HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Blooded: A Jessica McClain Novella by Amanda…
Loading...

Blooded: A Jessica McClain Novella (edition 2012)

by Amanda Carlson

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
4314267,810 (4.24)None
MyBookishWays's review
You may also read my review here: http://www.mybookishways.com/2012/04/review-blooded-a-jessica-mcclain-novella-by...

Jessica McClain is the daughter of the head of her werewolf Pack, and she’s enthusiastically breaking Pack law by fighting an Alpha wolf who’s been giving her trouble. The problem is, Jessica is female (weres don’t carry the ability to create females, so she’s considered an abomination), and fighting an alpha wolf is really not a good idea, but she’s sick and tired of being picked on. Jessica knows she must fight or leave before things spin out of control. Set to go to the city and enter the police academy, she must convince her father that it’s the best thing for her, but at only 19, that’s not an easy thing to do. Blooded is a great introduction to this brand new series by debut author Amanda Carlson, and Jessica McClain is one tough human girl in a sea of supes that’s determined to hold her own. Ms. Carlson’s writing is tight and her fight scenes are stellar. If you love urban fantasy (and shifters), this is one new series you’ll want to get your hands on! ( )
  MyBookishWays | Apr 23, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 14 of 14
Prequel to Blooded. How Jessica's life outside the pack came about. Great story wished it was a tad longer than 43 pages. ( )
  eswaim | Feb 17, 2014 |
Jessica McClain was born the only female in an all male race. ( )
  Talthor | Dec 17, 2013 |
Shorter story. You get to see what Jessica had to grow up with. How much her father and brother love her, but that it makes them, her father especially, a little blind. Good prequel. I wish I'd read this before the first book. ( )
  mlsimmons | Sep 20, 2013 |
I have pre-ordered the full length book, Full Blooded but was keen to check out the heroine which was luckily released as a prequel novella.

Blooded, starts off right into the action with the heroine, Jessica vying for a real place in the pack which is all dominated by male wolves. Because she is the only female born within a pack, she is regarded with suspicion, fear and scorn especially with the fact that unlike her twin brother who is a werewolf, she is a human female.

Jessica is likeable and stubborn character, and I really her voice. The werewolf society structure was interesting, although it didn't expand much information and on the world-building and this was a pretty short novella. It did give a taste of what Jessica and the hint of the troubles to come she will face later.
I think this will be a cool new UF series, and I am definitely looking forward to the first full book. ( )
  Has_bookpusher | Sep 20, 2013 |
Really enjoyed this first book in the Blooded series. Loved that the main character was a female werewolf! Looking forward to reading the next book in the series. ( )
  claireh18 | Jul 10, 2013 |
Posted at my blog:

Blooded by Amanda Carlson is a Jessica McClain novella telling the story of Jessica’s fight for freedom from an all-male werewolf pack when she is the only female human to have ever been born of a werewolf, a very over protective Alpha to be specific

I was lucky enough to catch Amanda Carlson on twitter when she was talking about Minnesota and was very excited to find a Minnesota author, since that’s my home state too. She was nice enough to offer me a review copy of her novella Blooded and I jumped at the chance :D.
Goodreads

Title: Blooded: A Jessica McClain Novella
Author: Amanda Carlson
Pages: ~63 (ebook)
Genre-ish: Urban Fantasy
Rating: ★★★★☆ - Fun story, minor flaws
Setting: Blooded takes place in a typical urban fantasy setting, with supernaturals of all kinds, including werewolves. The main thing that sets Blooded apart is that in this world all werewolves are male, and there is a myth that a female human born to a werewolf male will be the Daughter of Cain, pure evil and signify the beginning of the end for all werewolf kind, so it kind of sucks to be that female….
Premise: Jessica McClain just happens to have been born a female human to a werewolf Alpha, and being the only human in a pack of werewolves would be hard to begin with, that previously mentioned myth makes it all the better. Unfortunately for Jessica, her father is very over protective and won’t let her leave home even though she’s 19 and home is filled with savage werewolves who want to kill her. This leaves her just one option, to fight and prove to her father that she can make it in the real world better than in the pack.

