HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Carrie by Stephen King
Loading...

Carrie (edition 2002)

by Stephen King

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
8,378174371 (3.7)291
So, if you've ever considered bullying the outcast kid or not telling your teenage daughter what to expect when she officially hits puberty, this is the book that will change your mind forever! ;)

I saw the movie starring Sissy Spacek as Carrie many years ago, but since this was Stephen King's first published novel, I really wanted to actually read it. ...and as is the case with so many books-that-have-been-turned-into-movies, the book is so much better due the details provided, and the terrifying emotions evoked. I loved the way King alternated his writing styles, mixing third-person narrative with excerpts from legal depositions and first-person witness accounts, thus giving the reader opportunity to greater understand the events and psychology that led up to a nightmarish Prom Night in a small town in Maine. ( )
1 vote KindleKapers | May 26, 2012 |
English (164)  French (4)  Portuguese (1)  Dutch (1)  Norwegian (1)  Spanish (1)  Romanian (1)  German (1)  All languages (174)
Showing 1-25 of 164 (next | show all)
GREAT, SHOWS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU PISS=OFF A SHY NERD. I'M WRITING THIS NOW IN 2015 SO I DON'T REMEMBER ALOT OF THE DETAILS. NOW I LOOK BACK AND THE BOOK SORT OF TELLS THE FUTURE IN A STRANGE WAY, NOT ABOUT HER POWERS BUT THE WAY PEOPLE TREAT HER. IN TODAY'S WORLD PEOPLE TREAT EACH OTHER THAT WAY NO MATTER WHAT. ( )
  Aleahmom | Jul 28, 2015 |
An awesome, quick read. My heart went out to Carrie. I felt so bad for her. I think I found this book easy to read because I just wanted Carrie to get even. I read it so fast because I just wanted her to get back at everyone. No one should ever be treated like that by friends, family, strangers, etc. Overall a good book! Now I can watch both the new and old versions! I refused to watch them before reading the book lol. ( )
  MermaidxLibrarian | Jul 16, 2015 |
Great read! Carrie White is just a tragic figure. Bullied and belittled. And then - well the girl gets powers and then the girl gets revenge! It was really hard to feel anything but empathy for her, even when she goes insane. Especially with her horrible mother, one of the worst parents in literature of all time! I also like the way King interspersed other "first source" material throughout the story. Even though it gives away the ending, it does nothing to take away from the tale! But my overwhelming thought at the end was poor, poor Carrie... ( )
  Stahl-Ricco | Jul 12, 2015 |
I didn't care for the novel Carrie. I saw the movie a long time ago so I knew what it was about and I loved the movie so I thought I would like the book even more, but that didn't happen. I didn't like how the reader pretty much knows what's going to happen at the end before getting there. I don't like how there wasn't more detail between tele kinetics and menstruation. I liked how it change point of views in different characters and the build up to the end. I would of liked to seen all the aftermath from the characters, the interviews that were scattered around the story, at the end after everything happened, as well as the scientific explanations of tele kinetics because in the book it gives small examples then all of a sudden she has complete control over her power? Didn't make much sense. ( )
  GrlIntrrptdRdng | Jun 28, 2015 |
I didn't care for the novel Carrie. I saw the movie a long time ago so I knew what it was about and I loved the movie so I thought I would like the book even more, but that didn't happen. I didn't like how the reader pretty much knows what's going to happen at the end before getting there. I don't like how there wasn't more detail between tele kinetics and menstruation. I liked how it change point of views in different characters and the build up to the end. I would of liked to seen all the aftermath from the characters, the interviews that were scattered around the story, at the end after everything happened, as well as the scientific explanations of tele kinetics because in the book it gives small examples then all of a sudden she has complete control over her power? Didn't make much sense. ( )
  GrlIntrrptdRdng | Jun 28, 2015 |
wow, what a great read. I saw the original movie and, recently, the 2013 remake. yet, this book still fascinated me, if not for the story, then for the intricate way it gets presented to the reader.

