HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

If You Stay by Courtney Cole
Loading...
MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
16617106,862 (3.56)1

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 1 mention

Showing 1-5 of 17 (next | show all)
Want to know if the whole series is worth reading? Read my overall review of the whole series at seriesousbookreviews.com! Spoiler Free!

Wow, I LOVED this book! It was everything I wanted in a New Adult read and it was such a great read!

I will admit, I was skeptical before reading this. I find with New Adult reads, some hit the mark perfectly by blending tragedy romance drama maturity all into one while others fail miserably. However, not all books hit the maturity level quite so well and I got worried this one wouldn't. I find that I enjoy New Adult reads because they are more mature than most young adult books are with their high school characters. I'm in university myself so I find I relate better to characters my own age & their problems more than I do to the often petty high school drama of YA.

I'm happy to say I was proven wrong! This book was extremely mature and handled the issues within it perfectly. The characters didn't run from their past or just jump into bed together. They actively worked on their issues (and did so in the right way) and I found that extremely refreshing. (FYI, I had just finished the first book in Kelly Elliot's Wanted Series which I found to be an extremely immature series so I might be a little skewed in my opinion when it comes to this one ;))

For some reason, I love the jerk/player character in romance novels. I guess it's the hopeless romantic in me that likes to think love can heal people. Regardless, I really liked Pax as a character. He is charming, sweet and troubled but willing to make the right changes. Mila is also fantastic. She is strong and mature and I really respect her as a character.

The book is a really quick read--or maybe you just get sucked into it and lose all sense of time. There isn't too much else to the plot other than their relationship and dealing with their personal problems (score for no unnecessary drama!) but there is enough to keep you interested.

Check out more spoiler-free book and series reviews on my blog SERIESousBookReviews.com as well as read book series recaps!

Full Review: http://wp.me/p3txrs-6w
( )
  seriesousbooks | Feb 7, 2018 |
3.5 ( )
  TexasBookLover7 | Jun 16, 2015 |
24-year old Pax Tate is an asshole.
Seriously.

He’s a tattooed, rock-hard bad-boy with a bad attitude to match.

But he’s got his reasons.

His mother died when Pax was seven, leaving a hole in his heart filled with guilt although he doesn’t understand why. What he does know is that he and his dad are left alone and with more issues than they can count.

As Pax grew up, he tried to be the kid his father always wanted; the perfect golden boy, but it didn’t work. His dad couldn’t overcome his grief long enough to notice and Pax couldn’t keep up the impossible perfect façade.
So he slipped far, far from it.

Now, he uses drugs and women to cope with the ugliness, the black void that he doesn’t want to deal with. If he pretends that the emptiness isn’t there, then it isn’t, right?
Wrong.

And it’s never more apparent than when he meets Mila.
Sweet, beautiful Mila Hill is the fresh air to his hardened frown, the beauty to his ugly heart. He doesn’t know how to not hurt her, but he quickly realizes that he’s got to figure it out because he needs her to breathe.

When memories of his mother’s death resurface from where he’s repressed them for so long, Mila is there to catch him when the guilt starts making sense. Mila is the one…the one who can save him from his broken troubled heart; from his issues, from the emptiness.

But only if he can stop being an asshole long enough to allow it.

He knows that. And he’s working on it.

But is that enough to make her stay?


I Must say that Courtney Cole sure knows how to pull a reader in . The first chapter of this book Pulled me in feet first and I did not stop until I was done with the ride . This story is full of emotion , it is raw, it will make you laugh , it will make you shed a tear or two . but in the end I can promise that you will be happy .


The story starts with Pax , Asshole , tattooed , Bad ass attitude , and rock hot body to die for . Pax's mom Died when he was 7 yrs old ,and Pax appears to have never dealt with the loss of his mother , he copes with emotions with drugs, and alcohol , and more drugs ... He is not a drug addict though. he can stop when ever he wants , but he doesn't have a need to stop , so he continues to use drugs , until he Overdoses and almost dies .