Strengths:

An interesting premise and plenty of room and hints at a rich plot for the full novel
A female lead character who is human and willing to use her brain to take on werewolves? Sign me up!
Hints throughout at the richness of the world, including a werefox and mention of a lot of other supernaturals
Well described fight scenes, Carlson has either taken self defense or watched a lot of action movies ;-)

Weaknesses:

Blooded was nearly all fighting, since it was dominated by the two major fights, so if reading about fighting isn’t your thing, I’d say just skip to the full novel
At times the writing was a little wordy, and I felt that the central plot points of the myth and Jessica being threatened and unwanted didn’t need to be discussed too much, especially since getting the crap beat out of her shows that pretty well.
It was quite short, which is understandable being a novella, but I want to know more :D
Just a brief warning as well, if you are sensitive to violence against women, probably not the book for you, since the only female gets the crap beat out of her a lot….

Summary:
A strong start to Jessica McClain’s story and I will be keeping my eyes out for a copy of the first novel. The premise is interesting and leaves a lot of room for a cool world and a lot of lore, which I very much hope Carlson develops in the series. I’m very interested to see where the series ends up!

More reviews at http://www.onstarshipsanddragonwings.com/ ( )
  anyaejo | Apr 15, 2013 |
More reviews at: http://www.onstarshipsanddragonwings.com/2012/05/11/blooded/

Blooded by Amanda Carlson is a Jessica McClain novella telling the story of Jessica’s fight for freedom from an all-male werewolf pack when she is the only female human to have ever been born of a werewolf, a very over protective Alpha to be specific
I was lucky enough to catch Amanda Carlson on twitter when she was talking about Minnesota and was very excited to find a Minnesota author, since that’s my home state too. She was nice enough to offer me a review copy of her novella Blooded and I jumped at the chance :D.

Title: Blooded: A Jessica McClain Novella
Author: Amanda Carlson
Pages: ~63 (ebook)
Genre-ish: Urban Fantasy
Rating: ★★★★☆ - Fun story, minor flaws
Setting: Blooded takes place in a typical urban fantasy setting, with supernaturals of all kinds, including werewolves. The main thing that sets Blooded apart is that in this world all werewolves are male, and there is a myth that a female human born to a werewolf male will be the Daughter of Cain, pure evil and signify the beginning of the end for all werewolf kind, so it kind of sucks to be that female….
Premise: Jessica McClain just happens to have been born a female human to a werewolf Alpha, and being the only human in a pack of werewolves would be hard to begin with, that previously mentioned myth makes it all the better. Unfortunately for Jessica, her father is very over protective and won’t let her leave home even though she’s 19 and home is filled with savage werewolves who want to kill her. This leaves her just one option, to fight and prove to her father that she can make it in the real world better than in the pack.
Strengths:
An interesting premise and plenty of room and hints at a rich plot for the full novel
A female lead character who is human and willing to use her brain to take on werewolves? Sign me up!
Hints throughout at the richness of the world, including a werefox and mention of a lot of other supernaturals
Well described fight scenes, Carlson has either taken self defense or watched a lot of action movies ;-)
Weaknesses:
Blooded was nearly all fighting, since it was dominated by the two major fights, so if reading about fighting isn’t your thing, I’d say just skip to the full novel
At times the writing was a little wordy, and I felt that the central plot points of the myth and Jessica being threatened and unwanted didn’t need to be discussed too much, especially since getting the crap beat out of her shows that pretty well.
It was quite short, which is understandable being a novella, but I want to know more :D
Just a brief warning as well, if you are sensitive to violence against women, probably not the book for you, since the only female gets the crap beat out of her a lot….
Summary:
A strong start to Jessica McClain’s story and I will be keeping my eyes out for a copy of the first novel. The premise is interesting and leaves a lot of room for a cool world and a lot of lore, which I very much hope Carlson develops in the series. I’m very interested to see where the series ends up! ( )
  anyaejo | Feb 15, 2013 |
After reading the short story prequel to Amanda Carlson's debut urban fantasy novel, Full Blooded, I have absolutely fallen in love with it's fresh new heroine, Jessica McClain! The Jessica McClain novella, Blooded, gives readers a perfect little taste of Jessica before the full length novel's September release.