through what is in fact a complex tangle of flashbacks, flash forwards, police reports, first person scenes, third person scenes, newspaper wires, autobiography excerpts, ... King manages to add another layer of suspension to an already thrilling story.

perhaps what I like so much about the well known story of Carrie is the sheer simpleness of it and the way that we can all relate to the main character's yearning for love, belonging and safety.

on a final note, I want to highlight that the book really adds much more significance to the story which the movies (or any movie in fact) ever could. so even if you have seen the movie(s), it's well worth the read.

this was my first Stephen King, but surely not my last! ( )
  bbbart | May 30, 2015 |
(spoiler alert)

I’ve never seen either the classic or remake films. Just not very good with on-screen gore. But of course I know (deep breath) that it’s a menstruation/female body horror featuring telekinetic teen Carrie going postal at her high school prom after being doused in buckets of blood by her bullying fellow pupils. Luckily Stephen King’s novel is constructed to be spoiler proof, revealing all its key elements right at the start while teasingly holding back on the detail. This is a master class in storytelling, braiding together the events leading up to the prom from the characters’ viewpoints with post incident reportage and survivor’s accounts. There’s huge pleasure in being granted the godlike status of always knowing more than both the doomed protagonists and those speculating on their actions and motives after the event. ( )
  Bernadette877 | Mar 22, 2015 |
Spoilers throughout. There are thousands of reviews of this book without spoilers. Find one.

I enjoyed this reread (#4, I believe, but I think I've lost count) far more than any of the other times I have read this book. I remember one read being as low as two stars for me. I detested this book. It bored me to death. But, this go around, I loved it.

If I didn't know any better, I would think that books change over time, or is that the reader?

I still don't like the ending. Meaning, the last few pages of the book. I feel that King should have stopped after Carrie died, and left the fate of the town to our imaginations, but that's my own opinion. Carrie's demise is so emotional that the final few pages of the book pale in comparison. We go from strong feelings of sadness to an author's attempt to wrap things up with a bow. Fuck that. If I'm to cry, leave me in tears.

I still have a fierce hatred for all the film adaptations of this book. None of them get the character of Carrie right (Carrie and her mother were BIG women, not the skinny wraiths that Hollywood demands), nor do they drive home the crushing tragedy of the narrative. Why hasn't anyone made a Carrie movie wherein Sue finds Carrie outside of the Cavalier? Why must the movies always finish in the White home? Whatever. Moving on.

This time, I noted several names that pop up with regularity throughout the King-verse, and one character from one of King's novellas. It's probably the best part about reading Stephen King's for me. He writes nearly constantly about small towns, and having all these Easter eggs hidden throughout his work makes it feel as if you're part of one of these small towns. Like everyone is a friend or neighbor. I dig that very much.

Notable names:
Hanscom (It)
Trelawney (Mr. Mercedes)
Mears ('Salem's Lot)
The Black Man (aka the Dark Man/Randall Flagg - the entire King-verse)

Notable characters:
Teddy Duchamps (The Body)

In summation: One down and thrity-three novels to go. Next up is 'Salem's Lot, which I am completely excited for. It's one of my all-time favorite King books, and it never fails to terrify. ( )
1 vote Edward.Lorn | Feb 13, 2015 |
Fantastic book! ( )
  VincentDarlage | Jan 30, 2015 |
I saw the movie a couple of years ago and I thought it was ok, nothing that special. Not even a really good horror movie. So I never bothered to read the books. Well that was a mistake because the book is so much better than the movie…well that’s a hardly surprising, movies are seldom better than the book. Carrie is not a horror book in its essence, yes it has elements of horror, but mostly the book is just a tragic tale of girl who finally snaps, who after years of abuse, both at home and in school just finally just not going to take it anymore and she has power.

So she unleash hell. Big Time!



