HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers
Loading...

All the Rage

by Courtney Summers

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3312233,359 (4.02)3
  1. 10
    Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson (Anonymous user)
  2. 00
    Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (Anonymous user)
None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 3 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 22 (next | show all)
This is a massively triggering book and a commentary on rape culture. It was quite well-writer but personally I was unable to connect with Romy and I felt like things were left hanging at the end. ( )
  jwmchen | Nov 4, 2017 |
Romy Grey is an outcast and has been branded a liar because she accused Kellan Turner, the eldest son of the county sheriff and the head of a national automotive parts chain, of sexually assaulting her. The sheriff blamed Romy for what he deemed a consensual encounter—after all, she had been “chasing him,” and wasn’t her attire and inebriated state evidence of her interest and presumed consent? In the present, it’s the morning after the annual not-so-secret senior party at the lake, and Romy wakes up partially dressed on the side of quiet road miles from anywhere and with no memory of the party. Her former best friend and universally adored classmate, Penny, is missing, and it’s clear to her that everyone thinks they found the wrong missing girl. Her only refuge from the relentless bullying from her classmates and disapproving looks from her teachers is her job in a diner just outside of town where her co-workers don’t know her story, but Romy knows it’s likely just a matter of time. This powerful book thoughtfully explores victim-shaming and the additional emotional burden it inflicts on already-traumatized victims of sexual assault. Romy is a well-developed, flawed, and realistic character who is trying to move forward with her life but is struggling to negotiate the psychological fallout of her assault and resulting shame. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will appreciate this book.

Rachel H. / Marathon County Public Library
Find this book in our library catalog.

( )
  mcpl.wausau | Sep 25, 2017 |
Booklist, 3/1/2015
  K.thoma | Jun 27, 2017 |
A powerful, incisive exploration of rape culture, All the Rage is a must read for anyone who cares about the girls and boys growing up in a society steeped in misogyny.
  chronic | Mar 23, 2017 |
All the Rage is a timely book. It reminds the reader of the dangers of partying, the horrors of date rape, and that "no" means no. The book also reveals the extent to which social media pervades young people's lives, and how much damage can be done with postings, videos, and social media in general.

Romy Grey is a tough young woman, and an interesting protagonist. Her struggles to find her way out of the repercussions of her rape and her loss of reputation propel the plot forward. Her final vindication and alliance with a former tormentor make for an interesting conclusion.

I would recommend this in the library to readers interested in contemporary topics such as date rape, relationships, partying and the negative side of social media. ( )
  mcintorino | Jan 16, 2017 |
Showing 1-5 of 22 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

After being assaulted by the sheriff's son, Kellan Turner, Romy Grey was branded a liar and bullied by former friends, finding refuge only in the diner where she works outside of town, but when a girl with ties to both Romy and Kellan goes missing and news of him assulting another girl gets out, Romy must decide whether to speak out again or risk having more girls hurt.… (more)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
54 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.02)
0.5
1
1.5
2 2
2.5
3 15
3.5 3
4 14
4.5 3
5 20

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,748,242 books! | Top bar: Always visible