HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and…
Loading...

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the… (2013)

by Daniel James Brown

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
7254812,951 (4.3)64
  1. 00
    Bucking the Sun by Ivan Doig (terran)
    terran: Even though Doig's book is fiction, it deals with people struggling to make a living during the Great Depression. Both books deal with the construction of massive public works that employed thousands. (Hoover Dam and Fort Peck Dam)
  2. 11
    Unbroken : a World War II story of survival, resilience, and redemption by Laura Hillenbrand (terran)
    terran: Both books deal with participants in the 1936 Olympic Games in Berlin and with personal stories of individuals growing up in that time period. Both are incredible true stories that read like fiction.
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 64 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 47 (next | show all)
A very touching account of the underdog UW crew's road to victory in the 1936 Berlin Olympics. The focus is on one crew member who survived a horrific childhood in the Great Depression. There are lots of interesting details about life in the Great Depression and about Hitler's 1936 Olympics. ( )
  wrjensen382 | Jan 24, 2015 |
An extraordinary story, one you can enjoy immensely whether you know anything about rowing/crew or not. Weaves the narrative of the Washington crew team in with the looming dangers of the Nazi menace in an expert manner. Wonderful conclusion as it traces the careers of the fiercely determined crew members of the 1936 team. ( )
  VGAHarris | Jan 19, 2015 |
This chronicle of the University of Washington's 1936 Olympic eight-oared men's crew is one of the very finest works of narrative history in recent memory. The story's so interesting and inspiring that I even enjoyed reading Brown's endnotes. It's going to make an amazing movie someday soon, too. ( )
  wanack | Jan 16, 2015 |
This book has been compared to Seabiscuit and Unbroken. I enjoyed it quite a bit, and like those books, it read like fiction. Joe's story, and his ability to conquer life's cruelty and abuses, was incredible. I found the interweaving of Germany's politics and Olympic planning throughout the book to be interesting. However, the technicalities of rowing became tiresome, even though some rowing slang (catching a crab) was never explained. ( )
  marcal | Jan 14, 2015 |
An incredibly well-written book that follows a group of Depression Era boys from Washington state to the 1936 Olympics in Berlin as they work through individual struggle and team challenges along the way. Daniel Brown constructed a beautiful narrative, which you have to keep reminding yourself is documentary, based on journals, news features, recollections from relatives and friends, and exhaustive research on the whole. He has a gift for capturing a scene, an inner struggle, a small victory, the tension in a race that keeps you turning the pages. Brown really captures the character and grit of Americans who survived the Depression and went on to help liberate a world from fascism in WWII. ( )
1 vote traumleben | Jan 4, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 47 (next | show all)
In “The Boys on the Boat,” Daniel James Brown tells the astonishing story of the UW’s 1936 eight-oar varsity crew and its rise from obscurity to fame, drawing on interviews with the surviving members of the team and their diaries, journals and photographs. A writer and former writing teacher at Stanford and San Diego, Brown lives outside of Seattle, where one of his elderly neighbors harbored a history Brown never imagined: he was Joe Rantz, one of the members of the iconic UW 1936 crew.
 
[Daniel James] Brown's book juxtaposes the coming together of the Washington crew team against the Nazis' preparations for the [1936 Berlin Olympic] Games, weaving together a history that feels both intimately personal and weighty in its larger historical implications. This book has already been bought for cinematic development, and it's easy to see why: When Brown, a Seattle-based nonfiction writer, describes a race, you feel the splash as the oars slice the water, the burning in the young men's muscles and the incredible drive that propelled these rowers to glory.
added by sgump | editSmithsonian, Chloë Schama (Jun 1, 2013)
 
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
It's a great art, is rowing. It's the finest art there is. It's a symphony of motion. And when you're rowing well, why it's nearing perfection. And when you near perfection, you're touching the Divine. It touches the you of you. Which is your soul. - George Yeoman Pocock
(But I desire and I long every day to go home and to look upon the day of my return . . . for already I have suffered and labored at so many things on the waves.) - Homer
Dedication
For Gordon Adam Chuck Day Don Hume George "Shorty" Hunt Jim "Stub" McMillin Bob Moch Roger Morris Joe Rantz John White Jr. and all those other bright, shining boys of the 1930s - our fathers, our grandfathers, our uncles, our old friends
First words
(Prologue) This book was born on a cold, drizzly, late spring day when I clambered over the split-rail cedar fence that surrounds my pasture and made my way through wet woods to the modest frame house where Joe Rantz lay dying.
Monday, October 9, 1933, began as a gray day in Seattle.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 067002581X, Hardcover)

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled  by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.


(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:49:38 -0400)

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washingtons 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans.

» see all 6 descriptions

LibraryThing Author

Daniel James Brown is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 pay2 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.3)
0.5
1 1
1.5
2 3
2.5
3 20
3.5 15
4 67
4.5 20
5 91

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 95,132,973 books! | Top bar: Always visible