HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fireseed One by Catherine Stine
Loading...

Fireseed One

by Catherine Stine

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
93950,433 (4.75)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 3 of 3
What if only your very worst enemy could help you save the world?

Fireseed One, a YA thriller, is set in a near-future earth with soaring heat, toxic waters, tricked-out amphibious vehicles, ice-themed dance clubs and fish that grow up on vines. Eighteen year-old Varik Teitur, inherits a vast sea farm after the mysterious drowning of his marine biologist father. When Marisa Baron, a beautiful and shrewd terrorist, who knows way too much about Varik's father's work, tries to steal seed disks from the world's food bank, Varik is forced to put his dreams of becoming a doctor on hold and venture with her, into a hot zone teeming with treacherous nomads and a Fireseed cult who worships his dead father, in order to search for a magical hybrid plant that may not even exist. Illustrated by the author. Fans of Under the Never Sky and Feed will likely enjoy this tale, as well as those readers who like a dash of romance with their page-turners. ( )
  CatherineStine | Oct 15, 2012 |
Fireseed One is a captivating thriller set in a futuristic, toxic world teetering on chaos and crisis. Danger, loss, love, and redemption all tie together with rich characters to make for one imaginative blast.

Varik, a young man struggling to manage his family’s farm alone after his father’s death, finds himself thrust into a deadly mission to save the world’s future food source. It gets worse for him. He must do it with his father’s arch enemy’s daughter, Marisa, who wants to save the world’s food now – not later. Sworn enemies caught together in a quest to save the world, they must trust each other against instinct.

Stine creates a believable place full of dark wonder where one crop item is utilized to feed, clothe, and shelter the world. Now its extinction looms – and the only way to save the world is to find the one miracle plant Varik’s father engineered, Fireseed One. It’s been created to breed with other plants and miraculously grows in the deadly Hotzone. And Varik and Marisa must find it in the face of great odds.

Stine beautifully draws Varik and Marisa together as they learn to trust to survive. We suffer with them through a terrifying world where the land is an uninhabitable hot zone and the seas are poisonous sludge. A place that seems oh-so real. Once you put the book down it haunts you. You wonder if it could happen in your lifetime.

And as Varik begins to doubt his father, the secrets pile up and he questions what is truth and what is fiction. Did he ever really know his father? In this lies the seed that transforms Varik from child to man. We feel his pain, through Stine’s aching prose. And we want to follow his journey.

In a fiery, dying world Varik and Marisa come together in love and Stine’s lyrical language shines through. Can Varik and Marisa complete their mission in their darkest hour and if so, can they survive the journey back? No spoilers here but you will be in a race to find out.

In Fireseed One, Stine takes us on a painful but heartfelt coming of age story of two people discovering that sometimes your enemy can be your greatest friend, and all is not as it seems. Stine has created compelling, complex characters in Varik and Marisa.

Stine has created a world as deep and layered as our own, where its own language flows into the story seamlessly. She gives us a beautiful, bittersweet story of survival and love, where two young adults come to terms with who their parents are and who they are. And they face it with the grace of an adult not the petulance of a child anymore. This unique, refreshing story reveals pioneers in a new age, willing to risk the unknown and death for a better life. They are the pioneers of a new frontier. And you want them to survive and succeed at all odds.
flag ( )
  donnagalanti | Oct 14, 2012 |
Fireseed One took me into a futuristic realm where the world is divided into three parts; The Land Dominion, Ocean Dominion and the Hotzone. In this world, humans who live in the Hotzone was scorched to death, no ordinary plant can survive the intense heat of the sun and the only source of food came from the sea-farms in the Ocean Dominion.

Varik, inherited the biggest sea-farms in Ocean Dominion when his famous marine biologist father died and because of this inheritance that he met Marissa, a ZWC terrorist who tried to robbed his vault full of sea disks. Marissa knew something Varik didn't know. It's about a pet project of Varik's dad that he abandoned after the tragic incident which caused the death of Varik's mother.This plant is called Fireseed and it can survive without water and can crossbreed to other plants to create a super plant that can withstand anything.

Varik didn't believe it at first but when a mysterious calamity threatened to destroy the only food source in the world, Varik have no choice but to go on a quest to find the Fireseed.

I have a mixed emotions in the characters of this book. Varik was likable. He was responsible, sensitive, smart and courageous but I didn't feel a strong connection to his character. On the other hand, I feel the opposite with Marissa. There is an instant connection between us that I can't explain. She's a bit naive, rebellious and impulsive but she's not just that. She's also strong-willed and independent which are the qualities I liked about heroines.

The world Catherine Stine created was believable, I feel like I time-travelled into 2089. It's fascinating and haunting, both as the same time. The ideas from this book is so out of this world, my geeky side was amazed. I would love to see cross-breeds between plants and fish and a suit that can adapt to its environment like a chameleon.

Overall, it was a great read. Fireseed One will take you to a thrilling, action-filled adventure that you will never forget. ( )
  erleen | Oct 6, 2012 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0984828206, Paperback)

Fireseed One is a YA futuristic thriller with crossover appeal. Illustrated by the author. The year is 2089. Temperate climate has replaced Arctic ice, and much of what is now the United States is a lethal Hotzone, cut off by an insurmountable border from its northern, luckier neighbors, Ocean and Land Dominion. It is rumored that roving Hotzone nomads will kill for a water pellet or a slice of insect loaf, and that the ZWC, a dangerous Hotzone activist group, has infiltrated the border to the northern Dominions. 
 Up in Ocean Dominion, all eighteen year-old Varik Teitur wants is to party on SnowAngel Island with his friend Audun and flirt with college girls he dreams of joining next year in his quest to become a doctor. Instead, he inherits a vast sea farm, following the death of his father, famous marine biologist Professor Teitur. Five weeks later, ZWC member Marisa Baron breaks into the farm's secret seed vault and a fellow activist poisons the farm's agar crops, the world's food source. In order to save the last agar seedlings Varik is forced to journey to the Hotzone in search of Fireseed, a plant his father supposedly developed with magical hybridization properties. 
 Varik takes Marisa along. Aside from being a terrorist, she's the beautiful daughter of Melvyn Baron, the biggest real estate mogul in Land Dominion, and the professor's old rival. Oddly, she knows lots about Fireseed, and what Hotzone land Professor Teitur bought to test the crop, before becoming embittered and trashing the project. No one except Varik knows whether Fireseed once existed off the drawing board. Might the refugees in Vegas-by-the-Sea have answers, or the bizarre Fireseed cult in the Chihuahua desert? Varik, the reluctant hero, must risk burning in the Hotzone, as his mother did, to save the ailing agar, and the world.  

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:19:04 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.75)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4 1
4.5
5 3

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 120,753,199 books! | Top bar: Always visible