Yer 'arbourCrewsChinwaggin'Crow's nest
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on yer miniature to sail to Google Books.

Bane by the dread pirate Trish Milburn
Hauling away...

Bane (edition 2012)

by the dread pirate Trish Milburn

More o't' same stuff: Coven Trilogy (book 2)

CrewmatesArr! ReviewsPopulARRrityCrew sysJaw flappin'
159647,891 (4)Nought
STACYatUFI's review
BANE starts up immediately after the events of WHITE WITCH with Jax and Egan leaving their new life in the middle of the night to save those they love from harm. The jump right into researching their families pasts and looking for help in Salem. They quickly learn they are not alone in their pursuit to fight the covens.

Jax's voice continued to be a great base for the story. She was easy to read and her emotions and feelings were always out there. I liked the new characters that were introduced and the old that came back into the story. The progression of events made sense and kept me reading. BANE was pretty fast paced but didn't feel like it jumped as much as WHITE WITCH did. There was a good amount of action spaced in. I enjoyed the setting of Salem throughout the book and the little facts that were thrown in.

BANE ends with another abrupt, cliff hanger ending which once again did its job with making me want to read what happens next with the characters. ( )
  STACYatUFI | Jul 7, 2012 |
All matey reviews
Showing 9 of 9
It has been a while since I read these books - from memory, characters inspire a better than average level of sympathy, pretty good development
overall 75% (needs review to verify) ( )
  jason9292 | Jul 6, 2014 |
More reviews at:

Bane is the second in the coven series and tells the story of Jax and Egan traveling to Salem to try to find out the truth about the covens, Jax’s power and how to stop the evil for good. Too bad the rest of the world didn’t have the same plan….
Bane is the second of the Coven series, and so this review will contain spoilers for the first book, White Witch. If you haven’t read White Witch, check out my review :). After finishing White Witch, I was quite excited to see that Bane was also open for review copies, and had to keep reading and reviewin for this fun series!

Title: Bane
Author: Trish Milburn
Pages: 178
Genre-ish: Urban Fantasy with only witches
Rating: ★★★★☆ - fun read, minor flaws
Setting: The modern world, but witches are real, Salem pissed them off and made them bargain for true evil powers, and covens live in hiding, using mind control and killing anyone that finds or annoys them.
Premise: Jax was a dark witch, but fled from her coven in the first book. Now she has discovered she can take in and use white witch power, and has traveled to Salem to try to figure out what all that means for her life and the world.

Strengths:
Same compelling writing as the first book. I just want to keep turning the page!
Learning more about the other power that is out there and the other people who know about the covens was quite interesting.
New friends! The secondary characters that appear were refreshing to the plot.
No love triangle (yet). Keller and Toni are involved in Bane, and while there is angst, Jax doesn’t do anything too annoying in the romance department.
Weaknesses:
The conclusion of Bane felt a little weak after all the build up, and there is obviously going to be another book. This is understandable for a second book, but it still would have been nice if it could have stood on its own a little bit better.
A little bit too much teenage angst for me, but it is YA ;-).
Bane had the same weird formatting and some spelling errors as White Witch.
Summary:
I was perhaps a little too excited to get a copy of Bane, and built up my expectations. A second book is rarely as strong as the first, and the plot was a little disappointing. The characters, old and new, however, were very strong and memorable. They made me very much enjoy Bane and I recommend everyone who likes YA fantasy to start or continue the series! ( )
  anyaejo | Feb 16, 2013 |
Bane (Book 2: Coven Series) by Trish Milburn
Source: Netgalley
4½/5 stars

Holy crap, Batman! Bane is the second book in Trish Milburn’s Coven series and just like book one, my socks have been rocked! Bane picks up precisely where White Witch ended with Jax and Egan having arrived in Salem after skipping out on Keller and Toni in Baker Gap, North Carolina. Yes, it’s as craptastic as it sounds 

Jax and Egan have landed in Salem with a highly specific and rather terrifying agenda: find out what got into Jax at Shiprock, research the possibility of white witches actually existing and, find the key to taking down the covens. Mind you, the dynamic duo has to accomplish all of this without using any of their own powers and being completely separated from the two people they love most.

Jax and Egan seem to think they are completely under the radar that is, until they discover how odd a town Salem actually is. Jax keeps shaking off the feeling she and Egan are being watched because she can’t actually sense the presence of any witches. That is until she encounters Rule Latimer and his grandmother, Fiona Day. After a rather rocky introduction everyone begins to understand they are all on the same side and have frighteningly similar goals. Once Jax and Egan join forces with Fiona and Rule the real research and work gets started.

Here’s the short list of precisely what rocked my socks:

*the relationship between Jax and Fiona: Fiona is such a strong, wise and no-nonsense woman with a lot of experience and knowledge where witches and witch history is concerned. Fiona is good for Jax and helps her understand her powers and her place within the context of the coming fight

*Keller and Toni’s return: You know they had to show up; stop snorting like I just unloaded a spoiler on you! The reappearance of these two is absolutely necessary to the development of the plot and Jax and Egan’s sanity but their reappearance also creates a whole host of new problems.