( )
  MaraBlaise | Dec 11, 2014 |
Stephen Kingin ensimmäinen teos on helppolukuinen, eikä kauhean pelottava. Mielenkiitoinen näkökulma siihen, miten kiusaaminen vaikuttaa ihmiseen. ( )
  marintala | Dec 6, 2014 |
I gave it 4 stars mainly because of the writing, it's just brilliant! It's pretty amazing how many things are happening simultaneously in the story without being confusing at all. However, I must admit that there were some boring sections and that's why I didn't give it 5 stars. ( )
  Araceli.Arias | Oct 24, 2014 |
I couldn't help but think that this was the Cinderella story as told by one really sick puppy. A great book, though. You can see Stephen King coming out of the chute a very strong writer and I don't think he ever really slowed down. -1996 ( )
  AliceAnna | Oct 19, 2014 |
one of my favorites. great characters and hard to put down ( )
  jodiesohl | Sep 14, 2014 |
I am glad I found this lying lost around the book store and you want to know why? Because this is BRUTAL in every sense. I wasn't too excited about it at first, because I know Carrie, I've watch all her movie adaptations all the crappy sequels, but who'd think the book would get me going so much?
The book contains several interruptions to mention arcticles from other books, which at first I thought was something only my copy contained. At first I even ignored them but when I understood what they actually were there for I went back to read them again. The thing about this book is, it's not a book about Carrie. It is a book about the phenomenon of which she was the protagonist. I found it all very interesting, especially since I imagined it all happening around me, all those newspaper arcticles, survivor rants. What if it had really happened? I kept on craving more and more every page.
Carrie White. What a girl. Opressed by her religious mother and brought up in an unhealthy environment, has her first period at age 16 during gym class, surrounded by girls who believed they were already grown women despite not deserving it. But that event is what started it all. Carrie had more power than you could have guessed and what happens when the powerful considered weak lose their temper? Prom Night. Bloooooody Prom Night.
(Flex)
I recommend this for anyone looking for light horror and good entertainment. It was also the first Stephen King I read, and despite some harsh vocabulary, it is pretty managable.
(Flex)
(Flex)
I will keep on adding this everywhere until it works.
(Flex) ( )
  sarafwilliams | Sep 13, 2014 |
I am glad I found this lying lost around the book store and you want to know why? Because this is BRUTAL in every sense. I wasn't too excited about it at first, because I know Carrie, I've watch all her movie adaptations all the crappy sequels, but who'd think the book would get me going so much?
The book contains several interruptions to mention arcticles from other books, which at first I thought was something only my copy contained. At first I even ignored them but when I understood what they actually were there for I went back to read them again. The thing about this book is, it's not a book about Carrie. It is a book about the phenomenon of which she was the protagonist. I found it all very interesting, especially since I imagined it all happening around me, all those newspaper arcticles, survivor rants. What if it had really happened? I kept on craving more and more every page.
Carrie White. What a girl. Opressed by her religious mother and brought up in an unhealthy environment, has her first period at age 16 during gym class, surrounded by girls who believed they were already grown women despite not deserving it. But that event is what started it all. Carrie had more power than you could have guessed and what happens when the powerful considered weak lose their temper? Prom Night. Bloooooody Prom Night.
(Flex)
I recommend this for anyone looking for light horror and good entertainment. It was also the first Stephen King I read, and despite some harsh vocabulary, it is pretty managable.
(Flex)
(Flex)
I will keep on adding this everywhere until it works.
(Flex) ( )
  sarafwilliams | Sep 13, 2014 |
The more I read Stephen King, the less sure I am that I actually like Stephen King, and also the more I read Stephen King, the more I want to read Stephen King. It's a weird relationship. ( )
  sighedtosleep | Sep 1, 2014 |
Carrie is a girl with telekinetic powers who has been isolated from her community due to the crazy reputation of her mother. Her mother has kept her sheltered and taught her extreme religions views and opinions.

All of this made going to high school a traumatic experience for her. Especially when the torture and traumatic times seem to occur on a daily basis.

Everything comes together and she finally explodes with rage, taking it out on anyone and everyone who has ever caused her pain.

