HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Kill Zone: A Lucy Guardino FBI Thriller by…
Loading...

Kill Zone: A Lucy Guardino FBI Thriller (edition 2012)

by C.J. Lyons

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
262604,154 (3.64)None
Member:AnneHudson
Title:Kill Zone: A Lucy Guardino FBI Thriller
Authors:C.J. Lyons
Info:StoneGate Ink (2012), Paperback, 356 pages
Collections:Read but not reviewed yet
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Kill Zone by CJ Lyons

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
Very Ambitious Plotline

Kill Zone by CJ Lyons is the 3rd book in the Lucy Giardino FBI Thriller series. The novel is more action-packed gunplay than mystery or police procedural. Postal Inspector Jenna Galloway returns and plays a big role while the other supporting characters are given equal billing making the story less centered on Lucy than in the previous two books.

Three interwoven storylines feature a brutal murder of children, Afghanistan, Gangbangers and the Mexican drug cartel, all of which play a role in shutting down Philadelphia. Oh, and Morgan Ames, the sociopathic daughter of a serial killer we met in book 2 of the series figures large as well.

Kill Zone was a fast read for me. Lyons has a lot of threads going on at once and in all the back and forth the book lost a bit of continuity. While I enjoyed the first two books more that this one, the author certainly knows how to keep you turning pages. Perhaps not her best work but still entertaining. ( )
  Zumbanista | Jan 31, 2014 |
When I first read via Ms. Lyons' newsletter that a new Lucy Guardino book was coming out, I was quite excited. The titles may be off-putting to some readers, but they make perfect sense in context of the stories and the stories are excellent.

What I really love about this story (about all of her books really) is that it's of the edge reading. There is violence, yes, but it isn't gratuitous violence. There is, from my viewpoint, just the right amount to make the story realistic -- if there was either more or less something would be lost. There is mystery, action, and jurisdictional squabbling.

The characters also make the story. They are ordinary people you might know. They think, they are tempted, they must choose their paths, and their choices are ones that the reader could -- conceivably IF in the circumstances with that personality -- choose for themselves.

Looking forward to the next installment in the series!

(Cross-posted to Amazon.com, Librarything, Goodreads, B&N) ( )
  strogan | Oct 10, 2012 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

The brutal murder of a teenage girl ... Lucy Guardino is back. The violence is the worst she's ever seen, the stakes are higher than ever...and things get personal. It's a vicious crime: the brutal killing of a teenaged girl. When detectives call FBI Agent Lucy Guardino to the scene, their focus is on who and why? Was it the girl's Afghan father striving to regain his honor after she became too Westernized? Her Jewish boyfriend? Someone from Afghanistan settling an old grudge? Or one of the drug cartels the father helped bring down seeking revenge? Meanwhile former Marine Sergeant Andre Stone has been home a month, but has yet to leave the safe haven of his grandmother's house. Andre's disfiguring physical scars are the least of his worries. The emotional wounds of seeing his men massacred in a raid gone wrong have left him numb. All he can think about is revenge on Rashid Raziq, the man behind the raid. When Andre is offered a chance at vengeance, the only question is: How far will he go to get it? As Lucy's hometown is engulfed in flames, a violent narco-terrorist turns the city into a kill zone...In the dark of night Lucy and Andre both learn that secrets hide in shadows. This gripping thriller from CJ Lyons is perfect for readers of Lee Child, Jeffrey Deaver and Lisa Gardner. Filled with heart-stopping suspense, it is a crime thriller that won't let go.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.64)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 3
3.5 1
4 2
4.5
5 1

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 133,327,329 books! | Top bar: Always visible