HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Dead Size by Sawney Hatton
Loading...

Dead Size (edition 2013)

by Sawney Hatton

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingConversations
1221,098,392 (3.63)None
Member:Sawney_Hatton
Title:Dead Size
Authors:Sawney Hatton
Info:Mega Thump Publishing (2013), Edition: 1st, Kindle Edition
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:Gulliver, Lilliputians, Giants, Contemporary Fantasy, Mystery Thriller, Dark Comedy

Work details

Dead Size by Sawney Hatton

None.

None
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

Showing 2 of 2
Free

March 7, 2013

312 pags ( )
  UM3050 | Jan 26, 2018 |
So.. Dead Size..

People's heads are exploding. Across town there are reports of corpses who are missing material above the neck, the heads having been effectively turned to a fine mist with bone fragment accents. The police are investigating and turning up interesting an inexplicable results. With all the gore, who could consider dating?

Gulliver Huggins could.
Gulliver, the semi-neurotic local fix-it man is giddily mooning over local barista, Kat. His bland and reserved public appearance is in direct opposition of Kat's long legs, black silky hair, varied tattoos, and a fiery personality.

Even if he could land Kat, Gulliver cannot take her home. His house is a mess, cluttered and filled with belongings of his dead parents and brother. There are also the micronians, the inches tall race of creatures who speak to him with small text and scrabble boards. His house is their house and they are very protective of it.

Then there would be the increasing threats from the giants, who are susceptible to a deadly virus only carried by the Micronians.

There is a healthy Gulliver's Travels throwback throughout this novel, but don't expect a cookie cutter plot from author Sawney Hatton. The ties to GT are typically cursory, leaving the main story very fresh.

I have no clue what the title means. Dead Size? If you have read this, perhaps you can explain it to me.. It is an awesome title, but unless I missed something (always possible), it seems more like it was a convenience title than actually tied to the story. The cover art is stellar.

Favorite character? Sheriff Boone- no matter how much I wanted to like Gulliver, Kat, or any other face presented.. Boone was solid and bad ass for an old man. ( )
  JasonBrownPDX | Jan 8, 2014 |
Showing 2 of 2
no reviews | add a review
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Gulliver Huggens awoke once again tied down, face up, on his back lawn.
Quotations
Last words
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
Gulliver Huggens has issues. He watched his family perish in a tragic car accident as a child. He doesn't know how to win the heart of the girl at the coffee shop. And he shares his home with a clan of mischievous tiny people. Yet these all turn out to be the least of his troubles. A secret race of Giants dwelling in the neighboring mountains wants Gulliver to exterminate all the Little People... or else. When folks in his hometown begin brutally dying, Gulliver must make a hard choice. But choices have consequences. And consequences, he'll learn, come in all terrible sizes.
Haiku summary

No descriptions found.

Reviewers are raving about DEAD SIZE: "This book was amazing!" "A thrilling and entertaining read" "What a refreshing blend of twisted fairy tale, surrealism, and wit" "The Second Coming of Christopher Moore" "You will have so much fun reading this" This is no fairy tale. Gulliver Huggens has issues- He watched his family perish in a tragic car accident as a child. He doesn't know how to win the heart of the girl at the coffee shop. And he shares his home with a clan of mischievous tiny people. Yet these all turn out to be the least of his troubles. A secret race of Giants dwelling in the neighboring mountains wants Gulliver to exterminate all the Little People... or else. When folks in his hometown begin brutally dying, Gulliver must make a hard choice. But choices have consequences. And consequences, he'll learn, come in all terrible sizes. With larger-than-life characters, edge-of-your-seat suspense, and a bit of quirky kinkiness, DEAD SIZE is a comical psychological fantasy mystery thriller for fans of Christopher Moore, Chuck Palahniuk, and Torsten Krol.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

LibraryThing Author

Sawney Hatton is a LibraryThing Author, an author who lists their personal library on LibraryThing.

profile page | author page

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.63)
0.5
1
1.5
2 1
2.5
3
3.5
4 2
4.5 1
5

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 131,574,204 books! | Top bar: Always visible