*The backstory: I am a big, big, big fan of backstories and histories and this book is full of both. The research the group is doing is how Milburn weaves the backstory and histories of Salem, the original families, the covens, and the Bane (the who?) into the contemporary plot. The information is not only really interesting but it also infuses each of the characters and the plot with a greater sense of depth and dimension.

*The fan-crappin’-tastic cliffhanger!! Even with all the backstory and history Milburn still finds time to squeeze in plenty of heart-pounding action. Believe me when I tell you she has cooked up one hell of an ending that will leave you wondering where the hell that came from. So. Totally. Worth. It. ( )
  arthistorychick | Sep 8, 2012 |
A fantastic sequel, this book takes the character development a step further than White Witch, making you love the characters even more. Adding a second love story doesn't hurt either, I loved reading this book. I could not put it down, there were so many things I wanted answered and the author does a great job at keeping you interested. I cannot wait for the release of the third in the Coven series, I will be first in line next month! ( )
  sar450 | Aug 7, 2012 |
This is a tough review to write because I have a feeling the next book is going to be really good. However, not much happened during this sequel to White Witch and I couldn't help feeling a little let down. I like Milburn's writing style and I really enjoy the characters of Egan and Jax, but the plot in this one was kind of a snooze.

What I Liked: Jax and Egan continue to be my favorite characters. They are both good witches with dark undercurrents to their personalities. Ever since the showdown with Jax's coven in the last book, she has a hard time controlling her dark powers. Milburn was able to draw a realistic picture of Jax's inner struggle to keep the darkness from taking over. Rule and his family was also a nice addition to the series and I thought the Salem backdrop was a cool touch.

What I Didn't Like: I understand that the characters need to research to find the answers they seek, but it was a huge portion of the book. I wished it could have been summarized quicker and have more action take place. Plus, the Keller and Jax relationship continues to be my least favorite part of the series. Keller's character is underdeveloped and I think this is why I'm not more invested in their relationship.

Rating: Three out of five stars

Read more reviews at http://authorheather.com ( )
  woodtop255 | Jul 9, 2012 |
BANE starts up immediately after the events of WHITE WITCH with Jax and Egan leaving their new life in the middle of the night to save those they love from harm. The jump right into researching their families pasts and looking for help in Salem. They quickly learn they are not alone in their pursuit to fight the covens.

Jax's voice continued to be a great base for the story. She was easy to read and her emotions and feelings were always out there. I liked the new characters that were introduced and the old that came back into the story. The progression of events made sense and kept me reading. BANE was pretty fast paced but didn't feel like it jumped as much as WHITE WITCH did. There was a good amount of action spaced in. I enjoyed the setting of Salem throughout the book and the little facts that were thrown in.

BANE ends with another abrupt, cliff hanger ending which once again did its job with making me want to read what happens next with the characters. ( )
  STACYatUFI | Jul 7, 2012 |
Posted at my blog originally at http://concisebookreviewsbymichelle.blogspot.com/

Warning will have spoilers for the FIRST book, White Witch. Not much for this one.

Wow, this book was so full of excitement, and suspense, and ended with such a cliffhanger, I am just glad it’s only a few months until the next book Magick is out. (I hope I will get an ARC for it) I really, really enjoyed the continuation of this story with Jax, Egan, Keller and Toni, and get some new additions to the characters too. They learn more about the lies their family’s have told them in the dark magic covens that Jax and Egan were born too. Jax is determined to find out more about all that extra power she took into herself on Shiprock when she faces her evil family to save her friends and herself. She feels the darkness growing inside her, but still feels the good too, the possibility that she is a White Witch, but must make good decisions to ward off the dark magic, so the good can win out.

They go to where it all started, in Salem, they do research on the witch massacre that happened in Salem. I really enjoyed the history of the witch trials in Salem, and the addition that was made for the story. It made it all feel more believable and intense.

I found in this book the story flowed along very smoothly. I did not get that feeling of things being rushed this time. Now that most the characters have already been established, I felt we got to take the time to get to know them better, and relationships could grow.

I love how Keller is like a buffer to Jax’s darker magic, just one touch, and he can calm the darkness rising inside her. Jax feels this may be because of love, another thing the covens had lied about. They made them all believe if you fell in love with a non witch, that you would lose your powers. In fact, I believe that it will do what is happening to Jax, as it seems to help Egan too. Being around Toni, also calms the darkness. They also had told them, that they would not get their full powers until they were 18, which is also a lie, since found the very important Beginning Book, which states they have always had their full powers, they just need to know it, and develop them. (this we found out in the last book) They also end up finding another very important book, which I won’t tell you what it is, you can find out for yourself.
Jax, Egan and friends find out that there is another type of coven, The Bane, they are witches that had taken the dark power in back in the Salem witch trial days, and then immediately regretted it, and spent lots of time fighting it, and generations later, they have become more of a good witch coven. Jax learns some from them, but at the end, we wonder if they turned against her or not.
Egan even finds an encrypted message in an email, of at least a few other coven witches that want to defect, they tread carefully, as they need to make sure it’s not a trap. We do not find out more on that in this book, it’s a part that is left open for the next book.

