HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Crime of Privilege: A Novel by Walter Walker
Loading...

Crime of Privilege: A Novel (original 2013; edition 2013)

by Walter Walker

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1555477,049 (3.45)12
Member:Maya47Bob46
Title:Crime of Privilege: A Novel
Authors:Walter Walker
Info:Ballantine Books (2013), Hardcover, 432 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:**
Tags:Fiction, Mystery, Early Reviewers

Work details

Crime of Privilege by Walter Walker (2013)

None

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 12 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 55 (next | show all)
Having grown up in Massachusetts in a time when the Kennedy family was revered by many, i'd wanted to read this book for awhile, before i ever got a copy. Shades of the dynasty are throughout the book....Will Smiths rape trial in Florida, the Skakel murder sensation in CT. (i think that's where it took place), the family compound on the Cape.... Add a few more sleazy characters and change the times and dates and voila!

This story however revolves around a fringe character- not family and not quite a friend. There is manipulation and sabotage, cover-ups and of course- money.

So sure, if interested give it a whirl. You just might feel like you need to wash your hands afterwards....
  linda.marsheells | Jun 4, 2014 |
The Gregory family is a rich and famous family of a Massachusetts senator. That sounds familiar for some reason. Anyway there was a rape in Florida and a murder on Cape Cod. Was it a Gregory behind these crimes or were they just convenient scapegoats? Do they think privilege is their right? Is there an elaborate coverup? Along the way there are plenty of twists and turns and travels around the globe tracking down the people who were at the Gregory compound the night of the murder. I couldn't wait to find out who did it and if and how justice was served. IMHO Walter Walker is a wonderful writer.
I received this book in a Goodreads Giveaway. ( )
  jwood652 | Sep 28, 2013 |
This review was written for LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
George Becket, attorney at law, works for the Cape Cod District Attorney's office. He's always lived on the Cape, and moved at the edge of the wealthy summer people, making a few friends among them here and there. Well, "friends" may be too strong a word. He made acquaintances and connections, among them the Gregorys, an influential highly-visible political family, and these connections eased his way somewhat, but George was never really part of the inner circle. He was a "townie", so how important could he be, really?

Those acquaintances and connections, though, landed him in the wrong place at the wrong time once upon a time. A young woman died after a party held at the Gregorys' house, a memory George repressed until years later when the woman's father asked him to reopen the case. Out of guilt, he agrees. And steps into a web of lies, misdirections, and leads which have poor George gallivanting all over creation and inevitably point right back to a scion of the Gregory clan.

This novel brings to mind -- deliberately, I suspect -- a similar real life case in which a Kennedy cousin was accused (and, in fact, convicted) of murdering a young woman when he was a teenager. Not a bad premise for a book, and an excellent way of poking a stick in the hornet's nest without being sued for libel. But whether any of the incidents novelized here have further real-life correlations is for someone more interested in such things to research. I'm just here to read the story.

And it's a decent story. Reasonably well-written, nicely characterized, somewhat far-fetched in George's manic travels in search of evidence and corroborating statements: from Massachusetts to Idaho, Hawaii, Costa Rica, France, New York, and back in rapid succession. But, for someone like me who has read countless legal procedurals, it's utterly predictable. Oh, you'll find a couple of eyebrow-raisers and a red herring or two, but there are no real surprises. Which is not necessarily a bad thing for a beach novel.

Thank you to LibraryThing's Early Reviewers for the opportunity to read this book. ( )
  avanta7 | Sep 13, 2013 |
The premise of this novel sounded interesting--a mix of a murder mystery and an influential family involved--and was happy to have been approved of a galley copy to read.

While the premise of this novel was intriguing, the overall story fell flat and boring for me. This was mostly because of the narrator and protagonist of the story. I found George to be far too…blank, passive and lacking in some sort of strong or particular characterisation to define him that would in turn compel me, the reader, like him and root for him as he investigates further. The writing and narration also felt awkward at times that I never really connected with the story. I only read it to the very end to see whether the truth would surface and the perpetrators brought to justice.

Fans of the mystery genre may enjoy this novel but I was left feeling indifferent about it.

My complete review of the novel was originally posted at caffeinatedlife.net: http://www.caffeinatedlife.net/blog/2013/06/14/review-crime-of-privilege/ ( )
1 vote caffeinatedlife | Sep 1, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 55 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To Anne, all these years
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0345541537, Hardcover)

In the tradition of Scott Turow, William Landay, and Nelson DeMille, Crime of Privilege is a stunning thriller about power, corruption, and the law in America—and the dangerous ways they come together.
 
A murder on Cape Cod. A rape in Palm Beach.
 
All they have in common is the presence of one of America’s most beloved and influential families. But nobody is asking questions. Not the police. Not the prosecutors. And certainly not George Becket, a young lawyer toiling away in the basement of the Cape & Islands district attorney’s office. George has always lived at the edge of power. He wasn’t born to privilege, but he understands how it works and has benefitted from it in ways he doesn’t like to admit. Now, an investigation brings him deep inside the world of the truly wealthy—and shows him what a perilous place it is.
 
Years have passed since a young woman was found brutally slain at an exclusive Cape Cod golf club, and no one has ever been charged. Cornered by the victim’s father, George can’t explain why certain leads were never explored—leads that point in the direction of a single family—and he agrees to look into it.
 
What begins as a search through the highly stratified layers of Cape Cod society, soon has George racing from Idaho to Hawaii, Costa Rica to France to New York City. But everywhere he goes he discovers people like himself: people with more secrets than answers, people haunted by a decision years past to trade silence for protection from life’s sharp edges. George finds his friends are not necessarily still friends and a spouse can be unfaithful in more ways than one. And despite threats at every turn, he is driven to reconstruct the victim’s last hours while searching not only for a killer but for his own redemption.

Advance praise for Crime of Privilege
 
Crime of Privilege is not only a first-class legal thriller, it is an astute examination of our society and how we are corrupted by power and money. The rich are indeed different; they get away with murder. An absolutely engrossing read from beginning to end. Not only is it a well told story of crime and punishment, but also a finely nuanced tale of sin and redemption.”—Nelson DeMille
 
Crime of Privilege is wonderfully written, and Walter Walker has a great talent, the God-given kind that can’t be taught or learned or acquired, and the reader knows it from the first paragraph of the book. The characters are complex and interesting yet also emblematic of all the players in the class war, which is the stuff of all epic stories. I love the protagonist, and I also love the portrayal of the world of the very rich. There is something about the very rich that is hard to describe, but Walter Walker got them in the camera’s lens perfectly.”—James Lee Burke
 
“A gripping, chilling tale that pits privilege against pride, with a not-entirely-innocent man caught in the untenable middle.”—Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author of The Expats

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:24:37 -0400)

Pitted against a powerful family when he reopens the scandalous case of a young woman's unsolved murder, George Becket is forced to confront a haunting mistake from his own past while outmaneuvering wealth-driven corruption.

(summary from another edition)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 wanted1 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.45)
0.5
1
1.5
2 8
2.5 4
3 20
3.5 8
4 27
4.5
5 6

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Crime of Privilege by Walter Walker was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,960,241 books! | Top bar: Always visible