It just so happens that the whole town has bullied her, so Carrie has a vendetta against a large amount of people.

I'd give this book 5/5 for an classic original King horror book. ( )
  lizasarusrex | Sep 1, 2014 |
For a Stephen King book, I thought this one was slightly weak. But considering the circumstances in which the book was written (being his first published book), I thought it was pretty good. It's about a girl with telekinetic powers named Carrie, who is cruelly humiliated during a graduation party and decides to take revenge for all the bullying she had to endure. The book has several kinds of narrative: one in third-person plus interviews and a couple of excerpts from documentaries and newspapers.

Considering King's vivacity in the descriptions, I think I was waiting for more violence and cruelty from Carrie, specially considering that the first part of the book is almost real. I also missed her own point of view when she lost her mind. I'd like to know what she was thinking when she was finally able to avenge herself against the ones that humiliated her during her entire life... and even against the ones that did nothing wrong against her. I felt that Carrie was somewhat "forgotten", which is kinda sad because King seemed to take a special care in developing each of his characters, from Carrie's mother to the classmates.

The book itself is short and quick to be read, although the interviews and documentaries seem to slow down the story a little.

An interesting reading, mandatory for Stephen King fans. But definitely not his best book. ( )
  aryadeschain | Aug 26, 2014 |
Just as amazing as I've always been told it is. Loved the character development. I felt sorry for Carrie. ( )
  KRaySaulis | Aug 13, 2014 |
Even if you've never read this book or seen either of the movie adaptations, the odds are good that you know more or less how it goes: Teenage girl is abused and humiliated by both her religious-nut mother and the popular girls at school. Girl develops telekinetic powers. Everything ends in blood and catastrophe on prom night. (And if you diddn't, well, none of that is particularly spoilery, in any case, as King basically tells you right from the beginning how it's all going to end.)

This was King's first novel, and I do think it shows. The writing isn't terribly polished, and the levels of horror and tension are well below the heights that King, at his best, is capable of. Plus, he seems to have conjured up Carrie and her classmates from memories of his own youth in the 50s and 60s, which makes everything feel slightly off for a story supposedly set in 1979.

All that having been said, though, there is something about it that strikes a chord; it certainly resonated with my own painful memories of school bullying. And, although she's really only a very lightly-sketched character, it is impossible not to feel empathy for poor Carrie. So, while this is by no means a great book -- I'd categorize it more as "okay" -- I can understand, I think, how it lodged itself so firmly into popular consciousness and started Stephen King off on his career of being Stephen King. ( )
1 vote bragan | Aug 5, 2014 |
I did wonder whether Stephen King's first published novel would be a mild, toe-in-the-water, version of what followed. It isn't. Carrie is a full-on mixture of the elements of anger, fear, sadness, abuse and the supernatural that are found in his later books. And it's a good mixture.
Through various sources, retrospective and in-the-moment, we follow the story of Carrie. Carrie has always taken abuse from everyone around her, and at some point she will inevitably snap. As it happens, Carrie has some special powers which could easily make her snap something out of the ordinary.

This is a very well done "impending doom" story which meticulously builds up the various elements of the story before it reaches the conclusion. A very worthwhile and enjoyable read. ( )
  clq | Jul 31, 2014 |
I think that a lot of my doubts and fears of high school were planted in me by this book.

Absolutely terrifying. ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
I think that a lot of my doubts and fears of high school were planted in me by this book.

Absolutely terrifying. ( )
  csweder | Jul 8, 2014 |
Advertencia: Después de leer éste libro jamás volverás a ver a "Matilda" con los mismos ojos.


Carrie es, extrañamente, el personaje más humano que he leído. La compadeces, la aborreces, le agarras cariño, la odias. La entiendes.

Aplausos para King. ( )
  Glire | Jul 7, 2014 |
Showing 1-25 of 164 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.7)
0.5 6
1 31
1.5 9
2 171
2.5 47
3 722
3.5 146
4 963
4.5 72
5 515

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 98,383,231 books! | Top bar: Always visible