More than Jessica's kick-butt attitude, I appreciated getting the 411 on her background. Blooded tells readers what happens when Jessica is in her late teen years plotting to leave the werewolf compound. As the only human in a pack full of hot-headed wolves, what could be worse than Jessica living on her own? According to her father and pack-Alpha, there's more danger for Jessica away from his protection. There's even a little excerpt of Full Blooded at the end of the novella that shows just how much more there is to Jessica's strange and unpredictable life. I can safely say that when I jump into the actual novel, I'll know enough to understand Jessica's world, which is, so far, unique from what I've read about werewolves.

Despite her father's hesitance to let her leave and live on her own, Jessica literally fights to get her way. Her determination is part of what makes her such a wonderful character. I have no doubt that reuniting with the independent Jessica in Full Blooded will be well worth the wait! ( )
  LoveyDoveyBooks | Jun 20, 2012 |
Jessica is tormented and taunted and now it's escalating to more and physical, since her eighteenth birthday. Now she wants to prove herself, challenging a fight against Pack rules, with Mitch - Alpha-born wolf, but not the strongest. Problem, she's the Alpha leaders daughter, and along with being female, she's human. After the bloody battle, Jessica is attacked on the Compound, almost killed by a stronger Alpha-born wolf. Will her father finally agree to her years of pleas to leave Compound? Or will he hid her away from all supernaturals with him, there on the Compound?

Wow. This was only a novella!?! I can't wait to see what Amanda has in store for us in a full length novel. This novella was well written and well rounded! No sway to world building or character building, it is all here. And Full On Fighting start! This Novella sets the stage for Jessica's life; past and to come.

Jessica is a strong mouthed and brave woman. I would say she definitely has Alpha wolf personality. Shame she's not a wolf. And I have to say she has some serious strength to take beatings like this, and dish out what she did.

I really liked this start! Sets the world Jessica tries to survive in and other characters around her. We get a great amount of the wolf culture and rules here. We are told there are other supernaturals in this world, ones that Jessica's dad worries about coming after her. This makes me curious as to what is out there, and what Amanda has in store for us, yet to come. I REALLY look forward to the future installments! ( )
1 vote MelHay | May 5, 2012 |
This was one hell of a start for this new series. Amanda Carlson’s debut of the Jessica McClain series promises action packed novels with a kick ass heroine. After reading this and the added excerpt for Full Blooded this was more a prequel. A short story laying the ground work before taking the story to new heights. Jessica is a freak of nature, the only female werewolf, prophesized as the Daughter of Evil that will one day be the werewolves downfall. Also the daughter of the Alpha, she has been protected the best she could for years, but as of late the attempts are escalating. Unable to shift, and not truly one of them leaves her in a very dangerous position. Jessica knows what this means for her future, and she is determined to live. To survive she must find a way out. With her death on the horizon daily she must convince her father that she must leave and start anew. Unfortunately, with the Alpha for a Father convincing him is proving hard than anticipated, and her time is running out. I love stories with strong and independent woman in the lead. Jessica McClain promises just that with her spunky and witty attitude. This was a very short story of about forty pages; which was not near enough to sate my appetite for the promised story. . I can not wait to read Full Blooded in September, and get a real taste of what this series is going to offer. ( )
  BookWhisperer | Apr 26, 2012 |
So excited about this new author! She fortunately came into my life through another author I love, Amanda Bonilla (who also has great taste in books), so I was super excited about reading this novella. And I have to say that after reading the novella I am totally excited about her full length book!

