HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Dark Currents: Agent of Hel by Jacqueline…
Loading...

Dark Currents: Agent of Hel (edition 2012)

by Jacqueline Carey

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3393632,414 (3.85)19
Member:krau0098
Title:Dark Currents: Agent of Hel
Authors:Jacqueline Carey
Info:Roc Hardcover (2012), Hardcover, 368 pages
Collections:Already Read, Read but unowned
Rating:***1/2
Tags:demons, fantasy, ghouls, urban fantasy, vampires, werewovles, mythology

Work details

Dark Currents by Jacqueline Carey

Recently added byrandys_bookbuzz, private library, TheYodamom, LadyBill, ru31982, kdf_333

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 19 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 36 (next | show all)
Great for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Haven, or Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse series.
  ktoonen | Feb 1, 2016 |
4.5
Throw your idea of the normal supernatural regulars out with this book. There are more varieties and they are unique; Werewolves, Brownies, Vampires, Ghouls, Mermaids and more. The head Ghoul, is sexy with a beating heart and blood in his veins. Hel is a Norse goddess who rules supreme over the edritch (supernatural others) that live there.
Daisy is a half demon and agent of Hel. She was raised by her mother, and taught to be 'good.' She has to avoid temptation, called the seven deadlies. She will gain enormous power and then hell on earth will reign. Not easy when she's quick to lose her temper and her demon father is always trying to get her to come over to the dark side. She is single and looking, and there are some nice men to look at. She is a bit immature, and acts a bit like a teen, IMHO. She is new at this, and she grows up before the end of the book.
When a Frat boy turns up drowned, and his death points to supernatural causes, Daisy is partnered up with hot police officer Cody Fairfax. He long time crush. They work together hunting clues and trying to keep her on the non-evil side of the force. -She is a hot head- They meet up with Stefen, the head ghoul and hunky hotness that he his, he stole the show for me. : ) He has powers that can help and offers them. But can he be trusted ?
The humans is town don't like the supernaturals and this killing brings all the craziness out to disgrace the town and the police department. This could be the end of the uneasy balance the town has. The clock is set and them team must rush to solve this case before it gets really bad.
The bad-I was bothered by Daisy's tail, it is brought up too much. it was twitching, it was rubbing, it was...okay I get it she has a tail. The sexual torture, I hate this subject, but it was not detailed nor graphic and I appreciated that. I was also miffed at the lack of romance, but when dealing with the subject of the story i am relieved it was left out. It would have been totally inappropriate. So I guess it's not a problem, I just wanted it. LOL
There are two more books planned and I am jumping on them asap. ( )
  TheYodamom | Jan 29, 2016 |
so-so urban fantasy. Seems very Anita Blake-ish, midseries. The romance aspect is more annoying than tantalizing, but the worldbuilding, small town ambience and family-relations saves the book from being completely predictable and dreary. ( )
  amberwitch | Oct 11, 2015 |
Another very well written and enjoyable book by Carey. Even if the target audience seemed a bit younger than for previous books, the characters were interesting with a lot of depth as usual. ( )
  Guide2 | Mar 12, 2015 |
It might be a bit trash, but it was definitely fun and hard to put down. It was thrilling and adventurous and emotional without being girly or chick-lit. I was drawn into the character's world, and didn't want to leave. Synopsis: Daisy is a hell-spawn trying to make her way in the world. She works as a part-time clerk at the local police department in Pemkowet, Michigan. But this isn't any Midwestern town. It also has a functioning underworld, ruled over by the Norse goddess of the dead, Hel. Daisy is also a half-breed. Her mother is an amazing human... Her father is Belphegor, lesser demon and sometimes incubus. There was an ... incident. Then came Daisy. She works now as part-time clerk in the local police station. She's also Hel's (goddess, not underworld) enforcer and eldritch liaison. When a frat boy is found drowned under suspicious, magical-tainted circumstances, Daisy is called in to help alongside her long-time crush, Cody, a police officer and closeted werewolf. Also on the scene is Stefan, a long-not-quite-dead ghoul. And is hit on by her babysitter, but it's cool cuz she attracted to her... Lurline, the lamia who found fame as a B-movie star. There are vampires, ghouls, fairies, naiads, ogres, undines, and at least three references to Princess Bride. I read this at the exact perfect time. If you are looking for a fun read, with a great urban fantasy feel, a bit of romance and a strong female lead, I'd recommend it. ( )
  pegasus.rose.99 | Jan 29, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 36 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
It was an idyllic summer evening in Pemkowet the night the Vanderhei kid died.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Jacqueline Carey, New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed Kushiel’s Legacy novels, presents an all-new world featuring a woman caught between the normal and paranormal worlds, while enforcing order in both. Introducing Daisy Johanssen, reluctant hell-spawn…

The Midwestern resort town of Pemkowet boasts a diverse population: eccentric locals, wealthy summer people, and tourists by the busload; not to mention fairies, sprites, vampires, naiads, ogres and a whole host of eldritch folk, presided over by Hel, a reclusive Norse goddess.

To Daisy Johanssen, fathered by an incubus and raised by a single mother, it’s home. And as Hel’s enforcer and the designated liaison to the Pemkowet Police Department, it’s up to her to ensure relations between the mundane and eldritch communities run smoothly.

But when a young man from a nearby college drowns—and signs point to eldritch involvement—the town’s booming paranormal tourism trade is at stake. Teamed up with her childhood crush, Officer Cody Fairfax, a sexy werewolf on the down-low, Daisy must solve the crime—and keep a tight rein on the darker side of her nature. For if she’s ever tempted to invoke her demonic birthright, it could accidentally unleash nothing less than Armageddon.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

"Small town Pemkowet, Mich., is a popular tourist destination for humans. It's also home to a thriving 'eldritch community' of supernatural entities, thanks to the presence of the local underworld controlled by the Norse goddess Hel. Daisy Johanssen, a half-demon trying to dodge her innate attraction to the 'Seven Deadlies' while functioning as Hel's agent on Earth and the local link between the eldritch community and the human police, is called in to help investigate the drowning of a local college boy when signs of both foul play and magical residue are found on the body."… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
105 wanted1 pay1 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.85)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 2
2.5 4
3 23
3.5 13
4 47
4.5 5
5 22

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,195,200 books! | Top bar: Always visible