HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Proxy by Alex London
Loading...

Proxy (edition 2014)

by Alex London

Series: Proxy (1)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
3422832,058 (3.74)3
Member:thekaisu
Title:Proxy
Authors:Alex London
Info:Speak (2014), Edition: Reprint, Paperback, 400 pages
Collections:Your library, Currently reading
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Proxy by Alex London

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 3 mentions

Showing 1-5 of 29 (next | show all)
Syd is the punishment proxy for a rich boy, Knox. When Knox breaks a family heirloom, Syd gets tased. When Knox skips class, Syd gets beaten. And when Knox kills a classmate in a car accident, Syd has to serve his life sentence.

But this is one step too far for Syd, who has always played by the rules in hopes of ending his debt slavery early. He breaks out of prison, takes Knox as a hostage, and forces him on the run with him. The boys are hunted by Knox's father, bounty hunters, the Guardians, and the crazy rebel group that thinks Syd's blood has the power to destroy all DNA-linked debt.

Deals with tough issues but is a little light weight...but that's probably appropriate for a younger audience than me. ( )
  wealhtheowwylfing | Feb 29, 2016 |
This one had a really interesting premise and there's absolutely nothing wrong with the book, I'm just having a hard time getting into it. I think I'll put it down for awhile and come back to it. ( )
  lovelypenny | Feb 4, 2016 |
A YA dystopian novel about a (post unknown-cataclysmic American) society wherein the difference between the monied and the poor is almost unfathomably vast, everyone lives on one extreme or the other, and the rich can buy the debt of the poor in exchange for the poor receiving any punishment the rich incur. Technology and capitalism have taken over to the point where individuals are inundated with highly personalized advertising at all times (sounds kind of scarily plausible, doesn't it?). There's an underground movement to erase all debt and rebuild society, and Syd, our protag, is somehow important to them (why is much of the plot--spoilers). Decent adventure and world building, some good adolescent coming-to-terms-with-the-world-you-were-born-into stuff, brilliant illustration of privilege (without any preaching), and points for diversity in YA for a gay POC protag. Dragged a wee bit in the middle for me, but dystopian fic is not my thing, so YMMV, especially if you do like dystopias in your reading. ( )
  lycomayflower | Aug 2, 2015 |
NOOOOOO THAT ENDING! THAT MF'ING ENDING!

*review to come* ( )
  KillerCorp | Jul 27, 2015 |
Lots of action and interesting characters. ( )
  WarriorLibrary | May 15, 2015 |
Showing 1-5 of 29 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
For Tim, who inspired, Robert, who believed, and Jill, who elevated
First words
Even a perfect machine wasn't built to go this fast.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (2)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0399257764, Hardcover)

The adventure novel of the year! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games for its razor-sharp insights into the nature of human survival and its clever writing.

Knox was born into one of the City's wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy.  His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend will be swept away by this story.

(retrieved from Amazon Thu, 12 Mar 2015 18:18:48 -0400)

"Privileged Syd and and his proxy, Knox, are thrown together to overthrow the system"--

(summary from another edition)

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Alex London's book Proxy was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
67 wanted

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.74)
0.5
1
1.5 1
2 4
2.5 1
3 9
3.5 7
4 39
4.5
5 7

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 115,320,069 books! | Top bar: Always visible