HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

William Shakespeare's Star Wars: Verily, A…
Loading...

William Shakespeare's Star Wars: Verily, A New Hope

by Ian Doescher

Other authors: George Lucas (Inspiration)

Other authors: See the other authors section.

Series: William Shakespeare's Star Wars (Part the Fourth)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
1,2491109,179 (4.02)64

None.

Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 64 mentions

English (110)  Swedish (1)  All languages (111)
Showing 1-5 of 110 (next | show all)


If you love both Star Wars and Shakespeare, you need to read this book. ( )
  hopeevey | May 20, 2018 |
Star Wars done in the method of William Shakespeare? Those lines we know so well in iambic pentameter? Sounds ridiculous and like something that could never work...... but it does, and the result is both hilariously funny and completely brilliant!

Definitely recommended to fans of Star Wars and anyone with a passing reference to Shakespeare. Inside you will find clever R2D2 thought asides (he's been taking lessons from Puck in my opinion). Wonderful monologues and soliloquies which give great internal insight to all your favorite characters.... and inside jokes and references for fans of the Star Wars series (Who did fire first? for instance) and clever adaptations of famous Shakespearian lines from across his plays (Romeo and Juliet, Richard the 3rd, Julius Caesar, etc)... See if you can catch them as the go by. Honestly, I would have never guessed it, but the material translates beautifully, where else but in Star Wars and in Shakespeare do the ghosts of those past advise the players on stage. I can't wait to see how Yoda translates in the next installment, I have a feeling his backwards way of speaking may translate into iambic pentameter perfectly.

*Special note....try the audiobook, like all good plays it's better read aloud by different people and they have added the Star Wars music and sound effects which just enhance it even more. ( )
  RivetedReaderMelissa | Mar 22, 2018 |
"There let our heroes rest free from attack/Till darkness rise and Empire striketh back."
Hilarious reading, highly recommended to any Star Wars enthusiast. ( )
  Denicbt | Feb 5, 2018 |
Very amusing book, especially for fans of both Star Wars and Shakespeare. (I don't know why those who aren't fans of both would bother to read this, actually.) I think this would benefit from being read aloud, as are Shakespeare's actual plays.

If you read this, be sure to read the afterword, as it has some interesting insights into the author's reasons for writing the book. In fact, you might want to read the afterword first, to go into the play with the insights in mind as you read it. ( )
  ca.bookwyrm | Jan 26, 2018 |
Geeky wonderfulness abounds. Such a treat. The audio production is marvelous. Highly recommend. ( )
  lycaenidae | Jan 2, 2018 |
Showing 1-5 of 110 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (5 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Doescher, IanAuthorprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Lucas, GeorgeInspirationsecondary authorall editionsconfirmed
Delort, NicolasIllustratorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Horner, DoogieDesignersecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Important places
Important events
Related movies
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
To Graham and Liam,
My young Padawans.
And Jennifer. "But never
Doubt I love..."
First words
Prologue:
Outer space.
Enter
CHORUS

CHORUS: It is a period of civil war.
The spaceships of the rebels, striking swift
From base unseen, have gain'd a vict'ry o'er
The cruel Galactic Empire, now adrift.
Quotations
Last words
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language
Canonical DDC/MDS

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English

None

Book description
May the verse be with you! Inspired by one of the greatest creative minds in the English language—and William Shakespeare—here is an officially licensed retelling of George Lucas’s epic Star Wars in the style of the immortal Bard of Avon.

The saga of a wise (Jedi) knight and an evil (Sith) lord, of a beautiful princess held captive and a young hero coming of age, Star Wars abounds with all the valor and villainy of Shakespeare’s greatest plays. Reimagined in glorious iambic pentameter, William Shakespeare’s Star Wars will astound and edify learners and masters alike. Zounds! This is the book you’re looking for.
Haiku summary
Verily, the tale
of Star Wars IV: A New Hope
doth herein be told.
(yoyogod)
What if "A long time

ago" really meant back in

Shakespearian words?

(legallypuzzled)

No descriptions found.

(see all 3 descriptions)

A retelling of Star wars in the style of Shakespeare, in which a wise Jedi knight, an evil Sith lord, a beautiful captive princess, and a young hero coming of age reflect the valor and villainy of the Bard's greatest plays.

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

Ian Doescher's book William Shakespeare's Star Wars was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.02)
0.5
1 5
1.5
2 5
2.5 3
3 42
3.5 13
4 88
4.5 10
5 78

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 128,161,872 books! | Top bar: Always visible