HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Law of Strings and Other Stories by…
Loading...

The Law of Strings and Other Stories

by Steven Gillis

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
5None1,436,638 (2.75)None

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

No reviews
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0983208085, Paperback)

The Law of Strings and Other Stories is an existential yelp examining individual choices and our all-too-human response to unexpected events. Fans of George Saunders and Aimee Bender will delight in Gillis' surprising surrealist twists in the heart of painfully real emotion and interpersonal relationships. From a tightrope walker abandoning his trade to an Immovable Girl learning to levitate, The Law of Strings explores what happens at the crossroads in our lives and how we decide what matters most in a world defined by chaos.

Gillis says he approaches short stories in ''rapid succession'' and ''always follows [his] gut.'' For this lawyer turned publisher turned writer, gutsy risk-taking is at the core of his personality and spills into the lives of his characters, who frequently make decisions with shattering consequences.

Perhaps it's this penchant for disastrous choices that make the bizarre, dream-like worlds in which these characters live seem so familiar. Then again, it could be the raw human emotion that leaps off the page as you devour these stories in one satisfying sitting.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:07:18 -0400)

No library descriptions found.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
1 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (2.75)
0.5 1
1
1.5
2
2.5
3
3.5
4
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 116,941,320 books! | Top bar: Always visible