Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Hounds of Skaith by Leigh Brackett

The Hounds of Skaith (1974)

by Leigh Brackett

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: Eric John Stark (2)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
204457,485 (3.5)20



Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 20 mentions

English (3)  Italian (1)  All languages (4)
Showing 3 of 3
The middle volume of a trilogy, this one takes our hero confrontation with the real movers and shakers. Brackett's pot-boiler continues to bubble, and we are set up for the final... but over all not great Brackett. The Sword of Rhiannon's a better book. ( )
  DinadansFriend | Jan 2, 2014 |
Brackett is just as good as writing sci-fi based adventure stories as ever, but where volume 2 disappoints is in the lack of involvement with Gerrith, the Skaithian seer who is a well-rounded and important female character in the first volume.

[read full review here: http://spacebeer.blogspot.com/2013/04/the-hounds-of-skaith-by-leigh-brackett.htm... ] ( )
  kristykay22 | Apr 11, 2013 |
Another of Brackett's Eric John Stark books, this is a good book for fans of Burroughs and Howard. I would say this is better written than typical Burroughs, though the style and tone are similar. Not a ton of character development, and the plot is fairly straightforward, but still very enjoyable. ( )
  Karlstar | Nov 30, 2008 |
Showing 3 of 3
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (4 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Leigh Brackettprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Achilleos, ChrisCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Ryman, JamesCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Steranko, JamesCover artistsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
For Michael and Hillary Moorcock
First words
In her great hall, deep in the mountain heart of the glimmering Witchfires, Kell a Marg Skaith-Daughter sat upon the dais.
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 avail.
4 wanted

Popular covers


Average: (3.5)
2 2
3 8
3.5 6
4 6
4.5 1
5 2

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.


Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 100,858,266 books! | Top bar: Always visible