shame on Day & her publisher for such a gross abuse of readers who spent 230 pages getting emotionally involved w Eva & Gideon's issues with no ending!! Sorry, just taking a shower & driving away in a limo for the night to avoid a confrontation w a major secondary character the heroine lives w is not an ending. Very disappointing! I will not be buying the second book, Day & publisher don't deserve it.

Although this book is better written than 50 Shades of Grey & deals with similar issues, I would not recommend it. The author ends the book without resolving a single one of the conflicts & issues!! The book just stops at the end of a chapter!

Christian Grey & Gideon do have alot in common, handsome, rich business men who like to stalk their lady loves, not to mention a shared history of childhood sexual abuse. I did like how the abused is handled, explained, & the emphasis on needing to get help to get better. I know/love so many adult survivors - it was definetly very realistic & I like how it was treated w dignity for such a terrible subject. I just hope he isn't magically "cured" like happens in a lot of books. Cuz I can tell you from experience that crap doesn't happen! Sexual abuse affects every part of their lives forever.

The more I reflected on the book though, it just made me more & more angry! It just left every loose end loose! So you have to buy the next book. It just quit @ the end of a chapter. No resolution for the Cary orgy, Cary's boyfriend, why Gideon's so effed up, why's his bro's a dick, how can 2 childhood sexual abuse survivors have a real relationship, etc!! Really pissed me off & I loved Gideon! I really felt for him & how much therapy he was gonna need before he got over/thru what happened to him.

Basically, if you want any type of closure or resolution to Eva & Gideon's story you have to buy the 2nd book in the series, because not a single thing is explained in book 1. Shame on Sylvia Day!! ( )
  CMBlaker | May 6, 2014 |
Hmmmm.....my original review on GR mysteriously disappeared sometime in the last couple months. Something to do with Amazon & that I did not like the book??? Here it is copy/pasted:

Shame on Sylvia Day!!!

Nothing pisses me off faster than a terrible ending to what was pretty much an intriguing book. Day just ended this at the end of a chapter! Right after two new conflicts reveal themselves to the main characters! Ummm...... HELLO! Forget a HEA (which is fine w me as long as there is a resolution & good explanation of loose ends)there's no ending at all!! No closure, no resolutions, no reveals, nothing!! Terrible, terrible, terrible! Shame on Day & her publisher for such a gross abuse of readers who spent 230 pages getting emotionally involved w Eva & Gideon's issues with no ending!! I'm sorry but, just taking a shower & driving away in a limo for the night to avoid a confrontation w a major secondary character the heroine lives w is not an ending. Very disappointing! I will not be buying the second book, Day & publisher don't deserve it.

Although this book is better written than 50 Shades of Grey & deals with similar issues, I would not recommend it. The author ends the book without resolving a single one of the conflicts & issues!! The book just stops at the end of a chapter!

Christian Grey & Gideon do have a lot in common, handsome, rich business men who like to stalk their lady loves, not to mention a shared history of childhood sexual abuse. I did like how the abused is handled, explained, & the emphasis on needing to get professional help to get better. I know/love so many adult survivors - it was definitely very realistic & I like how it was treated w dignity for such a terrible subject. I just hope he isn't magically "cured" like happens in a lot of books. Cuz I can tell you from experience that crap doesn't happen! Sexual abuse affects every part of their lives forever.

The more I reflected on the book though, it just made me more & more angry! It just left every loose end loose! So you have to buy the next book. It just quit @ the end of a chapter. No resolution for the Cary orgy, Cary's boyfriend, why Gideon's so effed up, why's his bro's a dick, how can 2 childhood sexual abuse survivors have a real relationship, etc!! Really pissed me off & I loved Gideon! I really felt for him & how much therapy he was gonna need before he got over/thru what happened to him.

Basically, if you want any type of closure or resolution to Eva & Gideon's story you have to buy the 2nd book in the series, because not a single thing is explained in book 1. Shame on Sylvia Day!! ( )
  CMBlaker | May 6, 2014 |
A copy of Fifty Shades of Grey - uses the same plot template. Does have some differences though, the characters suffer from abuse as children, difficult to see where the author is going with this, except trying to make it different from FSoG. ( )
  rhiand | Apr 28, 2014 |
Easy read and not too difficult to understand or keep up with. It was recommended to me by my sister who knew I had read the fifty shades trilogy.

I would say that this book, or even the series, may not be everyone's cup of tea. They might be expecting another fifty shades and, even though it did mirror a lot that series' concepts and plots, it was quite mild in comparison. It was entertaining and enjoyable in parts, but the constant arguments the characters had was giving me whiplash. They were happy on one page, arguing on the next and then making up 2 pages on! I know they all have their own demons but come on! The story never really progressed in my opinion. It's just constant arguments and sex. If you like that sort of thing then go for it, but I prefer my stories to develop, not repeat itself over and over again. ( )
  LaurenKathryn | Mar 31, 2014 |
Sexual-issues-a-ramma. They all have sex issues, even the minor characters, and they are all going to act badly for it, because obviously you can not have been abused and keep your self together. This was trash. ( )
  pennmaniac | Mar 26, 2014 |
What did I just read? Two damaged souls having sex, being stupidly jealous, playing silly mind games that are not even remotely clever. This book was ridiculous. ( )
  KatieMassey | Mar 26, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 96 (next | show all)

LibraryThing Author

Sylvia Day is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
32 avail.
413 wanted
6 pay15 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.7)
0.5 4
1 20
1.5
2 32
2.5 4
3 81
3.5 22
4 133
4.5 11
5 106

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

An edition of this book was published by Penguin Australia.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,013,466 books! | Top bar: Always visible