It’s all very intense, lots of emotions, some sadness, really has you on a emotional rollercoaster.

I highly suggest you give this book a shot, even if you didn’t like some of the rushed parts in the first book. This one is very different in that aspect. You will be much happier with this one. The first still needs to be read, but I promise you will enjoy it.

A great new twist on the magical world, with some bases on the real Salem witch trials. It’s all very intriguing indeed.
5 out of 5 stars for me. ( )
  ConciseReviews | Jul 4, 2012 |
NOTE: I received a copy of this book from the publisher. Nothing was asked except a honest review.

When Jaxina Pherson A.K.A. Jax Taylor, in book 1 (White Witch) ran away from her families dark coven, she knew that it put her under a death sentence. Later Egan Byrne, also a witch on the run from his coven, later they were in a battle with Jaxs' family and by drawing on powers, she was able to defeat them but will they help her become a white witch as she wants or turn her completely dark?

In this book Jax and Egan have left without telling anyone and come to Salem, where it is said the dark covens began. It is their hope that there they can find a way to finally defeat the dark covens and be allowed to return to Baker Gap and the people they have fallen in love with. In Salem they meet Rule, Fiona and Adele, a family of witches with no power. Working together they find out about the Bane, A group of witches who were suppose to have taken the dark power but then rejected it. Can they find the Bane and will they help Jax become what she wants to be. To add to her problems Keller and Toni Dawes, the boy she has fallen for and Toni the girl Egan has fallen for have been reported missing. Also to add to their problems, they find out that a famous hunter of supernaturals are on their trail. Will Jax find the answers she is seeking or will her dark side take over.

I gave this 4 stars despite the fact I like it for two reasons.
1. The book is short and is closer to a novella than a book.
2. The cost if someone buys the book. Prices shown are from Amazon.com. Kindle edition is $8.49 and the paperbook is $12.56. Prices I consider high for a book this size. But other than that I consider it a good book and can't wait until book 3 comes on this fall. ( )
  Richhayes | Jun 19, 2012 |
Monday, June 11, 2012Review: Bane by Trish Milburn
4 STARS Wow! I want book 3 now. Was not ready for it to end. Bane is the second book of the Coven series. The first is White Witch and the third is Magick coming out in sept,2012. Bane takes off just awhile after White Witch. Jax and Egan have left thier friends in North Carolina and are in Salem. Where it all started looking for answers how to stop thier Covens and how to control the evil within them. Jax is not finding out much searching at the library but she does come across the librain who is a little too helpful with asking again what she is looking for. Jax also meets a boy her age Rule who says he is doing homework. He shows her a map with names of who owns it at time of the Witch trials. Jax and Egan are feeling hopeless that they can't find anything. Then they see Rule go into a herb shop and follow him inside. They are offered a drink of tea that makes them sick especially Egan. Later that night they break into the herb shop for answers and find Rule's mother and grandmother. Who are witches but have no power. But they have a library of information in thier basement that after they test them show them. They are willing to see if they can help stop the covens. Thier is a lot of drama that keeps you on the edge of the seat and doesn't quit. Read it in one sitting. Rule is willing to be more to Jax but she can't get over the love she feels for Keller. Jax misses Keller and her friend Toni. Egan has a computer to alert them if anything mentions Keller and Toni's name. When they show as missing Egan and Jax are torn for they left to protect them and now they were gone missing. If you read and liked White Witch you need to read Bane and then you will wait for Magick. They are good books to read. Bane is fun,powerful,no sex scenes or swear words. Full of magic and choices we all make all the time to do whats right or whats wrong. to be selfesh or unselfesh. What they are willing to fight for or die for. I don't want to give away anymore of the story and lessen the tension for you. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley. 06/01/2012 PUB Bell Bridge Books ( )
  rhonda1111 | Jun 11, 2012 |
Showing 9 of 9

Quick Links

Pillage Etomes Audio
2 wanted1 pay1 pay

PopulARR covers

How ye liked it

AvARRage: (4)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 4
4.5 1
5 2

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Yarr, is this ye?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Advice from old salts | The lowdown | Secluded cove / Rules o' engagement | Ship's log | Hoist us a signal | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Aye, 'tis the stuff we be knowin'! | Dead Men's Chests (Dead Wenches too) | Night watch | 92,794,327 tomes! | Top barrrrr: Always visible