The concept is actually pretty cool. But to start I should mention that this series is primarily made up around werewolves (yay), but Carlson offers her own unique take to werewolves. There are no females. I really like this about the book, I think it makes her main character Jessica, all the more strong. Sure she doesn't have all the skills that a werewolf has, but in order to survive in this world she was born into she had to be strong emotionally and let me tell you she is quite tenacious. Something I happen to love about Jessica.

This novella is just the perfect amount of the action and information to make you really want to read a full length novel. Literally after reading the last words within the novella I thought to myself, "holy cow, the "blank" has hit the fan and I wanna see what happens to her next!". On the plus side I have scene Carlson's release schedule so we won't have to wait long for her books to come out, and I do mean books, plural.

The novella is only about 20,000 words so you really only get a glimpse of the world that Jessica lives in. But I want to point out that the one thing I was pretty excited about when I was reading the novella was that the world does not only contain werewolves. I love it when you have a whole world of different kinds of supernaturals. I can't wait to see how they are all going to come together and interact with the character of Jessica.

So long story short, I think Amanda Bonilla was right, this series is going to be a big hit with the werewolf loves out there. I would recommend this novella to anyone, it's a quick read, but it's a fun and oh so very action packed novella, so go pick it up! ( )
  UFReviews | Apr 26, 2012 |
You may also read my review here: http://www.mybookishways.com/2012/04/review-blooded-a-jessica-mcclain-novella-by...

Jessica McClain is the daughter of the head of her werewolf Pack, and she’s enthusiastically breaking Pack law by fighting an Alpha wolf who’s been giving her trouble. The problem is, Jessica is female (weres don’t carry the ability to create females, so she’s considered an abomination), and fighting an alpha wolf is really not a good idea, but she’s sick and tired of being picked on. Jessica knows she must fight or leave before things spin out of control. Set to go to the city and enter the police academy, she must convince her father that it’s the best thing for her, but at only 19, that’s not an easy thing to do. Blooded is a great introduction to this brand new series by debut author Amanda Carlson, and Jessica McClain is one tough human girl in a sea of supes that’s determined to hold her own. Ms. Carlson’s writing is tight and her fight scenes are stellar. If you love urban fantasy (and shifters), this is one new series you’ll want to get your hands on! ( )
  MyBookishWays | Apr 23, 2012 |
BLOODED is the opening novella for the Jessica McClain series by debut author Amanda Carlson. The novella opens up right away showing how kick ass Jessica McClain is going to be and goes on to show us the dynamics in the pack she was born into and her family. There is a lot of violence towards Jessica because she is female and not a wolf. I was engaged in every and all aspects of the 66 pages in BLOODED and read it in a very short time without setting it down once.

After reading BLOODED and the first chapter teaser at the end for FULL BLOODED I'm absolutely dying to get my hands on FULL BLOODED and its release can not come soon enough. ( )
  STACYatUFI | Apr 20, 2012 |
MY REVIEW

This novella introduces us to Jessica McClain and her family which consists of, her father Cain (the Alpha), her twin brother Tyler. Then there's Danny who joined the pack from England and is great friends with Tyler. Nick is a fox shifter who Cain adopted into the pack and is close to Jessica and Tyler too. There is a myth about a female who is born into the pack who will be responsible for the downfall of the Werewolf race, so naturally there are some in the pack who literally seem to hate Jessica. Jessica is in constant danger, constantly being picked at by the other wolves. Jessica decides to take a stand and that is where the novella begins, right in the middle of the action! this novella is definitely packed with action. The description is done very well and keeps you interested. Some action scenes I have read kind of get boring part way but this one does not, it keeps you hooked into the action.
So did I enjoy the novella? Yes I didn't want to put it down! Would I read more by Amanda Carlson/this series? Definitely and finally would I recommend it? Yes especially to those who have read Kelley Armstrong's Women Of The Otherworld or Rachel Vincent's Shifter series, though obviously in both series the females were werewolves too. In this book Jessica does not shift, though we don't know if that may change.....

Available soon ( )
  Sanz71 | Apr 12, 2012 |
Showing 14 of 14

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.24)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5
4 7
4.5
5 7

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,563,532 books! | Top bar: Always visible