“I can’t let you break my heart. I don’t have much of it left.”


Enter Mila , artist , Heart of gold, Lost her own parents a few yrs back due to a car accident , all she has now is her sister . One night she is at the beach taking pictures of the water and sky . As she ventures back to her car she hears a buzzing sound and discovers that there is a man in a car slumped over and out cold , vomit all over him , breathing erratic . She does the only thing she can do when she can't bring him to she calls 911 . Mila saved Pax's life that night .....


“You’ve seen me at my worst. Maybe you should see me at my best.”
My words hang between us, heavy and charged, and I don’t know what the fuck I am doing.
“When are you at your best?” she asks hesitantly. And I can see from the determined look on her face that she is trying hard not to feel intimidated. I’m impressed. She’s like a kitten standing up to a lion.
“In bed.”


Reading the relationship from the start to the end of Pax and Mila was an amazing journey of Love, hope, redemption, and a whole lot of raw emotion. I love how we got to get inside of Pax's head and take the journey with him towards redemption and dealing with his emotions and stress. Mila was amazing in her own sweet way with helping him and being there with him through it all the way to the end and beyond ....




"Love Never Fails "
( )
  Chris.BlogEmporium | May 6, 2014 |
3.5 stars! The opening chapter will hook you and keep you there until the last pages. For the all the drama in those first pages I found the middle of the book to drop off a bit. I was re-invested by the end and liked the ending overall. ( )
  sharonhd | Mar 13, 2014 |

I couldn't put this book down! I read it in an afternoon.
At first I thought wow Pax is just kind of a sick guy - Just knowing how good looking he is and to just do these things with the "bar whores" is just beyond me but the more I read the more I understood all about Pax and his demons. Mila well she is everything Pax is not she soon becomes his sunshine. It's a struggle for him to hold on to that sunshine and sure enough it comes crashing down all around him. Mila is at a lose as to what to do and as she feared all along that he would shatter her heart he does. I know it's not intentional but Pax has work to do before he can make things right with Mila if she will have him.
Lot's of hot sex. Fabulous ending.
There's even a book 2 "If You Leave" which is based on Mila's sister Madison.


Quotes:

"There are some things in life that can't be explained. Period. Assholes are assholes. Rainbows are pretty. Kittens are cute. Chick flicks are sad. It's the way of things, no explanations."

"Oh, Red. If you want to turn up the heat, you've got to be careful not to get burned by the fire."

"She pulls me closer and in this moment, I now that she is everything that is light and good in the world."

"Sometimes we hurt those that we love the most." ( )
  iloveladyporn | Dec 6, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 17 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

"For fans of Jessica Sorensen, J.A. Redmerski, and Abbi Glines... Twenty-four-year-old Pax Tate is an asshole. Seriously. He's a tattooed, rock-hard bad boy with a tough attitude to match. His mother died when Pax was seven, leaving a hole in his heart filled with an intense guilt that he doesn't understand. What he does know is that he and his dad were left alone, and they have never been close. Now, he uses drugs and women to cope with the black void in his soul. He pretends that the emptiness isn't there and this has always worked. until he meets Mila. Sweet, beautiful Mila Hill is the fresh air that Pax has never known in his life. He doesn't know how to not hurt her-but he quickly realizes that he'd better figure it out because he needs her to breathe. When the memories of his mother's death resurface to haunt Pax, Mila is there to save him from his overwhelming guilt. Mila restores his broken heart, even as she evokes his powerful, sexual desires. Now for Pax to keep Mila, he needs to work on his issues-and stop being an asshole. But is that enough to make her stay?"--… (more)

» see all 3 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.56)
0.5
1 1
1.5 1
2 6
2.5
3 19
3.5 1
4 28
4.5 1
5 8

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,777,355 books! | Top bar: Always visible